About Silk of Morocco

Silk of Morocco is an oil-based “multi-tasking instant moisturizer” that’s claimed to feature clinically proven haircare technology to help fight against frizzing and thinning hair, and to provide you with luxurious, incredible hair in just 21 days. In fact, Silk of Morocco is specifically claimed to use 21st century technology to provide women with gorgeous, natural, “supermodel” hair.

In order to accomplish this, simply by spraying it directly onto your hair, Silk of Morocco is claimed to nourish hair follicles and naturally boost hair growth using a secret formula that’s claimed to contain “an elixir of essential oils including Pure Argan Oil.”

But regardless of how badly you want to achieve supermodel-like hair, is this something you can reasonably expect to experience with Silk of Morocco? Consider the following:

What Ingredients Does Silk of Morocco Contain?

Other than claiming to contain essential oils and pure argan oil, there isn’t any information provided on the Silk of Morocco website about its ingredients. We did try to locate a third-party website that displayed an ingredients list for Silk of Morocco, although this only returned results for similarly-named products (we’ll talk more about this in a moment).

With this said, is there any clinical evidence showing that argan oil can fight frizz, thicken hair, or provide any of the other benefits claimed by Silk of Morocco?

Is Silk of Morocco Clinically Proven to Grow Longer, Thicker Hair?

Argan oil, Silk of Morocco’s primary ingredient, is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, which is cultivated in Morocco. Argan oil has been used for generations as an “oil …  to dip bread in at breakfast or to drizzle on couscous or pasta,” as well as “to treat skin diseases, and as a cosmetic oil for skin and hair.”

However, other than the fact that argan has traditionally been used for cosmetic purposes (among other things), there is an overall lack—or even a complete absence—of clinical evidence showing that it can help nourish hair and lead to boosted growth.

As far as hair fullness/thickness, argan oil contains a variety of fatty acids that might work to plump hair, similar to many other haircare products from retailers near you. Speaking of which…

Are There Products Similar to Silk of Morocco?

In short, there are a lot.

You can see this firsthand by typing “argan oil for sale” into your favorite search engine, and watching the hundreds of results that pull up, the vast majority of which are priced much lower than Silk of Morocco. In fact, argan oil has become so popular that it’s very likely you’ll find some at a local beauty store, again, at a much lower price.

Watch Your Privacy

Finally, keep in mind that according to Silk of Morocco’s Privacy Policy: “You will automatically be registered to receive promotional offers and updates, via e-mails, from us and from the Network sites and other associated e-mail brands. Additionally, when you become a customer, you will be provided with the opportunity to receive promotional offers, via e-mails, from partners of ours.” 

In other words, you can expect spam soon after placing your order.

Are Customers Experiencing Longer, Thicker Hair with Silk of Morocco?

Because argan oil is only produced in Morocco, there are several products on the market with names very similar to Silk of Morocco, and even come in very similar packaging.

Important note: This includes Silk Oil of Morocco, which is the product you’ll encounter most when searching for “Silk of Morocco reviews.” However, we were contacted by Silk Oil of Morocco’s North American President, who advised they have been in business for 10 years and have nothing to do with Silk of Morocco. They also noted that many other customers have confused the two products, and seem to complain most of continuous billing through an autoship program.

In short, although they have nearly identical names, Silk of Morocco (the subject of this review) is not in any way affiliated with Silk Oil of Morocco.

With this in mind, searching for “argan oil reviews” produced hundreds of results and overall, it seems that most customers are satisfied with the product.

Granted, this doesn’t mean you’ll experience the same with Silk of Morocco, but it’s worth noting.

Silk of Morocco Pricing & Refund Policy

If purchased directly through the company, Silk of Morocco is only available via a 15-day trial, for which you’ll receive a full 30-day supplement of the oil for $4.95 S&H.

After your trial expires, you’ll be charged $84.97 for the full price of the product, and will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program. This means you’ll continue receiving a new supply of Silk of Morocco once every 30 days, and your credit card will be charged $84.97 each time.

Important note: After reviewing hundreds of nutritional supplements and hair loss products, it’s our opinion that products sold only through free trials and subsequent autoship programs should be avoided. Why? Based on our extensive experience, free trials are almost impossible to cancel before being charged full price, while autoship programs are focused more on recurring charges than they are about providing you with any kind of convenience.

With this said, according to Silk of Morocco’s Terms & Conditions, there are no refunds available once your 15-day trial has ended. On top of this, even if you request a refund within your first 15 days, the product must be in the same condition it was when you received it, which means it must be unopened and in saleable condition. In other words, if you try Silk of Morocco, you bought it.

In order to request a refund or to cancel your autoship enrollment, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-755-5726 for an RMA.

Will Silk of Morocco Give You Long, Luscious, Supermodel Hair?

Chopping to the point: Considering the fact that there is no clinical evidence available showing that argan oil can help your hair grow faster or improve its health, probably not. Argan oil has been used for a long time in Morocco as a beauty and haircare product though, so it may temporarily thicken your hair, similar to many other local products.

However, other thickening haircare products, including pure argan oil, can be purchased elsewhere for up to 80% less than Silk of Morocco. This, in combination with the fact that it’s only sold through a trial and autoship program, means that we’d recommend you purchase argan oil somewhere other than through Silk of Morocco.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

36 Customer Reviews for Silk of Morocco

Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 34
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 36
Sort reviews by:

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Such a rip off.

    • San Antonio, Texas,
    • Jan 24, 2016

    Scammers. It never dawned on me who the hell was withdrawing all this money from my bank account for the past 4 months. I'm constantly busy, working, taking care of my family. I don't have time to waste on jerks like these, so I finally got enough time and I tried to contact them. I've sent email after email requesting to cancel my subscription, way before the free trial was even over to begin with the very 1st bottle I received (which was "supposed" to be a free sample). Didn't do what they say it would do to my hair. That hair oil sucks. I have 3 more unopened bottles, still in the box waiting to get returned to get my money refunded, but I can never get in contact with anyone to cancel my subscription or send my refund to me. I want my money back.

    I recommend please do not try this free trial. They're waiting to screw you. Don't fall for their scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    What a scam, total rip off.

    I too purchased a bottle of Moroccan oil, only to realize a charge of £384.00 for 1 bottle of oil. The credit card company refunded me some of the money, but I was still charged £94.00 for 1 bottle. I sent loads of emails with no reply. There are no terms or conditions or any information when the bottle arrives.

    It's a total rip off. They need to be stopped. It shouldn't even be allowed on Facebook. I will never order anything that's Facebook related again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • England,
    • Dec 21, 2015

    After stupidly excepting a free hair oil trial these tablets were sent out! I did not order these! £100 was then taken out. Cannot find any email that works or contact number. Fuming doesn't come close to how I feel about this situation. Do not buy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Horrible scam company

    • England UK,
    • Dec 2, 2015

    Do not buy this product. I just had to cancel my card because they won't let you unsubscribe after tricking you into a super expensive monthly charge. Customer service is a joke, they ignore everything you say and try to make you sign up to even more stuff while you tell them that you don't want them to contact you anymore. Received 6 calls from them this morning. Will also have to change my number or find a way to block these creeps.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    SCAM. Do not buy from them.

    • London, Uk,
    • Dec 1, 2015

    I have tried to cancel my membership with them with no luck. They don't listen, just hang up on you. So I was charged £91 for a crappy bottle of ''Morocco Silk'', 60ml. I have canceled my card right after that (wish I did that sooner), so they can't take any money again. They just charge you some fees and stuff. In total I was charged £115 for a ''FREE'' trial.

    Ladies DO NOT buy from them.

    PS: it's very bad product, seems like just ordinary oil. My hair is left greasy after using it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Total scam, do not buy.

    • Edinburgh,
    • Nov 28, 2015

    I stupidly fell for this, seeing as there was no small print, I thought it must be a legit offer. Ah how I was fooled. I've just cancelled my card and hoping I've not been charged money for a second installment yet. I really hope it has worked now and I wont get charged £50 for some rubbish hair oil. Stay away at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Trial Bottle

    • UK,
    • Oct 20, 2015

    You all here complaining about the charges. If you all read the T&C, you must cancel the item before 14 days. If you do, they company will not charge you £80 or so. So don't go blaming the company, as I ordered free bottle trial and gave cancellation before and was not charged. Read T&C before paying. :)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 10, 2015

      Alex Aczel

      You are probably the only person in the world who has time to read the terms and conditions. A serious company will never charge you three months in a row for something that you didn't call and asked for, especially when it costs £90 for a stupid bottle of oil that doesn't even do its job description. Oh, and did I mentioned they didn't even send the item but charged me?

    • Nov 27, 2015

      Becca

      Do they charge you three months supply if you do not take it back?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    They scam

    • Keighley, England,
    • Oct 12, 2015

    Well again, like other customers on here, I found this through Facebook and all looked legit as I was only going to pay $4.90 for just the shipping and handling. Luckily I check my bank day after ordering it and found out that they was taking small payments which added up to $13.95. At this point, I have canceled my card so they can't take anymore. I asked them for refund and they said I would have to send them the product back otherwise I would get charged the full price. I have told them that they are getting no money from me now and that I'll keep the product as I would lose money just paying postage. I just want to cancel. This is sure a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Dont buy it. It's not $3 - real price is $89.47

    • TX,
    • Sep 21, 2015

    Hello guys. Never trust this free bottle that is claimed to be just $3. It will cost you $89.47. In 2 weeks they will charge you. Nothing is free in this world. Even if it wouldn't be free, the price of $89.47 for such a small bottle of 60ml is really a lot. I didn't see anywhere that they will charge me in 2 weeks if I will not return them this bottle back. It's just an $89.47 crap. I'm disappointed about this advertising, how they work by lying​ to people about free stuff. And I would say that may be this bottle is worth $20-$30 but not $89.47. Please don't buy it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    I found their Facebook ad for a free trial if you pay S&H and I decided to give it a try. There was NO mention of Terms and Conditions at any time during the checkout, and I wish I had taken a screenshot so I could prove that. I got my bottle and the pills and thought nothing of it, until I got two MORE order confirmation e-mails and found that I had been charged nearly $200 for more of their product. I went back to the website and found it had completely changed from when I originally visited; there wasn't even a way to place an order anymore.

    Then, for the first time, I saw their Terms and Conditions about being automatically signed up for a monthly subscription for their product costing me $84 for the oil and $89 for the pills. I e-mailed them immediately and called my bank, who said it looked like my card had been compromised and cancelled it for me so at least they can't charge me any more.

    When I got an e-mail back from the company, they said they were "sorry" that I "misunderstood" and would LOVE to offer me 50% off WHAT THEY'VE ALREADY CHARGED ME FOR or 50% off what they'll charge me for to cancel. They also showed a screenshot of a "Terms and Conditions" button that was NOT in the original checkout screen. Sadly, I can't prove this because the Facebook ad is now gone and their website layout has completely changed. Bottom line, do NOT order from these people, it is a SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 9, 2015

      Z

      What was their e-mail?

       

    • Oct 12, 2015

      Kasey

      Here is the email: support@puremoroccansilk.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Ordered it, how do I cancel?

    • Denmark,
    • Aug 20, 2015

    I ordered this free trial, because I didn't really thought further about it. But then I read all the reviews and now I'm literally in panic. How do I cancel this deal? Should I just call them or send them an e-mail?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (9)
    View all 9 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 23, 2015

      Mariyam

      If you paid by Paypal then ring them, tell them you didn't know about the monthly payment. And if by direct debit, ring your bank and tell them that you want to cancel and they don't have a contact number.

      But did the product work or is it just bull?

    • Aug 26, 2015

      PRAYER721

      Call the company directly, demand cancelation immediately, also tell them you are reporting them to the BBB, follow through if they don't honor your request. Also call your bank, let them know you want a stop payment on that transaction. These measures shou

    • Aug 26, 2015

      Tiffany

      Cancel immediately. They charged me with the full price and are being difficult about it. They also automatically enrolled me into receiving and charging me for another product. Their phone number doesn't work, the cancellation button on their site doesn't work. You have to send an email to their bad address.

    • Sep 2, 2015

      Annatres

      Just go to your bank and tell them you don't want them to take any more money out. I had to do that.

    • Sep 21, 2015

      Kasey

      I went to my bank, but they can't get my money back because I had a "prior relationship" (the free trial) with the company. I'm guessing all I can do is contact their customer service and try to get my money back from them? I never actually received the second shipment of product, and they claim they take the money out after shipping.

    • Sep 28, 2015

      Natasha Lønborg

      How did you stop the membership?

    • Sep 30, 2015

      Kasey

      E-mail them back and tell them you did not sign up for anything (they'll claim you did, but I'd say so to prove the point that you know they're a scam) and demand that they stop your "membership" immediately. They'll give you the "sorry to see you go" bull, but they won't charge you again. I've been told to threaten to take them to small claims court over this, and I just might.

    • Nov 11, 2015

      Alice

      Can somebody give me the email address to cancel please or a number to call that actually works? 

    • Nov 21, 2015

      Steph

      Is there an email address or phone number to call and cancel the membership?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 36

Write a review for Silk of Morocco!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review