About Simply Fit Board

The Simply Fit Board is a plastic exercise device intended to strengthen core muscles and trim waist fat by using its balance-board design to enhance workouts.

Balance boards come in all shapes and sizes and have been around the workout world for some time now, but the Simply Fit has gained a lot of popularity since it made an appearance on Nov. 6, 2015, on the popular ABC entrepreneur show Shark Tank. There, founders Linda Clark and her daughter Gloria Hoffman were thrilled when shark and QVC personality Lori Greiner agreed to invest $125,000 for a 20% stake in the company.

We’re guessing you came to our page either because you saw Simply Fit on Shark Tank and wanted to learn more, or you’ve heard about the balance-board workout craze and came across the trending board as you did some research.

Either way, we’re glad you’re here. Over the next few minutes we’re going to answer the following questions:

  • What is the Simply Fit Board?
  • Do balance boards really offer any benefits?
  • What are people saying about the Simply Fit Board?

What is the Simply Fit Board?

The Simply Fit is crafted from a special plastic, a video on the website says, that allows you not only to rock back and forth like a traditional balance board, but also to twist from side to side. The board’s surface includes handles for hands and non-slip surfaces for feet.

It comes in five different colors with descriptive names like atomic orange and bright magenta. The boards cost $44.95.

In addition to highlighting the board, the Simply Fit website also pushes their series of 10-minute YouTube workout videos that offer tutorials on how to use the board, workouts designed for kids as well as a variety of workouts for adults.

The website claims their board helps weight loss, targets abdominal fat (a.k.a. muffin tops), tones legs, improves balance and offers several other benefits.

Do balance boards really offer any benefits?

As we mentioned earlier, balance boards (they’re also called “wobble boards”) have been around for a while. They literally come in all shapes and sizes. Some are discs with rounded bottoms, while others are shaped like skateboards with knobs underneath them.

Even though they’re all designed differently, balance boards, in general, try to do one thing: improve your balance.

But are they really effective in this end, or just gimmicky pieces of workout equipment? We wanted to know, so we did some research through the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM).

In 2011, they published a piece on using balance training with older adults. It pointed out that our balance can be maintained and improved as we get older. We think this bodes well for balance boards (Simply Fit included) because they can be a “lifetime” type workout equipment rather than a passing fad.

Specifically, the ACSM said balance training can:

  • Rehabilitate injuries
  • Strengthen muscles
  • Condition the body
  • Improve stability and postural alignment
  • Help prevent falls

Another published piece from the ACSM, “Ankle Sprains and the Athlete”, points out that balance boards are “an excellent rehabilitation technique that helps strengthen and stabilize the ankle.” It even goes as far as to say that you can reduce the risk of re-injury by up to 50% using balance boards during rehab.

Even Mayo Clinic has pages devoted to balance exercises, which, they say, should be included in your daily routine and can improve your stability.

So what’s the takeaway here for the average person who’s interested in using these boards? They seem to be an excellent way to improve your balance, posture and rehab injuries. We run into a lot of junk science during our reviews, but, based on what we’ve read, we feel pretty positive about the benefits balance-board workouts can provide.

We think it’s important to point out something we noticed on the Simply Fit website, though. The site claims that their balance board fights “muffin top” and helps you burn fat.

Based on the research we’ve done, there’s not a lot of evidence to support that claim. It’s our opinion that the fat-burning benefits listed on the Simply Fit site are the result of the company’s workout videos and not the board itself.

But our opinion is just part of the bigger picture. What are your fellow consumers saying about the Simply Fit Board?

What’s the feedback so far about the Simply Fit?

The two main sources of feedback from consumers about the board were found on Simply Fit’s Facebook page, and on the item’s QVC page. The board received 160 reviews on its Facebook page, averaging 4.7 stars and gaining 146 5-star reviews.

Several of the most recent reviews mentioned Shark Tank, others talked about the company’s excellent customer service and many praised the product’s ease of use. The reviews, in general were glowing.

Simply Fit’s balance board has an average rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars on QVC, where 13 of 19 reviewers gave the product the maximum 5-star rating.

Two customers mentioned Shark Tank, while two others said they stopped using it because they were scared they might fall over.

When we look at these reviews as a whole, we think there’s a good chance you’ll be pleased with your Simply Fit Board if you choose to buy it.

How does the Simply Fit Board stack up against other balance boards?

Let’s cut to the chase: while balance exercises are proven to help coordination and muscle strength, those same studies haven’t identified which balance boards work best.

For the average consumer, we think the two factors which matter most when selecting a balance board are weight limits and price.

The Simply Fit Board has a weight limit of 400 pounds and costs $44.95. We found a couple of similar boards on Amazon:

Based on these comparisons, we think the Simply Fit Board is a good value because it supports up to 400 lbs. and costs less than some of its competitors. If you weigh less than 300 lbs., the Isokinetics Deluxe could be a great fit for you.

Our conclusions about the Simply Fit Board

As we mentioned before, we deal with many products that provide a lot of hype and very few benefits. We don’t believe this is the case with Simply Fit’s balance board. It is the latest piece of equipment in a long line of balance tools that can help you with stability and certain rehab programs.

We also think the founders have done a good job of creating a balance board with style. Their bright colors are a breath of fresh air in a market where most boards are made from wood or dark plastic.

It’s important to remember, though, that a balance board by itself has limited benefits. We believe it’s best to buy the board understanding that you’ll need a series of balance-specific workout videos to get the full benefit of the board.

Simply Fit knows this, and we think they’ve done a great job of providing customers with 10 different workout videos that included the balance board.

Before we end our review, we’d like to point out that Mayo Clinic and ACSM said it’s important to start slow with your balance board. As you work up your strength and stability, branch out to more complex exercises.

All in all, we think the Simply Fit Board falls in line with most balance boards in terms of what they do. While the company hasn’t reinvented the wheel, it definitely has captured consumers’ attention with good-looking equipment and free workout videos.

If you’re looking for ways to improve your balance without a balance board, check out these seven difference balance exercises from Mayo Clinic. They’ll strengthen your body and improve your stability for free.

Read Next: There’s No Such Thing as “Spot Fat Loss”

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

60 Customer Reviews for Simply Fit Board

Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 19 4 stars: 9 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 7 1 stars: 23
Bottom Line: 48% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 60
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Love the Fit Board

    I bought the Fit Board two weeks ago. I'm 54 had two cervical spine surgeries with titanium bar put in, and a lumbar spine surgery. I quit smoking 2 and a 1/2 years ago and gained 50 lbs.

    Using the Fit Board is so easy and comfortable with no strain on my spine. And I've lost 2 lbs! For the people that complain about the board moving and going in circles, take it from me, it's because your balance is off. Once you get the hang of it as I have, you will stay in one place with no problem. I love my board.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • Lebanon, MO,
    • Mar 7, 2017

    I bought this for my wife as she wanted to tone up her waist, hips, etc. She works in a manufacturing warehouse, so she is in decent shape.

    The first time she used it, she had sore muscles around her tailbone area. She waited until it eased up and used it one more time. This time, however, she hurt more and ended up going to a chiropractor and a massage therapist. She won't use the board anymore as the massage therapist advised her not to as it is the worse thing you can do to tone up. She recommended sitting in an office type swivel chair with feet on the floor and swivel back and forth. She gets the same type of workout without hurting herself.

    This cost me over $130 (for the board and office visits). I don't think the board is worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    A fun way to exercise

    • Menifee, California,
    • Mar 6, 2017

    It is a fun and easy way to exercise. But, after I used it for 15 minutes a day, my knees starting feeling stiff and were hurting. I bend my knees and stand straight. Am I doing something wrong? I WANT to use the fit board, but will my knees eventually go out, or is this exercise just strengthening my knees?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Extremely bad product

    • Welland, Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 4, 2017

    I spent $120 for the board, the matt, and the DVD.

    I used it for three days and had a hard time balancing while twisting. The fourth day I woke up and couldn't put any weight on my knee due to pain. The pain progressively got worse and I experienced pain in my calf and around the ankle. After x-rays and a hospital visit, I found out that I have a lateral strain and fluid under the knee cap from the injury. The fluid is seeping out and going down my leg, which is causing the muscle pain in my calf and around the ankle. I am on pain killers and anti-inflammatories and am scheduled for an ultrasound for a better look at the damage. I have missed three weeks of work and am couch bound.

    This product is the worst. I was fine until I used it. Not only did I lose the expense of the product, but due to the pain and suffering I have been having, I also have three weeks of lost wages. It also has stopped me from my usual exercise.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Love it.

    • Tennessee,
    • Feb 27, 2017

    This is probably the least effort you will have to make to reach your weight loss goals. It is fun and so easy. It is awkward at first, but I was able to maneuver it the second day of use. With a 1,200 calorie "diet," a step counter (I do 5,000 steps a day, five intervals a day, and 1,000 steps per interval) and the Simply Fit Board, I am seeing the weight melt off of me. I highly recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Fun and addicting

    I just received it three days ago. Not having the best of balance, I thought I would start out slow. It turns out that it is so much fun, and I get on it several times a day. I have even started doing the crunches that are in the workout video. I absolutely love it!

    I recommend this to everyone!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Terrible!

    • Orlando, Florida,
    • Feb 26, 2017

    It's a terrible product!

    It moves all over the place and doesn't stay in one place. One time I went in a full circle! I tried it with a yoga mat, and the yoga mat moves with it. I tried it with a carpet, and it doesn't work either. It doesn't even feel like a workout either.

    It is a waste of money; just go to the gym instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    The Fit Board is awesome!

    It's the best way to work out in your home as you create balance for yourself.

    I'm addicted to the Fit Board; it works the upper and lower muscles of the body, gives you as much cardio as you can stand, fits almost anywhere, is carry-able, cute, works your arms, and makes you work up a sweat!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Broken board

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Feb 20, 2017

    This board works great, and I love it. I use it three times a week and have lost weight and improved my balance. But tonight, when I was on it, it split right down the middle. What good is it if it breaks? Is this so you have to keep buying more?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    Hello, I am Susan Johnson.

    My sister gave me a Simply Fit Board about two weeks ago, and I love it! I have not been this excited about exercising in a long time, and I can’t wait to do my workout. I am 56 years old, out of shape, overweight, with bad knees, bad back, and high blood pressure, so to say I was skeptical is an understatement, but I was game to try it. Watching the video and following the workout makes all the difference, and I have used it daily with no pain or problems of any kind.

    I started with the 10-minute workout and have built up easily to 30 minutes with no stress! Additionally, I live in very restricted living quarters (we call it the "sub") and that was the reason my sister thought it would be good for me, and she was right. Having a workout that I can do easily is awesome.

    Stay tuned, because my weight is going down for sure this time, and I am so motivated! Thanks to my sister for the thoughtful gift, and thank you Simply Fit for making the world a better place.

    P.S. Even my cat loves it (you ought to see that video).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2017

      Donna

      Good luck on the road to better health Susan!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Not happy

    • Muskegon, MI,
    • Feb 10, 2017

    I ordered my board last December 30th, a lime green one. I received a notice that they were out of the green, but I could get a different color and not have to wait. I opted for an orange one.

    I received the board around the 15th of January, but ONLY the board. It was to have two DVD's and instructions with it. I called right away, and they said they were having problems with their system and they would get the DVD's and instructions out right away (although I had to call back the next day to complete the transaction because their system was down then). I called back, and they said they were still having problems, but as soon as possible, they would take care of the matter.

    It is now February 6th, and I still have nothing. I called in again and am told they will get this in the mail ASAP, but normal shipping takes 7-10 days. I am thoroughly upset with them and wish I could talk to Laurie (from Shark Tank), to let her know how poorly it is run!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 15, 2017

      Jennifer Chevalier

      I am a very large woman, and I just bought the Simply Fit Board on Monday at Walgreens. I followed directions on how to use it, but somehow I twisted, and my girth put me into a hilarious tailspin. I think it's hysterical now, but not o much at the time. I am still going to use it but suggest if you are on the heavier side to have a chair back or nearby to stop you from spinning like a merry-go-round.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 60

Write a review for Simply Fit Board!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review