About Sit N Cycle

Sit N Cycle is an “As Seen on TV” fitness product that claims to provide you with an effortless, low impact method of staying in motion, while also helping you to achieve optimum fitness. The device is primarily targeted toward busy Baby Boomers and active seniors, and its new and improved design is claimed to be easier on your knees.

Sit N Cycle is endorsed by Olympic Gold Medal winner Dorothy Hamill, and is manufactured by Smooth Fitness & Health. Unfortunately, the company is not listed with the Better Business Bureau. However, we’ve accumulated a variety of customer reviews here at HighYa over the past several months, and we’ve noticed that the most common customer complaints reference poor quality—more specifically, a pedal design that fails frequently. Is this still the case with the new and improved version? Let’s find out.

How Sit N Cycle Works

By utilizing a hands-free design and 8 resistance options, the Sit N Cycle is an aerobic fitness machine that engages your core and allows you to burn calories with minimal effort. In fact, the company claims you can even use it while watching TV or reading a book.

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

Like the original version, the new and improved Sit N Cycle allows you to increase energy, reduce stress, and improve your health. However, you’ll now be able to change resistance levels with the turn of a dial, enjoy a larger cushioned seat with a locking mechanism, experience an advanced pedaling system for smoother operation, in addition to large no-slip pedals, and six new colors.

Sit N Cycle Pricing & Refund Policy

If purchased directly through the manufacturer, the Sit N Cycle is available under a 30-day risk free trial, just pay $19.95 to begin. Once your trial has ended, however, you’ll be billed six consecutive payments of $39.99, for a total of $259.89.

If you’re dissatisfied, you’ll need to contact customer service at (855) 663-5643 to obtain a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number, and then send it back in its original packaging. Keep in mind that you’ll be responsible for return S&H charges.

Bottom Line: Is Sit N Cycle a Scam?

While we have no reason to believe that Sit N Cycle is a scam, there are some concerns you should keep in mind prior to placing your order.

Most importantly, the Sit N Cycle is an “As Seen on TV” product, which typically carry lower customer satisfaction ratings than their mainstream counterparts. In fact, the majority of Sit N Cycle reviews we’ve accumulated at HighYa reference poor quality—more specifically, a pedal design that fails frequently. While the “new and improved” version that’s being heavily promoted on QVC is claimed to address many of these issues, we’ve received several reviews over the past month that continue to cite this same problem.

Also, keep in mind that the Sit N Cycle weighs a whopping 34 pounds, which, given the product’s target demographic, might make it much less portable than the website makes it appear.

Do you have experience with the new and improved Sit N Cycle? If so, let your voice be heard and write a review!

60 Customer Reviews for Sit N Cycle

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 4 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 5 2 stars: 8 1 stars: 42
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 60
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Pedal failure

    • by Dave,
    • Minoa, NY,
    • Feb 13, 2015

    As stated by many people, after about 8 months, one of the pedals eroded and could not be tightened. I had to send the whole unit back (postage was paid by the company) and was promised a new one was to be shipped on January 15. I never received it and called them back. They now say it will be shipped no later than February 18. I am still waiting. Hopefully this will be shipped soon. Other than that, my wife does like the machine, but I am tired of waiting for the replacement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Like to sit and cycle

    • by EL,
    • TEXAS,
    • Feb 11, 2015

    My, My, My... I read all the reviews online. I was surprised at all the negative feedback. First saw SitNcycle on Steve Harvey show 2014. Purchase from Bed Bath and Beyond on 31 January 2015. Watched Superbowl with friend and family. In 11 days later lost 10 pounds. Maybe it’s water weigh, time will tell. Use it for 4-5 hours per day. Installing was easy within 30 minutes. I read instructions and watch YouTube prior. All the hardware and materiel was included. You have to use additional screw driver and wench if the one in package isn’t strong enough. I used WD-40 on the area in which was difficult. Anyway, no problem.

     Tips: REVIEW YouTube and read instructions, it will save time to install and make it easier. Second tip: start with the lowest tension number and move to next level. It’s a new machine and will need break-in. Third tip: stand in front of machine with your hips touching the seat, this is the best way to get on the seat. It wasn’t made with a handle because of the purpose of the SitNcycle.

    I hesitated to purchase. I am 55 years old female, licensed Massage Therapist/Physical Therapist. Done research prior to purchase. Like the concept of sitting and exercise, watching tv, reading, computer and laptop. If you have a high countertop or kitchen island, that works well. Was diagnosed with osteoarthritis and bursitis. SitNcycle is the best relief I felt in years. Bottom line: everyone isn’t going to be happy with everything in life. Thanks of reading this review.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 17, 2015

      Janice M.

      This review looks planted. Using this product 4 to 5 hours a day? Wow, an incredible feat. And it hasn't broken or lost a petal. This is simply an unreliable and unbelievable review.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Horribly Unsafe and Dangerous

    • by Sue,
    • Jan 31, 2015

    I am a certified spinning instructor and totally at awe in a seriously bad way. First of all, there is noting to hold onto, like a handle bar. Nothing to prevent a fall if you lose your balance. Also, without a handle bar to help keep a neutral position, it can be seriously dangerous to anyone, especially to older people. The people in the commercial were bent more than a 2-3 degree in the knee, which is dangerous and one was even painting her toes, which you never supposed to do. This product should not be sold, never.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Bad review

    • by Dianna McCann,
    • Colleyville, Texas,
    • Jan 29, 2015

    PLEASE do not order this product! We ordered 3, 2 as gifts! All three broke within days. They said they would replace the parts and send a new cycle with a shipping label to send one of the broken ones back. After waiting 2 months for one new cycle and never getting anything, I called them. Because I did not send them back the cycle in the right time frame, I was basically out of luck and stuck with 3 broken Sit N Cycles. Needless to say, I set 3 cycles by the curb today to be picked up for trash. Out over 700.00 dollars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Awful product

    • by Adrienne Maples,
    • Chespeake, VA,
    • Jan 23, 2015

    I have used this equipment for less than 5 hours in about 2 months. The right pedal fell off. Finally got through to customer service at Sit N Cycle and they sent me a pedal handle. I was unable to remove the original pedal handle and the service rep said she would have someone call me to tell me how to remove the old one so that I could replace it with the new one. After 7 days and no response, called back and was told that they were not responsible for helping me get off the old one.

    They agreed to send out a replacement but that I would be responsible for the return postage of the broken machine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 31, 2015

      Sue

      I am a certified Spin Instructor and I am telling you all that this is so unsafe, not only for normal age people but for seniors.

      Nothing to hold onto while you are seated, like a handle bar. So if lose your balance - hello, down you go. They show people painting their toes - nah nah for any cycling person. VERY UNSAFE.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Product does not last, belts shred. I only used a few times.

    • by Lynette,
    • New York ,
    • Jan 15, 2015

    This product is not durable. It was ridden under 20 times by a ten year old and a 50 year old and the belt shredded inside. It was extremely disappointing for the amount it cost versus its longevity. It is a waste of over $200.00. Would not recommend to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 27, 2015

      Blanche

      The belt broke. I called for service and I was told to wait for a return slip. But a week has passed already and no slip.

    • Jan 30, 2015

      Cynthia

      I was going to buy this product. Thank you for stopping me from making a big mistake!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality

    • by Meredith Farley,
    • Annapolis, MD,
    • Jan 14, 2015

    Within a month of purchasing this item, the pedal started coming off on the left side. I emailed QVC who in turn sent me a number to call. I called and they sent me a new pedal, however the part that attaches to the pedal is not working now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 44 people found this review helpful

    I have never had such difficulty with an online order.

    • by Dorthea ,
    • Williamsburg, VA,
    • Dec 24, 2014

    I haven't even gotten the product yet and I am already pissed off. Here is my story.

    I ordered it online from sitncycle.com, for my mom's Christmas present. I ordered it December 16th and I assumed I would get it in time for Christmas because according to the site it ships in 3-5 days. The next week, I noticed that I had not gotten a message that the item had shipped.

    Three days ago, I called customer service and they told me that they had no record of my order. She tried several different searches and said it did not go through for some reason. She told me I would have to re-order it and it would not come in time for Christmas. So I re-ordered it.

    I called the next day to see if my second order had come through. This time, the person told me that they had found my first order. It had come through on the 19th, 3 days after I first ordered it. She said it had shipped already. I asked about my second order, if I could cancel it. Apparently that one had not come through yet and I need to call on Friday to cancel it.

    Though the first item has apparently shipped, I have not received an e-mail saying that and so I have no tracking information. I went to their website to check the status of both my orders and guess what? According to their website, they have no record of either of my orders.

    I have never had this experience, ever, with ordering something online. I have a feeling that when I call Friday morning, either they still will not be able to find my second order, or it will have already shipped and so I won't be able to cancel it. Is is a coincidence that they weren't able to find my first order until it shipped?

    After reading these reviews about the poor quality of the bike, I am not even going to open either of them. I'll send them right back and buy a similar bike from a different company for my mom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Overcharge

    • by Sharon,
    • Washington State,
    • Dec 18, 2014

    After the trial period a check was sent for the whole amount, for full payment. After our check cleared the bank, they came back charging our card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 34 people found this review helpful

    This company is not Legit and Scams Senior Citizens

    • by Anonymous,
    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Dec 2, 2014

    This company is not Legit because it scams senior citizens. The left pedal keeps coming loose. They promised to send parts to fix it but then they said that the parts are temporarily out of stock. I have called the company 3 times and haven't gotten the response. Don't buy from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Sit n cycle poor quality and customer service

    • by Dan Schuler,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Dec 2, 2014

    I purchased a Sit n Cycle through AAA Member Deals in August 2014. My credit card was billed right away but I did not hear from the manufacturer as when I would receive my product. I received no notification when the product was shipped and after several attempts to find out when it would arrive, it showed up around the third week of September. When I put the cycle together, I discovered the threads for the arm to the pedal were stripped and I called Customer Service to request a new arm. I was told that one would be sent right away and would receive notification when it was sent. A month later I had not received the part and called Customer Service again. I was told the part was back ordered and would be sent no later than November 25th. It is now December and still no part or correspondence from Customer Service. The cycle is cheaply made and I have not been impressed with Customer Service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 60

Write a review for Sit N Cycle!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review