What Is Sleep Styler?

Published on: Apr 8, 2017

Endorsed by Shark Tank’s Lori Greiner, the Sleep Styler hair styling system uses patented super-absorbent heat-free rollers that promise to deliver gorgeous, wavy, curly hair while you sleep, with virtually no effort.

The product’s website indicates you just wrap your damp hair around each Sleep Styler roller, fasten the strap to hold your hair in place, get your beauty sleep, and wake up and unwrap.

Whether your hair is long or short, thick or thin, or straight or curly, the manufacturer tells us Sleep Styler will leave you with bombshell curls, while saving you an hour of styling time in the process. You can even straighten your hair if you choose.

And compared to the competition, Sleep Styler claims to feature a marshmallow soft memory foam core to maximize your sleeping comfort, while the microfiber material holds four to five times is weight in water, so you'll wake up dry.

What’s the bottom line about Sleep Styler? Can you expect it to perform as well as advertised, or will it provide limited usefulness for the money? Does it have any competition—and if so, how does Sleep Styler stack up?

While we didn’t test Sleep Styler firsthand, we’re here to help you make a more informed decision by discussing everything we learned during our research.

How Sleep Styler Works: Is It Right for You?

Your hair is mostly made up of a protein called keratin, which is super strong due to its molecular hydrogen bonds, which stick together and form long, hardy filaments.

While this strength helps prevent hair from damage and from easily falling out, it’s also what makes hair difficult to style. In fact, there are only two methods of weakening these hydrogen bonds: heat and water.

Heat works by temporarily relaxing the hydrogen bonds in your hair, allowing it to take whatever shape you choose (straight, wavy, curly, etc.). Water also relaxes these bonds, but works by inserting itself between each protein molecule and weakening the ‘chain’ it helps create.

Given this, Sleep Styler's core function works very similarly to a hot roller—it helps hold hair in place while the hydrogen bonds are weakened, allowing you to temporarily style it.

But instead of heat, Sleep Styler uses water. And instead of hard plastic rollers, Sleep Styler's long individual wraps feature soft memory foam cores that act as a pillow, along with a microfiber exterior that soaks up moisture. Just hold the hair straight and flat against the roller and wrap.

Sleep StylerWith Sleep Styler, you’ll wrap each section of hair around a padded core and maintain its position using the attached strap. Image Credit: The Sleep Styler

Along with these design differences, Sleep Styler comes in two different lengths:

  • Short – 1.5-inch rollers best suited for hair that is between shoulder and mid-back length, or hair that is long and fine. According to their website, this version works similar to a traditional roller, with a “more robust curl” and additional texture.
  • Long – Also 1.5 inches in diameter, but its longer design allows it to accommodate hair that is mid-back length or longer, or hair that is thick.

Pro tip: If you’re on the fence, the manufacturer notes that your hair must be long enough to spiral around each soft roller several times (ideally, six inches long from the scalp). As mentioned, if your hair is long but fine and struggles to hold a curl, the company notes that Short might be a better choice.

Either way, they emphasize that if your hair doesn't hold a curl with traditional hot styling tools, Sleep Styler might not be a viable option.

What will you pay for this different way of curling your hair?

How Much Does Sleep Styler Cost?

One Sleep Styler set is priced at $29.95, plus $4.95 S&H. If you live in NY, CT, CA, or NV, you’ll also be charged sales tax.

The Long version includes eight 6-inch rollers, while Short includes twelve 3-inch rollers.

Regardless of which version you purchase, Sleep Styler comes with a 30-day money back guarantee, less S&H. In order to request one, you’ll need to call Allstar Products Group’s customer support at (800) 360-9621.

Sleep Styler got its start in a July 2016 Kickstarter campaign, where it raised nearly $47K on an original goal of $10K.

After this success, inventor Tara Brown debuted Sleep Styler on season 8, episode 19 of Shark Tank, where Shark Lori Greiner quickly made a $75K deal for a 25% stake in the company.

Although Lori is closely associated with QVC, it appears that ASOTV giant Allstar Products Group is currently selling Sleep Styler direct to consumers.

Are There Other Products Like Sleep Styler?

While Sleep Styler might currently be a unique product, typing the phrases “magic hair curlers,” “twist curlers,” “ringlet curlers,” “foam curlers,” and “soft curlers” into any search engine will reveal that there are many different options competing in a similar space (to reiterate, we didn’t test any of these firsthand).

Granted, most of these function differently than Sleep Styler, although depending on your hair type and the version you choose, they might provide meaningfully similar results.

However, what you won’t get with many of these options is the microfiber exterior and soft foam interior, so they might not be as comfortable when worn overnight.

On the flip side, some of these competitors could be found for as little as $9 at the time of our research, so it might be a case of choosing between comfort and savings.

Speaking of choices, where does all of this leave you when it comes to Sleep Styler?

Our Final Thoughts About the Sleep Styler System

Anyone who’s left a ponytail or braid in their hair overnight—especially if it was wet—knows that it can add a ton of body the following day. But without any customer feedback at the time of our research, it’s difficult to know exactly how well Sleep Styler will work, and for whom it might deliver the best results.

But based on what we learned on the product’s website, your hair needs to be at least six inches long from the scalp. And if you’re looking for the ultra-tight results that competing for ringlet curlers can provide, Sleep Styler’s thicker 1.5-inch core might leave you will wider and more relaxed results.

Furthermore, while Sleep Styler’s foam core could help deliver additional comfort compared to traditional unheated rollers, we’d have to wonder just how comfortable they would be to wear throughout the night. And even if they were pleasant, it might not be ideal for those who prefer to sleep on their side.

Given this, it might be the case that Sleep Styler can help you “achieve amazing styles,” as claimed on their website, so long as your intended style involves curls or waves.

Pro tip: Based on what we learned from WikiHow, Sleep Styler probably wouldn’t straighten hair, as much as it might turn curly or course hair wavy. In other words, it appears Sleep Styler is geared toward those who want curly waves, regardless of starting hair type.

Finally, while heat can cause a greater degree of damage to hair in less time than water, the fact of the matter is that doing anything to your locks—including brushing them or putting them into a ponytail—will cause some degree of damage.

Remember, moisture weakens hydrogen bonds. As a result, Paradi Mirmirani, MD, a staff dermatologist at the Permanente Medical Group in Vallejo, CA, notes that wet hair is more fragile. Self Magazine explains that this means even towel drying can damage your hair’s cuticles.

Taken together, just by wetting your hair, whether for cleaning or styling, you’re potentially causing damage.

As such, while Sleep Styler might have a propensity to cause less damage than traditional methods like blow-drying and hot curling, it might be unreasonable to think that it won’t cause any damage whatsoever.

If you give Sleep Styler a try and aren’t satisfied with the results, though, Allstar Products seems to stand behind it with a 30-day refund policy. Just keep in mind that you’ll lose the original $4.95 S&H, plus whatever it will cost to send your styling set back to the manufacturer.

Read next: Five Mistakes You Should Avoid to Prevent Damaged Hair

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

99 Customer Reviews for Sleep Styler

Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 4 1 star:  87
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 99
Sort reviews by:

  • Horrible customer service

    • New Bedford, MA,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've read through all the reviews on here and feel the same way as almost all of them.

    The product was extremely disappointing. When I got crappy results after the 3rd honest try, I decided to return them. I was kind on my return letter stating that perhaps this product does actually work on other people, just not on my hair type. I didn't want to completely trash the product just because it didn't work for me.

    My biggest issue, though, wasn't with the product though, but with the customer service. From the moment they answered the phone they had a very rude tone. When I stated that it had been over a month since my return and was still waiting to see the refund on my credit card, she admitted that their computer system has a glitch and since it had already refunded me the $5 incentive (which was offered to me when I originally tried to cancel the order because it was going to take over two months to receive the product, which I was never told about until I checked on my order status a week after I placed the order), she said that $5 refund made the computer system think it already had given me the full refund and if I had not called to check on it I would never have gotten it. That is horrible! And the fact that you not only lose the money for the original shipping and handling but then have to pay to return the product, is also completely wrong.

    So basically I just paid $10 to test out a product for this company and got absolutely nothing in return for it other than a very rude customer service rep, that if I were either of the women I saw on Shark Tank that created this product, I would be mortified to think this 3rd party customer service agency is representing the company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Total waste of money

    Total waste of money. They don't stay in the hair no matter how many times I secured them. Total B.S., returning to Bed Bath & Beyond. Don't waste your time or money. This horrible product should be taken off the market!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Garbage. Total waste of money.

    It does nothing to your hair if your hair already has NATURAL body curl. It might as well did nothing. Uncomfortable to sleep with. Does not make defined curls. Total scam, save your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Like wrapping those pink sponge rollers we used to use when we were kids.

    • Nacogdoches, TX,
    • Sep 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very very expensive. I never tried them because I knew I would not like them when I finally received them, just by looking and touching them. What made me so mad is they offered me $5.00 and to keep them or return them, and pay shipping again to send back. So it cost me $5.95 for shipping to me and $11.16 for me to ship back!

    And then they say they have to inspect to see the condition. Well, the fact that I did not even put it in my hair I better get my whole refund back, or I will be furious! What do they say, "Try it and if you don't like it full refund in 30 days?" We will see. Seems like when your hair is wet, after wrapping your hair around the roller, it would make a big imprint or indention in the roller, with the moisture staying in the roller, I can honestly see after 8 hours of sleep not drying totally.

    I am disgruntled! The girl could not even answer to me in what cause would I not get your full refund. Frustrated!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Terrible!

    • Oxford, OH,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    All this did was make my hair bushy and frizzy, a complete waste of money! They kept falling out in the middle of the night when I did it correctly, and I always need someone to do the back of my head for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was so stoked to try these and even waited extra long for them to come in the mail. When I got them and went to try them, however, I was immediately frustrated trying to put them in right and get them to stay. My hair looks exactly like the girls in all the videos, and I am really very handy and good at styling hair (elaborate braiding, etc.), but I could not for the life of me get these rollers to go in my hair easily. I fumbled and messed with them for 15 minutes before I gave up the first time.

    The second time, after watching more videos, I was determined to get them again but became frustrated again by the Velcro sticking everywhere, the straps not holding my hair in place, and the time I was spending. I tried ONE more time and just put one roller on to sleep in overnight. In the morning when I took it out, you could not even tell the difference between the hair that was wrapped and the rest of my hair. It did not curl it one bit, and my hair usually holds curls really well.

    Now I see that these are gone from Amazon. I guess they got upset about the influx of negative reviews. I went ahead and found other curlers to try for only $8.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Extremely disappointed after waiting for 4 months for shipping!

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I never write negative reviews, but I was SO excited when I saw this product on Shark Tank. I thought this was the answer to everything hair related. I patiently waited FOUR months (yes that's right, four!) to receive this product. I should've just asked for a return, but I was really stupid and waited, thinking this would be a product worth waiting months and months for.

    I put this in my hair after washing (damp), and it was SO uncomfortable I could not sleep. I probably woke up a lot during the night so when I woke up, I felt VERY tired and dull. To add insult to the injury, my hair was STILL damp, and it had ZERO curls. Not even a wave. It just left a very slight ugly kink that's not even a style.

    I just submitted a return form, and they say they will take up to five business days, but who knows if this is true. I wonder how long it would take for me to get credit back. Another four months?! TERRIBLE COMPANY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy - worst customer service!

    • Florida,
    • Aug 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Echoing what everyone else has said - avoid, avoid, AVOID. I never write reviews but had to spread the word on this one. I also bought it after seeing it on Shark Tank, and I also waited three months for delivery. Also, I was super excited to test it out.

    I have medium fine wavy hair that holds a curl well. I followed instructions exactly and also woke up with still damp frizzy hair that I had to rip free from the Velcro on the rollers. I tried three times with no success, so I decided to take advantage of the "money back guarantee."

    And here is where the fun really started. First, as mentioned by others, you have to pay your own return shipping costs. Fine. I followed their return directives, and three weeks later, still no refund. So I called, and they said tracking shows it being delivered tomorrow (how would you know this when I paid out of pocket for shipping?), so expect a refund in 3-4 days. Fine.

    I called back the next week because I still had no refund. They confirmed receipt and said the refund was being processed. Fine. I called back the next week because I still had no refund and was told that without the tracking number, they could not confirm receipt and would not be issuing a refund. I pointed out that they had confirmed receipt the week before, and that the "return authorization number" had been written in multiple places outside the return box and included with the merchandise. Customer service insisted her "hands were tied" without the tracking number. Would have been helpful to know I had to hold onto that five weeks before.

    I contested through AmEx, and AmEx secured a full refund (thank you AmEx!). For added laughs, I cleaned my car and found the tracking number last week. They had received the return five days after I shipped it. Majorly disappointed with my first (and last!) purchase through Shark Tank.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A good tool - not a miracle

    My experience was much more positive than most of those reported here. I ordered from the Sleep Styler website, and I received the rollers about a week after it was placed, just as promised. My standard approach to curling my shoulder-length layered hair is to lightly blow dry (head upside down, about a minute) after towel drying before setting my whole head with large and medium Velcro rollers. Then I let my hair completely dry, which takes about an hour and a half or two hours.

    I used the medium Sleep Styler rollers and did everything just as I normally do. The rollers were a little trickier to use than the Velcro ones, but it wasn't that bad. Instead of sitting up for a couple of hours, I went to bed. Sleeping with the rollers was not as comfortable as no rollers, but I slept pretty well.

    Another note: The rollers smell a little funny, but the smell did not disturb my sleep, get on my pillow, or stay on my hair. I plan to wash the roller covers, following the directions provided.

    The rollers all stayed in. I had a few ridges from the roller straps, and some of my curls were tighter than they normally are, but the ridges fell out quickly, and other than a slight frizziness at the top of my head (the Velcro rollers seems to calm that down more), my hair looks pretty much the way it always does when I curl it.

    I'm glad to have these rollers for those nights that I don't want to sit up to let my hair air-dry or go to bed with damp hair and wake up with frizz-head. These rollers are not the miracle that Lori Greiner claims them to be, but they are a handy weapon in the hair wars.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't try to return it

    The curlers are very uncomfortable to sleep with. I tried to return it, and customer service offered me $5.00. What a joke. I waited three months to receive it, and they only give you 30 days to return it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Too difficult to put on

    I was so excited when I saw these rollers on Shark Tank. Lori was online the next day selling them. I have long layered hair, so I bought both sizes. I watched the online video numerous times, and I have still not been able to get those rollers to stay in my hair. What a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 99

Write a Review for Sleep Styler!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review