What Is Sleep Styler?

Published on: Apr 8, 2017

Endorsed by Shark Tank’s Lori Greiner, the Sleep Styler hair styling system uses patented super-absorbent heat-free rollers that promise to deliver gorgeous, wavy, curly hair while you sleep, with virtually no effort.

The product’s website indicates you just wrap your damp hair around each Sleep Styler roller, fasten the strap to hold your hair in place, get your beauty sleep, and wake up and unwrap.

Whether your hair is long or short, thick or thin, or straight or curly, the manufacturer tells us Sleep Styler will leave you with bombshell curls, while saving you an hour of styling time in the process. You can even straighten your hair if you choose.

And compared to the competition, Sleep Styler claims to feature a marshmallow soft memory foam core to maximize your sleeping comfort, while the microfiber material holds four to five times is weight in water, so you'll wake up dry.

What’s the bottom line about Sleep Styler? Can you expect it to perform as well as advertised, or will it provide limited usefulness for the money? Does it have any competition—and if so, how does Sleep Styler stack up?

While we didn’t test Sleep Styler firsthand, we’re here to help you make a more informed decision by discussing everything we learned during our research.

How Sleep Styler Works: Is It Right for You?

Your hair is mostly made up of a protein called keratin, which is super strong due to its molecular hydrogen bonds, which stick together and form long, hardy filaments.

While this strength helps prevent hair from damage and from easily falling out, it’s also what makes hair difficult to style. In fact, there are only two methods of weakening these hydrogen bonds: heat and water.

Heat works by temporarily relaxing the hydrogen bonds in your hair, allowing it to take whatever shape you choose (straight, wavy, curly, etc.). Water also relaxes these bonds, but works by inserting itself between each protein molecule and weakening the ‘chain’ it helps create.

Given this, Sleep Styler's core function works very similarly to a hot roller—it helps hold hair in place while the hydrogen bonds are weakened, allowing you to temporarily style it.

But instead of heat, Sleep Styler uses water. And instead of hard plastic rollers, Sleep Styler's long individual wraps feature soft memory foam cores that act as a pillow, along with a microfiber exterior that soaks up moisture. Just hold the hair straight and flat against the roller and wrap.

Sleep StylerWith Sleep Styler, you’ll wrap each section of hair around a padded core and maintain its position using the attached strap. Image Credit: The Sleep Styler

Along with these design differences, Sleep Styler comes in two different lengths:

  • Short – 1.5-inch rollers best suited for hair that is between shoulder and mid-back length, or hair that is long and fine. According to their website, this version works similar to a traditional roller, with a “more robust curl” and additional texture.
  • Long – Also 1.5 inches in diameter, but its longer design allows it to accommodate hair that is mid-back length or longer, or hair that is thick.

Pro tip: If you’re on the fence, the manufacturer notes that your hair must be long enough to spiral around each soft roller several times (ideally, six inches long from the scalp). As mentioned, if your hair is long but fine and struggles to hold a curl, the company notes that Short might be a better choice.

Either way, they emphasize that if your hair doesn't hold a curl with traditional hot styling tools, Sleep Styler might not be a viable option.

What will you pay for this different way of curling your hair?

How Much Does Sleep Styler Cost?

One Sleep Styler set is priced at $29.95, plus $4.95 S&H. If you live in NY, CT, CA, or NV, you’ll also be charged sales tax.

The Long version includes eight 6-inch rollers, while Short includes twelve 3-inch rollers.

Regardless of which version you purchase, Sleep Styler comes with a 30-day money back guarantee, less S&H. In order to request one, you’ll need to call Allstar Products Group’s customer support at (800) 360-9621.

Sleep Styler got its start in a July 2016 Kickstarter campaign, where it raised nearly $47K on an original goal of $10K.

After this success, inventor Tara Brown debuted Sleep Styler on season 8, episode 19 of Shark Tank, where Shark Lori Greiner quickly made a $75K deal for a 25% stake in the company.

Although Lori is closely associated with QVC, it appears that ASOTV giant Allstar Products Group is currently selling Sleep Styler direct to consumers.

Are There Other Products Like Sleep Styler?

While Sleep Styler might currently be a unique product, typing the phrases “magic hair curlers,” “twist curlers,” “ringlet curlers,” “foam curlers,” and “soft curlers” into any search engine will reveal that there are many different options competing in a similar space (to reiterate, we didn’t test any of these firsthand).

Granted, most of these function differently than Sleep Styler, although depending on your hair type and the version you choose, they might provide meaningfully similar results.

However, what you won’t get with many of these options is the microfiber exterior and soft foam interior, so they might not be as comfortable when worn overnight.

On the flip side, some of these competitors could be found for as little as $9 at the time of our research, so it might be a case of choosing between comfort and savings.

Speaking of choices, where does all of this leave you when it comes to Sleep Styler?

Our Final Thoughts About the Sleep Styler System

Anyone who’s left a ponytail or braid in their hair overnight—especially if it was wet—knows that it can add a ton of body the following day. But without any customer feedback at the time of our research, it’s difficult to know exactly how well Sleep Styler will work, and for whom it might deliver the best results.

But based on what we learned on the product’s website, your hair needs to be at least six inches long from the scalp. And if you’re looking for the ultra-tight results that competing for ringlet curlers can provide, Sleep Styler’s thicker 1.5-inch core might leave you will wider and more relaxed results.

Furthermore, while Sleep Styler’s foam core could help deliver additional comfort compared to traditional unheated rollers, we’d have to wonder just how comfortable they would be to wear throughout the night. And even if they were pleasant, it might not be ideal for those who prefer to sleep on their side.

Given this, it might be the case that Sleep Styler can help you “achieve amazing styles,” as claimed on their website, so long as your intended style involves curls or waves.

Pro tip: Based on what we learned from WikiHow, Sleep Styler probably wouldn’t straighten hair, as much as it might turn curly or course hair wavy. In other words, it appears Sleep Styler is geared toward those who want curly waves, regardless of starting hair type.

Finally, while heat can cause a greater degree of damage to hair in less time than water, the fact of the matter is that doing anything to your locks—including brushing them or putting them into a ponytail—will cause some degree of damage.

Remember, moisture weakens hydrogen bonds. As a result, Paradi Mirmirani, MD, a staff dermatologist at the Permanente Medical Group in Vallejo, CA, notes that wet hair is more fragile. Self Magazine explains that this means even towel drying can damage your hair’s cuticles.

Taken together, just by wetting your hair, whether for cleaning or styling, you’re potentially causing damage.

As such, while Sleep Styler might have a propensity to cause less damage than traditional methods like blow-drying and hot curling, it might be unreasonable to think that it won’t cause any damage whatsoever.

If you give Sleep Styler a try and aren’t satisfied with the results, though, Allstar Products seems to stand behind it with a 30-day refund policy. Just keep in mind that you’ll lose the original $4.95 S&H, plus whatever it will cost to send your styling set back to the manufacturer.

Read next: Five Mistakes You Should Avoid to Prevent Damaged Hair

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

88 Customer Reviews for Sleep Styler

Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  78
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 88
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    If I could rate with zero stars, I would.

    • Grosse Pointe Farms, MI,
    • Aug 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Awful does not begin to describe this product. I have medium length hair on the finer side. Typically no issue on producing beachy waves when using a curling iron.

    I received the Sleep Styler (smaller rollers); took a shower, let my hair dry a bit and added product-completely following the styling tips listed on their insert in the package. After rolling my hair according to the directions on the website, I went to sleep for the night. I woke up and not only was my hair still wet (after eight hours of sleep!), but the "curls" were a kinky mess. Some rollers did not produce curls at all, and most were kinky strands of hair that appeared as if I just rolled out of bed. On top of that, my hair stuck to the velcro throughout the night, so I had to pull to release.

    Extremely uncomfortable to sleep in to boot. I rarely review products online but felt I had to in this case as this is a bad, bad product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money!

    Don't waste your money on this product. Like many others, I ordered a set when I saw the product on Shark Tank, and it took months to arrive. I finally got them, and it took me about 20 minutes to put them in my hair, the same amount of time it would take me to blow dry and flat iron my fairly fine but medium length hair!

    Then I couldn't fall asleep with them in, which is kind of ironic that this is called a Sleep Styler when the rollers are so uncomfortable to sleep in! I was exhausted from a long day and only wanted to go to sleep but couldn't because I was so uncomfortable that I took them out when my hair was half dry. I had curls, but they would have looked better if I just air dried! Not only that but since the rollers don't go all the way to the top of your head, the top part of your hair could be frizzier than the bottom.

    Don't waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Total failure!

    • Marietta, GA,
    • Jul 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was excited to see this product on Shark Tank and was hoping it was available for purchase. I did my research and found it online. I ordered through their own website. It took about 4-5 months to receive.

    As soon as I finally received it, I wanted to use it immediately. Oh my, what a disaster and disappointment.

    First, do not try it with your wet showered hair. You will end up with soggy rollers and still wet hair in the morning. It feels like you are sleeping on a wet beach towel. The rollers were lumpy and very uncomfortable, causing my neck to kink up by morning.

    If there is a consolation, dry your hair until it is mostly dry. Then use a setting gel lightly on the ends and the outer layer of hair. Twist hair strands before wrapping tightly around rollers. The directions state to start at the base of the head and wrap the ends downwards. Next, it states to wrap the band counter clock wise to how the hair is wrapped. Except, that does not work, as it won't hold the roller tight to the head.

    Solution: I went to the Dollar Store and bought some foam bending sticks (6 for $1, two sets will do your complete head of hair). Works better and more comfortable to sleep on.

    In theory, it would be great if the Sleep Styler held up to its promises. In reality, it, unfortunately, does not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Sexy

    These curlers are pretty cool! I put them in at 10 am and had a date at 6 pm. My hair was pretty much dry, although they say damp hair. My curls in the back of the head were pretty much straight I think due to the wetness. I would suggest doing hair 85 percent dry. I also hit heat with a little blow dryer while they were still setting. I had my boyfriend put them in, and he did a great job.

    Overall the front and main back of my hair came out pretty cute! My hair is waist length, and this is a great way not to add more damage.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money - Stick to the wand!

    • Oviedo, FL,
    • Jul 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I read all the reviews and thought this product would be absolutely amazing! Unfortunately, it was not. I have fine, long hair (about mid back), which really doesn't take long to dry. BUT, every time I would use these, my hair would stay moist and not hold the wave. I'm talking about after leaving it during the day for 5 hours on and then doing it at night before going to bed and sleeping with it (super uncomfortable, by the way).

    Then to top it off, the velcro would get stuck to my hair as I was wrapping it and ripped some of my hair leaving split ends in its wake. Needless to say, I'm over it!

    I also wish I had purchased it from Amazon and not the stupid Sleep Styler website. I paid $7 for shipping and it took 3 weeks! Now I have to pay shipping just to send the garbage back. Truly frustrated. Wish I had had the same positive experience many others did. Sticking with my wand.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    One of the worst products EVER

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    DO NOT buy. Huge waste of money. Took three months to receive and another three months to figure out how the to put in my darn hair. Uncomfortable and just flat out doesn't work. Terrible product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Horrendous customer service and product

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this after my husband saw it on the Shark Tank and knew how much I love to curl my hair but hate taking the extra minutes to do so. It was instant regret because I just kept running into problems once the order was placed.

    1. I placed the order in May. I received a completion email but never received any notice that the product was back ordered until the end of June.

    2. When I called to return the item, the representative didn't even know the return address! He had to check to make sure he was giving me the correct address.

    3. When I received a return email regarding money processed, they altered the refund amount to be less than what I paid, even with the shipping and handling! I had to call customer service and the representative was so rude. I had to put her in her place and told her to improve her customer service skills.

    Now, here's my review on the product: IT SUCKS.

    I have medium length hair, and yes, my hair is easy to curl via braiding, putting it in a bun, and with curling tools. I followed the tips and instructions and gave this product two attempts. It gave me a poodle perm in the worst way possible. I had to tie up my hair into messy buns both mornings after I removed them. Plus, they are very uncomfortable to sleep in. The foam inside the rollers are very cheap and once removed, the foam retains the indentation from having hair wrapped around it, and doesn't restore to its original size.

    So save your time and hard earned money. Do not buy these or you will have to deal with their horrendous customer service to ensure they refund every single penny you regrettably spent on this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Horrible!

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Jul 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worse product I have ever bought online. I expected so much coming from a Shark, but it doesn't work at all. My hair is waived and they are selling the product to straighten the hair. Silly me that I believed such a lie. It's completely impossible that this product would make your hair straight. So I tried to make curls, what a joke; this is impossible to use. Hate it!

    Then I called to return the product, and I had to pay almost $8 to ship it back, and after three weeks I'm still waiting for my money back. I have called them probably ten times and they always have an excuse that the system is not working, the item has not arrived the right department, etc. I don't know what else to do to get my money back. Please don't waste your money and time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 3, 2017

      Katy

      Did you mean to say your hair is wavy, because "waived" is the past tense of "refrain from insisting on or using" or "a right or claim" and it is a verb? Whereas wavy is an adjective, and therefore cannot have a tense meaning "of a line or surface having or consisting of a series of undulating and wavelike curves"

      I have naturally curly hair and just hope to get it to wavy hair. I would never expect this to straighten my hair, that's what a good hair dryer and round brush are for.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    LOVE my Sleep Styler!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I spend way too much time in the morning curling my hair before work and became really discouraged when I saw how much damage was being done to my hair. When I saw the Sleep Styler, I HAD to try it for the sake of my fried hair. The product came within a few weeks, and I tried it that night. It did take a few tries to get the technique down right, but once I got the hang of it, it took less than ten minutes to put in.

    I wrapped my hair extra tight to be safe, slept surprisingly pretty comfortably and woke up with big beachy curls! I could not believe my hair could feel so light and beautiful with virtually no effort OR heat! My hair was super voluminous (more so than using an actual iron), and all I needed to do was hairspray for an all day style. I love seeing female entrepreneurs work hard for something they really believe in. This product is a YES from me!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was so excited for this product and had such high hopes. I'm a busy mom and wanted this to actually work. It does not. The rollers are extremely hard to use, and I am very good with hair and products. If I can't do it, it's pretty difficult. I have below the shoulder fine hair that is slightly curly, and I can assure you that this product does not work. At all. Save your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Uncomfortable to sleep on and I would rather stick to a curling iron

    • New York,
    • Jul 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this in April and only received it in July. I should have requested a refund when my item did not arrive within a week. I had to check back my status order and it said it was delayed! They did not email me stating the delay.

    I received the notification it was sent. It was sent via FedEx. I suspect on a mule (AKA ground shipping) so it went on a tour of the whole of the US and then it arrived.

    The box had no instructions to open and it was a bit confusing, and I started to take images of how it was packaged just in case it was damaged when I tried to open it. There was no buffer from the box and the item. I was so disappointed. Why would you not give instructions how to open the box or give a warning DO NOT USE A KNIFE to open?

    So I finally opened it up and saw that it was in a very cheap looking zipper see-through pouch.

    I first tested it one night before I slept. I ordered the MINI SIZE and sleeping in it was so uncomfortable to the point I lost sleep and my neck just ached. The curls came out all weird and I noticed that the curls were not as natural looking.

    Hair from the roots was straight and then a bumpy curl, unnatural looking.

    So here's the thing: We get 12 pieces and when I used it all, the curls were just ugly, I thought maybe to just use 5 and get more wavy curls.

    I tried it again while I was awake doing chores and working at home, waited for about 4 hours, with damp hair. The hair was still damp.

    Th WORST is their customer service. You have to do your own research and go to the site and scroll down to the refund section and the instructions were to call the number for a return authorization number. I called and gave them all the information. Here is where they get you!.

    1. They stated they will extend 30 more days in addition to the 30 days and send videos on how to use it. I said declined.

    2. They stated that they will give me 5 dollars off if I choose to keep it or give it as a gift to a friend. I said declined.

    3. Then they tried again with something confusing like shipping costs, etc. I said, “No, give me the return number.” Mind you, I was not rude at all during this call. Just more confused because she kept pushing for the first two things.

    4. When all else failed for her, she changed her tone and instantly became rude. She read out the return address so fast I had to ask her to repeat it. She gave me the authorization return code so fast we had to repeat it to each other five times.

    5. They need to buck up on their customer service. The process of returns are so antiquated. Telling me over the phone when something can be left out. Why not email me? But get this, when I called from my cell the automated response told me that they had delivered my order and could give me the details of my delivery and shipping information.

    Just stay away. It's not worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 88

Write a Review for Sleep Styler!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review