About Sling Television

Sling TV is a streaming content company that provides access to live TV, sports, hit shows, movies, and breaking news from dozens of popular networks, in addition to on-demand new releases—without a cable subscription.

Despite what their name might lead you to believe though, Sling TV allows you to do all of this on your television, tablet, computer, or smartphone. Because of this, Sling TV claims to feature “everything you love about TV, for a fraction of the price you’d expect to pay.”

If you’re tired of paying $100 or more per month for your cable subscription and are thinking about cutting the cord, there are some important considerations you should keep in mind about Sling TV.

With this said, let’s start by talking about what “cutting the cord” even means.

What is Cutting the Cord?

Despite the fact that your cable subscription might provide access to hundreds of different channels, the reality is that you probably watch less than 10% of these on a regular basis. And considering that the average American pays $1 per month for their cable bill, this means you’re paying a lot of money for content you’re not even using.

Basically, you’re throwing money out the window.

Factor into this equation that cable rates have risen an average of 9.4% per year since 2011, and you’ve got an increasingly costly monthly expense that’s not fully utilized.

As such, consumers have started cancelling their cable subscriptions in droves, and are instead accessing much of their favorite content through websites like the Sling TV (we’ll delve deeper in the next section). This is what’s known as “cutting the cord.”

While this basic explanation should point you in the right direction, we’d recommend reading our Guide To Cutting the Cord for more in-depth information.

If you’re thinking about cutting the cord though, you have to remember that each streaming service comes with its own set of pros and cons. Let’s explain what we mean.

What Kinds of Content Can You Watch with Sling TV?

Although cutting the cord can save you a ton of money, it’s not a turnkey solution. In other words, although you only watch about 10% of your cable channels, all your content is in one nice, neat package. Simply turn it on, change the channel, kick back, and relax.

However, once you cancel your cable subscription, you’ll likely have to subscribe to other services if you want access to even remotely the same amount of content. Although we’ll provide more detail shortly, take the following as an example: If all your favorite TV shows are on Comedy Central, you might need to choose a service like Hulu Plus, but if you’re more interested in watching documentaries, a service like Netflix and/or Amazon Instant might be more up your alley.

On the other hand, if you can’t live without some premium cable channels, Sling TV might just be your best bet. We’ll wrap up this section with a better look at this, but let’s first talk about the competition.

Netflix

Netflix offers subscribers access to a range of newer (and classic) movies and TV shows, in addition to award-winning original content, although there can be a significant lag between a movie or TV show’s release date and when it appears on Netflix.

Hulu Plus

On the other hand, Hulu Plus features only TV shows from major networks (as well as a limited number of movies and original content), although their content is generally available within 3 days of the air date.

Amazon Instant

Amazon Instant is another popular option for cutting the cord, as you’ll get access to thousands of movies and TV shows, from documentaries to soap operas. But unless you pay for the newest on-demand content, as with Netflix, there will be a fairly decent wait between the date content is released and when it’s available for viewing on Amazon Instant.

Related: Seeso Review

Misc Options

Other options that might not be as popular, but might better match your viewing habits, are Redbox Instant, M-GO, Aereo, and more.

Sling TV

Compared to the competition, Sling TV appears to have carved itself a nice—and much-needed—niche within the content streaming industry, by providing access to content that would otherwise be lost without an expensive cable subscription.

This includes ESPN, HBO, HGTV, Food Network, TNT, and many others, although some options might require additional money. On top of this, you’ll be able to watch live television with Sling TV, or wait until a few days after it airs. It’s your choice.

But we’re getting ahead of ourselves. Let’s first talk about how you can view Sling TV’s content.

Which Devices Are Supported by Sling TV?

According to the product’s website, Sling TV is supported by a wide range of streaming devices and third-party platforms, such as:

  • Amazon Fire TV, Roku, Nexus,
  • Phones and tablets running iOS or Android operating systems (app-based)
  • Xbox One gaming console
  • Macs running Snow Leopard 10.6 or higher, as well as PCs running Windows 7 or higher

When reading through the Sling TV website, we found it curious that there’s no support for AppleTV, which is the third most popular streaming device, trailing only Roku and ChromeCast. However, according to Sling TV’s FAQ, your WatchESPN account from Apple TV will transfer over, so you’ll still be able to watch these associated networks.

Outside of the product’s website, what are people saying about Sling TV?

Customer Feedback for Sling TV

Despite being in business only since January 2015 (as a division of Dish Network), Sling TV already has more than 250,000 subscribers, so it’s an extraordinarily popular service. In fact, type the phrase “Sling TV review” into your favorite search engine and you’re certain to receive millions of hits.

With this in mind, TechRadar gave Sling TV a 3.5-star rating. While they appreciated the service’s clean picture, user-friendly interface, and easy setup, they didn’t like Sling TV’s limited content selection, it’s relatively high price, and the fact that you can’t pause a show on one device (such as a smartphone) and easily resume on another (such as your TV).

Similarly, CNET users also gave Sling TV a 3.5-star rating, with complaints primarily revolving around:

  • Connection problems (buffering/loading times, app crashing, etc.), and
  • The fact that some channels don’t allow you to rewind live content or watch previous episodes.

As with the TechRadar review, CNET’s users recommended that you’ll need to obtain the fastest internet connection you can find in order to fully enjoy the service.

Finally, there were more than 1,500 Sling TV reviews on Amazon at the time of our research, with an average rating of 2.9 stars. There, common compliments cited ease of setup/use, access to premium content, and ability to customize your subscription (more in the next section).

On the other hand, Amazon reviewers didn’t appreciate Sling TV’s buggy apps, high price-to-content ratio, and inability to pause, fast forward, or rewind some content.

From a company perspective, Sling TV, LLC wasn’t listed with the Better Business Bureau, although their parent company Dish Network was. As of 7/28/15, Dish had an A- rating with the BBB, despite having more than 11,500 (yes, you read that right!) complaints. Many of these appeared to reference difficulty cancelling service and higher than expected prices.

Admittedly, this doesn’t mean you’ll experience the same with Sling TV.

Sling TV Pricing

If you’re looking to try Sling TV without a commitment, you can sign up through their 7-day trial. Once this time has passed, you’ll be rolled over to a recurring subscription priced at $20 per month.

However, if you’d like to add additional packages (known as Extras), they’re priced as follows:

  • HBO Access: $15/mo
  • Sports Extra – Includes Universal Sports, ESPN U, ESPN News, SEC Network, and more: $5/mo
  • Kids Extra – Includes Disney Junior, Disney XD, Boomerang, and more: $5/mo
  • Hollywood Extra – Features networks like Epix 1, 2, and 3, Turner Classic Movies (TCM), and more: $5/mo
  • World News Extra – Adds Euronews, News India 18, France 24, and other networks: $5/mo
  • Lifestyle Extra – Includes the Cooking Channel, DIY Network, TruTV, Lifetime, and more: $5/mo

For a full list of available networks and package options, be sure to check out Sling TV’s Programming page.

At the time of our research, Sling TV was running a promotion that offered a free Roku Streaming Stick, 50% off a Roku 3 (total of $49.99), or 50% off a Nexus player (total of $49.50), as long as you paid for 3 months of service in advance.

Thinking about Cutting the Cord? If So, Watch Your Costs

Since pricing is fresh on our minds, let’s quickly discuss costs here.

If you’re like most people, you decided to cut the cord and cancel your cable subscription because you were interested in saving money. However, as we saw above, a single streaming device like Sling TV could set you back $60+ per month.

See Also: 3 Easy Steps for Cutting the Cord & Saving Money

Then, if you also factored in online subscription services such as Netflix, Hulu Plus, Amazon Instant, Redbox Instant, and others, you could easily spend as much (or more) than your original cable bill.

With all of this in mind, let’s answer the important question: is Sling TV right for you?

Can Sling TV Replace Your Cable Subscription?

If you watch most of the channels that come with your (even basic) cable subscription, then you definitely won’t be able to replace all of them with Sling TV.

However, if you find yourself regularly watching shows on networks such as ESPN, HBO, HGTV, Food Network, TNT, and more, but don’t want the burden of an expensive cable bill, Sling TV might be just what you’re looking for.

Remember this though: Right now, Sling TV is the only game in town if you want to live stream content from premium “cable” networks, without a cable subscription, so your options are limited.

Read Next: Streaming Services: With So Many Choices, How Can You Pick the Right One?

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

16 Customer Reviews for Sling Television

Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 19% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 16
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Sling sucks

    • Durham, NC,
    • Jun 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for a free trial then called and complained when the only two times I tried to watch it, it looped, froze up and skipped forward during the basketball game. Extremely frustrating! Then I forgot to cancel it yesterday. I woke up and remembered this morning, and they refuse to refund my $57! Out of all my times of forgetting to cancel a free subscription before the trial period runs out, I've never had a company refuse the refund the next day when I clearly haven't used it except for unsuccessfully during two basketball games.

    This company is awful. Their product sucks. Their customer service sucks. Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do not take free trial, watch cancellation

    • North Carolina,
    • May 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for a free trial to Sling and decided it was not worth the money. I tried to cancel through the website 2 or 3 days before the trial ended. Using the website, they ask surveys with pop-ups trying to convince you not to cancel. They may intentionally try to confuse you into thinking you have canceled when you have not, because I find out I have been billed and am still subscribed a week later. I had never received a cancellation acknowledgment, so I figured they just didn't send one.

    I immediately contact them to cancel, and they say they canceled me, but again no email. I ask for a refund, and they say because of terms and conditions, that's impossible (which of course is BS, we're not dealing with laws of nature here). They asked if I had a cancellation email, which of course I didn't because they don't send them. So, I call the credit card company to dispute the charge, and we have a conference call in which sling customer service hangs up on us (helping my dispute case I'd say). Anyway, stay away from Sling and Dish for that matter.

    BTW, I called later in the day to make sure I was canceled, and they said I was, though no email was received.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Never subscribe to Sling

    • Massachusetts ,
    • Apr 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have subscribed to Sling, trying to watch this through Chromecast,

    After disconnecting Chromecast, every time I am trying to watch any channel in Mobile or on a PC, it throws an error message saying, “Content is being watched on another device now”. I cannot even watch.

    I have called customer service regarding this and some guy named Jousha picked up the call and this guy agrees that there is an issue from their end. However, he doesn't provide solution and refuses a refund.

    The customer service is bad and rude, Sling is robbing customers. I canceled the subscription and never going back to them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Terrible!

    • Jacksonville, Florida,
    • Apr 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please be aware of this company! I signed for a free trial. I canceled this trial within the seven days, and they still charged my account. They refuse to refund it. Terrible!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    My biggest mistake

    • Sevierville, TN,
    • Mar 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would not recommend this product to any of my enemies, much less any of my friends. This is the biggest scam I have ever gotten suckered into.

    First of all, the service sucks. I bought a ROKU from Walmart to cut ties with the blood sucking Charter. I went home, hooked everything up, and tried repeatedly to get connected. After an hour of frustration (the enclosed instructions were useless) I finally had my wife get on the internet with a tech, who just kept telling us to do the same thing the paper said, but it would not work.

    So, I finally called support and got no help there either because I could not understand the tech. So, after getting on Facebook and finding someone who owned ROKU, I was able to get connected.

    It was then I found I had to subscribe to Sling, and that was my biggest mistake. After another hour of trying to figure out what services I could get, we finally subscribed.

    THEN, the headache began, nothing worked, everything buffered non-stop, all kids programming was pay to view, no live TV and we never got one single movie to start, all errors. So I unhooked it, boxed it up and took it back to Walmart.

    Then my wife went onto the internet and cancelled everything.

    At no point was I or my wife informed of Sling being prepaid or agreeing to any arrangement, and besides she cancelled it within 24 hours. HOWEVER, today I was charged $82.09 by Sling for programming, which I do not want and cannot even get and the "nice" customer service rep at Sling was of no help.

    This is as big of a joke as I have ever seen and been involved with. Prepaid (prepay for what?) with continued buffering and pay to watch programming, NOT!

    If you want to cut the cord, do not use Sling. You will be begging for the cord back in less than a day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Sling TV is a scam

    • Westfield, MA,
    • Feb 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sling Television is a scam. They promise high-quality television programming, but instead you get something compared to a severely poor quality Netflix. You're better off sticking with cable or satellite providers because at least you won't get ripped off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Sling crashes, won't refund

    • California,
    • Feb 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It always crashed. I wrote to their service department, but they never did anything but say we are working on it. I asked for a refund, and they would not provide it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT get Sling!

    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did their Apple TV with three months prepaid, paid for it, and received it. To my surprise, before the device had been delivered, my subscription was activated, and HBO was added to my account via a checkout error. They charged me for three months (without any notice) on their website. There was no confirmation, no total costs, nothing!

    I submitted a billing refund to my card, and it was denied! They instead gave me credit to use for three months later, when my prepaid three months ended. I canceled my subscription that day and walked away.

    This month I received ping charges on my card and emails from Sling saying my payment method was denied. This is over five months after I received my Apple TV. It seems that my subscription had magically renewed itself, despite having multiple emails from them saying they are sorry that I had to cancel.

    Apparently, they used my credit card to pay for an additional 1.5 months and were trying to charge me for the partial month I had left. I'm still working on getting my money refunded. I fear I'm out $46 and for no logical reason.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Sling not an honorable company

    This company says you get seven days to review before you buy.

    This is a lie. They charge you $39.99 and tell you that you made a mistake. The only mistake I made was to try Sling Television in the first place. The programming sucks, and you can get the same thing with a $19.95 Radio Shack antenna! Why pay $40 a month for on-air TV?

    And as far as cable, you can get cable with more programming from either Dish or Direct for $20 a month.

    Sling Television is over-rated and over-priced!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Customer service pollicy

    • Rogers, Arkansas,
    • Dec 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sling TV is reminiscent of the days of AOL for those who remember how incredibly difficult it was to cancel their service. I prepaid for 3 months for the SEC football season. We were able to watch 3 out of the 6 games that were supposedly broadcast. This month (Dec) they charged my credit card for renewed service without my approval. They refuse to refund my money. I would discourage anyone from giving them your credit card info. Read their terms and conditions on their website. The customer has absolutely no rights or recourse from bad behavior from Sling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Poor products and service, a company that just doesn't care

    • Ohio,
    • Dec 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    It contains incompetent and terrible programming. It won't load, stops, and buffers. The company takes money out of your account when not authorized.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 16

Write a Review for Sling Television!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review