About Sono Bello

By specializing only in body contouring, Sono Bello claims to have performed over 35,000 procedures, and to be “the nation’s leading liposuction and body contouring specialist.”

As such, the company’s 45 specialized physicians use “advanced micro laser, and power laser-assisted liposuction equipment, as well as numerous invasive and non invasive sculpting techniques” to help “you achieve your specific beauty goals.”

Sono Bello is headquartered in Scottsdale, AZ, though they have 19 locations across the U.S. However, only four Sono Bello centers are listed with the Better Business Bureau (Portland, OR, Beverly Hills, CA, Minneapolis, MN, and St. Louis, MO), and ratings range from A- all the way to F.

In general, it appears that the majority of online customer reviews regarding Sono Bello are negative. The most common complaints we encountered during our research cited that initial consultations are conducted with salespeople (not physicians) who often use high-pressure sales tactics to get you to put down a deposit, and poor post-surgery results (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

How Sono Bello Works

With 19 centers located throughout the U.S., Sono Bello claims to provide “technically advanced, highly personalized” body contouring services that can help you instantly and effectively remove targeted fat—especially for any of your problem areas that diet and exercise aren’t effectively addressing.

To accomplish this, Sono Bello utilizes three primary procedures, which include:

  • Laser Lipo with TriSculpt™ – As the name suggests, the TriSculpt™ process entails 3 steps: “wide-awake localized anesthesia, power-assisted liposuction and laser liposuction,” and is an ideal procedure for your stomach, waist, arms and legs. While you’re awake, your physician will use micro cannulas to gently suck out unwanted fat. Then, a separate micro cannula equipped with a low-power laser is used to remove fat from smaller areas, which also stimulates collagen production.
  • Venus Freeze™ – An FDA cleared, non-surgical reduction procedure that reduces the appearance of cellulite by using a combination of Radio Frequency (RF) and Magnetic Pulses. According to the company, the procedure is painless, and you’ll feel only a gentle warming and massaging sensation on your skin.
  • VelaShape™ – As the only “safe, effective and virtually painless FDA-cleared non-surgical medical solution for body reshaping and cellulite treatment,” VelaShape™ can provide ideal results in as little as four treatments. The technology works by shrinking fat cells and chambers, and reducing the appearance of cellulite on the surface of your skin.

According to the Sono Bello website, these procedures are much less invasive than traditional liposuction, and require much less healing time. In fact, the company claims that most clients walk out of the office immediately following their treatments, and return to normal activity within a few days. In addition, the company claims that these procedures are available for both men and women, and that they can treat a wide variety of areas, including chest, chin, waist, abs, arms, back, and legs.

Sono Bello Pricing

While Sono Bello claims that their services are affordable, no pricing information is listed on the company’s website, other than claiming that prices start at $1,249 per area, with a minimum of three areas treated. Due to the highly customized nature of the procedures, you’ll need to contact the company at 800-995-1136 to schedule your free consultation (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

With this in mind, Sono Bello claims to offer monthly payment options and zero percent financing upon approved credit.

Bottom Line: Is Sono Bello Right For You?

As with any medical procedure, there are always risks involved, and not all patients will achieve the same results. With this in mind, let’s take a look at some of the concerns we uncovered during our Sono Bello research:

First, outside of failure to experience meaningful results, the most common complaint we encountered cited high-pressure sales tactics. Unbeknownst to most customers, your initial Sono Bello consultation is not with a physician, but is instead conducted by a salesperson. Many customers complained that they were given inaccurate information during their consultations (e.g. about the results they could reasonably expect, the amount of healing time involved, etc.), and that the company is more concerned about convincing you to put down a deposit than they are about helping their patients look better.

With this said, remember that any deposit money you hand over is non-refundable, so make sure you fully intend to follow through before doing so. In fact, you may want to leave the office and think about your options for 24 hours before proceeding.

Finally, it’s important to note that according to this article, one Bellevue patient died as a result of acute lidocaine intoxication after receiving treatment from her local Sono Bello clinic, which ultimately resulted in a lawsuit that was settled for $1.8 million.

This article was originally published on March 31, 2014 based on publicly available information at the time of research. Information is subject to change, please visit the main company website at www.sonobello.com for the latest details.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

59 Customer Reviews for Sono Bello

Average Customer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 16 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 6 1 star:  35
Bottom Line: 29% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 59
Sort reviews by:

  • 81 out 82 people found this review helpful

    Run!

    When you first go here, you speak to a sales person, not a medical personal or anyone who knows anything about the outcomes. I spent about $12,000.00 here, which was a big waste. I was told visit after visit that I was still swollen and it would get better.

    After about three months I demanded to see a doctor (which is almost impossible). I received an appointment with one, and I called to follow up to ensure I still had an appointment with this doctor. I was told she was busy and I could not see her. I called again and again and finally got in with the doctor (mind you, I was told "you can see why he is no longer with us").

    I got in to see the doctor, she sat down, her elbows on her knees, hands on her chin, and she sat there shaking her head back and forth. She said I needed more lipo and corrected, you can tell spots were not done, and lines put in were not right. This doctor wanted me to see another doctor there stating he would be better at correcting this. When I went to this appointment, I was told he would not fix it as I still would not be happy. I was told by Sono Bello if I paid another 3,600.00 they would redo everything. The lady in charge of the office talked the first doctor into approving one spot. I was so devastated, I canceled the appointment.

    One spot I would still be a mess. One visit I was there the staff was talking in the hallway, there was a customer who had a rash on their face after a procedure, they were told to tell the customer that it was rosacea as they were a good candidate for this. It took me two years to show my husband the shape I am in, and the second doctor there even told me if I lost weight it would only look worse.

    I will not be able to fix what they did since financially it is not feasible. Please save yourself the pain I see every day. Save a little more and go to a good place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 8, 2017

      Michelle

      I called them today to schedule a consultation. They couldn't even answer the phone. I decided to investigate this company online since I kept being placed on hold with no answer. I'm glad I made that choice. After reading your comment, I will not contact them again.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 88 out 88 people found this review helpful

    Worst place to go, these people are bad, all they want is your money

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went to Sono Bello on August 3rd, 2017. I told them my medical history, and they need papers from my doctors. They told me to contact my doctor, they told me one thing and told my doctor another. My doctor finally sent a fax, but they said they couldn't use it. My surgery was for August 26, 2017 (this past Saturday) but it didn't happen. I put money down, over $6,000 credit, and now they canceled on me and now they don't want to give me my deposit back.

    They keep telling me they are busy. Veronica or Robin will call me back, but I got nothing. I talked to Jasmine on Friday, the day before surgery. She said they had to cancel my surgery. I was supposed to do love handles and lower and upper abs.

    I don't think this place should be open. I lost my deposit but I will find a better place to go to. This is the worst place to go. Please take my advice. I wish I would have read the reviews about Sono Bello before I went. Yeah, these people are so nice at first, but then when the doctor says no, they don't want to give me my deposit. Lesson learned. I hope you don't pay them like I did. These people are the devil, these people tell you lies. I only saw the doctor at the appointment for only five minutes. I wish I never, ever went to Sono Bello in Dallas. Worst place ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 9, 2017

      LENORE RAVEN MOON

      I would file a dispute with my credit card company and tell them that you received no services for the money you gave them. Also, find something in writing that says exactly what the $6,000 was for. These people sound like Aspen Dental, where they get you to max your credit first and then you're screwed if your services are not performed properly. They are in the business of selling.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 113 out 115 people found this review helpful

    Honest

    I am only giving two stars because of after care. I don't want people to know I had surgery but I would like to share my experience. I had my back done over a year ago now, and I have had ONE follow up appointment and the nurse didn't even know what surgery I had done. I paid in cash, and I firmly believe that's the reason why my experience was not as attentive as a client, that's how they made me feel. My body suit didn't fit my body type as in when my butt moved the compressor would roll up, so after much back and forth, they sent another out after a couple of weeks that still didn't cover all the areas done and didn't fit my frame.

    Recently, because after one year you can see most results completed, they said that well, there are some lumps in my back, and it's lop-sided, simple things I just wanted them to consult me on. After two weeks of phone tag, they have my email, my phone, emergency contact, yet still can't reach me after a year to schedule a follow up after my surgery. That's my experience to date, and my doctor and nurse were amazing though, absolutely amazing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 175 out 182 people found this review helpful

    Do not get micro laser lipo

    • Tampa, Florida,
    • Aug 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    On December 3, 2016, I got micro laser lipo done in my top, middle, and waist in my abdominal area and the free area was my pubic area. Dr. Azarian said that most patients go back to work on the third day. She also told me that I would have a “slight overlay” in my abdominal area after the procedure. She told me that most patients wear the garment for at least three months and all day long. She told me to not diet and just eat whatever I want.

    In the procedure, I told Dr. Azarian that the procedure was very painful. She said "well, talk about something else and don’t think about it." Is this how a surgeon resolves how I feel? Honestly, I thought it was extremely rude, insensitive, and unprofessional.

    Dr. Azarian insisted that I remove fat from the pubic area instead of the upper arm fat. Mind you, the upper arm fat looks disgusting and unappealing. After the procedure, the office staff (especially Jianara, the front desk receptionist) was very curt and rude. I called the fourth or fifth day after the surgery telling how this garment is way too tight and it is suffocating my sternum. She said, "I am not giving you the more comfortable and expensive one at our office and don’t you want to spend your money right for once?" Excuse me, it is none of anyone’s business what or how I spend my money? So she told me that I had to come in and get another less comfortable garment.

    I told her excessively that I needed to meet with the physician. She wouldn’t give me an appointment with the physician and instead I saw a nurse. I asked the nurse, "so is this normal? My stubborn fat area has a major overlay." The nurse couldn’t answer the question and said instead, "you should have seen the physician." I get done with my appointment and again Jianara is at the front desk, she sat there arguing with me that none of the patients see the physician at the three-month follow-up and you only see the nurse. I told her that doesn’t matter, I demanded to see the physician and "you still made an appointment for me to see the nurse." She argued with me for 30 minutes.

    In the meantime, I suffered mental health severely such as anxiety and depression. I got really depressed that I dropped $5,000 for this wasteful procedure, and my stubborn fat in my abdominal area still looks the same. In fact, the slight overlay of fat is at least three inches around. I have a thick jelly roll. The micro laser lipo procedure disfigured my body. The slight overlay is bulging forward and the fat is so hard that I have been at the gym for the past 3-4 months and I can’t lose it. I dieted since March of 2017, my diet consists of 5 liters of water, tofu, salmon, vegetables, and fruits. If I didn’t diet or exercise, I would have been a 200 lb whale.

    There is no change in my pubic area. I knew in my heart that I wanted the upper arm fat removed but Dr. Azarian was adamant that I wouldn’t see a change. Shouldn’t it be up to the patient’s decision at the end? When I had an issue with the surgery or the office staff, only Jessica the sales coordinator would phone call me to resolve the problem. I am sorry but Jianara should be fired and the doctor should go back to school. I have gone to other surgeons who have worked for Sono Bello and they have told me that I have gotten ripped off. My mom and sisters see no change in my abdominal area.

    I have been so depressed and even Sono Bello has been forcing me to do a noninvasive procedure and to do a six-month follow-up. Well, eight months have gone by and it isn’t right or fair for Sono Bello to take my eight-month pictures to make a final decision if I get a refund or not. I had to diet and exercise for the past four months or so. I didn’t go back for a six-month follow-up due to the rude and unprofessional staff and the surgeon apparently doesn’t work there anymore.

    I am extremely dissatisfied with the micro laser lipo. Now the three to four-inch thick jelly roll has hardened. It is so hard for me to lose it. Sono Bello said that after this procedure, I don’t need a tummy tuck. The fat is so hard that it is going to take me at least two to three years to lose that fat in the gym. I don’t need another surgeon to make a judgment call. I want a full refund of $4,800 because my medical reasoning is that I suffered extreme mental health and disfigurement from the micro laser lipo procedure. I see my stomach every day when I get out of the shower or change clothes in the mirror. It makes me feel depressed that I didn’t in my stomach area, angry that I got ripped off, and hurt how I was mistreated from Sono Bello. I have been extremely depressed and anxious that my physician had to increase my dosage.

    I have read complaints on Sono Bello in Tampa, Florida. Let’s not forget that this is the same company that was sued for killing a patient due to lidocaine toxicity. Sono Bello gave the family $1.8 million or more just to put things under the rug and continue their business. I declined getting another procedure done by Sono Bello even if it is noninvasive, they have done such a horrible job already. I don’t want to go with a repeat or go through excruciating pain. Other patients are right; their painkillers were a joke. The third day after my surgery, I was crying in agony. I had to call out of work. Even the fourth day back to work, I was in extreme pain. Also, my swelling lasted more than six months. To me, that is abnormal. I wasn’t lifting or doing anything unusual.

    Hopefully, I am not bruising inside still and causing more damage to my body. Sono Bello only knows how to rip off patients, and their patients are just numbers, they don’t really care about us, if they did, they should refund all the bad and dissatisfying procedures such as mine. Please contact your local news and tweet about Sono Bello ripping us off and not caring!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 181 out 185 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    I went to Sono Bello several years ago and had a procedure done on my thighs with heated equipment that they promised would smooth out the cellulite. It cost almost three thousand dollars, and at the end of the treatments, there was no change! They wouldn't even refund me my money, and on top of that, the idiot receptionists would forget my appointments at times, and I'd have to wait hours or even drive back home which was an hour away.

    Don't go here if you want good results and not to throw your money away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 27, 2017

      Sb

      sonobelloclassaction.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 180 out 185 people found this review helpful

    Lift by Sono Bello and brow lift

    First, I would like to say, I am not a rookie to surgery. In 2006 I had a Lifestyle Lift. In 2008 I was diagnosed with cancer of the uterus having multiple surgeries, PET Scans. September 2015 I was diagnosed with lung cancer. After multiple Bronchoscopy's, biopsy of lung then left upper lung lobectomy I was cancer free.

    Wanting to improve my appearance I decided on a Lift by SonoBello. The recovery was worse than anything I had experienced. After the recovery, I was not happy with the results. Sono Bello tried to resolve the issue of my droopy cheeks by doing a fat transfer for plumping my cheeks. The fat transfer ended up leaving me with droopy jowls instead of plump cheeks. This actually defeated the lift results. Upon visiting for my final checkup, I was told we could resolve the issue by injections to lift the cheeks. There just seems to be little consideration with how happy you are with the results from the surgeon.

    If you have concerns or displeased with the results, they seem to sluff it off as your imagination, that you look really good. You feel you have done a drive thru the procedure. The nurse and staff are very nice. There needs to be more time spent with the surgeon to make sure you are on the same page for results. A reputable surgeon will be more attentive to your results and cost is the same.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 27, 2017

      Sb

      So many of us are in the same situation. Check out this website w​​​​​​ww.sonobelloclassaction.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 185 out 188 people found this review helpful

    Lower and upper abs, stomach and waist

    • Texas,
    • Jul 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am with a lot of the others on being unhappy with results. I had my stomach, upper and lower abs and waist done, paid over $5,000, was told I would get decent drugs for the procedure, but what they gave me was stuff I take on a regular basis, so it didn't do much.

    The procedure was more painful than I was told, the aftermath was way worse, the pain meds they have me were a joke, I took a lot longer to get over surgery than what I was told, and now to my disappointment, my stomach is almost exactly where it was before I had it done. I had it done in November of 2016, and it's been well over six months. In the beginning, about two or three months in, it looked better than it had, but it didn't last. My measurements are hardly any different than when I went in the first time, my weight is no different, and I still have uncomfortable lumps in several areas. I was told that once they suck so much fat out of that area, you could not get as big as you once were there again. It's not true.

    I am a single mom, so it took a lot for me to have that kind of money to pretty much throw away. I have back problems so I can't do a lot of exercises, which is why I went this route, but I am not at all satisfied with my experience. I hope they want to help me somehow with making things at least halfway right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 27, 2017

      Sb

      There are so many people in your shoes including myself. Check out this website www.sonobelloclassaction.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 55 out 108 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Sono Bello Addison - great group of people

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jun 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thanks to Veronica at the Addison Sono Bello office, I received my deposit back. If you are truly interested in laser lipo, I would recommend Sono Bello in Addison, ask for Veronica for your patient care consultant. She listens to your concerns and will help in any way to assist you to obtain your goals. Thank you, Sono Bello, and thank you, Veronica, for being such a caring person!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 28, 2017

      Social Justice

      Exactly. I lost over $5000.

    • Jul 13, 2017

      deb roman

      If you would recommend it, why were you getting a deposit back?

    • Jul 18, 2017

      Claire

      Leslie in Texas, you sound like you wrote one of Sono Bello's commercials, either that or you work for them. Your review looks totally scripted and therefore not trustworthy.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Jun 26, 2017

    Do not go to Sono Bello!

    Before you go to the "free" consultation, I would recommend doing some research to find out the results of others. One more important item to remember, think twice and then twice again before deciding to have the surgery, once you tell them OK and give them a deposit you will NOT get that money back if you cancel. I lost $4,000.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 193 out 194 people found this review helpful

    Sono Bello in WA are crooks and thieves! Be aware!

    My experience was nothing but a nightmare. I regret the day when I met sales person Bethany Mikkola inquiring about treatment for one area that was my only concern at the time (now after botched job done by Dr. Scott C. Sattler at Sono Bello in Bellevue I have three areas of concern).

    Bethany Mikkola convinced me to pay for three areas instead, promising it would result in a more aesthetically pleasant appearance. But I had to book the procedure right away for the next day without even getting evaluated by a doctor or having my questions answered by that doctor.

    People, be aware! If you are told the same thing, keep in mind, they want you to book a surgery because it's not refundable if you change your mind 15 minutes later. They will offer you discounts and useless complimentary Vaser treatments. I was told the only thing I would regret was that I haven't done it earlier.

    Here is what happened. I paid over $5,000 (with applied discount for booking procedure the same day) for three areas to get liposuction on. Dr. Sattler didn't find it necessary to treat three areas, he did only two because according to his words he didn't feel comfortable to do liposuction on the area of my primary and essential concern at all. He tried to hide it, though, for almost nine months after the procedure until the fact that that the area I kept complaining about wasn't treated at all (slipped out of another doctor's, Dr. Sobrino, mouth).

    I am tired of begging those people to correct their mistake. They do not stand behind their assurance policy. Contacting practice manager Shannon Scott and director of operation Stephanie Vizmanos did not help, but it was just a waste of more time. Those people are thieves and crooks. Be aware! Read reviews on them online, read complaints on BBB, you will have the picture of what kind of place Sono Bello is. I hate myself for not trusting reviews on them and not going someplace else instead. Just see their before and after pictures and keep in mind that those pictures are the best results surgeons at Sono Bello ever achieved, and you can consider yourself to be lucky if you don't look worse after surgery than you were before.

    In a nutshell: I ended up with uneven, lumpy legs with a bulge right in the middle of my thigh on one of my legs, and being charged for liposuction on the area that the doctor didn't perform liposuction on at all. I am a real person and I can be contacted at socialjusticewarrior77[at]yahoo.com if you want to share your experience or have questions for me. I would like to share all the details of my battle with Sono Bello.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 71 people found this review helpful

    My doctor and the staff there were fantastic

    My doctor and the staff there were fantastic. It has only been 2 weeks since my procedure and I am anxiously awaiting the final results. I would definitely recommend them to my friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 196 out 200 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jun 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    One year ago I had a two-area abdomen liposuction, and I am very dissatisfied. I'm currently experiencing abdominal edema with some pain. My abdomen looks the exact same as it did one year ago. Since the surgery, I've been very depressed and isolated from the public, the total opposite of how I anticipated my life after lipo. The procedure was very expensive, and the result was not worth it. I'm reminded daily of the mistake I made with having lipo by the incision site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 59

Write a Review for Sono Bello!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review