About Sono Bello

By specializing only in body contouring, Sono Bello claims to have performed over 35,000 procedures, and to be “the nation’s leading liposuction and body contouring specialist.”

As such, the company’s 45 specialized physicians use “advanced micro laser, and power laser-assisted liposuction equipment, as well as numerous invasive and non invasive sculpting techniques” to help “you achieve your specific beauty goals.”

Sono Bello is headquartered in Scottsdale, AZ, though they have 19 locations across the U.S. However, only four Sono Bello centers are listed with the Better Business Bureau (Portland, OR, Beverly Hills, CA, Minneapolis, MN, and St. Louis, MO), and ratings range from A- all the way to F.

In general, it appears that the majority of online customer reviews regarding Sono Bello are negative. The most common complaints we encountered during our research cited that initial consultations are conducted with salespeople (not physicians) who often use high-pressure sales tactics to get you to put down a deposit, and poor post-surgery results (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

How Sono Bello Works

With 19 centers located throughout the U.S., Sono Bello claims to provide “technically advanced, highly personalized” body contouring services that can help you instantly and effectively remove targeted fat—especially for any of your problem areas that diet and exercise aren’t effectively addressing.

To accomplish this, Sono Bello utilizes three primary procedures, which include:

  • Laser Lipo with TriSculpt™ – As the name suggests, the TriSculpt™ process entails 3 steps: “wide-awake localized anesthesia, power-assisted liposuction and laser liposuction,” and is an ideal procedure for your stomach, waist, arms and legs. While you’re awake, your physician will use micro cannulas to gently suck out unwanted fat. Then, a separate micro cannula equipped with a low-power laser is used to remove fat from smaller areas, which also stimulates collagen production.
  • Venus Freeze™ – An FDA cleared, non-surgical reduction procedure that reduces the appearance of cellulite by using a combination of Radio Frequency (RF) and Magnetic Pulses. According to the company, the procedure is painless, and you’ll feel only a gentle warming and massaging sensation on your skin.
  • VelaShape™ – As the only “safe, effective and virtually painless FDA-cleared non-surgical medical solution for body reshaping and cellulite treatment,” VelaShape™ can provide ideal results in as little as four treatments. The technology works by shrinking fat cells and chambers, and reducing the appearance of cellulite on the surface of your skin.

According to the Sono Bello website, these procedures are much less invasive than traditional liposuction, and require much less healing time. In fact, the company claims that most clients walk out of the office immediately following their treatments, and return to normal activity within a few days. In addition, the company claims that these procedures are available for both men and women, and that they can treat a wide variety of areas, including chest, chin, waist, abs, arms, back, and legs.

Sono Bello Pricing

While Sono Bello claims that their services are affordable, no pricing information is listed on the company’s website, other than claiming that prices start at $1,249 per area, with a minimum of three areas treated. Due to the highly customized nature of the procedures, you’ll need to contact the company at 800-995-1136 to schedule your free consultation (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

With this in mind, Sono Bello claims to offer monthly payment options and zero percent financing upon approved credit.

Bottom Line: Is Sono Bello Right For You?

As with any medical procedure, there are always risks involved, and not all patients will achieve the same results. With this in mind, let’s take a look at some of the concerns we uncovered during our Sono Bello research:

First, outside of failure to experience meaningful results, the most common complaint we encountered cited high-pressure sales tactics. Unbeknownst to most customers, your initial Sono Bello consultation is not with a physician, but is instead conducted by a salesperson. Many customers complained that they were given inaccurate information during their consultations (e.g. about the results they could reasonably expect, the amount of healing time involved, etc.), and that the company is more concerned about convincing you to put down a deposit than they are about helping their patients look better.

With this said, remember that any deposit money you hand over is non-refundable, so make sure you fully intend to follow through before doing so. In fact, you may want to leave the office and think about your options for 24 hours before proceeding.

Finally, it’s important to note that according to this article, one Bellevue patient died as a result of acute lidocaine intoxication after receiving treatment from her local Sono Bello clinic, which ultimately resulted in a lawsuit that was settled for $1.8 million.

This article was originally published on March 31, 2014 based on publicly available information at the time of research. Information is subject to change, please visit the main company website at www.sonobello.com for the latest details.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

55 Customer Reviews for Sono Bello

Average Customer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 16 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 5 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 31% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 55
Sort reviews by:

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    I went to Sono Bello several years ago and had a procedure done on my thighs with heated equipment that they promised would smooth out the cellulite. It cost almost three thousand dollars, and at the end of the treatments, there was no change! They wouldn't even refund me my money, and on top of that, the idiot receptionists would forget my appointments at times, and I'd have to wait hours or even drive back home which was an hour away.

    Don't go here if you want good results and not to throw your money away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 44 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Lift by Sono Bello and brow lift

    First, I would like to say, I am not a rookie to surgery. In 2006 I had a Lifestyle Lift. In 2008 I was diagnosed with cancer of the uterus having multiple surgeries, PET Scans. September 2015 I was diagnosed with lung cancer. After multiple Bronchoscopy's, biopsy of lung then left upper lung lobectomy I was cancer free.

    Wanting to improve my appearance I decided on a Lift by SonoBello. The recovery was worse than anything I had experienced. After the recovery, I was not happy with the results. Sono Bello tried to resolve the issue of my droopy cheeks by doing a fat transfer for plumping my cheeks. The fat transfer ended up leaving me with droopy jowls instead of plump cheeks. This actually defeated the lift results. Upon visiting for my final checkup, I was told we could resolve the issue by injections to lift the cheeks. There just seems to be little consideration with how happy you are with the results from the surgeon.

    If you have concerns or displeased with the results, they seem to sluff it off as your imagination, that you look really good. You feel you have done a drive thru the procedure. The nurse and staff are very nice. There needs to be more time spent with the surgeon to make sure you are on the same page for results. A reputable surgeon will be more attentive to your results and cost is the same.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 83 out 85 people found this review helpful

    Lower and upper abs, stomach and waist

    • Texas,
    • Jul 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am with a lot of the others on being unhappy with results. I had my stomach, upper and lower abs and waist done, paid over $5,000, was told I would get decent drugs for the procedure, but what they gave me was stuff I take on a regular basis, so it didn't do much.

    The procedure was more painful than I was told, the aftermath was way worse, the pain meds they have me were a joke, I took a lot longer to get over surgery than what I was told, and now to my disappointment, my stomach is almost exactly where it was before I had it done. I had it done in November of 2016, and it's been well over six months. In the beginning, about two or three months in, it looked better than it had, but it didn't last. My measurements are hardly any different than when I went in the first time, my weight is no different, and I still have uncomfortable lumps in several areas. I was told that once they suck so much fat out of that area, you could not get as big as you once were there again. It's not true.

    I am a single mom, so it took a lot for me to have that kind of money to pretty much throw away. I have back problems so I can't do a lot of exercises, which is why I went this route, but I am not at all satisfied with my experience. I hope they want to help me somehow with making things at least halfway right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 48 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Sono Bello Addison - great group of people

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jun 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thanks to Veronica at the Addison Sono Bello office, I received my deposit back. If you are truly interested in laser lipo, I would recommend Sono Bello in Addison, ask for Veronica for your patient care consultant. She listens to your concerns and will help in any way to assist you to obtain your goals. Thank you, Sono Bello, and thank you, Veronica, for being such a caring person!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 28, 2017

      Social Justice

      Exactly. I lost over $5000.

    • Jul 13, 2017

      deb roman

      If you would recommend it, why were you getting a deposit back?

    • Jul 18, 2017

      Claire

      Leslie in Texas, you sound like you wrote one of Sono Bello's commercials, either that or you work for them. Your review looks totally scripted and therefore not trustworthy.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Jun 26, 2017

    Do not go to Sono Bello!

    Before you go to the "free" consultation, I would recommend doing some research to find out the results of others. One more important item to remember, think twice and then twice again before deciding to have the surgery, once you tell them OK and give them a deposit you will NOT get that money back if you cancel. I lost $4,000.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 98 out 99 people found this review helpful

    Sono Bello in WA are crooks and thieves! Be aware!

    My experience was nothing but a nightmare. I regret the day when I met sales person Bethany Mikkola inquiring about treatment for one area that was my only concern at the time (now after botched job done by Dr. Scott C. Sattler at Sono Bello in Bellevue I have three areas of concern).

    Bethany Mikkola convinced me to pay for three areas instead, promising it would result in a more aesthetically pleasant appearance. But I had to book the procedure right away for the next day without even getting evaluated by a doctor or having my questions answered by that doctor.

    People, be aware! If you are told the same thing, keep in mind, they want you to book a surgery because it's not refundable if you change your mind 15 minutes later. They will offer you discounts and useless complimentary Vaser treatments. I was told the only thing I would regret was that I haven't done it earlier.

    Here is what happened. I paid over $5,000 (with applied discount for booking procedure the same day) for three areas to get liposuction on. Dr. Sattler didn't find it necessary to treat three areas, he did only two because according to his words he didn't feel comfortable to do liposuction on the area of my primary and essential concern at all. He tried to hide it, though, for almost nine months after the procedure until the fact that that the area I kept complaining about wasn't treated at all (slipped out of another doctor's, Dr. Sobrino, mouth).

    I am tired of begging those people to correct their mistake. They do not stand behind their assurance policy. Contacting practice manager Shannon Scott and director of operation Stephanie Vizmanos did not help, but it was just a waste of more time. Those people are thieves and crooks. Be aware! Read reviews on them online, read complaints on BBB, you will have the picture of what kind of place Sono Bello is. I hate myself for not trusting reviews on them and not going someplace else instead. Just see their before and after pictures and keep in mind that those pictures are the best results surgeons at Sono Bello ever achieved, and you can consider yourself to be lucky if you don't look worse after surgery than you were before.

    In a nutshell: I ended up with uneven, lumpy legs with a bulge right in the middle of my thigh on one of my legs, and being charged for liposuction on the area that the doctor didn't perform liposuction on at all. I am a real person and I can be contacted at socialjusticewarrior77[at]yahoo.com if you want to share your experience or have questions for me. I would like to share all the details of my battle with Sono Bello.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 34 people found this review helpful

    My doctor and the staff there were fantastic

    My doctor and the staff there were fantastic. It has only been 2 weeks since my procedure and I am anxiously awaiting the final results. I would definitely recommend them to my friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 127 out 131 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jun 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    One year ago I had a two-area abdomen liposuction, and I am very dissatisfied. I'm currently experiencing abdominal edema with some pain. My abdomen looks the exact same as it did one year ago. Since the surgery, I've been very depressed and isolated from the public, the total opposite of how I anticipated my life after lipo. The procedure was very expensive, and the result was not worth it. I'm reminded daily of the mistake I made with having lipo by the incision site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 139 out 141 people found this review helpful

    Do your homework first

    • Indiana,
    • May 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very unsatisfied. Please do your homework more thoroughly than I did. For the money I spent and the pain I went through, the results were not worth it. Plus, the one area I was most concerned never changed, and the consultant was uninformed and only cared about the sale. I couldn't afford to add another body section to my revision, so I sit with double the pain and half the results. Make sure to talk to a doctor before you pay and sign ANYTHING. Don't be naïve like me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 156 out 158 people found this review helpful

    Warning

    I had a very expensive procedure done at the Troy, Michigan location. Honesty won't get people's money, so I suppose so that's why they lie. Lipo is only for skinny people with a few problem areas. It only works if you are at the weight you prefer as possible and then go see a doctor without the middle man (Sono Bello). This was definitely a mistake on my part. So since I can't get my money back. I can at least warn others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 161 out 161 people found this review helpful

    11 months after laser lipo

    • Queens, NY,
    • May 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had laser lipo at Sono Bello at the beginning of July 2016. I noticed a quick change in my waist, however, my stomach did not go down. I visited the clinic in Long Island and was always seen by a nurse. I mentioned my concerns after six months of surgery and all she said was that a doctor will see me in the next consultation. I was so disappointed to have gone through this process and show no results. I am now 11 months post op and my belly is bigger and somewhat distorted by the knots after surgery. I recommend that if you want a flat stomach, get a tummy tuck instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 204 out 211 people found this review helpful

    Worst decision of my life

    • Alexandria, MN,
    • May 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Barbie doll sales person consult, with hugs on the way out. She got her sale based on HIGH emotion!

    I was told of small incisions for the numbing liquid to be pumped into my body, then it "melts" your fat and is removed. NOT!

    I don't know where to start.

    Friday, April 28th. Last appt of the day. I got prepped. I took the drugs but the procedure ahead of me was taking longer. So I walked into the procedure room like a normal, no drug on board person. I laid down, and the hell began. I have night terrors now of the doctor standing over me with an 18-inch steel rod raping and ramming it into my body. It's a VERY violent procedure. At one point I said I couldn't breathe, it hurt so bad! Never once did he give me a moment to catch my breath. The torture continued.

    THEN the aftermath. My friend and my daughter were witnesses to the BLOOD. It is NOT oozing of pink tinged numbing fluid like the brochures say. There was a steady stream of blood at 7 pm, 8 pm, 10 pm, and 3 am from my belly button incision and abdomen incisions. Blood running down my body. My daughter said it looked like a murder took place in our home.

    I was to have one more area done that he could not do on the first surgery. I called the Barbie doll consultant and told her about the horror that I had endured and that I would not be having the final area done. She said she'd talk to the practice manager and get back to me. Multiple calls and messages by me since, and she has not called me back.

    This is an evil, money-hungry company, with rain-washed cult employees!

    Oh, by the way, three weeks out, I have hard knots in my stomach and painful lumps everywhere. I did not even describe the BLACK bruises of my stomach and pubic area. Crazy pain. Hope and pray the hard knots go away.

    Stupid, stupid, stupid decision!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 21, 2017

      Rodney Monk

      I have a friend that also did this procedure. I need the advice to inform her how to get her money back.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 55

Write a Review for Sono Bello!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review