About Sono Bello

By specializing only in body contouring, Sono Bello claims to have performed over 35,000 procedures, and to be “the nation’s leading liposuction and body contouring specialist.”

As such, the company’s 45 specialized physicians use “advanced micro laser, and power laser-assisted liposuction equipment, as well as numerous invasive and non invasive sculpting techniques” to help “you achieve your specific beauty goals.”

Sono Bello is headquartered in Scottsdale, AZ, though they have 19 locations across the U.S. However, only four Sono Bello centers are listed with the Better Business Bureau (Portland, OR, Beverly Hills, CA, Minneapolis, MN, and St. Louis, MO), and ratings range from A- all the way to F.

In general, it appears that the majority of online customer reviews regarding Sono Bellow are negative. The most common complaints we encountered during our research cited that initial consultations are conducted with salespeople (not physicians) who often use high-pressure sales tactics to get you to put down a deposit, and poor post-surgery results (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

How Sono Bello Works

With 19 centers located throughout the U.S., Sono Bello claims to provide “technically advanced, highly personalized” body contouring services that can help you instantly and effectively remove targeted fat—especially for any of your problem areas that diet and exercise aren’t effectively addressing.

To accomplish this, Sono Bello utilizes three primary procedures, which include:

  • Laser Lipo with TriSculpt™ – As the name suggests, the TriSculpt™ process entails 3 steps: “wide-awake localized anesthesia, power-assisted liposuction and laser liposuction,” and is an ideal procedure for your stomach, waist, arms and legs. While you’re awake, your physician will use micro cannulas to gently suck out unwanted fat. Then, a separate micro cannula equipped with a low-power laser is used to remove fat from smaller areas, which also stimulates collagen production.
  • Venus Freeze™ – An FDA cleared, non-surgical reduction procedure that reduces the appearance of cellulite by using a combination of Radio Frequency (RF) and Magnetic Pulses. According to the company, the procedure is painless, and you’ll feel only a gentle warming and massaging sensation on your skin.
  • VelaShape™ – As the only “safe, effective and virtually painless FDA-cleared non-surgical medical solution for body reshaping and cellulite treatment,” VelaShape™ can provide ideal results in as little as four treatments. The technology works by shrinking fat cells and chambers, and reducing the appearance of cellulite on the surface of your skin.

According to the Sono Bello website, these procedures are much less invasive than traditional liposuction, and require much less healing time. In fact, the company claims that most clients walk out of the office immediately following their treatments, and return to normal activity within a few days. In addition, the company claims that these procedures are available for both men and women, and that they can treat a wide variety of areas, including chest, chin, waist, abs, arms, back, and legs.

Sono Bello Pricing

While Sono Bello claims that their services are affordable, no pricing information is listed on the company’s website, other than claiming that prices start at $1,249 per area, with a minimum of three areas treated. Due to the highly customized nature of the procedures, you’ll need to contact the company at 800-995-1136 to schedule your free consultation (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

With this in mind, Sono Bello claims to offer monthly payment options and zero percent financing upon approved credit.

Bottom Line: Is Sono Bello a Scam?

As with any medical procedure, there are always risks involved, and not all patients will achieve the same results. With this in mind, let’s take a look at some of the concerns we uncovered during our Sono Bello research:

First, outside of failure to experience meaningful results, the most common complaint we encountered cited high-pressure sales tactics. Unbeknownst to most customers, your initial Sono Bello consultation is not with a physician, but is instead conducted by a salesperson. Many customers complained that they were given inaccurate information during their consultations (e.g. about the results they could reasonable expect, the amount of healing time involved, etc.), and that the company is more concerned about convincing you to put down a deposit than they are about helping their patients look better.

With this said, remember that any deposit money you hand over is non-refundable, so make sure you fully intend to follow through before doing so. In fact, you may want to leave the office and think about your options for 24 hours before proceeding.

Finally, it’s important to note that according to this article, one Bellevue patient died as a result of acute lidocaine intoxication after receiving treatment from her local Sono Bello clinic, which ultimately resulted in a lawsuit that was settled for $1.8 million.

Read Next: Under Eye Bags, Acne Scars & Neck Creasing: When Over-the-Counter Treatments Aren’t Cutting It

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

41 Customer Reviews for Sono Bello

Average Customer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 13 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 23
Bottom Line: 34% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 41
Sort reviews by:

  • 95 out 95 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    I've read a lot of reviews and was very nervous to get this procedure done. My girlfriend and I decided to do this together after seeing a commercial. Summer is right around the corner, and I wanted to get rid of my stubborn love handles and get my arms done! I was really excited to have great results.

    It's been a little over a month now (they say it can take up to three to fully see results, but I don't buy that), and I look no different. My love handles are still there, and arms haven't changed. When the nurse brought my before and after pictures, and we both didn't know which ones were before or after until we saw the date.

    I am 5'9'', 150 pounds, and if you're a skinnier person who wants stubborn fat taken care of, I do not recommend this procedure at all. Just go to the gym and keep the $5k in your pocket.

    The staff was amazing, I have to say, but I am really disappointed with the outcome.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 61 people found this review helpful

    Lipo

    • Tacoma, WA,
    • Mar 16, 2017

    I had my upper back, love handles, front, back and side of things done.

    My BMI was high, and I had a lot of back fat. My back is completely flat, and my thighs are nice and toned again. The doctor took out 5L of fat altogether. The staff and doctor were nice and helpful.

    One thing I don't like is paying before you see the doctor. The doctor is the one that can let you know what really needs to be done and what you really don't need when you tell him what you want and expect.

    They keep $1,000 if you cancel or change your mind after seeing the doctor. That part is not fair. Trust me, a doctor that is performing your surgery should look you over first.

    Please note that lipo is not a weight loss, so people expect a miracle. Doing massages helps to eliminate lumps and wearing your garments properly will help with the results.

    I'm 11 days in, still swollen, red, purple and in severe pain. I walk slow and sitting is the worse. The back of my legs burn. But I had a laser removing tons of fat, so I expect it. One more week in pain, then I would say don't do it. Getting in the car is a struggle with pain.

    But with the right doctor over there, you would love it. Research the doctor they assign you before paying.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Loving the skin I'm in!

    I am a person who always thought that all these body contouring places were full of it. Well, I'm here to say Sono Bello proved me so wrong. At first, I was nervous because I have only seen little results. But over each month, it seemed to get better. I didn't expect to look this good. Thank you Sono Bello so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 160 out 166 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Mar 2, 2017

    I went in for a neck lift, and I now have wrinkles under my neck, which I didn't have pre-op, because of poor post-op care. They mutilated my right ear, and there is a big hole where the drain tube was and dislodged suture that ended up down the right side of my neck. The doctor forgot to numb my chin when he started with his scalpel, and I was thrashing on the table.

    I was told there is a two weeks recovery, but it took me four weeks before I could go out in public. I had to insist on seeing the doctor one week post-op. Dr. Lyons was very rude post-op and eventually apologized while explaining to me how "toxic" his staff was.

    My experience was horrible. I tried to file a complaint with the corporate office, but it went unheard. It is now $6,000 and one year later, and I have so many wrinkles on my neck that you can't tell anything was done.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 176 out 181 people found this review helpful

    Thieves

    I paid then 5k to reduce three zones. The "before" and "after" pictures are a joke; there is no difference. They say they will repeat the procedure if you're unhappy, but that's a lie. They refused to do it over. The doctor and the nurse at the sink said: "that should not have hurt that bad." Apparently, they did something wrong.

    They don't know what they are doing. Read the reviews on the internet before you give them your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 15, 2017

      Candy

      Sono Bello needs to be shut down!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 63 out 90 people found this review helpful

    Excellent, so happy I did this

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Feb 14, 2017

    First, I don't know who wrote this article, but they need to do an initial consultation to get all the facts. It's only half researched, and the opinion given here is unresearched crap.

    There will always be people who post negative reviews or can't be pleased and make it sound so scary, but again, go to the initial consultation and research it yourself before forming an opinion.

    I went through the Cincinnati, Ohio location and am extremely happy. The staff is amazing and caring! My doctor was Dr. Dawson, and I would recommend him to anyone. I look phenomenal, and I am only six weeks post op. I am excited to look in the mirror every morning to see the progress.

    I saw reviews where folks said they didn't lose weight. It's not a weight loss surgery, so they had unrealistic expectations. I had the lipo on my entire abdomen, waist, hips, and inner thighs and look so toned and thin, and six weeks post-op I weigh 7 lbs less because I am actively working to lose weight, not because the surgery was a silver bullet.

    I was close to my normal weight range and my doctor said it's better to be closer to the normal weight range because the result is better. They take between 30-70% of the fat cells out per area and contour. They take out the amount that will look right on the body as a whole.

    Pricing is per area but based on BMI, so the $1,295 per area is based off a low, normal range BMI, and the higher the BMI, the higher the cost per area. There is a one-time $2,000 surgical fee, but they gave me discounts. My BMI was 27, so I paid $1,495 per area, for a point of reference. I am so happy with my decision and results and am considering going back in the fall to do my arms since I don't have to pay the surgical fee again.

    The office and surgery room were nice and clean, the staff was caring and excellent, and my results so far are very noticeable. I am happy I did this and would recommend it to anyone who is considering it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 15, 2017

      Evon Hamilton

      Show us a before and after photo.

    • Apr 11, 2017

      Lee

      It is written too professionally for my taste. Yes, show pictures. Could it be that there aren't any?

    • Apr 13, 2017

      Jen H

      I commented yesterday, but it never posted! Lee, I appreciate you saying my post was written well, but I am a real person and went to Sonobello, in Cincy. My first procedure was December 27th and the second was January 12th. I was within 20lbs of my "normal" weight range, so maybe that's why I had a good outcome. I just don't know.

      I was skeptical to go after reading so many negative reviews, but on my consultation day I was in the elevator with a lady who was one a week out, and she was so excited about her results. I paid $8,000 for everything including the Venus treatments. So I sympathize with anyone who spent that much and had no outcome. I would have been pissed.

      I did have a good result. After three months I am still healing, my skin is still itchy and pulled tight in places. While I look smaller overall, my lower tummy skin is still a saggy looking mess. However, it is an improvement. They took a lot of fat out, so it's taking a lot of time to tighten, and I am hoping the Venus treatments will help this.

      I do feel the doctor took too much out on my hips and the contouring is odd. I have weird little humps now where he may have over contoured down to that more fibrous tissue, so now losing weight is imperative to lessen those humps. My inner thighs are good, but he didn't contour greatly on my right thigh, so I have a ridge, but I have been losing weight. So far 12lbs down and the fat ridge is almost gone now. I just needed to lose weight since I didn't do my thighs and outer thighs in my procedure. On my inner thighs, I have hemosiderin staining from the bruising. What I read about the bruising it that it can take up to a year to go away or you can get it lasered by a dermatologist.

      Otherwise, I am a bit lumpy still in few places, but it is getting better slowly. I read it can take 6-12 months to heal from liposuction completely. I am patient with this. Even with the issues I mentioned, I see that the swelling is going down I am still thrilled. I look good, but I still have to continue and lose a little more weight. I want to do my eight weeks of Venus on my tummy to finish the entire treatment I paid for before I post pics.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 57 people found this review helpful

    Couldn't be more pleased

    I don't normally leave reviews, but this time it's merited. I had my procedure for stubborn fat areas that I tried to get rid of my whole life. Every time I tried to diet and exercise them off, they just wouldn't go!

    But now they are gone! Not only am I happier in my clothes and out, I have been able to stick to my wellness program because I don't have my fat areas screaming "this isn't working." I see results of my efforts now that my fat pockets are gone.

    The staff was great! I would do this again, and I would highly recommend Sono Bello.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 15, 2017

      Evon Hamilton

      Post a before and after photo. What a joke?

    • Apr 11, 2017

      Lee

      Obviously "related" in some way to the owners.

    • Apr 13, 2017

      Jen H

      Hi, I had my procedure broken into two sessions, one for hips and thighs, and one for upper lower abs and waist in late December and mid-January. I am very happy with my results so far, but I am still healing. I can't say I like everything but overall thrilled. Now that those problem areas are gone it seems like losing weight has been much easier and successful. I don't know why but I have lost 12 lbs since my first procedure, but I am working hard for it. I am glad to see another positive review, and I was starting to think I was the only one who had a good outcome based on other reviews.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 128 out 132 people found this review helpful

    No results

    I paid over $6,000.00 and I ate vegan foods, fasted, and worked out at two different gyms. I lost weight, yet there were still no results from my liposuction since they hid a few things from me, like my chart, and they didn't take out as much fat as I was promised, or even their standard amount. And still, I wasn't told but I figured it out for myself (asking to see my chart once) and I noticed nothing was changing.

    I have to now dispute the charge and may even sue. If you want liposuction, go to a real hospital with real doctors. This was a bad idea and was just about getting my money. Everyone is nice when you're spending money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 26, 2017

      Yvette Frank

      The same thing happened to me.

    • Feb 27, 2017

      Yvette Frank

      I am sure they do as little as possible. I had no results either. If you consider a class action lawsuit, my email is Yvtt.frank [at] gmail.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 143 out 148 people found this review helpful

    Unfair consumer practices regarding refunds!

    Beware! Do not leave any money with Sono Bello!

    I put a $1,000 deposit down on lipo laser. I then requested a refund a few days later and was told that there will be no refunds under any circumstance for canceling a procedure that was never scheduled, and I never had a pre-op appointment. AND I needed a medical clearance from my neurologist!

    Why are they getting away with this? I suggest everyone on here that has experienced this to file a complaint with the FTC (www.ftc.gov).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 26, 2017

      Yvette Frank

      They are a rule off.

    • Feb 27, 2017

      Yvette Frank

      Let's try a class action lawsuit. Contact me at yvtt.frank [at] gmail.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 158 out 158 people found this review helpful

    Horrible!

    I got Sono Bello almost one year ago. I had my stomach, back, love handles, inner thighs and the back of my arms done. The staff was amazing and helpful, however, the actual procedure did NOT work!

    I paid $14,000 for this to be done, and I'm a year out and have NO results. I did everything I was supposed to. I wore the garment, spent the extra money for the second set of the garment to wear for the longer time, I rolled and rubbed my stomach, and I ate healthily and exercised when I was allowed to. I have no results, and infact I have a lump on my stomach and scars all over that look like moles.

    I want my money back, and they won't let me. I'm going in and hoping to have them agree to help me in some way, even if I have to have the surgeries again. But I will NOT pay more money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 27, 2017

      Yvette Frank

      If you're interested in participating in a class action lawsuit email me, Yvtt.frank [at] gmail.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 42 people found this review helpful

    100% satisfied!

    The first procedure I had at Sono Bello was a liable suction on my derrière. The staff, from the front office to consultation to the medical staff, was phenomenal. The results were even more impressive, and I was so happy that around a year later I had three more areas treated.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 15, 2017

      Evon Hamilton

      Show us a before and after photo, (LOL).

    • Apr 11, 2017

      Lee

      "Never will show a photo," was most likely written by staff.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 41

Write a review for Sono Bello!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review