About SpeedOut

SpeedOut is a damaged screw and bolt extractor that’s claimed to work with any drill, while using a patented process that removes any stripped or damaged screw in 10 seconds or less, even if you break off the entire head.

Each SpeedOut extractor is claimed to be made of professional-grade hardened steel, and to remove most types of screws and bolts, including Phillips, flat, hex, bare, or painted over.

According to the manufacturer, SpeedOut works over 2 steps:

  1. Drill out the damaged area using one end of the SpeedOut bit.
  2. Then, flip your SpeedOut over and use the extracting end to pull the screw right out.

Can you really expect SpeedOut to work as well as the manufacturer claims and to provide good value for your money? Consider the following:

Other Screw & Bolt Extraction Tools

First, although many “As Seen on TV” manufacturers like to make their products seem revolutionary, they’re often just different takes on existing ones.

For example, if you type in the phrase “screw extractor” or “bolt extractor” into your favorite search engine, you’ll find that they can purchased for less than what you’ll pay for SpeedOut—especially considering the high, non-refundable S&H charges (more about this in the Pricing section). In fact, these types of tools are so popular that they’re almost certainly available at a hardware or home improvement store near you.

Is SpeedOut Really Easy to Use?

For the most part, this depends what you mean by “easy.”

In other words, extractor sets (like those mentioned in the previous section) will require that you first use a drill bit into the broken screw or bolt, remove it, and then use the extractor bit. And getting the right “feel” for the process might take some trial and error.

On top of this, most of these kits feature heated and tempered steel for good performance and longer life. However, we’re not told much about the metal used in SpeedOut, other than it’s “hardened” steel. And as we’ll read more about in the Reviews section, this could mean everything.

Finally, if you’re trying to remove a small screw that’s highly damaged, it might take some creative thinking to get it out of place, which is often only learned from experience.

What Are Customers Saying about SpeedOut?

Since writing our original SpeedOut review, 29 HighYa readers have provided feedback about their experience, ultimately rating it an average of 1.5 stars and only 7% claiming they’d recommend it to a friend (as of 6/6/15).

This is based primarily on common complaints surrounding poor quality (steel is soft, bits strip or break easily), failure to work as advertised (the process isn’t as easy as the manufacturer makes it seem), and poor customer service.

The SpeedOut extractor seemed to fare a bit better on Amazon.com, where it averaged 3.7 stars based on 394 customer reviews, although many complaints seemed to mirror those found here on HighYa. However, it’s important to note that many of SpeedOut’s positive Amazon reviews came from accounts where this was their only review (or where all reviews were posted within a very short time period), which is often an indication they might be fake.

SpeedOut Pricing & Refund Policy

SpeedOut is available in 3 different purchasing options:

  • 1 Set (includes 4 different sizes of extractors): $19.95
  • 2 Sets: $31.90
  • 5 Sets: $59.85

Although S&H is free regardless of the number of SpeedOuts you order, you will be assessed a $3.95 “processing fee.”

At checkout, you’ll also be able to order an Ease-Out light bulb extractor for an additional $5.95 S&H, which claims to feature a protective shield that can help you safely remove broken light bulbs from sockets, without having to use tape balls or potatoes.

SpeedOut comes with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H charges—although this only applies to unused products, as well as a lifetime replacement guarantee.

In order to request a refund or process a replacement claim, you’ll need to contact customer service at 855-355-0417.

Important note: Remember that the ultimate goal for any “As Seen on TV” product is to make it to store shelves. This means that due to the popularity of SpeedOut, you’ll also find it sold through Target, Bed Bath & Beyond, and many other third-party retailers.

Can You Expect SpeedOut to Work as Advertised?

Chopping to the point: Considering the shaky online reputation for SpeedOut based on a series common complaints among consumers, it’s our opinion that the extractor set may not work as well as the manufacturer makes it seem.

As such, we might recommend searching for local options from more mainstream manufacturers, which might ultimately provide you with better performance and more value for your money.

29 Customer Reviews for SpeedOut

Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 24
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 29
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Speedout review

    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • May 12, 2015

    This cheap. I was trying this on the first of two wood screws I had to remove and following instructions, I broke two of the smaller bits almost immediately. At first they just spun, the "drill" didn't dig in the metal and the extractor broke off in pieces. Why do we keep buying cheap Chinese crap? I wish I had read these reviews first. I spent just about $10 or so bucks at Walgreens in the "As seen on TV" isle so I wasn't out too much. Don't buy them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Frustrated. Worthless product.

    • Colorado,
    • May 4, 2015

    I bought this to remove plain deck screws from a wood patio deck. It wouldn't budge them at all. I followed directions precisely on different screws and using different bit sizes. Finally gave up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't BUY

    • River Falls, WI,
    • Apr 28, 2015

    Bits are made from cheap steel saves them a lot of money. The first screw I tried was a sheet rock screw and the drill bit was destroyed in seconds. The cutting edge of the bit rounded over and did not bite the screw. I think it's worthless if you can not even remove a sheet rock screw! Returning it to home Depot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Bought two kits via internet

    • Oakland, CA,
    • Apr 12, 2015

    The product is a scam because does not work on any screw. Save your money and do not buy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    SpeedOut Purchase

    I went down to my local Walmart and I saw the SpeedOut in their "As Seen on TV" section. I purchased it at the store for only $19.94. I did not have to worry about any shipping and handling. It was right there in the store. Yes, it is available in stores. I'm very happy with the product so far.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Lousy service

    • CA,
    • Feb 10, 2015

    Don't buy from them. Bad business practices. Lousy service. They canceled my order and did not notify me. They said they didn't take debit cards, such crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    SpeedOut works.

    • Dec 25, 2014

    This product worked perfectly on a steel screw that was in with loctite. It absolutely got me out of a bad jam. Received it as a gift so no experience with telemarketer's.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    A scam not to be trusted

    • Fl,
    • Dec 19, 2014

    They scam you into things you don't want. If you want this item, go to Lowes or Home Depot and buy it! Pay $19.95, don't get scammed for $60.00 like they did me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Complete garbage

    • Wilson, WY,
    • Oct 28, 2014

    Bought it to remove a screw stuck in a ski mount. I usually can get the screws out easily by hand. The screw was in a female end fastened with a dab of lock tight. This should not be a difficult application for a product of speed outs claim of 10 seconds. This product is absolute garbage. Whatever application you have you would be better off using other means.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Speed out SUCKS!

    • Layton, UT,
    • Oct 9, 2014

    Stripped out a bolt that is impossible to get to on a Volvo engine block and the drill bit won't even get a bite. I absolutely have to get this bolt out before winter sets in and the water freezes. DO NOT under any circumstances buy this garbage!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Would not recommend, even to a monkey.

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Oct 3, 2014

    Ordered these but have yet to remove any stripped or broken head screws. In fact, it just made it worse. I had to use a drill bit to get them out. Easier than using these things.

    Also, after ordering the SpeedOut item, my newly created email was bombarded by spam from this site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 29

Write a review for SpeedOut!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review