About SpeedOut

SpeedOut is a damaged screw and bolt extractor that’s claimed to work with any drill, while using a patented process that removes any stripped or damaged screw in 10 seconds or less, even if you break off the entire head.

Each SpeedOut extractor is claimed to be made of professional-grade hardened steel, and to remove most types of screws and bolts, including Phillips, flat, hex, bare, or painted over.

According to the manufacturer, SpeedOut works over 2 steps:

  1. Drill out the damaged area using one end of the SpeedOut bit.
  2. Then, flip your SpeedOut over and use the extracting end to pull the screw right out.

Can you really expect SpeedOut to work as well as the manufacturer claims and to provide good value for your money? Consider the following:

Other Screw & Bolt Extraction Tools

First, although many “As Seen on TV” manufacturers like to make their products seem revolutionary, they’re often just different takes on existing ones.

For example, if you type in the phrase “screw extractor” or “bolt extractor” into your favorite search engine, you’ll find that they can purchased for less than what you’ll pay for SpeedOut—especially considering the high, non-refundable S&H charges (more about this in the Pricing section). In fact, these types of tools are so popular that they’re almost certainly available at a hardware or home improvement store near you.

Is SpeedOut Really Easy to Use?

For the most part, this depends what you mean by “easy.”

In other words, extractor sets (like those mentioned in the previous section) will require that you first use a drill bit into the broken screw or bolt, remove it, and then use the extractor bit. And getting the right “feel” for the process might take some trial and error.

On top of this, most of these kits feature heated and tempered steel for good performance and longer life. However, we’re not told much about the metal used in SpeedOut, other than it’s “hardened” steel. And as we’ll read more about in the Reviews section, this could mean everything.

Finally, if you’re trying to remove a small screw that’s highly damaged, it might take some creative thinking to get it out of place, which is often only learned from experience.

What Are Customers Saying about SpeedOut?

Since writing our original SpeedOut review, 29 HighYa readers have provided feedback about their experience, ultimately rating it an average of 1.5 stars and only 7% claiming they’d recommend it to a friend (as of 6/6/15).

This is based primarily on common complaints surrounding poor quality (steel is soft, bits strip or break easily), failure to work as advertised (the process isn’t as easy as the manufacturer makes it seem), and poor customer service.

The SpeedOut extractor seemed to fare a bit better on Amazon.com, where it averaged 3.7 stars based on 394 customer reviews, although many complaints seemed to mirror those found here on HighYa. However, it’s important to note that many of SpeedOut’s positive Amazon reviews came from accounts where this was their only review (or where all reviews were posted within a very short time period), which is often an indication they might be fake.

SpeedOut Pricing & Refund Policy

SpeedOut is available in 3 different purchasing options:

  • 1 Set (includes 4 different sizes of extractors): $19.95
  • 2 Sets: $31.90
  • 5 Sets: $59.85

Although S&H is free regardless of the number of SpeedOuts you order, you will be assessed a $3.95 “processing fee.”

At checkout, you’ll also be able to order an Ease-Out light bulb extractor for an additional $5.95 S&H, which claims to feature a protective shield that can help you safely remove broken light bulbs from sockets, without having to use tape balls or potatoes.

SpeedOut comes with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H charges—although this only applies to unused products, as well as a lifetime replacement guarantee.

In order to request a refund or process a replacement claim, you’ll need to contact customer service at 855-355-0417.

Important note: Remember that the ultimate goal for any “As Seen on TV” product is to make it to store shelves. This means that due to the popularity of SpeedOut, you’ll also find it sold through Target, Bed Bath & Beyond, and many other third-party retailers.

Can You Expect SpeedOut to Work as Advertised?

Chopping to the point: Considering the shaky online reputation for SpeedOut based on a series common complaints among consumers, it’s our opinion that the extractor set may not work as well as the manufacturer makes it seem.

As such, we might recommend searching for local options from more mainstream manufacturers, which might ultimately provide you with better performance and more value for your money.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

30 Customer Reviews for SpeedOut

Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 25
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • Does not work

    • Kansas,
    • Jul 4, 2016

    Steel is way too soft. Won't drill a recess deep enough for the spiral extractor to grip. Don't waste your time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Bait and Switch

    • Washington,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    Went to order a set of these for myself thinking its a pretty good deal. The order process was easy but required your credit card up front. Once the order was processed, with name address etc, they offered an upgrade of 1 unit at 19.95 and a second at 10.00. Sounded good. I said yes. This also stated free shipping and no processing fees. even better. Order went through then the bill for 73.00 dollars came up? What the heck? E-mailed the customer service right away to stop the order or have it corrected. No luck. Waited until product arrived. Three came in package, again what the heck?

    Called the Customer service number on the package only to be told they have "Upgraded me to the Pro unit at 29.95 each" Again, what the heck? Said they would allow me to return them for refund using the order number as an RMA. Scared that it may be lost in shipping or wait forever for my money back I decided to try and sell them at work.

    If this doesn't work I will try to send them back with return receipt and hope for the best. Bait and switch. Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Speedout review

    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Jul 23, 2015

    This cheap. I was trying this on the first of two wood screws I had to remove and following instructions, I broke two of the smaller bits almost immediately. At first they just spun, the "drill" didn't dig in the metal and the extractor broke off in pieces. Why do we keep buying cheap Chinese crap? I wish I had read these reviews first. I spent just about $10 or so bucks at Walgreens in the "As seen on TV" isle so I wasn't out too much. Don't buy them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    SpeedOut Purchase

    I went down to my local Walmart and I saw the SpeedOut in their "As Seen on TV" section. I purchased it at the store for only $19.94. I did not have to worry about any shipping and handling. It was right there in the store. Yes, it is available in stores. I'm very happy with the product so far.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    SpeedOut works.

    • Jul 9, 2015

    This product worked perfectly on a steel screw that was in with loctite. It absolutely got me out of a bad jam. Received it as a gift so no experience with telemarketer's.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Would not recommend, even to a monkey.

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    Ordered these but have yet to remove any stripped or broken head screws. In fact, it just made it worse. I had to use a drill bit to get them out. Easier than using these things.

    Also, after ordering the SpeedOut item, my newly created email was bombarded by spam from this site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Bad Company

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    I ordered the product, and before I received it, I got a call from a coupon company saying I should receive my order soon and I was also signed up for a membership for their coupons, $29.99 per month. If I didn't want it, I have to cancel it after my SpeedOut product arrives. I said I do not want a membership to anything, all I want is my SpeedOut product. They said, well you have to cancel it then. I saw a charge in my bank account from them. Notified my bank, canceled my card, and emailed the company about how horrible and deceitful they are. And of course, had to cancel the membership they signed me up for. This is a very bad company that takes money out of your account unauthorized. Do not buy from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Bought speedout at walmart

    • Russellville, AR,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    Bought one at Walmart and these are worthless and nothing but a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    SpeedOut is Junk.

    • Jul 1, 2015

    I ordered two since it seemed like such a good deal. I just tried to use it on a bolt that had broken. The bolt is still on and my speed out bit is worn down to a nub. Useless. I've been scammed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Product works, bad business practices

    • Matthews, NC,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    Initially ordered this product from TV ad, before I knew it the bill was twice the amount I expected. Nonetheless, I continued with the order and it seems like forever before it showed up. Once I used it to get out of a jam, surprisingly it worked very well and I was so pleased. I ordered another one as a gift for someone, the website said "free shipping" however when you look at the order confirmation, it added the 6.95 for shipping - too late to cancel at that point. Also, the free light bulb extractor which indicated was free but at the final order, they charge 6.95 for processing in addition to that, there is a 2.95 internet ordering fee which they do not inform you of when placing the order.

    So, I started out with a 19.95 on a free shipping item but at order confirmation the bill was 39.95. The item does work but for 40.00 I might have had other options. You're on your own and if you think it's a good deal, you can expect to pay more than you originally thought. Good luck because they are looking for "suckers".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Rip off, stay away from this company.

    • Big Sandy, TX,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    Can't review because they never sent it, 50 dollars down the drain.This place should be shutdown.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 26, 2014

      Doris in NC

      I just got five sets in the mail after ordering only one set. The box did not contain an invoice. I think I have been scammed. I wonder what my credit card bill will be? I have learned a good lesson however--check out the company online before buying anything.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a review for SpeedOut!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review