About Spicy Shelf

Spicy Shelf touts itself as a way to organize all your spices, using your existing cupboard space. They claim these U-shaped units are stackable, adjustable to fit any cabinet, and can organize up to 64 spices so you can see them at a glance and access easily.

Spicy Shelf is sold by Infomercials Inc, a direct marketing company based in Utah. There is no information, rating, or accreditation available about them on the BBB website at the time of this writing.

How Spicy Shelf Works

Spicy Shelf consists of 2 plastic adjustable shelving units that are in the shape of a horseshoe and 10 3/8” deep. They come with both large and small legs for stacking. To use Spicy Shelf, clear out the cupboard you intend to use and remove the regular shelves.

Next, take the Spicy Shelf and adjust the size according to the directions by adding back pieces to the unit. They claim it will fit any shelf area from 7.5” to 17”. If you are placing in a cupboard that already had shelves, you can use the existing shelf pins to set Spicy Shelf in place; otherwise, you can use the included (short or long) legs.

If you have a cupboard wider than 17” they suggest you use 2 Spicy Shelves in a “double-wide” configuration (or use to one side.) They claim Spicy Shelf can be used in 4 different configurations with one set of Spicy Shelves, with more choices available the more Spicy Shelf sets you buy.

They claim it installs in minutes, uses no special tools, and is made of durable plastic that is easy to clean. Once you have the Spicy Shelfs in place, they say the shelves run along the sides and back of the cupboard, leaving the middle area open; they state you can place your spices around it and be able to see every bottle.

They claim this is much better than hunting for spices in a jumbled cupboard. They say one set can hold up to 64 bottles of a standard spice size. (For taller bottles, they suggest you can put them in the center of the cupboard.) In addition, they say that Spicy Shelf can be used for medicines, vitamins, cosmetics, lotions, crafts, and more.

The website contains written and video testimonials from women (and a token man) who gush that Spicy Shelf has made their lives more wonderful by making the cupboards organized and spices easy to reach even for the “vertically challenged”.

Each Spicy Shelf Order includes

  • 1 Spicy Shelf Set (2 units with short and long leg attachments)

Spicy Shelf Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

They say a Spicy Shelf Set costs $19.95 plus $7.95 S & H for a total of $27.90. But if you would like more than one, you can purchase the second set for $19.95 and shipping is free. If you want up to 4 more (6 total) the extra units are $10 each with shipping included. They ask to allow 4 to 6 weeks standard shipping for your order. Once you get your Spicy Shelf order, you have 60 days to try them. If you find they don’t fit, or any other reason, return them (you pay the postage) and they will refund your money less any S & H, if applicable.

Bottom Line: Is Spicy Shelf a Scam?

This product seems to work as advertised and has a good return policy. If you are looking for a way to get your spices (or lotions, makeup, vitamins, etc.) organized, this may be what you are looking for – and maybe they’ll add you to the testimonial page.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

45 Customer Reviews for Spicy Shelf

Average Customer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 10 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 3 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 27
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 45
Sort reviews by:

  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Charges for returns

    • Miami, FL,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    I ordered two of these for $34.85. I had no problem with that, but I can't use them in my cabinets. My cabinets are too small, it's an old condo.

    I want to return them and I'm told that it will cost me $14.90 to return them.

    What's up with that? It didn't cost them anything to send it to me. I will never order anything from them again and will tell my friends also, bad marketing. Should have been told that before hand.

    It says I will be refunded less shipping and handling (I paid for that) and processing chargers. So it costs the same as shipping to return something, sorry not nice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 17, 2014

      Dedee

      This should not be the case with returns. I am personally checking into why you were told you would be charged to return it. Did you purchase from www.SpicyShelf.com or an authorized dealer?

      The Spicy Shelf Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Good product

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Aug 10, 2015

    Received as a Christmas gift. Easily accommodated my 17" cabinet space. My cabinets have built in shelves, so I had to omit the stabilizing leg supports. I used two small pieces of Velcro to secure to left cabinet wall, and an Old Bay Seasoning bottle as a center support (it was just the right height) Instructions were in English and thorough.

     Two improvements might be an additional leg for center support, and instructions on how to disassemble. I goofed up the first shelf by not making it wide enough, so I used the second shelf for my project.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Good Things Come to Those Who Wait, and Wait and Wait! Maybe.

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Aug 5, 2015

    Just read the reviews of those who continue to wait also. Did notice the 472 Likes on Facebook. If those reflect orders that have created the backorders it sounds like the business must be making money hand over fist. Our latest wait has now been extended into July (each day gets closer) and hopefully the multi-excuses will be over.

    It was nice to read the reviews of those who have received and are enjoying the use of the product. We just hope these are "real" people making these testimonials.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 6, 2014

      The Spicy Shelf Team

      We are pleased to announce all back orders have been filled. Email confirmations have been sent out.

       

      The original delivery estimate stated on the website was 4-6 weeks. We obliviously missed that target by a long shot. This is a brand new product and they seriously underestimated the high response and how long it was going to take to get manufacturing up in full production mode. Quality is of utmost importance. We want to produce a product you will be happy with. We didn't want to ship until the product met our strict standards. We now have multiple factories up and running in full production mode. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We hope you are happy with Spicy Shelf once you receive it. We appreciate your interest in our new product. Once again, thank you for your patience.

       

      The Spicy Shelf Team

       

    • Jul 7, 2014

      The Spicy Shelf Team

      Jean,

       

      I tried to personally check into your order but didn't have enough info (no last name) We have product now. Customer service is looking into why a few orders have not been filled. Please call customer service 866-343-4001 to see if your order is one if you haven't received the product yet. Thank you for your patience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    This is a scam, don't go near it.

    • Boston, MA,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    I bought it on the TV add. It is really awful and not what I expected. Want to return it within the 60 days and cannot get through to Customer service. Yet they will not take returns without authorization. The phone answers with an automated survey which then tells me I've received a free cruise to the Bahamas. When I don't say yes, then I am disconnected. The shipping address of 300 Returns Road should have been my first clue that this company doesn't even really exist.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam alert for sure

    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    I bought the product with the buy one get one offer. I also purchased the deluxe version. I never got the deluxe version I was charged for two of them when I called customer service they stated that offer ended long ago. I went back to the website with them on the phone was still there. I was promised a phone call back within four days and one month later I still don't have it. The product is cheap they use a bait and switch tactic and they should be paying me to take their product. The product is trash and so is their customer service.

    800-721-7123 is the customer service number for those who are interested. But don't expect too much.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Does the Job but some usable space is wasted

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Aug 2, 2015

    I bought the SpicyShelf to organize spices. My cabinet is 17" wide and it fit perfectly using three extensions on each side. I found it easy to assemble; clearly written instructions. I did not find it flimsy as others stated. First I tried it with tall legs on the bottom and short legs in the middle (the way it is shown on the front of the box.) However, there wasn't enough space in the middle shelf to accommodate two small spice jars, one on top of the other, or one tall (look closely at the picture on the front of the box and you will see they show one layer of small jars on the middle shelf.) Also, my cabinet has another shelf above so I didn't want to lose that.

    So, I changed it to use tall legs on both levels. It took some time to rearrange all my spices and other items I had in this cabinet but it was a worthwhile use of time because I found several duplicate spices and other items I didn't remember having. The "loss of space" has to do with the fact the shelf makes a "U" in the cabinet, hugs the walls, and only takes up about 2 inches depth against the walls all around. So, the "center" space of the cabinet is open, allowing one to reach in and grab. I had to redo two cabinets due to this loss of usable space. But if the goal is to organize items and see them all at a glance then this does do that! It does look nice to open the door and see everything organized and in alphabetical order!I expect to get used to the change and be very happy with this.

    Having assembled it and "installed" it, I can understand why others say it didn't fit well in wide cabinets or didn't work on wire shelves. I purchased it at the grocery store so did not have "credit card" issues with the company as others have mentioned.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Average

    This product did organize my spices to help reduce the digging around for a certain spice. However, it did not sit steady on a wire shelf. It needs wire shelf adapter so legs don't fall between wires. Also, it's not as stable as it appears. I guess I'd give it a better rating if it cost less. It is really worth $10, not the $20 I paid at Dollar General.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Measure first.

    • Portland, OR,
    • Jul 10, 2015

    Absolutely unusable for a 32" wide shelf area. Was lied to by a BB&B employee when I gave measurements. If your shelf is 30" or less it might work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Website is a trap, product is great.

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    I tried to get pricing on multiple units and in order to get such info you need to enter payment info. I never completed the order, or did I? It was shipped and I was shocked. I canceled payment with PayPal.

    I did call them and they are very polite and cooperative about the rejection of the order. I am only disappointed with the website, so be careful.

    I did purchase the item in a store and it is a bit chintzy but it does a great job of organizing the spice cabinet. Just be careful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam, do not order.

    • Henderson, KY,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    I also tried to back out of the order on the page where it says click to process when I saw the outrageous shipping and handling costs. They make you put your PayPal info in before that page so they get their money regardless. Also, beware I went in to PayPal and they had their website set to recurring purchases. I deactivated that but they still got their initial payment that I did not authorize and now supposedly it is on its way. There is no way to contact them. They got you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Scam- never hit the order button

    • Oregon,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    If you think to yourself that you'd like to see how much it costs for an extra shelf set before you actually order any at all, don't bother. You cannot look into that without ordering a set and they make it where you don't even realize the order has been placed. You cannot advance to the next page without entering your personal information and credit card number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 45

Write a review for Spicy Shelf!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review