About SpyFly

If you’re looking to find out more about your new neighbor, or find a person you haven’t spoken to in years, SpyFly claims to allow you to quickly and easily perform public record-based background checks. This includes criminal records, contact and address information, financial information, related individuals, and even registered sex offenders in your area.

But when it comes down to it, does SpyFly provide a solid amount of value for your hard-earned money? Let’s search for the facts and see what they have to say.

How SpyFly Works

SpyFly claims to provide you with accurate, up to date, and complete background checks about anyone in a fast, easy, and safe manner. SpyFly claims to accomplish this by using cutting edge technology to aggregate billions of public records, which can help you find someone you haven’t had contact with in a while, learn more about your new neighbor, or find out what public records are available about you.

In addition, SpyFly claims to help you locate sex offenders in your neighborhood, or anywhere else in the U.S., and to receive email alerts any time a registered sex offender moves into your area. With SpyFly, you’ll also be able to monitor up to four individuals, and to be notified when anything in their public record changes, such as a marriage, divorce, arrest, and more. On top of this, SpyFly claims that you can store personal Emergency Response Profiles (ERPs) for your whole family, which can be quickly emailed to authorities if anyone should go missing.

In order to begin using SpyFly, you’ll simply need to enter a person’s first name, last name, and state on their homepage. However, keep in mind that according to the Fair Credit Reporting Act, information obtained through SpyFly cannot be used for employment, consumer credit, or other related purposes.

SpyFly Pricing & Refund Policy

SpyFly offers four different automatically-renewed membership options, which allow you to run an unlimited number of background reports:

  1. Monthly: $29.97
  2. Quarterly: $39.97
  3. Semi-Annual: $49.97
  4. Annual: $59.98

Regardless of the membership option you choose though, you can sign up under either a 7-day trial or a standard version. With the 7-day trial, you’ll initially be charged $1, and if you cancel before the seven days are up, you’ll owe nothing further. However, if you fail to cancel, you’ll be billed exactly seven days from your original registration date based on your chosen membership option.

According to SpyFly’s Terms of Use, no refunds are available for memberships, although you can be credited for a specific search if no information about an individual is found.

If you need to cancel your SpyFly subscription, you’ll need to contact their U.S.-based customer support team at 800-831-9235.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About SpyFly?

SpyFly Inc. was founded in 2012 and is based out of San Diego, CA. The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, with zero complaints filed over the past three years.

Unfortunately, we were unable to locate any online customer reviews about SpyFly during our research. This could be due to the fact that, although the company’s URL was originally registered in 2012, their site appears to have been operational only since early 2014.

What’s the Bottom Line About SpyFly?

With all this information in mind, should you spend your hard-earned money on a SpyFly membership? Perhaps, but consider the following before signing up:

First, one of the biggest complaints related to services such as SpyFly, PeopleSmart, Instant Checkmate, and other background check/people search sites is that they contain incomplete information. In other words, your results may be missing criminal information for someone who is known to have a criminal record, bankruptcies for someone who has undergone bankruptcy, etc.

The second most common complaint is that these types of sites will nickel and dime you for detailed information above and beyond a basic report. As such, they can quickly become expensive, and you may find yourself paying $50 or more for all the information you need, on top of your membership fees.

With this said, we performed a SpyFly test search, and found that before viewing your report, you’ll be required to enter credit card details in order to pay for the $1, 7-day trial. As such, we were unable to verify whether or not either of these complaints apply to SpyFly.

Bottom line: With no online customer reviews, and a search process that requires you to enter your credit card information before viewing a report, it’s difficult to provide solid feedback on the usefulness of SpyFly’s background checks. As such, we would recommend signing up for the 7-day trial and cancelling your membership immediately if you’re not satisfied with the results.

SEE ALSO: The Problems with Online People Searches, & How You Can Find the Same Information for Free

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

27 Customer Reviews for SpyFly

Average Customer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 3 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 20
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 27
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy SpyFly

    • Southern California,
    • Nov 1, 2016

    I have two people I know that have long term criminal history and SpyFly couldn't even find they existed! Waste of time and money. Also, SentryLink is no good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Terrible Scam

    I think this is like a scam service. I signed up and didn't get anything. I tried to cancel and couldn't figure out how. I found a better site with better information and customer service who answered their phone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Fairly accurate

    • Lombard IL,
    • Oct 16, 2015

    Used it yesterday for the 1st time. Only paid $2.99 for 7 day membership. I just looked up people whose life story I know about. The information was fairly accurate. Some information was rather old and outdated but it is expected. I would recommend this service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Bad

    • Indianapolis, Indiana,
    • Oct 16, 2015

    I tried to cancel monthly subscription twice. Spyfly continued to charge my account. I had to contact the credit card company to cancel future charges.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 4, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Hi, Mr. Herald. Thank you for your review. We are concerned by your thoughts as we noticed you had a conversation with a representative from our company who issued a refund for a charge that was billed. We listened to this conversation and you indicated you were satisfied with the resolution of this matter. Understand we never want to bill anyone who doesn't want our services but we don't see any cancellation attempts prior to the conversation you had with our company.

      It is of the utmost importance to our company that our members are satisfied with their experience with SpyFly. If you would like further assistance, we encourage you to contact us at 1-800-831-9235 and any representative is happy to assist you further. Thanks again.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    NOT HAPPY

    • Boston, KY,
    • Oct 15, 2015

    I ran 5 reports & most of the info was just plain wrong! Examples: People that were associates of mine, I've never even heard of & one of them is my husband's dead ex mother-n-law whom I've NEVER met. She has been dead 4 years. My daughter has been married 5 years & was still under her maiden name. None of us had a DL, but we all do. Those are just a few examples. I'm glad I spent only a $1.00 for this rip off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 4, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Hi, Ms. Smith. Thank you for your thoughts. Just so you know, our site does include billions of elements of information. If you are seeing information that seems "incorrect", that simply means you're seeing the information that is publicly available on the person you have pulled up. In other words, our system simply shows what is available on a person. If the information is incorrect, then that means it is incorrect on a public level. We, of course, apologize for any inconveniences that may cause.

      If you wish to have information corrected, you can always contact your local court or public record's office for assistance.

      We hope this answers your concern. Please feel free to reach out to us at 1-800-831-9235 if you have any questions. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 15 people found this review helpful

    My account

    • Hickory Flat, MS,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    I bought a SpyFly account yesterday but now I can't sign in today.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 12, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Mr. Smith, thank you for your comment. We are happy to help you with the issue you are experiencing. You may not be aware, but there is a world class member support team that can be reached from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. PST 7 days a week. Please call us at 1-800-831-9235 and we will be happy to assist with this issue. Thanks.

    • Sep 29, 2015

      Connie

      I tried to find myself, 96 hits to my name and not one of them were myself! So how good can they be really?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Mississippi,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    SpyFly sucks because I never got any info. Instead, it just keeps circling and saying loading.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 29, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Sarah: Thank you for your review and we apologize you were having issues. Please be aware we have a world class member support team who is happy to help you with such issues. Assuming you might have an account, please get in touch with us using the contact form on our website, or call us at 1-800-831-9235. We would appreciate an opportunity to assist you further.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Spyfly sucks

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    Spyfly sucks. It's a ripp off. I paid for my trial. Looked myself up. It shows no driver license. I've had one in the same state for 28 years. It shows no email accounts. I've got three of them. Shows no Facebook and other accounts. I've got three of them also. The first time I used it, it gave me the four people I looked for. But then won't let me get anyone else's info. Just says "searching for records". I've left it run for 3 hours and it was still searching. It only gives you information if the person was arrested, charged. It doesn't say the verdict or what the punishment was if sentenced. This is a sham.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 30, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Dear Mr. Stitcher: We are sorry to hear you were having issues with our site. Please be aware we encourage any members who might experience issues to get in touch with our support team through the contact form on our website or by calling us at 1-800-831-9235. Please note we have thousands of members who use this service without issue and we have no way of knowing when an individual member experiences difficulties. Please also be aware that our site includes billions of data elements that are available in our national database but sometimes if you are not seeing information on our site than that means data you are looking for may not be available. We hope this answers your concerns. If you would like to speak to us regarding this situation, please call us at the number listed above, we would look forward to speaking with you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 19 people found this review helpful

    YOU LIE

    • Lakewood , NJ,
    • Jul 12, 2015

    Rip off liars. They claim it is free. They want your credit card -- is that FREE?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 20, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Mr. Thompson: Thank you for your comment. I looked into your concern further and discovered what you were speaking of. When we say "Find out, Free background Search Now" we are referring to the fact that anyone can run a background search, for FREE. I just went through an example myself and before putting in a credit card, I discovered that there were many results that appeared under the name I chose to run. and it showed possible associates and relatives related to my search as well as the age to help generate the correct report -- this is all for FREE.

      For those members who pay a small fee for a 7 day trial membership, they get to access all of our benefits. We highlight the fact that the membership costs $29.97 a month after a seven day trial in several places during the signup process, including the confirmation page and the welcome email that we send to all new members. In fact, you can't sign up without checking a box that you understand the terms and conditions which clearly call out the ongoing membership fees of $29.97/month.

      In case you weren’t aware, Spyfly is the internet’s most complete background check service making it fast, easy and safe for people to find and learn the truth about anyone. We aggregate billions of public records into a single, easy to use interface and manage this information with cutting edge technology.

      One of the key features of our membership is your ability to run unlimited background searches and create reports on as many people as you like. We recommend you run a check on yourself and your loved ones so that you know what information is publicly available, you might be surprised and some of the information might not be correct. In addition, you can monitor up to four people at a time so if any information changes in our database on the people you choose to monitor, you get an email alert updating you of that change.

      You can also run targeted searches to find out if there are sex offenders living near your loved ones. You can create a 5 mile protection zone around your home, empowering you to monitor sex offender activity in your neighborhood and up to 3 other locations anywhere in the country where your family or loved ones spend time. We then send immediate email alerts when a new sex offender registers within any of your monitoring zones.

      Lastly, our members are able to set up Emergency Response Profiles for each one of their children. These digital profiles contain a child’s picture, personal information, physical description, medical information as well as guardian contact information. These profiles can instantly be emailed to friends, family or the police in case a child goes missing or is abducted; this assists parents and law enforcement in the recovery of the missing child.

      We look forward to helping you protect your family with our service and our benefits

      We would be willing to issue you a FREE 6 month membership valued at $180 if you would like to utilize our service to see if it could benefit your family. If you would like to discuss this matter further or have any additional questions please contact us at 800-831-9235 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. PST and any of our helpful team members would be happy to assist you further.

      We look forward to providing you with excellent service.

      The SpyFly Support Team
      "Protect What Matters Most"

    • Jul 22, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Mr. Thomson: thank you for your comment. I looked into your concern further and discovered what you were speaking of. When we say "find out, free background search now" we are referring to the fact that anyone can run a background search, for free. I just went through an example myself and before putting in a credit card, I discovered that there were many results that appeared under the name I chose to run. And it showed possible associates and relatives related to my search as well as the age to help generate the correct report. This is all for free. Our service, however, is not advertised as being free. We give our members an opportunity to use the benefits on a trial basis for a small fee, with the option of canceling if they do not want to be enrolled in our family protections of $29.97 monthly. This is repeated multiple times in our signup process as well as through confirmation emails sent. We hope this solves your issue and please contact us at 1-800-831-9235 if you have any questions. Thank you.

    • Jul 26, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Thank you for your comment, Mr. Thompson, your opinion is very valuable to us. We looked further into the issue you described and we think we discovered what you're referring to. When we tell prospective customers they can run a free search, it is because we want them to make sure they are pulling up the correct background report before making a decision to sign up. For example, I just looked up myself on the website and I was able to see possible relatives, age, and full name. This is all FREE. We hope this answers your concern. Please call us at 1-800-301-5905 if you would like to discuss this matter further, or contact us using the form on our website.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Spyfly has aways been there. And never a problem loging in.

    • United States,
    • Jul 10, 2015

    From my experience, I've have received everything that I was said I would get. And on top of that, if of you have a problem they get right back to you. As most sites take up to 24 hours and if problem can't be fixed over texts, they call you as soon as they received your texts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 15, 2015

      Sam

      I just now signed up for the 7-day trial. I have requested information about someone I dated over 25 years ago as a test subject. I will comment here after I run some reports etc. btw I just now signed up for this website as well (highya.com) so far, all is well for both.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Watch out.

    • Missouri,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    SpyFly has incomplete info. We tried three people who we knew the histories of and all three missed major events.

    You must call to cancel, no way to cancel online. This is a big red flag for me. It means they are going to give you the run around before canceling.

    No refunds is no refunds. If you forget to cancel they will not work with you. It's a sham, go somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 20, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Jeff: Thank you for your comment. We are sorry to hear you were not able to find the information you were looking for. Please be aware our site includes many elements of data for millions of people in the United States. It is important to note, however, that our information is based on information that is publicly available and publicly reported. This means that sometimes if you do not see information that you are certain exists, it just means that it is not information that has been reported through our sources.

      Since information can change at any point, we allow our members to have our team monitor up to 4 people at a time with their accounts. This means that if anything changes on a background report, our members are the first to know.

      Our members have multiple options when it comes to canceling their membership. We maintain a toll-free 1-800 number so that our members may cancel their membership 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with an option of speaking to a representative from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. PST 7 days a week including most holidays. This system allows a member to safely and securely cancel a membership and receive a confirmation both verbally and in writing through a confirmation email. Our members also have an option of leaving us a voicemail with any questions or requests or they can set up an automated callback request so that a representative may reach them during times of high call volume. Lastly, our members have an option of electronic correspondence by using the contact form on our website or by writing directly to support@spyfly.com. These are all ways in which our members can reach out to us to cancel their accounts and we feel this helps ensure we are meeting our standard of ensuring high quality, secure, and private customer support.

      It is true our company has a no-refund policy. We make this clear in our signup process as well as in our terms and conditions. We allow our members the opportunity to use our benefits and services on a trial membership so they do not run the risk of being billed for something they do not want. At the same time, our team is committed to ensuring our customers are satisfied with the resolution of their accounts and invite all of our members to reach out to us so we can make sure they are satisfied.

      We hope this addresses your concerns. If you have questions or would like to discuss this matter further, our friendly support team can be reached at 1-800-831-9235 between 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. PST 7 days a week. We look forward to assisting you further.

    • Jul 22, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Hi, Jeff, thank you for your comment. We allow our members multiple ways of canceling their memberships. For privacy and security purposes, we require our members to call in to our support phone lines so they can have their cancellations confirmed and be offered an opportunity to ask questions. We also process cancellations via email. We also offer a world class support team to our members so if there are any situations that need resolution, we can be here to help. If you have questions please call us at 1-800-831-9235. Thank you.

    • Jul 26, 2015

      SpyFly Support

      Hi, Jeff. Thank you for your thoughts. Please be aware that our site is based on public record. Sometimes if you are not seeing information on our site, that means the data you're looking for may not be publicly available. For some people, that can even be a good thing because it also means negative information may be difficult to find.

      For those who choose to cancel, we make the process very easy. We have a world class customer support team available to our members many hours of the day, and a 24/7 automated system available as well. For privacy and security reasons, we want to ensure members can have their cancellations confirmed and thus require contact. In case there are any questions or additional ways our company can help, we try to ensure our members are given the opportunity to get help.

      We hope this addresses your concern. If you would like to discuss this further, please reach out to us at 1-800-831-9235 between 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. PST 7 days a week. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 27

Write a review for SpyFly!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review