About SunRun

You may have noticed that solar energy production has been on the rise over the past few years, and SunRun claims to be the nation’s #1 home solar company. As such, the company claims to help you take control of your electric bill using clean, environmentally friendly solar power.

But when it comes to SunRun, do the positives outweigh the negatives? Let’s shine some light on the facts and see where they lead us.

SunRun Details

Because they take the cost and complexity out of home solar energy production, making it inexpensive, low-risk, and environmentally friendly, SunRun claims to have more than 50,000 customers, and to build a new system every 10 minutes.

With this in mind, signing up with SunRun works over four steps:

  1. During your initial SunRun consultation, the third-party installer will examine important factors such as how much money you’re currently spending on your electricity rates, where you live, your roof’s condition, and how much sun your roof receives.
  2. SunRun will then design a custom solar system for your roof, which will be installed by a professional, certified installation partner.
  3. You’ll choose your payment option (see more about this in the Pricing section).
  4. Finally, SunRun guarantees your system’s performance and maintains it for the next 20 years.

Once your solar panels have been installed and are up and running, you’ll be able to access your SunRun dashboard from any computer, which will tell you how much power you’re generating, how much CO2 you’re eliminating, and how much money you’re saving.

However, keep in mind that SunRun services are currently only available in the following states: AZ, CA, CO, CT, HI, MA, MD, NJ, NY, OR, and PA.

SunRun Pricing

According to SunRun, the typical 3-7 kW system costs between $18K and $40K, depending on location and design. As such, you’ll be given two options to pay for the system:

  1. Avoid high upfront costs by paying $0 down, and enter into a solar lease and power purchase agreement (PPA). This means you’ll pay a fixed rate for power generation and for the cost of the equipment over the course of 20 years.
  2. Alternately, you can purchase the entire system directly from SunRun, and then pay only power production costs.

Whichever option you choose, SunRun claims that your rates are locked in for 20 years, and production performance is guaranteed. In fact, the company claims that if your solar panels don’t produce the amount listed on your customer agreement, you’ll receive regular rebate checks from them.

Keep in mind however, that your initial savings may be modest, but that you could save thousands on your electric bills over the life of your SunRun agreement.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About SunRun?

SunRun Inc. is based out of San Francisco, CA, claims to have been in business for more than 15 years, and has been featured in the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Forbes, Scientific American, and more.

The company holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, although they do have more than 50 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, we read more than one customer review complaining that their utility costs actually increased after having solar panels installed.

What’s the Bottom Line About SunRun?

Now that you know more about SunRun, should you sign up for one of their 20-year solar agreements? Perhaps, but there are some important considerations you should keep in mind beforehand.

First, understand that you’ll need to own your home, and have a roof that is in good condition, is facing any direction other than north, and is not too shaded.

Second, the most common customer complaints we encountered during our research cited problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, more than one customer claimed that their utility bills actually increased after having their solar panels installed, which appear to be related to additional fees from the power company. Also, you should understand that, even though SunRun claims your cost savings may be modest the first year, several customers have claimed that it took as long as 2-3 years to start seeing savings, which, after paying highly inflated rates during this time, didn’t seem in line with the savings they were promised.

With this in mind, SunRun was part of a class action lawsuit in January 2013 claiming that the company grossly overstated potential cost savings. Unfortunately, we were unable to locate a resolution to the suit.

Bottom line: If you decide to pursue a SunRun system, be sure to ask as many questions as you can, thoroughly review your contract, and understand that it may take years to realize even a modest amount of savings on your utility bills.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

14 Customer Reviews for SunRun

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 13
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 14
Sort reviews by:

  • Lied to

    The contract I signed is nothing like what the sales person said it would be.

    He told me the savings would be huge, that they would be supplying 100 percent of my energy, and I would only pay a small flat rate charge from Duke Energy. He went on to say that he was going to be my best friend and that I would have to teach him how to play poker, which was a hobby of mine, because of all the savings he would be giving me. He made it sound like I would be very lucky to have these solar panels.

    Duke Energy is charging me not just a $9 flat fee per month, but also 20 percent of my energy consumption, which is another $22 on average. If you do the math and look at what my bills were with Duke compared to where they are at now, I am not saving money, and even if I were, it would just barely cover the cost to reassemble the panels after I install a new roof.

    I have been taken advantage of egregiously with this contract that it no way resembles what was verbally communicated to me by the sales team.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Ripoff and lies

    My salesman lied about everything. He said from start to finish it would take about three weeks. They failed the inspections three times, and it finally got powered up 13 weeks later. I was told it would generate 990 kWh per month on average, but the system stopped working a month later, and it took them 22 days to send someone out to fix it!

    The bottom line is that the system has not produced in five months what it should have in two months! I was told I would only pay $20-40 per month to my electric company, but my last three months were $808! Plus, they just keep taking their monthly charge. When I called them they are trained to just keep saying "did you read your contract?" It's in YOUR contract!

    Anyone who has been intentionally misled by this company should contact me immediately as I am meeting with a high-powered attorney to file a class action lawsuit. I had a brand new roof and sheathing installed, and their installation requires a ton of lag bolts through the roof. I want their trash off my property, and I want a new roof and sheathing! Once again, contact me and I will include you in my lawsuit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Dishonest service

    We were first approached by a SunRun salesperson that came to our door. The program seemed like a good idea, and we signed up.

    A day later, we ended up changing our minds because we had second thoughts after reading many poor reviews online. Come to find out, that our dishonest salesperson had signed us back up almost two months later. We didn't realize until our neighbor told us someone from SunRun was at our house assessing the roof. Not only that, but we found out that this salesperson was using us as a reference for new customers.

    We are concerned that this person has all of our personal information. If he is this dishonest, what might he do with our information? Did he really think we would never find out that he re-signed us without our permission? Do not let the SunRun people convince you to sign up. This guy was such a liar and con man.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Ridiculous, arrogant and condescending

    • Culver City, CA,
    • Jan 19, 2017

    I received a call on January 3, 2016 from SunRun, asking to bid on a solar installation at my house. I asked if the woman could hold for a minute while I got headphones for my phone. We got disconnected, so I called the number back (855-356-7993) and got ahold of one of their three so-called "senior engineers."

    While I was speaking to him, he pulled up a picture of my roof and said he would be passing that to a designer while we spoke. He began by asking why I was looking into solar, and whether it was to save money or to go green, and why now. I told him the electric bills were too high and that I had looked into it previously, but the quotes were too high. He then asked if I had heard of a "power purchase agreement." I told him I was not interested in paying them for electricity generated on my roof, I just want a cash quote. In fact, after doing a search online, I'm seeing complaints about their PPA scam. The customer ends up getting double billed and for a higher amount than their original cost of electricity!

    He then asked what my monthly usage was and I gave him the kilowatt hours used as well as the amounts the past three bills were. He said they wouldn't be able to eliminate the entire bill but could offset most of it. Then he proceeded to ask if he would be able to call Edison and get the last 12 months usage from them. I told him the house was rented out and the bill was not in my name. He then asked if I had access to the account online. Seriously? Who is going to give their landlord access to their utility accounts? I said no and that he had the information he needed to write up a bid with as many panels as they could put up.

    He said that regulations require that they put up no more than the panels required to generate 110% of the last 12 months usage and got condescending saying that "in this day and age, we can't just go up on a roof and throw up panels. There are permits from the city and regulations we have to follow." I am fully aware of the regulation and the need for permits. I didn't just crawl out from under a rock yesterday. He just got done telling me that they could not even get 100%, so there was no way they could exceed 110%. All they needed to do was propose a feasible design with the maximum amount of panels that would fit on the roof and give me a price to compare with others. He got snotty and said "well if you want to go with SunRun, you'll have to provide that information.

    I told him that all I was asking for was a bid, and we were nowhere near his needing access to anything. Nobody was guaranteeing them any work, in fact, this was such a negative first impression that we didn't need to continue the conversation any further. Had he approached it differently, possibly by just sending me a quick design and bid like EVERY OTHER COMPANY I have had contact with, I would be looking it over now. Clearly, they make their money by being the middleman and using someone's roof to install their equipment and then billing them for the power it generates, all the while taking the tax credits and any income that comes through the electricity they sell back to the power company.

    Once he found that this was only to be a cash sale, he became agitated and made even getting a quote from them a difficult process. He muted his side of the line when I told him that there was no way I'd work with SunRun at this point, possibly to curse or whatever else he does when this inevitably happens.

    RUN from these guys, as fast and as far as you can. They are absolutely doing everyone a disservice, and all while lining their pockets.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Mislead by Salesperson so they could make a sale

    I have SunRun solar and when the sales person first came to my door, I told them I did not want solar at this time because my roof needs to be replaced. The sales person told me it was no big deal, they just come out, remove them and after the roof is installed, they re-install them. They portrayed this as no big deal. I am now replacing my roof and it turns out it IS a big deal. The roof costs $9,800 to replace it for labor and materials. I have 22 panels on only 1 side of my roof. It costs $4,918 to remove/re-install the panels. That is MORE than HALF the costs of a new roof. I would have waited to have the solar installed AFTER I had the new roof installed had I not been mislead by SunRun.

    When I called Sun Run customer service, all they did was quote Section 9 of their Contract. No accountability for misleading me so that I got the sale and I installed then vs waiting till after the roof. They only have ONE PARTNER that does the removal and install and they aren't even local. The partner even put charges for TRAVEL time in their estimate. I am very concerned that SunRun mislead me on the cost of removal/re-install to make a sale. I am very concerned that SunRun doesn't have local partners and they charge extra since they are not local.

    I am VERY un-satisfied. Their entire sales pitch was about SAVING me money. With the added cost of removal/install, I am in the hole. I have NO cost savings. They also recently came around and tried to get me to install solar on the other side of my roof. Again pitching the savings of the solar. If I had solar on both side of my roof, I would be paying around $10K for the removal/install and another $10K for the roof, making a new roof cost $20K vs. $10K due to the solar.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Extremly disappointed

    Please do another trust sun run for you solar needs. I was the one that did not really do my research. There was a problem with my roof, so we had to write up a second contract. With this second contract, my roof would be fixed and we can move on. However, they never terminated my first contract. I've been double billed for 3 months. They're not returning the extra money they took out of my account. It's been six weeks of me calling twice a week.

    There's Still no resolution. I'm still getting double billed even though they know I only have one system. I've started to receive collection threats from them. And I can't leave the company because I have a 20-year lease. This has been the worst experience ever. I would never recommend a company as incompetent as SunRun to anyone. Save yourself the money and frustration. Do not trust them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company

    • Colorado,
    • Jun 17, 2016

    They setup my system just fine, but I've had my panels on for 3 months now and they don't work, 0 power generation. The customer service department has given me a different story each time, never the same. They refuse to send out a technician. Thankfully I haven't been charged anything since my system hasn't generated any power.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 34 people found this review helpful

    SunRun Runaround

    • Redlands, CA,
    • Feb 2, 2016

    Sad to see them with a booth in Costco. I am tempted to stand there and warn anybody who shows any interest that SunRun is a terrible company who does not care about their customers.

    I know I will get a courtesy response to send them my name and address - but the bottom line is they will not do right by you.

    I have a system that had the inverter break twice. Both times, I found this out by checking my production and notifying SunRun. One of the times it was out for 2 months!

    They will hide behind the agreement that says they will meet yearly production or refund you - but far be it from them to compensate you for months of NO PRODUCTION.

    I have already warned several friends about SunRun who have subsequently bought systems with other companies. ODD that in multiple phone conversations with customer service, the response is "we can tell you are frustrated - and hope to provide better service in the future." How about providing better service now by looking at the months of no production and writing me a check for the missed production.

    Look me up in your records and do something other than a lame reply on Facebook and a follow up call that accomplishes little but reminding me I wasted thousands of dollars investing in a terrible company.

    Until then - COSTCO, I hope you wake up to who you have let in the door, your name should not be associated with SunRun - disgraceful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    One of the biggest mistakes of my life was letting them rip me off.

    • Staten Island, NY,
    • Jan 14, 2016

    Okay, forget about C02 and green energy agenda, snd even tiny tax break for usage of solar. I need to break at least even, let alone save money.

    Here's the given:

    • $205 monthly (average) ConEd bill with 760Kwt consumed
    • $150 monthly bill to SunRun for the lease of the system.

    Now, to offset $150 (to break even) in only 4-5 sunny months, the panels would have to produce at least 760 Kwt of el. energy. In reality, the 4 pick months consumption is 1000-1100KWt. And ConEd would ONLY credit if solar produces more than consumed in any given cycle.

    The first year SunRun guarantees to produce 7600Kwt, then over the lease period of 20 years, the production of energy will gradually decrease and ConEd rate for the Kwt, and my bills amounts will gradually go up!

    So far, for November and December, the solar panels produced only 325 KWt of energy. I understand, that those are the darkest months and all and I was told to wait at least a year to see the more accurate results. However, something's telling me it's not going happen based on my calculations and 2 conversations over the phone with SunRun reps.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 22 people found this review helpful

    SunRun -- legal robbery

    • Mesa, Arizona,
    • Oct 3, 2015

    The sales rep. told us that we would own the system at the end of the 20 year term and that we wouldn't have an electric bill from SRP except for the monthly $20 usage fee to be on the grid. Our system would be designed to accommodate our typical electrical usage. We were also told that we had the option to purchase the system any time during the initial term. Lies! Lies!

    The contract has a "buyout" pricing list. Small print states that this is the minimum amount that you will be charged after they determine fair market value. Lets face it, after you get an attorney to read your contract, you will see that they can legally screw you for 20 years.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Paying 40% more!

    • Rockland, MA,
    • Sep 16, 2015

    SunRun started off great. However, I compared their rate to National Grid and was astonished to see it was 38% higher. National Grid is at .08105 and SunRun is charging .119. I called them up and they told me that since their rate is fixed for 20 years this should turn around over the long term.

    Where is the 10-20% savings the salesman told us about?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 30, 2015

      John

      National grid might charge around 8 cents for generation but they charge you 15-20 cents for delivery/supply charges. Your total kWh rate with national grid will be between 22-30 cents. I just looked at a national grid bill from March 2015 and it was 30 cents. Total Dollar amount/ total kwhs. Do the math yourself and you might learn something.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 14

Write a review for SunRun!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review