About SunRun

You may have noticed that solar energy production has been on the rise over the past few years, and SunRun claims to be the nation’s #1 home solar company. As such, the company claims to help you take control of your electric bill using clean, environmentally friendly solar power.

But when it comes to SunRun, do the positives outweigh the negatives? Let’s shine some light on the facts and see where they lead us.

SunRun Details

Because they take the cost and complexity out of home solar energy production, making it inexpensive, low-risk, and environmentally friendly, SunRun claims to have more than 50,000 customers, and to build a new system every 10 minutes.

With this in mind, signing up with SunRun works over four steps:

  1. During your initial SunRun consultation, the third-party installer will examine important factors such as how much money you’re currently spending on your electricity rates, where you live, your roof’s condition, and how much sun your roof receives.
  2. SunRun will then design a custom solar system for your roof, which will be installed by a professional, certified installation partner.
  3. You’ll choose your payment option (see more about this in the Pricing section).
  4. Finally, SunRun guarantees your system’s performance and maintains it for the next 20 years.

Once your solar panels have been installed and are up and running, you’ll be able to access your SunRun dashboard from any computer, which will tell you how much power you’re generating, how much CO2 you’re eliminating, and how much money you’re saving.

However, keep in mind that SunRun services are currently only available in the following states: AZ, CA, CO, CT, HI, MA, MD, NJ, NY, OR, and PA.

SunRun Pricing

According to SunRun, the typical 3-7 kW system costs between $18K and $40K, depending on location and design. As such, you’ll be given two options to pay for the system:

  1. Avoid high upfront costs by paying $0 down, and enter into a solar lease and power purchase agreement (PPA). This means you’ll pay a fixed rate for power generation and for the cost of the equipment over the course of 20 years.
  2. Alternately, you can purchase the entire system directly from SunRun, and then pay only power production costs.

Whichever option you choose, SunRun claims that your rates are locked in for 20 years, and production performance is guaranteed. In fact, the company claims that if your solar panels don’t produce the amount listed on your customer agreement, you’ll receive regular rebate checks from them.

Keep in mind however, that your initial savings may be modest, but that you could save thousands on your electric bills over the life of your SunRun agreement.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About SunRun?

SunRun Inc. is based out of San Francisco, CA, claims to have been in business for more than 15 years, and has been featured in the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Forbes, Scientific American, and more.

The company holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, although they do have more than 50 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, we read more than one customer review complaining that their utility costs actually increased after having solar panels installed.

What’s the Bottom Line About SunRun?

Now that you know more about SunRun, should you sign up for one of their 20-year solar agreements? Perhaps, but there are some important considerations you should keep in mind beforehand.

First, understand that you’ll need to own your home, and have a roof that is in good condition, is facing any direction other than north, and is not too shaded.

Second, the most common customer complaints we encountered during our research cited problems setting up systems, and poor power production/no cost savings over traditional systems. In fact, more than one customer claimed that their utility bills actually increased after having their solar panels installed, which appear to be related to additional fees from the power company. Also, you should understand that, even though SunRun claims your cost savings may be modest the first year, several customers have claimed that it took as long as 2-3 years to start seeing savings, which, after paying highly inflated rates during this time, didn’t seem in line with the savings they were promised.

With this in mind, SunRun was part of a class action lawsuit in January 2013 claiming that the company grossly overstated potential cost savings. Unfortunately, we were unable to locate a resolution to the suit.

Bottom line: If you decide to pursue a SunRun system, be sure to ask as many questions as you can, thoroughly review your contract, and understand that it may take years to realize even a modest amount of savings on your utility bills.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

20 Customer Reviews for SunRun

Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 20
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Customer be very wary of this company - bad customer service!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had to take over a contract from the previous homeowner and we closed escrow on August 23rd, 2017. We received a bill on Septemeber 6th, 2017 for services prior to August. They tried double billing us including charges for the previous owners. I called to get it corrected, but NOBODY would call back over several weeks. They reported almost $715.00 due on October 1st with no explanation and no response.

    I then tried calling, several times, I sent several emails and no response no matter the avenue to contact them. I used the customer service email, and their return response reports a turnaround time of 2 to 3 days? Well, that was weeks ago. I called and got through to one. I explained not paying until I get the issue addressed and certainly not someone else's bill.

    Then today I got an email finally with a corrected amount now four weeks later, and it states from their collection department for past due amount? Seriously? I had to laugh at that point.

    If you are contemplating service with SunRun, BE VERY AWARE of the lack in service; you won't receive any response once you sign. If I were you, I would stay clear of this company. Little contact except for a bill. I have to say the worst customer service! I happily provide my information with this review. I couldn't even give a rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    No after purchase service

    I'm on my third year with SunRun solar. My initial purchase and setup of solar service with SunRun were great, and I was a strong advocate of solar in Nevada, especially thru SunRun. However, into my third year of service now, and I suddenly lost all solar production. I was not aware of the loss for over two weeks, even though SunRun had assured that if there was a loss of production they would detect the loss immediately and get a service tech out to fix it. I discovered the loss, not SunRun, and notified them and they assured a tech would be out within two business days to get my production back online. I just talked with SunRun customer service, and after a week they informed me it would be another five days before the tech would be able to fit me in.

    Customer service indicated that there was just one tech for the state of Nevada, which does not lend itself to timely service. Like I said, SunRun was great to start but don't expect anything in the way of system monitoring or service after purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    SunRun is a mistake

    I made a big mistake by going solar. I pay more than what I used to pay my utility company. I repent. I do not recommend it to anyone.

    It is a rip-off. I used to pay less altogether for gas and electricity, some months less than $100 and now no matter what, I have to pay $84 in addition to what my utility bills me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Hidden fees

    When I first spoke to the SunRun salesman, I asked him how much would it cost me? He said not a cent! I asked, "what if I need a new roof?" He told me "you just call, and we come, remove them and re-install when the roof is finished." I said "OK, as long as this won't cost me a penny and it's going to save me money, let's do it!"

    Not even two years goes by, and another salesman comes and tells me my roof is shot. I signed with them, and called SunRun to come remove the panels. The guy says "OK, that's $500.00" and I interrupted and said, "NO WAY! I was told I just had to call and SunRun will come and remove them." He said I'm "sorry, but that's what it is, $500.00, plus $100.00 per panel." I said "NO WAY! I must have a dozen panels!" Again he said "I'm sorry, but that's what it is, and you have 24 panels." I said "NO WAY! That's $2,900.00!"

    There are no discounts for anything. Now I am paying $2,900.00 so I could get my new roof. My warning to everybody is to don't trust any salesman. You've got to read everything! Now if there were any savings in my electric, this $2900 bucks should negate that!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Nightmare on Elm Street

    I should have gone with another company. The installers damaged my roof. They had to remove the panels and conduit so that the roofer could fix the roof. When they removed the conduit, a lot of the conduit was full of water already do to some rain. They poured rusty water on my repaired roof. The cost of the roof repairs was over $4,000. After the roof repairs, and them finally installing the panels, they still damaged a few shingles that have to be replaced prior to our rainy season.

    I signed the initial Installment Agreement 11-10-16. The system turn-on was finally on 05-02-17, almost six months. Not only did the work have to stop for my roof to get repaired, but the installation failed three inspections. Yes, three three inspections. I had filed two complaints with the Arizona Registrar of Contractors.

    Birds love gathering and nesting under the solar panels. SunRun does not provide any bird barriers. Please be aware that other solar companies WILL provide bird barriers. I think I was told that a bird barrier would cost me another $800.

    Another reason I had foolishly chosen SunRun was that they installed the Solar Edge Inverter. With this Inverter, you can monitor the system performance, including solar panels. BUT, SunRun Solar will not allow the homeowner to monitor the system performance. All you can do is go to the SunRun website, and see how much THEY tell you what you are producing.

    My system was not producing solar power for over four days, and SunRun did not notice. I was looking online at my production, and there were none. I finally called them, and they checked and said, oh yeah, it looks like it has been down. Maybe we will send someone out in a few days to check it out.

    Conclusion: DO NOT sign a contract with SunRun Solar.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer satisfaction

    • Cerritos, CA,
    • Jun 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have pigeons nesting under solar causing massive droppings on my yard. Upon contacting SunRun, they decline any responsibility and are asking me to pay for the pest guard on solar panels. Worse yet is the birds are all over the roof, which requires further and expensive measures to take such as install bird spikes (we are talking more than $3k repair for Pest Guard and bird spikes).

    The company's response is that they never demanded to install their solar panels on my roof (as if I have other options). At the time of sale, they say my responsibility is to wash the panels once a year. That is all the maintenance needed. They never mentioned anything about bird droppings, which is a common issue with many solar panel owners. The company tried to cut their cost and had not installed the pest guard at the same time of panel installation, which would not have created the bird accumulation on my roof from the beginning.

    If you consider installing solar panels, ask for the Pest Guard at the time of installation, and I do not recommend SunRun as your solar provider.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Lied to

    The contract I signed is nothing like what the sales person said it would be.

    He told me the savings would be huge, that they would be supplying 100 percent of my energy, and I would only pay a small flat rate charge from Duke Energy. He went on to say that he was going to be my best friend and that I would have to teach him how to play poker, which was a hobby of mine, because of all the savings he would be giving me. He made it sound like I would be very lucky to have these solar panels.

    Duke Energy is charging me not just a $9 flat fee per month, but also 20 percent of my energy consumption, which is another $22 on average. If you do the math and look at what my bills were with Duke compared to where they are at now, I am not saving money, and even if I were, it would just barely cover the cost to reassemble the panels after I install a new roof.

    I have been taken advantage of egregiously with this contract that it no way resembles what was verbally communicated to me by the sales team.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Ripoff and lies

    My salesman lied about everything. He said from start to finish it would take about three weeks. They failed the inspections three times, and it finally got powered up 13 weeks later. I was told it would generate 990 kWh per month on average, but the system stopped working a month later, and it took them 22 days to send someone out to fix it!

    The bottom line is that the system has not produced in five months what it should have in two months! I was told I would only pay $20-40 per month to my electric company, but my last three months were $808! Plus, they just keep taking their monthly charge. When I called them they are trained to just keep saying "did you read your contract?" It's in YOUR contract!

    Anyone who has been intentionally misled by this company should contact me immediately as I am meeting with a high-powered attorney to file a class action lawsuit. I had a brand new roof and sheathing installed, and their installation requires a ton of lag bolts through the roof. I want their trash off my property, and I want a new roof and sheathing! Once again, contact me and I will include you in my lawsuit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 18, 2017

      Kim

      The same thing happened to us.

    • May 24, 2017

      Rich

      Wow. I have a question. Were you offered the PPA plan as well? I just signed up. I wish I had gone here first, but it might not be too late for me as the panels are not up yet. I was offered some incredible savings, no out of pocket expenses ever! It was being paid for by the state or government funding etc.

      I was also told I could sell the home without having to worry about being tied to the panels because it would transfer over to the new owner. There were no loans, leases for the panels, no monthly fees, no maintenance costs, basically he put a penny on the table and told me that you will not spend more than that for any reason for any panels. I would love to hear your thoughts on this.

    • Aug 7, 2017

      Rich

      I am currently going through the same situation, are you still considering legal action?

    • Sep 12, 2017

      INTENTIONALLY LIED TO

      We were originally signed up with Sun Solar Guam, then Enable Energy Guam, and now Sunrun Inc. We were not notified that Sun Solar Guam was sub-contracted over to Enable Energy Guam. We were sent a notice in the mail that Sunrun Inc. had taken over Sun Solar Guam. I still don't know what Enable Energy Guam is in this contract.

      We were intentionally misled and lied to by this company. Their customer service support team is trained to respond with "read your contract," when we tried to explain to them that we never saw or were given a copy of the contract agreement until we asked for it. We received it about a month later and after being supposedly in a contract agreement with them for over a year now.

      Our power bill with the local utility company keeps increasing and the annual monthly fees will continue to increase by 2.99 percent with the Sunrun Inc. We tried contacting the Enable Energy Guam and Sunrun Inc. offices but continuously being ignored or given the runaround. I'm too upset. I'm getting too old for this!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Dishonest service

    • Escondido, CA,
    • Jan 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were first approached by a SunRun salesperson that came to our door. The program seemed like a good idea, and we signed up.

    A day later, we ended up changing our minds because we had second thoughts after reading many poor reviews online. Come to find out, that our dishonest salesperson had signed us back up almost two months later. We didn't realize until our neighbor told us someone from SunRun was at our house assessing the roof. Not only that, but we found out that this salesperson was using us as a reference for new customers.

    We are concerned that this person has all of our personal information. If he is this dishonest, what might he do with our information? Did he really think we would never find out that he re-signed us without our permission? Do not let the SunRun people convince you to sign up. This guy was such a liar and con man.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Ridiculous, arrogant and condescending

    • Culver City, CA,
    • Jan 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received a call on January 3, 2016 from SunRun, asking to bid on a solar installation at my house. I asked if the woman could hold for a minute while I got headphones for my phone. We got disconnected, so I called the number back (855-356-7993) and got ahold of one of their three so-called "senior engineers."

    While I was speaking to him, he pulled up a picture of my roof and said he would be passing that to a designer while we spoke. He began by asking why I was looking into solar, and whether it was to save money or to go green, and why now. I told him the electric bills were too high and that I had looked into it previously, but the quotes were too high. He then asked if I had heard of a "power purchase agreement." I told him I was not interested in paying them for electricity generated on my roof, I just want a cash quote. In fact, after doing a search online, I'm seeing complaints about their PPA scam. The customer ends up getting double billed and for a higher amount than their original cost of electricity!

    He then asked what my monthly usage was and I gave him the kilowatt hours used as well as the amounts the past three bills were. He said they wouldn't be able to eliminate the entire bill but could offset most of it. Then he proceeded to ask if he would be able to call Edison and get the last 12 months usage from them. I told him the house was rented out and the bill was not in my name. He then asked if I had access to the account online. Seriously? Who is going to give their landlord access to their utility accounts? I said no and that he had the information he needed to write up a bid with as many panels as they could put up.

    He said that regulations require that they put up no more than the panels required to generate 110% of the last 12 months usage and got condescending saying that "in this day and age, we can't just go up on a roof and throw up panels. There are permits from the city and regulations we have to follow." I am fully aware of the regulation and the need for permits. I didn't just crawl out from under a rock yesterday. He just got done telling me that they could not even get 100%, so there was no way they could exceed 110%. All they needed to do was propose a feasible design with the maximum amount of panels that would fit on the roof and give me a price to compare with others. He got snotty and said "well if you want to go with SunRun, you'll have to provide that information.

    I told him that all I was asking for was a bid, and we were nowhere near his needing access to anything. Nobody was guaranteeing them any work, in fact, this was such a negative first impression that we didn't need to continue the conversation any further. Had he approached it differently, possibly by just sending me a quick design and bid like EVERY OTHER COMPANY I have had contact with, I would be looking it over now. Clearly, they make their money by being the middleman and using someone's roof to install their equipment and then billing them for the power it generates, all the while taking the tax credits and any income that comes through the electricity they sell back to the power company.

    Once he found that this was only to be a cash sale, he became agitated and made even getting a quote from them a difficult process. He muted his side of the line when I told him that there was no way I'd work with SunRun at this point, possibly to curse or whatever else he does when this inevitably happens.

    RUN from these guys, as fast and as far as you can. They are absolutely doing everyone a disservice, and all while lining their pockets.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Mislead by Salesperson so they could make a sale

    I have SunRun solar and when the sales person first came to my door, I told them I did not want solar at this time because my roof needs to be replaced. The sales person told me it was no big deal, they just come out, remove them and after the roof is installed, they re-install them. They portrayed this as no big deal. I am now replacing my roof and it turns out it IS a big deal. The roof costs $9,800 to replace it for labor and materials. I have 22 panels on only 1 side of my roof. It costs $4,918 to remove/re-install the panels. That is MORE than HALF the costs of a new roof. I would have waited to have the solar installed AFTER I had the new roof installed had I not been mislead by SunRun.

    When I called Sun Run customer service, all they did was quote Section 9 of their Contract. No accountability for misleading me so that I got the sale and I installed then vs waiting till after the roof. They only have ONE PARTNER that does the removal and install and they aren't even local. The partner even put charges for TRAVEL time in their estimate. I am very concerned that SunRun mislead me on the cost of removal/re-install to make a sale. I am very concerned that SunRun doesn't have local partners and they charge extra since they are not local.

    I am VERY un-satisfied. Their entire sales pitch was about SAVING me money. With the added cost of removal/install, I am in the hole. I have NO cost savings. They also recently came around and tried to get me to install solar on the other side of my roof. Again pitching the savings of the solar. If I had solar on both side of my roof, I would be paying around $10K for the removal/install and another $10K for the roof, making a new roof cost $20K vs. $10K due to the solar.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 20

Write a Review for SunRun!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review