About Swifty Sharp

Swifty Sharp is a cordless, motorized blade sharpener that’s claimed to restore the razor’s edge on any blade in just seconds, including scissors, bread, steak, and filet knives, hedge clippers, and even screwdrivers and small hand tools.

Swifty Sharp is claimed to accomplish this by using a professional grade, high-speed sapphire sharpening stone, in addition to a built-in blade guide that provides the perfect angle for a razor sharp edge. On top of this, Swifty Sharp also features a catch tray that collects shavings, and a compact design that stores easily.

Overall, the manufacturer claims that Swifty Sharp provides safe, easy-to-use precision power sharpening at a fraction of the price of other in-home electric knife sharpeners; all you have to do is press the button, insert the blade into the guide, and slide.

Whether you’re an amateur chef that prepares gourmet meals, or are just looking to extend the life of your cutlery, does Swifty Sharp deliver? Consider the following:

It’s All About the Angle

While labor-intensive knife sharpening methods (such as using whetstones) are fairly straightforward, since you can view and maintain a precise angle, electric knife sharpeners can vary in quality, and might not provide this same angle.

And while Swifty Sharp is claimed to hold blades in the perfect angle, it also has to be wide enough to accommodate a variety of knife sizes. And according to EdgeCraft.com, if you can wobble a knife side to side while it’s pulled through the slot, the edge will not be symmetrical.

Granted, in the commercial, we’re only shown one computer generated display of a knife being pulled through the Swifty Sharp, so it’s impossible to say with any certain whether or not this will be the case.

Other Considerations About Swifty Sharp

In addition to angle, there are other considerations you should keep in mind before ordering your Swifty Sharp.

Fine or Course Grit?

First, although we’re told that Swifty Sharp uses a high-speed sapphire sharpening stone, keep in mind that we’re not told if this remains in its natural state, or if its made of a coarser grit. And because coarser stone can cause your knife edge to wear faster and to “shrink” (e.g. your knife’s edge wears inward), this is something you should be aware of before making a purchase.

Knife Material

In addition, according to a thread on BladeForums.com, sapphire stones are ideal for sharpening modern stainless steel knives. However, for other blade materials, such as carbon or alloy steels, cobalt alloys, titanium alloys, and ceramic, the sapphire stone used in Swifty Sharp may not be as effective, and could even damage your knives.

Other Knife Sharpening Options

Finally, remember that electric knife sharpeners are nothing new. As a result, you have numerous options to choose from, which you can see for yourself by typing “electric knife sharpener” into your favorite search engine.

Granted, not all of these options will be cordless, and many are priced well above Swifty Sharp, although you will find some relatively comparable options. In fact, you might want to check local retailers for similar options, which could save you a good chunk of change if you’re dissatisfied (more about this in a moment).

It should also be noted that manually sharpening your knife is fairly straightforward, so if you were to teach yourself, you’d not only be learning a new skill, you could also save yourself a ton of money in the process.

Do Swifty Sharp’s Customers Think it Cuts the Mustard?

Because Swifty Sharp was such a new product at the time of our research (URL registered February 2015), there weren’t any online customer reviews available.

However, Swifty Sharp is manufactured by Product Trend, LLC based out of Williston, VT, who also does business as Hampton Direct, a large company within the “As Seen on TV” industry. As a result, the company manufactures several popular ASOTV products, including 3 Way Poncho, Lumi Doh, Chillow, and more.

Among 55 HighYa reader reviews for these products (as of 4/13/15), they had an average rating of 2 stars, with common complaints citing poor quality and failure to work as advertised. While you might not experience the same with Swifty Sharp, it’s important to keep in mind nonetheless.

Hampton Direct held a B rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 130 closed complaints, most of which appeared to reference being charged for items that weren’t ordered, poor quality products, and numerous sales calls after placing orders.

Swifty Sharp Pricing & Refund Policy

Swifty Sharp is priced at $14.99 plus $6.95 S&H.

As a bonus, you can also purchase multi-purpose stainless steel shears for an additional $4.95 S&H. Note: If you don’t want the optional shears, be sure to check the “I would prefer to only receive SWIFTY SHARP” box on the ordering page.

Swifty Sharp comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. Important note: If you order the optional shears and are dissatisfied, this means you could spend more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund.

With this in said, if you’d like to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 844-826-2683.

Will Swifty Sharp Provide Professional Results at Home?

Based on Swifty Sharp’s ultra-low price compared to the competition, as well as its “As Seen on TV” status, it’s our opinion that the product might not perform as well as higher priced models available online, as well as through local retailers.

Because of this, you might want to take your knives to a professional for sharpening, or investigate some of the more mainstream models out there before handing over your hard-earned money.

If you do decide to give Swifty Sharp a shot though, we’d recommend trying some of your inexpensive cutlery on it before sharpening your higher priced knives. Also, remember that you might end up losing more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund in the event you’re dissatisfied.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

64 Customer Reviews for Swifty Sharp

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 1 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 60
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 64
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Inspirational Yet Dull

    • Springfield, OR,
    • Apr 3, 2016

    I would really like to know how many they sold and how many Swifty Sharp employees actually have this sitting on their counter at home after receiving this and a lottery ticket in there company X-Mas stocking? Has any one of them re-gifted this piece of Holiday cheer? The only sharpening this hunk of plastic did was on my mind and how after a bottle of rum I simply made one better by attaching some of the parts to my wife's bedroom toy. Not a total loss. I got two almost dead AA batteries and a box that my hamster can play with. Spend your hard earned money smarter and toss it in the wishing well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Pure junk

    • Hyndman, PA,
    • Mar 12, 2016

    What a waste of $20, worthless Chinese junk. I believe it's not even worth 10 cents! Stalled out the first try we made and the blade wheel is not aligned correctly. Don't waste money on this piece of crap.

    Taking it back to the Walmart junk store.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Absolute garbage

    • Richland, WA,
    • Feb 23, 2016

    As others have stated, it bogs down when any blade is inserted. You have to figure out which way the batteries go in. I tired using it on one knife, but it didn't sharpen it, and the motor made noises. And the blades do NOT line up as advertised.

    I purchased Swifty Sharp at Rite Aid tonight, and will be returning it in the morning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Waikoloa, HI,
    • Feb 10, 2016

    Slots where you insert the knife blade is not aligned with sharpening wheel! Put the knife blade in one side and it doesn't even touch the wheel. Put it in the other slot and it lands directly on the wheel, effectively dulling the blade.

    Motor worked for five minutes before it burned out. Batteries were fine. Not worth the postage to return it. Piece of junk. Would be better off buying a 5" grinder with a sharpening attachment and a 'fine' wheel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Rip off.

    • Adelaide, South Australia,
    • Jan 25, 2016

    Get $20.00 and burn it. You might as well because this thing is utter crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Rubbish

    • Adelaide, South Australia,
    • Jan 18, 2016

    I ruined two knifes on this toy. The Swifty Sharp is now in the bin with a lesson learned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Don't get caught up in this scam

    • Bossier City,
    • Jan 7, 2016

    After ordering this I noticed that the reviews on the item weren't very good so I emailed them trying to cancel the order. A couple of days later they said it had already been processed and I checked their site and it never showed the order at all. I emailed their site 2 times saying it doesn't show the order so please cancel it. I got a notification that it had shipped a few days later and when it got here it was as cheaply made as the reviews said. I called and got a RMA and had to pay another $4 to send it back (not counting the $10 shipping and handling they won't return). A week after they got the item back I emailed asking why I didn't get my refund, they said they were processing it and it would take 3 to 5 days before it showed up. I still haven't seen the refund. I hope they make enough on this initial sale to retire because I'll never order anything from them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Dec 31, 2015

    I have been looking for better ways to sharpen my knives. This is not it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 21, 2016

      Bob Irwin

      I ordered and received a Swifty Sharp - as I was looking for a quick easy way of sharpening knives. I have to tell anybody thinking of getting one - forget it - and save your money. It is complete crap and it should be called Swifty Con. The thing simply does not work. The blades somehow do not even make contact with the spinning sharpening stone wheel. This product is an absolute con-job and some Authority should be looking into it. Rubbish - absolute crap.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Swifty Sharp doesn't run

    • Missouri,
    • Dec 26, 2015

    I bought a Swiftly Sharp at my local Walgreens and it won't run. I checked the batteries and read the instructions closely. When I press the power button nothing happens.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Very poor standard

    • Birmingham, Uk,
    • Dec 1, 2015

    I am very disappointed in the Swifty Sharp as it is pretty much useless. Every time I would try it, it would go slower each time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Swifty Sharp

    • Pompano Beach, FL,
    • Nov 14, 2015

    This sharpener ruined my knives.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 64

Write a review for Swifty Sharp!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review