About Swirlio

Manufactured by Big Boss and distributed by E. Mishan & Sons, Inc., Swirlio is an “As Seen on TV” countertop kitchen appliance that allows you to make delicious desserts without preservatives, processed sugars, or dairy fats. According to the company’s website, you can “turn ordinary frozen fruit into yummy soft serve desserts in seconds.”

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

Neither Swirlio nor Big Boss are not listed with the Better Business Bureau, but despite having 103 closed complaints within the past three years, E. Mishan & Sons, Inc. does hold an A+ rating. Likewise, online reviews for Swirlio appear to be nonexistent, so we were unable to gauge overall customer satisfaction levels. However, regarding frozen fruit dessert-makers in general, the most common complaints include difficulty cleaning, the quickness with which the dessert melts, and that nearly all recipes are banana-based.

How Swirlio Works

Similar to the Dessert Bullet, Swirlio is a kitchen appliance that claims to allow you to turn ordinary frozen fruit into delicious, nutritious soft serve desserts. As a result, it’s claimed that you can now enjoy all the deliciousness of ice cream, without any of the associated preservatives, processed sugars, dairy fats. The Swirlio is also claimed to be ultra quiet, as it does not use metal blades to break up your fruit.

In order to use your Swirlio, simply pre-slice your frozen fruit, add it to the main chute, and press down with the “wand,” and out will come a delicious treat that has the same consistency as soft-serve ice cream or frozen yogurt. According to the company’s website, Swirlio provides you with full fruit extraction for maximum efficiency, and easy cleanup so you can get on with your day.

Swirlio Pricing & Refund Policy

The Swirlio is currently available directly from the manufacturer for two payments of $19.95 (or one payment of $39.90), plus $8.95 shipping and handling. For this price, you’ll receive:

  • 1 Swirlio countertop appliance
  • Two free bonuses - Topping dispenser and 50-page recipe book

During our research we found that the Swirlio used to be available through Amazon.com, though it is currently listed as being out of stock.

All Swirlio units come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. To initiate the return process, simply call customer service at 855-721-3332 or visit them online at www.customerstatus.com.

Pros:

  • Countertop appliance that can make delicious, nutritious desserts from whole fruits.
  • Can help you and your family eat healthier without all the associated preservatives, processed sugars, and dairy fats.
  • Claims to be easy to clean up.
  • 30-day refund policy (less S&H).

Cons:

  • “As Seen on TV” product, which tend to carry lower levels of customer satisfaction.
  • As with most other frozen fruit dessert makers, most recipes rely heavily on bananas to provide a smooth texture, so if you’re not too fond of bananas, you may want to think twice before ordering.
  • Appears to be a newer product, as no online reviews exist.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

29 Customer Reviews for Swirlio

Average Customer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 5 4 stars: 6 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 15
Bottom Line: 38% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 29
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Waste of my money

    • Elizabeth City, NC,
    • Feb 6, 2016

    I thought this machine would be a great idea. I bought the Swirlio and set it up by first checking all the parts and reading all the instructions. I plugged it in, put in the fruit, turned it to the "on" position, and nothing happened. It did not work. I tried several times, and the same thing happened - NOTHING. I am not happy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great machine

    • Colorado,
    • Jan 14, 2016

    I bought the Swirlio for my grandson. We made several different mixes a fruit desserts. He loved each one. We used yogurt with some and it made a creamy dessert.

    Clean up was easy and fast. The dessert stayed frozen up to the very last.

    I have since bought myself one, a daughter one and my the one for my grandson. I'm waiting to get mine shipped. My fruit is frozen and ready to go when I receive mine. I have already recommend it to a friend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 47 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Non-Existent Customer Service

    • Moon Township, PA,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    I ordered this machine on 4/17 for a total of $59.97 to be paid in three installments. Was very excited to receive a package in May only to discover that it was JUST the toppings dispenser. When I called to inquire about the machine itself, I was told that I should receive it by the end of May, not so. 

    The beginning of June, I called again and requested that the popsicle maker now being offered with purchase be added to my order since I would be waiting until the end of June to receive my order. Was told 'not able to add it to order'.

    The next day I received an e-mail that my machine was being shipped out and I also received a card in the U.S. Mail that my machine was still on back order with delivery expected at the end of June. I also received a $59.97 charge on my credit card.

    I then received the actual machine a week later with the recipe book in French. Again, I called to check on the situation and complain - customer service? Ha-ha. What a joke, I don't think these people understand what the words mean in Customer Service. I was told that the popsicle maker could be added to my order, but that it would take several months to get it, I was told nothing could be done about being lied to in regards to the payments and lastly, I was told that an English receipt book would be sent out. As of today, nothing yet again.

    To be honest, I'm very sorry that I didn't purchase the Yonanas machine. I saw it on sale recently at the local outlets shopping center that is eligible for a 20% off coupon, which would have made that purchase approximately half of this nightmare. Shame to Big Boss Swirlio.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 4, 2014

      Mark

      So, you will have the chance to learn some French though!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Calgary, AB,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    First, I'm a real person not a scam reviewer. Bought it at Lowe's in Calgary, AB. Warranty is from the store. I used it now for a week. Excellent product. Works perfectly with all fruit, not just bananas. Fan of strawberry and blueberry so far.

    I own two other big boss products already. I recommend it and would buy for family too, do not buy online or buy from TV, buy at a store, you get better service and the stores warranty. My advice. Great product.

    Thank you for it. (Even though it's a food puree and that's it.)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Austin, TX,
    • Aug 6, 2015

    Bought on GMA deals and steals and not returnable. Doesn't work well at all. A piece of junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Swirlio frozen fruit desert ice creams

    • New York City, NY,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    I opened my box and tried my first frozen banana. It came out better than I thought. It really worked as instructed. I am looking forward to try other fruits. It tastes like I was eating ice cream but without the fats and sugars. I am diabetic and love ice cream. This is a great desert. If you follow the instructions everything comes out great. Thanks for a great machine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Love this.

    • Griffin, GA,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    My Swirlio stopped working. Can you replace it at no cost to me? I really enjoyed it but after about six uses, it stopped working.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 30, 2015

      Sarah

      Is Swirlio going to be out in stores soon, because I'm getting confused on the price?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Thumbs-up

    I was under the assumption that reviews were supposed to be about the product itself, not about costumer service. I just used this product WITHOUT ANY INSTRUCTIONS and it came apart easy for cleaning. It was worth the extra effort to chop up the fruit a bit smaller, you have to wait 5-7 minutes any ways, so why not? I used frozen strawberries, mangos and peaches. Had good results, my son even refused the chocolate topping and it was great for my daughter and hubby because they're lactose intolerant.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Second review after using the Swirlio

    • New York City,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    I have now tried other fruits and the Swirlio really works great. The cleaning for me was easy and quick. If you follow the instructions as written and it works great. I tried some other ideas of mine adding cinnamon and the frozen desert came out great. I am so pleased with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Never received the product; waited for it for three months

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    While it seemed like a wonderful idea for my grandchildren as a summer food activity, we never received the three that we ordered

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Good when it worked

    • Surrey, BC,
    • Jul 4, 2015

    We got the big boss Swirlio six weeks ago, and have used it to make banana mush to replace yogurt on our morning fruit breakfasts, as well as mushing up other good stuff. But it's been a pain to clean, a fair bit doesn't get through, and now it stopped working, after only six weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 29

Write a review for Swirlio!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review