About Swirlio

Manufactured by Big Boss and distributed by E. Mishan & Sons, Inc., Swirlio is an “As Seen on TV” countertop kitchen appliance that allows you to make delicious desserts without preservatives, processed sugars, or dairy fats. According to the company’s website, you can “turn ordinary frozen fruit into yummy soft serve desserts in seconds.”

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

Neither Swirlio nor Big Boss are not listed with the Better Business Bureau, but despite having 103 closed complaints within the past three years, E. Mishan & Sons, Inc. does hold an A+ rating. Likewise, online reviews for Swirlio appear to be nonexistent, so we were unable to gauge overall customer satisfaction levels. However, regarding frozen fruit dessert-makers in general, the most common complaints include difficulty cleaning, the quickness with which the dessert melts, and that nearly all recipes are banana-based.

How Swirlio Works

Similar to the Dessert Bullet, Swirlio is a kitchen appliance that claims to allow you to turn ordinary frozen fruit into delicious, nutritious soft serve desserts. As a result, it’s claimed that you can now enjoy all the deliciousness of ice cream, without any of the associated preservatives, processed sugars, dairy fats. The Swirlio is also claimed to be ultra quiet, as it does not use metal blades to break up your fruit.

In order to use your Swirlio, simply pre-slice your frozen fruit, add it to the main chute, and press down with the “wand,” and out will come a delicious treat that has the same consistency as soft-serve ice cream or frozen yogurt. According to the company’s website, Swirlio provides you with full fruit extraction for maximum efficiency, and easy cleanup so you can get on with your day.

Swirlio Pricing & Refund Policy

The Swirlio is currently available directly from the manufacturer for two payments of $19.95 (or one payment of $39.90), plus $8.95 shipping and handling. For this price, you’ll receive:

  • 1 Swirlio countertop appliance
  • Two free bonuses - Topping dispenser and 50-page recipe book

During our research we found that the Swirlio used to be available through Amazon.com, though it is currently listed as being out of stock.

All Swirlio units come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. To initiate the return process, simply call customer service at 855-721-3332 or visit them online at www.customerstatus.com.

Pros:

  • Countertop appliance that can make delicious, nutritious desserts from whole fruits.
  • Can help you and your family eat healthier without all the associated preservatives, processed sugars, and dairy fats.
  • Claims to be easy to clean up.
  • 30-day refund policy (less S&H).

Cons:

  • “As Seen on TV” product, which tend to carry lower levels of customer satisfaction.
  • As with most other frozen fruit dessert makers, most recipes rely heavily on bananas to provide a smooth texture, so if you’re not too fond of bananas, you may want to think twice before ordering.
  • Appears to be a newer product, as no online reviews exist.

26 Customer Reviews for Swirlio

Average Customer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 4 4 stars: 5 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 14
Bottom Line: 35% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Love this.

    • Griffin, GA,
    • Feb 7, 2015

    My Swirlio stopped working. Can you replace it at no cost to me? I really enjoyed it but after about six uses, it stopped working.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 30, 2015

      Sarah

      Is Swirlio going to be out in stores soon, because I'm getting confused on the price?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful

    No more the wiser

    • Sydney Australia,
    • Dec 11, 2014

    After reading many reviews, I'm a little puzzled as to why Australians are being charged $100 for this product, and Americans only $20. Seems like a high price for something that is made of plastic and not even electric.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    2nd review after using the Swirlio

    • New York City,
    • Oct 23, 2014

    I have now tried other fruits and the Swirlio really works great. The cleaning for me was easy and quick. If you follow the instructions as written and it works great. I tried some other ideas of mine adding cinnamon and the frozen desert came out great. I am so pleased with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 25 people found this review helpful

    never received the product; waited for it for 3 mmonths

    • oklahoma city,
    • Aug 29, 2014

    while it seemed like a wonderful idea for my grandchildren as a summer food activity, we never received the three that we ordered

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Swirlio frozen fruit desert ice creams

    • New York City,
    • Aug 28, 2014

    I opened my box and tried my first frozen banana. It came out better than I thought. It really worked as instructed. I am looking forward to try other fruits. It tastes like I was eating ice cream but without the fats and sugars. I am diabetic and love ice ice cream. This is a great desert. If you follow the instructions everything comes out great. Thanks for a great machine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Pleasantly surprised

    • Albany, New York,
    • Aug 23, 2014

    I have used my Swirlio 3 times so far. I was surprised that it actually came out so well the first time. Luckily I purchased it before I read many of the bad reviews. I went at it with my fists up expecting the worst, but was surprised at how well it worked.

    I think the key is in the timing. Don't try to put frozen fruit through it right out of the freezer (Follow the instructions: 5-7 minutes). Cleanup is easy if you only rinse the parts soon after using them and not leave them to dry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • Lake Isabella, MI,
    • Aug 20, 2014

    I order mine off the TV. I paid all upfront from my credit card. They talked me into buying magazines for 19.95. They told me that if I was to cancel the magazines within 30 days from the date of order that I wouldn't be charged. They wouldn't give the cancellation number on the phone and said that I would get the information in the mail within 5 business days. They didn't end up sending the information within the 30 days and ended up charging my credit card in the amount of 19.95.

    So I finally got the information and called and canceled. They failed to tell me that I would be charged by every different magazine that was offered as a package so i got charged another 19.95 by another magazine even after I canceled. I do not recommend buying this product period. It is a total scam. A way to get more and more money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Piece of garbage

    • Tampa, Florida,
    • Aug 16, 2014

    What a piece of crap. You can't clean it so watch the germs and mold form.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Good when it worked

    • Surrey, BC,
    • Jul 23, 2014

    We got the big boss Swirlio six weeks ago, and have used it to make banana mush to replace yogurt on our morning fruit breakfasts, as well as mushing up other good stuff. But it's been a pain to clean, a fair bit doesn't get through, and now it stopped working, after only six weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Seriously?

    • Ontario, CA,
    • Jul 8, 2014

    Another machine to collect dust in your cupboard. For one you have to cut fruit up to put in machine before you press it to make final product, really? Cut the fruit up a little more and just eat as is or throw the fruit chunks in the blender and give it a go. Same result, less clutter, less junk and less wasted time. A novel way to make more crap to clean up like all other "as seen on TV" junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 47 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Non-Existent Customer Service

    • Moon Township, PA,
    • Jun 24, 2014

    I ordered this machine on 4/17 for a total of $59.97 to be paid in 3 installments. Was very excited to receive a package in May only to discover that it was JUST the toppings dispenser. When I called to inquire about the machine itself, I was told that I should receive it by the end of MAY - NOT SO!

    The beginning of JUN, I called again and requested that the popsicle maker now being offered with purchase be added to my order since I would be waiting until the end of JUN to receive my order. Was told 'not able to add it to order.'

    The next day I received an e-mail that my machine was being shipped out AND I also received a card in the U.S. Mail that my machine was still on back order with delivery expected at the end of JUN. I ALSO received a $59.97 charge on my credit card! 

    I then received the actual machine a week later with the recipe book IN FRENCH! AGAIN, I called to check on the situation and complain - customer service??? Haha! WHAT A JOKE - I don't think these people understand what the words mean in Customer Service. I was told that the popsicle maker could be added to my order, but that it would take several months to get it, I was told NOTHING could be done about being lied to in regards to the payments and lastly, I was told that an English receipt book would be sent out. As of today, NOTHING YET AGAIN!

    To be honest, I'm very sorry that I didn't purchase the Yonanas machine that I saw on sale recently at the local outlets shopping center that is eligible for a 20% off coupon - which would have made that purchase approximately half of this nightmare! Shame to Big Boss Swirlio!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 4, 2014

      Mark

      So, you will have the chance to learn some French though!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a review for Swirlio!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review