About Swirlio

Manufactured by Big Boss and distributed by E. Mishan & Sons, Inc., Swirlio is an “As Seen on TV” countertop kitchen appliance that allows you to make delicious desserts without preservatives, processed sugars, or dairy fats. According to the company’s website, you can “turn ordinary frozen fruit into yummy soft serve desserts in seconds.”

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

Neither Swirlio nor Big Boss are not listed with the Better Business Bureau, but despite having 103 closed complaints within the past three years, E. Mishan & Sons, Inc. does hold an A+ rating. Likewise, online reviews for Swirlio appear to be nonexistent, so we were unable to gauge overall customer satisfaction levels. However, regarding frozen fruit dessert-makers in general, the most common complaints include difficulty cleaning, the quickness with which the dessert melts, and that nearly all recipes are banana-based.

How Swirlio Works

Similar to the Dessert Bullet, Swirlio is a kitchen appliance that claims to allow you to turn ordinary frozen fruit into delicious, nutritious soft serve desserts. As a result, it’s claimed that you can now enjoy all the deliciousness of ice cream, without any of the associated preservatives, processed sugars, dairy fats. The Swirlio is also claimed to be ultra quiet, as it does not use metal blades to break up your fruit.

In order to use your Swirlio, simply pre-slice your frozen fruit, add it to the main chute, and press down with the “wand,” and out will come a delicious treat that has the same consistency as soft-serve ice cream or frozen yogurt. According to the company’s website, Swirlio provides you with full fruit extraction for maximum efficiency, and easy cleanup so you can get on with your day.

Swirlio Pricing & Refund Policy

The Swirlio is currently available directly from the manufacturer for two payments of $19.95 (or one payment of $39.90), plus $8.95 shipping and handling. For this price, you’ll receive:

  • 1 Swirlio countertop appliance
  • Two free bonuses - Topping dispenser and 50-page recipe book

During our research we found that the Swirlio used to be available through Amazon.com, though it is currently listed as being out of stock.

All Swirlio units come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. To initiate the return process, simply call customer service at 855-721-3332 or visit them online at www.customerstatus.com.

Pros:

  • Countertop appliance that can make delicious, nutritious desserts from whole fruits.
  • Can help you and your family eat healthier without all the associated preservatives, processed sugars, and dairy fats.
  • Claims to be easy to clean up.
  • 30-day refund policy (less S&H).

Cons:

  • “As Seen on TV” product, which tend to carry lower levels of customer satisfaction.
  • As with most other frozen fruit dessert makers, most recipes rely heavily on bananas to provide a smooth texture, so if you’re not too fond of bananas, you may want to think twice before ordering.
  • Appears to be a newer product, as no online reviews exist.

27 Customer Reviews for Swirlio

Average Customer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 4 4 stars: 6 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 14
Bottom Line: 37% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 27
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Thumbs-up

    I was under the assumption that reviews were supposed to be about the product itself, not about costumer service. I just used this product WITHOUT ANY INSTRUCTIONS and it came apart easy for cleaning. It was worth the extra effort to chop up the fruit a bit smaller, you have to wait 5-7 minutes any ways, so why not? I used frozen strawberries, mangos and peaches. Had good results, my son even refused the chocolate topping and it was great for my daughter and hubby because they're lactose intolerant.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Love this.

    • Griffin, GA,
    • Feb 7, 2015

    My Swirlio stopped working. Can you replace it at no cost to me? I really enjoyed it but after about six uses, it stopped working.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 30, 2015

      Sarah

      Is Swirlio going to be out in stores soon, because I'm getting confused on the price?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 15 people found this review helpful

    No more the wiser

    • Sydney Australia,
    • Dec 11, 2014

    After reading many reviews, I'm a little puzzled as to why Australians are being charged $100 for this product, and Americans only $20. Seems like a high price for something that is made of plastic and not even electric.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 26, 2015

      Liz

      You didn't read it right. It's actually 2 payments of $19.95, then taxes, so it's over $40.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Second review after using the Swirlio

    • New York City,
    • Oct 23, 2014

    I have now tried other fruits and the Swirlio really works great. The cleaning for me was easy and quick. If you follow the instructions as written and it works great. I tried some other ideas of mine adding cinnamon and the frozen desert came out great. I am so pleased with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Never received the product; waited for it for three months

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Aug 29, 2014

    While it seemed like a wonderful idea for my grandchildren as a summer food activity, we never received the three that we ordered

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Swirlio frozen fruit desert ice creams

    • New York City, NY,
    • Aug 28, 2014

    I opened my box and tried my first frozen banana. It came out better than I thought. It really worked as instructed. I am looking forward to try other fruits. It tastes like I was eating ice cream but without the fats and sugars. I am diabetic and love ice ice cream. This is a great desert. If you follow the instructions everything comes out great. Thanks for a great machine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Pleasantly surprised

    • Albany, New York,
    • Aug 23, 2014

    I have used my Swirlio 3 times so far. I was surprised that it actually came out so well the first time. Luckily I purchased it before I read many of the bad reviews. I went at it with my fists up expecting the worst, but was surprised at how well it worked.

    I think the key is in the timing. Don't try to put frozen fruit through it right out of the freezer (Follow the instructions: 5-7 minutes). Cleanup is easy if you only rinse the parts soon after using them and not leave them to dry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • Lake Isabella, MI,
    • Aug 20, 2014

    I order mine off the TV. I paid all upfront from my credit card. They talked me into buying magazines for 19.95. They told me that if I was to cancel the magazines within 30 days from the date of order that I wouldn't be charged. They wouldn't give the cancellation number on the phone and said that I would get the information in the mail within 5 business days. They didn't end up sending the information within the 30 days and ended up charging my credit card in the amount of 19.95.

    So I finally got the information and called and canceled. They failed to tell me that I would be charged by every different magazine that was offered as a package so i got charged another 19.95 by another magazine even after I canceled. I do not recommend buying this product period. It is a total scam. A way to get more and more money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Piece of garbage

    • Tampa, Florida,
    • Aug 16, 2014

    What a piece of crap. You can't clean it so watch the germs and mold form.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Good when it worked

    • Surrey, BC,
    • Jul 23, 2014

    We got the big boss Swirlio six weeks ago, and have used it to make banana mush to replace yogurt on our morning fruit breakfasts, as well as mushing up other good stuff. But it's been a pain to clean, a fair bit doesn't get through, and now it stopped working, after only six weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Seriously?

    • Ontario, CA,
    • Jul 8, 2014

    Another machine to collect dust in your cupboard. For one you have to cut fruit up to put in machine before you press it to make final product, really? Cut the fruit up a little more and just eat as is or throw the fruit chunks in the blender and give it a go. Same result, less clutter, less junk and less wasted time. A novel way to make more crap to clean up like all other "as seen on TV" junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 27

Write a review for Swirlio!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review