About T-fal OptiGrill

Manufactured by T-fal and based out of West Orange, NJ, the OptiGrill claims to be the only indoor grill that features “Precision Grilling Technology” that helps you “grill to perfection every time.” The OptiGrill also provides you with a foolproof series of LED lights and audible beeps that let you know once it’s achieved your desired cooking level.

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

T-fal holds a B rating with the Better Business Bureau, which is based on just three closed complaints within the past three years. Regarding the OptiGrill specifically, the product has been featured on websites such as Digital Trends, Popular Mechanics, Good Housekeeping, and CNET. Most online reviews appear generally positive, with the most common complaints including its inability to accurately measure uneven cuts of meat, and that red meat will still require a thermometer in order to achieve your desired level.

How the T-fal OptiGrill Works

According to the T-fal website, each OptiGrill features built-in technology that measures the thickness of your food, as well as thermostatic sensors that monitor temperature. As a result, the company guarantees that your food will be “grilled to perfection every time,” and that your meat will turn out just the way you like it.

The T-fal OptiGrill features six cooking programs for burgers, poultry, sandwiches, sausage/pork, red meat, and fish, and can even defrost frozen foods. Simply select the setting you need, place your items on the grill plates once ready, and then begin. In order to make sure you always know the progress of your food, the OptiGrill includes a color-changing LED on the front, and will beep once rare, medium, and well-done levels have been reached.

T-fal claims the OptiGrill can cook different pieces of meat to different levels at the same time, and that fat easily drains away as it cooks. After your food is finished, simply wipe the grill plates clean, or remove and insert them into the dishwasher.

T-fal OptiGrill Pricing & Refund Policy

If purchased directly from T-fal, your OptiGrill will be priced at five payments of $35.99 (total of $179.95), plus free shipping and handling. It will also come with a Quick Start guide and On the Grill Cookbook, which features more than 30 grilling recipes, as well as a $200 set of coupons to Omaha Steaks.

All T-fal OptiGrills come with a 60-day money back guarantee. If you’re not completely satisfied for any reason within this time, simply contact customer service to obtain a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number, which should be included on your return package. Once the package is received and processed, your payment method on file will be promptly refunded.

The T-fal OptiGrill can also be purchased from Bed Bath & Beyond, Dillard’s, Amazon.com, and more. However, keep in mind that return/refund policies will vary by retailer.

Pros:

  • Guaranteed to cook your meat to perfection every time.
  • Can be used with red meat, pork, chicken, and fish.
  • Cooks meat from frozen to rare, medium, and well-done.
  • LED light a beep let you know when you’ve achieved the desired coking level.
  • Relatively inexpensive, and comes with free shipping and a 60-day satisfaction guarantee—if purchased from the manufacturer.

Cons:

  • Some customers have complained that the OptiGrill doesn’t accurately measure uneven pieces of meat, and that red meat still requires a thermometer for best results.

11 Customer Reviews for T-fal OptiGrill

Average Customer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 5 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 3
Bottom Line: 62% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 11
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Quality not there

    • by John Ohsam,
    • AZ,
    • Apr 12, 2015

    I was happy until six months when the non-stick finish on the bottom grill plate began to bubble and peel. I called customer service and they said for me to take a picture and email it, I did. They replied to me with a message saying they would warranty it but they were out of stock for a month and would send as soon as it becomes available. Out of stock means they're replacing others. Unacceptable!

    Also, if you grill chicken breasts on the chicken setting and fully cook through cycle, the breasts will be way over done. I used a thermometer instead.

    It's all over over priced.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Jury still out, not looking so good

    • by RJ,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 28, 2015

    This product has a nice factor of 8.5 but no matter what we cook, or how close we follow the instructions, it puts out a lot of smoke. I think it's a good product for outside grilling but because of the smoke, not so much for inside grilling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 10 people found this review helpful

    The grill worked good for a while.

    • by Frank Fuller,
    • South Carolina,
    • Feb 20, 2015

    It worked good for a while. However, at about the time I paid it off, the settings stopped working. The only thing working now are the manual settings. I'm going to call customer service today to see what they can do about this. Other than that, everything is working just fine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 7, 2015

      Jim

      Any company can have a defective unit but why are you giving it such a bad rating before you've even contacted their customer service? Not helpful.

    • Apr 9, 2015

      Bill

      Mine did same thing. Do I send it to you Jim since you probably work for T-fal?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    T-fal optigrill is unbelievable

    • by Laury Blitz,
    • New York City,
    • Jan 26, 2015

    I tried making hamburgers, chicken breasts, so far and I was amazed how great the product worked. The foods I tested were nice and juicy.

    When I took the meat out, I tested it with a food thermometer and it was cooked right. Thanks for such a grill. This is the first grill that no guessing was required.

    I recommended this product to other people and those who bought it said it was the best grill they ever bought.

    Mr. Laury Blitz

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    A great indoor grill. Wish I had bought one sooner.

    • by Gail,
    • Maine,
    • Nov 13, 2014

    Just got the T-fal Optigrill yesterday and cooked hamburgers for supper and tonight cooked steaks. My steaks were thin as that is how I like them. I cooked them until the orange light came on and they were just right! I love this grill and would recommend it to anyone who likes to grill indoors. I had the George Foreman grill and hated it. Will be cooking chicken tomorrow night and bet it will be great also.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Overpriced

    • by David Maynard,
    • South Carolina,
    • Sep 7, 2014

    I used this grill to cook 2 T-bone steaks they were not the exact thickness so when the timer went off for medium one steak was almost well and the other was no longer even pink in the middle, wasted over twenty bucks! The George Foreman I have works better for a lot less! Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 7, 2015

      Jim

      The instructions that came with my grill specifically stated do not use meats with bones in them. The bones interfere with the grill's operation.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Pretty cool

    • by Ruby S.,
    • Indiana,
    • Jul 29, 2014

    I have cooked on it everyday since last Wednesday when I received it. It is so easy, my 12 year old has made a grilled cheese on it with my supervision of course. When I stop it at the medium beep for steaks and take them off and tent them with foil for a few minutes and they are perfectly just over medium but definitely not well done and juicy and tender. If you want the perfect grill marks on both sides pat your meat dry before putting them on the grill.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Love It; Love It; Love It

    • by Linda,
    • St Louis, MO,
    • Jun 27, 2014

    Since I can't tell when meat is done, I tend to overcook. This grill has solve that problem; it lets me know when the meat is cooked to my satisfaction. The meat is cooked to perfection and tastes so good. This is the best grill for those of us who can't cook. Cleanup is fast and easy. I love this grill and now I am grilling just about everyday. If you can or can't cook, this is for you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    I've only used it once..

    • by Andre Williams,
    • Lithonia, GA,
    • Apr 25, 2014

    But it cooked my steaks perfectly. I going to try salmon next. As far as the price I recommend downloading the 20% off coupon from Bed Bath and Beyond. That made the price around 150.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Where has this been all of my life?

    • by Veronica H,
    • Indiana,
    • Mar 4, 2014

    I just received my OPTIGRILL. I would rather have it in my kitchen than my stove. I love steak and often have it for holiday and birthday dinners. My gas grille caught fire on Christmas Day and it quickly became A Christmas Story dinner. That will never happen to me again. The steaks are cooked to perfection, the clean up is wonderful, and the product is just what it is advertised to be. I highly recommend it. I will be giving some as gifts this year at Christmas. It is worth every penny.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Grill is fabulous BUT steak offer is a JOKE

    • by Connie,
    • Georgia,
    • Feb 28, 2014

    Just received my grill and I couldn't wait to use it. I really couldn't wait to get my Omaha Steak coupons but once I saw the coupons all I could do is shake my head. They sent me 8 $25 coupons for Omaha Steaks but I would have to spend $800 just to use them ALL and they have to be used by June 2014. REALLY!!!

    I recommend the grill but don't get excited about the steak offer

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 11

Write a review for T-fal OptiGrill!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review