About T-fal OptiGrill

Manufactured by T-fal and based out of West Orange, NJ, the OptiGrill claims to be the only indoor grill that features “Precision Grilling Technology” that helps you “grill to perfection every time.” The OptiGrill also provides you with a foolproof series of LED lights and audible beeps that let you know once it’s achieved your desired cooking level.

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

T-fal holds a B rating with the Better Business Bureau, which is based on just three closed complaints within the past three years. Regarding the OptiGrill specifically, the product has been featured on websites such as Digital Trends, Popular Mechanics, Good Housekeeping, and CNET. Most online reviews appear generally positive, with the most common complaints including its inability to accurately measure uneven cuts of meat, and that red meat will still require a thermometer in order to achieve your desired level.

How the T-fal OptiGrill Works

According to the T-fal website, each OptiGrill features built-in technology that measures the thickness of your food, as well as thermostatic sensors that monitor temperature. As a result, the company guarantees that your food will be “grilled to perfection every time,” and that your meat will turn out just the way you like it.

The T-fal OptiGrill features six cooking programs for burgers, poultry, sandwiches, sausage/pork, red meat, and fish, and can even defrost frozen foods. Simply select the setting you need, place your items on the grill plates once ready, and then begin. In order to make sure you always know the progress of your food, the OptiGrill includes a color-changing LED on the front, and will beep once rare, medium, and well-done levels have been reached.

T-fal claims the OptiGrill can cook different pieces of meat to different levels at the same time, and that fat easily drains away as it cooks. After your food is finished, simply wipe the grill plates clean, or remove and insert them into the dishwasher.

T-fal OptiGrill Pricing & Refund Policy

If purchased directly from T-fal, your OptiGrill will be priced at five payments of $35.99 (total of $179.95), plus free shipping and handling. It will also come with a Quick Start guide and On the Grill Cookbook, which features more than 30 grilling recipes, as well as a $200 set of coupons to Omaha Steaks.

All T-fal OptiGrills come with a 60-day money back guarantee. If you’re not completely satisfied for any reason within this time, simply contact customer service to obtain a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number, which should be included on your return package. Once the package is received and processed, your payment method on file will be promptly refunded.

The T-fal OptiGrill can also be purchased from Bed Bath & Beyond, Dillard’s, Amazon.com, and more. However, keep in mind that return/refund policies will vary by retailer.

Pros:

  • Guaranteed to cook your meat to perfection every time.
  • Can be used with red meat, pork, chicken, and fish.
  • Cooks meat from frozen to rare, medium, and well-done.
  • LED light a beep let you know when you’ve achieved the desired coking level.
  • Relatively inexpensive, and comes with free shipping and a 60-day satisfaction guarantee—if purchased from the manufacturer.

Cons:

  • Some customers have complained that the OptiGrill doesn’t accurately measure uneven pieces of meat, and that red meat still requires a thermometer for best results.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

34 Customer Reviews for T-fal OptiGrill

Average Customer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 11 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 19
Bottom Line: 41% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 34
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely love it!

    • Virginia,
    • Sep 5, 2016

    I have had my unit for six months now with no problems. I have made chicken, steak, salmon, pastrami sandwiches with oozing cheese to die for and sausage. If I can think of anything else to put on it, I will.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    It works only on manual mode and there is no support to answer questions. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    A fixture for your kitchen

    • New York,
    • Jun 17, 2016

    Well I bought one in February 2013 and my kitchen has been so easy to clean. The product does what it says based on the correct use. I used mine everyday and had no complaints. The only concern is the life of the product. This one lasted 3 1/2 years and I guess that's ok because comparing to the cost of running my Viking stove it's like cooking for free.

    Great for any size family and I also purchased 3 more for others as gifts. For those that have children they thank me because it saves them hours in the kitchen and makes their day easier when they get home after work.

    I don't know how people can not have one. Thank you T-fal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Total junk

    • Gaffney, SC,
    • May 9, 2016

    Like others, it worked a few months using it maybe twice a week. Now cooks on manual mode only. Customer support is useless. Don't waste your money on this hunk of junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Crap! Manual Mode

    • Williamsburg, VA,
    • Mar 23, 2016

    At first I was super excited to get this grill but as soon as it came I opened it and cooked a piece of choices breast and it was amazing! Two days later it went straight to manual mode I couldn't get it off manual mode!

    I contacted the customer service and they kindly replied with an email stating that I must have the heating plates on incorrectly. They also were very kind to remind me I still had an outstanding balance. What a joke!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I love it.

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Mar 12, 2016

    I've had this grill for over a year. It has always worked reliably, the results have been great and the meat has always been flavorful and moist. I've used it with steaks, burgers, chicken, veggies and fish. Very satisfied with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    OptiGrill

    • Indiana,
    • Feb 5, 2016

    Saw this device on TV one night, thought what the heck and ordered it. Piece of junk. None of the programmed settings work, only the "manual," which is akin to throwing a steak in a skillet or a contact grill and babysitting it. I could get that at 1/4th the cost. I tried many different times and plugged and unplugged it, etc., piece of junk. DON'T but this grill.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    T-fal OptiGrill

    • Tampa, Florida,
    • Jan 30, 2016

    The T-fal OptiGril worked twice in the auto cook mode and now only goes to manual mode as soon as it's turned on. I've only had this for one week. Now I have to cook the food manually as it is the only way it will work. I would not recommend to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Pensacola, FL,
    • Jan 26, 2016

    Used it once. Second time the settings only allowed manual, no other setting would work. The grille smoked and the burning smelled electrical. No place to return it, bought it as a promotional item. We attempted to contact the company with no luck. Very disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Superb

    Within its limits, the T-fal OptiGrill cooks accurately and precisely once you get it dow.n it is unsurpassed in quality and convenience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Optigrill is junk

    • Tupper Lake, NY,
    • Jan 19, 2016

    Purchase this grill on January 30th 2015, it no longer works. I've tried calling customer service and it's disconnected. I also purchased the extended warranty. I do not recommend buying this grill. I've read many complaints about them not working.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 34

Write a review for T-fal OptiGrill!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review