About TacLight by Bell & Howell

It’s true that you can’t have too many flashlights around, since they come in handy in so many situations. The problem is that most flashlights aren’t built to withstand regular use, often leaving you with a broken product that’s a waste of money.

Not with TacLight by Bell & Howell, though. The company claims that this tactical flashlight is similar to those used by “elite military units,” featuring a compact and lightweight design, along with key features like a knurling surface and strike ring for good grip, tail tap switch, aircraft grade aluminum casing, precision optics, and five preset modes.

The TacLight is so strong that it promises to work when frozen in ice, and even when sitting in boiling water. Not only this, but TacLight vows to be 22X brighter than regular flashlights, capable of being seen from up to two nautical miles away, and its bulb will last up to 100,000 hours!

Reading all of this, is seems like Bell & Howell’s TacLight might come in handy in a lot of instances, including camping, hunting, emergency situations, and more. But is it necessarily a unique product? Will it provide a solid level of value? Let’s start answering your questions by addressing tactical flashlights in general.

What Is a Tactical Flashlight? What Makes a Good One?

As the name implies, a tactical flashlight is generally intended to be used in tactical situations; e.g. during an emergency where your life might be in danger. Due to their compact design and bright output, tactical flashlights are designed to be used alongside firearms, allowing you to quickly sweep an area and check for combatants, and to blind/stun one if encountered.

According to Popular Mechanics though, a tactical flashlight is just as much about light and hardware quality as it is about brightness:

“Compared to conventional flashlights, tactical lights deliver more light from a more compact, lighter package. A conventional flashlight with two D batteries and a standard bulb puts out about 15 to 20 lumens. A tactical light cranks out a minimum of 60 lumens of solid beam with no holes or dark spots.” Note: In some instances, tactical flashlights can put out 1,000+ lumens.

Tactical lights get their blinding ability from a high-pressure xenon-filled bulb with a tungsten filament. Power comes from a pair of 3-volt AA lithium batteries instead of conventional 1.5-volt cells. … The 6 volts of juice burns the filament hotter and whiter than that in a conventional flashlight.”

To this extent, we’re not told how many lumens TacLight puts out, what kind of bulb it features, or what kind of batteries it uses. Other important features we’re not told about are TacLight’s beam distance, impact resistance, water resistance level, and more.

We are told that TacLight’s bulb can last up to 100,000 hours, although this is generally the standard run time for most LED bulbs, and doesn’t appear to be unique to TacLight.

Taking all of this together, we can see that a tactical flashlight involves not just a special design, but also a very specific set of features, many of which we’re not informed about for TacLight. Do we know much more about the competition?

Bell & Howell’s TacLight vs. Other Tactical Flashlights

Comparatively, if you shop for tactical flashlights online, you’ll generally find that all of these specifications are clearly listed. After all, they’re the primary criteria when shopping for tactical flashlights.

You’ll also find overall dimensions, weight, whether or not they can be attached to a weapon, product certifications (if any), primary material, and country of origin.

Now, the one area where TacLight stacks up well against the competition is price. But does this mean it’s a good value?

How Much Does TacLight Cost?

One Bell & Howell TacLight is priced at $19.99 plus free S&H. During checkout, you can order a second flashlight for an additional $10 S&H.

Regardless of how many your order, Bell & Howell offers a 30-day refund policy and lifetime guarantee on all TacLights, less S&H charges. If you ordered the BOGO offer, this means you’ll end up losing more in S&H charges than you’ll get back as a refund.

Still want to request a refund? You’ll need to call customer service at 877-415-4824.

​TacLight by Bell & Howell Test

We thoroughly tested the Bell & Howell’s TacLight to see if it delivers on its claims. To find out everything we experienced, be sure to watch the video below:

For more product tests and shopping tips: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel.

Is Bell & Howell’s TacLight Your Best Option?

Based on the pictures on their website, TacLight seems to look the part when it comes to tactical flashlight design. But as we outlined above, a true tactical flashlight is also defined by high quality and feature set, much of which we’re not told about TacLight.

Also, while it might look similar to flashlights used by “elite military units,” the company doesn’t provide any evidence that TacLight—specifically—is used by the military, law enforcement, or fire rescue. And other than “regular flashlights,” we’re not told exactly what TacLight is 22X brighter than.

Nick Bolton? He seems to be a fairly well-known fitness model, and doesn’t appear to have served in the military or have personally used TacLight.

Admittedly, it might seem like we’re coming down a little hard on TacLight, but our goal is to make sure you have a complete picture of any product before handing over your hard-earned money, including any potential concerns. Given this, we’re definitely not saying that TacLight isn’t a quality product or that you shouldn’t purchase one—only that, just because TacLight is priced lower than much of the competition, this doesn’t necessarily mean it’ll provide a better value.

On top of this, when you add TacLight’s steep, non-refundable S&H charges to the mix, it might make sense to weigh all your options before placing an order.

What did you think of TacLight’s performance? Would you consider it on par with tactical flashlights from other companies? Give us the details by writing your review below!

More on Buying ASOTV & Infomercial Products:

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

50 Customer Reviews for TacLight by Bell & Howell

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 8 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 34
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 50
Sort reviews by:

  • 38 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Bell & Howell TacLight

    • Wisconsin,
    • Nov 14, 2016

    I decided to order the TacLight on July 29,2016. As I always do, I took advantage of BOTH the upgrade and the BOGO offer. I received one TacLight with an enclosure that stated they may be shipped separately!

    Today is November 6, 2016 and I still have not received my second light. By the way, my charge for the 2 with upgrade was $59.95. That's one heck of an expensive flashlight in my book. I have tried filling out the customer service search and it shows nothing. I'm going to have to try and call I guess.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Tackle light

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Nov 13, 2016

    I ordered one of these reluctantly but it arrived in a timely manner and works just like the commercial says. I'm so impressed with it that I'm ordering more for when I go camping.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    All bad

    The whole experience with Bell Howell Taclights has been horrible. First, it was the customer service and the month long delay in receiving the product that should've warned me. It finally arrived and it was a disappointment from the start. One of the flashlights had a busted seal. Now they want $9.99 to replace this piece of junk. Altogether the $50 I spent on these two flashlights were a waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 20 people found this review helpful

    It's a must have.

    • Tinley Park, IL,
    • Nov 1, 2016

    I got mine in the mail yesterday. It's really bright! So far I'm very happy with it and plan on getting more. This time I'm getting the rechargeable battery and charger too. This time I'm just going to Kmart to get them, the same price as TV.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Works well, but pricey!

    • Regina, Sk., Canada,
    • Oct 29, 2016

    It's pretty misleading as shown on tv. I ordered one, and yes, you do pay $10 for the second one. So now it's $30, when you place the order, to get what appears they show on tv is another for $10 each, now up to $50 plus tax. It's shipped to Canada but I had to pay in $US. Now it's up to $71.42!

    Pretty expensive for two flashlights, pretty tempted to return them; after all, it's a flashlight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 59 out 63 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • USA,
    • Oct 17, 2016

    I visited the web site (trytaclight.com) to view the item. I had to supply credit card info right away. THEN had to work my way through additional pages which kept offering upgrades to the item I "came to purchase". THEN only could I get to a totaled order page, with a green button to click on to confirm my order. I never confirmed the order because the items listed were over priced. I simply backed out of the pages. A week later they posted three transactions to my card. I reported their fraud. Thank goodness for Apple Watch and Wallet which alerted me to the so-called recently authorized purchases. The bank is investigating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 55 out 57 people found this review helpful

    \Where is their quality control, in China?

    • Huntington, IN,
    • Oct 2, 2016

    Bought 2 and 1 had missing parts. Sick of foreign junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 71 out 71 people found this review helpful

    What a Scam

    • CA,
    • Oct 1, 2016

    These lights are crap. The brightness and clarity shown on TV is not even close to what the real lights produce.

    Also, I ordered two and had to call Customer Service regarding the second one. The girl was nice but said that a lot of the second lights did not go out, a glitch in the system.

    Frankly, I would skip this one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Disappointment of order

    I have three young boys who are in cub scouts for whom I ordered these TacLight flashlights. I am sick and on a fixed income with a disability so when I looked up the Tac Light and saw it was a BOGO with just an additional $10 in shipping, I thought I was getting three Tac Light flashlights. However, I didn't get three, come to find out I was paying the ten dollars for the second light, and that's not free to me.

    Now I have three young boys going camping in a couple of weeks with only two TacLight flashlights with absolutely no money to get my third son, the one I told I had ordered for.

    I just wanted to let others know to be sure to read all of the tiny print, so you don't end up with a very sad and crying baby like me. That's really mean of you Bell and Howell.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 81 out 84 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this light

    When you go to order the light, they try and get you to upgrade to get an even better light for another $10.00. Why aren't they advertising THAT light on TV? Or are they showing you the better light on the commercial? Took almost 2 months to get. I ordered two. Only one came. Customer service is non-existent. The light is bright and it is compact but have found better lights simply by searching flashlight forums. Do your homework and avoid this company at all costs. So, with the upgrade I paid $49.99 for ONE light and waited two months for it. Never did get the other one. Beyond unhappy with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 58 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Got a bad one?

    I purchased one of these Bell & Howell TacLights at Walmart for $19.99. When at home, I opened the sealed package and put in 3 brand new Duracell AAA batteries. When I pushed on the switch, the switch pushed out of the end housing into the flashlight. I opened the light and pressed the switch back into the end housing, put it back together, and tried to turn it on again. The switch stayed put this time, and cycled through the modes, but the reflected light on the wall looked "subdued." After looking into the lens, I could see a broken rubber "O" ring lying loose on top of the Cree bulb. I took the light back to Walmart and got my money back. I did not try buying another one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 50

Write a review for TacLight by Bell !

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review