About TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell

The TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell promises to deliver twice as much brightness as an ordinary lantern; so bright, fact, that it can be seen up to two nautical miles away.

On top of this, we’re told that the TacLight Lantern is “military tough” and built to withstand the elements, including heat resistance, water submersion, and freezing temperatures. In the commercial, it even survived gunfire!

From a size perspective, the Lantern’s housing slides, which allows it to collapse down smaller than a smartphone (this sliding action also allows you to adjust the brightness), while bringing total weight in at less than a pound. We’re told its genuine Bell + Howell COB LEDs are smaller, brighter, and more energy efficient than regular LEDs, making it ideal for power outages, camping and hunting, working on the car, and more.

TacLight Lantern totally sounds like something that could come in handy in all kinds of situations, right? But before you buy, you want to learn as much as you can. The good news is that if you need information, you’ve come to the right place!

Are There Any Must-Have Features for Tactical Lanterns?

We’ve investigated several popular ASOTV tactical flashlights recently, including TacLight (the originator), Atomic Beam USA, and Shadowhawk X800 Tactical Flashlight. All of these flashlights share many of the same features, such as sturdy aluminum housings, multiple modes, and adjustable beams.

But what designates these flashlights as “tactical”? Since they’re typically used alongside a firearm to quickly sweep an area and/or stun an attacker, all the features we just discussed might be logical guesses.

But what we’ve learned during our research is that it’s all about the lumens (how light power is measured). At a minimum, to be classified as tactical, a flashlight needs to put out 60 lumens, with no holes or dark spots. Some, however, put out 800 lumens or more.

What’s the point? There are two:

  1. Currently, it seems that there isn’t a formal “tactical lantern” product category, so we’re unsure if what we’re seeing here is just marketing hype, or the manufacturing breaking new ground. Either way, there are no standard features for a lantern to be classified as tactical.
  2. Even if we were to use the same specifications found on a tactical flashlight, we’re not told how many lumens Bell & Howell’s COB LEDs put out. In fact, we’re also not told about TacLight Lantern’s exterior construction, or if it has multiple modes. We know the brightness can be adjusted, but there’s no mention about the beam.

Given all this, we remain unsure what exactly TacLight Lantern’s tactical designation is referencing.

Are There Any Other Lights Like TacLight Lantern?

We already mentioned that TacLight Lantern seems to be in a category of its own, but if you’re looking for a tough, rugged, take-anywhere flashlight, you certainly have options.

To see what we mean, type the phrase “magnetic lantern,” “collapsible lantern,” or “survival lantern” into you favorite search engine and you’ll find plenty of other lanterns that might deliver the same ruggedness as TacLight Lantern. Obviously, none of these will be designed identically or deliver all the same features in one package, but the point is you have options.

What about from a price perspective?

How Much Does TacLight Lantern Cost?

One TacLight Lantern is priced at $19.99 plus free shipping. You’ll be able to purchase a second at checkout for an additional $6.95 fee.

All TacLight Lantern orders are automatically upgraded to the deluxe option at no charge, which features a magnetic base for hands-free use.

TacLight Lantern comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H, as well as a lifetime guarantee. In order to request one, customer service can be reached at 855-721-3332.

Comparatively, you’ll find other lanterns in (more or less) the same category that fall anywhere between $8 and $60 or more.

Where Are All the TacLight Lantern Customer Reviews?

The HighYa team aims to bring you these reports as soon as products are released, which generally leaves very little time for any customer feedback to accumulate. As such, there weren’t any consumer reviews for TacLight Lantern at the time of our research.

The good news is that we’ve written about several other Bell & Howell products over the years, including microBrite, Solar Charger, and Ultra Bulb. Overall, these seem to have an average rating of about 2 stars, with common complaints claiming that they didn’t work well (or at least as advertised), while more than one also referenced business practices (overcharging orders, difficulty getting in touch with the company, etc.).

Obviously, TacLight Lantern is a completely new product and the company could have revamped their approach to customer service since many of these reviews were written, so this certainly doesn’t mean you’re sure to experience the same. Given the commonality of the complaints, though, it might be worth keeping in mind.

Is TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell Right for You?

There are dozens of different personal factors that go into choosing a new lantern, such as:

  • Are you looking for something small and compact, or bulky and rugged?
  • Is weight a factor?
  • Do you need a specific run time? What kind of battery are you interested in?
  • Is there a certain light output you’re looking to achieve? Do you prefer illumination or soft, warm light?

… and many more—none of which can be answered by anyone other than you.

However, although we didn’t test TacLight Lantern firsthand, based on the commercial, it appears to be unlike anything else out there. So, if you’re a flashlight/lantern aficionado, then this factor alone might make it purchase-worthy.

With this said, we’re still not sure exactly how TacLight Lantern is “tactical,” other than the fact that it’s springboarding off the immense success of the original TacLight. If you feel like giving it a shot (no pun intended) though, you’ll get free shipping and a 30-day refund policy if you’re not satisfied.

Now Watch: TacLight by Bell & Howell Review

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

35 Customer Reviews for TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell

Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 1 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 29
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 35
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No customer service

    I placed an order on 11/18/016. All I have is a printout of order, and nothing else. I went to their website and got nothing but "have no record of your order". I talked to a person who had nothing to recommend, and their emails say go to customerstatus.com.

    I called the number listed on order but the phone rings a few times, a voice says, "all circuits are busy, " and I am disconnected. No lanterns, no communication. And it was to have been Christmas presents. My order number is 36856201648148537 and the confirmation number is 19916687R.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Never got the item

    • Paducah, KY,
    • Jan 21, 2017

    I placed an order in November of 2016, and as of today, January 1, 2017, I still have not received my order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Back ordered for two months.

    • Hazlehurst, GA,
    • Jan 19, 2017

    I have not received my lanterns, and the status website shows that they are back ordered. My order was made on 11/7/16, and no one will answer the phone at customer service. I see commercials every day where they are still selling them.

    I have not had a chance to use the light due to not receiving it. This review is for their customer service. I'm concerned this is completely a scam, and my money has been stolen. If it's not received soon, I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau for assistance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Have not received my order, no communication from company

    • Hanover, PA,
    • Jan 19, 2017

    It has been nearly six weeks since my order was placed and I have not received my products, nor have I received any communication from TacLight Lantern (with exception to my order confirmation immediately following placing my order). I went online and entered my order number to find that the product is temporarily out of stock.

    When I called, they were very "matter of fact" about the situation and stated that it is their "policy" to notify customers by mail six weeks after an order is placed if their product is out of stock. I'll be waiting at least another four weeks, I was told, before I should expect my products. Extremely POOR customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    • South Carolina,
    • Jan 17, 2017

    We were scammed, as I ordered this for my husband for Christmas and found out after the order was placed that the item is out of stock, but of course, the credit card was charged right away. I am working with the credit card company to have charges reversed due to no merchandise received and no timeline for delivery. I think everyone should be trying to do this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed with shipping time and unable to contact company.

    I placed an order for six Deluxe TacLight Lanterns on 11/25/2016, and they arrived on 12/29/2016 at the cost of $83.04, including taxes. One of the lanterns is broken, it will not shut off. I have called mornings, noon, and evenings with no luck. The phone goes into a busy signal each time. No way to run a company when your customers can't even call you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    TacLight Lantern

    I ordered six of these TacLight Lanterns. Communicating with the company could be improved. I was able to track the order, and at first, the lanterns were out of stock, but my credit card was not charged until the order was shipped.

    I received the order in good, shaped-well packaging. The lanterns were everything the ad claimed, and I am very pleased with them. The delay caused these Christmas gifts to arrive one day after Christmas, a disappointment.

    I would recommend the lights to friends, and I am considering on getting an additional order. I was skeptical with all the negative reviews and was glad that I proceeded anyway.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I guess I got lucky!

    • Colonial Heights, VA,
    • Jan 16, 2017

    I ordered four of these on December 10th as Christmas gifts, sent to two different locations. I received a confirmation of the order, tracking info and email updates on the locations as it traveled. I received confirmation that all were delivered on December 29th, including mine. I came home, installed batteries and worked great. Very bright and compact. I love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Back ordered product finally received, and love it!

    • New York,
    • Jan 15, 2017

    I have read through the reviews, and I also ordered this product in October. I do have to say that they did not charge my card until it was shipped.

    I also had to reach out to customer service multiple times and that was when I was informed it was out of stock. I expressed my dissatisfaction with the manager because this was one of my husband's Christmas gifts, the reason why I ordered it so early was so I wouldn't run into this problem. They moved me to the top of the list and it was shipped out a week after that. Needless to say, it did not arrive in time for Christmas (I ordered it October 26th, and it arrived December 27th).

    This is a great product, and I would give the product itself five stars, but due to the wait time and delays with processing and shipping, I gave it one star.

    The product itself, however, is exactly as advertised and is excellent. If it helps anyone I found that calling early in the morning is easier to get through to a representative, and also have your order number, as this also helped.

    If they could improve the processing and shipping time for the product that would be great! I did say I would recommend this to a friend, but I am referring to the lantern themselves.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Best guess, it's s scam

    Like all of the reviews I have read so far, I ordered this item months ago and have not received it yet. I was able to talk to a customer service representative who told me the lanterns would be mailed out "tomorrow," needless to say, it was a lie.

    Every time I check on the order status, it reads "temporarily out of stock." I continue to see the advertisements on television even though I have not received my lanterns in close to two months. I guess I had joined the club of those who believed what they saw on TV. Really disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't purchase!

    • Montana,
    • Jan 15, 2017

    I placed an order on December 1, 2016 and STILL no product!

    I was expecting it in time for Christmas presents and just checked the status of the order and it is STILL on backorder! They have no product but are still sucking up your money as they are still advertising on TV. You cannot contact them as no "human" answers the phone, and there is no email available. You can check your order status, and that is IT.

    I highly recommend to stay away from this TV offer until they actually sell it in stores because you will NEVER see your order!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 35

Write a review for TacLight Lantern by Bell !

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review