About TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell

The TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell promises to deliver twice as much brightness as an ordinary lantern; so bright, fact, that it can be seen up to two nautical miles away.

On top of this, we’re told that the TacLight Lantern is “military tough” and built to withstand the elements, including heat resistance, water submersion, and freezing temperatures. In the commercial, it even survived gunfire!

From a size perspective, the Lantern’s housing slides, which allows it to collapse down smaller than a smartphone (this sliding action also allows you to adjust the brightness), while bringing total weight in at less than a pound. We’re told its genuine Bell + Howell COB LEDs are smaller, brighter, and more energy efficient than regular LEDs, making it ideal for power outages, camping and hunting, working on the car, and more.

TacLight Lantern totally sounds like something that could come in handy in all kinds of situations, right? But before you buy, you want to learn as much as you can. The good news is that if you need information, you’ve come to the right place!

Are There Any Must-Have Features for Tactical Lanterns?

We’ve investigated several popular ASOTV tactical flashlights recently, including TacLight (the originator), Atomic Beam USA, and Shadowhawk X800 Tactical Flashlight. All of these flashlights share many of the same features, such as sturdy aluminum housings, multiple modes, and adjustable beams.

But what designates these flashlights as “tactical”? Since they’re typically used alongside a firearm to quickly sweep an area and/or stun an attacker, all the features we just discussed might be logical guesses.

But what we’ve learned during our research is that it’s all about the lumens (how light power is measured). At a minimum, to be classified as tactical, a flashlight needs to put out 60 lumens, with no holes or dark spots. Some, however, put out 800 lumens or more.

What’s the point? There are two:

  1. Currently, it seems that there isn’t a formal “tactical lantern” product category, so we’re unsure if what we’re seeing here is just marketing hype, or the manufacturing breaking new ground. Either way, there are no standard features for a lantern to be classified as tactical.
  2. Even if we were to use the same specifications found on a tactical flashlight, we’re not told how many lumens Bell & Howell’s COB LEDs put out. In fact, we’re also not told about TacLight Lantern’s exterior construction, or if it has multiple modes. We know the brightness can be adjusted, but there’s no mention about the beam.

Given all this, we remain unsure what exactly TacLight Lantern’s tactical designation is referencing.

Are There Any Other Lights Like TacLight Lantern?

We already mentioned that TacLight Lantern seems to be in a category of its own, but if you’re looking for a tough, rugged, take-anywhere flashlight, you certainly have options.

To see what we mean, type the phrase “magnetic lantern,” “collapsible lantern,” or “survival lantern” into you favorite search engine and you’ll find plenty of other lanterns that might deliver the same ruggedness as TacLight Lantern. Obviously, none of these will be designed identically or deliver all the same features in one package, but the point is you have options.

What about from a price perspective?

How Much Does TacLight Lantern Cost?

One TacLight Lantern is priced at $19.99 plus free shipping. You’ll be able to purchase a second at checkout for an additional $6.95 fee.

All TacLight Lantern orders are automatically upgraded to the deluxe option at no charge, which features a magnetic base for hands-free use.

TacLight Lantern comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H, as well as a lifetime guarantee. In order to request one, customer service can be reached at 855-721-3332.

Comparatively, you’ll find other lanterns in (more or less) the same category that fall anywhere between $8 and $60 or more.

Where Are All the TacLight Lantern Customer Reviews?

The HighYa team aims to bring you these reports as soon as products are released, which generally leaves very little time for any customer feedback to accumulate. As such, there weren’t any consumer reviews for TacLight Lantern at the time of our research.

The good news is that we’ve written about several other Bell & Howell products over the years, including microBrite, Solar Charger, and Ultra Bulb. Overall, these seem to have an average rating of about 2 stars, with common complaints claiming that they didn’t work well (or at least as advertised), while more than one also referenced business practices (overcharging orders, difficulty getting in touch with the company, etc.).

Obviously, TacLight Lantern is a completely new product and the company could have revamped their approach to customer service since many of these reviews were written, so this certainly doesn’t mean you’re sure to experience the same. Given the commonality of the complaints, though, it might be worth keeping in mind.

Is TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell Right for You?

There are dozens of different personal factors that go into choosing a new lantern, such as:

  • Are you looking for something small and compact, or bulky and rugged?
  • Is weight a factor?
  • Do you need a specific run time? What kind of battery are you interested in?
  • Is there a certain light output you’re looking to achieve? Do you prefer illumination or soft, warm light?

… and many more—none of which can be answered by anyone other than you.

However, although we didn’t test TacLight Lantern firsthand, based on the commercial, it appears to be unlike anything else out there. So, if you’re a flashlight/lantern aficionado, then this factor alone might make it purchase-worthy.

With this said, we’re still not sure exactly how TacLight Lantern is “tactical,” other than the fact that it’s springboarding off the immense success of the original TacLight. If you feel like giving it a shot (no pun intended) though, you’ll get free shipping and a 30-day refund policy if you’re not satisfied.

Now Watch: TacLight by Bell & Howell Review

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

52 Customer Reviews for TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell

Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 5 1 stars: 42
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 52
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Beware

    • Victoria, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Feb 16, 2017

    I ordered two of these lights on November 21, 2016, and have yet to receive them. After four phone calls to them over the past three months, all I get is how they are out of stock and don't know when they can complete my order. You also have to deal with the reps and their "don't care" attitudes. The struggle is real, so BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    • Missouri,
    • Feb 11, 2017

    I ordered this back in October as a Christmas gift for my dad.

    I moved the 1st of November and called with the new address, but they finally shipped it one January 31st, but it's going to the wrong address. I called TacLight Lantern, and a gentleman said he changed address. Well, he didnt, so I called this morning (February 7th) and told the lady that shipping is going to the wrong address. It's now here, in St Louis, and I was told that it is getting shipped back to TacLight Lantern and I have to do the process all over again.

    They have terrible service and always give the runaround, and they tell you what you want to hear to get you off the phone. I wouldn't recommend ordering from this company, again, they have TERRIBLE service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not what I purchased.

    Two days after putting nice Duracell batteries in, the lantern I used first quite nicely fried one of the LED bars at the top, causing noxious fumes. We're talking regular Duracell AA batteries.

    So, I have a couple of Chinese lanterns that you can put in the sun or charge with a hand crank generator and lithium batteries for half the price, and I have had them for years. I've been waiting for these lanterns since November. I was supposed to get one up-armored deluxe model and one basic one. Also, I would like to ask who sends a paper contract after the time of sale stipulating that all legal action be done through arbitration? We're talking about $20 products?

    I have a good cause for a lawsuit, but it's not worth the piece of crap I ordered. I'm a military veteran, and this is the kind of crap that gets people killed with the advertising they put on TV. The first one in two days loses a light bar and melts one of its top light bars while it's sitting on my bed! That's not exactly a deuce-and-a-half now is it? I will be calling about the refund when I can wake up during the day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Misleading ad

    • Olympia, WA,
    • Feb 8, 2017

    The ad said you get two for $19.99. When I went to order and filled out my information, it said I was only getting one, so I never hit "place order." Well, somehow the order went through and I got an email that said a package was being mailed.

    I called their customer service to complain, saying that I never hit "place order," and she said if I didn't want it, I can just not accept the package as "return to sender." When I asked about the "buy one, get another one" offer, she explained that you have to look at the little print on the bottom, and it explains you have to order another one and they only charge you shipping of $6.95 for the second one.

    It was misrepresented because it is not "buy one, get another one" and the advertisement makes it sound like it. I am sick of these advertisers that pull this crap. I will probably have to wait six months to get my money back! And you better bet I am going to pay extra to track that package going back because if I don't, they will say that they never got it back.

    Do NOT order this light, or if you do make sure to read the little writing below your order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bait-and-switch

    I ordered ten TacLight Lanterns with the magnetic base. They took weeks to get here, and when they arrived, none of the ten I ordered had a magnetic base.

    I called their customer service they said, "We have a No Exchange Policy," even though it was their fault. They were willing to take them back BUT at my expense. I will never do business with them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Poor business practices

    • Texas,
    • Feb 7, 2017

    I went online to look at the TacLight Lantern and considered ordering it. When I went as far as selecting it for purchase, I was presented with the payment information screen. I was serious at the time about ordering, so I proceeded.

    The next screen presented me with other options, including ordering a family pack of five at about $12.50 per light, so I chose that. When it took me to confirm my choices, it had one unit at full price plus the pack of five at discounted price. It would not allow me to remove the single unit at full price. I felt this was not for me; I don't need six lights, but would consider five if I get the lowest price on all of them! Anyway, I canceled out of the order at that point.

    Well, today, over six weeks later, I received a shipment confirmation email from noreply@customerstatus.com about the order of one unit at the full price. I NEVER got an order confirmation email from them, so I felt like my order was not completed.

    So, how should you do business and expect to have happy customers who give good reviews?

    1. Give all purchasing options up front, don't give other options only while the customer is checking out.

    2. If part of the order is considered to be already completed, show this information to the customer while they are considering your other ill-timed offers.

    3. Send an email confirmation AT THE TIME OF THE ORDER if you are taking the order. Don't let the customer assume that since they didn't want your special offer, they can opt out of the whole order if they, in fact, cannot.

    4. Never make your first contact with the customer by sending an email three days after you start processing their order shipment. That just makes you look sleazy; like you are afraid that if the customer knew about it, they would want to cancel it before you ship it.

    Bell & Bowell, you've managed to conduct poor business with me. At this point, I have the choice to accept the shipment for what it's worth, or call you after receiving it for a return, which will still cost me at least your web processing fee of $2 that I don't feel you deserve to keep. So, I may keep the order of a single overpriced lantern (according to many of the reviews here) if I ever actually receive it. I will be contacting you and my credit card company if I have ANY problems with the product, especially if I do not receive it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    TacLight Lantern

    • Hinsdale, Illinois,
    • Feb 7, 2017

    I ordered two of the upgraded lanterns on November 25th, 2016, for a total cost of $48. I received them on January 27th, 2017. The lanterns are very bright, and the magnetic base is a nice feature. I am pleased with the purchase but would not order from their website again. These lanterns can be purchased from Amazon and on eBay with much more reliable delivery.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not as advertised

    • Southaven, MS,
    • Feb 5, 2017

    I just got my TacLight lanterns in the mail today (January 28, 2017). I ordered these back in November. Luckily, I wasn't charged until they shipped. I am sending them back, but am having a hard time finding a return address.

    The whole lantern is cheap, gray plastic. It will definitely not hold up as a military grade aluminum one, though. One of the lanterns was cracked, and on one of them, the magnets wouldn't stay on the bottom due to screws that have backed out from poor assembly. The magnets just sit on top of the screw. They are bright, but you probably can't see it two miles away. I would not think these would be waterproof either.

    Oh and the package includes an arbitration agreement and says you have to ship it within 30 days. I hope I get the refund, but it's on my credit card so I would think so. Thank God I didn't use the debit card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Company not taking ownership of the call taker's error

    I place an order for one lantern at the regular price of $19.99. The order taker said I could add three more at $6.95 each. This order was placed 11/14/2016 and finally shipped on 1/21/2017 with only one lantern.

    The first time I called, they said it was their error, and they would ship the remaining three lanterns as soon as they arrived. Two hours later I called to ask for a supervisor to explain the error. The supervisor said the person that placed my order made it in error. Only one additional light could be ordered and not three. It is interesting how I found this out several months later. The printed order states that all four lanterns were shipped.

    The bottom line is, I made the decision to place an order based on the ability to order three additional lanterns, and now the company is not willing to take responsibility for the employee's error. One big additional piece of information is that the lantern I received was faulty. Total phone time (for both calls) was one hour and a half.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Never showed up

    • Bullhead City, AZ,
    • Feb 1, 2017

    My credit card was charged on November 7, 2016, but no one answers the phone, and the only info I can get online is that it is out of stock and I will be notified when it's shipped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Real bright

    • Wisconsin,
    • Jan 31, 2017

    This lantern is nice and bright, but the batteries don't last that long. I'm glad I have rechargeable batteries.

    I waited two months for this lantern, and it's not really worth the wait.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 52

Write a review for TacLight Lantern by Bell !

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review