About The Flipping Formula

Endorsed by Peter Souhleris and Dave Seymour, stars of the A&E TV show “Flipping Boston,” The Flipping Formula is a real estate educational system that claims to “simplify and demystify the real estate market” and to help individuals improve their financial position. On top of this, The Flipping Formula also claims to help supercharge your success using the program’s strategies, formulas, and techniques, such as how to fund your deal using other people’s money, how to fix up the property, and how to realize a huge profit.

Because of the big profits that investors can realize from flipping real estate, the industry has boomed over the past decade. And as a new investor, you probably feel overwhelmed by all the things you need to learn in order to become profitable, and perhaps even a little fearful that you’ll make a huge mistake. As such, real estate “mentoring” programs such as The Flipping Formula promise to help take a lot of the mystery out of real estate investing. But when it comes down to it, are they worth the money, or are they just full of empty promises? Take a look at what we found out.

The Flipping Formula Details

At its most basic, The Flipping Formula claims to include a proven formula for locating real estate deals, using other people’s money to repair them quickly, and then flipping them for “huge” profits, and that this same formula can work for you, regardless of the city in which you live.

By signing up for The Flipping Formula, the company claims that you’ll gain access to their Education Center, which acts as the foundation for your success. Here, you’ll receive the complete Flipping Formula, in addition to the Quick Start program, which is claimed to put you on the quickest path to making money in real estate during your first 30 days. In addition, you’ll also gain access to a library of insider videos, forms, deal calculators, webinars, and pre-recorded material from previous web seminars.

In addition to The Flipping Formula Education Center, the company also offers advanced training related to creative funding and financing, which can help you learn practical, real-world techniques and methods to fund your real estate investments. In these on-demand courses, which are claimed to be taught by one of the top private money experts in the nation, you’ll also learn recognize fundable deals, the 7 steps to fast funding, when to use equity deals vs. short sales, how to invest in real estate at a fraction of the value, and more.

On top of this, some of The Flipping Formula’s other advanced training programs include:

  • Personal Business Coach – This FastStart Three-Day Bootcamp is claimed to help you develop the interpersonal skills necessary to succeed at real estate investing; to achieve your goals faster; to set priorities and develop self-discipline; and how to conquer personal hurdles.
  • Real Estate Marketing Mastery – A 2-Day Marketing Mastery Camp held in either Scottsdale, AZ or Las Vegas, NV that is claimed to help improve your marketing through the use of social media, targeted lead generating websites, and other online options. You’ll also learn how to expand you network and increase your online visibility.
  • Wealth Strategies – Held in Park City, UT, Scottsdale, AZ, or Las Vegas, NV, this is an advanced 2-day camp that is claimed to help you know when to take action, how to create success, and how to maximize your income.
  • Flipping Formula Investor Summit – A 3-day event that claims to provide you with a wealth of information, give you the opportunity to network with other investors, and to locate “discounted cash flow” deals. Also includes appearances by Dave Seymour and Peter Souhleris.
  • 2-Day One-On-One Mentorship – After you’ve completed the 3-Day FastStart Bootcamp, you’ll have the opportunity to work with a Flipping Formula mentor in your market who can help you plan, strategize, and achieve your goals based on the previous training you’ve received.
  • Coaching – Claims to provide on-on-one support that can help you cut your learning time in half.

The Flipping Formula Pricing & Refund Policy

In order to obtain Flipping Formula pricing or refund information, you’ll need to contact customer support at (800) 680-0036.

Note: The Flipping Formula website advertises that you can sign up for a free trial for the Education Center, but there is no option to sign up after clicking on the link.

With this said, based on numerous customer reviews, it appears that Flipping Formula seminars and programs range between $2K and $50K.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About The Flipping Formula?

The Flipping Formula is operated by Premier Mentoring Inc. based out of Salt Lake City, UT. This is relevant because, although the company has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, they have more than 100 closed complaints over the past 3 years. Among these complaints, the most common appear to reference:

  • Difficulty obtaining refunds, even if cancelled within 3 days of signing a contract.
  • High-pressure sales tactics during seminars. In fact, several customers stated that one of your first assignments will be to call your credit card company and inquire about increasing your available limit. Several customers even complained that Flipping Formula staff promised them funding for a real estate deal if they signed up for a paid seminar, which never manifested.
  • That seminars (whether free or paid) contain very little usable information, and basically act as a sales funnel to get you to sign up for higher-cost seminars.

Outside of the BBB, online customer complaints appear to be similar to the above.

Can The Flipping Formula Really Help You Make Money with Real Estate Investing?

Now that you know more about what The Flipping Formula is and how it works, can it ultimately help you make money through real estate investments? Perhaps, although consider the following before handing over your credit card:

Star Struck

First, if you’re expecting to meet Dave or Pete at any of these events, you’ll likely be disappointed because these TV stars don’t host any of their seminars. On the other hand, it appears that “mentors” are simply employees of Premier Mentoring Inc., which is a company that has appears to have a reputation for hyping up their high-priced products, while providing very little value in return.

In fact, it’s not clear if either of the Flipping Boston stars actually created any of the educational material in The Flipping Formula seminars or education programs in the first place.

High Price and Questionable Value

Similar to other real estate “mentoring” programs such as Scott Yancey, Flip with Nick, and Freedom Mentor, it appears that The Flipping Formula is built around an initial free seminar, which is intended to convince individuals to purchase access to the $2K seminar. However, many customers have stated that this paid seminar contains very little usable information, and appears to be primarily aimed at convincing you to sign up for even more expensive programs, often totaling $40K or more.

Because of these high-pressure sales tactics, seminar-based real estate programs like these appear to offer very little value for your hard-earned money.

Bottom Line: Before handing over your credit card for seminar-based real estate programs such as The Flipping Formula, it’s probably a good idea to read some books and attend a local REI group meeting. By doing this, you may be able to gain much of the same information found in The Flipping Formula (perhaps even more), at a much less expensive price.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

57 Customer Reviews for The Flipping Formula

Average Customer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 14 4 stars: 3 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 7 1 stars: 31
Bottom Line: 30% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Beware - 260 consumer complaints with BBB since January 2012

    • Boston, MA,
    • Nov 5, 2016

    Went to the free seminar and knew something wasn't right. This is what I found from the Better Business Bureau:

    Both events are part of Premier Mentoring Inc. of Salt Lake City, a company that has received more than 260 consumer complaints with BBB since January 2012, 140 of those in the past two years.

    Many of those consumers say the business initially attracted them with tickets to free investment seminars and then charged them anywhere from $2,000 to more than $70,000 for follow-up real estate classes and personalized mentoring programs which they believed had little or no value to them.

    Complainants to BBB describe the company’s onsite sales pitches as aggressive and misleading. Some said they were able to obtain partial refunds only after contacting BBB or law enforcement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    My impression

    I went to this free seminar. They didn't cover much info as far as a secret formula (you have to attend the 2k training for that lol) turns out after the 3-day 2k training. There, they just try to sell you more, expensive training from what I've read here. I'm not usually talked into anything but I agreed to attend the free seminar with my mom so she wouldn't go alone. The ad said they would provide lunch or dinner. however, when we got there, there was a bag with a chewy bar and chocolate chip cookies oh my chair. Clearly, I wasn't there for the food but this speaks to their honesty and the "straightforwardness" they like to talk about. They are right about real estate, it's a good time to get into it but you don't need people to sell you "secrets" find some local REI in the area and talk to them about getting started.

    I bet none of them learned through these seminars. They also made a lot of assumptions about attendees by saying such as, “Thank you for getting off the couch today and making a move for your future”. Something to that effect.

    They talk down to you so you can want to be "in" even more. Once the presentation is over you have like a 10-minute window to sign up and pay your 2k for "in-depth training". I got on my phone immediately to research and the mentors were literally stalking me by handing me forms and clearly trying to get me off the phone probably so that I wouldn't see this kind of stuff and reviews. I picked up on the fact that they didn't want me to make an educated decision before paying they. Instead, they wanted me to make a rash decision so I had a feeling it was a scam and left.

    Then later I found all these reviews and realized I was right. Intuition is key. They prey on the hopeless which most of these people were "just looking for a break". You could tell these people weren't financially capable of forking over 2k but again they kept saying “It's not for everyone, only those who want to be RICH”. I think it's a typical scam/scheming, this is a lot like the model Scientology uses, they just keep selling you more training or "cleansing", whatever those freaks are selling.

    If you read the 5-star reviews titled "Thanks Pete and Dave", whoever their names are (I don't watch TV and you shouldn't either) they're clearly fake to bring up the average which is like 2 stars.

    Those A&E guys weren't even there so if you actually attended you wouldn't have addressed it to them. They very likely did not create this formula, just lent their faces to the program. Think before you buy guys and gals!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Hats off to Pete & Dave

    • Holladay, Utah,
    • Sep 13, 2016

    The Flipping Formula will provide a great opportunity and education. Like most education, it will cost money and require work. As Jim Carey put it, “Visualization works if you work hard”. That's the thing. You can't just visualize and go eat a sandwich. If you want to spend money and expect to have more money fall in your lap in return, this isn't for you. If you want to learn something new and valuable and apply this knowledge then you CAN make this a lucrative business. Thanks Pete and Dave. Bring your friends!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Better than expected

    • Salt Lake City, Utah,
    • Aug 9, 2016

    Pete and Dave are so great! They gave great information and I learned so much from them. I can't believe all the info they teach you, the only issue is being able to put all this content to use. I wasn't sure about the event at first, but I was pleasantly surprised about how much I actually took away. I would definitely attend again, and next time I am bringing a friend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Thanks Pete & Dave

    I have met Pete & Dave at the Investor's Summit in Vegas and was able to ask a few questions and take the time to thank them for all they've done for me. After retiring, I never thought I'd get the chance to make big financial risks but with the program I am able to take risks with other people's money and every single one of those risks has been a success. I haven't lost money since starting the program and am truly grateful for all they have taught me. If you join the program, make sure you go to Vegas. It is GREAT.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 11 people found this review helpful

    We made it work in Honolulu

    A lot of people are afraid to invest in real estate in Hawaii due to the extremely high cost of properties - me included. I trusted the team leading me, and I trusted the program and it's 110% working! Unlike certain areas of the mainland, I have to have a lot of trusted investors on my side to lend extremely large amounts of money but my mentor taught me how to get in contact and gain the trust of these powerful investors and hard money lenders. I have made over a $640,000 profit with using Dave & Pete's program. I definitely questioned if the cost of training and mentoring was worth it in the beginning but now that I've been involved for over a year, I can tell you, you WILL make your money back and more. Huge fan of the program and the ability to invest in Hawaii and a few properties near family in Saint George, UT.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Great Program

    • Jacksonville, Florida,
    • Jun 1, 2016

    The program Pete & Dave put together has worked really well for me and my family. I'm able to spend more time with my kids at home instead of getting home late from the office. It's truly amazing to be able to successfully invest in real estate knowing you have a team of people backing you up and helping you along the way. That has a cost but it has truly been priceless for the freedom it has given me and my family. Would highly recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 9 people found this review helpful

    I DO recommend it!

    I have been a student of the Flipping Formula program for almost a year now and my life has changed significantly. I tried my hand at real estate investing a few years ago and ended up losing a ton of money and getting no where.

    So this time around I invested in an education and am doing better than I had expected. I have provided over $125k and love what I do! The ability to do what I love is priceless and I would 100% recommend this to a friend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Big Flipping Formila Fan

    Flipping Formula does a great job of providing students with a way to invest in real estate with a sped-up education. Anytime I have a question about a contract or potential investment, I call up my coach. He is an active real estate investor as well and is truly so knowledgeable. If you want the education, sign up. It's completely worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Just signed up!

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • May 31, 2016

    I just left the free seminar in Albuquerque and signed up for the 3-day workshop. My friend and I are going in on the cost together and are confident in the results. We know it will take time, money, and work! We aren't signing up for a get-rich-quick system, we invested in an educational program. We are excited to start and anxious for next weekend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Worth It

    • Idaho Falls, ID,
    • May 30, 2016

    My sister sent me this website when she saw all the negative reviews since it's so different from the experience we had. Jane invited me to attend this free event with her since I own a construction company and she thought I'd be interested in residential investing. We went and ended up liking the service that was being offered and signed up for the workshop and then spent the money on further training. I can't thank Dave and Pete enough for the education they have provided me and my family and how different my experience has been from others. It was a great investment for us and we are learning so much. We recently went to the Investor's Summit in Las Vegas where we purchased properties, spoke with lenders and rubbed shoulders with celebrities you see on HGTV, A&E, etc. Such a cool experience. That's just one of the pros you get with this program. Like my sister said, this isn't for everyone but it's working for us.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 57

Write a review for The Flipping Formula!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review