About Theradome

If you’re one of the 32 million women in the U.S. who suffers from hair loss, Theradome is a new product that claims to help grow new hair, increase the size of your hair follicles, and to slow—or even stop—hair loss. In fact, the company claims that Theradome is the first and only FDA OTC cleared clinical strength laser hair therapy for home use, and that it’s 100% proven to work.

But is this really the case? Can Theradome really help regrow your thinning hair? Let’s comb through the facts and find out.

Understanding the Theradome

At its most basic, Theradome is a cool laser treatment intended to be worn on the head that, which claims to have been developed over 5 years of research by biomedical engineers and doctors. The Theradome helmet weighs less than 16oz and is claimed to fit 98% of the population, but provides the same power, light level, and concentration as in-clinic lasers, but in the comfort of your own home.

Unlike much of the competition, when used for 20 minutes two times per week, Theradome is claimed to feature high efficiency, specially developed lasers that increase blood flow to the scalp and reduce inflammation. In addition, Theradome’s proprietary lasers emit a very specific wavelength of light, remain cool when used, and are controlled through microprocessor algorithms.

While Theradome is pending FDA clearance for men, it is currently marketed to women, and is claimed to be effective against nearly all stages of hair loss. The company claims that the helmet increases blood flow to the scalp and hair follicles, stimulates protein synthesis and cellular metabolism, and promotes thickness and density. With this in mind, the helmet is claimed to result in three primary benefits:

  1. Grows new hair.
  2. Doubles the follicle diameter of existing hair (reverses miniaturization).
  3. Slows (and even stops) hair loss.

If used as directed, Theradome claims to halt hair loss within 18-26 weeks, to regrow hair within 28-52 weeks, and to provide fuller, thicker hair after 100 weeks.

Theradome features soft rubber pegs and foam pads for comfort, as well as a built-in speaker, while the automated treatment counting system keeps track of the total number of treatments you’ve undergone.

Theradome is claimed to result in zero side effects, and that it can be used with most hair-loss medications, and 30 days after surgical hair loss treatment.

Theradome Pricing & Refund Policy

Theradome is currently priced at $795, which includes free shipping. With your order, you’ll receive one Theradome laser helmet, charging cradle/AC charger, protection bag, and mobile app.

Theradome comes with a 120-day money back guarantee, which begins from the date the helmet is delivered. However, this guarantee only applies to U.S. customers, and all international orders are considered final. There were no additional refund details provided on the Theradome website, even in the Terms & Conditions.

Theradome hair loss helmets come with a 1-year manufacturer’s warranty against defects in workmanship, although you can purchase an extended 3-year warranty if you choose.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Theradome?

Theradome is based out of Pleasanton, CA, and claims that all their helmets—which began shipping in November 2013—are manufactured in the U.S. However, we read at least one customer review claiming that a sticker on the inside of their helmet read “Made in China.”

Given the fact that Theradome is only about six months old, and that it can take almost two years to experience full results, online customer reviews are currently few and far between. However, there appears to be a healthy level of skepticism about the product, which is something we’ll explore further in the following section.

What’s the Bottom Line About Theradome?

Besides making you look silly (if we’re being honest), what’s the bottom line about Theradome? Let’s just say we’d recommend saving your hard-earned money. Here’s why:

First, it’s important not to confuse “FDA cleared” with “FDA approved.” According to the FDA’s website, a cleared device simply means that “that the medical device is "substantially equivalent" to a device that is already legally marketed for the same use.” In other words, the device will be significantly similar to something else already on the market. On the other hand, “approval” only occurs after the FDA has received proof “…of the device’s safety and effectiveness.” In layman’s terms, this means that Theradome has simply let the FDA know that their hair loss helmet is very similar to an existing device already for sale through another company—not that it actually does what it claims.

With this in mind, ESRP (associated with the Better Business Bureau) released a statement in April 2014 that requests that the company “modify or discontinue certain advertising claims for Theradome,” as they don’t provide adequate proof for some of its main claims, in addition to “insufficient evidence to demonstrate that the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) had “approved” the product “to increase the diameter of hair up to 200%.”

On top of the vagueness between “cleared” and “approved,” another seemingly fuzzy term used on the Theradome website is “dormant,” as the company claims that their hair loss helmet can reinvigorate dormant follicles. The important distinction here is that dormant follicles are ones that have begun producing increasingly thin hair, while dead follicles are no longer capable of growing hair at all. In other words, similar to products like Rogaine and Scalp Med, Theradome can only regrow hair from live follicles, which means that if you’re already experiencing advanced hair loss, you may not achieve the results you’re after.

Finally, based on some very detailed Theradome reviews we found during our research (including this one), the overall sentiment so far seems to be that the product doesn’t work, or at the very least, that the results aren’t in line with its high cost.

What’s your experience with Theradome? Did you experience results, or was it just a waste of money? Tell the world about it by writing a review!

See also: How to Choose a Hair Loss Product, Even if You Don’t Know What to Do

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

18 Customer Reviews for Theradome

Average Customer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 12
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 18
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Theradome worked for me

    I have been using it for about 16 weeks now and I do see some result. As a woman it is very devastating to see my hair fall out, this was really my last hope. I started using it and was skeptical especially because of the reviews on here but I decided to take a chance. I'm to the point now where my hairdresser is commenting on my hair. I'm happy with how my results are turning out, I don't have long luscious hair (yet), but my patches are greatly diminishing and I'm happy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Theradome Hair Growth Helmet

    I have been using my helmet for 29 weeks after having surgery and my hair has thickened and re-grown in places where it was very patchy. I'm very thankful for this technology and would recommend it to anyone experiencing similar problems.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    The Theradome helmet does not work, don't buy it.

    • Troy, MI,
    • Apr 20, 2016

    In my 192 treatment session (75 treatment week), I do not see any improvement at all on my hair. In fact, I am seeing it getting worse and worse. I have photos of my evolution that support this fact. I have the feeling that the follicles are getting damage.

    Before using the helmet, I used spectral DNC from DS Laboratories for over 4 years. And this treatment really gave me good results which by the way, were gone away after the helmet.

    I contacted Theradome and Bosley but they refused to answer my email and still I haven't received any response from them.

    I will definitely will stop this very destructive technique and will begin to tell my story in the forums in order to prevent hair damage on other people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Major waste of money!

    I did not experience hair growth, but I did notice the rate of hair loss was slowed. Additionally, the hair had more body, HOWEVER, the company SUCKS and is disreputable! At the time I purchased my Theradome, no warranty was provided. When I called about this, I was told I would not have any problems, which was not case. Several times during the year, after I first received my Theradome, I had to call them and their customer service was able to help. Then, about 13 months after I received the device, it stopped working. After many calls, the company mailed me a new battery charger. Still, my device did not work. Only then was I advised that a new warranty program had recently been established for purchasers like me, who had received no warranty. This new program required me to send Theradome a check for $100 or $150 (I can't recall the exact amount), and they would repair my unit!

    I have never received such shoddy, unprofessional treatment! At about the time my Theradome died, my front-load 13 year-old Whirlpool washer died, and though my extended warranty had expired one month prior, Whirlpool sent a tech to my home, who fixed the machine and did not charge me for the repair call, only the needed replacement part.

    If you are interested in laser hair therapy, go to howtoLou.com for directions on making your own device, for less than $100. Or check out other online retailers for devices similar to Theradome, for less than $200. From what I can tell, the major difference seems to be Theradome uses a hard-hat type helmet, while the others use a less-bulky type of head gear.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Absolute Trash

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Sep 1, 2015

    I'm a male in my mid twenties. This review is based on my own experience.

    A year after getting hair transplant for the upper/front part of my head, I decided to give the Theradome a try to fill in the gaps. My hair surgeon recommended it, and she was in fact featured in the original advertisement.

    I used the Theradome for over a year, twice a week, and did not see any improvement. During this time, I did not use any form of Minoxidil. I did, however, continue using 1.25mg of Finasteride, everyday, and have been for several years.

    I cataloged/photographed my hair during the time I used this product, using the exact same harsh indoor lighting, no outdoor/external light, and with a fixed tripod. I did not see a single new hair (in the form of peach fuzz, the initial stage for all new hair).

    You may ask why I didn't 'double up' on my hair growth chance by also using Minoxidil during this time. I was convinced into thinking the helmet would work just fine on it's own and wanted to test/believe in it's supposed effectiveness.

    It would be interesting if someone with the tools and know-how could independently verify the authenticity of the Theradome. Does it really use 678nm laser light at 443 joules? Does it actually promote hair growth with a control group using no other form of medication?

    Tamim, and the people working with him, are frauds. If this helmet is so effective, why won't he agree to publish/release his clinical reviews/papers? Very surprising for someone who was a former NASA scientist.

    Several weeks ago I filled out a questionnaire administered by Theradome and told them of my dissatisfaction and zero growth. I was contacted on the phone asking for more details. I explained my situation and was told they'd get back to me. I have yet to hear from them.

    I sent a request for a refund, and am currently waiting to hear back from support.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Expected to pay $20,000, left paying $700

    • Portland,
    • Aug 9, 2015

    If you're prone to male pattern baldness you're going to go bald no matter what. In my case I took testosterone and started losing hair so needed something to kick start my hair and restore what I have. I've been using it for two months now and would say yes I think it's having an effect. I bought it at Bosley because I was going to do hair restoration for the hair that fell out due to testosterone use and my impatience. I did research on hair restoration and went into Bosley expecting to spend up to 20 grand. I didn't even know about the Theradome. The rep Casey in Austin Texas looked me over and said " if I were you I'd just use the laser treatment". I said "what are you talking about?" And he explained it to me. There's a comb version or helmet. Again I don't have male pattern baldness in my family. So I'm not naturally prone to going bald. Casey said if he were me he would use the Theradome. Also he said if I'm not happy with the results in one year I can bring it back for a full refund and use that towards hair restoration. So this is a guy who knows what he's talking about and could've easily sold me on a hair restoration surgery for thousands of dollars. I walked out with the Theradome and will continue to try it for a year. Using it every other day. You can use it twice a day every day. Your scalp needs time to heal. Just like lifting weights. So that's my experience. Take it for what it's worth.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Product is crap, support is crap.

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    This product does not charge. It lost all of its battery power and now it never charges no matter how long it's left plugged in.

    I also contacted their online live chat support and the rep was a complete flippant jerk.

    Someone is well off with this company and this product. Why is Bosley Clinic selling this crap?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    What a joke.

    Always follow your instincts. I knew after looking at this piece of crap that I should close the box and return it and I tried doing just that, but was hassled so much in the return process that I figured I'd try it. Big mistake. Noticeably less hair in 30 days, so much so that I was afraid to put it back on my head.

    This device is a complete joke, just like the "NASA scientist" that invented it. Maybe he was part of the NASA that was constantly messing up launches and losing multiple million dollar rockets and got fired.

    Turn your Theradome on and look at the light pattern. There are overlaps, areas with no coverage, etc.

    There should be a class action lawsuit against this company as it is completely fraudulent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    • New York,
    • Jul 17, 2015

    I've been using the Theradome twice daily which includes in morning and before bed for almost a year. My hair is still falling out. There is absolutely no hair growing in at all. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worked for Me

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I've been using the Theradome for 20 minutes everyday for the past five months. I have noticed a moderate amount of hair growth. I've had no technical issues with the product. About two months ago I decided to buy the Intelligent Nutrients Pure Plenty hair care line that uses stem cells to treat the scalp. Another round of new hair growth has started since using the hair care line. The hair growth is significant enough that I want other people to know that it does work for some of us.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Didn't improve thinning hair at all in 10 months.

    • Twin cities area, MN,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    The Theradome did not work for me. No improvement whatsoever. In fact, the hair loss has been continuing. I feel duped by their claims.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a review for Theradome!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review