About TrackR

Although you may have difficulty finding your wallet or your keys, in today’s market, you definitely won’t have any problem finding products that can help you address this problem, one of the most popular of which is TrackR.

Originally founded in 2009 as Phone Halo, TrackR is a tech startup that specializes in manufacturing low-energy Bluetooth dongles that can attach to an item, which can then be located in seconds using your iPhone or Android smartphone. In fact, with a variety of TrackR devices available, the company claims that they can help you find your dog, wallet, laptop, purse, bike, or nearly anything else.

By claiming that their thin, durable devices offer the simplest way to track all your items, and that you’ll “never lose anything again,” TrackR has managed to raise more than $1.2 million online through Indiegogo crowdfunding campaigns, which have greatly fueled their success. But when it comes down to it, do TrackR Bluetooth dongles have a reputation for working well, or for being rushed to market? Let’s find out below.

The Details Behind How TrackR Works

Currently, TrackR offers 3 different Bluetooth-based dongles:

  • StickR TrackR – A coin-sized device (smaller than a quarter) made of plastic that uses an adhesive to attach to whatever you need.
  • Wallet TrackR – About the size of a credit card, this is an ultra-thin, plastic device that can slip inside your wallet or can be attached to any other commonly misplaced item. Fully customizable, including sound alerts and more.
  • TrackR bravo – TrackR’s newest device, this small, coin-sized device constructed of anodized aluminum attaches to your valuable items. Can be looped through a keying, placed in your wallet, stuck to a laptop or bike, or even worn around your dog’s collar.

Whichever option you choose, your TrackR dongle with work in conjunction with the TrackR app, which is available for iPhone and Android smartphones. Once connected, your phone will attempt to connect to the TrackR dongle via Bluetooth, and will then notify you once it’s been found, as well as its approximate distance. If you’re still unable to locate the item, you can “ring” it by instructing it to emit an audible “beep.” In addition, if your phone gets too far from whatever you have the dongle attached to (e.g. keys, wallet, etc.), TrackR will notify you so you don’t leave it behind.

When compared to the competition, TrackR is attempting to differentiate themselves by implementing “Crowd GPS” technology into their dongles. Ultimately, this means that even if you’re out of Bluetooth range, if another TrackR user comes within 100 feet of the item, you’ll receive an alert of its approximate location. We’ll talk more about this in the final section.

TrackR Pricing & Refund Policy

Each of the 3 TrackR dongles are priced as follows:

StickR (ships in 1-3 weeks):

  • 1 Device Pack: $24.95
  • 2 Device Pack: $39.95
  • 10 Device Pack: $149.95

Wallet (ships in 1-3 weeks):

  • 1 Device Pack: $29.95
  • 2 Device Pack: $39.95
  • 4 Device Pack: $79.95

Bravo (will not ship until 1/7/15):

  • 1 Device Pack: $29
  • 2 Device Pack: $49
  • 5 Device Pack: $95
  • 10 Device Pack: $99

For the TrackR bravo, you can also order custom laser engraving for $10, and an accessory pack (includes pet collar, metal loop, and waterproof shell) for $19. The bravo’s default color is steel, although it’s also available in black, rose gold, or sky blue for an additional $5.

If purchased directly through the company, TrackR dongles comes with free Standard shipping within the U.S.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About TrackR?

Although the TrackR bravo won’t be released until January 7, 2015, the Wallet and StickR models appear to have a fairly evenly mixed online customer reputation, so you could probably expect much of the same for the bravo. Among those who were pleased with their TrackR devices, the most common compliments cited that they were easy to pair and to set up.

However, regardless of the device model (even some of the company’s previous models such as the Cobra Tag), the most common complaints referenced:

  • Poor Bluetooth range (most users found it to be in the 10-20 feet range, versus the 100 feet advertised by TrackR).
  • Frequent disconnections (and the alerts that come along with it). In fact, some users reported having to turn this feature off because of the constant alerts, even if their phones were within a couple feet of the device.
  • That the location feature doesn’t always work properly (e.g. the app may show your item as being several blocks away when it’s actually in the same room).

Is the TrackR Helpful for Finding Lost Items, or Will it Make You Lose Your Mind in Frustration?

If you’re prone to losing small, important items such as your wallet or keys, can TrackR devices help you remain a little more organized? Perhaps, but keep the following in mind before placing your order:

Limited Usefulness

First and foremost, depending on your needs, TrackR devices may not ultimately be very useful for you. This is because once you’re out of Bluetooth range, the TrackR app will only show you the last known location of the item you’re monitoring. As such, if the item was stolen and moved from its last known location, this information may not do you any good.

Speaking of Bluetooth range: When testing their devices, numerous customers claimed that it took the TrackR app several minutes to establish a Bluetooth connection with the dongle. This could mean that, even if you know the last general location of the item you’re looking for, it could take a long time for the app to connect to it, and to send a “beep” to help you find it. As such, going room-to-room around your house looking for lost wallet or keys may turn into a very time-consuming process.

Crowd GPS Only Works with a Crowd

Next, the key differentiator from the competition is TrackR’s Crowd GPS, which claims to alert you any time another user comes within 100 feet of your item, which could help you locate it once you’re out of Bluetooth range. However, this first requires an enormous number of TrackR users in order to be even slightly useful.

To address this concern, the company recently released 100,000 of its devices to the public, although only time will tell the actual number it takes to be useful, and whether or not this number is attainable in the first place.

Bottom line: Will You Find Your Lost Wallet?

Like most technology products, “breakthroughs” such as TrackR can often take generations to be dialed in and to work as well as they’re advertised. With this in mind, although the company appears to be constantly improving, TrackR devices may be ideal for tech-savvy early adopters, but the rest of us may want to wait until the technology is improved before handing over our hard-earned money.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

203 Customer Reviews for TrackR

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 4 1 stars: 194
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 203
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bought and returned

    • Summit, MS,
    • Jan 14, 2017

    I bought it and then returned it. They have no customer service, kept my $126.00 and refused to refund. Scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Stay away

    • Jan 10, 2017

    I made the mistake of purchasing several of these prior to looking at reviews. I found it difficult to accept all the negative reviews because initially, everything seems to be working well, the app downloaded and installed fine, and it paired easily and quickly with Bluetooth. Then the problems became evident.

    First, after about 20 feet (with the phone and TrackR in line of sight) the Bluetooth connection was lost. As I moved back into the area where the connection was last known, the device would not reconnect. After waiting for a minute or so with no reconnection, I finally set the TrackR right next to my phone, and after maybe 15 -20 seconds, it would connect. This, of course, renders the device worthless. If I have to set my lost keys next to my phone for a connection to occur, then this device is non-functional. That is too bad, I really wanted this device to work. Surely the company knows this device does not work as advertised.

    Secondly, the siren on the TrackR is far too quiet. It's loud enough where you could locate a lost item in a quiet environment if you were within 10 feet or so. Although this limits the usefulness of the product, if it would maintain Bluetooth connection at least you could use it.

    Lastly, the map function is not specific enough. It's of no value. But I would have been happy if the product would maintain Bluetooth connection so I could at least attempt to hear the siren and locate my keys. Alas, this was asking too much.

    A one-star rating is far too generous. This is a product that serves no purpose. It is a great idea that was poorly executed. I will now have to see if I can obtain a refund. From what I have read, no one responds from TrackR to requests for tech support or refunds.

    Has anyone had a positive experience with this device? If so, how did you overcome the limitations mentioned above and malfunction?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Palm Coast, FL,
    • Jan 8, 2017

    I tried to return the product, but was forced to file a PayPal claim to get my money back. Stay AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    TrackR products are garbage!

    I saw an ad that AOL had on their home page and figured this would be a nice product to have for the family's hard to replace items such as keys, wallet, purses, etc.

    I received the item within a week and within a day, they failed. I tried getting customer service but it's an 800 number that does not give you the option to leave a message or to speak with someone directly.

    I tried sending an email and received an automated response that they are busy and will get back to me. Since then, I have sent three more emails and still nothing.

    They are very smart at getting the useless product out the door but don't want anything to do with their own refund policy.

    I wish I had read all these reviews before I purchased and now I'm just one of the statistics of this fraudulent company.

    Do not buy from TrackR.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    totally useless for pets

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 7, 2016

    They explicitly say it can be used for pets but totally untrue. It will not provide me an 'exact' location by any means. My cat can be 2 houses away or in my backyard and it does not track the difference. Relies on crowd GPS which means not reliable in unpopulated areas. USELESS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    TrackR

    • Prescott, AZ,
    • Dec 1, 2016

    This product actually sucks. Had high hopes that it would be a useful tool but to my dismay there is no way this thing could benefit anyone. I can have it within 2 feet of my phone and it says it's far away. I have 2 attached to my dog who likes to explore when we are hiking, and neither one will tell me where he is, even if he's on the other side of a bush. The map will show a location within a 3/4 mile radius which is of no use if you're trying to find your keys. Have sent messages to their automated emails but no answer back. I'm going to start a crowd source company selling pebbles as tracking devices and promise the moon. When somebody complains I will just ignore them and hope they go away, just like this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Worst product and company ever

    • Nov 25, 2016

    I wish I could give it a negative rating!

    I am not sure what is worse, the device (which doesn't work) or the "support" that comes with it.

    This has been a complete disappointment from start to finish. The order took FOREVER to fill, when I get the devices, they don't work, and when I try to get a refund, I get the runaround.

    I have asked 5 times for clarification on the refund policy, you know, because you need authorization before sending back the product and I keep getting sent back to the refund policy.

    Do not buy this product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Batteries die after a few months.

    I thought this would be a great tool and purchased 10 TrackR Bravos for my family. But after just 3 months all the batteries started dying and TrackR does not respond to any of my inquiries.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from this company!

    I ordered several TrackR Bravos directly from the TrackR website on Sept 10. They have not shipped my order nor changed its status from "being processed" in nearly a month.

    They are literally not answering their 800 number (they say as much on their outgoing message). The only possible mode of communication is by email to their "support" team, who are supposed to respond w/in 24 hours. There is never any meaningful response, only an automated one saying how gosh darn busy they are, what with the huge popularity of their products.

    I've emailed them several times and it appears that they've decided to stop sending me even the automated messages. They have now blocked me from posting or messaging on their Facebook page because I made several negative comments and publicly demanded a refund. I've been left high and dry, and there are many more like me, check their FB page.

    Also check out the huge number of complaints on other websites, including the Better Business Bureau. Oh, and there's another Facebook called "TrackR Bravo is a Scam."

    The TrackR CEO, Chris Herbert, was interviewed on Paul Kemp's "The App Guy" podcast. I contacted him to see if he had an in with the CEO. All he had was the guy's email address, so he reported my problem and forwarded him my email describing it (this was before the FB blocking).

    So I know the head of the TrackR company knows my name, my contact information, and that I want a refund. I don't expect to see my money again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Complete farce

    This was a total waste of my money - 100%. I did not even bother to unpack the 3 of 5 units I purchased. Simply put - it does not work. Then comes the after sales service. I tried to talk to someone and was directed to e-mail which is fine for this day and age. I asked for a return address and never got a response back. Do not waste your money on this. I have 5 units (three in original package) I will give away for absolutely free.

    BTY - in my 15 years of on-line purchase I have never written a negative review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    This company should be sued for misrepresentation of product

    The product is a piece of crap. One can get better and cheaper products on AliExpress.com.

    The Bluetooth has a very poor range and doesn't work beyond 10 feet. They have videos showing it working like a GPS tracker but in reality, it would require millions of people to use the app and even then I doubt it would work with such poor Bluetooth connectivity.

    If I was in the US, I would sue them for misleading advertising

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 203

Write a review for TrackR!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review