About TrackR

Although you may have difficulty finding your wallet or your keys, in today’s market, you definitely won’t have any problem finding products that can help you address this problem, one of the most popular of which is TrackR.

Originally founded in 2009 as Phone Halo, TrackR is a tech startup that specializes in manufacturing low-energy Bluetooth dongles that can attach to an item, which can then be located in seconds using your iPhone or Android smartphone. In fact, with a variety of TrackR devices available, the company claims that they can help you find your dog, wallet, laptop, purse, bike, or nearly anything else.

By claiming that their thin, durable devices offer the simplest way to track all your items, and that you’ll “never lose anything again,” TrackR has managed to raise more than $1.2 million online through Indiegogo crowdfunding campaigns, which have greatly fueled their success. But when it comes down to it, do TrackR Bluetooth dongles have a reputation for working well, or for being rushed to market? Let’s find out below.

The Details Behind How TrackR Works

Currently, TrackR offers 3 different Bluetooth-based dongles:

  • StickR TrackR – A coin-sized device (smaller than a quarter) made of plastic that uses an adhesive to attach to whatever you need.
  • Wallet TrackR – About the size of a credit card, this is an ultra-thin, plastic device that can slip inside your wallet or can be attached to any other commonly misplaced item. Fully customizable, including sound alerts and more.
  • TrackR bravo – TrackR’s newest device, this small, coin-sized device constructed of anodized aluminum attaches to your valuable items. Can be looped through a keying, placed in your wallet, stuck to a laptop or bike, or even worn around your dog’s collar.

Whichever option you choose, your TrackR dongle with work in conjunction with the TrackR app, which is available for iPhone and Android smartphones. Once connected, your phone will attempt to connect to the TrackR dongle via Bluetooth, and will then notify you once it’s been found, as well as its approximate distance. If you’re still unable to locate the item, you can “ring” it by instructing it to emit an audible “beep.” In addition, if your phone gets too far from whatever you have the dongle attached to (e.g. keys, wallet, etc.), TrackR will notify you so you don’t leave it behind.

When compared to the competition, TrackR is attempting to differentiate themselves by implementing “Crowd GPS” technology into their dongles. Ultimately, this means that even if you’re out of Bluetooth range, if another TrackR user comes within 100 feet of the item, you’ll receive an alert of its approximate location. We’ll talk more about this in the final section.

TrackR Pricing & Refund Policy

Each of the 3 TrackR dongles are priced as follows:

StickR (ships in 1-3 weeks):

  • 1 Device Pack: $24.95
  • 2 Device Pack: $39.95
  • 10 Device Pack: $149.95

Wallet (ships in 1-3 weeks):

  • 1 Device Pack: $29.95
  • 2 Device Pack: $39.95
  • 4 Device Pack: $79.95

Bravo (will not ship until 1/7/15):

  • 1 Device Pack: $29
  • 2 Device Pack: $49
  • 5 Device Pack: $95
  • 10 Device Pack: $99

For the TrackR bravo, you can also order custom laser engraving for $10, and an accessory pack (includes pet collar, metal loop, and waterproof shell) for $19. The bravo’s default color is steel, although it’s also available in black, rose gold, or sky blue for an additional $5.

If purchased directly through the company, TrackR dongles comes with free Standard shipping within the U.S.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About TrackR?

Although the TrackR bravo won’t be released until January 7, 2015, the Wallet and StickR models appear to have a fairly evenly mixed online customer reputation, so you could probably expect much of the same for the bravo. Among those who were pleased with their TrackR devices, the most common compliments cited that they were easy to pair and to set up.

However, regardless of the device model (even some of the company’s previous models such as the Cobra Tag), the most common complaints referenced:

  • Poor Bluetooth range (most users found it to be in the 10-20 feet range, versus the 100 feet advertised by TrackR).
  • Frequent disconnections (and the alerts that come along with it). In fact, some users reported having to turn this feature off because of the constant alerts, even if their phones were within a couple feet of the device.
  • That the location feature doesn’t always work properly (e.g. the app may show your item as being several blocks away when it’s actually in the same room).

Is the TrackR Helpful for Finding Lost Items, or Will it Make You Lose Your Mind in Frustration?

If you’re prone to losing small, important items such as your wallet or keys, can TrackR devices help you remain a little more organized? Perhaps, but keep the following in mind before placing your order:

Limited Usefulness

First and foremost, depending on your needs, TrackR devices may not ultimately be very useful for you. This is because once you’re out of Bluetooth range, the TrackR app will only show you the last known location of the item you’re monitoring. As such, if the item was stolen and moved from its last known location, this information may not do you any good.

Speaking of Bluetooth range: When testing their devices, numerous customers claimed that it took the TrackR app several minutes to establish a Bluetooth connection with the dongle. This could mean that, even if you know the last general location of the item you’re looking for, it could take a long time for the app to connect to it, and to send a “beep” to help you find it. As such, going room-to-room around your house looking for lost wallet or keys may turn into a very time-consuming process.

Crowd GPS Only Works with a Crowd

Next, the key differentiator from the competition is TrackR’s Crowd GPS, which claims to alert you any time another user comes within 100 feet of your item, which could help you locate it once you’re out of Bluetooth range. However, this first requires an enormous number of TrackR users in order to be even slightly useful.

To address this concern, the company recently released 100,000 of its devices to the public, although only time will tell the actual number it takes to be useful, and whether or not this number is attainable in the first place.

Bottom line: Will You Find Your Lost Wallet?

Like most technology products, “breakthroughs” such as TrackR can often take generations to be dialed in and to work as well as they’re advertised. With this in mind, although the company appears to be constantly improving, TrackR devices may be ideal for tech-savvy early adopters, but the rest of us may want to wait until the technology is improved before handing over our hard-earned money.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

214 Customer Reviews for TrackR

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  205
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 214
Sort reviews by:

  • Don't bother!

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Aug 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would give it zero stars if I could.

    I bought a TrackR Bravo for my girlfriend who is prone to misplacing her keys and phone. I attached it to her keys and loaded the app on my phone first to test the device's capabilities. The first thing I noticed is how long it took for the Bluetooth to connect, even when I was in the same room. The second negative was that although TrackR said it had a range of almost 100 feet, it was more like 30. Then we tried the crowd locator feature. I live in Baltimore, where there should be potentially thousands of these things, and I figured at least one would give me a notification. She works downtown with maybe half a million other people within a few miles, so the chances of someone else with one were pretty good. Nothing, not one alert.

    So I contacted TrackR and after telling me there were devices that "may" have faulty batteries, they sent me a TrackR Pixel. When I received it, I removed the original device and replaced it with the Pixel, with the same result.

    I even took the TrackR Bravo (the original device I bought) and configured it in the app and placed it on her desk at work, and STILL didn't get a crowd notification even though the two devices were virtually right next to each other.

    The bottom line is, the product does NOT function as intended. If you truly need a device to track your phone/pet/luggage, I suggest spending the money and get a REAL GPS tracker. If you just want to find your lost keys in your house, this would work fine, although you can buy a device on Amazon for half the cost and three times the range.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Complete crap.

    I made the mistake of buying five of these blue tooth receivers. Yes, that's all it is, a lousy blue tooth receiver. The advertisements imply that it's some sort of a tracking device, but it isn't. If other people who have the application on their phone happen to be within Bluetooth range, only then would you get feedback of where your tagged item would be. If nobody had the application on their phone, then you'd never find your item!

    What really irritates me is that the batteries only last about two months, not the advertised one year! Who wants to be replacing batteries every two months? So for me, if I remember correctly, the $95 I paid for 5 TrackR Bravo was money thrown into the trashcan, which is exactly where the TrackR's are going. If you want a real tracker, this device isn't one!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Couldn't find an elephant covered in devices

    Even though the elephant was locked in a phone booth in Times Square and you were standing right next to it, do not expect TrackR to find it.

    It will, at best, still think it was in Africa. The most useless piece of crap ever purchased!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Big promise, no follow through

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jun 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Product does not work as advertised. I have 5 units. Syncing to the phone is fine but the only way to locate is within 2-4 feet.

    • Distance Indicator - does not work.
    • Item Ringer - does not work.
    • Phone Finder - does not work
    • Crowd locate - did not work
    • Separation alert - does not work

    Once you turn the unit on, the batteries die FAST.

    You will NEVER speak to customer service. Only contact via email or online chat and it is incredibly frustrating as they do not appear to care.

    It's disappointing as it is something we really want to work. I would be willing to pay double if they worked.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Lawton, OK,
    • Apr 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have ten of them. Three did not perform at all to begin with, and the two items I have lost remain lost. The location the tracking device takes me to in both cases I have never visited. My items remain lost, and so is the money I spent on the TrackR. Bravo. Don't waste yours!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Garbage!

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Apr 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These are garbage! They don't work unless I'm standing right over the top of it, if it finds it at all. Garbage, a waste of money, time and hassle dealing with this company that has the worst customer service.

    Get this; they never showed, and I wasn't even offered a tracking number upon shipment. After I FINALLY received a response from the company, it was like this: "Can you go to all your neighbors and check to make sure they didn't get your shipment first?" I was ticked off and told them what I thought. They didn't want to send it because they claim it was probably stolen, so I gave them a PO Box and asked for a tracking number when shipped. It took five weeks before I received them, and I couldn't get a tracking number until the 5th week when they shipped it, and it was in my mailbox already. Worst service ever! And then they didn't work as stated.

    I wouldn't even give these one star, but it was the least I was allowed to give. I was in business over 20 years, and I know a good product and customer service. These guys don't have either. Don't waste your money, time or patience. Absolute garbage!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Let me join the chorus

    • Knoxville, Tennessee,
    • Feb 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could give a minus rating, I would.

    The battery life seems to be minutes, and then there is the incessant ringing for the one that does work. Kenn (apparently the sole customer service tech) gave me all manner of things to try but nothing worked. I can honestly say this purchase was the biggest waste of money I can recall; ever!

    I don't know anyone I dislike enough to recommend TrackR.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Worthless

    • Houston, TX,
    • Feb 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made the mistake of purchasing a multi-pack, and now I am stuck with three very overpriced novelty keychains. This product does not work well at all. The range is too small and the volume too low. I can't even find my keys in the next room. Useless!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Poor performance and poor customer service

    I bought several of these to use as gifts, and they are a total joke. They work about 10% of the time and won't even detect it next to the phone most times. And their customer service (if you ask for a refund) is to totally ignore you. Don't waste your money on this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Not very helpful at all.

    • Granbury, TX,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought this device would help me find my car if it was stolen, but unless the thief drives my car within about ten feet of my smartphone it is useless. Waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    TrackR bravo

    • Hastings, MN,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do NOT buy. They are near impossible to hear a beep from. Also, they tell you that they have a satisfaction guarantee, but when you ask them what to do and if they want you to send them back, they ignore you.

    They are a rip-off! Don't waste your time or dime.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 214

Write a Review for TrackR!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review