About TrackR

Although you may have difficulty finding your wallet or your keys, in today’s market, you definitely won’t have any problem finding products that can help you address this problem, one of the most popular of which is TrackR.

Originally founded in 2009 as Phone Halo, TrackR is a tech startup that specializes in manufacturing low-energy Bluetooth dongles that can attach to an item, which can then be located in seconds using your iPhone or Android smartphone. In fact, with a variety of TrackR devices available, the company claims that they can help you find your dog, wallet, laptop, purse, bike, or nearly anything else.

By claiming that their thin, durable devices offer the simplest way to track all your items, and that you’ll “never lose anything again,” TrackR has managed to raise more than $1.2 million online through Indiegogo crowdfunding campaigns, which have greatly fueled their success. But when it comes down to it, do TrackR Bluetooth dongles have a reputation for working well, or for being rushed to market? Let’s find out below.

The Details Behind How TrackR Works

Currently, TrackR offers 3 different Bluetooth-based dongles:

  • StickR TrackR – A coin-sized device (smaller than a quarter) made of plastic that uses an adhesive to attach to whatever you need.
  • Wallet TrackR – About the size of a credit card, this is an ultra-thin, plastic device that can slip inside your wallet or can be attached to any other commonly misplaced item. Fully customizable, including sound alerts and more.
  • TrackR bravo – TrackR’s newest device, this small, coin-sized device constructed of anodized aluminum attaches to your valuable items. Can be looped through a keying, placed in your wallet, stuck to a laptop or bike, or even worn around your dog’s collar.

Whichever option you choose, your TrackR dongle with work in conjunction with the TrackR app, which is available for iPhone and Android smartphones. Once connected, your phone will attempt to connect to the TrackR dongle via Bluetooth, and will then notify you once it’s been found, as well as its approximate distance. If you’re still unable to locate the item, you can “ring” it by instructing it to emit an audible “beep.” In addition, if your phone gets too far from whatever you have the dongle attached to (e.g. keys, wallet, etc.), TrackR will notify you so you don’t leave it behind.

When compared to the competition, TrackR is attempting to differentiate themselves by implementing “Crowd GPS” technology into their dongles. Ultimately, this means that even if you’re out of Bluetooth range, if another TrackR user comes within 100 feet of the item, you’ll receive an alert of its approximate location. We’ll talk more about this in the final section.

TrackR Pricing & Refund Policy

Each of the 3 TrackR dongles are priced as follows:

StickR (ships in 1-3 weeks):

  • 1 Device Pack: $24.95
  • 2 Device Pack: $39.95
  • 10 Device Pack: $149.95

Wallet (ships in 1-3 weeks):

  • 1 Device Pack: $29.95
  • 2 Device Pack: $39.95
  • 4 Device Pack: $79.95

Bravo (will not ship until 1/7/15):

  • 1 Device Pack: $29
  • 2 Device Pack: $49
  • 5 Device Pack: $95
  • 10 Device Pack: $99

For the TrackR bravo, you can also order custom laser engraving for $10, and an accessory pack (includes pet collar, metal loop, and waterproof shell) for $19. The bravo’s default color is steel, although it’s also available in black, rose gold, or sky blue for an additional $5.

If purchased directly through the company, TrackR dongles comes with free Standard shipping within the U.S.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About TrackR?

Although the TrackR bravo won’t be released until January 7, 2015, the Wallet and StickR models appear to have a fairly evenly mixed online customer reputation, so you could probably expect much of the same for the bravo. Among those who were pleased with their TrackR devices, the most common compliments cited that they were easy to pair and to set up.

However, regardless of the device model (even some of the company’s previous models such as the Cobra Tag), the most common complaints referenced:

  • Poor Bluetooth range (most users found it to be in the 10-20 feet range, versus the 100 feet advertised by TrackR).
  • Frequent disconnections (and the alerts that come along with it). In fact, some users reported having to turn this feature off because of the constant alerts, even if their phones were within a couple feet of the device.
  • That the location feature doesn’t always work properly (e.g. the app may show your item as being several blocks away when it’s actually in the same room).

Is the TrackR Helpful for Finding Lost Items, or Will it Make You Lose Your Mind in Frustration?

If you’re prone to losing small, important items such as your wallet or keys, can TrackR devices help you remain a little more organized? Perhaps, but keep the following in mind before placing your order:

Limited Usefulness

First and foremost, depending on your needs, TrackR devices may not ultimately be very useful for you. This is because once you’re out of Bluetooth range, the TrackR app will only show you the last known location of the item you’re monitoring. As such, if the item was stolen and moved from its last known location, this information may not do you any good.

Speaking of Bluetooth range: When testing their devices, numerous customers claimed that it took the TrackR app several minutes to establish a Bluetooth connection with the dongle. This could mean that, even if you know the last general location of the item you’re looking for, it could take a long time for the app to connect to it, and to send a “beep” to help you find it. As such, going room-to-room around your house looking for lost wallet or keys may turn into a very time-consuming process.

Crowd GPS Only Works with a Crowd

Next, the key differentiator from the competition is TrackR’s Crowd GPS, which claims to alert you any time another user comes within 100 feet of your item, which could help you locate it once you’re out of Bluetooth range. However, this first requires an enormous number of TrackR users in order to be even slightly useful.

To address this concern, the company recently released 100,000 of its devices to the public, although only time will tell the actual number it takes to be useful, and whether or not this number is attainable in the first place.

Bottom line: Will You Find Your Lost Wallet?

Like most technology products, “breakthroughs” such as TrackR can often take generations to be dialed in and to work as well as they’re advertised. With this in mind, although the company appears to be constantly improving, TrackR devices may be ideal for tech-savvy early adopters, but the rest of us may want to wait until the technology is improved before handing over our hard-earned money.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

198 Customer Reviews for TrackR

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 4 1 stars: 189
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 198
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    TrackR

    • Prescott, AZ,
    • Dec 1, 2016

    This product actually sucks. Had high hopes that it would be a useful tool but to my dismay there is no way this thing could benefit anyone. I can have it within 2 feet of my phone and it says it's far away. I have 2 attached to my dog who likes to explore when we are hiking, and neither one will tell me where he is, even if he's on the other side of a bush. The map will show a location within a 3/4 mile radius which is of no use if you're trying to find your keys. Have sent messages to their automated emails but no answer back. I'm going to start a crowd source company selling pebbles as tracking devices and promise the moon. When somebody complains I will just ignore them and hope they go away, just like this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Worst product and company ever

    • Nov 25, 2016

    I wish I could give it a negative rating!

    I am not sure what is worse, the device (which doesn't work) or the "support" that comes with it.

    This has been a complete disappointment from start to finish. The order took FOREVER to fill, when I get the devices, they don't work, and when I try to get a refund, I get the runaround.

    I have asked 5 times for clarification on the refund policy, you know, because you need authorization before sending back the product and I keep getting sent back to the refund policy.

    Do not buy this product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Batteries die after a few months.

    I thought this would be a great tool and purchased 10 TrackR Bravos for my family. But after just 3 months all the batteries started dying and TrackR does not respond to any of my inquiries.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from this company!

    I ordered several TrackR Bravos directly from the TrackR website on Sept 10. They have not shipped my order nor changed its status from "being processed" in nearly a month.

    They are literally not answering their 800 number (they say as much on their outgoing message). The only possible mode of communication is by email to their "support" team, who are supposed to respond w/in 24 hours. There is never any meaningful response, only an automated one saying how gosh darn busy they are, what with the huge popularity of their products.

    I've emailed them several times and it appears that they've decided to stop sending me even the automated messages. They have now blocked me from posting or messaging on their Facebook page because I made several negative comments and publicly demanded a refund. I've been left high and dry, and there are many more like me, check their FB page.

    Also check out the huge number of complaints on other websites, including the Better Business Bureau. Oh, and there's another Facebook called "TrackR Bravo is a Scam."

    The TrackR CEO, Chris Herbert, was interviewed on Paul Kemp's "The App Guy" podcast. I contacted him to see if he had an in with the CEO. All he had was the guy's email address, so he reported my problem and forwarded him my email describing it (this was before the FB blocking).

    So I know the head of the TrackR company knows my name, my contact information, and that I want a refund. I don't expect to see my money again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Complete farce

    This was a total waste of my money - 100%. I did not even bother to unpack the 3 of 5 units I purchased. Simply put - it does not work. Then comes the after sales service. I tried to talk to someone and was directed to e-mail which is fine for this day and age. I asked for a return address and never got a response back. Do not waste your money on this. I have 5 units (three in original package) I will give away for absolutely free.

    BTY - in my 15 years of on-line purchase I have never written a negative review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    This company should be sued for misrepresentation of product

    The product is a piece of crap. One can get better and cheaper products on AliExpress.com.

    The Bluetooth has a very poor range and doesn't work beyond 10 feet. They have videos showing it working like a GPS tracker but in reality, it would require millions of people to use the app and even then I doubt it would work with such poor Bluetooth connectivity.

    If I was in the US, I would sue them for misleading advertising

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Worked briefly, then quit. Waste of money.

    Unable to choose, I ordered a Trackr set for me and a Tile for my husband. Set up 3 on my wallet, keys, and tablet. Worked fine in tests. I forgot about it until six weeks later, when I misplaced the wallet. Ensured Bluetooth was connected, opened app, and: nothing. Even with the tablet and keys in front of me, the devices didn't beep. Then I found the wallet: also dead. Last known location showed on one device as the airport where I'd been 5 days ago; my home showed on the others, which makes it seem less likely that all 3 batteries failed at the same time. More likely, it's a piece of junk. My husband's Tile, on the other hand, is working great. Buy one of those.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    TrackR does not work

    • Bay Area California,
    • Aug 13, 2016

    I purchased 8 of these and I am disappointed. Not only they do not work as advertised, but the company has never respond to my four requests for a refund. I put these on my cats' collars and they only find the cats if they are within 50 feet and direct line of sight, and the battery only lasts about a few weeks so you have to change the battery each time you need to locate it. Brilliant!

    I put these on my keys and same issue. They have to be in the same room and in sight. They battery fails often and the Bluetooth needs to be reset each time you use it. How's that? If you want to locate you keys with this , first you have to find your keys and resent the device.

    This is a waste of money and the company will not respond. I recommend you try another method.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Rip off rubbish

    Worked briefly over very short distance. Beepers failed after a couple of days, devices no longer pair after a week - even with new batteries.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work, ZERO customer service

    • New York,
    • May 31, 2016

    I bought a TrackR to keep tabs on my dog. The first time I tried to use it it didn't register anything, it just said “searching“. I turned it off and tried again. After about 3-4 minutes (with my dog right next to me), it showed her several hundred yards away. This was right in the middle of the bay that's in my backyard!

    I tried calling customer service and they won't even answer the phone. They told me to write an email and they'll get back to me in 24 hours. It's now 3 days and I'm still waiting. A horrible experience!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Poor customer service

    First of all, on my Android OS I have to delete and reinstall the App constantly because it will stop working. The key chain broke off on my Bravo. The biggest complaint is almost 3 weeks ago I purchased batteries off of their site and still have not received them. I ordered them, checked the status the following week and I received a message that they did not go through and the representative was going to put the order in manually. The following week still no batteries. Another representative asked for my address again so she could send them out. What a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 198

Write a review for TrackR!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review