About True Brilliance

The True Brilliance teeth whitening pen promises to use a blend of ingredients that can be applied in seconds and deliver a noticeably whiter and brighter smile after one use.

To accomplish this, the company tells us that True Brilliance polishes while whitening for professional results at home, all in three simple steps:

  1. First, dry your teeth and rotate the bottom of True Brilliance’s click pen.
  2. Then, you’ll dispense the whitening gel directly onto your teeth, while avoiding contact with your lips and gums for 30-60 seconds.
  3. After 15 minutes, rinse your mouth and avoid food and liquids for at least one hour.

Alright, so True Brilliance’s whitening pen appears to be easy to use, but is it really “the secret to a whiter smile”? We researched the facts and we’ll reveal what we learned here.

What Causes Dark, Stained Teeth?

Your teeth are 3-layer structures covered with an ultra-hard mineral substance known as enamel, which is even stronger than bone.

Despite its solid appearance, though, the reality is that enamel is full of small holes, pits, and ridges that can “grab” onto food coloring, which can build up over the years and cause stains, even if you brush and floss regularly.

Some of the worst offenders are acidic, sweet, and/or starchy foods like tea, cola, berries, and wine, while lifestyle factors like tobacco, poor dental hygiene, certain medications (especially antibiotics), and more also play a major role.

Pro tip: However, keep in mind that the color of your teeth can also be affected by genetic factors that dictate the opaqueness of your enamel, the color of your dentin (the layer just underneath the enamel), and more.

With this said, staining can occur on the outside of the teeth (known as extrinsic stains), or on the inside if substances have made their way through the pores in the enamel (known as intrinsic stains).

Now, the big question is: Will any of True Brilliance’s ingredients effectively lift teeth stains and deliver a whiter smile?

How Effective Are True Brilliance’s Ingredients?

Here’s everything we’re told about True Brilliance’s formulation:

Glycerin is a colorless, odorless liquid found in thousands of different cosmetics, foods, and more. When applied to the skin, it helps trap moisture and acts as an emollient.

Similarly, peppermint oil is found in a wide variety of products, including flavoring in foods and beverages, topical creams, and dietary supplements. In the instance of True Brilliance, it appears to primarily be a flavoring agent.

Finally, carbomers are synthetic polymers that largely act as thickening agents.

Taking all of this together, you can see that none of these ingredients are especially (or at all) effective for delivering whiter teeth.

What’s Does True Brilliance’s Manufacturer Have to Say?

However, at the bottom of the True Brilliance website, they list two pieces of evidence to support their claims:

  • An ADA statement of efficacy for teeth whitening products. This is a general statement, though, and doesn’t specify the method True Brilliance uses to whiten teeth.
  • A March 2011 study conducted by Essex Testing Clinic, Inc. based out of Verona, NJ that resulted in up to an 18% improvement in teeth shade after a single application of a gel. The product is only referred to as “Teeth Whitening Gel Formula,” and True Brilliance is not mentioned specifically.

Fortunately, the HighYa team has reviewed many of the most popular online whitening systems over the years (more about the next), and in almost every instance, they use 22% carbamide peroxide.

Perhaps this is the carbomer True Brilliance’s manufacturer is referencing on their website, since when applied to teeth, it breaks down into hydrogen peroxide and urea (22% carbamide peroxide equals a little more than 7% hydrogen peroxide).

Then, hydrogen peroxide reacts with oxygen. As it does this, it lifts away small particles of stains, adding up to whiter teeth over several applications.

Pro tip: While peroxide-based products may help lift mild to moderate extrinsic stains, they likely won’t provide any improvement for intrinsic stains.

Will True Brilliance’s Ingredients Cause Any Side Effects?

Because of the oxidation action it delivers, carbamide/hydrogen peroxide may cause mild gum sensitivity in some users, although this generally subsides after discontinuing use.

Will you experience fewer side effects than an in-office treatment at your dentist’s? What about better whitening results?

We’ll talk more about this shortly, but let’s first talk about other whitening products like True Brilliance.

Does True Brilliance Have Any Competition?

The HighYa team has reviewed many of the most popular online-only teeth whitening systems over the years, including Whitening Coach, Spark Whitening, Action Pro White, and many others. What have we learned?

Overwhelmingly, customers seem to complain about sneaking “free” trial programs that turn into expensive purchases, along with recurring monthly shipments (we’ll go into full detail about this next).

Often times, customers claim that it was essentially impossible to cancel their trials and that customer service representatives were very rude, putting up every roadblock possible to prevent returns.

Admittedly, True Brilliance seems to come from a different manufacturer than these other options, so we’re definitely not saying you’ll experience the same.

With this said, perhaps the biggest difference between True Brilliance and these other products is that True Brilliance is only available as a pen, while many at-home whitening systems use trays to keep the whitening gel in place. Remember this point, because we’ll come back around to it at the end.

Now, let’s talk about those trial details.

How Much Does True Brilliance Cost?

At first, you’ll only pay $3.95 S&H to get your hands on one True Brilliance pen. But 14 days after your order, you’ll then be charged the full price of $119.38!

Every 30 days thereafter, you’ll then be sent a new True Brilliance pen and charged $119.38 each time. Comparatively, you can find whitening pens from national manufacturers at pharmacies and grocery stores for as little as $3 to $6.

Now, this 14-day trial system is an extraordinarily common business model, found in everything from anti-aging products and supplements to online-only teeth whitening systems and hair growth regimens.

However, because these important details are often buried deep in the Terms or the fine print—as well as the fact that costs can quickly spiral out of control if you’re not careful—we typically recommend avoiding free trials like these. Especially if it’s the only way to purchase a product.

On top of the high price and trial-based subscription program, you’ll also be automatically enrolled in a “Smart Retailing” subscription if you don’t check the “Opt Out” box on the True Brilliance ordering page. Here’s how the company describes it:

“Smart Retailing subscription can save thousands of dollars each year with members only discounts and cash back shopping. Includes four magazine subscriptions of your choice and free credit scores. Take advantage of membership for $1.00 (USD) for the next 90 days. After the 90 trial, service will continue for only $19.90 (USD) billed monthly to the card provided. You may cancel your membership anytime, make address or title changes.”

In order to cancel your trial or recurring shipments, you can contact customer service at (866) 622-5629 or cs@trytruebrilliance.com.

There wasn’t a refund policy listed, so we emailed customer service for details. We’ll be sure to update this review as soon as we receive a response.

Will a True Brilliance Whitening Pen Work for You?

In our opinion, the answer to this question largely rests on what you mean by “work.”

In other words, can you reasonably expect True Brilliance to whiten your teeth? While we’re not quite clear on all its ingredients, as long as it contains some form of peroxide, there’s no reason to believe it can’t lighten mild extrinsic stains a couple shades.

Now, will this happen in just one application? Will it work as well as an in-office treatment from your dentist? Will it cause fewer side effects? All of these remain to be seen (we didn’t test the pen ourselves and there wasn’t any online feedback), although until we see some evidence, we remain skeptical.

What about the competition? While pens like True Brilliance might provide ease of use when on-the-go, keep in mind that you’ll have to keep your lips off your teeth for at least a minute, which could complicate matters if you’re whitening in public.

Also, since tray-based systems sit firmly in place over your teeth and could provide better coverage for whitening gel, they might deliver faster, more pronounced results.

So, if you’re primarily focused on convenience, pens like True Brilliance might deliver what you need. But if you’re looking for ease of use and the fastest results possible, you might want to look more at tray-based systems.

Either way, it’s important to reiterate that True Brilliance costs as much as 40X some of the competition—without providing any evidence that it’ll deliver 40X the results.

For more, be sure to read How to Choose an At-Home Teeth Whitening System That Works!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

15 Customer Reviews for True Brilliance

Average Customer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not free

    • Santa Maria, CA,
    • Jul 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They say "free," but they charge anyway. Do not get this product and do not give them any type of card or they will take your money. It does not work, and you're just going to waste your time calling them and getting your money because they will charge anyway and give you a bunch excuses, and I do not recommend it to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    True Brilliance is no good!

    • Klamath Falls, OR,
    • Jul 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    What can be done about these charges we all have received according to all these reviews? They asked me the same question, "how did you get this phone number?" Well, idiots, you sent it with the product that doesn't work!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Refund policy

    • Osceola, Indiana ,
    • Jul 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I canceled an order on 6/5, yet the next day they took money from my checking anyway. I have made six calls trying to get a refund and still nothing. One time I was told my refund would be there in 24-48 hours. Next, I was told transaction was voided, and nothing went to my bank. Bank statement says otherwise. Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Klamath Falls, OR,
    • Jun 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought I had 30 days to try the product. I called after I had it for almost two weeks when I saw no change in my teeth to cancel the subscription. They said I would be charged no more and canceled over the phone. Next day there is a charge on my bank account for $120.00! I threw away the phone number when I finished my phone call with them. Now how do I get them to refund my money?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 3, 2017

      Larry Hertel

      Try either 866-622-5629 or 888-309-7284.

    • Jul 16, 2017

      Betsy

      The phone number should be on your bank statement. Here is the phone number that I used to contact them, 1-877-318-9601. I am reporting them to Better Business Bureau. This is a scam company!

    • Jul 19, 2017

      Janess Pivac

      Thank you Betsy, only a partial. It was not on my bank accounts. I don't believe they will give me my money back. So many others here are in the same boat!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Free trial a sham

    When I tried to cancel in the 15-day trial window, they claimed I agreed to pay for the products received, although I only agreed to pay for shipping, unless I continued the subscription. I had to argue long and hard to keep from paying, and when I offered to return the product, only then I received it for free, as if it was a big favor. Obnoxious!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service

    • Big Spring, Texas,
    • May 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After answering a survey in regards to a company I had done business with, I was awarded a "free" gift for my participation. Out of four gifts listed, I choose True Brillance. All I had to pay was shipping and handling in the amount of $4.95.

    On April 22, I was looking over my bank statement and saw two unusual charges in the amount of $119.38 and $129.24. I immediately called my bank's customer service and inquired about these charges. The rep told me who these charges were going to. I told her that I had not authorized these charges and the only legit charge was for $4.95. She continued to look over my account and found two more additional charges of $119.38 and $129.24 from the month before. She told me to call the company and dispute the charges and hopefully receive my money back.

    When I called the company, I was immediately asked where I got their number. I told them my bank rep gave it to me. I was told at that time that she could only refund the first two amounts and that a supervisor would have to refund the prior month. I asked to speak to him. He refunded the charges and asked me if he had not refunded the charges and what was I going to do. I stated that I would dispute the charges with my bank. He gave me a confirmation number and followed up with an email and stated I would receive my money back within 5-7 days for all these charges. I only received one charge back in the amount of $119.38.

    I called the company again on May 1st to follow up as to where the rest of my money was. I was told by a new supervisor because the other supervisor was not available. I told my story again and told him that the only refund I received was $119.38. He insisted that the other $129.24 was refunded also along with an additional $248.62. I told him that I had not received it and he rudely commented to me that maybe I'd better call my bank. I then told him once again that I had not received it and by the way, my bank didn't have it either. I then enlightened him that the previous supervisor told me 5-7 days and all I got was $119.38 period, and where was my money? He told me that it took 7-10 business days. "No, no, no," I stated, and informed him of what the other super said. Oh, but he was wrong, according to the one on the phone with me now. I got confirming emails and a new confirmation number.

    This morning, which is May 17th, I'm being told that this money was sent by check and that she would have to get in touch with her banking department. I asked to speak to her banking department and was told she didn't have the number. I asked her how in the world she was going to talk to them then if she didn't have the number. I asked for a super and one was not found. I told her that it had been 17 days, and I did not authorize a check to be sent to me. I questioned her as to why would a refund be sent to my bank and now a check issued. I also stated that the US Postal Service wasn't that slow and where was my money. By then she bellowed out that we will send the money to you as soon as funds become available.

    This company has one lie after another. No, I would not recommend to my worst enemy, this lying, thieving, and now apparently unstable company! I don't even want to give it a one-star rating, but I had to submit this review!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 71 out 73 people found this review helpful

    Ordering scam

    I looked at an online ad from True Brilliance, and the ad led you to believe that you would get a "free" sample just for shipping and handling of $3.95. But once you actually place the order, the page comes up and says that you can use it for a short time period, and when that is up, you then need to pay $119.00.

    The fact is, it is NOT a free sample. It's an actual order that you will be charged full price for, including the postage. The understanding of a "free sample," is a small portion of the product for trial, not a full order that you get hammered for later.

    Then when I immediately called within a minute of processing my order and finding out about the full charge, the lady told me that I would have to forfeit the shipping and handling charges, and after discussing this with her for awhile, she relented and gave me a full refund.

    The seller's address is 4142 Ogletown-Stanton Red #575, Newark, DE 19713, the phone number is 866-622-5629, and email is cs@truebrilliance.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 20, 2017

      Redeemed

      Thank you for exposing this scam!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 47 people found this review helpful

    It is a scam.

    I tried to cancel and one of them said it was $29, and the other one said it was $14, so I mailed it back for $6. I am not happy at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 58 out 59 people found this review helpful

    Mislead

    I chose a tube of True Brilliance as a gift for answering a survey about Amazon. I was notified I only had to pay $3.95 for shipping.

    I agreed and several days later received the tube and a note that I had to buy an application kit for $79.00. I was also informed I would begin to receive a tube monthly at $129.00 per month.

    I called and canceled everything the day after I received the tube, (unopened). After being put on hold for 40 minutes, an operator answered and confirmed that I had been put in their system. She offered to cancel me out for another $30 fee.

    I received a call from the fraud alert division of our credit card company who stated True Brilliance was multiple charging me for the initial shipping of $3.95. I approved one charge, returned the unopened tube (at my expense), and instructed the operator not to charge or contact me again.

    We are watching our statements closely. This kind of misleading and manipulative marketing must stop!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 31, 2017

      Judy Cordle

      I almost made the mistake of choosing this offer on Amazon.com for True Brilliance Whitening System just for answering survey questions. As always, I Googled the company and read all the reviews about it. I ended up reading the reviews from HighYa.com, and there was only one positive review about this product, billing conduct, and customer service.

      How can a business want to have any affiliation with a company like True Brilliance? Is this a survey for Amazon or is it to fool us "lucky" people into trying their bogus products by advertising "only the shipping and handling charges," but end up in their over-charged memberships, which are virtually impossible to cancel. That's something to think about, huh?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Definitely a scam

    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I researched more about this product and read these reviews.

    I originally thought that I would only be charged for shipping (which was $3.95) and that would be it. However, I have just canceled my account by calling customer service (quite rude representatives by the way). Instead of having to pay the $29.95 to keep my product, I "only" needed to pay $14.95 (since I only had the pen).

    Honestly, I've found better products on Amazon for LESS than $14.95. I was solely disappointed when my whitening pen arrived the other day. I asked for an email confirmation, but haven't received one. I'll be calling them again to ensure I won't be charged further.

    Terrible experience, never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • Manly, IA,
    • Jan 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you do try the 14-day free trial (yes you get to choose whether or not you wanna cancel, or continue to be a member and get charged over $100 a month), the one thing they don't tell you until after the fact is that if you choose to click the easy cancel button, they charge you $29.95, and you get to keep your 14-day trial pen. And my name is under more than one account, meaning you're getting charged however much money for every account. That's crap!

    So NO, I would not recommend this to a friend!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 15

Write a Review for True Brilliance!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review