About TruthFinder

TruthFinder is a people search website that allows you to search for anyone in the US and gain instant access to contact information, background checks, criminal records, and more.

In order to provide this information, TruthFinder “pores over hundreds of millions of available public records, social network data, and more” from multiple sources, including county, state, and federal databases. Then, your results can be accessed from your mobile device, tablet, or computer, while remaining 100% confidential.

There’s no doubt that the information provided by TruthFinder might come in handy, whether you’re looking to find out more about an old friend, a new flame, or your nice-but-creepy neighbor. But will the price you pay be in line with the information you receive? Are there any important things to keep in mind before handing over your credit card number.

We’ll discuss all of this (and more!) here. To start things off, let’s talk about what a public records company offers.

What Is a People Search Website?

First, public records are simply “documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential.” This can include records as part of a court proceeding, birth, marriage, death, voter registration, and more.

Due to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), all of these records are publicly​ available to anyone who requests them. However, the process of obtaining information from multiple sources can be cumbersome (we’ll come back around to this in a moment), so companies like TruthFinder can make it easier to quickly gain access, and then view the results in a single report.

For example, let’s say you wanted to find out 1) if someone was delinquent on their taxes, and 2) if they’re married. For the first, you’d have to visit the county tax assessor’s office, wait in line, and request the document (usually by filling out some paperwork and paying a small fee). Next, you’d need to visit the courthouse and do the same for any marriage certificates.

Now, imagine you were interested in obtaining all the available public records for an individual. You’d probably spend weeks dealing with all the appropriate governmental agencies, which could be time consuming and expensive.

But when the rubber meets the road, will people search websites like TruthFinder provide a solid value for your money? To answer this, we’ll first take a look at how you can obtain a TruthFinder report.

How To Use the TruthFinder Website

To begin, you’ll first enter the person’s first name, last name, and state on the TruthFinder home page.

After a few minutes watching various loading bars, you’ll be taken to a page that shows matching results, which displays the person’s age, current/previous locations, and possible relatives. If there’s more than one name that matches your search, they can be sorted by best match, first or last name, age, or location.

From there, you’ll click the ‘Access Report’ button. Again, you’ll wait several more minutes as everything loads. Afterward, you’ll be able to select the person’s possible relatives and order reports for them as well.

Next, you’ll encounter a big, bold image that claims: “Individual’s report may contain graphic content that we can only reveal in a secure session.” In our opinion, after reviewing many of the most popular people search websites (more shortly), this is only intended to grab your attention, and doesn’t necessarily reflect what you’ll actually find in the report.

Screenshot of TruthFinder's WebsitePeople search websites like TruthFinder are notorious for using tactics like this to draw you in. Don’t be fooled though, because it’s unlikely you’ll uncover anything “graphic.”

Finally, you’ll arrive at the pricing page, which is what we’ll discuss next.

TruthFinder’s Subscription Plans

Until you hand over your credit card information, you won’t be able to access TruthFinder’s reports, even though you may have waited 5 minutes or more just to get to this point.

To this extent, you’ll be able to choose from one of the following subscription plans, which provides access to unlimited reports:

  • 5-day trial: $1 – But when your trial ends, you’ll automatically be billed $16.71 for a monthly membership, unless you cancel beforehand.
  • 1 Month: $16.71 per month
  • 3 Months: $15.71 per month ($47.13 total)
  • 6 Months: $13.71 per month ($82.26 total)

Important note: Although you’ll be able to order an unlimited number of reports through these plans, the reports are considered ‘Standard’. In order to obtain access to a Premium report (here’s a sample report), you’ll have to pay an additional $14.95 per report. This will give you access to:

  • Civil Judgments
  • Corporate Affiliations
  • Watercraft Owned
  • UCC Filings
  • Properties Owned
  • Voter Registration
  • Old Phone Numbers
  • Email Addresses
  • Tax Liens
  • Professional Licenses
  • Hunting/Fishing Permits
  • Weapons Permits
  • Foreclosures
  • Criminal Records (Third Data Source)
  • Aircraft Owned
  • Neighbors
  • Business Associates
  • And Much More!

In order to cancel your trial or your subscription plan, you’ll need to call TruthFinder customer service at (800) 699-8081.

How does everything we’ve discussed so far compare to other people search websites?

Is TruthFinder Better Than Other Background Check Websites?

While there’s no denying that the TruthFinder website is attractive (despite the fact that it can take 5 minutes or more just to land on the ordering page), the reality is that they don’t seem to be much different than any of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed in the past. This includes Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, BeenVerified, and more.

In other words, their prices are essentially the same—and since they’re all pulling the same data from the same sources—the information their reports contain probably won’t be meaningfully different. But what are actual customers saying?

Here on HighYa, these companies have an average rating of 1.5 stars (read: stay away). Why does everyone seem so upset?

Overwhelmingly, the biggest complaint is that most of the information in these reports can be found through a quick online search, without pay a dime. On top of this, many customers complain that the information in these reports is out of date, altogether incorrect, or just plain missing. And this seems to apply whether they’re ordering a Standard or Premium report.

Ultimately, because of the high prices associated with these reports, many customers claim to have felt scammed.

Other common complaints include poor customer service and difficulty cancel trials/monthly subscriptions. Is this what other consumers are saying about TruthFinder?

Is TruthFinder Pleasing Their Customers?

TruthFinder was a fairly new company at the time of our research, having been founded in March 2015. As such, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback.

However, we did find one customer review on Ripoff Report, which referenced website problems and disappointing information in reports. There was also a single complaint on Outscam.com, which also referenced outdated/incorrect information, sneaky subscriptions, and that most of the same information could be found online for free.

From a company perspective, TruthFinder had an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 3 closed complaints (as of 12/10/15). Unlike elsewhere, these appeared to reference difficulty removing personal information from the company’s database.

We know you’re anxious to figure out if TruthFinder is your best option for obtaining public records, so let’s bring it home.

Try Searching Online Before Using TruthFinder

In The Problems with Online People Searches, we provided an in-depth look at the people search industry, common customer complaints, and alternatives if you’re looking to save money but still gain access to much of the same information. So if you haven’t read this article yet, we’d suggest doing so at your earliest convenience.

Sure, TruthFinder claims to “scour the deep web to uncover information that normal search engines can't find,” but in reality, we think this is just marketing hype intended to dissuade you from looking elsewhere.

Granted, since all of this is pulled from the same sources, this doesn’t mean the information you’ll find on your own will be any more accurate than going through TruthFinder. But at least you’ll be able to hang on to more of your hard-earned money, which is what HighYa’s all about.

In our opinion, we’d recommend you start there and avoid people search websites like TruthFinder altogether. After all, it doesn’t matter which company you’re thinking about, they all come with bottom-of-the-barrel online reputations.

Did you give TruthFinder a try? Tell us all about your experience by writing a review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

394 Customer Reviews for TruthFinder

Average Customer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 141 4 star: 30 3 star: 10 2 star: 13 1 star:  200
Bottom Line: 45% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 394
Sort reviews by:

  • Did not subscribe

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruthFinder popped up when I was searching the internet. I entered "TruthFinder" to see what that was all about. I entered all my information and waited for 2 minutes. The information came back, and I choose some options. Again I waited 1-2 minutes. This cycle occurred 3 or 4 times. It finally came to the time for payment. It also showed some information I was concerned about, like that my address was not the current address. I looked at the price structure and it appeared to be high. Also, there was no option to run the report only once. I did not subscribe to the service. I found the reviews and noticed that it cost more for the upgrade and to download a PDF file. At this point, I realized I made the right choice. Just another opinion of looking at TruthFinder.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great site

    • Dyer, IN,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site provided me information that was not disclosed to by a potential business partner. I am glad I checked the site before I signed the final paperwork. I will recommend this site to people when they need to perform background searches. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Locations

    Excellent and timely tracking of a transient's locations. Aliases were very helpful, as well as relatives and listings of possible neighbors or acquaintances. Any and all criminal records were revealed. Assets were evaluated as well as liabilities. I most definitely would recommend TruthFinder to everybody that I know who need to check somebody out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 20, 2017

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Brenda,

      Thank you for the great review! We're so happy to hear you find our service helpful. We appreciate the positive feedback!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    An unexpected renewal due to a credit card change on my account

    I was very disappointed to find out that due to my bank recommending I cancel my debit card on file, and having to receive a new debit card, that I was unable to renew my TruthFinder service at the rate of $7.95 monthly that I had prior to.

    I was told originally by their customer service representative that I could only renew my ongoing monthly membership at their current rate of renewal of $12.95 monthly, rather than my previous great deal of $7.95 monthly ongoing. I made my disapproval made very clear. Thankfully, Juan (2837) found a small way around it for me.

    No, he was unable to give me back my great rate of $7.95 to my great disappointment, but I was able to receive a free month of service, a free Premium Report Upgrade, and to pay at a lower rate of $9.95, rather than the originally quoted $12.95.

    Juan (2837) took the time of over one hour on the phone with me to get everything, as good as it could get, with the current situation I was given. That says a lot about Juan as a person with high values, and as an excellent employee for TruthFinder. Thank you again, Juan (2837), for your kind assistance!

    I would also like to recommend to others to use a PayPal as your monthly auto payment resource so you do not lose a great current deal you may be receiving.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 20, 2017

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Marina,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We apologize that we were unable to get you back to your original subscription but we are so happy to hear that we were able to come up with a satisfactory resolution. We truly appreciate your business, understanding, and for allowing us the opportunity to rectify this situation.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awesome

    • Illinois,
    • Sep 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got the information I was looking for, and everything was very accurate, and it was perfect because I didn't want to waste time and money just to get either little or no information.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 20, 2017

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Gio,

      Thank you for the positive review and high rating! We're so glad to hear that you were able to find the information you were looking for, and we appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great job with the site!

    I purchased TruthFinder because I have a stepson I was worried about. He was subjected to having a new stepfather, and we did not know anything about him. After the background check on his stepfather, I had every right to be worried. Thank you, Truth Finder, for being able to unlock a few mysteries that are never spoken about him with his biological Dad's side. Now we just pray that we can keep him safe from his mother's decision to marry a felon.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • It was a great experience

    • Ocean Springs, MS,
    • Sep 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was amazed at the accuracy. They were right on. I have unclaimed money I would have never found if not for this site. I would recommend it to anyone that wants to know anything about anyone. It was worth the little money spent. I plan to use it often for friend's coworkers and family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent assistance

    Thank you for giving me the opportunity to express my deep appreciation for the assistance I received from your agent, Jerry. Jerry was very patient with me as I have celebrated many birthdays and sometimes technology slows me down. He did not give up on me and showed much respect.

    He helped me to receive a better value for the dollar on my account. At this day in time with the financial crisis we as a nation are living through, it is helpful when a young person helps an older person to save a penny here or a penny there.

    Jerry has helped me so much with pricing that I feel that I can keep my membership longer. Please thank him for his excellent assistance.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My back ground

    This has the best information. I knew my family was lying and using me and the creators of the site validated what my gut felt! Please don't take advantage of us good people! Great job y'all.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Thankful for their friendly, sincere, and helpful service

    • California,
    • Sep 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was not having a good day. Someone added a $70.00 service to my bill and I was fit to be tied. I didn't expect to get very much friendly understanding when I dialed the customer service number. But I did.

    My service rep was Caroline, and she listened to my problem, patiently and most of all, didn't give me that usual, unpleasant earful of runaround. She was actually really concerned, professional, and kind, answering all of my questions (which I'm sure she's heard a million times before) and walked me through the entire solution to the problem.

    Almost as though it was HER problem instead. And that I very much appreciated.

    Well, long story short, I really admired her easy and kind demeanor and mannerisms (as I'm in sales myself) and although I had to cancel my account, I will surely open another one soon. And I am doing this strictly because of Caroline. So, thank you very much TruthFinder.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Patrick Umelo

    I had to call in about being billed three times. Apparently, I requested premium information I never was able to get. I actually called in to cancel but the TruthFinder representative was so helpful in straining up the matter and refunding me some of my money since I was billed twice that I accepted his proposal to keep the account open at $12.96 per month. His name is Jerry, and he did an outstanding job saving the sale!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 394

Write a Review for TruthFinder!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review