About TruthFinder

TruthFinder is a people search website that allows you to search for anyone in the US and gain instant access to contact information, background checks, criminal records, and more.

In order to provide this information, TruthFinder “pores over hundreds of millions of available public records, social network data, and more” from multiple sources, including county, state, and federal databases. Then, your results can be accessed from your mobile device, tablet, or computer, while remaining 100% confidential.

There’s no doubt that the information provided by TruthFinder might come in handy, whether you’re looking to find out more about an old friend, a new flame, or your nice-but-creepy neighbor. But will the price you pay be in line with the information you receive? Are there any important things to keep in mind before handing over your credit card number.

We’ll discuss all of this (and more!) here. To start things off, let’s talk about what a public records company offers.

What Is a People Search Website?

First, public records are simply “documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential.” This can include records as part of a court proceeding, birth, marriage, death, voter registration, and more.

Due to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), all of these records are publicly​ available to anyone who requests them. However, the process of obtaining information from multiple sources can be cumbersome (we’ll come back around to this in a moment), so companies like TruthFinder can make it easier to quickly gain access, and then view the results in a single report.

For example, let’s say you wanted to find out 1) if someone was delinquent on their taxes, and 2) if they’re married. For the first, you’d have to visit the county tax assessor’s office, wait in line, and request the document (usually by filling out some paperwork and paying a small fee). Next, you’d need to visit the courthouse and do the same for any marriage certificates.

Now, imagine you were interested in obtaining all the available public records for an individual. You’d probably spend weeks dealing with all the appropriate governmental agencies, which could be time consuming and expensive.

But when the rubber meets the road, will people search websites like TruthFinder provide a solid value for your money? To answer this, we’ll first take a look at how you can obtain a TruthFinder report.

How To Use the TruthFinder Website

To begin, you’ll first enter the person’s first name, last name, and state on the TruthFinder home page.

After a few minutes watching various loading bars, you’ll be taken to a page that shows matching results, which displays the person’s age, current/previous locations, and possible relatives. If there’s more than one name that matches your search, they can be sorted by best match, first or last name, age, or location.

From there, you’ll click the ‘Access Report’ button. Again, you’ll wait several more minutes as everything loads. Afterward, you’ll be able to select the person’s possible relatives and order reports for them as well.

Next, you’ll encounter a big, bold image that claims: “Individual’s report may contain graphic content that we can only reveal in a secure session.” In our opinion, after reviewing many of the most popular people search websites (more shortly), this is only intended to grab your attention, and doesn’t necessarily reflect what you’ll actually find in the report.

Screenshot of TruthFinder's WebsitePeople search websites like TruthFinder are notorious for using tactics like this to draw you in. Don’t be fooled though, because it’s unlikely you’ll uncover anything “graphic.”

Finally, you’ll arrive at the pricing page, which is what we’ll discuss next.

TruthFinder’s Subscription Plans

Until you hand over your credit card information, you won’t be able to access TruthFinder’s reports, even though you may have waited 5 minutes or more just to get to this point.

To this extent, you’ll be able to choose from one of the following subscription plans, which provides access to unlimited reports:

  • 5-day trial: $1 – But when your trial ends, you’ll automatically be billed $16.71 for a monthly membership, unless you cancel beforehand.
  • 1 Month: $16.71 per month
  • 3 Months: $15.71 per month ($47.13 total)
  • 6 Months: $13.71 per month ($82.26 total)

Important note: Although you’ll be able to order an unlimited number of reports through these plans, the reports are considered ‘Standard’. In order to obtain access to a Premium report (here’s a sample report), you’ll have to pay an additional $14.95 per report. This will give you access to:

  • Civil Judgments
  • Corporate Affiliations
  • Watercraft Owned
  • UCC Filings
  • Properties Owned
  • Voter Registration
  • Old Phone Numbers
  • Email Addresses
  • Tax Liens
  • Professional Licenses
  • Hunting/Fishing Permits
  • Weapons Permits
  • Foreclosures
  • Criminal Records (Third Data Source)
  • Aircraft Owned
  • Neighbors
  • Business Associates
  • And Much More!

In order to cancel your trial or your subscription plan, you’ll need to call TruthFinder customer service at (800) 699-8081.

How does everything we’ve discussed so far compare to other people search websites?

Is TruthFinder Better Than Other Background Check Websites?

While there’s no denying that the TruthFinder website is attractive (despite the fact that it can take 5 minutes or more just to land on the ordering page), the reality is that they don’t seem to be much different than any of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed in the past. This includes Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, BeenVerified, and more.

In other words, their prices are essentially the same—and since they’re all pulling the same data from the same sources—the information their reports contain probably won’t be meaningfully different. But what are actual customers saying?

Here on HighYa, these companies have an average rating of 1.5 stars (read: stay away). Why does everyone seem so upset?

Overwhelmingly, the biggest complaint is that most of the information in these reports can be found through a quick online search, without pay a dime. On top of this, many customers complain that the information in these reports is out of date, altogether incorrect, or just plain missing. And this seems to apply whether they’re ordering a Standard or Premium report.

Ultimately, because of the high prices associated with these reports, many customers claim to have felt scammed.

Other common complaints include poor customer service and difficulty cancel trials/monthly subscriptions. Is this what other consumers are saying about TruthFinder?

Is TruthFinder Pleasing Their Customers?

TruthFinder was a fairly new company at the time of our research, having been founded in March 2015. As such, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback.

However, we did find one customer review on Ripoff Report, which referenced website problems and disappointing information in reports. There was also a single complaint on Outscam.com, which also referenced outdated/incorrect information, sneaky subscriptions, and that most of the same information could be found online for free.

From a company perspective, TruthFinder had an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 3 closed complaints (as of 12/10/15). Unlike elsewhere, these appeared to reference difficulty removing personal information from the company’s database.

We know you’re anxious to figure out if TruthFinder is your best option for obtaining public records, so let’s bring it home.

Try Searching Online Before Using TruthFinder

In The Problems with Online People Searches, we provided an in-depth look at the people search industry, common customer complaints, and alternatives if you’re looking to save money but still gain access to much of the same information. So if you haven’t read this article yet, we’d suggest doing so at your earliest convenience.

Sure, TruthFinder claims to “scour the deep web to uncover information that normal search engines can't find,” but in reality, we think this is just marketing hype intended to dissuade you from looking elsewhere.

Granted, since all of this is pulled from the same sources, this doesn’t mean the information you’ll find on your own will be any more accurate than going through TruthFinder. But at least you’ll be able to hang on to more of your hard-earned money, which is what HighYa’s all about.

In our opinion, we’d recommend you start there and avoid people search websites like TruthFinder altogether. After all, it doesn’t matter which company you’re thinking about, they all come with bottom-of-the-barrel online reputations.

Did you give TruthFinder a try? Tell us all about your experience by writing a review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

90 Customer Reviews for TruthFinder

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 1 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 6 1 stars: 83
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 90
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Don't bother

    • Jan 20, 2017

    Here are my observations as a software salesperson, meaning, I know technology and I know marketing/sales techniques:

    1) They take a LONG time to gather information and have all those progress bars and buttons that light up. It makes it look like their system is doing a ton of work scouring every inch of the web and millions of databases. It is true, they are dependent on the computers that store the data, and those computers won't give instantaneous results, but my impression is that this process was too slow and VERY theatrical. It makes it seem like the report you'll get is very complete and goes deep. I thought it was a marketing gimmick after about 30 seconds.

    2) Preparing the reports has convinced me this was a ploy. At the stage they have all of the data from their systems, it is their computers, and their's alone that assemble the report. This took as long (or longer than) as gathering the data. Buy some extra computing power on the Amazon Cloud and make this faster. Very easy, but they drag this on to make it seem like you're getting your money's worth. Total ploy.

    3) I thought I would get some "teases" to pay the price for the details. I got NOTHING. They never told me in the beginning that I would get zero information unless I paid the $28. I thought I'd at least get some obvious info I'd recognize on myself as a teaser. But I got nothing. They wasted my time. And the total number of "criminal" records is the total of ALL my relatives, not just me, including my dead parents and one (not both) of my kids. I'm sure all of us have at least a cumulative 12 traffic and parking tickets on our records. Why not just list my total? It is because I'll just glance and see the number 12, not read that it's the total of everyone, and then freak out.

    4) Their questions along the way revealed more private information about my relatives, addresses, and other things. Another scammy way of gathering private info about me for their database.

    5) Oh wait! While I was writing this, a pop-up appeared offering a five-day trial for $1. Of course, I had to click on the pop-up to see how long it was. It didn't say on the pop-up. Standard online marketing, engagement. The more clicks you get out of someone and the more time you keep them on your site, the higher the conversion.

    I'm not biting and giving them a credit card number so they have more personal information. Thanks to everyone on this site, I know it's not worth my time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    False advertisement!

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Jan 19, 2017

    This site just ripped me off of $27. The information provided on there is inaccurate and most of all it is something that you could discover yourself by doing a quick google search.

    Stay AWAY, it is false advertisement!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT use!

    This is a bait and switch company. They use a website called Public Records Official stating that you can search records for FREE. It then takes you to TruthFinder. You enter all the information and wait while it apparently scans court documents, etc. Then, in the end, it tells you that to actually see the records, you must pay. What happened to the FREE part? Bait and switch, classic. Do NOT use.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Rip-off

    You pay $23.95 for one month worth of usage, but once you get into it, you find out that you could have Googled everything for free. If you wanted to check for any public records you have to pay $4.99 per report, and this is a BIG rip-off, don't use it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Rip-off!

    TruthFinder is a rip-off, and that is me being generous.

    The results of my search were outdated since the person I was looking for had moved three years ago, that's why I was looking for them in the first place. It cost me $27.78 for the month, plus $17.47 for a one person premium report. Now I am out nearly $50 for inaccurate and outdated information.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Stay Away!

    • New York, NY,
    • Jan 10, 2017

    Stay away!

    I have been FLOODED with spam emails since registering on TruthFinder. There was no doubt that this spam originated from this registration because of specific identifying info that I gave to TruthFinder that I've never given anywhere else on the internet. When I contacted TruthFinder about this, they pleaded ignorance and innocence.

    They may be risking legal penalties by their practices. I hope they care enough to take whatever steps they can to make this stop.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Do not give them a dime.

    • New York City, NY,
    • Jan 4, 2017

    Not only is their information ridiculously inaccurate, they sell your name to specious advertisers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Waste of Money

    • Colorado,
    • Jan 2, 2017

    Don't waste your money. The data is very basic and very out of date, in my case the information was 7 years old. Missed so much current information it was ridiculous. Called to complain and would NOT issue a full refund as promised. It's A SCAM and total waste of money!

    Should be a tip-off when you can only subscribe as "recurring monthly customer", bad idea!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Information incomplete. Scam

    • Montana ,
    • Dec 20, 2016

    I had a one hour experience with TruthFinder. The information provided after paying for a one-month subscription was no more than what I had been able to Google. I also checked my record and found it to be incomplete and incorrect as it did not list my nationally registered professional licensing which I have had for 27 years.

    When I called customer service, they would not forward me to a supervisor as I requested my monies to be refunded. This site is extremely lacking and is leading me to realize that there are no shortcuts for finding information. Take my advice and do your own research.

    The truth about TruthFinder is that they flunk at finding anything of value.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Rip Off

    The standard report contains no useful information. Once locked in, real information has a ridiculous price per report. Will call and ask for a refund. Don't use this site!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Don't Click One More Button

    Gave them an email - bad idea. Flooded with spam now but luckily I used side email just for this sort of thing. Thanks to these reviews I did not purchase further. I figured I could throw $30 bucks to save me a little time in searching but after reading the horror stories I am glad I didn't. I am so very thankful to you all. Identity is getting tougher to keep a hold on nowadays and it appears this site is more interested in gathering yours, like your bank account, than giving you others. I do like the 5 star reviews on this site. They could be a spokesperson for the site. Wait, what? They probably are? You're kidding me? Lol.

    It does concern me though that some citizens are still looking for that one bit of approval to justify something they want to do. I implore you, please protect yourself first. If this information is so important maybe hire a Private Investigator. If it is just contact info there are way more reputable sites for that information. If you are trying to find out a person's criminal history you can do a background check for $35 that is flawless from the government. I hope they don't hurt too many people in their scheme. Stay safe all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 90

Write a review for TruthFinder!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review