About TruthFinder

TruthFinder is a people search website that allows you to search for anyone in the US and gain instant access to contact information, background checks, criminal records, and more.

In order to provide this information, TruthFinder “pores over hundreds of millions of available public records, social network data, and more” from multiple sources, including county, state, and federal databases. Then, your results can be accessed from your mobile device, tablet, or computer, while remaining 100% confidential.

There’s no doubt that the information provided by TruthFinder might come in handy, whether you’re looking to find out more about an old friend, a new flame, or your nice-but-creepy neighbor. But will the price you pay be in line with the information you receive? Are there any important things to keep in mind before handing over your credit card number.

We’ll discuss all of this (and more!) here. To start things off, let’s talk about what a public records company offers.

What Is a People Search Website?

First, public records are simply “documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential.” This can include records as part of a court proceeding, birth, marriage, death, voter registration, and more.

Due to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), all of these records are publicly​ available to anyone who requests them. However, the process of obtaining information from multiple sources can be cumbersome (we’ll come back around to this in a moment), so companies like TruthFinder can make it easier to quickly gain access, and then view the results in a single report.

For example, let’s say you wanted to find out 1) if someone was delinquent on their taxes, and 2) if they’re married. For the first, you’d have to visit the county tax assessor’s office, wait in line, and request the document (usually by filling out some paperwork and paying a small fee). Next, you’d need to visit the courthouse and do the same for any marriage certificates.

Now, imagine you were interested in obtaining all the available public records for an individual. You’d probably spend weeks dealing with all the appropriate governmental agencies, which could be time consuming and expensive.

But when the rubber meets the road, will people search websites like TruthFinder provide a solid value for your money? To answer this, we’ll first take a look at how you can obtain a TruthFinder report.

How To Use the TruthFinder Website

To begin, you’ll first enter the person’s first name, last name, and state on the TruthFinder home page.

After a few minutes watching various loading bars, you’ll be taken to a page that shows matching results, which displays the person’s age, current/previous locations, and possible relatives. If there’s more than one name that matches your search, they can be sorted by best match, first or last name, age, or location.

From there, you’ll click the ‘Access Report’ button. Again, you’ll wait several more minutes as everything loads. Afterward, you’ll be able to select the person’s possible relatives and order reports for them as well.

Next, you’ll encounter a big, bold image that claims: “Individual’s report may contain graphic content that we can only reveal in a secure session.” In our opinion, after reviewing many of the most popular people search websites (more shortly), this is only intended to grab your attention, and doesn’t necessarily reflect what you’ll actually find in the report.

Screenshot of TruthFinder's WebsitePeople search websites like TruthFinder are notorious for using tactics like this to draw you in. Don’t be fooled though, because it’s unlikely you’ll uncover anything “graphic.”

Finally, you’ll arrive at the pricing page, which is what we’ll discuss next.

TruthFinder’s Subscription Plans

Until you hand over your credit card information, you won’t be able to access TruthFinder’s reports, even though you may have waited 5 minutes or more just to get to this point.

To this extent, you’ll be able to choose from one of the following subscription plans, which provides access to unlimited reports:

  • 5-day trial: $1 – But when your trial ends, you’ll automatically be billed $16.71 for a monthly membership, unless you cancel beforehand.
  • 1 Month: $16.71 per month
  • 3 Months: $15.71 per month ($47.13 total)
  • 6 Months: $13.71 per month ($82.26 total)

Important note: Although you’ll be able to order an unlimited number of reports through these plans, the reports are considered ‘Standard’. In order to obtain access to a Premium report (here’s a sample report), you’ll have to pay an additional $14.95 per report. This will give you access to:

  • Civil Judgments
  • Corporate Affiliations
  • Watercraft Owned
  • UCC Filings
  • Properties Owned
  • Voter Registration
  • Old Phone Numbers
  • Email Addresses
  • Tax Liens
  • Professional Licenses
  • Hunting/Fishing Permits
  • Weapons Permits
  • Foreclosures
  • Criminal Records (Third Data Source)
  • Aircraft Owned
  • Neighbors
  • Business Associates
  • And Much More!

In order to cancel your trial or your subscription plan, you’ll need to call TruthFinder customer service at (800) 699-8081.

How does everything we’ve discussed so far compare to other people search websites?

Is TruthFinder Better Than Other Background Check Websites?

While there’s no denying that the TruthFinder website is attractive (despite the fact that it can take 5 minutes or more just to land on the ordering page), the reality is that they don’t seem to be much different than any of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed in the past. This includes Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, BeenVerified, and more.

In other words, their prices are essentially the same—and since they’re all pulling the same data from the same sources—the information their reports contain probably won’t be meaningfully different. But what are actual customers saying?

Here on HighYa, these companies have an average rating of 1.5 stars (read: stay away). Why does everyone seem so upset?

Overwhelmingly, the biggest complaint is that most of the information in these reports can be found through a quick online search, without pay a dime. On top of this, many customers complain that the information in these reports is out of date, altogether incorrect, or just plain missing. And this seems to apply whether they’re ordering a Standard or Premium report.

Ultimately, because of the high prices associated with these reports, many customers claim to have felt scammed.

Other common complaints include poor customer service and difficulty cancel trials/monthly subscriptions. Is this what other consumers are saying about TruthFinder?

Is TruthFinder Pleasing Their Customers?

TruthFinder was a fairly new company at the time of our research, having been founded in March 2015. As such, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback.

However, we did find one customer review on Ripoff Report, which referenced website problems and disappointing information in reports. There was also a single complaint on Outscam.com, which also referenced outdated/incorrect information, sneaky subscriptions, and that most of the same information could be found online for free.

From a company perspective, TruthFinder had an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 3 closed complaints (as of 12/10/15). Unlike elsewhere, these appeared to reference difficulty removing personal information from the company’s database.

We know you’re anxious to figure out if TruthFinder is your best option for obtaining public records, so let’s bring it home.

Try Searching Online Before Using TruthFinder

In The Problems with Online People Searches, we provided an in-depth look at the people search industry, common customer complaints, and alternatives if you’re looking to save money but still gain access to much of the same information. So if you haven’t read this article yet, we’d suggest doing so at your earliest convenience.

Sure, TruthFinder claims to “scour the deep web to uncover information that normal search engines can't find,” but in reality, we think this is just marketing hype intended to dissuade you from looking elsewhere.

Granted, since all of this is pulled from the same sources, this doesn’t mean the information you’ll find on your own will be any more accurate than going through TruthFinder. But at least you’ll be able to hang on to more of your hard-earned money, which is what HighYa’s all about.

In our opinion, we’d recommend you start there and avoid people search websites like TruthFinder altogether. After all, it doesn’t matter which company you’re thinking about, they all come with bottom-of-the-barrel online reputations.

Did you give TruthFinder a try? Tell us all about your experience by writing a review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

192 Customer Reviews for TruthFinder

Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 9 1 star:  174
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 192
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They steal your money!

    I signed up for the trial period back in August and after 10- 15 days I canceled the account via phone call. When I check my bank account now in July, they have been taking $27 a month since August. I then, of course, sign on there today to find out it's still active and, of course, I cancel it. Then I call in because I want my money back from all these months and they have the gall tell me I wasn't on a trial period, and I have never called in to cancel it before. It's all BS and anything you can find on here you can go to the police station and get for cheaper. These people are scammers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Did get all I expected

    I joined TruthFinder a little over a month ago, and I have been trying to log in for over an hour, when I get in, it is as though I never joined and they keep wanting to access information I have paid for only to have the site want to charge me again. I made a one-time payment for my criminal record, the fine print said there would never be a charge for it again so long as my account is active. During the time I was using it, they keep stopping me from using it, they never gave me back the days I lost.

    I keep a Memorial file of passing members of my High School Graduating class, so I wanted to make sure that the information I had is accurate. I wasn't always able to get expected information from just their name, and I found that sometimes I could get more information when I put in the person's address or phone number. Sometimes in order to verify that the information was who I wanted, I even had to look at some of the people's names listed. I find it strange that they don't always identify the exact relationship with the individual.

    I even found the information on various individuals to be inaccurate. They showed one individual as having passed away many years ago, but since I have seen this person at all class reunions, I know them to be alive. There were many people that I have obituaries on the were not listed as having passed on. I have been trying to find a telephone number to find out why I can't access my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jul 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Absolute nonsense. After your so-called report is ready, it will give nothing more than a misspelled name and address. Anytime you want more, it is so-called premium points that you have to pay for. Before you know it, you have spent $50 for nothing more than a misspelled name and wrong phone number. No email or anything if value. Total garbage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent information for checking on new people in your life

    • Fayetteville, NC,
    • Jul 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have to say that the site is very close to accurate about things. There were a few things that I flagged, such as a person not related to me, and I removed some old addresses, but other than that, the facts were accurate. I got to look at other profiles of the people listed as related, which offered some insight into them as well. I'd say that if you want your own family history or just check on one person, you just met and are considering letting into your life, this is the place to go to. Depending on what you want to know will decide how much it costs. I personally did the one month unlimited, and it's been great for me. The information you'll get is well worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Fast and very precise.

    • Burbank, CA,
    • Jul 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a single mother neighbor with children on drugs and constantly in trouble because of them. Her son has been in prison for a few years. The rest of the BLOCK is very unhappy that he will be coming home soon. The Burbank police constantly monitor this block because of one bad apple. We like the attention, but do not want the 34-year-old son to come back. Thank you TruthFinder for helping us find out when.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Less than promised, costing more than expected

    This service was very disappointing to me. It does not indicate in advance what it will cost. After you finish paying the $27.78 minimum fee, you do not get anything, because, wait, you have to pay a surprise $2 to receive a PDF. But telling information is still not available unless you upgrade to premium level participation, an additional $17.47. It's like navigating a maze of surprising fees, nor is it particularly fast. And you pay $47.25, even if all you want is a single record.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great information

    • Fort Myers, Florida,
    • Jul 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found TruthFinder to have very accurate information and very easy to navigate. I have tried several other similar types of sites and found at best their information to be very inaccurate and not up to date. The customer service is also fantastic; you get a real person, and they are more than happy to answer any of your questions. All in all, I would highly recommend their service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Product

    • Tahoe, California,
    • Jul 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruthFinder was a valuable tool for gathering background information. They also made it really easy to cancel my subscription, which was a concern. Their customer service was outstanding, not pushy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Not worth 10 cents

    • Wisconsin,
    • Jul 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first two names I looked up on TruthFinder.com gave me their married names as their birth names. On the second name I looked up, it left out the second child's birth. On the first name, it left out our first marriage. I even paid extra for the extended report on the first name, thinking I had to have the premium report to get the correct and complete information. WRONG!

    Don't buy anything from this site. It gives you incorrect and incomplete information. And when I canceled the same day I joined, no refunds. I have to live with losing my $40+, but I can keep on getting misinformation for the next 30 days! Whoopee!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    TruthFinder is a spam service

    • Georgia,
    • Jul 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are sleazebags but have some useful info. Sign up ONLY with a disposable email address and a one-time credit card. Make sure you cancel FULLY when you are done and check with your payment service to make sure you are ACTUALLY canceled.

    Good:

    - They aggregated more relevant data than other services I tried.

    Bad:

    - They BURY the relevant data in amongst PAGES of irrelevant data, such as complete name/address listings of every neighbor within a quarter-mile.

    - There is NO free data on TruthFinder, in spite of the promo.

    - The paid data is $30 per month, but you are AUTOMATICALLY signed up for recurring billing.

    - The USEFUL data (like bankruptcies, lawsuits, and criminal complaints) costs another $20 EACH TIME.

    Worse:

    - They sell your address to spammers. The morning after I canceled, I had 30 spams in my normally empty Gmail spam bucket. I deleted those, and there were 20 more by lunch.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    I'm mad. It wasn't the truth!

    • Denver, CO,
    • Jul 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    A few years ago, I decided to do the short "pre-trial" of TruthFinder. I like the concept of finding out if associates I've worked with have demons! The best way to ascertain the accuracy is to first put your own name in it, and see what they come up with! Now, I'm a nice guy who follows the law and I don't drink, smoke, curse, and never have. Well, ok, I have a few creditors after me for overdue bills, but that's it. My last speeding ticket was 40 years ago!

    They got my name spelled right. They had my address right, so I know it was me they were profiling. They got my birthdate wrong. Wrong year, wrong month, wrong day. Duh, how could they mess that up? In my past places of living, they had me living in a state that I've never even been at in my life (I know why, some delusional guy a few decades ago who didn't like me forged a letter to one of my credit card companies giving them totally false information. Even so, it wasn't cross-checked by TruthFinder).

    Now get this, it had me listed as being married 12 times to 12 different women! Funny, I don't remember EVER being married to anybody even once! And, NONE of the 12 names are women that I've ever even heard of! NOW I'm getting mad. "TruthFinder" hasn't bothered to look up the definition of "Truth?"

    By the way, I've been on radio and TV for 50 years, been on national TV, written a best-selling book, and TruthFinder didn't even mention THAT in my profile?

    I also checked names of people I knew who were lawbreakers and couldn't find anything about them. I canceled my TruthFinder subscription fast. I'd like to see THEIR jail record.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 192

Write a Review for TruthFinder!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review