About Try The World

Working directly with expert chefs and sourcing products from local producers in dozens of countries, Try The World’s subscription service enables customers to discover—and shop for—some of the best foods from around the world.

Each Try The World Signature Box includes 7-8 authentic international gourmet items (e.g. cooking ingredients, snacks, drinks, and more), along with a unique Culture Guide featuring stories behind each product and easy-to-follow recipes. In addition, each of the company’s Snack Boxes includes 5 snacks from 5 countries, along with a card describing each product.

Want to purchase more of a specific product? You’ll be able to do just that on Try The World’s website, where you’ll also find additional recipes and exclusive content.

Since writing our original Try The World review, 100+ HighYa readers have chimed in about their experiences, which provided some on-the-ground feedback (we’ll talk more about this shortly). We were also pleased to speak with the company’s co-founders recently, where we learned more about their vision for Try The World, as well as their responses to some of the most common customer feedback.

We’ll cover all this (and more!) here, so you can decide if Try The World is the right choice for you.

How Try The World Works

Similar to Beauty Box 5, Birchbox, Conscious Box, and other discovery commerce websites, Try The World ships different products directly to your door at regular intervals. Unlike these other companies though, Try The World currently focuses only on gourmet foods and cultural items from around the world, which are hand-picked by Try The World’s staff of highly selective team of travelers, curated by celebrity chefs, and produced by artisanal, family-owned companies from around the world.

After signing up for a Try The World Signature subscription (more about this in the Pricing section below), you will receive the current box of the month, which is featured on Try The World’s Our Boxes page. Your first box will ship within 10 days of purchase.

After opening your box, you’ll find that it features 7-8 local gourmet items for you to enjoy (or, 5 snacks if you choose the Snack Box option). In addition to these foods, the included Culture Guide will provide a brief history about the products and how they should be used, as well as recipes that feature the special products included in your box.

Love the products you received? If so, you can buy them individually through Try The World’s online Shop. And as a subscriber, you’ll receive 20% off!

As we mentioned previously, Try The World’s website also features a regularly updated e-magazine that highlights many of the foods they offer, as well as tips and advice.

Every 2 months you’ll receive a new Try the World box (beginning with the Paris Box), which features USFDA approved products from various cities throughout the world, but ones that are otherwise difficult to find in the U.S. These include:

  • Paris – Jams, traditional hot chocolate powder, snacks, and more.
  • Tokyo – Red bean jelly yokan, Morinaga milk caramels, traditional bamboo chopsticks, and more.
  • Rio – Jabuticaba jam, senhor de bonfim wish ribbons, passion fruit tea, and more.
  • Rome – Orange pastille candies, spaghettata mix, Cantuccini biscotti, and more.

How Much Does a Try The World Signature Subscription Cost?

Try The World customers can choose to receive their boxes once per month or once every other month, which are priced as follows:

Receive Boxes Every Month:

  • Pay every month: $19/box, auto-renews every month
  • Pay every 3 months: $54 ($18/box), auto-renews every 3 months (Save 5%)
  • Pay every 6 months: $102 ($17/box), auto-renews every 6 months (Save 11%)
  • Pay every 12 months: $180 ($15/box), auto-renews every 12 months (Save 21%)

Receive Boxes Every 2 Months:

  • Pay every other month: $39/box, auto-renews every other month
  • Pay every 6 months: $105 ($35/box), auto-renews every 6 months (Save 10%)
  • Pay every 12 months: $198 ($33/box), auto-renews every 12 months (Save 15%)

All boxes come with free shipping. However, keep in mind that your subscription will automatically renew when the time comes, although you can cancel, pause, or skip a box any time by logging into your account and clicking the “Manage Subscription” tab. Although this might be the easiest option, you can also speak to a live representative by calling customer service at (855) 841-0303.

Are Customers Happy With Their Try The World Boxes?

To date, many HighYa readers have talked about their experiences with Try The World.

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel

In the past, most negative feedback seemed to revolve around long shipping times (more than one customer claimed their shipment was skipped altogether) along with customer service issues. However, the company has made a tremendous effort to resolve these issues (we’ll go into more detail in the next section), and the reality is that even the largest, most reputable companies will accrue reviews like these at some point. Based on our dealings with the company, we’d have no problem recommending Try The World to others.

In addition, while many customers claimed to have been pleased with the selection and quality of the products in their boxes, others claimed they were “boring” and “not exceptional.”

Our Conversation With Try The World’s Founders

Recently, we had the pleasure of speaking with Try The World’s co-founders, Kat Vorotova, who is originally from Russia, and David Foult, originally from France. The two met several years ago at grad school in NYC, where they learned that they shared a love for food, but also wished they could travel and discover more products.

As a result, Try The World was born to help others in the same position. To fill the niche, Kat and David focused on affordable, enjoyable, delicious, and authentic products from artisanal producers all around the world (which they’re constantly updating), and the idea caught on like wildfire.

In fact, Try The World was such a hit that the budding company went from 1,000 subscribers to 50,000 in the past year alone, leading to some admitted hiccups in the process. However, Kat and David refocused on implementing numerous internal improvements, all aimed at providing ultra-important customer service.

Because of this, Try The World now has a large in-house customer service team at their offices in New York City, who are intimately focused on customer feedback and are constantly improving their model. This includes a 5-hour response time (3 hours for social media), which has skyrocketed the company’s approval rating to 96%.

See Also: How to Choose the Best Subscription Box Services

In the end, Kat and David told us that Try The World is completely focused on customer satisfaction, and will gladly bend over backwards to ensure an excellent customer experience.

What’s the Bottom Line About Try The World?

Whether you’re new to discovery commerce or are a veteran of the subscription box industry, should you sign up for Try The World? By all indications, the company appears to offer unique products that can help you explore different parts of the world without ever leaving your home. However, consider the following before finalizing your subscription:

Unlike many other discovery commerce companies, Try The World doesn’t allow you to customize the products in your box (e.g. vegetarian, gluten free, etc.), or the order in which you’ll receive them. However, if you’d like to purchase products individually, you can easily search through their online Shop by category, such as “All-Natural”, “Dairy Free”, “Gluten-Free”, “Vegan”, and “Vegetarian”. Many of these products seem to be difficult to find in the United States

Finally, although most of Try The World’s customers appear pleased with their products, keep in mind that they’re not the only foodie subscription service in town. Don’t believe us? Try typing “subscription food boxes” into your favorite search engine and watch how many options pop up.

Granted, none of these will offer the same products and services exactly like Try The World, but the point is that you have options.

Bottom line: Although Try The World experienced a couple big speed bumps due to rapid growth (mostly related to customer service), our phone call with Try The World’s founders really helped put the situation into perspective, and went a very long way toward showing us that they’re a legitimate business with a single-minded focus on providing a top-notch customer experience.

Given this, if you’re a foodie, we think it’d be hard to go wrong with Try The World. However, you might want to start with a month-to-month description and try out a few boxes before committing to a longer—and more expensive—plan. After all, if you love it, you can always upgrade later and save on your subscription.

What’d you experience with Try The World? The products? The customer service? Whatever it is, be sure to tell the world about it by writing a review below!

Editor's Disclosure: The Try The World Paris box as shown in the video was sent to HighYa by Try The World free of charge. There was no money/goods exchanged in return for this review and there is no material relationship between HighYa and Try The World. The review in the video reflects the honest opinion of the subject. Click here to learn more.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

80 Customer Reviews for Try The World

Average Customer Rating: 3.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 34 4 star: 14 3 star: 5 2 star: 6 1 star:  21
Bottom Line: 67% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 80
Sort reviews by:

  • Try The World

    • Augusta, Maine,
    • Sep 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a monthly member for about eight months. I live with my adult daughter. We are both "foodies" and really enjoy creating the suggested recipes included with the country of the month.

    Our Greek Night included the Dolmas, lamb keftedes with tzatziki sauce. Yum!

    We really had fun with the items in the Korea box. One meal was the Somyeon noodles in vegetable broth. The Golden Yuzu Bellini and Yakgwa cookies complimented the meal. A second night, we had the Vegetable Juk (porridge). A touch of the spicy Gochujang wasn't included in the recipe but gave the dish a little oomph.

    So little time and so many more recipes to look forward to creating!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I love this subscription, and I don't even receive the box!

    • Fairfax, VA,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this subscription for my in-laws, and with any FANTASTIC company that provides an AMAZING product has a PHENOMENAL customer service, Try The World has the holy trinity when it comes to business, and that's all I have to say about that.

    My in-laws also love the meticulously chosen food stuffed in the boxes. I am good standing with them for a long time now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Fabulous for gifts

    After getting rave reviews from friends about this service, I decided to try it for my trip to Paris during my honeymoon. It was absolutely FABULOUS! My husband and I travel a lot, both for work and leisure, and it serves as a sort of travel companion, introducing us to all of the new cuisines!

    It's also now become my go-to gift in corporate settings; it's such a unique gift and actually provides the service of making a work trip more rich, informed, and delicious. I LOVE this idea, and it works perfectly for people who travel all the time and want to be well-prepared for every place they visit.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Buyer beware

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Sep 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Service is horrible. I paid for six boxes as a gift (12 months, every other month). The recipient only received four total. Items and packaging are fine, but if you never get what you pay for, then the quality of the actual product is worthless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 8, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Danielle,

      Thanks for contacting us. I'm sorry you didn't reach out to us sooner regarding this Gift Plan from 2015. We would have been happy to rectify this situation for you! Let us know if you have any further questions at sayhello@trytheworld.com and we'll be happy to help.

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Try The World was a fantastic experience.

    • Charlottesville, VA,
    • Jul 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with Try The World was fantastic. The customer service was great. A jar came broken, and they were very quick in replacing it with no hassle. In general, the product is a great experience. The packaging is very nice and seems unique to the country of origin. I love the quick facts about the country that come on the cards too. I don’t consider myself a great chef, but the instructions are very easy to follow and the food all tastes great! I would definitely recommend Try The World!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 6, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Zachary,

      Thanks so much for your great review! We're so happy to hear that you've enjoyed your experience with Try The World. We always love helping our customers learn about great food from around the world.

      All the best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Korea Box

    • Charlottesville, Virginia,
    • Jun 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have loved absolutely everything in this box so far. The Golden Yuzu Bellini is my new go to drink. So easy and as delicious! I would definitely order again. Plus the customer service is fantastic! I've never experienced such a fast and effective response to my comments/concerns.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 30, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Alexa,

      Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback! We're delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your Korea Box. The Bellini was one of our favorite recipes!

      All the best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Greek goodness!

    • New York,
    • Jun 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't normally write reviews, but I received my first box from Try The World and couldn't be happier with it, so I wanted to share!

    I love to travel but am unable to do so due to work, so I was so excited to find out about this and sign up for this box to create a little variety and adventure in my cooking life! The box came with eight different products, both savory and sweet, as well as recipes and fun facts to go along with each ingredient! My boyfriend was very impressed with my Greek cooking skills, to say the least, and I can't wait to see what country comes next month!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 6, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Racheal,

      Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback! We're delighted to hear that you have enjoyed cooking with your Greece box.

      All the best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great production, still need to work on the execution

    • Potsdam, New York,
    • May 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Overall, we're happy enough. We love our country boxes, although they are sometimes delayed (although we have never not gotten one as others claim). We originally had a large snack subscription, which they stopped supporting without any warning and just filled with two small snack boxes; after I complained, they're dropping us down to one small box and giving us a refund (not received yet, but should soon). It would certainly have been better customer service to just continue supporting the box, or to talk to me about it BEFORE they replaced it, but at least they have resolved it!

    It would be nice to see less delays, but on the other hand, I don't want stale food either. And they've always been great about giving me updated information when I ask (although again, it would be better to be proactive rather than waiting for complaints), and they've given me free stuff to compensate me when things have been excessively late.

    So, while they could continue to work on execution, we enjoy the product a lot and we are overall pleased. I have never had them not resolve a complaint to my satisfaction.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • May 8, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Lisa,

      Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are so glad you have been enjoying your experience with Try The World. We truly appreciate customers that are as thoughtful as you. Thank you again!

      Best

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    • May 12, 2017

      Lillian Marquis

      Try the World is an intriguing and even an exotic idea. The reality is it is frustrating, disappointing and very upsetting. We ordered a "bigger" version of this idea for our daughter and son-in-law. We should have backed out when the ordering went anything but smoothly, late shipments, skipped shipments, refusal to talk to us because we "were not the customer, " and you get the picture.

      If you buy this as a gift, you are never communicated with again. We had no idea when the "shipments" were going out, what was in the boxes, and if they ever even received what we purchased. Try the World had our money, and that was that. Buyers beware! I don't think these folks have enough respect for their customers to even behave with a modicum of thoughtfulness.

      Buy something else, and save yourself the headaches. I don't know about everyone else, but I have a problem with handing money over to people who can't even speak to me with decency and exhibit zero professionalism.

    • Jun 6, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Lillian,

      We sincerely apologize that you had issues with your Snacks gift subscription. In response to your comment about our lack of communication, we send the tracking information to the gift recipients so they are aware of when their next box is set to arrive.

      If you have any additional questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to us at sayhello@trytheworld.com

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Nightmare customer service!

    • May 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed my order for two snack boxes April 1st, and here it is May 1st, and I have no tracking number and no boxes.

    Support has completed ignored my emails via Facebook and Twitter. They have been posting frequently on their social media pages, but have ignored my attempts to reach out to them for help. They have been deleting messages in the comment section via Facebook (you can go check the recent comment section to see for yourself).

    They don't even answer their phone at this point. Either give me my money back or ship the darn boxes!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 4, 2017

      Kat

      Same problem! I've placed calls and left messages, nada. I placed my order on April 1st, and as of May 4th, there has been no communication, no package sent, and no information.

    • May 5, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Ebonee,

      Thank you for reaching out, we wanted to follow up with you regarding your April snack purchases. It looks like your box is set to arrive today when I check on the tracking status of your box. You should have received an email with a tracking number on May 2nd when the box left our warehouse. We do apologize for the delay with your April snack boxes, but we were experiencing some delays with our small-scale producers. There was additional time required to manufacture and ship the adequate quantity.

      Additionally, we have responded to your many emails sent from different addresses throughout the month of April. Luis, Greg, Amanda, Amanda N., Annie, and Felicia happily provided you with updates on the tracking of your shipment when you emailed our customer experience account.

      We appreciate your patience and understanding in this matter.

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worst subscription service ever

    • Niagara, Ontario, Canada,
    • Apr 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Try the World for my husband as a gift on the 3-month auto-renewal plan. He received his first two boxes (one was a bonus for purchasing a subscription) immediately. He received the next month's box and then nothing for three months and counting!

    The first time I reached out to try the world, I received no response. The second time, I received a response with a bunch of excuses and a promise that my box would be ready within the week and I would receive an email with shipping confirmation. That was April 10th. It's now April 21st, and I still have nothing!

    I just contacted them again to cancel my subscription and provide a refund. Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 24, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Shannon,

      We sincerely apologize for the delay with your Belgium box. Just like our Customer Experience Team member Amanda wrote in her last email to you, we had major delays with the Belgium boxes. As of April 18th, your box is now processing and is on its way to you!

      We also apologize that you never received your India box. According to our Canadian tracking records, your package was delivered on February 24th. Since you never received your India box or Morocco box and your Belgium box was shipped with a significant delay, we will go ahead and process your refund for the Morocco, India and Belgium box. We have canceled your subscription, effective immediately. Since your Belgium box has already shipped, you are set to receive that box. We will also process your refund for April since we have canceled your account before April's box shipping.

      Thank you again for your patience and understanding.

      Best,

      Try the World Customer Experience Team

    • May 1, 2017

      Ebonee

      I will never again order from this company, ever! I sent in so many support messages via Facebook and Twitter. I called them, and they ignored my support emails and calls, even on their main page. I placed my order for two snack boxes on April 1st, and it is May now. I have nothing, no tracking, no courtesy email, except crappy and poor customer service. Either give me my money back or give me a tracking number for my boxes! At this point, I deserve a free box for being ignored, lied to and not providing any tracking information.

    • May 5, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Ebonee,

      Please see our response to your individual comment regarding your April order delay. Again, we apologize for the miscommunication if you did not receive our responses via email. Your box is set to arrive today! We appreciate your patience.

      Best,

      Try The World Customer Experience Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Shipping and fraudulent charges

    • Apr 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid for a six-month subscription and only received four boxes. I was informed that my March box is going to be shipped and it is still the middle of April and I have no box.

    I was informed I should be receiving a tracking number in a few days. I asked when I will get my last box, since I canceled my subscription and only received four boxes, and was informed that I am done.

    This company is ripping people off. Please, do not use them. It is a great concept, but the company is unreliable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 21, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Jenn,

      We sincerely apologize for the delay with your March box. Typically boxes take up to 14 days to ship, but this past month we had an issue with a few of the products being held by the FDA. They have been approved and released, so your box should now be shipping out to you. As soon as it leaves our facility, you'll receive an email with the tracking number. If you would like to write to one of our team members at sayhello@trytheworld.com, we would be happy to look into your order to make sure you receive all of your subscription boxes.

      We sincerely appreciate your patience with your March order and thank you for your understanding!

      Best,

      Try the World Customer Experience Team

    • May 1, 2017

      Ebonee

      I wish I would have read this before purchasing my first order of two snack boxes on April 1st. I have no tracking number, no boxes, and crappy customer service.

    • May 5, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Ebonee,

      Please see our previous response to your individual review. We apologize for any miscommunication if you did not receive our responses via email. Please let us know if you have any additional concerns at sayhello@trytheworld.com.

    • May 12, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Jenn,

      To follow-up on your review, it looks like our customer experience representative, Amanda N.reached out to you regarding your March box. We apologize for the significant delay, but according to our tracking information, it was delivered to you on April 26th. Additionally, Amanda provided you with the tracking information of all six of your subscription boxes. If you, in fact, did not receive one of them, please let us know, and we can ship you a replacement!

      Best,

      Try The World Customer Experience Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 80

Write a Review for Try The World!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review