About TV Frog

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: May 31, 2017

TV Frog is an Android media hub that connects to your TV via Wi-Fi or Ethernet and allows you to stream your own media, such as photos and videos. After downloading the appropriate apps, you’ll also gain access to movies and TV shows from popular media services like KODI, Netflix, Hulu, and YouTube—and in crystal clear 4K Ultra HD.

The website tells us the hub will also be able to stream music, allow you to enjoy Android gaming, and browse the web whenever you please, all in a plug and play device that promises to “deliver unparalleled entertainment at no additional costs or stress.”

But before you hand over your money, you’ve come here to learn more about TV Frog, and whether or not it’s the right device for you. Will it really “make your TV smart”? And even if it will, are there other devices competing for your dollar?

Let’s start helping you make a more informed decision by taking a look at TV Frog’s specifications.

What Is TV Frog & How Does It Work?

In 3 Easy Steps For Cutting the Cord, we explain that there are three key components for streaming content to your TV (or making it “smart”):

  1. An Internet connection,
  2. The appropriate hardware, and
  3. The right software.

As you probably guessed, TV Frog represents the hardware in this equation. Basically, it houses software that processes signals received through a Wi-Fi or Ethernet connection and translates them into images that appear on your TV.

It also houses downloadable third-party software (or apps) that can enhance the viewing experience, including popular options like Netflix, HULU Plus, and Sling TV. You can store as many apps and other media as the device's hard drive can hold.

What Are TV Frog’s Specifications?

As mentioned, TV Frog works over a Wi-Fi or Ethernet connection. It also features 1GB RAM and 8GB memory, utilizes a Quad-Core Cortex A7, 2.4GHZ CPU, and runs on an Android version 6.0.1 Marshmallow operating system.

On two sides of TV Frog, you’ll find a variety of ports that allow you to import pictures into a library for later browsing, as well as to play all your music (including AAC, MP3, FLAC, OGG, WAV, and WMA formats). These include:

  • 4 USB ports
  • 1 HMDI port
  • 1 SD/MMC port
  • S/PDIF audio output
  • 1 AV input

According to the website, you’ll be able to access a cue sheet, tag your files, integrate with MusicBrainz, and create smart playlists. TV shows can be viewed by episode and season, and can be sorted by watched status, description, and actors.

If you need to browse the web or stream content directly from the Internet, you can also use TV Frog’s wireless mouse after connecting its USB Bluetooth receiver into the back and downloading the browser app.

TV Frog DeviceTV Frog is an Android-based streaming media hub that allows you to download files, download popular apps, and browse the internet using the included mouse. Image credit: Strong Current Enterprises Ltd.

What will you pay for all of these features?

How Much Does TV Frog Cost?

How much you pay for each TV Frog device depends on how many you purchase:

  • 1 Unit: $79.94
  • 2 Units: $147.59
  • 3 Units: $184.49
  • 4 Units: $236.14
  • 5 Units: $276.73

Each unit includes a TV Frog, one HDMI 4.1 cable, one wireless mouse, and one AC/DC adaptor and power cable.

At the time of our research, the company was also offering a free universal power adaptor and surge protector they claimed will allow you to use TV Frog, or any of your other devices, in any country in the world.

All TV Frog purchases do not come with a 100% guarantee, although after reading through the Terms, we learned that this guarantee comes with some fairly strict guidelines.

First, we’re told that all products are sold “as is” and all sales are final. In other words, there are no refunds, only exchanges permitted.

Second, you can process an exchange within 30 days of receiving your device, although it “must be unused and in the same condition that you received it. It must also be in the original packaging.”

In order to request an exchange, customer service can be reached at 888-836-8088 or support@freeseetv.com.

Are There Any TV Frog Customer Reviews or Feedback For the Company’s Other Products?

We didn’t encounter any firsthand customer feedback for TV Frog at the time of our research, although we did find an in-depth Snopes article titled Is TV Frog a Legitimate Alternative to Cable?

In short, they found that TV Frog appears to be a legitimate device, but emphasized that “does not enable users to watch cable television for free, whether legally or illegally, as it merely provides an internet connection to any given television set.”

This means that, in order to watch legal content from third-party services, you’ll need to pay extra or sign up for a subscription (depending on the specific service).

From a company perspective, TV Frog is brought to you by Strong Current Enterprises Ltd., based out of London and in business since 2010.

Despite their time in business, the only other product Strong Current had brought to market at the time of our research was HDZoom 360 (also sometimes referred to as HD 360X Zoom), although it also didn’t feature any customer reviews, either.

Lack of feedback aside, how does TV Frog stack up against the competition?

TV Frog vs. AppleTV, Roku, Chromecast, & Other Streaming Devices

Remember, as the Snopes article above mentions, TV Frog simply provides an internet connection to any television set, while also providing a graphical interface that can be used to view content. In other words, it’s a media streaming device.

But, there are a whole lot of streaming devices competing in the same marketplace as TV Frog, including behemoths like AppleTV, Roku Premiere, Google Chromecast, and Amazon Fire TV. Does it fare well?

Device Price Online Content Services 4K? Web Browser
TV Frog $79.94 Google TV Yes Yes
Apple TV $140-$200 Any available through iTunes No No
Roku Premiere $50-$80 4,500+ streaming channels Yes App Available
Google Chromecast $15-$70 Google Cast No No
Amazon Fire TV $90 Amazon Prime, Amazon Fire App Store Yes No

In addition to these options, there are perhaps thousands of other generic Android-based streaming devices from third-party companies.

In fact, if you enter the phrase “Quad-Core Cortex A7, 2.4GHZ” into your favorite search engine, you’ll encounter several streaming devices that make many of the same claims as TV Frog, some of which were available for as little as $40 at the time of our research.

Comparatively, while these Android options might move your television into the online realm, they typically feature less robust functionality than some of the mainstream competition above (i.e. not as many popular apps available).

Perhaps TV Frog’s biggest advantage is that it offers a built-in browser, although the fact that you’ll have to use a mouse means you’ll have to be sitting next to a flat surface (versus in the middle of your couch under a blanket, for example). It’s also positive that the device features four USB ports, although 25% of these will be taken up by the mouse’s Bluetooth receiver.

TV Frog’s 4K output capability could certainly appeal to movie buffs, but it’s important to keep in mind that the content you’re viewing must be transmitted in 4K, and your TV must be able to display 4K.

In short, don’t think that TV Frog will magically turn the picture quality on a circa-2001 TV set into something you’d expect on something like the Samsung QLED TV.

Let’s carry these thoughts over to the next section as we come to an educated conclusion about TV Frog.

Our Final Thoughts About TV Frog

If you’re simply looking to move your TV into the 21st century and connect it to the Internet, based on what we learned from the device’s website (we didn’t test it firsthand), it seems like TV Frog is a legitimate product that might get you there.

And with its wide variety of inputs, it seems like it could also act as a central hub for connecting a handful of other devices and media (although it might not represent the most elegant option).

In the end, though, we don’t think the most important question related to TV Frog is one of legitimacy; it’s one of value.

In other words, if you’re only interested in gaining online access through your TV, and then using it to stream different media directly, there are dozens of valid options from mainstream manufacturers that can be purchased for less than $50. Which, as consumers ourselves, might deliver more value than TV Frog.

On top of this, these mainstream options will typically support a broader range of content services, which might be important if you’re looking to add a Netflix, HULU Plus, etc. subscription at some point in the future. They’re also typically backed by trained support staff who can get you back up and running quickly if something goes wrong.

Finally, many of these mainstream devices come with solid refund policies and warranties, neither of which seem to be provided by Strong Current Enterprises. As such, make absolutely sure you want to purchase TV Frog before pressing the order button.

Before you go, talk about your TV Frog experience below by writing a review.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

74 Customer Reviews for TV Frog

Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  66
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 74
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Rubbish

    Date ordered: 4/14/2017. Date received: 7/19/2017.

    I had already given up hope on receiving this box. When I plugged it in all seemed ok, despite it being very flimsy. Then I found Kodi was way out of date, so I decided to update it the next day. When I tried to power it up, nothing happened apart from the box, and the transformer was over heating.

    Don't buy one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    TV Frog

    • Australia,
    • Jul 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The boxes are very poor and only after three days, now it won't even turn on. No replies to any emails, no help, no refund, nothing. Stay away. Rip off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Warning: don't buy!

    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Jul 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This internet seller called ''Strong Current Enterprise'' based in London, UK is doing totally false advertising. Their Frog TV devices DO NOT allow to watch internet content like Netflix or other subscribing sites for free like they claim!

    Beware also that they have non-existent customer service. Emails sent to them are never replied. You will need to pay postal fees to return their junk product.

    On top of this, PayPal is protecting fraudsters like these. Shame on PayPal as well! You will need to open a case with PayPal and wait a very long time to receive a refund after returning the product.

    This scam has been reported on many forums. Do not buy any Frog TV or Free See TV; it is all false advertising.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Never got the five items ordered

    This is the worst scam ever. It has been three months and no emails from the company. I have called and no one answers the phone except some person not real on the other end. I left three messages, and no one calls back. I want my money back. This is a scam. I bought five of these and it said you find it on Facebook. I was charged for five of $276.73. I want my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • Sun City West, AZ,
    • Jul 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a complete ripoff. First, their refund policy only lasts for 30 days. They take 30 days to ship it to you, so no refund possible!

    They do not answer their phone. A robot advises they will return the call in the next 48 hours. They don't call back.

    It doesn't work. The only thing I have been able to get after a week of trying is Pandora. Save your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Confirmed rip-off

    • Quebec, Canada,
    • Jul 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do NOT order that thing! I ordered that thing on June 4th, 2017 and haven't received it yet. No support at all, either by phone or email. Please do not make the same mistake I did. READ THE REVIEWS before you do anything! My Visa was charged almost instantly. The info on my Visa statement about that charge is related to brightrays.biz. Did some research and YEP, it really looks like I will probably never get this thing. Please do some research before buying.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    No answer from you in support

    • Sweden,
    • Jul 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been sending emails to support. My question is, after ordering since one month ago, when do I get my TV Frog box that I paid for? Or is this only a joke?

    And I haven't gotten any order number, but they have my money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Waste of Time, Waste of Money, and I feel like a sucker

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have Roku, Amazon TV, a Samsung smart tv, and other things in a box I forget and don't use. Chromecast?

    This device cost me eighty dollars. I saw something that was superior. It has Android 8 while the TV Frog is running Marshmallow, 6.1, I believe. I don't know the big differences in the two versions, but I can count and 8 is better than 6, and a box for under thirty dollars has 8, and TV Frog for eighty dollars has 6, so you do the math.

    I can't remember the exact names of those sites and don't want to give exact info because I'm not selling stuff, just saying that I would expect to pay about thirty dollars for this box.

    It is very easy to set up, just take it out of the box, stick in the power cord and HDMI cord and Bluetooth mouse device, and plug stuff into the matching holes in your tv, switch to the HDMI station of location, identify the wifi modem source, and type in the password.

    Then what? Then disappointment. Slow, slow, hesitant, slow, then very few choices of stations offered.

    My Roku USB plug in offers a vast wealth of choices, the TV Frog says, hey download some apps and you'll be good to go. They offer about ten or twelve choices that are fewer, as far as I (non-tech person) can tell. I can get YouTube and Netflix on my pc, or mirror it from my phone to my big Samsung. So...why did I buy this box?

    Because I'm a sucker. They try to convince you that you can watch movies streaming for free so long as you don't download them, which is illegal. They tease that cable companies are upset and trying to close them down, as if there is some delicious secret about how you can watch movies STILL IN THE THEATERS for free.

    Well, yeah, if you can get on the internet, which you can, you can do that anyway, from those sites eager to download viruses with the free viewing.

    But, you need a cable subscription to get cable, period. So I think it's false or at least misleading advertising, but it could be that I'm just embarrassed that they suckered me because I think I'm such a smart, careful shopper online. And like all suckers, I thought I could get something for nothing. Shame on me.

    I can get pictures, video, or music on my Samsung tv through my pc or phone easily that way, using mirrorcast (again, not literate in tech talk). What does this box offer, then, for all that money? Is it the 4K thing?

    I don't know about the 4K. I never got into any of the stations, couldn't find my way through the difficult interface, but I'm sure it works fine. My friend got a Roku device that is “premium elite super duper” that upgrades to 4K on his 4K tv and that looks great, so maybe the 4k thing is why it's so expensive?

    Nah. They're just good at marketing.

    So. anyone got some Florida swampland to sell me?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 24, 2017

      John Aird

      I have the same feelings as Ms. James from Houston, TX. I too am a sucker. I made the same choices, I was just looking to cut some cable costs and trying to get something for nothing. I am not even smart enough to know what it would do.

      That being said, I plugged it in and tried to follow the instructions, which I found not to be very helpful. The fact is, that I couldn't make it work. It didn't do what I thought it was supposed to do and I thought that I had 30 days to return it. Well, you know how that turned out.

      Well, if you want to be as dumb as I am, then go ahead and buy this product. It just does not do what the advertisement said it could do. I lost eighty dollars to find this out. I would give this a minus zero rating if anybody cared. My advice is, do NOT buy this product.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Expensive version of ROKU but with slow delivery

    • El Paso, Texas,
    • Jul 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered this in early April. Received it last mail delivery of June. It was NOT what was advertised, but was only a ROKU clone with extra USB ports. Telephone help number is only a recording telling you to send an e-mail, that is, when it is not busy. I only got through twice in two weeks. The support e-mail given in their phone message is non-existent, but the one on their web site, support@freeseetv.com, at least does not return a message that the address is non-existent. What else it does not do is get results. No reply after six e-mails over nearly two weeks. Save your money. Buy a ROKU, Amazon Fire, Chrome-Cast, or other.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Jul 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not buy this product, it is a pile of crap. It arrived as said in five weeks, but I wish it had not. The Kodi version is four years outdated, and you can stream squat. It is not what they say it is, period. I feel completely ripped off, and the customer service line is a sham, and the email they ask you to contact bounces back.

    Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    No one ever answers or returns calls

    I purchased two TV Frogs on June 18th and as of yet have not received anything. I have tried to call for two weeks, and no one is ever available to answer, and if I leave a message, no one ever returns my call. So far they took my money, and I have nothing in return, not even a contact.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 74

Write a Review for TV Frog!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review