About Twist Smart Light Bulb

Home automation products should make life easier, but with complicated setup and problems connecting to other devices, they often make it more difficult.

With Astro Inc.’s Twist, though—a patent pending Smart Light Bulb that combines custom lighting with premium audio—all you have to is find a light socket, twist it into place, and “make yourself at home.” Then, when paired with your smartphone, you’ll instantly gain access to customizable lighting and high-quality audio. And best of all, you can connect multiple Twist Smart Light Bulbs for whole-house sound!

Easy breezy, right? But just because it’s easy, does this necessarily mean it’s good? How much value will you get out of it? Are there similar products that are better? We’ll help you find questions to all the answers (and more!) in this Twist Smart Review.

To kick things off, let’s dive deeper into the world of Twist Smart and find out exactly how it works and the benefits it provides.

How Does the Twist Smart Light Bulb Work? What Does It Do?

As we mentioned above, Twist Smart is made up of two key parts; a light and a speaker. There’s no hub, wires, or installation—just screw it in to any light socket:

Twist’s Self-Adjusting Light

What is a self-adjusting light? Well, in the instance of Twist, it’s one that “automatically mimics the sun’s patterns” throughout the day, changing between a bluish-white color in the morning and a warm glow in the evening. Why? According to the company, so that “waking up, falling asleep, and everything in between is a breeze.”

Despite the fact that Twist’s LED (which will last 12-15 years—more in a moment) bulb only consumes 10 watts of power, it produces 800 lumens, which is equivalent to a standard 60-watt bulb, while its color temperature ranges from 2700K (warm yellow) to 5000K (cool white). You’ll also be able to control your lights, including brightness, from anywhere via the Twist app.

Twist’s Built-In Speaker & Audio Quality

Built in to this same unit is Twist’s wireless AirPlay speaker, which uses “the same high-quality audio technology as the big name speakers.” This includes a specially-designed driver that features neodymium magnets, a lightweight aluminum cone, and a high-temperature polycarbonate frame. Why? So you’ll experience booming, pristine, lossless sound.

Just touch a button and you’ll be able to stream music from any app, without having to mess with pairing.

Over time, you can add more Twist Smart Bulbs, which can be connected across multiple rooms and streamed as a group. Still want to listen to music with your lights off? Twist can do that, too.

The Twist Smart Light, with its LED bulb and Bluetooth speaker combination​The Twist Smart Light, with its LED bulb and Bluetooth speaker combination.

Considerations For the Twist Smart Light Bulb

Given everything we just learned, probably the biggest thing to keep in mind is that Twist Light Bulbs only use Airplay technology to connect to phones, which means that it must be connected to an iPhone. According to the company’s FAQ, they are working to integrate Google Cast, but until then about 80% of Twist’s potential audience won’t be able to use it.

And even for iPhone users, Twist Smart Light Bulb won’t be able to integrate with your other home automation systems, whether thermostats like Nest, security like Vivint, or whole home systems like Vera.

Next, if you think you can pull double duty by using your Twist Bulb in conjunction with a wall dimmer, be aware that the company claims this can damage it and reduce its lifespan. And don’t use them outdoors either, because they’re not waterproof.

Finally, it goes without saying that you’ll need a standard 2.4Ghz WiFi router to use Twist, so don’t think you’ll be able to use it at your remote cabin in the woods.

What’ll you pay for this technology and ease of use?

Shining a Light On Twist Smart Bulb’s Price

For a limited time, Twist is offering preorder (estimated shipping early 2016) deals on all their Smart Light Bulbs:

  • 1 Speaker: $99
  • 2-Speaker Pack: $149
  • 3-Speaker Pack: $199

This includes free shipping. You can also download your own referral code and share with a friend, which gives them $25 off their purchase and you “free money and exclusive rewards.”

All Twist Smart Bulbs come with 1-year warranty against manufacturing defects. Customer service can be reached at 855-908-9478.

What’s the Online Consensus For Twist Smart Light Bulbs?

As you might imagine, since Twist Smart Bulbs won’t ship until sometime early 2016, there weren’t many online customer reviews at the time of our research. However, the company has received a fair amount of media attention through popular sites like MacWorld, VentureBeat, and The Verge, although these were written after short demos, not at-home use.

Nonetheless, MacWorld came right out and stated, “Twist is one of the simplest home automation products I’ve ever seen demoed. There’s no installation. There’s no hub.” The Verge noted that the sound was “very clear” across all ranges (low, mid, high) and that the audio stream was fast.

On the other hand, VentureBeat had a problem that Twist “doesn’t solve a consumer problem — or at least a problem that consumers are aware of.” And in the end, they claimed that it’s more of a novelty than anything else.

If this is your first venture into smart lighting (or lighting/sound combos), you might be surprised to learn that a fair amount of competition exists for Twist. This includes Sony’s LED Light Bulb Speaker, in addition to lesser-known companies like PlayBulb ($40), Propel ($26), and Pulse ($149).

Granted, each of these features different designs and functionality, but the point is that Twist isn’t your only option.

Let’s bring it all together.

Will You Be Pleased with Twist Smart Bulb’s Performance?

Ultimately, your expectations have a lot to do with your level of satisfaction for any product. So, if you’re just getting in to home automation and are primarily looking for easy setup and use, then you probably can’t go wrong with Twist. Just don’t expect theater-like sound like you’d get from a high-end (read: expensive) system.

Even with this in mind, we’re left with a few questions:

Can you really expect Twist Light Bulbs to last 12-15 years? Although it’s well known that LEDs can last this long, we wondered if the constant vibration from the speaker would impact this number at all.

After a little digging though, this doesn’t seem to be the case, as Bulbs.com notes that LEDs are ideal even for commercial/industrial use.

Are Twist Smart Light Bulbs lossless? Lossless sound just means that an audio file hasn’t been compressed (or made smaller), which typically involves information loss—hence the name. And as you might imagine, the more a file is compressed, the more information it loses and the worse its quality sounds.

The point here is that since Twist Bulbs won’t be compressing (or uncompressing) your audio files, they’re technically not lossless. Instead, what you hear through your Twist speaker will only be as good as your original audio file.

Does lighting color affect mood? This is a huge topic and far outside of the scope of this review, but suffice it to say that, while it appears that some colors can affect some people’s mood, there’s still a ton we don’t know.

In short? Even if Twist’s different colors do impact your mood, the effects will likely be minimal at best.

How many users can Twist accommodate at the same time? For example: If I wanted to listen to my music in the kitchen, and my wife wanted to listen to something else in the living room, would this be possible?

Or, would different users have to pair their iPhones with specific Twist Lights, and would therefore only be able to control those lights?

The bottom line about Twist Smart Light Bulb: These questions aside, even though Twist is marketed more toward apartment dwellers, we could certainly see it working extremely well for just about anyone who wants multi-room sound and custom lighting that’s a) easy to set up and b) won’t cost a small fortune.

Will it provide pro-level sound? Probably not. Are there some limitations? Certainly. But if you use what you learned here and keep your expectations realistic, you might find that it’s right up your alley.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

25 Customer Reviews for Twist Smart Light Bulb

Average Customer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  11
Bottom Line: 48% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 25
Sort reviews by:

  • Not processing my refund

    Long story short, I returned the bulbs when I realized they don't work with Android. It has been probably longer than a month since I started their grueling return process and while they say they sent the refund, I have nothing in my account. Now they're telling me to contact my bank. This company is not legit it seems. Or at least it's not a company you'll want to deal with if you're on the fence about their product and chance going through their nightmare return process (which isn't free by the way, they just make you pay return shipping).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great product

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Aug 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Really impressed with the product. Using it in the bedroom. I'm a big fan of the user interface and think the lights are great. Speaker quality is also good. I'm glad I bought two. I look forward to future updates from the company. There are so many other things these lights could do!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Elegant solution for small spaces

    • St. Petersburg, FL,
    • Jul 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The bulbs and app are easy to install and appeared on my AirPlay options right away.

    The speakers work as well as you can expect a light bulb to; no better and no worse. What's really wonderful is that when I switch rooms, I simply change the speaker location on my phone, and my music follows me.

    The changing light colors/temperatures offer wonderful options; no having to choose warm or bright, and no need to install a dimmer.

    I enjoy the security of turning on my light before walking into my home at night; I haven't tried it from outside, but as soon as I unlock the door and the app finds the living room bulb, one touch, and the room is lit. As I also use my phone as my alarm clock, I get into bed and turn the lights off and my alarm on with one device.

    It's a truly innovative solution.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    LOVE Twist!

    I love my Twist Light Bulb! From the beautiful design to the quality sound, this product, without question, is at the forefront of the seamless home movement. I can't wait to see what the team at Twist does next!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Stellar customer support

    • San Francisco Bay Area, California,
    • Jul 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    From the moment I contacted support in setting up my bulbs to my most recent interaction, I have received nothing but amazing support. The team as small as they are, are phenomenal!

    I'm so glad that I chose the twist bulbs for my home. I'm looking forward to seeing this company grow!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 23, 2017

      Henry,

      Hi Michael,

      Thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your experience with our team. Your support means so much to us and we are thrilled to hear that you are enjoying Twist. We always love to see how our customers are using the speaker bulbs in their everyday lives and thrive based on the feedback we get from others like you. Please keep us posted if you have any ideas about what we can do to make Twist even better!

      Best,

      Henry

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great product!

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Jun 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These couldn't have been easier to set up. The only issue I've had (not Twist's problem) but mine is that my router was not secure, but once I established a secure network I've had no issues with these bulbs. Occasionally I'll have a break in music or connection, but when I look at the issue, it is due to our Wi-Fi (it's even sketchy for us during FaceTime calls).

    When they weren't connecting at first due to the router issue, I contacted Twist through the app and found their customer service to be fabulous. Someone got in touch immediately and made sure that all of my questions were answered. I also looked through the help related articles linked through the app and found these to be very clear as well.

    These are such a fun product, and I've enjoyed using them every day! I was disappointed to read some negative reviews as it seems these customers didn't bother to connect with customer support? I'm not sure how they couldn't have just asked for help with issues if any.

    Honestly, had my router been secure I would have been set up in minutes.

    My kids are obsessed with them and beg for music daily on the "singing lightbulbs." This is such a great gift idea for someone who "has everything." I definitely recommend Twist!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 20, 2017

      Henry,

      Kelly,

      Just want to say thank you for sharing these kind words with our team. All of us at Twist are dedicated to delivering the best experience possible, both in terms of the actual product and support for our customers. So it's really wonderful when a customer lets us know we succeeded. I know I speak for all of us when I say that we are glad to have you as part of the Twist family and we look forward to being a continued part of your experience.

      Best,

      Henry

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not order

    Like many other reviewers, I ordered two bulbs in 2015, and I have yet to receive anything but empty promises from Twist. Every time they respond to an email, it's the same story, "they just arrived, and we are shipping now." But, another month or two goes by, and still nothing. Now Twist isn't even responding to emails or chats, and the phone number on the order form is disconnected.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 29, 2017

      Agata

      Hi William,

      Did you email support@hellotwist.com? In my case, there were some issues with my mailing address. After I emailed them to check on the status and confirmed the correct address, my order was shipped to me immediately. I received the package in 3 days and it arrived yesterday.

    • Jul 7, 2017

      Felecia Dillon, Head of Customer Experience

      Hi William,

      I'm Felecia, Head of Customer Experience here at Twist. I'd like to personally apologize for the delays that you experienced. We're a small team, the delays that we encountered we couldn't predict. It's no excuse but I want to be transparent. The good news is that I saw you received your bulbs on Monday! If you need any help setting them up, feel free to email support@hellotwist.com.

      I'm looking forward to hearing your feedback!

      Thanks,

      Felecia

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Nice app and interface, shame about the sound

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jun 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Setup is easy, and it is a nicely designed app. After waiting 18 months for my three-pack to be delivered, I am very disappointed with two aspects:

    1. Sound quality is really not that good; I was expecting more based on their hype.

    2. You cannot easily play to more than one speaker from iDevice.

    Would I buy these again? No thanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 19, 2017

      Henry,

      Hi Jake,

      My name is Henry, I'm from the Twist Team. Thank you for sharing your feedback with our small team, we really take it to heart. I have emailed you separately to discuss one-on-one, but also want to share some good news in this forum:

      1) Regarding sound quality, we are constantly making improvements to the firmware that supports your speakers. In fact, the latest update makes dramatic changes to the sound clarity, bass, and volume levels. I personally have always enjoyed streaming via Twist, but I was even more impressed after I tested a pilot version of this update.

      2) We agree that streaming to multiple devices simultaneously is key to the Twist experience that we envision. There are several ways to do this now, however it will get even easier in the fall. The great news it that iOS11 (announced by Apple in June) will enable seamless multi-device streaming!

      I look forward to being a continued part of your experience with Twist.

      Best, Henry

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Super easy sound and light!

    • Boston, Massachusetts,
    • Jun 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These smart bulbs have been on preorder for what seemed like forever, but the wait was well worth it. These are easy to set up, no hub, smart bulbs turn having a surround sound system easy. With cool light effects and smart airplay technology, these are my new favorite smart bulb.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 19, 2017

      Henry,

      Leo, reading your kind review brightened my day and I can't wait to share your comments with the whole Twist Team. As one of our early backers, each and every customer's feedback echoes throughout our group, and encourages us to keep working hard to bring a positive audio and lighting experience to your smart home.

      Please continue to share your feedback and ideas with all of us here on HighYa or by emailing [email protected]

      Best,

      Henry

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't waist your money

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Jun 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Twist is a great idea, and I waited a year for my three-pack. After an hour of trial and error (many, many errors) attempting to set these up, I finally succeeded in connecting to one of them.

    Here is a tip that worked for me. I turned off the 5ghz band on my router that normally broadcasts both 2ghz and 5ghz (New Netgear Orbi router).

    After I was finally connected and my patience was stretched really thin, I turned on the music. This is where I was really let down. To compare, my iPhone's built-in speaker sounded significantly better than the Twist bulb! It doesn't matter what kind of music or what volume, it sounded terrible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 19, 2017

      Henry,

      Hi KM,

      First of all, I'd like to thank you for sharing your input with our team. Positive or negative, we are "all ears" to our customer's feedback. I also appreciate that you shared a tip with the HighYa community regarding how you modified your router settings to optimize your experience with Twist. We envision a community of people using Twist to bring great sound and light to their homes, so it's great to see you contributing to that effort.

      I would love the chance to speak with you over the phone or email to provide an update on sound quality, so please e-mail me at [email protected] if you have a free moment. In the meantime, let me give you the short version, Twist speakers are constantly evolving and improving. As we speak, our engineers are putting the finishing touches on a firmware update that significantly changes the audio experience using Twist. I think you will be impressed by the difference their tweaks make!

      Again, thanks for reaching out. I hope to hear from you soon.

      Best,

      Henry

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Lots of hassle, little payoff

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jun 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I finally got these more than a year after I ordered them, and I have to say it was not worth the wait.

    First, the sound quality just isn't that great. I've heard $25 speakers that sound a lot better.

    Second, Airplay on an iPhone can currently only be linked to one speaker at a time (although it sounds like this may change soon). You can link to multiple speakers at once from a computer, but not from a phone. So if you're hoping to use your phone to control speakers throughout your house, just realize that you're only going to be controlling one at a time. If you want to move around your house and have your music follow you, you'll be opening this app a lot.

    Third, the Bluetooth connection that the app uses to turn the lights on and off is really inconsistent. Sometimes I'm sitting three feet from the bulb, and my phone loses the connection, so I can't turn the bulb on and off from the app anymore, just from the switch. Yes, I realize it sounds like I'm lazy when I complain about having to use an old-fashioned switch instead of an app to turn off a light. But the Bluetooth issue is really just part of a larger problem, namely.

    Fourth, once you experience what it means to have your speakers installed in your lights, you'll discover that it's actually a pretty stupid idea to begin with. Yes, it makes the setup convenient (no extra plugs or wires!), but there are a couple major problems.

    For one thing, you're now controlling each bulb both by the regular light switch and by the app. If you turn the bulb off using the app, you can always flick the light switch off and on, and the light will come back on (meaning that the speaker is on again, too). If you turn the bulb off using the switch, then of course the speaker is off too, and in order to turn the speaker on, you have to turn the light on. But if you want the speaker on and the light off, that means that first, you turn the speaker and light on together with the wall switch, then you turn the light off in the app. That's just a lot of on and off. It's almost enough to make you wish that you just had two separate devices, a light and a speaker, with two separate switches. Too bad nobody's ever been clever enough to invent such a thing.

    For another thing, here's an interesting discovery: most light fixtures don't sound that great. Want to put your Twist bulb in an Ikea floor lamp? Great idea, if you like the sound of music played from a plastic box. Want it in a ceiling fixture? You'd better have pendant lamps since obviously no closed fixture will work. Want to put it in a desk lamp? Hope you like the sound of a tin can, with occasional rattles from the stand. Basically, there's a reason speaker designers put time and money into designing a good housing. Whatever time and money went into designing these bulbs is basically squandered by the effects of the light fixture you put them in.

    I originally ordered these bulbs at the pre-order discount, and after waiting this long to get them, I've decided to keep them even though I'm not satisfied with the quality or convenience. But I'd been hoping to be so impressed that I'd order more to play music throughout my house, and I'm definitely not going to do that. The only person I'd recommend these to would be someone who lives in an apartment with no free outlets and lots of exposed light fixtures. As long as you have an outlet to spare, don't settle for these speakers, you can do much better for the same price.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 25

Write a Review for Twist Smart Light Bulb!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review