About Ultra Bulb

Ultra Bulb promises you will never change a lightbulb again, or at least in the next decade. They claim their LED-based unit looks like a traditional frosted globe but is guaranteed for 10 years, uses 85% less energy, and fills the room with bright light yet remains cool to the touch.

Ultra Bulb is sold under the brand of Bell & Howell, a company that began in 1907 selling film projectors. Currently, the name is licensed to third party companies selling a variety of consumer products. (A solar charger bearing the Bell & Howell moniker has received numerous complaints, but it is unclear if it is the same company behind Ultra Bulb.)

How Ultra Bulb Works

Ultra Bulb looks like an ordinary incandescent bulb; however, instead of a flimsy filament wire, they claim it contains 66 LEDs and a 360 degree reflector. To use Ultra Bulb, they say to replace your existing bulb; Ultra Bulb fits in the same socket.

Then, turn on the light. They claim Ultra Bulb turns on instantly and will illuminate the room with warm, bright light in all directions. They say not only is it better and brighter than competing LEDs or other lightbulbs, they add it’s also more efficient. They claim one Ultra Bulb can outlast 25 regular bulbs.

They also claim Ultra Bulb uses 85% less energy, when compared to a 60W incandescent 25,000 hour lifetime at 11 cents per kilowatt hour. According to Ultra Bulb, this translates into a savings of $100 over the life of the product. They add Ultra Bulb never gets hot, and unlike other LED bulbs, works with your dimmer switch.

Ultra Bulb includes:

  • 2 Ultra Bulbs
  • 2nd set Ultra Bulbs (additional S&H)

Ultra Bulb Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

You get 2 Ultra Bulbs for $19.99 plus $5.95 for a total of $25.94. At the time of your order, you can add a second set of Ultra Bulbs for an additional $5.95 shipping. (Note: when you click “Process Order” you are also signing their arbitration agreement, which presumably prevents you from suing them.) Ultra Bulb says its product has a 30-day money back guarantee, minus S&H fees.

Pros

  • Claims to last 10 years
  • Says it uses 85% less energy
  • Works with dimmer switches

Cons

  • No specific brightness/wattage information
  • Bell & Howell just a licensed name – no info who sells product
  • Arbitration agreement signed upon purchase
  • ASOTV products sometimes disappoint upon arrival

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

19 Customer Reviews for Ultra Bulb

Average Customer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 4 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 9
Bottom Line: 37% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 19
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Bad

    • Gatineau QC, Canada,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    Bought 18 bulbs for $84. They put a wrong shipping address. So I try to contact them, but you can't. I got a refund of $52. If they can, they will rip you off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Ultra Bulb Order

    • Mississauga, Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    Ultra Bulb order on October 5th, customer status report on October 15th is out of stock, no confirmation of shipping date. What is wrong with this picture? Do not order or you will never see the light of day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Nice warm light but hard to trust the company

    • Calgary, Alberta,
    • Jul 15, 2015

    I ordered a total of 16 bulbs and after about two weeks received four. I assumed the others would arrive later but it doesn't look like that's going to happen. The total quoted less the cost of the missing 12 bulbs was $26.89 but my credit card was charged $28.23, in US dollars. The website implies that the price will be in Canadian dollars since it ships from a Canadian site.

    Seems to be a good product but I'm going to stay away having been mislead/overcharged for what was delivered plus the fact that I didn't receive what I ordered. Too bad. "If a deal looks too good to be true ...", well you know the rest. More than $9 CDN per bulb when the dust settles is certainly no deal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Satisfied Customer

    • Kingston, ON,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I admit that these bulbs took a long time to come, but when they arrived I was pleased with them. I have low vision, and the light is of an excellent quality. It also shines more like a regular bulb than either fluorescent or other LED's. I am quite satisfied and have recommended them to others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Bright light but skeptical

    • British Colombia, Canada,
    • Jul 10, 2015

    The bulb is bright as advertised but after looking at the website and packaging, I'm not convinced this is a good deal. The site just lists a phone number and there's no business address other than just a return address somewhere in Wallingford CT. The website registrar is godaddy.com.

    I bought one locally at a mall and the package just says distributed by EMSON NY with no address. There's no mention where it's made on the package or on the bulb. The package doesn't list any product approval from a certified testing facility but on the bulb it's poorly stamped with "Bell + Howell UL 75 Not for use with dimmers." The white lettering easily wears off. The package says the 10 year warranty is covered by EMSON Inc. EMSON appears to be a product marketer.

    The bulb looks well made and does work as advertised but with the vague or lack of company information and the use of "Bell plus Howell" linked to a TV info commercial marketing company I'm concluding the warranty isn't worth much. I'm not buying this bulb again, instead I'll buy a LED bulb made from and sold by a reputable company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    Saw these on TV, decide to try them out. Went to the web site and placed an order. Once you select the number of bulbs you want and put in your credit card info and push process order you can not back out. I had no idea how many bulbs I ordered or the price I was paying until it showed up on my credit card. Also the price is in US funds, they don't tell you that even though the order is shipped out of Toronto. So in the end I received 18 bulbs costing $111.53, sure hope these are as good as they say.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Power consumption of ultra bulb

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    I received my order of four ultra bulbs after about a four week wait. I initially replaced only one CFL bulb and found the ultra bulb to be very bright by comparison. It is a very stark white, bright light and not a warm bright as they advertise it to be.

    However, my main concern is that it got quite hot at the base after only 30 minutes if use. The heat was too great to maintain hand contact, so I have to wonder how much energy is actually being used? My previous experience with LED lighting was always the absence of heat and therefore, low energy use ie; Christmas tree lights.

    Am I wrong about the heat being generated here? I would very much appreciate a response by anyone knowledgeable in this regard.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 13, 2015

      Bob

      There is a power converter in the base taking the ac electricity to DC at the voltage required by the LED. This may generate some heat so you should have some air flow to allow this to dissipate. If they list the total power used in the bulb its a good estimate that 90% of that will be wasted as heat not light.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Unsatisfied

    • Oakville, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    I was really dissatisfied with Bell and Howell Order. I ordered the bulbs on the 29th of September, 2014. It says your order will be updated on line every 24-48 hours. I contacted them on Oct. 6, 2014. They told me they do not have the bulbs in stock, so they do not have a shipping date. What a way to run a business. They did not contact me to let me know anything about my order.

    I would stay away from these people who are selling these. They are not good business people. I have told them to cancel my order and I am contacting my credit card people to make sure they do not get any money from my credit card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 17, 2014

      Wayne Curtis

      Ordered mine and was told 5-8 weeks delivery and I had them in my hands in 2 1/2 weeks. Completely satisfied and saving on my hydro costs too.

    • Dec 11, 2014

      Anonymous

      I don't work for the company. If you can't get the orders, then only means it is a such good product, that they couldn't keep up the orders, am I right, folks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Ultra Bulb

    • Canada,
    • Apr 14, 2015

    Ordered 4 bulbs from Toronto warehouse. Invoice was 30.38, but charges on my credit card were 38.91. Tried to contact them by e mail, they are returned. Then received 16 more bulbs from the USA which I did not order. Be careful. I am now trying to get them to credit my account for the extra bulbs at 91.00. I have returned them and still waiting for my credit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • Toronto,
    • Mar 21, 2015

    I ordered and received four light bulbs and was charged $37.32, to my surprise. The light bulb lasted less than 20 days out of 10 years warranty. Also, I noticed that the base was very hot, so I don't know how much energy has been used to produce this heat. This is a false advertising!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Rip off / False advertising

    • London, Ontario,
    • Feb 20, 2015

    It was a fairly lengthy wait. Unfortunately, it was not worth the wait at all. Package was huge. Tons of wasted packaging. I thought I was doing something good for the environment. Wrong. Then, I thought I was getting 8 bulbs for the price of 4 based on the t.v. commercial. When ordering, I realized I was only getting 6. I went ahead. Only 4 bulbs arrived. I was charged almost $30, and called to let them know my order was short. They said my shipment was correct. So I will never order again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 19

Write a review for Ultra Bulb!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review