About Vital Reds by Gundry MD

In this day and age, you’re probably feeling more and more worn out, as all of life’s demands begin to take their toll. You also don’t have the time to eat as well as you should, so you’re looking for “quick fixes” to provide some support.

To this extent, Vital Reds by Gundry MD promises to deliver a combination of 21 polyphenol-rich superfruits, along with dozens of natural fat burning ingredients, that help boost energy and metabolism, improve digestion, and support healthy cholesterol levels. It even claims to control fat around the belly, thighs, and waist—without any side effects!

All you need to do is mix one scoop of Vital Reds powder into the beverage of your choice, and drink one glass per day on a consistent basis. Gundry MD claims you may experience a “charge of energy” as soon as your first day of use, with “dramatic” results after 2-3 weeks.

Well, if you’re looking for maximum nutrition, Gundry MD certainly makes Vital Reds seem like the way to go. But will it really provide “energy at any age,” or will it leave your expectations flat on their face? Here’s what we learned during our research…

What Is Energy Dysfunction?

On one of Gundry MD’s websites, they mention that Vital Reds was “designed to help reduce the fatigue and energy dysfunction which act as warning signs for much more serious health problems.” Just what is this condition, and is it as serious as Dr. Gundry claims?

Although it’s easy to define each of these words, we didn’t uncover any evidence that “energy dysfunction” is a formal medical diagnosis. In other words, we think this is just an overly fancy term for “low energy.” What can cause this?

Low energy isn’t a diagnosis either, as it’s generally a side effect related to some other medical condition. Like what? Fatigue can be the result of poor lifestyle habits (not eating healthy, getting enough exercise, etc.), insufficient sleep, excess stress, and much more. As such, if you’re regularly tired, be sure to schedule an appointment with your doctor, who can help you narrow down the cause in order to provide some relief.

What Are Polyphenols? How Are They Beneficial?

We won’t get too science-y here, but polyphenols are compounds that contain a large number of key micronutrients and antioxidants, which are thought to help plants avoid damage caused by ultraviolet radiation and pathogens. As a broad group, polyphenols can be broken down into four different categories, based on their molecular structure: flavonoids, stilbenes, lignans, and phenolic acids.

When humans consume polyphenol-rich foods (many of which give foods a distinctive bright color, including red, hence the supplement’s name), these antioxidants are thought to provide a wide range of benefits; everything from fighting heart disease to reducing the risk of stroke.

Now, the problem is that 1) there are thousands of different polyphenols, 2) science doesn’t have a complete understanding of all of these substances, and 3) not all polyphenols are absorbed by the body in the same way. Does this hold true with Vital Reds? Let’s take a look.

What Ingredients Does Vital Reds Contain?

According to the supplement label listed on the Gundry MD website, Vital Reds contains the following:

  • Thiamin 1.5mg
  • Riboflavin 1.7mg
  • Niacin 20mg
  • Vitamin B6 2g
  • Folate 400mcg
  • Vitamin B12 6mcg
  • Biotin 300mcg
  • Pantothenic Acid 10mcg
  • Selenium 70mcg
  • Chromium 200mcg
  • Polyphenol Blend 1,540mg: Organic carrot, organic flax seed, organic apple peel, mulberry, black currant, apple, cranberry, papaya, mango, organic red raspberry, acai, organic strawberry, grape skin, organix beet, aronia berry, blueberry, pomegranate, blackberry, acerola extract, apple pectin, grape seed, pineapple, orange, watermelon, grapefruit, plum, pear, lemon, lime, cherry, peach, berberin HCl
  • Metabolic Boosting Blend 216mg: Cinnamon, ginger root, green tea, white tea, bitter melon, turmeric, black pepper
  • Digestive Support Blend 3 billion CFU: Bacillus coagulans, Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis, L. reuteri

While each of these first ingredients plays an important role in optimizing health, unless you’re deficient, there doesn’t seem to be enough clinical evidence that supplementation will provide any benefits. The one exception to this might be selenium, which is listed as possibly effective for improving antioxidant efficacy and reducing abnormal cholesterol levels.

Regarding the polyphenols; as we mentioned in the previous section, there’s a lot we don’t know, but it’s thought that no one polyphenol is better than the next. However, medical professionals recommend eating a wide variety of polyphenol-containing foods to optimize their benefits, which Vital Reds seems to deliver. Just be sure that you’re eating plenty of healthy fats with your polyphenols, as this will help them be more bioavailable.

As far as Vital Reds’ metabolic blend, there doesn’t seem to be enough clinical evidence to state with any certainly that these ingredients will boost your metabolism or help regulate your weight in any meaningful way.

Finally, they HighYa team has written extensively about probiotics over the years, which are clinically proven to treat IBS-related symptoms, bloating, and gassiness; boost energy, and improve immune response.

Are There Any Vital Reds Side Effects?

Although it seems that Vital Reds includes a mishmash of ingredients (at least from a clinical efficacy standpoint), the good news is that they probably won’t cause any harm.

In fact, other than perhaps flushing from the niacin content, you probably won’t experience anything but mild digestive upset from taking Vital Reds, if anything at all.

How Much Does Vital Reds Cost?

Vital Reds by Gundry MD is available in the following quantities:

  • 1 Jar: $49.95
  • 3 Jars: $134.85
  • 6 Jars: $254.70

All Gundry MD orders include free shipping and come with a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges.

In order to request a refund, you’ll need to call Gundry MD’s customer service at (800) 852-0477.

Given it’s relatively reasonable price and claimed benefits, are customers pleased with Gundry MD’s Vital Reds?

What Are Customers Saying About Gundry MD’s Vital Reds Supplement?

We specialize in bringing you reviews as soon as products are released, so there weren’t any online customer reviews for Vital Reds at the time of our research.

The good news is that we’ve received a couple pieces of feedback on Gundry MD’s Correct + Calm Redness Relief Cream, which had a 5-star average rating. Both customers claimed they experienced beneficial results that improved with regular use, although this doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll experience the same with Vital Reds. No reviews were available for Dr. Gundry’s third product, Lectin Shield.

Who’s the man behind Vital Reds? Dr. Steven Gundry, M.D. is a board certified thoracic cardiovascular surgeon who also founded the Center for Restorative Medicine in Palm Springs and Santa Barbara, CA. Not only this, by Dr. Gundry is responsible for inventing several medical technologies, including the Gundry Retrograde Cardioplegia Cannula, the Skoosh Venous Cannula, the Gundry Lateral Tunnel, and the Gundry Ministernomy.

According to the bio on his website, Dr. Gundry believes that “our mind and body are locked into an eons-old computer program that is very fundamental, logical and, ultimately, easy to control.” Thus, the crux of his approach is to use foods and other natural ingredients to control this computer and help patients lose weight, “reverse and or eradicate serious diseases such as high blood pressure and, in some cases, even cancer.”

Should You Make Vital Reds by Gundry MD a Crucial Part of Your Diet?

As more and more of us begin to understand the importance of keeping healthy, hundreds of companies have rushed in with a vast range of products that promise to make the process easier. In fact, even if you’re only looking for antioxidant red and green powders, you have dozens of options, including Aloha Green Juice, Organifi, and many more.

Is there anything that distinguishes Gundry MD’s Vital Reds from these other brands? Although prices are mostly the same, Vital Reds contains a blend of additional ingredients like vitamins and probiotics, which isn’t something you’ll always encounter.

As we outlined in the Ingredients section above though, the clinical evidence indicates you might experience the most noticeable benefits from Vital Reds’ probiotics, more than anything else.

The good news is that, unlike many other supplements companies, Gundry MD doesn’t enroll Vital Reds in any kind of autoship program, so you won’t receive any additional product until you decide to place an order. And if you decide you don’t like it, you can take advantage of their 90-day refund policy—although you’ll lose a few dollars in S&H.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

938 Customer Reviews for Vital Reds by Gundry MD

Average Customer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 585 4 star: 228 3 star: 38 2 star: 17 1 star:  70
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 938
Sort reviews by:

  • 21 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Tried to get refund

    On July 10, 2017, I got a call at about 8:10 am asking me about how I was doing with Dr. Gundry's Vital Reds. I replied, "Good that you called as I wanted to get an address so I could send the product back." They tried to get me to buy additional product at a reduced amount. When I said "no," they said they could give me an instant refund at 40% of my purchase price. I said, "no, just give me the address where to send it back."

    They told me I would get an email as I would have to call customer service. I could not find a customer service number, but I did get an email the next day that was a survey that did not relate to my wanting a refund. I filled it out and sent the survey. It is now nine days later and no reply. Do not get involved with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Refund not true

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They offer a refund but when I called they only refund what you send back. And they recommend you try it for 90 days! So it has a 90-dayy refund but if you have nothing left, then there is NO refund! You pay shipping on the product you return. This is not how the ad reads!

    It is very inconvenient if you are traveling, it is a scoop of product you need to mix in 8oz of water daily!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 18, 2017

      Mike

      Did it work or not, or is it just inconvenient as you travel?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 50 out 51 people found this review helpful

    No useful results

    • Rancho Mirage, CA,
    • Jul 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Having now taken Primal Plants and Vital Reds for a year I'm not really sure whether I'm more healthy or not, as it sure hasn't shown in my blood tests. My recent one showed no change in my high cholesterol and my blood sugar level up from my previous test, though we eat healthily and watch our weight along with exercising. The cost of his products is phenomenal, which definitely has led me to question his products.

    Along with that, his website for us sucks as after creating an account we cannot login with our email address yet we get all the email promos from them at that email. We've contacted the web support multiple times with a whole lot of BS for answers with finally their saying we have to call any orders in. What site does this?

    Also, have read some of his answers online which customers have asked of him yet there is no place on the site to ask a question to Dr. Gundry and my last email asking how to ask him a question remains unanswered. With this lack of support and the expense I'm left to feeling much of his products are unsubstantiated and thus are going to save my money with no more orders from me unless he can publish documented proof that they do what they are taught to do and not just people saying I "feel great."

    Lastly, he recently came out with great heart supplement! I thought that was what the Vital Reds was for? So how confusing can it be? Do we take one or all of them? Making him more wealthy and us really not getting the benefit proclaimed. Just very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • New York,
    • Jul 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw absolutely no benefits from this product. Although they do not have an auto-ship program for refills, they call, text and email you non-stop. They ignored all my requests to stop calling. Many of the callers speak such poor English that I could barely understand them, which makes me suspect that it is an overseas call service. They also use a local area code when calling, so you are more apt to answer the call. I DO NOT recommend their products!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Worked, then didn't, then did.

    Confusing I know.

    I've been taking Vital Reds for over a year now. I had been dealing with painful IBS-D symptoms for more than a year when I started Vital Reds. I spent more days in bed in pain and close to the bathroom than out of bed. I had tried probiotics, tried cutting out gluten, cutting out milk products, then all dairy, and nothing helped in a significant way. I became depressed and felt utterly hopeless having been through so many tests and scans and no help from doctors because "IBS-D, no real treatment available." A friend brought over some healthy/organic/energy type ingredients and wanted me to try this smoothie recipe thing she designed. I did get a nudge in the right direction after a few days, but within a few days, I was back in bed most days. It helped, then stopped helping.

    I don't remember how I found Vital Reds. I normally roll my eyes at these kinds of claims but figured I had wasted more money on stupider things so why not try it?

    Within a week I was out of bed as often as I was in bed. I experienced some energy return while taking Vital Reds daily, mixed in a smoothie with bananas and spinach (sometimes kale but it's so bitter!), and I started to experience normal bowel movements. Not every day but more days then not. For three months I saw continued improvement in regular normal bowels and energy and mood. With energy and mood came increased activity and then came increased stamina.

    Having gone through the three-month supply, I decided to test the efficacy of Vital Reds so I went to the local GNC and purchased super green powder, probiotic powder, and multi vitamin for menopausal women. Within two weeks I was back in bed every day dealing with painful cramping bowel, and smapsming pelvic muscles, back on painkillers, and back to being depressed. I continued with the GNC stuff for a full month to see if perhaps it was simply an adjustment thing with my digestive system.

    I gave up and ordered a year supply of Vital Reds. Within a week I was back to being out of bed more often than in and within a month I was rarely in bed.

    But a few months later the symptoms returned. I noticed if I skipped a day with Vital Reds, the following day my bowels stayed quiet but also didn't move. So I started using Vital Reds every other day, and that gave me a kind of every other day schedule. But then the every other day with symptoms turned into every day once again. So I started taking Vital Reds every third day, then every fourth. But now I was constipated and barely able to have a bowel movement. It seems my digestion can't make up its mind!

    So now I use Vital Reds like a laxative.

    I can't say this product is bad because it did help me. I don't know if my first batch of Vital Reds was made with better ingredients or if my digestion is contrary and doesn't like to be predictable or dependable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Are you kidding me?

    Back in March, I ordered Vital Reds. I kept forgetting to take it, and my eczema is so bad it is bleeding on the back of my legs. So I put a note by my blood pressure medicine and wrote "red to stop the red." I started every morning taking it with my blood pressure medicine, and it is now two weeks and I can barely see any red scaly patches, and there has been no bleeding from the third day I took red. I will never miss another day. No more creams, steroids, or bleeding. Thank you for this product, although I would not be upset if the price were reduced some, it is worth every penny, but I still wouldn't mind.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Dramatic improvement for our adult daughter

    After consuming Vital Reds for four months daily, I have not seen any dramatic improvements in my health, but that wasn't my expectation anyway because I'm already very healthy. I was simply looking to increase my odds of staying healthy and Vital Reds seemed to fit the bill of my needs based on my own research.

    HOWEVER, I introduced Vital Reds to my 20-year-old daughter about 6-8 weeks ago, and her health has appeared to improve dramatically. She has suffered from debilitating sleep and chronic fatigue disorders since grade school. Typically she suffered episodes of what we called “shut down” that rendered her unable to get out of bed for anywhere from a few days to a week to 10 days. Recovery from those episodes left her in a reduced state of energy and productivity, and so she has been unable to stay in college or keep a steady job. She also would function in an agitated state and appear like she's "not with it" before and after episodes.

    Since taking Vital Reds along with a women’s multivitamin, and a probiotic, she has been consistently more vibrant than she has been in years. She has been able to consistently work at her current job and even take double shifts from time to time. Her mood, attitude, and energy are clearly all improved greatly.

    While we can also potentially attribute some of her improvements to a more stable living condition (i.e., less stress) since she moved home with us recently, we really think the improvement in her health is attributable, at least in part, if not significantly, due to the Vital Reds fueling her system with many things she has lacked for a long period of time in her diet, and which were difficult to implement until the Vital Reds.

    So in lieu of going into long history and great detail of correlations to lifestyle and diet, we believe that Vital Reds has been the primary factor in the dramatic improvement in our daughter's health. If she continues through the remainder of this year without experiencing any of her shut down episodes, it will be the first year that has happened since she was in elementary school and we will fuel her with Vital Reds forever in that case.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 77 out 85 people found this review helpful

    Do not purchase

    I purchased a three-month supply of Vital Reds after the infomercial appeared on my computer. I don't even know why it came up, but I found Dr. Gundry to appear honest and therefore decided to make the investment. As he pointed out, purchasing the fresh produce is more costly.

    At checkout, there were endless offers before I was able to pay. I eventually decided to buy the prebiotics as well since I have colitis.

    I have not only not felt any of the advertised benefits, but after 45 days my colitis has actually been worse than it has in 6+ months! Granted this could be a coincidence but I don't believe so.

    I also am most disappointed in no energy boost from Vital Reds.

    I had faith these products would work, but in the off chance they didn't the company of Dr. Gundry offers a 100% money back guarantee, right?

    Well, that hasn't been the case.

    I am frustrated and disturbed by this company's poor customer service. I now have to pay to return the product. Even the empty containers!

    Do not purchase. Very disappointed and frustrated!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Working wonderful for me

    • Las Vegas, Nevada,
    • Jun 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried everything for constipation and IBS. I thought I would give this a try because of the money back guarantee. I called my order in and spoke to a woman who was beyond helpful. I really don't believe she was just telling me what I wanted to hear because I did not tell her my problems and why I was ordering it until much later in the call.

    I've been drinking the Vital Reds for a little over a week now and have regular bowel movements, without any other stimulants. And honestly, it really tastes delicious. Yes, I am on an auto ship, but I can cancel anytime and can send everything back for a full refund. I am impressed so far. Five stars here.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 46 out 47 people found this review helpful

    It has helped get rid of my brain fog

    I'm a nurse and started taking Vital Reds about three weeks ago, and I take it every single day. I work night shifts, which as those of you who work night shifts know, it really wreaks havoc with your body. I really struggled with my energy and had a lot of brain fog every day.

    I can't say that I have TONS of energy from it, but it really has helped me be more mentally focused. When I wake up from sleeping during the day, I'm not foggy headed anymore, which is a big deal for me. Before Vital Reds, I really had an issue with doing my charting. It seemed like there was a disconnect between my brain and my hand. There has been some improvement in that area for which I am thankful.

    It still does seem expensive, but I'm hoping that in the long run, I will continue to feel better and that it will be worth it. My friend that sells Juice Plus was a little perturbed that I wanted to try this first. lol. I like that it's easy. Just a scoop of powder into a bottle of water. I hate taking pills and capsules. And it really does taste good. I've taken some other products that really tasted horrible.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 59 out 67 people found this review helpful

    The operators don't know so they just make up what they think the client wants to hear so they'll buy it

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I researched this product and then called to ask if it might interfere with IBS. No, it would help because of the digestive help. Anyone with IBS is grasping for "help," so I saw this as a good idea.

    It was not. After one drink I started having diarrhea, and it has now put me in the ER. Of course, I sent it back! I still have to pay shipping, which makes me upset since I now have a hospital bill also!

    Please think carefully about buying this. It doesn't even get a one star in my book.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 21, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi there Diane, Aria here with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience with Vital Reds. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the product and that you may have experienced an adverse reaction. We always recommend that you consult your primary physician prior to starting any new health regimen to make sure it will not interfere with anything else you may be taking. But also to be sure that you are not allergic to any one specific ingredient. I apologize if any of our team steered you wrong. I will make sure to address this immediately so nothing like this happens again. Please feel free to email me personally with any other questions or comments at aria@gundrymd.com. Thank you again Diane.

    • Jun 30, 2017

      Diane Griffin

      I started using Primal Plants in February, and a month later I was diagnosed with diverticulosis. In June, I had another attack with severe constipation. Do you think there is a connection? I would certainly like to have Dr. Gundry's opinion. I did like the product and I had great bowel movements while on it. I'm looking forward to hearing from you.

    • Jul 8, 2017

      Dennis Krieg

      I want to order six bottles of Vital Reds.

    • Jul 18, 2017

      Scottie Mitchell

      I like the energy that I get from it, but it seems to make me itch. Could it be the Niacin because I have Rosacea? I would like to continue taking it if I could, but the itching is somewhat disturbing. Has anybody else experienced this?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 938

Write a Review for Vital Reds by Gundry MD!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review