About Vital Reds by Gundry MD

In this day and age, you’re probably feeling more and more worn out, as all of life’s demands begin to take their toll. You also don’t have the time to eat as well as you should, so you’re looking for “quick fixes” to provide some support.

To this extent, Vital Reds by Gundry MD promises to deliver a combination of 21 polyphenol-rich superfruits, along with dozens of natural fat burning ingredients, that help boost energy and metabolism, improve digestion, and support healthy cholesterol levels. It even claims to control fat around the belly, thighs, and waist—without any side effects!

All you need to do is mix one scoop of Vital Reds powder into the beverage of your choice, and drink one glass per day on a consistent basis. Gundry MD claims you may experience a “charge of energy” as soon as your first day of use, with “dramatic” results after 2-3 weeks.

Well, if you’re looking for maximum nutrition, Gundry MD certainly makes Vital Reds seem like the way to go. But will it really provide “energy at any age,” or will it leave your expectations flat on their face? Here’s what we learned during our research…

What Is Energy Dysfunction?

On one of Gundry MD’s websites, they mention that Vital Reds was “designed to help reduce the fatigue and energy dysfunction which act as warning signs for much more serious health problems.” Just what is this condition, and is it as serious as Dr. Gundry claims?

Although it’s easy to define each of these words, we didn’t uncover any evidence that “energy dysfunction” is a formal medical diagnosis. In other words, we think this is just an overly fancy term for “low energy.” What can cause this?

Low energy isn’t a diagnosis either, as it’s generally a side effect related to some other medical condition. Like what? Fatigue can be the result of poor lifestyle habits (not eating healthy, getting enough exercise, etc.), insufficient sleep, excess stress, and much more. As such, if you’re regularly tired, be sure to schedule an appointment with your doctor, who can help you narrow down the cause in order to provide some relief.

What Are Polyphenols? How Are They Beneficial?

We won’t get too science-y here, but polyphenols are compounds that contain a large number of key micronutrients and antioxidants, which are thought to help plants avoid damage caused by ultraviolet radiation and pathogens. As a broad group, polyphenols can be broken down into four different categories, based on their molecular structure: flavonoids, stilbenes, lignans, and phenolic acids.

When humans consume polyphenol-rich foods (many of which give foods a distinctive bright color, including red, hence the supplement’s name), these antioxidants are thought to provide a wide range of benefits; everything from fighting heart disease to reducing the risk of stroke.

Now, the problem is that 1) there are thousands of different polyphenols, 2) science doesn’t have a complete understanding of all of these substances, and 3) not all polyphenols are absorbed by the body in the same way. Does this hold true with Vital Reds? Let’s take a look.

What Ingredients Does Vital Reds Contain?

According to the supplement label listed on the Gundry MD website, Vital Reds contains the following:

  • Thiamin 1.5mg
  • Riboflavin 1.7mg
  • Niacin 20mg
  • Vitamin B6 2g
  • Folate 400mcg
  • Vitamin B12 6mcg
  • Biotin 300mcg
  • Pantothenic Acid 10mcg
  • Selenium 70mcg
  • Chromium 200mcg
  • Polyphenol Blend 1,540mg: Organic carrot, organic flax seed, organic apple peel, mulberry, black currant, apple, cranberry, papaya, mango, organic red raspberry, acai, organic strawberry, grape skin, organix beet, aronia berry, blueberry, pomegranate, blackberry, acerola extract, apple pectin, grape seed, pineapple, orange, watermelon, grapefruit, plum, pear, lemon, lime, cherry, peach, berberin HCl
  • Metabolic Boosting Blend 216mg: Cinnamon, ginger root, green tea, white tea, bitter melon, turmeric, black pepper
  • Digestive Support Blend 3 billion CFU: Bacillus coagulans, Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis, L. reuteri

While each of these first ingredients plays an important role in optimizing health, unless you’re deficient, there doesn’t seem to be enough clinical evidence that supplementation will provide any benefits. The one exception to this might be selenium, which is listed as possibly effective for improving antioxidant efficacy and reducing abnormal cholesterol levels.

Regarding the polyphenols; as we mentioned in the previous section, there’s a lot we don’t know, but it’s thought that no one polyphenol is better than the next. However, medical professionals recommend eating a wide variety of polyphenol-containing foods to optimize their benefits, which Vital Reds seems to deliver. Just be sure that you’re eating plenty of healthy fats with your polyphenols, as this will help them be more bioavailable.

As far as Vital Reds’ metabolic blend, there doesn’t seem to be enough clinical evidence to state with any certainly that these ingredients will boost your metabolism or help regulate your weight in any meaningful way.

Finally, they HighYa team has written extensively about probiotics over the years, which are clinically proven to treat IBS-related symptoms, bloating, and gassiness; boost energy, and improve immune response.

Are There Any Vital Reds Side Effects?

Although it seems that Vital Reds includes a mishmash of ingredients (at least from a clinical efficacy standpoint), the good news is that they probably won’t cause any harm.

In fact, other than perhaps flushing from the niacin content, you probably won’t experience anything but mild digestive upset from taking Vital Reds, if anything at all.

How Much Does Vital Reds Cost?

Vital Reds by Gundry MD is available in the following quantities:

  • 1 Jar: $49.95
  • 3 Jars: $134.85
  • 6 Jars: $254.70

All Gundry MD orders include free shipping and come with a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges.

In order to request a refund, you’ll need to call Gundry MD’s customer service at (800) 852-0477.

Given it’s relatively reasonable price and claimed benefits, are customers pleased with Gundry MD’s Vital Reds?

What Are Customers Saying About Gundry MD’s Vital Reds Supplement?

We specialize in bringing you reviews as soon as products are released, so there weren’t any online customer reviews for Vital Reds at the time of our research.

The good news is that we’ve received a couple pieces of feedback on Gundry MD’s Correct + Calm Redness Relief Cream, which had a 5-star average rating. Both customers claimed they experienced beneficial results that improved with regular use, although this doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll experience the same with Vital Reds. No reviews were available for Dr. Gundry’s third product, Lectin Shield.

Who’s the man behind Vital Reds? Dr. Steven Gundry, M.D. is a board certified thoracic cardiovascular surgeon who also founded the Center for Restorative Medicine in Palm Springs and Santa Barbara, CA. Not only this, by Dr. Gundry is responsible for inventing several medical technologies, including the Gundry Retrograde Cardioplegia Cannula, the Skoosh Venous Cannula, the Gundry Lateral Tunnel, and the Gundry Ministernomy.

According to the bio on his website, Dr. Gundry believes that “our mind and body are locked into an eons-old computer program that is very fundamental, logical and, ultimately, easy to control.” Thus, the crux of his approach is to use foods and other natural ingredients to control this computer and help patients lose weight, “reverse and or eradicate serious diseases such as high blood pressure and, in some cases, even cancer.”

Should You Make Vital Reds by Gundry MD a Crucial Part of Your Diet?

As more and more of us begin to understand the importance of keeping healthy, hundreds of companies have rushed in with a vast range of products that promise to make the process easier. In fact, even if you’re only looking for antioxidant red and green powders, you have dozens of options, including Aloha Green Juice, Organifi, and many more.

Is there anything that distinguishes Gundry MD’s Vital Reds from these other brands? Although prices are mostly the same, Vital Reds contains a blend of additional ingredients like vitamins and probiotics, which isn’t something you’ll always encounter.

As we outlined in the Ingredients section above though, the clinical evidence indicates you might experience the most noticeable benefits from Vital Reds’ probiotics, more than anything else.

The good news is that, unlike many other supplements companies, Gundry MD doesn’t enroll Vital Reds in any kind of autoship program, so you won’t receive any additional product until you decide to place an order. And if you decide you don’t like it, you can take advantage of their 90-day refund policy—although you’ll lose a few dollars in S&H.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

928 Customer Reviews for Vital Reds by Gundry MD

Average Customer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 582 4 star: 227 3 star: 37 2 star: 17 1 star:  65
Bottom Line: 90% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 928
Sort reviews by:

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    The operators don't know so they just make up what they think the client wants to hear so they'll buy it

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I researched this product and then called to ask if it might interfere with IBS. No, it would help because of the digestive help. Anyone with IBS is grasping for "help," so I saw this as a good idea.

    It was not. After one drink I started having diarrhea, and it has now put me in the ER. Of course, I sent it back! I still have to pay shipping, which makes me upset since I now have a hospital bill also!

    Please think carefully about buying this. It doesn't even get a one star in my book.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Failure to follow through on guarantee = lie or scam!

    • Honolulu, Hawaii,
    • Jun 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had mistakenly made two three-month orders of Vital Reds and immediately canceled the order via PalPay. However, the money had been taken out of my account despite PayPal confirming that my order to Dr. Gundry Vital Reds had been canceled. I waited for my funds to be reimbursed into my account, but instead, six jars of Vital Reds arrived at my door.

    I'm glad for those who have been helped by this product, but after five months of taking Vital Reds daily, I haven't experienced the benefits promised by this product, not nearly! I requested for the guarantee with no question asked, as advertised and received an email stating that I would be refunded for a three-month order within 3 to 5 days.

    Twelve business days have gone by and one unanswered reply as well, and still no record of a refund in my account. Extremely disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Combine Vital Reds with Lectin Free Diet

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Jun 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was experiencing fluid retention in both knees coupled with painful calve muscles that made it difficult and painful to go up and down steps, much less get up and out of a chair. My knees were drained bi-monthly yielding about 40 ml of fluid from each knee. I started the Gundry Lectin Free Diet and Vital Reds program in November of 2016 and have never looked back because I am now pain and fluid free and can move around like a normal person with knees that are no longer swollen.

    In addition, I started on the Prebiothrive and am now even feeling better. I don't bonk out at 2 PM and get sleepy and tired every day and have more energy. Thank you, Dr. Gundry, for getting my normal life back!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    I'm losing weight, but not sure about the side effects.

    • Upper Marlboro, MD,
    • Jun 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been talking Vital Reds for a week now. While I've noticed an increase in energy, for the last two days, I've been waking up with slight headaches that come and go throughout the day. I've also lost three pounds in the last four days. I'm on high blood pressure and anti-anxiety meds.

    I would really like to continue talking Vital Reds, but since it isn't FDA approved I'm not sure if it's worth the possible interaction with my meds and getting the headaches that didn't start until taking Vital Reds. Are there any suggestions on how I should be taking this supplement? For example, should I take it every other day or with more water or something?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 11, 2017

      Elaine M

      I would love to know the answer to your question Honey M. I am also on blood pressure and anxiety medication, and I am thinking seriously about beginning the lectin-free eating plan and purchasing Vital Reds.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Life-changing

    • Stratford, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jun 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love everything about Vital Reds!

    When I first started using them, I felt like I wanted to kick up my heels as I walked to work. I didn't know how yucky I was feeling until I started feeling so energetic. I had been very bloated after I ate for a long time. My doctor said it was nothing to worry about.

    After taking Vital Reds, my stomach is flat after a meal and my clothes fit better. I put Vital Reds in my morning smoothie, and so does my husband. We both shed ten pounds without even trying.

    I had the chance to meet Dr. Gundry in New York at his book launch. I was very impressed with his humbleness and knowledge. What an incredible man! Vital Reds tastes so good on its own with water.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Promised VIP price (60% off retail) not being kept, charged more than retail price

    • Germantown, MD,
    • Jun 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a subscriber for Prebiothrive and Vital Reds since January of 2017. Although I do not see the difference, I am willing to try one year believing their words.

    Gundry promised VIP price (60% off the retail price) but charged me more than retail price. Their website is unresponsive very often, so I called in to order Vital Reds today as a VIP subscriber, and they charged the following, while this web page says three jars for retail price is $105, the person on the phone charged me $107.85 as 60% off of the retail price. This is so dishonest business conduct.

    (DRGRSBx3) xGundry MD Vital Reds - 3 Jars - 49% Off Retail

    $107.85 X 1 = $107.85

    Product Total $107.85

    Coupon Discount ($5.39)

    Grand Total $102.46

    They also have been charging me $49.99 per jar for Prebiothrive for three automatic shipments not issuing the VIP price $20 per jar.

    Gundry, please contact me and issue a full refund of the overcharge. Very dishonest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 9, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Mari, Aria here with Gundry MD. I am sorry to hear that you did not receive the pricing that you anticipated for your purchase of PrebioThrive and Vital Reds. It is never our intention to overcharge our customers. We run special sales all of the time and perhaps the customer relations agent who assisted you made a mistake, we’re not perfect, although we try our best to be! Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com with the link to the special offer you were promised so that I can process a refund for the difference in cost. Thank you Mari, I look forward to assisting you.

    • Jun 18, 2017

      JANE Taylor

      My son and I have been using Vital Reds for a couple months now. We both have been feeling so much more energetic and also noticed some weight loss. Thank you and keep us informed on any new products.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Six month review

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Jun 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 64 years old. I have been taking Vital Reds and also Primal Plants every morning for about six months.

    I have not lost any weight. I don't feel energetic. In fact, I can't discern anything beneficial. Maybe my complexion is slightly better. I am not sure.

    I had some concern about taking both the Reds and the Primal Plants because that would give me 200% of my daily requirement of many nutrients in addition to any I might consume during the day. I called the Gundry Company, and they said it was no problem.

    The reason I keep taking it is because I need to do everything I can to maintain my health. I continue to buy the products hoping that the ingredients are helping me on the inside, even if I can't tell anything on the outside.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 9, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi there Dale, Aria here with Gundry MD. Thank you for being a valued customer of our company. I am sorry to hear that you are not seeing the results that you were expecting from Vital Reds and Primal Plants. While most customers see results right away, it may take longer for others. Please feel free to email me at aria@gundrymd.com with any further questions or comments you may have. Thank you Dale.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Impressive results!

    • Naples, Florida,
    • May 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Vital Reds for three weeks. I actually felt an increase of energy the very first day, but I thought maybe I imagined it because I really wanted this to be all that it said it was. After three weeks, I can say that every morning after my cup of Vital Reds, I just feel "better!" I've noticed my skin has become softer too and that was unexpected. I don't get sleepy halfway way through the day like I used to, and I don't need ten hours of sleep anymore.

    I am very happy with this product and am 100% convinced that it has improved my overall well-being and health!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 49 people found this review helpful

    Awesome!

    • Petoskey, MI,
    • May 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered three bottles of Vital Reds. I suffer from chronic Lymes disease. Every spring my symptoms come back; pain, swollen joints, fatigue, you name it, I got it. My docs told me that the key is to keep the immune system strong to keep the disease down. Even totally changing what I ate (organic), my symptoms came back every year when the weather would get warm. I decided to give Vital Reds a try. For the first time in seven years, my symptoms have not reared their ugly head; I feel better, have more energy and am able to do so much more with little to no pain. Coincidence? I don't think so!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Great results!

    • Dallas, Texas,
    • May 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Within a month of staying Viral Reds, I noticed a significant boost in my energy. I'm 59 years old and would typically be tired after a workout, and if I had not rested well the night before I would be completely exhausted if I tried to work out, like on the couch the rest of the day exhausted.

    One day, about a month into taking the supplement, I noticed after a workout I felt really good and then it dawned on me I also had not slept well the night before, and I thought to myself, "Oh my gosh, this stuff is really working!" I've been on the supplement for about five months and am still enjoying the benefits. Also, I'm sensitive to any supplement that "boosts" your metabolism because they keep me up at night. Vital Reds has never had this side effect, even if I take it in the evening! I love it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Charging rhino on the treadmill

    Vital Reds is the real deal for someone who trains as hard as I do at 55 getting ready for the Ironman 2018 in Kona Hawaii. I take two scoops with warm water on an empty stomach 5-6 times a week and charge forward in the gym like a charging rhino and get eyeballs looking at me like "how does he do it?" My day is vibrant all day long. We are all wonderfully made, so please take care of your temple.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 928

Write a Review for Vital Reds by Gundry MD!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review