About Vuse E Cig

Manufactured by R.J. Reynolds tobacco company, Vuse E-Cigarettes are cartridge-based units claimed to be designed with proprietary smart processor technology (known as a SmartMemory chip) that uses algorithms to monitor and adjust heat delivery up to 2,000 times per second, thereby giving you a perfect puff, the first time and every time. In addition to its consistent and reliable performance, Vuse e-cigarettes are claimed to provide you with satisfying and great tasting vapor. And since there’s no combustion, you won’t be bothered with a “smoke” smell or any resulting ash.

Each stainless steel Vuse PowerUnit contains a lithium polymer battery, similar to those contained in cell phones and other electronic devices, that activates an atomizer, which turns the V-liquid contained in each replaceable cartridge into nicotine-containing (about 4.8%) vapor. This high quality nicotine is claimed to be derived from tobacco plants, and is suspended in a solution of vegetable glycerin, propylene glycol, reverse-osmosis water, and natural and artificial flavorings (either menthol or tobacco).

How Long Do Vuse E-Cigs Last?

Vuse E-Cigarettes come fully charged right out of the package, and the company claims that each cartridge will provide about as many puffs as a pack of traditional cigarettes. Vuse e-cigarettes are also claimed to feature a SmartLight indicator that will blink red when the cartridge needs replacing, and will remain white when the battery needs to be recharged. According to the company, the battery will typically need to be charged once per day, and will need to be replaced after 4-6 months of use.

Vuse E-Cigs are claimed to be designed and assembled in the USA, and the company also provides a free pre-paid mailer to return your used cartridges for recycling.

Vuse E-Cig Pricing & Refund Policy

Vuse E-Cigarettes are only available through retail locations (often at drug stores and gas stations), and are typically priced as follows:

  • Vuse Solo (1 rechargeable battery, 1 cartridge, and 1 USB charger): About $10
  • Vuse System (1 rechargeable battery, 3 cartridges, 1 USB charger, 1 AC adapter, and 1 carrying case): About $30
  • Cartridges (package of 2): $4-$6

As such, refund policies will depend on each individual retailer.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Vuse?

Based on reviews found on websites such as ElectronicCigaretteConsumerReviews.com, PCMag.com, Gizmodo, and Digital Trends, overall, it appears that Vuse E Cigs have a mostly positive online reputation with customers, with some of the most common compliments citing good aesthetics and craftsmanship, a throat hit similar to traditional cigarettes, and reasonable price.

On the other hand, some of the most common complaints relate to their high price with continued use, and that the vapor is thick and satisfying with new cartridges, but quickly loses its “substance” as it’s used. Also, some consumers complained that as you near the end of a cartridge you might notice a slight “burned” taste, and that the same draw produced different levels of vapor.

In addition, some customers noted that the Vuse cartridges don’t last as long as a pack of traditional cigarettes, and that the batteries hold less and less charge and need to be replaced quickly.

Finally, quite a few customers commented on Vuse’s high nicotine content, which may be a bonus for some users and a drawback for others. Also some users found the taste satisfying, while others disliked it.

Bottom Line: Are Vuse E-Cigarettes Worth Your Money?

When it comes to e-cigarettes, Vuse appears to offer a well-made and readily available e-cig that will likely provide you with a solid alternative to traditional cigarettes. However, similar to other models from FIN Electronic Cigarettes and VChic, keep in mind that Vuse E-Cigs are not considered a smoking cessation device. In other words, they won’t help you break your addiction to nicotine.

Also, while cartridge-based e-cigarettes like those from Vuse can represent an inexpensive method of moving away from traditional cigarettes, you’ll likely eventually move over to a full-on vaporizer should you decide to stick with it. Although this method of e-smoking can represent a greater initial cost ($50-$80 for a basic unit), the cost of using them over time is much lower than with cartridge-based units like Vuse. In addition, vaporizers will also provide you with the ability to control the intensity of your vapor and to add e-liquid as you wish (and even mix and match your own flavors). On top of this, you won’t need to run to the store and stock up on cartridges, or to find a place to dispose of your used ones. Although if R.J. Reynolds has its way, these types of vaporizers may eventually be banned in the U.S., furthering their market share.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

93 Customer Reviews for Vuse E Cig

Average Customer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 13 4 stars: 14 3 stars: 9 2 stars: 16 1 stars: 41
Bottom Line: 34% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 93
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Defective Cartridges

    For over a month now the RJ Reynolds company Has been producing defective Vuse cartridges. The defect is easy to see. The electrical contacts (there are three) are the problem. The deepest contact on the cartridge which Contacts the largest metal ring does not stand up to its full height in the plastic slot. Sometimes it barely protrudes out of the bottom. When the contact is not made the assembly will blink a red and white light.

    I believe the RJ Reynolds company, who are aware of the problem, is not willing to stop production because they want the $$. So they continue to produce defective cartridges. Out of the eight packages, I purchased 16 cartridges, of which 9 were defective and only 7 were acceptable. That's less than half.

    The Better Business Bureau should not stand for such a success rate. Producing a product that is intentionally defective and sold is a crime.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Corpus Christi, TX,
    • Aug 3, 2016

    I've been using for a few weeks and on numerous occasions I've bought cartridges and they don't work at all. Yes it was fully charged, but the cartridges don't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    • Florida,
    • Jul 13, 2016

    Bought basic kit last night at Wawa for $11

    The Vuse E Cig lasted one hour. Both the battery and cartridge were out. Now I cannot return. It's very hard to snap cartridge to the battery and battery to the charger.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Awful Product, Awful Customer Service

    • South Carolina,
    • Jul 5, 2016

    I've used Vuse for quite some time now. I have had issues on several occasions.

    1. The Vuse battery connector broke where it would not even connect with the cartridges anymore since it was made of plastic. (Contacted Vuse by phone, they sent me a coupon to purchase another Vuse Solo for $1...made me pay for their faulty product).

    2. I was going on a business trip so I bought several packages of cartridges knowing I would not have the time or transportation to go purchase more during my trip. Of the 8 or 10 cartridges I bought, at least half were faulty, where the unit would just blink red and white. (Contacted Vuse by email, received response with no resolution insisting that I take time out of my day to call to discuss this matter. So I did because I was not wasting the money I spent on those cartridges. They sent me only enough coupons to replace the faulty cartridges, not my entire purchase. Oh but they also sent me a coupon to buy another battery for $5 off. Never used that one.)

    3. Once again, I purchased cartridges that were faulty. So I submitted an email containing all of the information they requested from me the first time I had this issue and made note that I do not have the time to call so please resolve by email. Received response from Carrie stating to call. I immediately replied stating I don't have time to call. Carrie then replied stating for me to call.

    Guess what, I will no longer be using Vuse products because they do not value their customers or their valuable time. The product is clearly terrible. Their customer service representative clearly cannot understand English. I'm done. If you choose to use their product then my condolences. I will be spreading word of their product anywhere I can. I cannot believe the way they totally disregard their customer's wishes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Vuse

    Please don't spend your money on this product. The filters only last up to 20 minutes and cost $6. I have spent a fortune on these filters as they are readily available in every state and I travel as I am retired. Their customer service is excellent and they will send replacement coupons but the new filters will only last a few minutes each. A waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    I love my Vuse

    • Lancaster, CA,
    • Jun 12, 2016

    I bought a Vuse on 3/2016, not thinking it would be great. I used to smoke 1/2 a pack a day. I started using the Vuse and to my amazement it was satisfying enough to quit traditional cigs. It was a harsh hit at first, but you have to hit it differently than a cigarette. You hit then inhale. One cartridge used to last two days and so did the charge. But within a few months I was using one cartridge a day. I charge it when I'm done at night, so it's fully charged for the next day. I wondered what the nicotine content was and found out it is 48mg per cartridge. Most cigs are 12mg. So it equals out to about 4 cigarettes. It is definitely more expensive then traditional cigs, but for me it is worth it to not smell like an ash tray and subject myself and others to all the carcinogenic chemicals. As the cartridge gets low the hits aren't as good, but I can't stand regular cigs so I keep on puffing my Vuse. I am pretty happy with it. It is constructed well, has a decent charge and I love the creme flavor. I would definitely recommend the Vuse to anyone who seriously wants to smoke but doesn't enjoy cigarettes anymore.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Vuse is a dirty company but has a good product!

    • California,
    • May 27, 2016

    Well, I never was a cigarette smoker but I started with vapes. I got a Vuse for quick nicotine hits if I'm driving or something where I don't have the ability to drip my box mod or I'm somewhere where I can't blow clouds. Here's something I learned which got me angry with the company Vuse: their cartridges have a set amount of puffs (equivalence to the puffs from one pack of cigarettes) even though the cartridge is good for many more puffs after that!

    They are dirty for wasting the customers money when there's good hits still available in the cartridge. I learned how to bypass this puff counter and use the cartridge to the full extent. I'm not going to go into detail on this review and teach you how to do that but you can simply google "How to hack a Vuse" and learn!

    Vuse cartridges have more hits in them and Vuse is dirty company for trying to get more money from the consumer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Cheaper to smoke cigarettes

    I was excited to start my journey to quit smoking so I invested in the vapor kit (not Vuse), however, after a short time, I started having problems breathing so I could no longer use it. I remembered that before those were popular they had the eCigarette. I went to Wal-mart and bought the Vuse original kit also purchased 2 additional cartridges. I used it as soon as I got in the car and actually liked it. The next day I put my cigarettes up and was going to use the eCig. However, the first cartridge was out already so I chalked it up to so much that it lost its freshness. So I went to cigarette number two. I smoked a little and by the third time it was out AGAIN. I don't smoke that much and certainly not that because it was so strong that I couldn't smoke it very much. So three cartridges in less than 24 hours. There's no way thay anyone can afford $36.00 a day on cartridges, that's a carton of cigarettes. So now I'm out all of that money and I shake my head that I chose Vuse instead of Blu.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Good product if it worked

    • Boston, MA,
    • Mar 16, 2016

    I have been trying to find a good eCig that provided a strong "hit" that others seemed to lack. I was surprised at VUSE, which had a great flavor. I purchased the starter kit for ten bucks and had my first regular VUSE. It was good and lasted about two days. I then purchased a replacement cartridges. The first replacement was dead. With the second one ,I got about ten hits off of it. I contacted customer service and after 25 minutes on hold, the CSR said she would send me coupons to replace the defective products in three to four weeks. Since I thought this defect was an aberration, today I purchased replacement cartridges. After the first few hits, I saw that the battery needs charging light was turned on. I hooked it up and try as I might, it won't recharge. After a Google search, it appears VUSE is overrun with these types of defects. I don't want to wait on a telephone line to tell RJR or is it PM yet another product is defective. According to one blog I read, I should take a cue tip and remove any excess moisture for it to properly charge. Sounds like a major design defect and a product that was not ready to launch. Well, VUSE, you lost me as a customer. Tomorrow, I try a new one, one that is tested and proven.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Laughing out loud to some of these reviews

    • Feb 23, 2016

    I read through the reviews, which is the only reason I'm leaving one. How the heck does someone use up a whole cartridge in less than 20 puffs? I puff on this thing non stop for hours while I drink my coffee, and it takes hours to use up a refill.

    Next, I have bought one kit. I have had it for over 6 months now, and it's still great. I saw one person say that they bought 50 (laughing out loud). I think most of these are not legit reviews.

    And to clear up the actual post, it blinks red when the battery is low, and it blinks white when the cartridge is almost empty. And an E Cig lasting all day on one battery charge, what do you expect? Would you like it to last longer than a cell phone? For real, some of you make no sense.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Quality control problems with cartridges.

    • TX,
    • Feb 7, 2016

    When I first started using this product (3/15) each cartridge lasted on average 17-24 hours. I know because I kept a record of the times and dates I changed them out. Since December of 2015 the menthol cartridges seem to have changed. There are only a handful of places you can buy them in my area and I have purchased replacements from each, and none of the cartridges I have bought since 12/15 have lasted more than 5 hours. I have several fully charged battery stems to switch to so I've ruled out a low battery. It is either poor quality control or they have purposely changed the life of the cartridge. NO WAY it is near 200 puffs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2016

      Kim

      I like Vuse E Cig but I bought some cartridges that don't work and the stores won't take them back. I need to know what to do with them. The cartridges average about $3.50 each, and so far I have had four that didn't work. (all were menthols)

    • Apr 10, 2016

      Amy

      Call the number on the package and they will send you coupons for free cartridges. That happened to me before. Also, I agree that the cartridges are not lasting as long as they used too. One cartridge would last me a whole day and now I only get about 5-6 hours.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 93

Write a review for Vuse E Cig!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review