About Wonder Wax

Wonder Wax claims to be a new, painless way of waxing away unwanted hair. Wonder Wax is a product of Ontel Products Corporation, based out of Fairfield, NJ and sold under the As Seen on TV brand. Wonder Wax claims that its exclusive all natural beeswax formula sticks to hair, but not skin, so you get quick and less painful results than traditional waxing.

How Wonder Wax Works

You simply heat the wax in the microwave, spread it over the area that you want to remove hair from and then peel it away.

Although Wonder Wax claims to be an exclusive formula, at least one review online pointed out that it is merely a hard wax system. Soft wax systems use strips that stick to both hair and skin and are the waxing systems most people are familiar with. Hard wax systems, which are actually quite common in the beauty industry, are like Wonder Wax and only require the wax and no strips. The hard wax only adheres to the hair and not the skin. However, this is not completely pain free, as the hair is still being pulled out from the skin.

The review also points out that whether you use a soft wax or hard wax system will depend on the type of hair being removed and a hard wax system like Wonder Wax may not be the best choice depending on the hair type. Also, as waxing is a skill that takes time to hone, it is unlikely that you will be able to use Wonder Wax to its best potential unless you are skilled at waxing (knowing how much wax to put on etc.).

Wonder Wax Pricing, Shipping & Return Policies

You can get one Wonder Wax set, which includes a one cup portion of Wonder Wax, three small applicators, three large applicators, an easy waxing guide and free bonus skin rejuvenating cream for $10, plus $6.99 shipping and handling.

But, as part of a special offer, you can get two Wonder Wax sets for $10 if you pay an additional $6.99 in shipping and handling fees. So, for $23.98, you get two cups of Wonder Wax, six small applicators, six large applicators, two easy waxing guides and a container of rejuvenating cream.

Ontel offers a 30-day money back guarantee, but the website doesn’t outline any return policies, aside from the fact that you will not get your shipping and handling fees back. You will also likely have to pay to have the product returned to Ontel.

You can call customer service if you have questions at 866-343-2294 or e-mail them at help@ontelproducts.com. Customer service hours are: 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST. Their physical address is: Ontel Products Corporation, 21 Law Dr. 1st Floor, Fairfield, NJ 07004

Pros

  • Less pain than soft waxing techniques
  • Can use on women or men
  • Claims to work on all hair types
  • Can use on entire body
  • Claims results last up to eight weeks
  • Can use on all skin types
  • Hypoallergenic
  • Claims to be all natural formula

Cons

  • May not be as exclusive as promoted
  • May not be entirely pain free, as promoted
  • May not be suitable for all hair types as promoted
  • According to numerous complaints, customers state that it's extremely sticky and extremely difficult to remove from any part where it was applied to

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

146 Customer Reviews for Wonder Wax

Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 8 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 3 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 130
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 146
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Wonder Wax was a waste of time and money.

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Aug 24, 2016

    Dear makers of Wonder Wax,

    I am not amused with your product. You state clearly on the package that it is simple and easy to use, that it is painless, only sticks to hair, no wax strips needed, and use from head to toe. So I figured I would give your product a try.

    Well let me tell you, it wasn't simple and easy to use, it was painful, and it didn't just stick to my hair! It was very hard to remove, it stuck to my skin and fingers, and it was painful (not that I was expecting it to be painless it is wax afterall).

    I spent over 30 minutes trying to get it off my fingers and skin. Finally I had to have my hubby google search how to remove it from my fingers and skin.

    $4.99 was wasted on your product and 45 minutes of trying to get the product off! Do not waste your time buying this wax. Its sucks, and you will be disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    A waste of time and money

    • Crawford, GA,
    • Jul 2, 2016

    I got this for my lip. Thank goodness that's the only place I applied it. The box says microwave for 2 minutes. More like 5 minutes. It's gooey, never dries good, and didn't remove any hair. It left my thumb and lip sticky. By the time I removed the residue, my lip was inflamed from scrubbing. Threw the cup in the trash. Terrible!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Wonder Wax

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jun 27, 2016

    Do NOT ever buy Wonder Wax. They advertise that it's quick and causing less pain. They advertise that it sticks to the hair and not to your skin. I used Wonder Wax. It stuck to the hair and skin on my legs and it took me 2 hours to get it off plus it pulled a little of my skin off revealing the white meat. This product is horrible!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Do Not Use This Product, Very Dangerous.

    • New York, NY,
    • Mar 17, 2016

    I used this product on Sunday for the first time. It said to heat up the little cup in the microwave for 2 minutes on high. When I pulled it out it was hard as a rock, and the cup wasn't even hot. My microwave is brand new and works super well, so I knew it was the product. I put the cup of wax in for 2 more minutes. The bottom of the cup was warm, but the top looked like it was still hard. I wasn't sure, so I stuck the spatula that comes with the product, into the top of the wax. The top layer was still hard. It bent a teeny bit, and shot the super hot wax out from underneath, right onto my chest area and stomach. It took forever, and I mean forever, to get this wax off my hands. I couldn't even clean the wax off the burns on my body, because my fingers were covered in this horrid blue wax. I've never felt so much pain in my life. I had to go to the emergency room. I have 2nd degree burns on my body from this horrible product. The doctor said I will most likely have scarring, because the burns are pretty deep. I hate this product, and I am looking to sue this company. I'm so upset. My body is ruined, due to this horrible product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 17, 2016

      Jeniffer

      The EXACT same thing happened to me, but I was only burned on my finger when it exploded everywhere. I had to go to the ER. I too am considering suing.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Painful Sticky & Horrible

    I used this product and it was very sticky. It stuck to everything and it was very painful. I cried trying to pull it off an still it didn't come off all the way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy, it does not work

    • California ,
    • Feb 7, 2016

    It was a nightmare. The Wonder Wax does not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    A horrible painful mess

    • north andover massachusetts ,
    • Jan 15, 2016
    I heated the wax in the microwave and applied it to my bikini area. It got stuck and did not peel off. It was torturous to get off, I used cream, baby oil, conditioner and lotion to get it off. It took one hour to get off and was the most painful thing ever. The company should be sued for selling a product like this on market. It was literally stuck on my private area and all the hair was stuck like glue. It smelt like plastic and stuck like glue. I though I would have to go to the hospital to get it off and that my skin would peel off too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Worst thing ever, don't buy it.

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Dec 18, 2015

    I followed the directions to the letter and the wax was stuck in my hair and skin. The bikini area was the most painful thing I have ever been through.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Worst product ever.

    • Los Angeles,
    • Nov 19, 2015

    If I could give a zero or a minus I would. I 'waxed' the bikini area and the stuff never got hard, just sticky and felt like glue on my skin. I have waxed with other products and never had this happen. I actually tore off skin trying to get this sticky mess off and I still cannot get it off of my fingers or bikini area. I put loose powder on the area to try to keep it from gluing my pants to it. I seriously would like to sue the company for pain and suffering. I highly recommend it be taken off the market before someone gets severely injured.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Works Like it Should

    • Spokane Wa,
    • Oct 7, 2015

    I am really confused by all the bad reviews. Firstly why would anyone, especially the untrained, start learning to wax in their arm pits? That is just foolishness.

    This product works quite well. It isn't any stickier, or messier, or really works any differently than any number of other hard wax systems I have used over the years. The only significant difference I can tell is in the smell. It really smells terrible, but if you know how to use hard wax systems, than this one is used in exactly the same way, with the same prep, spread, removal, and residue removal as any other hard wax system. And I got mine at Ross for $2.99.

    Using wax for hair removal is a skill. The problem here is not with the product but with the users.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 17, 2016

      Miss Lar

      Right now it is still in the microwave - 10 minutes. Now reading the reviews I'm worried. I know how to wax. I think the one good review was a company man. I don't trust their comment. I will come back with my review. I'm going to let the wax cool, if it ever heats up. If I burn or have the issues they will hear from me. Get your cameras ready. My reason for coming here is that it is not heating as directed.

    • Mar 11, 2016

      Laura

      Miss Lar. I have second degree burns on my chest from this product. I microwaved it for 2. It didn't melt, then I added it another two. It splattered from under the hard, unmelted top, all over my chest and stomach. I am in absolute pain. It ripped the skin off, and I tried to get the wax off. I'm in tears everyday, because the doctor thinks I might scar from this horrific, dangerous product. I regret ever buying it. I'm just grateful the wax didn't shoot up into my eye or face. I could be blind right now.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    The most messy wax ever

    • California,
    • Sep 24, 2015

    Impossible to clean off. Clean wipe does not help at all. I've been happily waxing at home for some time. This is the worst wax I have ever tried.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 146

Write a review for Wonder Wax!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review