About WyzAnt

WyzAnt is an online community where parents and students can find and hire professional tutors across a wide range of subjects, including math, science, music, technology, test preparation, and much more. Headquartered in Chicago, IL and founded in 2005, WyzAnt also promotes itself as a place where independent tutors can promote their services and increase their visibility. The company is committed to giving back to the community, which is accomplished through more than $15,000 in annual scholarships.

WyzAnt claims to have facilitated more than 1 million lessons, holds an A+ rating through the Better Business Bureau, and appears to have a mostly positive online reputation. Unlike most other online tutoring sites, WyzAnt also offers a full refund for the first hour billed to any new tutor, known as their “Good Fit Guarantee.”

How WyzAnt Works

After entering your desired subject and zip code on WyzAnt’s home page, you’ll be redirected to an area where you can view the total number of nearby matched tutors, their full profiles, and pictures. After clicking on a tutor, you’ll be taken to their profile, where you can see how many hours they’ve logged, read a brief bio, browse feedback from past customers, and more.

If you locate a tutor who appears to be a good match, contacting them is completely free of charge, and you’re guaranteed a response within “a few hours.” All communication is completely secure, and you’ll even be able to run a background check on anyone you choose to hire.

However, if you don’t feel like browsing through hundreds of tutors, you can also use WyzAnt’s “Request a Tutor” service. Here, you’ll be required to fill out a short questionnaire detailing your specific needs. After submitting the form, up to five local tutors will then contact you about fulfilling your requirements.

In addition to facilitating tutoring sessions, WyzAnt also provides a detailed resources section on their site, filled with more than 16,000 interactive Q&As, lessons, blogs, and videos.

WyzAnt Pricing & “Good Fit Guarantee”

Signing up for a WyzAnt account is completely free, and you’ll only be required to enter your email address and choose a password in order to begin. According to their website, there are no “hidden fees, contracts, or minimum payments,” and you won’t be required to enter payment information at this point.

However, WyzAnt does require that you have a valid payment method on file prior to booking your first tutoring session, which includes all major credit and debit cards, PayPal, checks, and money orders. After entering your billing information, you can choose one of two payment options:

  1. Pay as You Go: Here, you’ll be automatically charged after each lesson.
  2. Pre-Purchase: Buy a tutoring package and save up to 15%.

Whether you’re planning to use WyzAnt as a customer (e.g. someone who needs to hire a tutor) or as a tutor looking for work, you should keep in mind that the company keeps as much as 40% of the total price, while only giving as little as 60% to the tutor. However, the company—as well as many previous customers—claim that the amount a tutor earns can increase over time.

Unlike most of their competition, WyzAnt offers all customers a “Good Fit Guarantee.” In other words, if you’re not completely satisfied, your first hour with any tutor is fully refundable. To initiate the refund process, simply use WyzAnt’s contact form, or call them directly at (877) 999-2681.

Bottom Line: Can You Benefit from WyzAnt?

Based on our research, WyzAnt appears to be a company that is intently focused on helping you find a tutor, and about maintaining a high level of customer satisfaction. The most common complaint is that they keep a large portion of your payment, and only give about 60% to the tutor.

With this said, if you or a loved one are in need of a local tutor who can help with a wide range of subjects, WyzAnt appears to be a solid, dependable resource.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

14 Customer Reviews for WyzAnt

Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 12
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 14
Sort reviews by:

  • I refuse to keep jumping through their hoops.

    I thought this would be a good way to earn some side money after seeing an ad on Indeed. I started the long process of all the steps to activate my profile and I keep getting notices of other things that have to be completed. They didn't approve my introduction paragraph for several reasons. I don't like having to basically write a resume for just anyone to view. Now that I have seen the other reviews I will not be completing the application.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    The First Tutoring Opportunity

    • Fond du Lac, WI,
    • Sep 4, 2016

    Fortunately, my first "tutoring" opportunity sent my way from Wyzant will be my last. I have a most varied educational and "life experience" background in economics, business, politics, and art. My educational level was a "nearly complete" PhD. I feel that my tutoring has a most practical life advantage to a student. That said, I have not expected much from the likes of a Wyzant match-up.

    Nevertheless, after six months or so, one came yesterday to my e-mail. The opportunity was explained and sounded interesting. I attempted to log in through their solicitation and was barred -- even on just receiving the offer. I immediately contacted their customer service by e-mail. Also the student's mother gave her phone number in the solicitation -- which I called twice and left messages. In less than a day, my question as to why I could not log in directly to my tutor account at Wyzant came. It merely said the opportunity passed, the party has found another tutor, be more observant and quick in the future. There was no reply as why I could not log in to make an affirmative response to their one and only offer in more than half a year.

    It is a scam based the other responses posted here, and fortunately my experience cost me only a few hours of my time and being upset. If you have any integrity and feeling of self-worth in your tutoring -- by all means avoid Wyzant.

    P.S. And if they are selling online connection software and the personal tutoring contact is lost, as a student or parent think TWICE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Account deleted for no reason

    • Harrison, NJ,
    • Jul 10, 2016

    I was a tutor on WyzAnt for about two and a half years, and during this time it was my main source of income. Recently they deleted my account without warning and without cause. I thought it was a mistake, so I contacted customer service and received notification that their decision was final. The only reason provided to me was that "According to our records, you were unable to successfully use the WyzAnt platform to secure and maintain lasting relationships with students through our website."

    This explanation could not be further from the truth. I had tutored over 1,000 hours through WyzAnt and had a perfect 5.0 star rating from my students. I had many testimonials and was consistently ranked at the top of their search results. Not to mention that I had generated tens of thousands of dollars worth of commission for them.

    A follow up call to customer service proved to be a waste of my time. The agent I spoke with was completely unhelpful. I told him that I would share my experience on social media to make other tutors aware of the possibility of being deleted for no reason, to which he just responded "ok" followed by silence.

    Sadly it appears that WyzAnt has eschewed good quality service in favor of automating their website by means of faulty algorithms that flag and terminate the accounts of their most valuable assets.

    WyzAnt, please learn a lesson from Google's core values. You can make money without being evil.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    WyzAnt Highly Suspect and Unprofessional

    I can take "no" for an answer, even if it's a surprising "no," if a logical reason is given along with the rejection. I am already a successful ESL teacher in Dallas with experience teaching students of all ages, both at home and overseas. I have many certifications and did quite well on all of WyzAnt's tests. My required writings were professional, compassionately-worded and relevant to current educational trends. My submitted picture was both friendly and professional. My availability is high, my required pay, lower than some others. I was just looking for some work since my current students are going back to their native homes for the summer (not that I was looking exclusively for summer work).

    Yet, I received an email today with some very vague wording about why I wasn't accepted. I have no clue as to why, and I have to believe most sites would first try to contact a tutor and say, "Would you consider changing (this or that) so that we can move forward?" But, there was no such attempt to rectify whatever thing makes me unqualified.

    I called, and a message was taken to pass on to the tutor profile team. I also responded to the email I'd received, but after what I've read here, I don't expect a response.

    I don't see how WyzAnt can get by with all the secretive behavior and the shameful way it treats the very people working hard to put money in WyzAnt's pockets! Teachers are by and large giving, nurturing, self-sacrificing, hard-working and good people. How DARE they act in such an abusive way toward their tutors.

    I am so glad I found these reviews because I really was taking it personally. Now I see that it's not personal; it's just very, very bad business. I intend to spread the word. That's not very hard because I spent the first 12 years of my career working as a TV Producer and I have many friends in media. You want to see a Texas Teacher go crazy with some bad press? Insult the skills she holds closest to her heart one more time.

    <not only="" would="" i="" not="" recommend="" wyzant="" to="" a="" friend,="" wouldn't="" even="" it="" my="" ex-husband.="">

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    This company is inept, incompetant and very unprofessional

    I stumbled across this site and after moving to Florida I was trying to get some part time work as a mathematics tutor. I sat down one morning and pounded through 5 of there subject test, which were not college level, put together a profile, and after a while I had some clients.

    All my reviews from my students were 5 star (highest possible). One day I received an email telling me they could not mail to my email address. The funny thing was this email came to the address they said they could not mail to. I contacted my email provider who requested that Wyzant contact their postmaster so this problem could be resolved, and they would not contact my email provider at all. I was then notified that because of my communication problems I was being dropped as a tutor, and they would not discuss the issue further.

    This is truly a third rate operation, they take 40% or more of your earnings and basically do nothing for you if there is a problem. Clients of mine had the same type of experience trying to make payments. Rather than attempting to rectify a problem, they just drop you either as a tutor or a client! Beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    So far no issues

    • Dec 19, 2015

    I am using Wyzant as a tutor, so far I have no issues with the company. Yes, they are charging you 40% at the beginning, but now I have passed the 20 hours and started taking 65% instead of 60%.

    A deal is a deal, 40% is high, of course, but if you agree with that you shouldn't complain. It is a kind of supply and demand, if you can find students elsewhere and take the 100%, then do it. The website however is not friendly, the UI needs a lot of work. I get lost navigating a lot of times. Having application templates is useless because when you pick a template it is scrambled.

    Overall, it is a decent way to earn some extra money if you are talented in teaching something.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Discriminatory recruitment process

    Don't waste your time applying to WyzAnt as I just experienced their abusive clause and potentially discriminatory practices.

    I applied online and exceeded all the conditions and expectations listed in their job offer. I also scored 100% on WyzAnt skills tests. Nevertheless, my application was denied. I can understand that, but I required some explanation from WyzAnt. I contacted the company by phone and email. A "ticket" and "case number" was opened and I expected a reply from a representative.

    I copy/pasted here the reply I got, for your own appreciation:

    "The decision to deactivate your WyzAnt tutor account was made in accordance with our terms and conditions, which are available for review on WyzAnt.com.

    WyzAnt considers this decision to be final and a representative will not be made available to further discuss this matter.

    Sincerely,

    The WyzAnt Profile Review Team"

    I reviewed the terms and conditions WyzAnt refers to in what I consider being a bold and shameful reply, and it includes the following:

    "WyzAnt may provide notice to Users via email, regular mail, or posting notices or links to notices on the Site. WyzAnt reserves the right at any time to modify, suspend or terminate the services (or any part thereof), and/or use of or access to them, with or without notice. WyzAnt may also delete, or bar access to or use of, all related information and files. WyzAnt will not be liable to Users or any third-party for any modification, suspension, or termination of service, or loss of related information. WyzAnt may amend these Terms at any time by posting the amended terms on this Site." (art. 21 of WyzAnt Terms)."

    For your full understanding of the situation, let me also underline that I did not infringe any of WyzAnt terms, and I did not post any inappropriate content on my profile and application. Yet, it was denied.

    Once again, I can totally accept a NO to a job application, I just ask for an explanation when I meet all criteria, when I usually get a YES from similar job offers, when my skills have been proven through 15+ years of experience and satisfied clients/students.

    I took 5 minutes of my time to share with you how WyzAnt actually operates. I hope this helps you make your own judgment on this company and service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Jerked-around

    • Norman, OK,
    • Oct 29, 2015

    It is amazing how consistent my experiences with this company are with the other reviews. Yesterday I reached the 20/hr mark, and had a nice little (20hr) indicator next to my name on my profile. This meant that I would start to receive 65% of what I'd earn during tutoring as opposed to 60% (after the company took 40%). Today, I got an inexplicable email stating that my account had been "deactivated". What I'm wondering at this point is whether I'll even see the $40 I earned last night. My overall rating was 4.6 (based on 10 reviews), and I had some really nice feedback left by some of my students. After doing a pretty great job with my students and receiving nothing but positive feedback, I feel completely jerked around by this company. What's worse is that they've been able to do this after "stealing" 40% of everything I've earned to this point.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Never trust this website!

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Oct 7, 2015

    This website is a scam. I emailed tutors online for piano lessons near me on my email then after few months ago I was reported that a tutor emailed my family members and wanted give lessons via Skype. I was looking for private tutors however. This website is a nightmare!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 28 people found this review helpful

    A unethical company built on exploitation

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Sep 15, 2015

    I was a tutor that was listed with WyzAnt for about one year. I would strongly recommend that students and tutors stay away from this company, as it is my belief that they are engaged in unethical and exploitative business practices.

    I have a graduate degree in education and have been in the educational field as a teacher, tutor, and program specialist for nearly 15 years -- and I can say, without reservation, that I have never worked before with such an unethical organization as WyzAnt in my educational career.

    Specifically, I believe that WyzAnt is misclassifying tutors as independent contractors not only to avoid labor regulations and avoid paying employment taxes, but to exploit low-wage tutors. WyzAnt's behavior is particularly egregious because its business model is built much like a traditional pyramid or Ponzi scheme, with a high investment in time and money required by a new tutor in order to find students through the system, with the promise of earning a high return on that initial investment in the future as the tutor logs more hours of tutoring experience.

    However, in order to minimize the payout, WyzAnt's regularly deletes profiles without warning, often done when a tutor rises to the next stage of the pyramid and begins earning a higher commission. These deletions are conducted by a "profile review team" at WyzAnt, which only provides very cursory and vague explanations as to why a profile was deleted, and refuses as a matter of policy to discuss the matter at all with a tutor. The criteria used by this team in determining which tutor profiles to delete is considered "proprietary" by the company and is kept secret.

    Based on my experience as well as the experiences of other tutors who have had similar experiences with the company, I have come to the conclusion that WyzAnt is very likely exploiting tutors deliberately by misclassifying them as independent contractors and then terminating them without justifiable cause in order to reduce the number of tutors to whom they have to pay out higher amounts of commission. What is particularly offensive is that WyzAnt is conducting this pyramid-like scheme under the guise of an "online education company", branding themselves as a "community" of private tutors providing a "service" to students.

    I was listed as a tutor with WyzAnt.com for nearly a year. I was particularly concerned with WyzAnt's pyramid-like commission structure, as it seemed exorbitant by comparison with their competitors (at the time, TakeLessons.com was collecting 25% commission) as well as with other companies that rely on independent contractors, such as TaskRabbit (30%), TNC companies like Uber and Lyft (20%) and union-franchised talent agents (10%). WyzAnt begins with a 40% commission (or "service fee", as they call it) for the first 20 hours of tutoring, reduced to 35% after 20 hours, followed by 30% after 50 hours, 25% after 200 hours, and 20% after 400 hours. In addition, the more tutoring hours logged, the higher the tutor's profile is placed in the search results, thus leading, theoretically, to more tutoring requests by students. Tutors also are required to take online "quizzes" and/or provide "qualifications" for each subject they wish to tutor in addition to completing the tutor profile. This adds up to a lot of hours without compensation, yet WyzAnt promotes this as an investment that will pay off in the future as more hours are accrued by the tutor, the "service fee" is reduced, and the tutor rises to the top of the search rankings.

    I tutored at a rate of $20-$35 per hour, of which WyzAnt took 40% of as their commission, leaving me with a net rate of $12- $21 per hour. This did not include the time used for driving to the student's location nor the expenses incurred. Indeed, I had cards and flyers printed at WyzAnt's urging so that I could recruit more students. In addition, tutors receive daily messages from WyzAnt informing them of new students in their particular field of teaching, and tutors are urged to contact these students through the WyzAnt system to pitch their tutoring services.

    I had concerns with how little income I was making with such a high commission being taken. I asked WyzAnt why the commission rate was as high as it was and how this was spent. I was told that it was spent on marketing, IT infrastructure, and support, but no specifics were offered. When I pressed for more specific data, including the salaries of their top executives, I was told that the information was proprietary and that no further information would be forthcoming. I was also informed that the WyzAnt platform is not the best fit for everyone, implying in a not-so-subtle fashion that my pressing the issue could lead to my being removed from the platform.

    After several more tutoring sessions, I finally reached the 20 hour mark, and the commission rate fell to 35%, which meant that I would be making 5% more each hour. However, soon after this occurred, I found that my profile on WyzAnt was deleted without warning by the "Profile Review Team" when I was sent the following message on May 16:

    "A routine review of tutor profiles listed on WyzAnt.com brought your account to our attention. We have concluded that the WyzAnt platform is not the best fit for your tutoring business, and we have elected to remove your profile from our active directory."

    I was quite shocked. I had received many positive reviews from students, and my rating was a perfect 5 of 5 stars. I replied to the message to seek clarification, and was provided with the following response:

    "According to our records, you were unable to successfully use the WyzAnt platform to secure and maintain lasting relationships with students through our website. We understand that our platform is effective in different ways for different tutors, and we review and sometimes remove profiles based on what we believe provides the best opportunities to potential students and our marketplace. The decision to keep your profile closed will stand and was made in accordance with WyzAnt’s terms and conditions, which are available for review on WyzAnt.com."

    Needless to say, I was quite puzzled by this response. I replied with an explanation that I received excellent ratings and reviews, and that many of my students had stopped tutoring due to reasons that were not in my control. For example, two students had to return to their respective countries (I teach English as a Second Language); one student owned a convenience store while he was going to business school, and could not afford the time or money to continue tutoring with me; another student was a nanny and her schedule became increasingly difficult, as she was looking for a new place to live with her husband.

    I received the response below:

    The decision to remove your profile from our directory was made in accordance with our terms and conditions. WyzAnt considers this decision to be final and a representative will not be made available to further discuss this matter.

    I can say without a doubt that I have never been treated so disrespectfully by any organization in my educational career. To make the decision to remove a tutor's profile with no warning, and then refusing to even discuss the matter, is unprofessional, unethical, and quite possibly unlawful.

    As is documented here and elsewhere, they have taken similar actions with other tutors, deleting them from the system without warning, often after the tutor achieves a higher rate of take-home pay. This is followed by a refusal to provide any detailed explanation regarding the criteria they used to make the determination, as well as a refusal to reconsider their decision or even discuss the matter at all with the tutor. They did provide me with basic financial information regarding my tutoring hours and income, but they refused to provide me with a record of the ratings and comments students had given me, claiming it to be property of WyzAnt.

    Several weeks passed where I was busy and did not have the time to follow up. I finally made one last attempt at speaking with a senior-level manager in order to obtain an explanation. I was told that no managers were available, and informed me that they would pass along my message. I then I received a call from someone in their General Counsel's office.

    The call had a distinctly adversarial tone to it. She refused to provide me with any specific information as to why my profile was deleted, and said that it was their policy not to release any information or even the criteria used as a basis for deleting a tutor's profile. I told her that this was unacceptable, and that the timing was suspect as it was soon after I completed 20 hours of tutoring, which had moved me to a higher take-home pay rate. I also informed her that other former tutors had written about this online, and told of similar stories. She replied that the Terms of Service were clear in that WyzAnt could delete any tutor's profile for any reason at any time, to which I countered that the terms of service did not absolve them of their legal and ethical responsibilities, and did not allow them to exploit tutors. She finished by almost daring me to sue them, and implicitly threatened me with possible legal action if I continued to press them on this issue. Needless to say, I was surprised and taken aback.

    Based on these experiences, I would avoid doing business with this company, whether you are a tutor or a student. However, if you continue to utilize their services, I would strongly advise exercising due caution and diligence, including documenting on your own all lessons and interactions with students or tutors, including comments and ratings, as well as payments made or received.

    It is my hope that the more tutors and students become aware of this company's practices, and that WyzAnt is held accountable for its actions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 27, 2015

      Herk

      Can you please sue them? They should be checked on their practices.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Stolen Clients

    • Des Moines, IA,
    • Aug 30, 2015

    I was a tutor who used Wyzant for my back office work and to market myself. In 2014, I was designated a Top 100 tutor - Wyzant was NEVER able to tell me the criterion so I could possibly try to repeat this performance. When I posed questions as there is no 'fine print' anywhere on the web site, this began a challenging at best relationship. They would not submit applications to jobs as they 'decide' who should be allowed to apply for tutoring posts once you are at an 80/20% split. I was 'let go' due to asking questions, providing suggestions, etc. AND they stole my students who were in progress. Wyzant decided these clients who I had worked with, nurtured, etc. belonged to Wyzant.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 14

Write a review for WyzAnt!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review