About WyzAnt

Published on: Nov 18, 2013

WyzAnt is an online community where parents and students can find and hire professional tutors across a wide range of subjects, including math, science, music, technology, test preparation, and much more. Headquartered in Chicago, IL and founded in 2005, WyzAnt also promotes itself as a place where independent tutors can promote their services and increase their visibility. The company is committed to giving back to the community, which is accomplished through more than $15,000 in annual scholarships.

WyzAnt claims to have facilitated more than 1 million lessons, holds an A+ rating through the Better Business Bureau, and appears to have a mostly positive online reputation. Unlike most other online tutoring sites, WyzAnt also offers a full refund for the first hour billed to any new tutor, known as their “Good Fit Guarantee.”

How WyzAnt Works

After entering your desired subject and zip code on WyzAnt’s home page, you’ll be redirected to an area where you can view the total number of nearby matched tutors, their full profiles, and pictures. After clicking on a tutor, you’ll be taken to their profile, where you can see how many hours they’ve logged, read a brief bio, browse feedback from past customers, and more.

If you locate a tutor who appears to be a good match, contacting them is completely free of charge, and you’re guaranteed a response within “a few hours.” All communication is completely secure, and you’ll even be able to run a background check on anyone you choose to hire.

However, if you don’t feel like browsing through hundreds of tutors, you can also use WyzAnt’s “Request a Tutor” service. Here, you’ll be required to fill out a short questionnaire detailing your specific needs. After submitting the form, up to five local tutors will then contact you about fulfilling your requirements.

In addition to facilitating tutoring sessions, WyzAnt also provides a detailed resources section on their site, filled with more than 16,000 interactive Q&As, lessons, blogs, and videos.

WyzAnt Pricing & “Good Fit Guarantee”

Signing up for a WyzAnt account is completely free, and you’ll only be required to enter your email address and choose a password in order to begin. According to their website, there are no “hidden fees, contracts, or minimum payments,” and you won’t be required to enter payment information at this point.

However, WyzAnt does require that you have a valid payment method on file prior to booking your first tutoring session, which includes all major credit and debit cards, PayPal, checks, and money orders. After entering your billing information, you can choose one of two payment options:

  1. Pay as You Go: Here, you’ll be automatically charged after each lesson.
  2. Pre-Purchase: Buy a tutoring package and save up to 15%.

Whether you’re planning to use WyzAnt as a customer (e.g. someone who needs to hire a tutor) or as a tutor looking for work, you should keep in mind that the company keeps as much as 40% of the total price, while only giving as little as 60% to the tutor. However, the company—as well as many previous customers—claim that the amount a tutor earns can increase over time.

Unlike most of their competition, WyzAnt offers all customers a “Good Fit Guarantee.” In other words, if you’re not completely satisfied, your first hour with any tutor is fully refundable. To initiate the refund process, simply use WyzAnt’s contact form, or call them directly at (877) 999-2681.

Bottom Line: Can You Benefit from WyzAnt?

Based on our research, WyzAnt appears to be a company that is intently focused on helping you find a tutor, and about maintaining a high level of customer satisfaction. The most common complaint is that they keep a large portion of your payment, and only give about 60% to the tutor.

With this said, if you or a loved one are in need of a local tutor who can help with a wide range of subjects, WyzAnt appears to be a solid, dependable resource.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

19 Customer Reviews for WyzAnt

Average Customer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 21% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 19
Sort reviews by:

  • Bad for tutors

    • New York,
    • May 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a tutor on WyzAnt for about three years. The main complaint by many is the 40% the site takes from tutors. I am equally appalled by this. However, there are several more things that tutors should take issue with.

    1) WyzAnt will block tutors and students from contacting each other at a moment's notice. Many students do not want to enter their contact info, which I understand as there is little to no vetting process for tutors. However, "big brother" on the site has more than once blocked a potential student from contacting me again because they tried to schedule an interview before entering their payment info. Tutors should not shoulder the responsibility of making students enter info before scheduling. Perhaps WyzAnt should require payment info BEFORE a student can make a posting, especially since getting a cut of the money is so important to them.

    2) I've noticed an increase in scam or "filler" job posts. Honestly, I feel like 90% of the job postings are bots (perhaps WyzAnt's) or scams. Occasionally, I will take a look at old postings I replied to and the "student" still won't have payment on file, meaning they never found a tutor. This either means they are shell accounts or they quit the site due to the payment info first rule (or perhaps got blocked).

    3) The quality of students is low. I once tutored someone and at the end of the lesson was told they'd probably call me again for tutoring. I felt it went well but then noticed they gave me a one-star rating, with no explanation. There is a rumor that some students found out WyzAnt will refund their payment if they give low ratings. I do not know if this is true, but I felt the rating was unwarranted. In another odd experience, one student strung me along for months suggesting they wanted lessons, but then never answered each time I followed up and asked when they were available for lessons (this person did have payment info on file).

    4) Unwarranted removal of accounts. My account was once removed because I mentioned days that I tutored before a student entered payment info (it was reinstated within a week). Some tutors get removed for strange reasons, like not getting enough students.

    My friend who referred me to WyzAnt used to get many legitimate students, but the number has decreased significantly. This is one reason why I believe scam/shell student accounts have taken over the site. My first year on WyzAnt, I was able to schedule a lesson almost every week. The second year, only two. This past year, just the one with the one-star rating.

    Don't expect to get many tutoring hours using this site. You'll end up fishing and getting nothing. It might be good if you've got time to kill writing responses to job postings, but I recommend posting your own flyers locally or finding students via referral. You won't have to deal with WyzAnt's bureaucratic nonsense, and you'll get to keep 100% of your fee.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    60% you will never tutor on this site

    After spending eight hours yesterday passing dozens of subject tests, I received an e-mail telling me I wasn't a good fit as a tutor on WizAnt; no explanation provided. I called customer service to inquire about the reason my application was denied and first was told 60% of all applications are denied. I was also told the customer service department had no explanation as to why I was denied, and the department that could tell me does not speak to the public! I have two Master's degrees in History and Public Health and am eligible to teach community college in my state, but am not available to have WizAnt do nothing but collect 40% of my tutoring fees up front. Good riddance!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Terrible execution for a much needed service

    • California,
    • May 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a scam for all people involved except WyzAnt.

    I advertised here as a tutor and got a few replies, many of which wanted to know if I would lower my rate. This gets really annoying after a while. I was advertising at only $45 an hour. Of this, WyzAnt takes 40%. That's right, FORTY PERCENT! That is outrageous. That means I'm automatically down to $28. Then taxes take another quarter of this, dropping me down to about $20.

    Then most of the people want to be tutored near their place. In the bay area, that often means crossing a bridge and paying the bridge toll ($5), and driving 10-20 miles each way (at the real value of mileage on your car, what the IRS calculates for gas, depreciation, maintenance, and repairs, that's about $0.50 per mile, so another $20). The driving time will be about 40-60 minutes round trip, so essentially, at $45 an hour means that you will lose money (LITERALLY) to take two hours out of your day to tutor someone. Now it should be more obvious why many people need to list their rates at $60-80 an hour because of WyzAnt's cut to make anything.

    So it's a bad deal for the tutors (who make next to nothing), it's a bad deal for the students (who pay for the nose) and WyzAnt sits back and rakes in the profits. If the company were more intelligent and took only 10%, they would easily bring in an order of magnitude of more tutors and students, and make far more money. I now understand why so many people would just send me their phone number and when I talked to them, they said they would pay me under the table so WyzAnt got nothing, and said "oh, we do this all the time." I balked at this at first, as I didn't want to screw the company, but after a while I just realized that this is the consequence of being too greedy. They probably lose far more business to deals like this than they actually get.

    My recommendation to WyzAnt: A 10% commission will get you WAY more business and way more profit in the long run, and go a long way to showing you aren't total jerks.

    My recommendation to tutors: lower your rates, book a few hours with people and after that, tutor them under the table.

    My recommendation to students: send us your phone number in your initial message.

    My recommendation to anyone out there that knows how to write an app: make a similar company that charges 10%, be swamped with business and get rich while you watch WyzAnt wither away and die.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Parent opinion

    • Arizona,
    • May 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a parent who went through WyzAnt to obtain a tutor local to my area. My son has been struggling with algebra due to some changes in methods of teaching common core math. In an attempt to help my child become prepared for high school, I reached out to WyzAnt for such help.

    I saw the information provided by the available tutors and picked the person that I felt most fit my child's needs. They claim background checks are done, and there is a protocol of communication between the tutor and myself that I felt more at ease with. The funds are handled through the company which eliminates any awkward situations in person, and the first lesson is refundable if it doesn't work out.

    I really like my child's tutor, and he enjoys his sessions. This tutor takes the time to explain what they went over and what to expect with the next session. Our tutor is an engineering student about to graduate, and our experience is a success. We will be using WyzAnt for my other child who is freshman in college.

    Thank you WyzAnt.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Great experience as a tutor

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Mar 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, to get this out of the way, as a tutor, yes, they do start you off by taking a huge cut (60%) of your rate. Yes, it kind of sucks. It also has some good side effects:

    1. It keeps the WyzAnt developers paid, which means the site keeps getting better.

    2. It incentivizes you to try and tier up to the next pay grade, which is good for you and for company growth. And which does not take that long to do in the first couple jumps, assuming you're an active tutor with a decent rating (the third+ tier is quite a long road though).

    3. It weeds out people who want to do it solely to make a quick buck. There's a reason students look on WyzAnt instead of Craigslist, and it's partially because WyzAnt tutors genuinely want to help people succeed.

    I've been tutoring there for nearly a year, and I get much more out of it than just income; plus, I have to learn new things all the time to keep my skills current. This has been hugely beneficial.

    The screening process makes sure you're qualified, which is totally reasonable, as you're literally playing a role in the rest of someone's education and the outlook they are forming on your area of expertise. It's really quite awesome, but also a big responsibility, especially if you're tutoring subject beginners or K-12 students.

    I love WyzAnt. Seriously. They're still a fledgling company, so it's not perfect, but they care about their users (both tutors and students), and I've never had a bad experience due to the product or business practices.

    Lastly, no, I'm not getting paid to write this review. I just appreciate things that are cool and good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 12 people found this review helpful

    I refuse to keep jumping through their hoops.

    • Tennessee,
    • Nov 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought this would be a good way to earn some side money after seeing an ad on Indeed. I started the long process of all the steps to activate my profile and I keep getting notices of other things that have to be completed. They didn't approve my introduction paragraph for several reasons. I don't like having to basically write a resume for just anyone to view. Now that I have seen the other reviews I will not be completing the application.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    The First Tutoring Opportunity

    • Fond du Lac, WI,
    • Sep 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Fortunately, my first "tutoring" opportunity sent my way from Wyzant will be my last. I have a most varied educational and "life experience" background in economics, business, politics, and art. My educational level was a "nearly complete" PhD. I feel that my tutoring has a most practical life advantage to a student. That said, I have not expected much from the likes of a Wyzant match-up.

    Nevertheless, after six months or so, one came yesterday to my e-mail. The opportunity was explained and sounded interesting. I attempted to log in through their solicitation and was barred -- even on just receiving the offer. I immediately contacted their customer service by e-mail. Also the student's mother gave her phone number in the solicitation -- which I called twice and left messages. In less than a day, my question as to why I could not log in directly to my tutor account at Wyzant came. It merely said the opportunity passed, the party has found another tutor, be more observant and quick in the future. There was no reply as why I could not log in to make an affirmative response to their one and only offer in more than half a year.

    It is a scam based the other responses posted here, and fortunately my experience cost me only a few hours of my time and being upset. If you have any integrity and feeling of self-worth in your tutoring -- by all means avoid Wyzant.

    P.S. And if they are selling online connection software and the personal tutoring contact is lost, as a student or parent think TWICE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Account deleted for no reason

    • Harrison, NJ,
    • Jul 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was a tutor on WyzAnt for about two and a half years, and during this time it was my main source of income. Recently they deleted my account without warning and without cause. I thought it was a mistake, so I contacted customer service and received notification that their decision was final. The only reason provided to me was that "According to our records, you were unable to successfully use the WyzAnt platform to secure and maintain lasting relationships with students through our website."

    This explanation could not be further from the truth. I had tutored over 1,000 hours through WyzAnt and had a perfect 5.0 star rating from my students. I had many testimonials and was consistently ranked at the top of their search results. Not to mention that I had generated tens of thousands of dollars worth of commission for them.

    A follow up call to customer service proved to be a waste of my time. The agent I spoke with was completely unhelpful. I told him that I would share my experience on social media to make other tutors aware of the possibility of being deleted for no reason, to which he just responded "ok" followed by silence.

    Sadly it appears that WyzAnt has eschewed good quality service in favor of automating their website by means of faulty algorithms that flag and terminate the accounts of their most valuable assets.

    WyzAnt, please learn a lesson from Google's core values. You can make money without being evil.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    WyzAnt Highly Suspect and Unprofessional

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Apr 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can take "no" for an answer, even if it's a surprising "no," if a logical reason is given along with the rejection. I am already a successful ESL teacher in Dallas with experience teaching students of all ages, both at home and overseas. I have many certifications and did quite well on all of WyzAnt's tests. My required writings were professional, compassionately-worded and relevant to current educational trends. My submitted picture was both friendly and professional. My availability is high, my required pay, lower than some others. I was just looking for some work since my current students are going back to their native homes for the summer (not that I was looking exclusively for summer work).

    Yet, I received an email today with some very vague wording about why I wasn't accepted. I have no clue as to why, and I have to believe most sites would first try to contact a tutor and say, "Would you consider changing (this or that) so that we can move forward?" But, there was no such attempt to rectify whatever thing makes me unqualified.

    I called, and a message was taken to pass on to the tutor profile team. I also responded to the email I'd received, but after what I've read here, I don't expect a response.

    I don't see how WyzAnt can get by with all the secretive behavior and the shameful way it treats the very people working hard to put money in WyzAnt's pockets! Teachers are by and large giving, nurturing, self-sacrificing, hard-working and good people. How DARE they act in such an abusive way toward their tutors.

    I am so glad I found these reviews because I really was taking it personally. Now I see that it's not personal; it's just very, very bad business. I intend to spread the word. That's not very hard because I spent the first 12 years of my career working as a TV Producer and I have many friends in media. You want to see a Texas Teacher go crazy with some bad press? Insult the skills she holds closest to her heart one more time.

    <not only="" would="" i="" not="" recommend="" wyzant="" to="" a="" friend,="" wouldn't="" even="" it="" my="" ex-husband.="">

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 9, 2016

      Mark Lehman

      I just got turned down by a tutor as well. I thought it'd be a good opportunity, but they make you jump through too many hoops to get some extra work.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    This company is inept, incompetant and very unprofessional

    I stumbled across this site and after moving to Florida I was trying to get some part time work as a mathematics tutor. I sat down one morning and pounded through 5 of there subject test, which were not college level, put together a profile, and after a while I had some clients.

    All my reviews from my students were 5 star (highest possible). One day I received an email telling me they could not mail to my email address. The funny thing was this email came to the address they said they could not mail to. I contacted my email provider who requested that Wyzant contact their postmaster so this problem could be resolved, and they would not contact my email provider at all. I was then notified that because of my communication problems I was being dropped as a tutor, and they would not discuss the issue further.

    This is truly a third rate operation, they take 40% or more of your earnings and basically do nothing for you if there is a problem. Clients of mine had the same type of experience trying to make payments. Rather than attempting to rectify a problem, they just drop you either as a tutor or a client! Beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 15 people found this review helpful

    So far no issues

    • Dec 19, 2015

    I am using Wyzant as a tutor, so far I have no issues with the company. Yes, they are charging you 40% at the beginning, but now I have passed the 20 hours and started taking 65% instead of 60%.

    A deal is a deal, 40% is high, of course, but if you agree with that you shouldn't complain. It is a kind of supply and demand, if you can find students elsewhere and take the 100%, then do it. The website however is not friendly, the UI needs a lot of work. I get lost navigating a lot of times. Having application templates is useless because when you pick a template it is scrambled.

    Overall, it is a decent way to earn some extra money if you are talented in teaching something.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 19

Write a Review for WyzAnt!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review