About X Out

From the makers of Proactiv comes X Out, a new one-step acne fighting formula for teens. Instead of using multiple ointments to combat zits (like Proactiv and other similar intensive treatments), they say X Out is much easier by working over one step, 2 times a day. They claim you can also use it X Out as a mask or an overnight spot treatment to get rid of any big red pimples that show up just before prom night.

X Out is marketed by Guthy-Renker, a direct marketing company based in Santa Monica, California. They also are the people behind Proactiv (and Proactiv Plus), which they claim is America’s #1 acne treatment system. Guthy-Renker has been accredited by the BBB since 1989 and currently have an A+ rating (this doesn’t mean there aren’t any complaints about them - see below.).

How X Out Acne Cream Works

X Out comes in an aerosol-type dispenser that looks like a bottle of mousse. Its main acne-fighting ingredient is 8.5% “prescription grade” benzoyl peroxide, but it also contains natural fatty acids and lotions that are claimed to help moisturize and improve skin tone.

X Out is considered a “wash-in” treatment, due to the sodium cocoyl isethionate (a cleanser derived from coconut), which they say will help the acne medicine “suck in” to your pores and kill bacteria, even after your face is dry. As such, it’s recommended you leave X Out on your face for 2 minutes, twice a day (they say you can also leave it on your face for 10 minutes as a mask, or let it stay on overnight as a spot cream).

After applying X Out and rinsing, the manufacturer claims you will feel an “Icy Slap” sensation on your face. This is due to the menthol ingredient in the product, which is claimed to contribute to an overall feeling of freshness.

X Out is primarily aimed at teenagers with mild-to-moderate acne, and if used as directed, is claimed to quickly produce results. X Out’s website does not specify the length of time “quickly” references, but points to its own 12-week study in which teens said it worked “right away” and cleared skin with “continued use” (more about this shortly). As with any other skincare product, the makers of X Out caution that results will vary.

Your order of X Out includes:

  • X Out Acne Wash-In Treatment (30-Day or 90-Day Supply)
  • X Out Cleansing Body Bar
  • X Out Spot Corrector (Body or Shine Kit)
  • X Out Shine Control (Shine Kit)
  • X Out Daily Body Scrub (Body Kit)
  • Free Shipping

Is X Out Clinically Proven to Work?

Reading through the X Out website, it’s easy to believe that X Out is proven to work—if for no other reason than their “Proof” section.

However, it doesn’t take long to learn that this page is fully of nothing but before-and-after pictures and customer testimonials. In other words, there’s no proof (clinical or otherwise) anywhere in sight.

With this said, X Out’s FAQ does mention, “In a 12-week study of teens conducted by the X Out™ team, our teens reported that they felt X Out™ started to work right away and continued to clear skin with continued use. And most said they could feel the X Out™ signature cool sensation while it works on their faces.” Unfortunately, this study isn’t made available for review, so there’s no way to confirm the findings.

What is Benzoyl Peroxide? Is It Effective for Treating Acne?

According to Acne.About.com, benzoyl peroxide is one of the most common ingredients used in over-the-counter acne treatments, which works by “introducing oxygen into the pore, thereby killing P. acnes. When the bacteria population is reduced, the number of breakouts on the skin is reduced as well,” while also ridding the follicle of excess dead skin cells.

Over-the-counter treatments typically contain between 2.5% and 10% benzoyl peroxide (X Out contains 8.5%). While products with higher percentages will generally be more effective at eliminating acne, it also means they could lead to some side effects for sensitive individuals, which is what we’ll discuss next.

X Out Side Effects

Benzoyl peroxide is generally well tolerated by most individuals, although common minor side effects may include mild stinging/burning, itchiness or tingling, skin dryness/peeling/flaking, and redness where applied.

X Out Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

X Out offers the Basic, Body, or Shine Kits in 30 or 90-Day supplies. The Basic goes for $19.95 for 30 days and $59.95 for 90; Body and Shine Kits both sell for $29.95 for 30 and $89.95 for 90.

X Out comes with a 60-day money back guarantee. Return product (even empty bottles) within 2 months and the company claims they will refund your money, minus S & H. (Since shipping is free when you order, an undisclosed amount may be deducted upon return; a former employee advised that you ask for a return label, which he says will be furnished.) It should be noted that when you are buying these products, you are not making a one-time purchase but rather setting up a recurring billing cycle, where you will be charged and shipped more X Out every 30 or 90 days. This will continue until you call and cancel.

Bottom Line: Is X Out Worth It?

In a word: probably not. Why? Because benzoyl peroxide is a very common over-the-counter anti-acne medication that does seem to work on some people to help clear skin. However, you can purchase a product with similar (or even greater) strength at your local drugstore for much less money than X Out.

In addition, some have complained that X Out smells like rubber and that its “Icy Slap” also dries the skin. And in spite of its BBB rating and accreditation, there are numerous complaints about poor customer service, billing issues, and returns. As such, we might recommend choosing a better, cheaper product at a local retailer.

More on Acne Treatment: Got Pimples? How to Treat Adult Acne

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

10 Customer Reviews for X Out

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 9
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-10 of 10
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    XOout doesn't work.

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Jan 14, 2016

    I bought X Out a month ago for my son with acne. He uses every day and there is no change at all. Just another scam like Proactiv.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Refusing to cancel account

    • Santa Clarita, California,
    • Jan 6, 2016

    I ordered X-Out for my granddaughter on a trial basis and committed to a 90 day supply, once a month for three months. After 90 days, X-Out continued to charge my credit card. I called and advised them that I only ordered 3 months supply. They agreed to cancel my account and advised me that I would get a credit to the account. Still, I received another 30 day supply. I called and advised them that my account was cancelled. X-Out advised me that I should return the product by mail. I did and I have a receipt from the post office. The following month I received no product and instead of a credit, I received another charge. I called X-Out and was advised that they did credit my account when in fact they charged me for another 30 day supply. I asked for the date of the credit, but they could not give me a date. I was then put on hold for about 15 minutes while a supervisor supposedly got involved. Then I was given the same song and dance about getting not one credit but two credits. I decided to call my credit card company and put a hold on X-Out and stop payment on the last charge. Do not order X-Out online or give them your credit card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    This is a scam.

    I purchased this product almost one month ago and I was just charged randomly for it again! I don't know what games these guys are playing but I am not having it. I won't recommend this company to anyone else. These guys are crooks! Why don't they put how they charge people on a sly on the commercial so they'd know what you're up to. This is complete BS and they will be receiving a call from an angry me tomorrow morning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Sucks

    • Sep 17, 2015

    It doesn't work, it smells like crap, it burns my skin, it sucks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Spend Your Money Somewhere Else!

    • Jul 22, 2015

    As a young adult, I suffered with a few bad cystic pimples before being plagued with bad PIH. The cystic acne stopped a year ago, however, I started breaking out again months back (not cystic). A family member saw a commercial for this product and ordered me a 30 day supply to test it. I was against it because I didn't want to use something as harsh as Benzoyl Peroxide on my face when I'm fine with cleansers that contain Salicylic Acid. Nevertheless, I decided to give it a try because she did pay for it.

    I was scared to try it because I have heard horror stories of those who have had their face burn badly while using high concentrations of Benzoyl Peroxide. It didn't burn at all, which was shocking, but I didn't feel an "icy cold blast" as X-Out claims. My skin did feel dry afterwards even after lightly patting my face with a towel. The formula does have little tiny micro beads, if you will, that make it feel like you're exfoliating; it's not harsh if you use a lot of water.

    This product didn't do anything for my skin except make it feel more dry than it normally is. The amount they want you to use is ridiculous as well and then to wash your face for whatever the given time they suggest is also not good. You shouldn't be washing your face for two minutes, especially with a drying product such as X-Out. And then to use this product twice a day?. Don't do it.

    I am not one who has sensitive skin, but this did irritate my skin a little. I had little patches of red around my forehead and chin. The smell is very unappealing as well.

    Now the main thing I dislike about this product is not actually the product itself but the company. I do know that Proactive is actually the company who created this line and I have heard about their customer service, but wow reading stories is different than going through the experience. About a month or so after I received the first 30-day trial bottle, I checked my old mail (I moved) and I was very shocked to see a box from X-Out. I opened it and was again shocked because I saw a bigger bottle of X-Out. I didn't even finish the 30 day one, I maybe used a little less than a quarter of it. Now what almost gave me a heart attack was the statement: $60. They automatically signed my relative up for a 90 day supply! And that they would be charging almost $29 each month for three months. That's ridiculous. This product is not worth $60. It's not even worth the "original" price of $20. You could check only the trial version and they would still sign you up automatically for shipments and payments. The only way to stop them is to call and make them stop. Keep calling and calling. Or simply just freeze the credit card it was under.

    Do not buy X-Out. Do not but it to try out. It's not worth the hassle you could get from their customer service. Instead, use that $20 from the start to invest in better products; there are plenty at Target, Walmart, CVS, Ulta, etc. Or even use that money towards going to the dermatologist. X-Out is not worth it at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Useless scam

    • USA,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    Guthy Renker is famous for doing what I am about to describe. I did a trial of the product for my wife who only occasionally will get a blemish. it didn't work and like many users it made it worse. My wife said that she wanted to use it for another month to give it a chance so I call and order a 30 day supply. A tall thick bottle arrives in the mail with another product that claims to be a "gift" for my purchase. I had a very strange feeling that something was very wrong with this order so I called and told them that I no longer want to get their product. To which I am told that I owe them nearly $100. I get very upset and ask how I supposedly owe this.

    They inform me that they sent me a 90 day bottle not a 30 day bottle. I argue that this is not what I ordered nor do I want 90 days worth of a product that doesn't work. I am told that I can return the product as long as it has not been used. Thankfully my wife had not used any of the new bottle, but if she had used 30 days worth then we would have been screwed because they wouldn't take it back they then tried to charge me nearly $20 for the "gift".

    Bottom line, they try to catch you with deceptive sales tactics for a product that doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    X Out = rip off

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jun 7, 2015

    I tried X Out, going in with high hopes. X Out, nor ProActive+ or ProActive, none of those products worked. All they did was not only worsen my acne but my face was getting red, irritated and agitated. Soon, it got worse and kept worsening! It was itching and my skin was dry. Do not use this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Straight up highway robbery...

    • Mar 18, 2015

    Bought a "one time" one month supply, and quickly learned this company has no idea what one time means. They sent me three shipments, and billed me. When I put a stop on my bank account, they started harassing me with bills sent to my home. Their answer is "just send it back", but of course you have to pay the shipping, OR wait a month for them to send you a shipping return slip. They do this to make it so inconvenient, that you just end up keeping the product letting them rip you off.

    There's nothing wrong with the product itself other than the fact that it's not the miracle cure they make it out to be, but of course, I've resigned myself to the fact that false advertisement is the norm in consumer goods like this. I wish I could rate it zero stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Complete scam

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Dec 29, 2014

    This was a worthless product and despite numerous calls, they continue to send the product and charge my credit card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money.....

    • Fayetteville, NC,
    • Jul 15, 2014

    I didn't listen to the reviews because I thought everyone's skin was different and that I could benefit from X Out. I've never been more wrong in my life.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-10 of 10

Write a review for X Out!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review