About Xome.com

With more than 80% of all MLS listings available (120+ million properties), including for sale, rent, or auction, Xome.com is an online portal that claims to make the real estate process more transparent and less complex for consumers and real estate professionals alike.

How? According to Xome, they accomplish this by allowing each party to maintain complete transparency throughout, from financing to insurance, so that everyone knows what’s going on. In fact, Xome.com claims they’ve come up with “a radically better way to buy and sell a home” by “creating a bridge between the offline and online worlds.” In addition, Xome also claims to help buyers and sellers save money on real estate commissions, which we’ll discuss shortly.

But is this really what you can expect by using Xome to purchase your next home or sell your existing one? We’ll answer all your important questions in a moment, but let’s first take a look at the company’s processes.

The Xome Home Buying, Selling, & Auction Process

If buying a home, the Xome.com process works over 3 steps:

  1. Search for homes, select your property, and get a fast-track pre-qualification using a pre-selected lender.
  2. Select your top-rated Xome agent, who will be available 24/7, and who will act as your single point of contact. Buying a home through Xome.com also gives you access to Xome Concierge, which we’ll come back to in the following section.
  3. Make an offer, obtain your mortgage, sign paperwork, and close (including appraisals, inspections, and so forth) on your new home. Most documents are sent through email and signed using e-signature technology, although some paperwork will need to be completed by a notary service.

If selling a home, the process works over 3 (somewhat simpler) steps:

  1. Claim your home on Xome, which involves entering your address on the Xome home page and signing into your account. This allows you to “track important changes to the value of your home and market conditions in your neighborhood.”
  2. Choose your Xome.com agent, who will be responsible for making “sure your home is properly marketed, listed in the MLS, and who will work hard to try and maximize the sales price.”
  3. Review and accept offers, sign documents, and close on your home. Then, you can begin the process again if you’re looking to purchase a new property.

Real estate auctions are handled through HomeSearch.com (in fact, Xome.com appears to be a sub-company of HomeSearch.com, as we’ll discuss in a moment), where you can search for “real estate owned, short sale, pre-foreclosure/foreclosure, and luxury properties for auction.” Again, the auction process works over 3 steps:

  1. Locate a property you’re interested in and contact the listing agent directly.
  2. Bid for the property in real time.
  3. If your bid wins the auction, you’ll be contacted by a representative to begin the closing process, and Xome can help walk you through the paperwork.

Xome.com’s Savings Program

Xome.com’s Savings Program allows buyers and sellers to receive 1% off their total transaction cost by using one of their agents, which is part of the company’s savings program.

This means that if you were to buy a $400K home, you could save $4K in commissions. And if you were to use Xome again to purchase a new $400K property, you could potentially save another $4K, which quickly adds up.

However, according to Xome’s Disclosure page, “The Xome Savings program (Minimum 1% cash back) is not available in the following states due to applicable state law: AK, IA, KS, LA, MS, MO, OK, OR and TN.” As such, if you live in one of these states, you’re out of luck.

Xome Concierge Program

If you’re buying a home, Xome’s Concierge service, is claimed to provide you with all the resources you need, including 24/7 access to your agent via chat, email or phone.

As an agent, Xome.com Concierge also works as a virtual assistant to help you focus on your business, in addition to providing you with “qualified homebuyer and sellers who are ready to go.”

In either instance, the company claims that their Concierge service can help you “get dynamic ratings, real-time data, and revolutionary tools to manage your buying or selling process.”

What Happens if Your Home Listing Isn’t On Xome?

After learning that only about 80% of MLS listings are featured on Xome, we wondered if a buyer found a listing that wasn’t shown on the website, would their Xome agent be able to help them?

There wasn’t any additional information provided online, so we contacted Xome’s Concierge customer service to find out. According to them, all you would need to do is inform the company and they would put the address on the agent’s panel. At the point, your Xome.com agent would then be able to represent you in the transaction.

Are Customers Happy with Xome.com?

At the time of our research, there were very few online customer reviews for Xome. However, we did come across a recent Reddit thread, where one user summed everything up nicely:

From what I can gather, it seems like the big difference is that all Xome agents are similar to Redfin's partner agents instead of one of Redfin's salaried agents.

Redfin's idea is that by offloading the marketing, planning, etc. to tech and other parts of the company, deal writing agents can be more efficient. This allows the company to play with slimmer margins and more volume (and hopefully equal or greater service). This business model doesn't really work for lower priced markets because there is a certain fixed cost per house associated with it - that's why the 200k limit exists. Instead, at those price points, they do a referral program to third party agents that pay some sort of referral fee.

From what I can tell, Xome is entirely based off referral fees. It appears that the idea is that the technology platform of Xome should be a great enough advantage for RE agents that they would be willing to give up 1% commission and a referral fee. They also seem to make money off of mortgage and title/escrow, perhaps through referrals or even through subsidiary companies.

In some sense, Xome actually feels like a Zillow that charges per sale rather than per click.

Some of the company names listed on the Xome.com website include Xome Inc. and Xome CT LLC, both of which are based out of Lewisville, TX, although neither were listed with the Better Business Bureau.

According to a June 2015 HousingWire.com article, however, “Xome is formerly known as Solutionstar and is an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of Nationstar Mortgage Holdings.” At the time of our research, Nationstar Mortgage held an F rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on a whopping 3,100+ complaints (as of 6/18/15).

Most of these appeared to reference everything from misapplied mortgage payments to unwanted, high-pressure phone calls.

Finally, according to 46 HighYa reader reviews for HomeSearch.com, they gave the company an average rating of 1.5 stars, with common complaints citing difficulty closing on properties after successfully winning auctions, listings that contained incorrect information (accidentally or otherwise), poor customer service experiences, and that the overall experience isn’t focused on being user friendly.

Granted, since Xome.com is a subsidiary of these companies, this doesn’t mean you’ll experience the same.

Xome.com Pricing & Fee Structure

Whether you’re a buyer, seller, or an agent, signing up for a Xome account is free, which you can accomplish by entering your Facebook credentials or signing up manually using your email address.

As a real estate agent, there are no upfront costs for joining Xome, although you will have to reduce your commission for all purchases and sales by 1%, in addition to paying a “referral fee” (amount undisclosed) to Xome for each closed transaction.

Note: According to the Xome website, you’ll be required to “bid for qualified home buyer and seller opportunities,” so this means you might have to reduce your commission even further in order to actually land a client.

If you have any questions, Xome’s customer service can be reached by phone at 844-251-0077.

Will Xome Change the Way You Buy & Sell Your Home?

Chopping to the point: Xome.com seems to represent the beginning of a big shift in how we buy and sell homes, which instead of locally, seems to be increasingly moving online. And as a result of their new business model, you might be able to save a big chunk of change on commissions during the buying and/or selling process.

With this said, it seems that Xome’s parent companies have less-than-stellar online reputations with customers, so you might want to approach carefully.

Have you used Xome? If so, be sure to tell the world about it by writing a review!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

9 Customer Reviews for Xome.com

Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 1 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 8
Showing 1-9 of 9
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Careless internal appraisal tactics

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Sep 10, 2016

    I worked in this company and saw first hand how the appraisal practice is completed. From the outside, it appears that they are an in-house review team and appraisers. While there are some, they have laid off 6 reviewers and at least 1 in-house appraiser. They now have only 5 reviewers in-house to review ALL appraisals for every loan. This includes Nationstar, all its sub-affiliates, and other large banking institutions.

    Well, it is possible when they lay off over half the staff and send the appraisals to India where they can pay people pennies to review YOUR appraisal. I have seen the work first hand and know they do not know how to review properly in accordance with USPAP, federal, state & local laws.

    Nationstar/Solutionstar/Xome do not care if your appraisal is wrong. Beware of using this company as home buyers may be getting a mortgage on a house not worth what the appraisal reflects. The reviewers are told to make sure the name, address, and lender is correct and send it out.

    You are dealing with people who don't understand the American real estate process. The appraisals are a mess and the appraisal panel is unaware that they are not being reviewed by USPAP compliant competent reviewers.

    India doesn't follow up with the appraisers or the clients as the company doesn't want anyone to know they are being reviewed overseas. That means reviewers in the US stop what they may or may not be doing (they don't do much these days). They may have to deal with private appraisers, re-review the report and correct the mistakes. But hey, they only paid pennies for the review. You get what you pay for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Went bad

    Was awarded a home. Sent out earnest money deposit. Then could not get in touch with anyone to know where my money was. Took weeks before I could talk to an attorney that said they were not handling this anymore. Got finally the "seller" attorney. Signed a contract of sale. Waiting for the closing, months passed. Closing date never came. Instead a cancelation notice from bank. My attorney sends me back my deposit MINUS $2,500 that I can not get back. Never again. This all looks shady, especially that there was no one there after they get their money. All up in the air waiting for closing, or not. And on top of this my attorney charges me anyway. This was not a good experience and I'm out a lot of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Extremely difficult to receive answers after closing

    I represented a cash buyer that recently purchased a house through XOME and a $300 "buyers agent bonus" was offered. We utilized a local title company to process the transaction. When I requested the $300 be charged on the HUD closing statement, the local title company advised me that "They are paying for zero fees. Your $300 will come to you after the closing from the auction company." When I contacted XOME inquiring about our check approximately 1 week after the closing, the response was "usually 30 days after closing" is when I can expect our commission check.

    I contacted XOME again on day 30, and was told "your check was sent on Monday UPS, per the Accounting Department." It is now Thursday, 35 days after closing, and XOME cannot provide a UPS tracking number that affirms they have mailed the check, and to the correct address. Their customer service has been absolutely horrible. If they actually had mailed our commission check via SNAIL MAIL we would have received it by now. XOME would not provide any contact information for their Accounting Department, not even an email address to contact. I've left voice messages with Customer Service, also a Manager, without any response. BEWARE if you conduct business with XOME, do not expect to be compensated in a timely manner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    So far so good

    I just came across this thread kind of by accident and feel compelled to comment. I've been a broker for 29 years and have sold over 5000 properties, including about 30 through XOME. Any agent will gladly give a referral fee for a good listing or buyer that closes, it's done all the time. The site could be a little more intuitive, but so far I've had nothing but good experiences with the people I've dealt with.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Total SCAM.

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Dec 12, 2015

    This company is a total scam. Do not buy anything from them. Their real estate tactics are borderline illegal. They are also in cahoots with homesearch.com, another scam company. Research homesearch.com and it will tell you all you need to know. They're changing names to Xome to try to improve their company image. There's only so much lipstick in the world, but enough doesn't cover up what's going on with these companies and their parent company Nationstar Mortgage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Xome Conference

    • Ocean City New Jersey,
    • Nov 23, 2015

    I recently returned from a Xome Conference in Texas and the entire business plan boils down to taking commissions from the Realtor and using it as a discount to the buyer or seller. What geniuses.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Total lack of follow-throughs and too many lies.

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Nov 17, 2015

    I am a realtor and worked as a signing agent for these folks for quite a while. These people sought me out due to my many years of quality work, and I agreed to help them. During this time they have changed their names 4 times and offer no explanation as to why. They most recently started their on app for the cell phone and if you do not use it, you lose everything with them. I have been experiencing quite a few glitches with the app and have called and requested help.

    They have promised help in trying to get the app working but fail to follow through with the help they offer. This has lead them to slam my quality of work, which, when asked for specifics, all they can say is I cannot work their new app. And once again, there was promised help that has never been delivered. I have attempted to be the nice guy and they have done nothing but be late and lie about when things are going to happen.

    They hire young girls that are of little assistance and none of them even seem to care. I do not see them being a main player at anytime. It sounds to me that they just change their name when they fail and try to rally with the same problems.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Be very afraid of this company

    • Louisville, KY,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    I've been a licensed Broker for 26 years and have been listing Nationstar Mortgage and Solutionstar REO properties for 6 years. Xome, their subsidiary, has threatened to cancel my listings unless I sign their Xome agreement, which includes providing them with consumer's private documents for every transaction in addition to the sliding scale of referral fees due, commission rebates due, allowing them to market my services as they deem fit and expecting me to literally show a home to a buyer at a moment's notice without regard for our safety.

    They do not vet or pre-qualify a lead, thus we are expected to bring consumers into people's homes that may not have any qualifications at all. After refusing to sign their agreement, they harassed me daily via phone and email, always ending the conversation with the threat of canceling all other business I have with their affiliated companies. If they are treating Realtors like this, I wonder how they will treat consumers?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Contract altering or change at Xome benifit and agent expense

    • Orange County, California,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    I signed up on their web site as a real estate agent which included a listing agreement that pays a referral fee to Xome on a sliding scale. Just received an email that states that Xome is changing the original referral fee for their benefit at my expense. It referenced where in the original listing agreement it gave Xome the authority to do so. This made me feel that the intent of the contract was a little misleading and one sided. It is not mutually beneficial but rather empowering Xome the ability to control their income by changing the terms of the contract without justification and at their sole discretion and benefit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-9 of 9

Write a review for Xome.com!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review