About Yoshi Grill and Bake

Developed by Idea Village and based out of Wayne, NJ, the Yoshi Grill & Bake is a non-stick cooking mat that can be used to grill beef, poultry, seafood and more, in addition to baking your favorite pizzas, pastries. The manufacturer also claims it is able to cook all your food evenly, while being a breeze to clean up.

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

Idea Village holds a D rating with the Better Business Bureau, which is calculated based on 154 closed complaints within the past three years. It seems that the company has somewhat of a reputation for manufacturing cheap products that often don’t perform as advertised.

How Yoshi Grill & Bake Works

According to the Yoshi Grill & Bake website, their grilling mats allows your meat and vegetables to soak up all the marinade possible, making them tender and juicy. In addition, the baking mats help you avoid burning your dough for light, fluffy pastries and pizza crust. The company claims that you’ll never have to worry about food slipping through the metal grates again, and that cleanup is quick and easy.

Additional benefits of the Yoshi Grill & Bake mats include:

  • 100% non-stick surface.
  • Can be cut to any shape, and are reusable and reversible.
  • Extremely lightweight and ultra-portable, so they can be used at campgrounds, campsites, cookouts, etc.
  • The ability to have the “perfect grill marks” on your food, with none of the hindrances of a regular grill.
  • Can withstand up to 500 degrees of heat.
  • Reduced flare-ups, so your food doesn’t get burned and remains juicy.
  • Decreases your cooking mess, and clean up becomes a snap. Completely dishwasher safe when you’re in a hurry.

Yoshi Grill & Bake Pricing & Refund Policy

The Yoshi Grill & Bake mat set is currently only available directly through the manufacturer, and costs $14.99 (plus $6.99 shipping and handling), which includes:

  • 2 Yoshi Grill Mats
  • 1 Yoshi Bake Mat
  • a “free” bonus Grip ‘N Slip Spatula (just pay $4.99 for separate processing)

All Yoshi Grill & Bake mats come with a !00% satisfaction, 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. In order to begin the refund process, you simply have to return all included items to this address, including your phone number and email address. Once your Yoshi Grill & Bake has been received by the manufacturer, your credit should be processed within 10 days.

Bottom Line: Is the Yoshi Grill and Bake a Scam?

As with many “As Seen on TV” products, public perception of Yoshi Grill & Bake’s developer—Idea Village—is relatively low, and for apparently good reason. Some of the most common complaints include cheap construction, failure to work as advertised, and poor customer service.

With this said, we were unable to find any reviews specifically regarding the Yoshi Grill & Bake, which seems unusual, since the product’s website has been registered since June 2012. However, based on the manufacturer’s sales video, the mats are able to accomplish numerous things, which makes us wonder what kind of material they’re made of, and whether or not they pose any health risks.

So bottom line: Is the Yoshi Grill & Bake mat set a scam? Based on its “As Seen on TV” status and lack of any legitimate online reviews, you may want to wait a bit before spending any of your hard-earned money on it. However, if you do decide to purchase the Grill & Bake mats, keep in mind that you’ll lose more than 30 percent of your refund to shipping and handling charges if you’re unsatisfied.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

53 Customer Reviews for Yoshi Grill and Bake

Average Customer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 20 4 stars: 5 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 8 1 stars: 18
Bottom Line: 49% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 53
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Was not happy

    I used it today and was very disappointed with it. It did not leave the grill marks. The food cooked in its own grease did not taste like I grilled it at all, it tasted like I cooked it in the oven. I would rather clean my grill than use this product again. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Perfect

    • Ocala, FL,
    • Jan 26, 2016

    Love the Yoshi. Perfect results every time. Clean up a snap.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Yosi Grill Mat

    • Florida,
    • Nov 19, 2015

    I love the Yoshi Grill Mat. I use a folded paper towel to prevent the grease from running off the mat, but meat still has grill marks and cooks in the same amount of time. I've only used it for meat. Clean up is a snap and no more cleaning messy grills.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Works great!

    • Greensburg, PA,
    • Sep 25, 2015

    If these aren't working for you, then you're doing something wrong. Just keep the heat under 500 degrees and you'll be good. I like being able to use my grill like a flattop. Sometimes I do meat directly on one side and grill veggies and other messy stuff on the other side. Grill marks will happen. Stop touching your food while it's cooking.

    Can you say cheese skirt? My grill is gas. Charcoal may be harder to regulate the temp. NOTHING sticks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Yoshi Grill Mat

    I've saw Yoshi Grill Mat on TV and was interested in trying it out. I have used it 3 times now for Salmon and burgers on different heats using charcoal. For salmon it works well. It cooked and caramelized surface for nice texture and true to add it did not stick making it easy to flip. The burgers were another story. No matter how much heat I set up, it would not develop the grill marks as promised. The burger tasted more like I cooked it in a pan. I will try other meat over the next month but I seriously doubt it will have much value. It easy relatively easy to clean up. I rinsed/washed it with sponge then put in dishwasher. I would only recommend it for fish. I think the company oversold this idea.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 28, 2015

      John Joseph Bilella Jr

      After 3-4 uses, the product flakes and becomes unusable.

    • Oct 30, 2015

      Ken Foster

      John, I've used mine about 10 times and I do not see flaking to my eyes. After the fifth time though, it is beginning to become sticky. This is only with fish (I gave up using it for anything else). I clean it thoroughly and run it through dish washer but I'm likely to toss it after the next time. I doubt I'll buy another one. Thanks for your comment.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Yoshi Grill Mat

    • Hamilton, N.J.,
    • Sep 2, 2015

    My wife picked up one of the Yoshi Grill Mat/Baking Sheets combo at a store recently. I laughed and was skeptical having seen the TV ad. However, let me tell you the grill mat works terrific! I've grilled, burgers, steaks, chicken, and more (gas grill) and the entire family agrees all of the food tastes much better than on regular grill grid. Everything is juicier, nothing dries out and the food DOES get all the grill marks as you would get without the mat. Another point -- this mat heats up fast. Cooking time therefore is faster. Seriously if you grill try this mat. We haven't used the tan baking mat yet. Let you know about that later I suppose.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not exactly performing "as seen on TV"

    • Summit, NJ,
    • Aug 24, 2015

    I've used it 3 times. Still NO grill marks whatsoever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 30, 2015

      Ken Foster

      I agree with Barbara, I've never been successful with grill marks for burgers, fish, pork cutlets, etc.. I use charcoal with 2 zones (High and medium heat). After 10 uses it is becoming sticky even though I clean it with rigor and dishwasher. I will not replace it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Wonderfull

    • Janesville WI,
    • Aug 21, 2015

    Your product works perfectly. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    I purchased Yoshi Grill and Bake Mats at Bed Bath and Beyond for $9.99 plus tax, no extras included. I have only used the grill mat and am amazed that it actually works as advertised. In fact, I almost lost my Mahi-Mahi slip sliding away.

    I have been trying to find out what the mat's components are though, as it would be sad if they are a health hazard. I can't overlook the fact that the item is made in China.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 67 out 75 people found this review helpful

    Less than honest

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    Tried to purchase mats without Flipper and additional $4 plus dollars. No deal. Was told to call Customer Service, called them and was told they would not sell the mats with out the additional $4 plus dollars for the flipper. 

    So for the 50-cent china flipper they are able to milk more than $10 plus dollars in s&h for a total of $25 plus dollars, giving them a profit of probably $24.00. That's what scammers do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Yoshi Grill Mat – I love it

    • Houston, TX,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    I have had the Yoshi Grill Mat for about 4 months. At the time I got the mat, I had just cleaned my grill, and now, 4 months later it is still spotless. I cook on the grill an average of 4 times a week. It gets a lot of use. I am still using the first of the two grill mats I got, and it shows no sign of wearing out. I have cooked fish, chicken, steaks, and burgers on it. All the mess stays on the mat, and it takes me about 2 minutes to clean the mat in the sink. Everyone that has a grill should have one of these. It will make your grill last forever. No grease fall through. No rusting. I couldn't be happier! 5 Stars for this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 53

Write a review for Yoshi Grill and Bake!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review