About Zipit Bedding

Zipit Bedding is a sheet-and-blanket set that’s claimed to work just like a sleeping bag, which might help make both moms and kids happy. They say it’s fast, fun, and makes it easy for kids to make their own bed in seconds, just by pulling the zipper. In addition, Zipit Bedding is glow-in-the-dark, reversible, and features side-storage pockets.

Zipit Bedding was invented by Jennifer MacDonald who had an “Aha!” moment as she watched her sons zipping up sleeping bags after a sleepover, and she thought to herself, “Why not use the same principal for their regular beds?”

Afterward, Jennifer teamed up with her sister Hayley Carr and eventually formed MacCarron Industries to manufacture and market the product (according to their website, Zipit Bedding was also featured on the TV Show “Shark Tank”). However, there is no information, accreditation, or company rating listed by the Better Business Bureau.

How Zipit Bedding Works

Zipit Bedding is essentially a fitted sheet and a comforter zipped into one unit, which is available in two colors, six patterns, and in Twin or Full sizes: Blue (Extreme Sports, Outer Space, Wild Animals) and Pink (Rocker Princess, Fantasy Forest, Sweet Stuff). They claim it is perfect for hard-to-make bunk beds, as well as trundle beds, squishy air mattresses and more.

The video demonstrates that Zipit can be fully zipped, or zipped-and-folded in several different combinations for different looks. Each Zipit Bedding set is also reversible and interchangeable, which means you can mix-and-match so they’ll never be a “bore”.

According to the manufacturer, Zipit Bedding is “interactive”, “radical” and “sure to excite” (but hopefully not to the point of being unable to sleep), while remaining soft and durable. When you turn off the lights, Zipit Bedding also glows for “even more fun,” and its two zippered side pockets can hold things like cell phones(!) that often get lost under the bed.

When the time comes, Zipit Bedding can be laundered simply by stripping it off the bed, wash, and re-fitting as one unit. (They suggest washing in cold water on Gentle and drying on Low Heat to preserve the glow-in-the dark. If you wash the fitted sheet separately, they say it can be washed in cold or warm on Normal.) Because of this, Zipit Bedding’s manufacturer brags that you will “say goodbye to unmade beds” and will no longer have to struggle with ill-fitting sheets, blankets, or pillows. On top of this, not only will the beds be nice and neat, but your child will be safely “tucked-in,” preventing the blanket (or themselves) from falling off.

To further illustrate how much fun your child will have with Zipit Bedding, the company has also created their own YouTube Channel featuring The Zipit Bedding Kids dancing and singing in their own music videos.

ZipIt Bedding includes:

  • Zipit Comforter and Fitted Sheet (Twin or Full, color and style of choice)
  • Matching Zippered Pillowcase

Zipit Bedding Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Zipit Bedding is priced at $49.99 for Twin and $59.99 for Full, plus $12.99 S & H.

If you order more than one set of Zipit Bedding, the shipping goes up to $14.99 for 2 sets, $17.99 for 3 sets, $21.99 for 4, $25.99 for 5, and $31.99 for 6. In addition, for orders with more than one set, you can take 10% off the price.

Once you receive your Zipit Bedding order, you’ll have 30 days to try it out. If the kids aren’t jumping around singing “Just Zipit!” (or for any other reason), you can return the bedding for a refund of your purchase, minus shipping charges (and you have to pay to ship back).

Bottom Line: Is ZipIt Bedding a Scam?

Zipit Bedding is touted by a lot of mommy bloggers on sites such as “LIfe with Twins & a Drama Queen” and “The Divine Secrets of a Domestic Diva,” but many of these accept money or advertising for endorsements. Still, we have to admit Zipit Bedding is a pretty neat idea for kids that they’ll probably love, if for nothing other than its convenience (and the fact that they’re not getting yelled at to make their bed!).

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

44 Customer Reviews for Zipit Bedding

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 7 4 stars: 3 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 30
Bottom Line: 23% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 44
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    I ordered the Zip-It bedding the second week of December. With the 3-6 week shipping I had made my peace with the fact that it would not come in time for Christmas. We were elated when it arrived on December 23rd.

    As for the bedding itself, the bed looks nice and tidy even when my child forgets to "make the bed" by zipping it. We paid extra for the Glow-In-The-Dark version which my child loved.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Works great

    • MD,
    • Jan 23, 2016

    I ordered for my daughter for Xmas because her bed is always a mess. I actually ordered through another retailer and had no problem. I love it, makes her bed look so much neater. I'm considering getting one for her brother. I got a full/queen and the fit was perfect.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Don't Bother

    • Canton, Georgia,
    • Jan 19, 2016

    Bought a twin size from Walmart for $59.99. Looks cute, came with a pillow case and that's where it ends. It zips up but refuses to stay up. When the child turns or moves it zips down until both sides are all the way down. Will not stay zipped up at all. Waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Review of ACTUAL PRODUCT (vs. Customer Service)

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jan 14, 2016

    I was shocked at all the negative reviews, having just given daughter one as Christmas present and being pretty satisfied! Then I started reading them and realized that they all reflect Customer Service, not the actual product.

    I bought the Rock Princess one at Walmart - so no CS issues:) My 9 1/2 year old daughter really wanted two for her bunk beds. We couldn't find second one locally (and only a few days before Christmas) another style/design, so bought the ZippySack for the 2nd one (more later, but it truly sucked and has been returned).

    Bottom line? AWESOME.

    The fitted sheet is nice and tight. The comforter is OK - it's not too thin, but not nice and thick/plush/comfy. The cotton is cotton - so not super soft. It works as advertised: stays on bed and kids just flip the cover up and zip open or closed. She LOVES it. The comforter does reverse by unzipping each side, flipping the comforter over. The pillow case you just flip to the other side.

    A couple minor points I would recommend to improve slightly:

    1. The zippers slide nice and easy, almost too easily. Normal shifting during the night works them down. Could see this being not bad for little fingers zipping and unzipping; but for my daughter it's too slick.

    2. The bottom is open. This is no surprise as you see this in the video. However, zipping all around like a true sleeping bag might be better; otherwise, the point of a comforter (warmth) is defeated with the bottom open. This may not be possible due to the unzip/flip ability to change the look.

    3. As mentioned the comforter could be thicker in general; or even plush! Or the option to choose thicker/plush (which I'd certainly pay the difference for).

    Overall - the ACTUAL PRODUCT IS GREAT.

    There are too many retailers that sell this to bother with the customer service - so just don't buy from the company itself.

    Now - brief comment about the ZippySack. DON'T BOTHER. It's not really clear on their site, but you need to have a fitted sheet and pillow case. This is ONLY a thin, plush fitted bumper with a single side/bottom zippered top. It's a single plush layer so not very comforting/warm (I'll say it - 'cheap'). I bought the pink cat, which is clearly shown to come up high enough to cover a pillow. This is NOT the case. The top of the ears barely came to about 3/4 up the bed and my daughter had to scoot down just to be fully covered. It also fits tight (since it's attached directly to the fitted side bumper) so not a lot of room for turning over, etc. She (and I both) hated it and it got it returned. Now searching for another Zipit Bedding to replace it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Love It So Far

    • Jan 13, 2016

    I ordered my Zipit Bedding (the dream catcher one) for my 4 year old daughter a week before Christmas. I knew it wouldn't get here in time when I ordered so I didn't stress too bad. It's now December 30 and I just got the package. Not too bad of a shipping time especially around the holidays. We put it on her twin bed immediately. It looks great, perfect size. It's soft & durable. The colors are very pretty. I'm really excited about it. I think it was a great purchase.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Credit Card Fraud Alert

    • Lubbock, TX,
    • Jan 7, 2016

    After order was cancelled 3 times due to trying to use PayPal, I called customer service again and paid using a credit card. One week later I get an email and text from credit card provider stating my card number had been used in the United Kingdom. It now makes sense why PayPal would not work. DO NOT ORDER unless you want your credit card number sold off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Extremely poor customer service

    I placed an order on 11/27/15. I emailed them on 12/12/15 because I haven't received tracking or any info. They replied to my email on 12/14/15 saying it was rejected because my addresses didn't match up. Ok, but why wouldn't you call or email as soon as you figured that out.

    I called customer service 12/14/15 to get it fixed and explain that I needed it shipped ASAP because it's the only thing my son asked Santa for. She guaranteed me that it would ship within 24 hours. I didn't receive tracking in that time frame so I emailed again on 12/17/15 to see why it didn't ship after she guaranteed me it would. They proceeded to tell me it would ship within 12 hours. Well, I received tracking that day (12/17/15) and stalked FedEx tracking online. Turns out the shipping label was created, but they bedding didn't actually ship until 12/21/15! Tracking shows it will be delivered 12/28/15.

    Way to make me let my child down customer service. Now I have to hurry to find him something extraordinary so he doesn't lose his Christmas spirit and belief in Santa. No way would I recommend this company to anyone. Guess we'll see when it gets here how the quality is and hope it's not as crappy as most of the reviews show.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Never received it.

    • Garland, TX,
    • Nov 12, 2015

    I ordered the Zip It Friend (Puppy) back in June of this year for my grandson's birthday. Six to seven weeks later I called to see when it would get here. I was told they were on back order and it would be 6 to 8 weeks. I again called back later to see what was going on. I was told they would be in the middle of September. Now it is the middle of November and I still haven't received it and have never been contacted by anyone to let me know anything. I'm giving up and will not buy anything from a commercial on TV again. This was my second bad experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 7, 2015

      Erin

      Just a heads up, most stuff that says available online only comes out in stores too, they just don't publicize it on the TV commercials. Try Rite Aid or Bed Bath and Beyond. Rite Aid has a whole "as seen on TV" section of stuff that's "only available on TV". This should help avoid the problem with having to wait forever for items by mail.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your time!

    • Alabama,
    • Nov 11, 2015

    I placed an order and never received a confirmation. So a week later I placed the order again! I received the confirmation on the second order but waited 4 weeks and never heard back from them. I called them, gave them my confirmation number and they said they could not find my order. It has been about 6 weeks now and all they can tell me is to just place ANOTHER order. No thanks. Don't waste your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Too Small

    • Austin, TX,
    • Sep 12, 2015

    Just received my daughter's ZipIt bedding. It's very cute, but does not fit the queen size bed she has. I ordered the full/queen. It's definitely too small for a normal queen size bed. Very disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 30 people found this review helpful

    3 months, never shipped, THEY canceled order.

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Aug 30, 2015

    Never got product. Kids' grandma ordered these in June 2015. Never shipped, order never processed, no status updates, the website just said it was in the process of submitting our order. We finally got an email from them August 25th, 2015 saying our order was canceled. What a bunch of garbage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 44

Write a review for Zipit Bedding!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review