About ZipRecruiter

ZipRecruiter is an online service that claims to make hiring faster, easier, and cheaper by giving employers the ability to post their open positions to 50+ job boards with just one submission, and for employees to search their large database of job postings. And because ZipRecruiter claims that their goal is to create a stress-free, easy-to-use, and simplified process for the job seeker and the employer, their services have been used by more than 250,000 companies and more than 15 million candidates.

But whether you’re an employee looking for job posts online or a company looking to post a job listing, is ZipRecruiter a solid option for achieving your goals? Let’s post some facts and find out.

How ZipRecruiter Claims to Work

ZipRecruiter offers services for both job seekers and employers, so let’s take a look at the site from a company’s perspective first.

ZipRecruiter for Companies

Founded in 2010 and based out of Santa Monica, CA, ZipRecruiter’s primary claim to fame is their ability to allow employers to post their jobs to 50+ job boards (both paid and free), including Job.com, Monster, SimplyHired, Glassdoor, and more, while the company’s proprietary technology is claimed to analyze your jobs in real-time in order to maximize your placement across all of their job board distribution partners. In addition, employers also have the ability to implement social websites into their arsenal, including Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, and Google+.

Each employer’s job postings on ZipRecruiter are claimed to be mobile-friendly, which can also include your company’s branding (logo, etc.), and can even be added directly to your company’s website. Job postings can also include free form, multiple choice, or yes/no questions for candidates to answer, which can help you qualify them more quickly. After they’ve answered questions and submitted their résumé, you can then create custom email responses, track and rate each applicant, and export your candidate list to Excel.

On top of all this, if you’d prefer to seek out candidates directly instead of waiting for them to apply, ZipRecruiter also gives you the ability to search more than 4.5 million résumés in their résumé database, which includes full contact information for up to 500 or 1,000 candidates per month, depending on your plan.

ZipRecruiter for Candidates

After creating a ZipRecruiter profile, you’ll be able to post your résumé to the website’s database, which gives employers the opportunity to search for candidates like you to their open positions. You’ll also be able to search for open listings based on keyword and city/state, and once you find a job that you’re interested in, you can apply directly or save the listing and apply later.

After you’ve submitted your résumé, ZipRecruiter gives you the ability to see how many employers have viewed your résumé, as well as how many times your application was saved, liked, shared, or considered. And when you’re not at your computer, or on iOS or Android mobile device, you can create job alerts to notify you when a job matching your criteria has been posted.

ZipRecruiter Pricing & Refund Policy

As a candidate, a ZipRecruiter account is completely free of charge. As a company, all new employer accounts come with a free 4-day trial, although you will have to enter your credit card information to sign up.

Once the trial has expired, employer plans are priced as follows:

  • Starter: $99/mo ($590 annually). Includes 3 active job ads and 20 résumé searches per month.
  • Team: $149/mo ($990 annually). Includes 10 active job ads and 250 résumé searches per month.
  • Company: $229/mo ($1,490 annually). Includes 20 active job ads and 500 résumé searches per month.
  • Big Hiring: $299/mo ($1,990 annually). Includes 50 active job ads and 1,000 résumé searches per month.
  • Enterprise: Flexible pricing, depending on your needs. Includes unlimited active job ads and 5,000 résumé searches per month.

Regardless of which option you choose, all plans come with an unlimited number of candidates who can apply to your postings, without any additional charges.

ZipRecruiter’s services come with a 100% satisfaction guarantee, which states that if you’re not happy, you can cancel your account and you’ll be refunded your previous payment (if on a month-to-month plan). If you’re on a 6 or 12-month plan, you’ll need to cancel within the first 30 days in order to be eligible for a full refund. Otherwise, your account will remain active for the remainder of your term, after which you’ll no longer be billed.

ZipRecruiter claims to place a great deal of emphasis on providing premium support from real people. As such, if you encounter a problem, you can contact the company at (800) 557-9015, via email, or through live chat.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About ZipRecruiter?

Overall, among internet job posting sites, ZipRecruiter appears to have a very positive online reputation, with some of the most common compliments referencing ease of use, professional, friendly customer service, and that it’s a great tool for promoting your job opening.

However, the most common complaint regarding ZipRecruiter appears to reference that some employers received very few applicants for their open positions (more about this in the following section). Another common complaint referenced ZipRecruiter’s high price, which may be especially pertinent if you’re a very small company who will use the site infrequently, and are just looking to post one job listing. With this said, it appears that ZipRecruiter addresses online complaints quickly and actively works with customers to formulate a solution.

Bottom line: Can ZipRecruiter Help You Find a Job or Fill an Open Position?

Whether you’re a company looking for a new employee, or an individual looking for the perfect employer, almost everything about posting a job and the job-hunting process can be stressful. However, ZipRecruiter appears to have a well-earned reputation for effectively helping both employees and employers make the right match, and to make the process as simple and as straightforward as possible.

However, keep in mind that you may have to pay extra for posting to paid job boards like Monster, and it usually takes about 24 hours for your posting to appear on job boards (paid or otherwise). Also, remember that ZipRecruiter can help you spread the word about your jobs, but the company can’t guarantee that you’ll receive a large number (or any, for that matter) of applicants, although they do have some actionable tips you can use to make your posting more attractive to potential employees.

Related: An Introduction to Working Remotely

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

58 Customer Reviews for ZipRecruiter

Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 5 1 stars: 51
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 58
Sort reviews by:

  • Beware!

    • Washington DC,
    • Apr 27, 2017

    Like other folks, I used ZipRecruiter and got nothing but employment scams. I got a couple of identical emails from companies that had Gmail accounts (red flag) and offered to do an interview on Google Hangouts (so red, it's crimson flag).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality pool of applicants

    • Yorktown Heights, NY,
    • Apr 21, 2017

    Pros: Easy to use dashboard. Customer service was knowledgeable and helpful. We did receive over a dozen applicants within the first three weeks after the initial post.

    Cons: The pool of applicants was terrible. Many sent resumes but were not responsive when we tried to set up interviews. In one case, we actually hired someone only to receive an email two days after they accepted a position thanking us for out time, but they have taken a position elsewhere. Our posting was for a research position that paid between 30k and 75k depending on their level experience, plus we were willing to train someone interested in learning the position as a trainee, which of course would have placed them at the lower range of a salary offer.

    Overall we received 14 replies in four weeks (not bad), but we could only get three interviews scheduled and made only one offer, which as I previously stated, was declined afterward via email. In my opinion, this site draws mostly younger people who are within a few years of completing college, or individuals who a looking to enter the workforce. Not the cream of the workforce.

    One more very important item is that their sales representative was very motivated and eager to help, except he failed to mention that the clock on your subscription begins at the conclusion of your account setup phone call. We were under the impression that the clock would start when we posted our position, but it is not so. If you don't have your ad ready to upload, you are wasting the first few days of your subscription. They never mentioned this until I asked this question directly, as it almost seemed as though they were talking around that point and never clearly addressing it. They confirmed that the clock started at that point, so if we didn't post a job description until after the first week, we would be throwing away money.

    Conclusion: Slightly over-priced, but you will get applicants, just maybe not qualified people, which is contrary to their advertising. We had better results with INDEED.COM, but it was much more expensive. You clearly get what you pay for. A give it a 6 out of 10.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    This company is unethical

    • Virginia,
    • Apr 21, 2017

    This company is unethical. They increased the price without my knowledge or consent, and they did not issue a refund when I complained. They claimed that I was notified by an email, that I have never seen. It was increased from $149 to $375!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Customer service specialist/office assistant

    • Holland, MI,
    • Apr 20, 2017

    I have been busting my bum trying to find a job. I have posted my resume and several different job sites. I filled out the questions at ZipRecruiter and uploaded my resume and it wasn't anything like I had posted. I clicked on the Online Help, and the person that was responding must have been drunk or on drugs. Sebastian's responses were incoherent and then interspersed with an obvious cut, copy and paste response. Dodge this site like the plague.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Fraudulant postings

    • Lubbock, TX,
    • Apr 17, 2017

    Any listing for a position for "administrative assistant" is a fake. They ask to interview via google handout and claim it's a work from home position and they wish to send you a check via email or mail. They don't ask for any personal banking information but to sign an employment paper and fax it which the fax doesn't work so you email it. It's all fake and the check is fake so do not apply for an "administrative assistant" positions. Some of the companies I've come across so far are:

    • HCR manor care
    • ResCare
    • CURA healthcare
    • SAKAR healthcare
    • TAVco
    • PSA healthcare

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    ZipRecruiter is Cheat company

    I advertised on the ZipRecruiter on August 10, 2016 for Premium Starter Plan, 3 Jobs, Monthly Subscription (4 Day Free Trial) and I cancelled it after three days. However, they kept on the charging me for next four months. I spoke to customer support agent he said, “You will be refunded for all four months”.

    The customer support agent can see that I haven't used the service and canceled it after three days. He said to me, “You will see the refund in two weeks time” then I see only two months. I call customer service again and they state that, “We have a new policy we can only go back two months.”

    We have addressed the issue with the customer service agent you spoke earlier. Then I receive a call saying to me, “We will give you bigger discounts if you advertise with us”. Their business practices are illegal and they cheat you with fine lines.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Keneric Healthcare scam

    • Mobile, AL,
    • Apr 13, 2017

    This is what a job scam looks like. I just finished doing the interview.

    tment@kenerichealthicare.com

    Incoming messages may be delayed

    Good Morning,

    I received your email about the interview and just wanted to verify that it is scheduled for Today Monday April 3rd. What form of conversation will we be engaging in on Google Hangouts, ie. video, messaging or telephone, and what time today so that I can be ready.

    Thank you,

    Alisha Grantham

    11:11 AM

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    Hello and how are you doing today? I am available to interview with you and I believe you are ready for the interview and briefing on the job position?

    Hello, yes I am, sorry I was outside catching my cat.

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    okay

    My name is Mr. Jerry Bradley and I am one of the hiring managers of Keneric Healthcare Company and I would be briefing you about the position and the company.

    Before we proceed, I would like to know your full names, age and where you are located at (City and State)?

    My name is Alisha Granham, age a young 50 lol, and I reside in Mobile Alabama

    Grantham

    Ok I changed to my laptop from my phone so I do not have spelling errors.

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    The name of the company is Keneric Healthcare Company .

    Keneric Healthcare Company is a well organized manufacturer, exporter and supplier of a wide range of Pharmaceutical Products. We produce specialty products which are economically manufactured and made available at affordable prices. Our Product Portfolio includes Bulk Drugs, APIs, Pharmaceutical Intermediates and Finished Products. These products are processed under the supervision of pharmaceutical experts and packed in suitable containers so that their properties remain intact. Apart from this, we also offer Contract Research and Manufacturing Services (CRAMS) to various companies and clients as per their requirements.

    Ok I'm with you.

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    We have a temporary office located in 8925 Sterling Street, Suite 100

    Irving, TX 75063 United States and Our head office is located at Office No. A-18, 2nd Flr, Gentech House Chamber, Commercial Complex, Mukharjee Nagar, New Delhi-110009, India. We are working on building new locations in United States and currently working on setting up a permanent office inMobile Alabama that is why we are employing online, But when the new office is available you will be assign to work over there that is if you are qualified after the interview.

    Sounds good.

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    This is an online work from home job, The working hours are flexible and you can chose to work from anywhere of your choice and once the office close to you is available you will be assign to work over there in the office, The pay is $29 per hour during full working hours and the training is $15 per hour and will be getting your payment weekly/biweekly via check or direct deposit working 25 to 40 hours weekly, If you are employed you are going to be working as a full employee and not an independent contractor. Benefits: Health, Dental, Life and AD&D Insurance, Employee Wellness and 401k plans.Paid Time Off and Holidays with Generous Company Discounts.

    Ok I got it so far. Please continue.

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    We are currently working on the location in Mobile Alabama which will be available on April 26, 2017. Therefore, you will be working from home until the office is available and you will be assigned to work over there if hired.okay

    Ok.

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    Here's the company website http://www.kenerichealthcare.com you are required to use 3 minutes of your time to read more about the company, then let me know when you are done so we can proceed with the interview.

    ok brb

    Ok so it looks like you sell products similar to what my son had to use when he received his 3rd degree burns and had to wear bandages and receive special baths at the hospital, distributed by one company and billed by a 3rd party.

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    RESPONSIBILITIES/DUTIES: Scheduling appointment, Entering customer information, Invoicing, Payroll & Managing Emp. Files ,Entering expense reports in computer system Running and processing multiple documents utilizing Microsoft Word, Excel, and Access Inputting purchase orders Other various administrative tasks,Inputs information from a variety of sources into a computer database. May take customer orders and enter them into a pre-established tracking system Assignments will be sent to you via e-mail or IM and you will report directly to your immediate supervisor. Can you handle that?

    My duties would be data entry customer service, order taking, tracking assistance, Word programs usage to detail and document orders/misc, phone duties and email. Sure I have been doing Word since it came out and taught myself Excel in 1997, plus I have had some college classes on them.

    I am currently attending college for Information Technology bachelors degree

    Plus I worked in as a property and casualty insurance salesman/manager for 10 yrs

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    Have you ever worked from home or online before?

    How many hours do you intend to dedicate to this job position daily?

    I have been collecting emails and date the past 2 months for a local company online, and ran my own small business from home, a pet sitting service and I can put at least 6-8 hours a day or more into working for your company, since my classes are 100% online.

    date = data

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    Are you currently employed?

    The current email job is temporary and will run out within about 2 months

    My family all live at least 400 miles away so I have no commitments other than work and my pets

    your work \

    oh of course the college, I take one class every 7-8 weeks for next 2 yrs

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    How many years experience do you have in Data entry/Book keeping and Customer Service/Receptionist? How many years experience do you have in auditing reports? How many years experience do you have in sorting and filing documentation?

    I learned filing in 5th grade (1977), took first typing class in 1980 (typing 1, 2, 3 and 4), first data entry/computer programming class, 1984 took accounting and bookkeeping 1984, worked in 2 differenct insurance agencies in New Orleans, LA 1992-2002, Bishop State College Mobile, AL admissions office 2014-2015, Burke Library Spring Hill College Mobile, AL 2015- March 2017

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    What's your clerical speed? Do you have an idea of how to use MS excel ?What is your highest educational diploma?When did you receive it?

    I use Excel like most people breathe, I type about 65 (+) accurately per min, I am currently a Junior in College

    the email sheet I had to use is an excel spreadsheet that I had to create from an instruction sheet that differs with each state that I process as I am collecting data on nursing schools and listing them on a main sheet, a group sheet, then each one on an individual sheet, plus I make my own budgets on excel

    I can send you an example of the excel sheet that I work with if you like.

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    Where do you see yourself in 5 years time with the company?

    If hired I would be headed toward a management level or one in your Information Technology department

    I would hope to make management before 5 yrs though lol

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    Tell me about yourself and your last or current job?

    I am currently a Junior at Grand Canyon University seeking my bachelor's degree in IT in order to work my way to the head of the department. My last 2 jobs were both with the colleges that I was attending and I was assigned to the positions as a Work Study student through the federal government program.

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    Well you have done well so far and you seem like a perfect fit for this position. All you need to do is follow the briefing and you can ask questions when I am through. Let me know when you have finished reading and understanding every line. You will be allowed to ask questions later. With each line just respond with Okay.

    ok

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    You've just been confirmed qualified for this position. You are welcome to Keneric Healthcare Company . You are now given a chance to show your commitment, charisma, diligence and be a productive employee. My superior's will reach you via e-mail or phone for your Position offer-documents and your working paper's. Also they will put you through our company guidelines under US Human Resources Laws and Regulations okay

    okay

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    Your start up pay for this position is $29 per hour and you would be receiving your payment via Check weekly which would be mailed to you. What is the "NAME" of your bank?

    All we need is the NAME of your bank and not your banking information, it is needed just to be sure your bank is affiliated with our payroll bank.

    Regions

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    You will be receiving your duties online every day and I would always be online to assist you with any difficulties. You would be eligible to Benefits after 2 months of working with the company, Benefits offered are Health Insurance/Vacations/Bonuses which will be explain more better in your offer letter Okay

    Okay

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    I need you to provide the following details, your full names, contact address, city, state, zip code, phone number and email address. Please do that now so your employment database can be updated.

    hiringdepartment@kenerichealthicare.com

    You will be undergoing a 5 day training and orientation which will commence as soon as you have all working materials and you are rest assured that you will be paid for it. You will be faxed or emailed a paper work and a HR document during your orientation and training,you are to fill, sign and send back to management.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Scam artists hire on here

    When I was looking for a job, I applied to a few administrative assistant positions on ZipRecruiter. I got both emails and texts in the middle of the night from someone claiming that they are an artist out of the country looking for an admin to help them keep things organized while he is away. He asks you to send him your bank account information and address so that he can send you a laptop and put money in your account before he even interviewed me (this was all in the first e-mail).

    I (obviously) blocked this email and phone number. A week later, I received the same exact email from another man except instead of an artist out of the country, he was an architect out of the country. All the other words in the email were the same and asked for the same information. I, again, got a text message from this person in the middle of the night.

    ZipRecruiter seems to let anyone post "jobs" to this site. The worst part about these two was that the original postings for the position had nothing to do with anything from the e-mails. I would avoid applying to jobs on here. Seems dangerous.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Don't fall for it!

    • Washington,
    • Mar 22, 2017

    I was in desperate need of staffing assistance and had all but given up. I called ZipRecruiter, and they sweet-talked me and promised that after I signed up I would get multiple applications. The sales person also said that I would have access to hundreds of applications pertaining to the jobs I was posting. I was also told to contact them back once the jobs were posted so they could make sure they were worded well and would get attention.

    Well, I paid the almost $400, and none of the resumes on file pertained to two of the three jobs I posted. After multiple emails, the sales guy never got back to me. Of course when I tried to cancel I got the "but we'll help you this time." Shame on you for screwing me the first time, I was not going to let it happen again. Good luck to you if you try them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Beware, horrible company

    BEWARE! This company will sign you up for their services and charge your card, but you can never cancel their service. It's impossible to get in touch with the billing department to cancel. You have to leave a voicemail for them, and they never call you back. The sales department will talk to you all day long, but as soon as you want to cancel your subscription, they can't help you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    This is a complete scam and waste of money. There are no qualified applicants in over 100 resumes for an office manager. I got secretaries, retail clerks, all of whom are under qualified and not applicable. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 58

Write a review for ZipRecruiter!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review