About Zumu.co

Zumu is an online company based out of Michigan, USA that buys your pre-owned CDs, DVDs, and console games. Launched in late 2012, Zumu claims to have paid out more than $1 Million to it's users and currently pays out thousands of dollars weekly. Zumu’s stated pledge is to recycle 100% of all items they receive, which are either resold at affordable prices, or physically recycled into a variety of goods, such as baby bottles.

Zumu offers customers the ability to receive payment by check, or to donate the value of their products to any charity partnered with the company. Because of this, Zumu refers to used goods as “pre-loved items,” and the charities to which they donate as “splendid.”

Zumu Selling and Shipping Guidelines

Zumu accepts movies, music, and all Xbox 360, PS2, PS3, Wii, DS, and PSP console game formats. However, they do not accept single-track CDs, vinyl records, or VHS tapes. All items must be in perfect condition, with no scratches whatsoever. In addition, all items must include their original protective cases, with barcodes, which will need to be submitted individually online. Zumu’s website will automatically calculate your product’s value, and will then email you an itemized check list and prepaid shipping label.

After submitting your items via Zumu’s website, you have up to seven days to ship your package, which must be received by the company within 10 days from original online submission date. Because Zumu’s prices can change daily, the quoted price you originally received may not be valid if items are received by Zumu after this time period.

Zumu has a minimum requirement of 10 items per order, and a maximum of 100 items per box, with a weight limit of 70 pounds. For each box in your shipment, you will need to include a complete checklist inside, which will be confirmed by email after your shipment has been received. For any items that do not meet their condition requirements, you will not be compensated for their value, and they will not be returned to you. Instead, Zumu will recycle these items on your behalf.

Zumu Payments

After your shipment has been received and processed by Zumu, you will receive a check via mail within 6-8 weeks. If your check is not received within four weeks, then you will need to contact them directly at hey@zumu.co.

Pros:

  • Get rid of your unwanted DVDs and console games, while earning cash, or donating your proceeds to a charitable cause.
  • All shipping charges are covered by the company.
  • Easy-to-use website. (While it was still live)
  • Receive payment by check within 6-8 weeks.

Cons:

  • Any items not meeting Zumu’s guidelines will not be returned to sender, so double check each item prior to shipping.
  • Make sure each item you send is accounted for on your enclosed checklist, or you will not be paid for those items.
  • Based on consumer reviews, it can take longer than normal to receive payment.
  • Based on numerous complaints current, consumers are receiving no response or payment from Zumu what so ever.
  • Hundreds of complaints with the BBB in the past 12 months.
  • Both of the Zumu websites are shut down, so it appears they fled the scene

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

203 Customer Reviews for Zumu.co

Average Customer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 201
Bottom Line: 1% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 203
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Complete SCAM

    • Ca,
    • Nov 16, 2015

    Sent in a large amount of my son's DVD/games and was suppose to receive $100.00 for the items. Never did get the money despite multiple ineffective emails to them. Even got BBB involved but never had any luck. Do not use the company, all empty promises on their part.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Eight months and still waiting.

    • Brighton, UK,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    My experience with Zumu is much the same as many of the others commenting here, in that they've basically stolen my goods and don't appear to want to pay for them.

    Unlike many others, I have actually received money from them in the past for a small package (got about £10 out of them), which encouraged me to use them again, more fool me.

    Subsequently submitted another two 'trades' as a result, both in November 2013. After much badgering I finally received a check for the smaller amount in February 2014, but no peep out of them for the larger amount.

    Since then I've emailed them about 8 or 9 times, first being fobbed off that there were big backlogs that they were working through, and that oh, there was a problem with my account and I should have received them money and they'd look into it. More badgering emails from me. Threatening them with Trading Standards. Still nothing.

    Eventually get an email in April informing me that they was a problem with their accounts system and that all of extend accounts would have to be migrated onto a new system(!) Which would of course take time, so they asked for me to be patient.

    Nothing again for weeks. Another badgering email, oh we're sorry, you can have an extra 20% on a future trades you submit. Yeah right, like I'm going to send them any more stuff.

    It's now the last day of June 2015, 8 months on from submitting my trade, and not only do I not have my money, but Zumu no longer bother to reply to emails, are unreachable, their app has disappeared from the App Store, and when I try to open the one I have on my phone it gives me 404 errors. They've shut up job, taken their ball and gone home etc. etc., with our stuff/the money from it.

    Really, really angry with this shower.

    In summary: Do not use Zumu, they are thieves who will lie to you time and again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Unreliable company, beginning to suspect scam.

    • Birminghami, United Kingdom,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    1 star too many. Sent DVDs' to their value of £176 approximately. They were received by Zumu 27th to 29th January 2014. Still awaiting payments as of 19th April 2014. Numerous emails all stating they have received too many orders and are trying. Have used music magpie, money arrived inside one month. Am starting court proceedings at the end of this month. My advice stay well away. If monies arrive I will repost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 3, 2014

      Tracy

      I have been waiting for almost a year. I really don't know what to do. Any tips?

       

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not impressed

    • London, England,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    I sent £108 worth of DVD's to this company in Sept 2013. After many emails they eventually stated that my payment would be processed on the 23rd Dec. This did not happen and despite many emails to them all communication stopped. I sought advice from Trading Standards who stated they had breached their contract and to send them an email as such. It was only at this stage I received a check for the amount they owed. Five months later. Lots of grief and hassle. I wish I read the reviews prior to using this company. Do not use. 

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not a good site

    • Providence, RI,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    This is a scam. I sent games and DVDs in April 2013 and it's been too long in waiting for my money and they keep saying were having difficulty and you will get your check as soon as possible well it's been freaking 7 months. Still no money in my wallet I will contact the BBB and file a complaint for internet fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not send anything, scam.

    • Bristol, United Kingdom ,
    • Aug 13, 2015

    I sent DVDs and CDs, which Zumu valued at almost £35.00 in March 2014. I was promised a check within four weeks but its now June and no sign of any check. I have emailed them numerous times and at the beginning I got an automated reply that says they've received my enquiry. Now I get no response from them at all. Guess I can kiss goodbye to that money. This Company needs to be made public for the thieves they are so that others are not taken in by them too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company

    • Springfield, OH,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    I'm filing a complaint with BBB, they said so far you have over 76 total complaints which failure to pay or collect accounts for 38 those issues. I am also contacting Apple and complaint to them about allowing a company like yours, which is not accountable to be able to list their app.

    This is over $50 you have been promising to send for three months now. According to your people my check should have been here already. This is so stupid that you risk future business and formal complaints to avoid making a payment of $50. Don't tell me you are cutting another check. Unless you overnight it and can give me the FedEx number I don't care. I am also going to write the attorney general in Michigan about your business and I'm signed into Google to list feedback on sites. Give me 30 minutes and you can read yours on Google.

    Please contact attorney general in Michigan and file a formal complaint.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Don't even think about using them.

    • Racine, WI,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    Unless you want to lose your CD/DVD/Video Games and/or have to wait months for payment, I could go on and on about their poor "customer service" cut/paste answers which blame everything except their company.

    Needless to say, I currently have a BBB complain filed and later today I will be talking with the Office of Michigan Attorney General.

    Next step will be with the FTC, then Apple and Google to get their app removed from store/marketplace, then on to small claims court. Stay tuned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 10, 2013

      zumu customer service

      You will always get paid, we are running behind which we apologize for, but we are making up ground. We are trying to be transparent by letting customers know when they trade on the site that there is a delay before they proceed.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • One year later, got nothing

    • Aug 12, 2015

    Had two orders and both were sent and completed 05/14/13. One year later, after countless emails of nonsense excuses "PayPal wasn't working you'll get your money via check, delays, delays, delays" I still have yet to receive my payments. Sadly they've also stopped replying to me since December.

    I needed that money to survive as I was struggling to make ends meet. Should've known it was too good to be true. So my value of the items were less than $50, but when you're trying desperately to make every single penny count. It just hurts. I pray there is a lawsuit against them one day, and if there is sign me up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Absolutely a Con

    • United Kingdom,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    This site is a complete scam. I sent stuff totaling nearly £100 in January 2014 and still haven't received a penny, ie May 2014. They do eventually reply to emails assuring I will get paid but still no money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Call your BBB!

    • Kalamazoo, MI,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    If you have dealt with ZUMU.co, please call your Better Business Bureau to complain, they are a scam. I dealt with them in 2012, sent in my things in April, received confirmation of receipt a week later, and then no correspondence until I wrote them in early August. They then tell me to expect my payment in late September, which did happen in full. Now, in 2013 I sent in what they valued to be $221 of CDs in April, got confirmation of receipt a week later and then nothing until I contact them again in June. All they say is that they are sorry and will look into it. I write them again in July and get the same response. Finally in August I receive an email that my payment will come in late September and they thanked me for their patience. I got a payment for $7.23.

    I have since contacted them and they say nothing. They refuse to work with me even though I have all the paperwork to show that they have my property and have not paid me. I have since written the the BBB and they have investigated. They are downgrading them but unable to do anything else for me. This place is a scam and there are other places to go. Please, do not deal with these evil, misaligned people. This company preys upon those looking to make a quick buck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2014

      Kaila

      I tried contacting the BBB and they said they couldn't make contact with Zumu so the most they could do was 'flag' them. Still no money!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 203

Write a review for Zumu.co!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review