About 1Sale

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Mar 22, 2014

By offering customers products at “far greater discount than anywhere else,” 1Sale is an online shopping destination that claims to provide “the absolute lowest prices on the items consumers truly want and need.”

In fact, the company claims to have saved their customers more than $2 billion over the past 6 years and to have more than 500,000 visitors each day.

1Sale was founded by in 2007 by Ben Federman, and is operated by 1SaleADay, LLC, which shows 2 locations through the Better Business Bureau: One in Brooklyn, NY with a D- rating and more than 400 closed complaints, and another in Miami, FL, with a C rating and nearly 1,000 closed complaints.

With this in mind, most customer complaints appear to reference defective/incorrect items, non-delivery of products, and failure to honor their refund policy.

Outside of the Better Business Bureau, online customer reviews appear to be primarily negative, with poor customer service, extremely long shipping times, and defective items/items that were in poor condition ranking as the top complaints.

How 1Sale Works

1Sale claims to offer big savings on a wide variety of products across five different categories, including:

  • Electronics – TV & Home Theater, Computers & Tablets, Audio & Gaming, and more.
  • Home & Family – Kitchen & Dining, Sports & Outdoors, and more.
  • Watches – Hundreds of designs of Men’s & Women’s watches.
  • Jewelry – Rings, Earrings, Bracelets, and more.
  • Fashion – Men’s, Women’s, & Children’s Apparel, Footwear, Sunglasses, and more.

Whichever items you’re looking for, 1Sale offers them in three different selling formats:

  • Top Sellers and Hot Deals, which run until stocks are depleted.
  • Daily Deals, which begin at 12am ET and run for 24 hours. If an item is especially popular, it may reappear at a later date.
  • Sell Offs, which “feature a new deal every 30 minutes for 30 minutes.”

If you find an item you like, simply add it to your cart and complete the checkout process. However, keep in mind that products sold through 1Sale are either new or refurbished, which, along with any applicable warranties, will be specifically stated under the item’s specs.

Also, if you like to shop on the go, 1Sale offers Android and iDevice apps, which are free to download.

1Sale Pricing and Refund Policy

Because products sold through 1Sale cover a wide variety of categories, pricing can range from just a few dollars, to several hundred. However, all products sold through the website include free UPS shipping.

While 1Sale claims to have a satisfaction guarantee, we learned that refunds are only available for defective items, which must be returned within 21 days. In order to begin the refund process, you’ll need to contact customer service and obtain a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number.

Pros:

  • Claims to offer great deals on a variety of items across five different categories.
  • According to several reviews, 1Sale may even lose money on some items in order to build a “buzz.”
  • Free UPS shipping on all orders.

Cons:

  • 1-3 day response time for customer support requests, and numerous complaints of poor customer service.
  • Extremely long shipping times.
  • Refunds only available on defective items.

The Bottom Line

While 1Sale claims to be actively addressing many of its customers’ concerns, the company appears to have an extremely poor online reputation. Here’s why:

First, in the promotional video on the company’s About page, it’s explained that 1Sale attempts to keep as few products on hand as possible. While this may help the company’s bottom line, it appears to result in extraordinarily long shipping times—often as long as 4-6 weeks.

On top of this, in the event that something goes wrong with your order, there is no phone number available to speak with customer support. Instead, there is only an email address, which the company admits will take anywhere from 1-3 days for you to receive a response.

Next, we read countless complaints during our research that claimed items received were in poor condition, and/or were not the same items that were originally advertised on the company’s website. To add insult to injury, when customers contacted the company to request a refund, they were often told their return would be subject to a 25% restocking fee.

Bottom line: If you plan on ordering an item from 1Sale, keep in mind that even though you may score a great deal, it might end up causing far more frustration than it’s worth.


Read 21 1Sale Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 76% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 21
Sort reviews by:

  • Great

    • New York,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was a real pleasure dealing with the company. I had a slight problem with an order and they did everything possible to make it right. Very impressed. The kind of company you want to deal with.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Solid watch - great price

    • Ohio,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I need a watch for work - not a smartwatch or a fitness tracker - just a watch. Given the price, I was willing to give this one a shot. The watch is much better than I could have hoped for. For under $12 you can't go wrong.

    Style: Its military styling is a classic look. The band was a little stiff when I first got it, but I would expect that from a leather strap - once I wore it for a bit, it's become very comfortable.

    Quality: The watch feels solid my wrist; not too light and not too heavy. The glow in the dark face components work very well in low light.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Updated review

    Polk Surround Bar

    • Oregon,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Polk Surround Bar 5000 that comes with a sub. The box it came in was falling apart and some cords missing. The Subwoofer did not work. 1Sale replaced the missing items and woofer, but the next woofer would not pair to the soundbar. They refunded the purchase.

    Overall the product was a complete disappointment, but customer service was great. I never had to pay for any of the shipping, and in the end, I was refunded in full.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Nov 11, 2018

    Polk Surround Sound missing remote and 3 different cables.

    I ordered the Polk Surround Bar 5000 that comes with sub. It was missing the 1/8" analog cable, 1/*" to RCA adapter, Remote, 20v Power Supply, and Subwoofer Power Cord. Completely useless without those.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Happy customer

    • Florida,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered but was skeptical as the pricing seemed too good. I received tracking info quickly and the package arrived a few days later! I’m definitely going to make some future purchases.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great experience

    • California,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've bought numerous products from this website. I've always been highly satisfied. It's always come on time and exactly what I expected. I only have had good experiences with 1Sale and would highly recommend it to anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Nice bags...great deal!

    • Flatbush, NY,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't shop at 1Sale often, but every now and then a deal will catch my eye. I ordered the 5-pack of laundry mesh bags recently and it arrived in less than 3 days. I mean, for $6 free shipping and for it to arrive that fast, I couldn't believe it! I will definitely try them again...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16-pack Superhero Socks

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi! I am very satisfied with the service and quality of product! Second time I've ordered from here and both times have been very pleased. I can't wait until my grandson gets them, he's going to love them!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Mystery box

    • New York,
    • Dec 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't waste your money (the $15 box). I ordered two boxes, and one had a mousetrap, and the other had a roach trap. Bad taste. The rest of the stuff, you can get better stuff at a $1 store. A tie and hats that are really junk. There was a flashlight in one box, not bad, no batteries, and the same type of flashlight when you buy in a store you get batteries. I would like to return these boxes. I have bought these boxes for the last couple of years.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Excellent item and transaction

    • New York,
    • Nov 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very first order, received items very fast. Very easy transaction! I would recommend ordering from this company - easy to deal with! Bulbs were as expected, haven't had to use them because we haven't lost power, but am hoping they work. Also, I am using them as Christmas gifts as many people don't have any knowledge about these light bulbs. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    All lights worked perfectly

    • Sault Ste. Marie, MI,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    All the lights worked perfectly, and all the light adapters worked as well. I am very pleased with the brightness of the lights.

    I recommended them to my family members, and they have ordered them as well. I am just waiting for a power outage now.

    Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great style and value

    • Monona, WI,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Oakley sunglasses were exactly as described and delivery was prompt. The style was the same as a pair I already owned in a different lens color.

    These glasses were a fantastic value.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 21

Write a Review for 1Sale!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review