23andMe Reviews

23andMe

Overall Rating

1.5

64 Customer Reviews

Summary

23andMe is a personal DNA testing kit that provides you with information about your ancestry, ethnic background, living relatives, and pertinent health information. Learn how customers are rating their experiences.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.5 Stars out of 64 Reviews
5 Star:6% 4 Star:1% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:7% 1 Star:78%
9% Recommend This Company
Start your review of 23andMe:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Oct 7, 2020

Waste of money

By Lee J., Sacramento, CA, Verified Reviewer

1st - They tell you your nationality, that you already know.

2nd - They can only match you with relatives on their narrow database, which makes this completely useless.

3rd - They keep trying to up-sell you on other items you don't want.

I discovered absolutely nothing new about my DNA or ancestry.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Narrow database

Long wait times

Reveals nothing new

Posted on Jul 28, 2020

Do not buy this product

By Timothy F., Mesa, AZ, Verified Reviewer

The Family Tree algorithm is broken. I have been hung up on several times when calling, or left on hold for hours when asking to speak to a supervisor. When I ask for a refund I have been immediately hung up on. The customer service is terrible. The only reason I bought the product was for the Family Tree. It crashed and was down for weeks, and when it came back, it was wrong.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer service

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 13, 2019

Don't waste your time or money

By Kim W., Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

TL;DR: Lab is unable to process samples for some reason, slow and awful customer service, faulty website.

I bought my 23andMe kit on August 28 of this year. A couple of weeks after, I was told that my sample wasn't viable. They sent me a second kit, which did not come with a cap for my sample, so it was unusable. They had to send me a third kit. I accidentally made an error on the address. I started a chat 30 seconds later and was told that I couldn't change my address because it had been too long (over 60 minutes) since I had submitted the request. In reality, it was about a minute. They sent me a third kit. After a week, I saw on the website that my sample couldn't be processed. I had to fight with customer service to get an answer, but the progress page was changed to show that my sample was processing. A week later, I was told that my sample couldn't be processed. I followed the directions to a T and even gave more spit than needed. I tried to request a refund, but it said that the refund couldn't be processed. Once again, I'm fighting with customer service, which is slow and awful. Don't waste your money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 12, 2019

Total scam

By Tara W., San Clemente, CA, Verified Reviewer

Do not waste your money - this is a total scam! I know alot about my bloodline and my blood ancestors and the results I received back from 23andMe weren't anything close! Total scam! Don't waste your money, time, or energy on such a fraudulent company with bogus results! I can't believe a company can actually become so successful when they are a complete hoax! Unbelievable!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 6, 2019

Different results than other companies

By Sherri A., Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a DNA test for myself and my son. I did my test with two different companies and got the same results.

My son did a 23andMe test. Results were nothing like the results from the other companies.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 18, 2019

Excellent results

By Kathy S., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I took the test and had no problems such as what I've read on here. I waited two weeks before doing the kit, sent it off and occasionally checked in to see the progress.

Everything was fine and as they said for the time frame.

My results were excellent in the way of pinpointing where I am from, and there is no question about the areas 23andMe say my relatives are from, they were bang on with those results. It said I have zero close family to first cousins and that was right because I'm the only one who's done this. The regions really blew me away how they could show me where I was from, that was amazing. Also, I have a third cousin and their name and location were absolutely correct. Also, I did some traveling to my heritage country and while there, found a distant cousin who by chance had the same last name as I. We got talking and discovered ties between us. This person has not taken the test, but my DNA shows I have ancestors from the same area that I met this cousin in. I can't ignore that! So be your own judge.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 6, 2019

Horrible

By Rea R., New York, Verified Reviewer

This a scam. Too much money for a general overview of what I already know. The results are broad with no definition of where is your DNA originate, no percent of any heritage. The health results I got from my medical provider...nothing new. I would like my money back to get Ancestry DNA.

Horrible, horrible and a waste of money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 6, 2019

Scam

By Chere C., Oregon, Verified Reviewer

I did this and it has changed my DNA three times. I was 100% European, now I am not. I was Italian, now I am not. I am related to somebody that neither my sister, brother, cousin or niece is related too. It is a total waste of money. My family and I both wish we never did it. I mean it even said we were related than next thing we are not related. Stupid since we have the same parents. My opinion, it is a scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 23, 2019

Unprofessional

By Chalice K., St Louis, MO, Verified Reviewer

I mailed my kit on 12/26. It took a couple of days to get to their Phoenix lab, but USPS showed as undeliverable. It was then sent to Greensboro, again refused as undeliverable. It was again sent to Phoenix for a second time and AGAIN, was undeliverable. Yes, again it was sent to Greensboro and a second time there was refused as undeliverable. Finally, two weeks later, this idiotic company accepted the kit after the 5TH ATTEMPT at trying to be delivered. Even though it was annotated as being delivered on 1/7, they say they didn’t receive it until 1/9. NOW, they have just sat on it for another 2 WEEKS in their queue and ABSOLUTELY NOTHING has been done! Their own site says I should shave my results, but my kit is STILL just sitting there! They still have done ABSOLUTELY NOTHING and will more of ANYTHING! This is the most idiotic, rude, unprofessional company I have EVER encountered!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 11, 2019

Terrible company and customer service

By Cristy J., Green Bay, WI, Verified Reviewer

My sample is lost...somewhere. After waiting for two months I decided to call. Their customer service is TERRIBLE. They don't want to answer any questions, and that's after they CAN'T find your account. They don't want you speaking to a supervisor or the specialized team, so they just put you on terminal hold. I would not recomment this company to anyone. I wish I had read the reviews before I spent the money. I will be calling my credit card to dispute the charges. I think this company is a TOTAL SCAM!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 22, 2018

Bogus DNA

By Mary W., White Lake, MI, Verified Reviewer

I am a female who has had three babies and my DNA tested as a male. Something is wrong with their lab testing and request my money back. I think this is a total SCAM! I have sent many emails and called three times and got no real explanation for the mistake. I have never had a transplant of any kind and there is no male living in my home.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 3, 2018

Do not use!

By Jill B., Minnesota, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a kit from Target and sent a sample in to 23andMe. On 10/02/2018, I received an email stating they were not able to extract DNA from the sample. This was almost a month after I purchased the kit. They did offer to send another kit, but I decided to call to find out more information. First, there was no way to find a phone number or address on the website. I finally found a number and called. I asked for a corporate address, which they refused three times. After arguing for about a half hour, I finally got an address. I asked for a full refund, which they totally refused. They said they can send a gift card via a third-party. I asked how long that would take. They responded by stating that would be between me and the third-party. Totally unacceptable. I am writing the Minnesota AG, BBB and Target with an ultimate goal to simply get a refund.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 8, 2018

Long wait time

By Stacy M., Beaverton, OR, Verified Reviewer

I sent my kit in late June. It is now September, and they said they are updating a computer system and it may be two additional weeks. If I would have known it was going to take three months to get back, I probably would have used another company. I have no way of contacting them; they do not respond to email. Very frustrated.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 29, 2018

What a joke

By Stefan D., Washington, D.C., Verified Reviewer

What a joke. They mine you for more money as they give you vague and ridiculous results, which do not give you anything you did not know. It is bogus! The results do not give you anything one did not know! Do not waste your money, as they want you to pay more get more information from your sample afterward. The company only wants to get your DNA to mine it and to sell it somewhere else, buyer beware!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 28, 2018

Extremely slow, non-existing customer services

By Allie A., Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

I sent my samples in back in July, and I'm still waiting for them to "receive" my samples. I contacted USPS and was told clearly that my packages were in fact delivered and there's no way they were lost or stolen. So we tried to contact their "customer service," which basically just used the same answering templates from their Q&A section online. I don't even know if we were emailing to a real human representative or just a program that filters some keywords and copy/paste you some texts from their website. Overall, we are very disappointed already, and it seems like we need to wait for another 2 months to actually get our results.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 23, 2018

Interesting but of limited use

By Elliott P., London, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

The DNA database is one of the smallest amongst the commercially available home kits; rather like the previous reviewer, being told I'm 99.1% Ashkenazi Jewish is hardly useful since the area is large and covers a high percent of Eastern Europe. And, given the fact that the majority of test subjects appear to originate in the States it is of no surprise that the results are somewhat skewed to reflect that fact. I am getting some emails from those listed as probably second or third cousins, but none as yet are able to actually fix a true relationship with my family or its genealogy. I'll keep trying but am more likely to go with MyHeritage testing instead.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 25, 2018

Buyer beware

By Diana F., Washington DC, Verified Reviewer

My husband bought two of these kits, but we did wait a couple of months before we went to send the sample in. When I tried to register the numbers online, it said that they were invalid.

I sent a picture of the numbers and an email to 23andMe telling them the problem. It took them almost a month to come back to me and say "we determined that when the kits were originally purchased from the website a stolen credit card was used, so we refunded the original card and cancelled the kits." We now have to research how we paid for them and where we got them (probably Amazon). So they are either saying that we bought them with a stolen card, in that case, we would have to be pretty stupid criminals to turn around and send them our DNA. Or, they don’t vet the third parties that they sell to and don’t protect the consumer at all.

Either way, I was glad to find out how incompetent they are before I have a DNA sample on file with them and I really doubt the validity of their results if they can’t get something as simple as credit card transactions correct.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on May 25, 2018

Scam likely, two kits and not enough DNA in my spit

By John F., Phoenix, AZ, Verified Reviewer

My kit was supplied by the Michael J. Fox Foundation, which has partnered with this company to search for know Parkinson genes. I have no idea why they wouldn't use a real lab! I have found a lot of similar results, please pay attention to the negative and independent reviews. Not enough cells, seems to be the standard operating procedure.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on May 2, 2018

Terrible!

By Kathryn Kuhn, Gulfport, MS, Verified Reviewer

Customer service is horrible. I had to cancel my account via email. You cannot have total control over your own sample unless you jump through hoops. You are much better off testing and subscribing to Ancestry.com for genealogy research.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 30, 2018

Waste of money

By Crystal Collett, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I got my DNA kit in the last weekend of March, and I then returned it immediately with my sample. I got my results within two and a half weeks.

Before I get a more in detail about my results, my mother and father got their DNA tested from another company which was credited by my mother's native tribe. When my mother got hers done, her DNA showed that she was 58% Native American. My father seeing this as interesting that he decided to take a DNA test. My father knows his lineage pretty well, he was 31% native. However, my mother was adopted and it wasn't done in a legitimate way. The person who gave her up for adoption never signed the birth certificate, however, the people who adopted her gave money to the hospital so that they could be the ones on the birth certificate. My mother found out when she was about 10 years old that she was adopted. Her birth father put her on the roster for his native tribe, which is Lakota Indian. After she had to do DNA a tests proving that that was her biological father. She also had to do one to show her lineage of Native American blood.

Now with that being said, my DNA test showed not one single drop of Native American.

My information dropped off pretty quick. Maybe it's because on my father's side when it hits the European part of him, which is Irish, it comes from Ireland and not from here in America. My great-grandfather was straight from Ireland and moved over here when he was in his twenties. And on his mother side, they had French and Native American. My grandmother was born on the Indian reservation in Oklahoma. They basically didn't show me any information for my mother's biological parents, however, they did give us information about her fake adopted parents.

I believe all this company is doing is gathering information so they can analyze for medical reasons. And the way they are coming up with your heritage is just searching your family and looking at what they can find where your family originates from, other than actually searching your genetic code.

Also, when I confronted them on this, they told me that their database wasn't very large so they couldn't determine certain traces. And that's my genetic building, we show my characteristics where I get them from. OK, I got you, I was expecting to see Irish, like I said my great grandfather came straight from Ireland. But I don't have pale skin, I don't have freckles, and I don't have light color hair. I'm actually quite the opposite. I have deep olive brown skin, dark brown hair that straight, and have extremely high cheekbones in very slanted eyes. The only characteristic they kind of got right, because they said I have blue eyes, is that I have pill green eyes.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 30, 2018

Bad service and poorly designed website

By Barbara Crowley, San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

I have had endless problems with 23andMe. The instructions they give are confusing and messy, and when I try to clarify with someone at 23andMe, I cannot reach anyone who can explain. What's the point? And on and on.

Now I have forgotten my password (hadn't tried it for years). I am about to try finding it but wish me luck. It's such a TOP Secret I can't find it. A niece across the country will help since I doubt if I ever reached someone at 23andMe that they could help.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 28, 2018

Very disappointed with 23andMe!

By Susan Roncevich, Freedom, PA, Verified Reviewer

I am disappointed with 23andMe. I have tested with Ancestry and Family Tree DNA prior to purchasing the 23and Me DNA Test - Health + Ancestry. I was happy with the results from Ancestry and Family Tree DNA, but I wanted to test with 23andMe for the Health reports.

I purchased my kit on 11/24/17 and received the test kit on 11/29/17. The kit was received at their lab on 12/6/2017. I did not contact Customer Service even though two months had passed. I thought that they were overloaded at their lab because of the Black Friday sales of their kits and the holidays.

On 2/18/18 I received an email stating "our laboratory attempted an analysis of your saliva sample but the concentration of DNA was insufficient to produce genotyping results." They sent a replacement kit on 2/20/2018. They received my saliva sample in their lab 03/01/2018. Unfortunately, I received an email on 4/2/2018 stating "They could not successfully analyze the second saliva sample for the same reason that produced the first analysis failure, the concentration of DNA in the saliva sample was insufficient." They would not send another kit and would refund my money.

My frustration with them is that I had sent a saliva sample to Ancestry and they were able to extract my DNA with no problems. I mentioned this to them but they pretty much ignored any comments in regards to other labs that had no problem extracting my DNA. I also wasted my time in answering questions for their research. I originally never thought of the possibility that the test would fail. I was shocked.

I know there are many people that are happy with their experience with 23andMe. I am one of the unlucky ones that have no DNA.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 24, 2018

Total scam, waste of money

By Jen R, New Hampshire, Verified Reviewer

I purchased it for my parents as Christmas gifts. Dad sent it in, they sent it back stating bad sample. They sent a second sample and received extremely vague results but with the option to PURCHASE additional results. I already spent $100.00 on this! To go through all that to get results that WE ALREADY KNEW was a huge scam. Please research other companies, do not use this one.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 20, 2018

Lock out of account due to mobile issues

By Shirley Smith, Hampton, IA, Verified Reviewer

It was good until I received notifications. They changed the main menu screen. That's when I have not been able to access my account. They claim mobile device problems. They have had over a month to fix the problem but they haven't, and I've done everything they asked me to do but I have no access to my account. Fed up!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 12, 2018

Useless

By Jen Lee, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I am extremely disappointed in what seems to be incomplete results. Their examples seem to give a full picture of results, however, mine seems to be missing key information.

The ancestry bar chart lists info dating back to 1700, while mine stops at 1820 (three generations). Dating only back to my great-grandparents, which I already knew.

Contacting support was of no help. Their answer was that "Your Ancestry Composition results generally reflect your ancestry from within the past 5-10 generations. Your Ancestry Timeline provides an estimate of when a particular ancestry may have entered your family tree." I know for a fact that my grandparents weren't hatched from test tubes, and another report stated percentages of other countries found in my DNA, but had nothing listed.

I'm not sure why I only received results for three generations, instead of the 5-10 he told me that 23andMe.com typically does. In another report, they provide percentages for regions where your ancestors have come from, and in many, there are quite a few countries listed. When you click on the region, most of my results have highlighted the particular counties within that region that apply to my ancestors. There are a few regions where that isn't done and I am left to guess which of those countries my ancestors may have come from within that region. Again, no help from customer service.

I'm not sure what I'm missing, but in my opinion, this was a waste of money. I'll be heading to another provider and starting all over again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 31, 2018

Useless Results - Scam

By Rick Lanese, New York, Verified Reviewer

My results are so broad and vague that it essentially told me nothing. They combine ethnicities like British (Anglo-Saxon/Norman) & Irish (Celtic) into one single group, as well as French & German into its own group. Eastern European was simply listed as that, no breakdown. And then a big percentage of "Broadly Northwestern European" and "Broadly Southern European". My wife did Ancestry.com DNA which breaks down ethnicity to 150 regions while 23andMe only breaks down to 31 regions. All they are interested in is collecting medical information. I did not opt for the medical DNA test, but they asked me to fill out 3 hours of medical surveys before my results arrived and now continue to bombard me with requests for information. I've asked them to cancel my account.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 23, 2018

For Ashkenazi Jews, a waste of money

By Gary Sunshine, New York, Verified Reviewer

I knew I was Ashkenazi Jewish long before I'd ever heard of 23andMe. Had I understood that the entirety of my ancestral results would be "You are 100% Ashkenazi Jewish," I never would have considered buying a kit. I thought there might be some effort on the company's part to give me a bit of specificity about my background. 23andMe does not have the capacity to do so, and should thus be much more transparent about this in their sales materials.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 64

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.