• 63 Customer Reviews
  • 10% Recommend This Company
1.5 out of 5
5 star: 6% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 77%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • 23andme.com Review

    • By Angel Flippen Blackmon,
    • Kentucky,
    • Jul 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Best company to use for DNA ancestry and testing. I have recommended this company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very interesting...

    Overall Experience:

    I have had nothing but an informative, interesting interaction with 23andMe. I believe it's a DNA heliotrope, mine was complete with all the markers in place. All the numbers/cap letters and small letters, representing DNA information was in my heliotrope. I was warned that this information, if in the wrong hands, could interfere with my personal security. It's all legit.

    I'm not a scientist, but I'm not an idiot either. This company is new, and the science is new. Give these folks a chance to go onward with their obvious passion to connect the world, and show us that we really are all related in some way. Bravo.

    By the way, it only took maybe 4 weeks to get my results. No issues at all with customer service, but I did not try to contact them. My only issue is that they got my family relationships wrong, my half brother was reported to be my grandfather, but we are paternal half siblings. Understandable.

    I can't find my order number. Look me up by my email address if you need to verify my membership. Sorry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Half sister!

    • By Tori,
    • Washington,
    • Apr 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Through 23andMe, I was able to find a half-sister who I never knew about. I finally got to meet her and WOW, she looks exactly like so many members of our family! Amazing experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I have enjoyed learning about my ancestry

    • By Phil Adams,
    • Suwanee, GA,
    • Mar 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Although it took seven weeks, I have thoroughly enjoyed reviewing my genetic footprint. Some surprises, and like many, an expected Native American heritage was NOT in my DNA. Family stories have always thought we had Native American heritage, but no one could name names. I'm guessing this is accurate and the family lore is incorrect. The online reports are massive, and I am still enjoying combing through the various reports. There was a correct identification of a nephew who I did not know had used 23andMe in the past; pretty cool. I have also established communication with some 3rd and 4th cousins that I didn't know I had. I am currently ordering kits for my wife and mother.

    Great company, very cool information in the results. Highly recommend this product for anyone curious about their heritage.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent results

    • By Kathy S.,
    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I took the test and had no problems such as what I've read on here. I waited two weeks before doing the kit, sent it off and occasionally checked in to see the progress.

    Everything was fine and as they said for the time frame.

    My results were excellent in the way of pinpointing where I am from, and there is no question about the areas 23andMe say my relatives are from, they were bang on with those results. It said I have zero close family to first cousins and that was right because I'm the only one who's done this. The regions really blew me away how they could show me where I was from, that was amazing. Also, I have a third cousin and their name and location were absolutely correct. Also, I did some traveling to my heritage country and while there, found a distant cousin who by chance had the same last name as I. We got talking and discovered ties between us. This person has not taken the test, but my DNA shows I have ancestors from the same area that I met this cousin in. I can't ignore that! So be your own judge.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • 23andMe a scam?

    • By Rid Cole,
    • Washington,
    • Jan 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was very surprised when I got back my report because all through my life I have been told stories from many different relatives about my ancestry and even shown family trees, but the results that came back from 23andMe disputed all of it.

    I was a little skeptical, but figured well, ok.

    Then I see that many other people that are not related get back almost the same results as mine only with the percentage amounts changed a little. Now, I am very skeptical.

    I feel like I have been scammed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I swear they didn't test it!

    • By Hannah King,
    • Richmond, VA,
    • May 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My mother bought me the test for my birthday. I had high hopes for this product. I had seen great reviews about this company. There were a few bad ones, but most were good. I now know to always pay attention to the bad reviews because those are the honest ones.

    First off, I did not test positive for any of the genetic disorders they test for. May I remind you that they test for about fifty different things. It was just odd that everything had said: "variant not detected." I do understand that I may not be a carrier, but it's still weird.

    Second, they don't test for things that are more common like certain cancers or maybe anything like that. I would rather know if I am a carrier of breast cancer than some really rare disease that only a fraction of the population has.

    It also said that I most likely had straight blonde hair. The problem with this is that the majority of my family, including me, has thick, curly, dark brown hair. This is on both sides of the family.

    They also said that I was mostly European. That's expected. But what weirded me out was that it said I was 1% West African. This would make sense except that it also said that I was less that 0.1% Native American. I know that I am more than 1% Native American because my grandmother and I have traced out heritage back and have found many native Americans in our family.

    My mother called because I was still in class to ask if there was any way that this could be wrong, but the people would not talk to her even though I am underage. She could easily prove she was my mother. I had emailed them before class to tell them that my mother was calling and she gave them my order number. They would not talk to her and were very disrespectful.

    I am very disappointed in this company and hope that no one has to go through what we have.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Accuracy?

    • By Lawrence,
    • Hawaii,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just took 23andMe and was a bit surprised. I knew I probably was mostly Southeast Asian stock, but what got me was that it didn't include any percentage of Iberian/Spanish ancestry as I thought it would. No matter how minor or small the percentage it is. My Mom always told me she is of Spanish heritage with both her parents somewhere in their bloodlines. Especially with stories of when she was a little girl she would recognize how fair and high-nosed her uncle's nieces or children were. Although it may not be much, at least it was nice to know there was some. And she would always confirm that there was no doubt and she was sure of that. And I look at old black and white pictures of my uncle and auntie with my mom when they were children, and they clearly don't look like pure Filipino to me, as well as others who agreed.

    And now here comes 23andMe saying there was no trace of Spanish to be found. I really don't know who to believe. Perhaps another DNA testing kit from a different company might produce different results. We shall see.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Interesting but of limited use

    • By Elliott P.,
    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Jul 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The DNA database is one of the smallest amongst the commercially available home kits; rather like the previous reviewer, being told I'm 99.1% Ashkenazi Jewish is hardly useful since the area is large and covers a high percent of Eastern Europe. And, given the fact that the majority of test subjects appear to originate in the States it is of no surprise that the results are somewhat skewed to reflect that fact. I am getting some emails from those listed as probably second or third cousins, but none as yet are able to actually fix a true relationship with my family or its genealogy. I'll keep trying but am more likely to go with MyHeritage testing instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointing

    • By MJH,
    • UK,
    • Jan 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    They do genetic tests for numerous medical disorders, most of which I have never heard of and most of them are not common, but the common health risks you really want to know about, such as prostate cancer and skin cancer are not provided.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bait and switch combined with horrendous customer service!

    • By Robert Paoli,
    • Manvel, TX,
    • Nov 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a kit for my grandson a few months back with no problems. I received an email last week from 23andMe offering $49 kits when you order two or more. That's what I did (wanted to order 3), but their site would only let you order 2 (only 2 lines available), so I ordered 2, then went back in to order the third one and had to pay full price.

    Customer service will not answer my email. I have offered to send them a copy of their ad, but they are not interested. A little honesty might help this company. After I called them (4 phone calls and lots of anxiety), they grudgingly refunded me the difference.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Think hard about this as a gift

    • By Houston,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Dec 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a gift of both the 23andMe medical and ancestry tests for a friend. A day after ordering, I found out my friend had already ordered the tests themselves earlier in the month. Ok, no problem, I thought.

    I called customer service for a refund but was told that even though 23andMe had not yet shipped the kit, it was past the one-hour refund window and I would have to go through a process for a refund (so no communication between customer service and shipping?!). A bit scam sounding, wouldn't you say?

    I was told I would have to wait for my friend to receive the test kit and send it back unused. OK, sounds fair.

    BUT, their policy reads: "We will not issue a refund if (i) you request a refund more than thirty (30) days after your order was placed." Now I am worried again. I hope the kit gets to my friend quickly and the mail returns it quickly. If 23andMe mails the kit out slowly, it may go past the 30-day mark and I am out $149.00. Not much, but enough to make one pause and maybe not buy.

    I had previously, for the last year, been a big booster of 23andMe and have been responsible convincing many people to get tested and for thousands of dollars in sales. This is fun and interesting, especially when the raw data is combined with Prometheus for additional medical information for a few dollars more.

    However, if this is the way they treat a customer, it gives me pause on how they will treat my test data. I hope I am mistaken.

    Re the bottom line: The last line in this review asks If I would recommend this to a friend. I cannot just say yes or no; it depends. I will check yes in the hope the company has some sense of customer responsibility. I hope I am correct.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Bad service and poorly designed website

    Overall Experience:

    I have had endless problems with 23andMe. The instructions they give are confusing and messy, and when I try to clarify with someone at 23andMe, I cannot reach anyone who can explain. What's the point? And on and on.

    Now I have forgotten my password (hadn't tried it for years). I am about to try finding it but wish me luck. It's such a TOP Secret I can't find it. A niece across the country will help since I doubt if I ever reached someone at 23andMe that they could help.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Different results than other companies

    • By Sherri A.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a DNA test for myself and my son. I did my test with two different companies and got the same results.

    My son did a 23andMe test. Results were nothing like the results from the other companies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM

    • By Sean,
    • Jan 11, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    Read the fine print. You will pay them to sell your information to spam you and even offer your information against you to insurance companies and who knows who else. When I researched and asked them to cease and desist, they said no, it's too late. I paid for it and it's my information, what allows you to own it. SCARY and manipulative, companies should have to be up front.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very dissapointed

    • By Donna,
    • England,
    • Oct 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Well, where do I start? I was able to view my DNA relatives for about 2 weeks, after that when I pressed to view DNA relatives it says there is an error. It has been saying that every day for the last 4 months. I have contacted 23andMe over a hundred times, their customer service stinks. I'm sure it's a machine, they ignore you and get back to you after you have messaged them many times with an apology but never answer your question. They say they are sorting it out, but after 4 months they haven't. I don't believe they are, how can it take so long? I'm so fed up with this site, it is just so unbelievable. And if anyone is thinking of buying a DNA test from here it's a waste of time and money as half or more of your DNA relatives are private, so maybe they are just fake and the whole thing is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Told me what I knew

    Overall Experience:

    I didn't find anything significantly new with this. It told me I had European and East European descent (my mother is from Hungary and my father is from Ireland), big reveal. It told me I have blue eyes and wavy hair (I do look in the mirror), said I was unlikely to flush after drinking alcohol (in 20 years I've never flushed, big reveal), told me I'm not a good runner (I've always hated running), told me I'm light skinned (duh!) and that I don't sneeze in bright sunlight. Waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Credit Card fraud

    Overall Experience:

    I received a charge from 23andMe on my Visa card, having never heard of the company or their products. They were completely unresponsive when I called to find out what the charge was for. I would not do business with this company. At no point during the phone call did I get the impression that customer support was important to them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No testing

    • By Dee Johnston,
    • Ventura, CA,
    • Jun 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I sent my saliva sample on April 24th. On June 1st, I got an email telling me I need to submit another sample. No wonder! If they waited this long to test the sample, it would have dried up! I should have had results by now, not a request for another sample. There is no customer service link on their site, and you cannot respond to the email and no phone number unless you live outside the US. This company should be investigated! There is something fishy about this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Took test two times - failed to process

    • By KK,
    • Missouri,
    • Jul 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After reading great reviews from 23andMe, we decided to give this test to our parents as a gift. My father took the test two different times because the company couldn't process the sample. He followed the directions (30 minutes no eating, etc.). They sent us an email telling us they couldn't process his sample and gave us a refund. What the heck? Are you in the business of laboratory science or do you just suck at what you do? We will go elsewhere for further testing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ancestry DNA results - don't bother with this company!

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered my kit and sent away for DNA results a little over two weeks ago. The first red flag I received is that the company sends you this long questionnaire wanting detailed information about things such as what you like/dislike eating, if you have trouble sleeping, what type of activities you're interested in, etc. I started completing the questionnaire but as I thought more about it, I decided on not completing the questionnaire because I was afraid that it might skew the data.

    When I received my report, I was extremely disappointed to find out it only contained regional information about my DNA and it didn't provide specific information about the actual countries as other competitors such as Ancestry.com provide. They did not even provide any results relating to my father's lineage at all and indicated that if I wanted to more information, I should order a test for both of my parents. The results did not provide anything more specific than what is already known.

    Of course, there was no way for me to get in touch with the company to express my dissatisfaction so I'm providing a review here for others to see in hopes that they will not be taken advantage of as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware!

    • By J C Gibbs,
    • New Mexico,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I followed instructions to the letter. They responded after weeks that they could not process my DNA. They sent a second kit and I again followed it to the letter, and again they could not process my DNA. They offered a refund with the condition I never use them again (only bot emails), and the refund was MINUS shipping and processing fees! After researching them, this is about 12.5% (they do not provide a number so a guess) of their test they charge a HUGE FEE to do no actual service!

    Criminal fraud complaints are being filed in both the USA and Canada. A test you pay for should not be a lottery to see if the company doing it or actually has the ability to perform it. Huge waste of money, time, and effort and it discredits the technology as a whole.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed and question accuracy

    • By Hazel Pais,
    • Myrtle Beach, SC,
    • Sep 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased 23andMe and recently got my results. My sister also had her DNA done with a well-known competitive company.

    My results versus my sister's results were very different. Trust me. We are 100% sisters; same mother and father. Which test is correct? My niece also had hers done with the competitor and got similar results to her mother, of course, with differences to allow for male parent.

    The 23andMe had a lot of vagueness. For example, over 40% of my DNA indicated "broadly Southern European." What the heck does not mean? I was looking for more specificity. Very disappointed and a waste of my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My sister is my granddaughter!

    • By Julie Guisto,
    • California,
    • Nov 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Yes, that's right. They said my sister was my granddaughter. I was shocked, to say the least.

    Also, they didn't connect my daughter to me until I personally went in and added her.

    They told us, in the beginning, that we were from an ancient island called Doggerland. That has since changed to East Africa. This really took us for a loop. It literally changed overnight. So, of course, we are doubting the other aspects of our test. It changes constantly. Is it just me or has anyone else had this problem??

    Good luck on getting a straight answer from them, I tried numerous times. I wouldn't recommend anyone to 23 and me!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Lisa Knapp,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Dec 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I no longer have access to my cable email and requested they resend my information. They requested a picture, which is ridiculous since I don’t have to send them one when I bought the kits. I wanted them to mail me access to the same place they mailed the kits, addressed to the person (me) who bought the kits. THEY REFUSED and told me that I will no longer have access to my OWN INFORMATION. If I am not willing to share my photo with them!

    I do not want them to have my it, as well as my photo and home address. I don’t think that is reasonable. I purposely used my mailing address to request the kits so this info would not be shared. This is bizarre. You cannot get a person on the phone. They will only email you and refuse to allow you to speak with a manager. The entire process is horrible. I feel completely taken advantage of and tricked into giving this horrible company my personal information.

    The sad part is, they have it and I don’t! If anyone can think of a way to compel them to give me access to my product I would appreciate it. Thanks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not enough

    • By Mina B,
    • Michigan,
    • Jan 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So I used 23andMe to get to the bottom line of my genetic makeup, and it is not at all what I expected.

    A girlfriend of mine told me she too used 23andMe and that she learned she was a certain percentage of very specific ethnicities such as 15% Scandinavian, 52.8% Irish, 7% English and so on. Now, I went into 23andMe knowing where I was born and who my parents are, but I wanted a deeper look, and my results were along the lines of 72% Balkan, 24% Southern European and whatever the remainder is, was "overall European."

    Firstly, for those who are not familiar with the Balkans, The Balkans got their name from the Turks during the Osman Empire meaning "a chain of mountains." This chain of mountains stretches from Albania all the way to Montenegro connecting Bulgaria, Bosnia, Macedonia, and Kosovo with minor connections to Croatia, Greece, Italy, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, and Turkey. So, telling me I am 72% Balkan really tells me nothing. And since I have narrated this portion, I think you can understand where I am going with "Southern Europe" and "Over All European."

    23andMe did nothing for me. It was a waste of $80 that they will never refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wait time unreasonable, and now there's a glitch with the sample?

    • By Debra Bigger,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jan 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Really a ridiculous wait time. I sent this kit in prior to Thanksgiving, and I still don't have a clue when they'll be done. I once worked at a DNA processing operation, so I know that this is not necessary. This could have been done and reports generated with time to spare by now.

    Moreover, when I've inquired, I've received canned almost smug correspondence and zero quantifiable data as to when I can expect the results. Today I got a response saying they had to return it to testing since the first results were insufficient. If this process fails, I'll get a new test kit in the mail. Like I care, now.

    I now regret spending the money. I would recommend you go elsewhere for testing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 63

Write a Review for 23andMe!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
23andMe