• 63 Customer Reviews
  • 10% Recommend This Company
1.5 out of 5
5 star: 6% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 77%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • SCAM

    • By Sean,
    • Jan 11, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    Read the fine print. You will pay them to sell your information to spam you and even offer your information against you to insurance companies and who knows who else. When I researched and asked them to cease and desist, they said no, it's too late. I paid for it and it's my information, what allows you to own it. SCARY and manipulative, companies should have to be up front.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very dissapointed

    • By Donna,
    • England,
    • Oct 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Well, where do I start? I was able to view my DNA relatives for about 2 weeks, after that when I pressed to view DNA relatives it says there is an error. It has been saying that every day for the last 4 months. I have contacted 23andMe over a hundred times, their customer service stinks. I'm sure it's a machine, they ignore you and get back to you after you have messaged them many times with an apology but never answer your question. They say they are sorting it out, but after 4 months they haven't. I don't believe they are, how can it take so long? I'm so fed up with this site, it is just so unbelievable. And if anyone is thinking of buying a DNA test from here it's a waste of time and money as half or more of your DNA relatives are private, so maybe they are just fake and the whole thing is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Told me what I knew

    Overall Experience:

    I didn't find anything significantly new with this. It told me I had European and East European descent (my mother is from Hungary and my father is from Ireland), big reveal. It told me I have blue eyes and wavy hair (I do look in the mirror), said I was unlikely to flush after drinking alcohol (in 20 years I've never flushed, big reveal), told me I'm not a good runner (I've always hated running), told me I'm light skinned (duh!) and that I don't sneeze in bright sunlight. Waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Credit Card fraud

    Overall Experience:

    I received a charge from 23andMe on my Visa card, having never heard of the company or their products. They were completely unresponsive when I called to find out what the charge was for. I would not do business with this company. At no point during the phone call did I get the impression that customer support was important to them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No testing

    • By Dee Johnston,
    • Ventura, CA,
    • Jun 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I sent my saliva sample on April 24th. On June 1st, I got an email telling me I need to submit another sample. No wonder! If they waited this long to test the sample, it would have dried up! I should have had results by now, not a request for another sample. There is no customer service link on their site, and you cannot respond to the email and no phone number unless you live outside the US. This company should be investigated! There is something fishy about this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Took test two times - failed to process

    • By KK,
    • Missouri,
    • Jul 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After reading great reviews from 23andMe, we decided to give this test to our parents as a gift. My father took the test two different times because the company couldn't process the sample. He followed the directions (30 minutes no eating, etc.). They sent us an email telling us they couldn't process his sample and gave us a refund. What the heck? Are you in the business of laboratory science or do you just suck at what you do? We will go elsewhere for further testing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ancestry DNA results - don't bother with this company!

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered my kit and sent away for DNA results a little over two weeks ago. The first red flag I received is that the company sends you this long questionnaire wanting detailed information about things such as what you like/dislike eating, if you have trouble sleeping, what type of activities you're interested in, etc. I started completing the questionnaire but as I thought more about it, I decided on not completing the questionnaire because I was afraid that it might skew the data.

    When I received my report, I was extremely disappointed to find out it only contained regional information about my DNA and it didn't provide specific information about the actual countries as other competitors such as Ancestry.com provide. They did not even provide any results relating to my father's lineage at all and indicated that if I wanted to more information, I should order a test for both of my parents. The results did not provide anything more specific than what is already known.

    Of course, there was no way for me to get in touch with the company to express my dissatisfaction so I'm providing a review here for others to see in hopes that they will not be taken advantage of as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware!

    • By J C Gibbs,
    • New Mexico,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I followed instructions to the letter. They responded after weeks that they could not process my DNA. They sent a second kit and I again followed it to the letter, and again they could not process my DNA. They offered a refund with the condition I never use them again (only bot emails), and the refund was MINUS shipping and processing fees! After researching them, this is about 12.5% (they do not provide a number so a guess) of their test they charge a HUGE FEE to do no actual service!

    Criminal fraud complaints are being filed in both the USA and Canada. A test you pay for should not be a lottery to see if the company doing it or actually has the ability to perform it. Huge waste of money, time, and effort and it discredits the technology as a whole.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed and question accuracy

    • By Hazel Pais,
    • Myrtle Beach, SC,
    • Sep 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased 23andMe and recently got my results. My sister also had her DNA done with a well-known competitive company.

    My results versus my sister's results were very different. Trust me. We are 100% sisters; same mother and father. Which test is correct? My niece also had hers done with the competitor and got similar results to her mother, of course, with differences to allow for male parent.

    The 23andMe had a lot of vagueness. For example, over 40% of my DNA indicated "broadly Southern European." What the heck does not mean? I was looking for more specificity. Very disappointed and a waste of my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My sister is my granddaughter!

    • By Julie Guisto,
    • California,
    • Nov 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Yes, that's right. They said my sister was my granddaughter. I was shocked, to say the least.

    Also, they didn't connect my daughter to me until I personally went in and added her.

    They told us, in the beginning, that we were from an ancient island called Doggerland. That has since changed to East Africa. This really took us for a loop. It literally changed overnight. So, of course, we are doubting the other aspects of our test. It changes constantly. Is it just me or has anyone else had this problem??

    Good luck on getting a straight answer from them, I tried numerous times. I wouldn't recommend anyone to 23 and me!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Lisa Knapp,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Dec 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I no longer have access to my cable email and requested they resend my information. They requested a picture, which is ridiculous since I don’t have to send them one when I bought the kits. I wanted them to mail me access to the same place they mailed the kits, addressed to the person (me) who bought the kits. THEY REFUSED and told me that I will no longer have access to my OWN INFORMATION. If I am not willing to share my photo with them!

    I do not want them to have my it, as well as my photo and home address. I don’t think that is reasonable. I purposely used my mailing address to request the kits so this info would not be shared. This is bizarre. You cannot get a person on the phone. They will only email you and refuse to allow you to speak with a manager. The entire process is horrible. I feel completely taken advantage of and tricked into giving this horrible company my personal information.

    The sad part is, they have it and I don’t! If anyone can think of a way to compel them to give me access to my product I would appreciate it. Thanks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not enough

    • By Mina B,
    • Michigan,
    • Jan 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So I used 23andMe to get to the bottom line of my genetic makeup, and it is not at all what I expected.

    A girlfriend of mine told me she too used 23andMe and that she learned she was a certain percentage of very specific ethnicities such as 15% Scandinavian, 52.8% Irish, 7% English and so on. Now, I went into 23andMe knowing where I was born and who my parents are, but I wanted a deeper look, and my results were along the lines of 72% Balkan, 24% Southern European and whatever the remainder is, was "overall European."

    Firstly, for those who are not familiar with the Balkans, The Balkans got their name from the Turks during the Osman Empire meaning "a chain of mountains." This chain of mountains stretches from Albania all the way to Montenegro connecting Bulgaria, Bosnia, Macedonia, and Kosovo with minor connections to Croatia, Greece, Italy, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, and Turkey. So, telling me I am 72% Balkan really tells me nothing. And since I have narrated this portion, I think you can understand where I am going with "Southern Europe" and "Over All European."

    23andMe did nothing for me. It was a waste of $80 that they will never refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wait time unreasonable, and now there's a glitch with the sample?

    • By Debra Bigger,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jan 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Really a ridiculous wait time. I sent this kit in prior to Thanksgiving, and I still don't have a clue when they'll be done. I once worked at a DNA processing operation, so I know that this is not necessary. This could have been done and reports generated with time to spare by now.

    Moreover, when I've inquired, I've received canned almost smug correspondence and zero quantifiable data as to when I can expect the results. Today I got a response saying they had to return it to testing since the first results were insufficient. If this process fails, I'll get a new test kit in the mail. Like I care, now.

    I now regret spending the money. I would recommend you go elsewhere for testing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never received results

    • By RJ,
    • New York,
    • Jan 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After more than eight weeks, I haven't received my DNA results, just the excuse that my DNA cannot be extracted. I've used two other DNA test kits with no problems at all. I requested a refund, which went ignored. Their "customer service" is absolutely horrible and unhelpful. Avoid this company at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Booo

    • By Cherrokee,
    • Grand Rapids, MI,
    • Feb 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My results came back that I was 99.9% European but I know that’s a lie because I have my heritage traced back to have a significant amount of Native American in me. I’m still waiting for my mom's to come back after weeks and they conveniently made a mistake and have to redo it with no notice.

    I will not recommend this to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bogus findings?

    • By Rick,
    • California,
    • Feb 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just received my report from 23andMe. The report claims I am almost 100 percent European descent. My grandfather was at least 50% Nez Perce Indian. The report made no reference to any Indian heritage.

    Something does not add up?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Incredibly bad customer service and zero results

    • By Lisa Bennett,
    • Boulder, CO,
    • Feb 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Its been almost 10 weeks since 23andMe received my sample and almost 3 months since 23andMe happily took my money, and NO results.

    When they received my sample on December 8th, they sent an email and said I would have results in 6-8 weeks. Since then, not only no results but zero communication originated by them.

    I've emailed them at least three times asking about the status (my husband submitted his sample at the same time, and he received his results in 4 1/2 weeks), and their response has basically been "it's coming." If there's a problem with my sample isn't it their job to follow up with me to get a new sample? Why do I have to keep emailing them to push them to do their job?

    I have finally asked for results by Friday, or I want my money back and will try another company. We'll see what happens this time. I am not holding my breath.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth it - very limited information.

    • By Benita Lamp,
    • Renton, WA,
    • Feb 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My daughter ordered 23andMe for $99. I sent it in, and results took about 6-7 weeks. I was very disappointed at the vagueness of the results. I already knew I was Eastern European and the break down from them told me nothing different. They send several emails about ordering another report at the discounted price. I haven't ordered any other tests, not worth it in my eyes because the information will probably be severely limited like the first time and I'll have to continue ordering to get the results I want. Don't waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Please save you money!

    • By John M,
    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My great grandmother was 100% Native American, and I have one Chinese ancestor as well. The test came back 0% Native American or Asian, just various European stuff. I’m just waiting for the class action suit to get my money back. Don’t know what they can tell you, but they CANNOT tell you your ancestry through genetics. Please don’t waste your money on this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lost my sample after delivered to them!

    • By Brent,
    • Georgia,
    • Feb 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Eight weeks and no result. I called them and found out the sample was delivered to them seven weeks ago, but they can't find it! I asked if they typically lose people's samples, and the lady said no, but she didn't seem to be too surprised.

    They will send me another test kit, but I am really disappointed I have to wait that much longer. They are not willing to expedite my sample processing. Really bad business to lose samples. It seems like not losing a sample delivered to you would be the easy part of analyzing someone's genetics. If they are doing this, who knows if they will even send me the correct results. They may just send me a someone else's random results?

    I am losing confidence in this company. If another company offered the health genetics, I would definitely use another company and ask for a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy through Amazon!

    • By Lance,
    • Florida,
    • Feb 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was assured by 23andMe that Amazon was the authorized distributor, but the kit they sent me has an invalid barcode. Goodbye $150. How the heck do they get away with this? Next step, Better Business Bureau. Utter rip-off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy their nonsense!

    • By Nabil,
    • Netherlands,
    • Mar 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm a native North African with generations of North Africans, including a family tree. I know for a fact that 23andMe only goes back 500 years, which it does not tell you on their website. 23andMe continues their blatant racism by putting North Africa and Arabian together as if they're one population. These are two different ethnicities with different haplogroups. They differentiate between Native North Africans and Arab North Africans, while the latter is scientifically proven to native as well but have only changed linguistically. Every test of an Arab North African came out native. Yet these imbeciles still put Arabian and North African together. It's disgusting, and they should be sued for it! And if you do get an email back, they send you a template. If you want to waste your money like I have, go for it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful - will tell everyone I know

    Overall Experience:

    I did this for me and my son. Mine was extremely vague with results I could not even understand. Mind you, I have a masters degree in healthcare, work with many doctors and manage clinics, and they couldn't even understand the nonsense I was sent on me. SECOND, they said they couldn't process my son's sample TWICE! And then blamed the sample! Again, I am smart enough to help my son spit into a tube; this is NOT rocket science.

    Then, they were rude, hard to get in contact with, couldn't process my refund, etc.!!! They sent me a link to request a refund, but when you click on it, it would say page not found. In my eyes, they are nothing but SCAMMERS! Do not buy into this! You have been warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • 23andMe is a scam

    Overall Experience:

    It has been 10 weeks since I sent my kit sample to 23andMe. They said I would get the results, via email, within three weeks. Ten weeks later, they have sent me no results. They keep sending me every other day, some offer to buy more products from them, and to fill surveys with personal information.

    They have my email, they can send the results, and they choose not to.

    This is all a BIG SCAM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad business

    Overall Experience:

    This company is terrible. They won't stick to their refund policy for an unused kit that I paid $150 for! There are no disclaimers that they cannot trace the heritage of Jewish people. You cannot get a hold of anyone, and when you do, they either send you an automated e-mail, or you speak with someone on the phone that pretty much has no clue and cannot help or even understand the issue. So awful. This should not be a business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My results

    • By William Ross,
    • Manteno, IL,
    • Mar 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received the 23andMe kit and sent it in as directed. I received the final report today, and I must say, this was a 100% waste of time and did not supply any type of useful information. I knew where my grandparents came from and other than a percentage, all the kit shows is that I was correct. Myself, I would never recommend anyone to use these services as they are a total disappointment. The results pages are difficult to understand, and their user database numbers are highly limited.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off on test kit price

    Overall Experience:

    My family gave me the 23andMe test kit for Christmas because I had wanted to do this for a long time and being a senior on a fixed income, I would not buy it for myself. My granddaughter bought it online for approximately $80. When I had not recieved my results in the time listed, I emailed them and was told because my kit was not purchased through Amazon or the 23andMe website, I would have to pay an additional $69.00 to get my speciman tested. The price we paid and what they were charging was at least the same amount or more. I refused to pay more for the same services that came with the kit from them. This is a UK lab. Take my advise and purchase a kit from another company and a US lab.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 63

Write a Review for 23andMe!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
23andMe