• 63 Customer Reviews
  • 10% Recommend This Company
1.5 out of 5
5 star: 6% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 77%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • SCAM

    • By Sean,
    • Jan 11, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    Read the fine print. You will pay them to sell your information to spam you and even offer your information against you to insurance companies and who knows who else. When I researched and asked them to cease and desist, they said no, it's too late. I paid for it and it's my information, what allows you to own it. SCARY and manipulative, companies should have to be up front.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very dissapointed

    • By Donna,
    • England,
    • Oct 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Well, where do I start? I was able to view my DNA relatives for about 2 weeks, after that when I pressed to view DNA relatives it says there is an error. It has been saying that every day for the last 4 months. I have contacted 23andMe over a hundred times, their customer service stinks. I'm sure it's a machine, they ignore you and get back to you after you have messaged them many times with an apology but never answer your question. They say they are sorting it out, but after 4 months they haven't. I don't believe they are, how can it take so long? I'm so fed up with this site, it is just so unbelievable. And if anyone is thinking of buying a DNA test from here it's a waste of time and money as half or more of your DNA relatives are private, so maybe they are just fake and the whole thing is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I swear they didn't test it!

    • By Hannah King,
    • Richmond, VA,
    • May 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My mother bought me the test for my birthday. I had high hopes for this product. I had seen great reviews about this company. There were a few bad ones, but most were good. I now know to always pay attention to the bad reviews because those are the honest ones.

    First off, I did not test positive for any of the genetic disorders they test for. May I remind you that they test for about fifty different things. It was just odd that everything had said: "variant not detected." I do understand that I may not be a carrier, but it's still weird.

    Second, they don't test for things that are more common like certain cancers or maybe anything like that. I would rather know if I am a carrier of breast cancer than some really rare disease that only a fraction of the population has.

    It also said that I most likely had straight blonde hair. The problem with this is that the majority of my family, including me, has thick, curly, dark brown hair. This is on both sides of the family.

    They also said that I was mostly European. That's expected. But what weirded me out was that it said I was 1% West African. This would make sense except that it also said that I was less that 0.1% Native American. I know that I am more than 1% Native American because my grandmother and I have traced out heritage back and have found many native Americans in our family.

    My mother called because I was still in class to ask if there was any way that this could be wrong, but the people would not talk to her even though I am underage. She could easily prove she was my mother. I had emailed them before class to tell them that my mother was calling and she gave them my order number. They would not talk to her and were very disrespectful.

    I am very disappointed in this company and hope that no one has to go through what we have.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Told me what I knew

    Overall Experience:

    I didn't find anything significantly new with this. It told me I had European and East European descent (my mother is from Hungary and my father is from Ireland), big reveal. It told me I have blue eyes and wavy hair (I do look in the mirror), said I was unlikely to flush after drinking alcohol (in 20 years I've never flushed, big reveal), told me I'm not a good runner (I've always hated running), told me I'm light skinned (duh!) and that I don't sneeze in bright sunlight. Waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointing

    • By MJH,
    • UK,
    • Jan 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    They do genetic tests for numerous medical disorders, most of which I have never heard of and most of them are not common, but the common health risks you really want to know about, such as prostate cancer and skin cancer are not provided.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Took test two times - failed to process

    • By KK,
    • Missouri,
    • Jul 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After reading great reviews from 23andMe, we decided to give this test to our parents as a gift. My father took the test two different times because the company couldn't process the sample. He followed the directions (30 minutes no eating, etc.). They sent us an email telling us they couldn't process his sample and gave us a refund. What the heck? Are you in the business of laboratory science or do you just suck at what you do? We will go elsewhere for further testing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware!

    • By J C Gibbs,
    • New Mexico,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I followed instructions to the letter. They responded after weeks that they could not process my DNA. They sent a second kit and I again followed it to the letter, and again they could not process my DNA. They offered a refund with the condition I never use them again (only bot emails), and the refund was MINUS shipping and processing fees! After researching them, this is about 12.5% (they do not provide a number so a guess) of their test they charge a HUGE FEE to do no actual service!

    Criminal fraud complaints are being filed in both the USA and Canada. A test you pay for should not be a lottery to see if the company doing it or actually has the ability to perform it. Huge waste of money, time, and effort and it discredits the technology as a whole.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Credit Card fraud

    Overall Experience:

    I received a charge from 23andMe on my Visa card, having never heard of the company or their products. They were completely unresponsive when I called to find out what the charge was for. I would not do business with this company. At no point during the phone call did I get the impression that customer support was important to them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No testing

    • By Dee Johnston,
    • Ventura, CA,
    • Jun 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I sent my saliva sample on April 24th. On June 1st, I got an email telling me I need to submit another sample. No wonder! If they waited this long to test the sample, it would have dried up! I should have had results by now, not a request for another sample. There is no customer service link on their site, and you cannot respond to the email and no phone number unless you live outside the US. This company should be investigated! There is something fishy about this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed and question accuracy

    • By Hazel Pais,
    • Myrtle Beach, SC,
    • Sep 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased 23andMe and recently got my results. My sister also had her DNA done with a well-known competitive company.

    My results versus my sister's results were very different. Trust me. We are 100% sisters; same mother and father. Which test is correct? My niece also had hers done with the competitor and got similar results to her mother, of course, with differences to allow for male parent.

    The 23andMe had a lot of vagueness. For example, over 40% of my DNA indicated "broadly Southern European." What the heck does not mean? I was looking for more specificity. Very disappointed and a waste of my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My sister is my granddaughter!

    • By Julie Guisto,
    • California,
    • Nov 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Yes, that's right. They said my sister was my granddaughter. I was shocked, to say the least.

    Also, they didn't connect my daughter to me until I personally went in and added her.

    They told us, in the beginning, that we were from an ancient island called Doggerland. That has since changed to East Africa. This really took us for a loop. It literally changed overnight. So, of course, we are doubting the other aspects of our test. It changes constantly. Is it just me or has anyone else had this problem??

    Good luck on getting a straight answer from them, I tried numerous times. I wouldn't recommend anyone to 23 and me!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • 23andMe a scam?

    • By Rid Cole,
    • Washington,
    • Jan 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was very surprised when I got back my report because all through my life I have been told stories from many different relatives about my ancestry and even shown family trees, but the results that came back from 23andMe disputed all of it.

    I was a little skeptical, but figured well, ok.

    Then I see that many other people that are not related get back almost the same results as mine only with the percentage amounts changed a little. Now, I am very skeptical.

    I feel like I have been scammed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ancestry DNA results - don't bother with this company!

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered my kit and sent away for DNA results a little over two weeks ago. The first red flag I received is that the company sends you this long questionnaire wanting detailed information about things such as what you like/dislike eating, if you have trouble sleeping, what type of activities you're interested in, etc. I started completing the questionnaire but as I thought more about it, I decided on not completing the questionnaire because I was afraid that it might skew the data.

    When I received my report, I was extremely disappointed to find out it only contained regional information about my DNA and it didn't provide specific information about the actual countries as other competitors such as Ancestry.com provide. They did not even provide any results relating to my father's lineage at all and indicated that if I wanted to more information, I should order a test for both of my parents. The results did not provide anything more specific than what is already known.

    Of course, there was no way for me to get in touch with the company to express my dissatisfaction so I'm providing a review here for others to see in hopes that they will not be taken advantage of as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bait and switch combined with horrendous customer service!

    • By Robert Paoli,
    • Manvel, TX,
    • Nov 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a kit for my grandson a few months back with no problems. I received an email last week from 23andMe offering $49 kits when you order two or more. That's what I did (wanted to order 3), but their site would only let you order 2 (only 2 lines available), so I ordered 2, then went back in to order the third one and had to pay full price.

    Customer service will not answer my email. I have offered to send them a copy of their ad, but they are not interested. A little honesty might help this company. After I called them (4 phone calls and lots of anxiety), they grudgingly refunded me the difference.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Accuracy?

    • By Lawrence,
    • Hawaii,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just took 23andMe and was a bit surprised. I knew I probably was mostly Southeast Asian stock, but what got me was that it didn't include any percentage of Iberian/Spanish ancestry as I thought it would. No matter how minor or small the percentage it is. My Mom always told me she is of Spanish heritage with both her parents somewhere in their bloodlines. Especially with stories of when she was a little girl she would recognize how fair and high-nosed her uncle's nieces or children were. Although it may not be much, at least it was nice to know there was some. And she would always confirm that there was no doubt and she was sure of that. And I look at old black and white pictures of my uncle and auntie with my mom when they were children, and they clearly don't look like pure Filipino to me, as well as others who agreed.

    And now here comes 23andMe saying there was no trace of Spanish to be found. I really don't know who to believe. Perhaps another DNA testing kit from a different company might produce different results. We shall see.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Lisa Knapp,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Dec 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I no longer have access to my cable email and requested they resend my information. They requested a picture, which is ridiculous since I don’t have to send them one when I bought the kits. I wanted them to mail me access to the same place they mailed the kits, addressed to the person (me) who bought the kits. THEY REFUSED and told me that I will no longer have access to my OWN INFORMATION. If I am not willing to share my photo with them!

    I do not want them to have my it, as well as my photo and home address. I don’t think that is reasonable. I purposely used my mailing address to request the kits so this info would not be shared. This is bizarre. You cannot get a person on the phone. They will only email you and refuse to allow you to speak with a manager. The entire process is horrible. I feel completely taken advantage of and tricked into giving this horrible company my personal information.

    The sad part is, they have it and I don’t! If anyone can think of a way to compel them to give me access to my product I would appreciate it. Thanks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never received results

    • By RJ,
    • New York,
    • Jan 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After more than eight weeks, I haven't received my DNA results, just the excuse that my DNA cannot be extracted. I've used two other DNA test kits with no problems at all. I requested a refund, which went ignored. Their "customer service" is absolutely horrible and unhelpful. Avoid this company at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wait time unreasonable, and now there's a glitch with the sample?

    • By Debra Bigger,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jan 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Really a ridiculous wait time. I sent this kit in prior to Thanksgiving, and I still don't have a clue when they'll be done. I once worked at a DNA processing operation, so I know that this is not necessary. This could have been done and reports generated with time to spare by now.

    Moreover, when I've inquired, I've received canned almost smug correspondence and zero quantifiable data as to when I can expect the results. Today I got a response saying they had to return it to testing since the first results were insufficient. If this process fails, I'll get a new test kit in the mail. Like I care, now.

    I now regret spending the money. I would recommend you go elsewhere for testing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money

    Overall Experience:

    I got my DNA kit in the last weekend of March, and I then returned it immediately with my sample. I got my results within two and a half weeks.

    Before I get a more in detail about my results, my mother and father got their DNA tested from another company which was credited by my mother's native tribe. When my mother got hers done, her DNA showed that she was 58% Native American. My father seeing this as interesting that he decided to take a DNA test. My father knows his lineage pretty well, he was 31% native. However, my mother was adopted and it wasn't done in a legitimate way. The person who gave her up for adoption never signed the birth certificate, however, the people who adopted her gave money to the hospital so that they could be the ones on the birth certificate. My mother found out when she was about 10 years old that she was adopted. Her birth father put her on the roster for his native tribe, which is Lakota Indian. After she had to do DNA a tests proving that that was her biological father. She also had to do one to show her lineage of Native American blood.

    Now with that being said, my DNA test showed not one single drop of Native American.

    My information dropped off pretty quick. Maybe it's because on my father's side when it hits the European part of him, which is Irish, it comes from Ireland and not from here in America. My great-grandfather was straight from Ireland and moved over here when he was in his twenties. And on his mother side, they had French and Native American. My grandmother was born on the Indian reservation in Oklahoma. They basically didn't show me any information for my mother's biological parents, however, they did give us information about her fake adopted parents.

    I believe all this company is doing is gathering information so they can analyze for medical reasons. And the way they are coming up with your heritage is just searching your family and looking at what they can find where your family originates from, other than actually searching your genetic code.

    Also, when I confronted them on this, they told me that their database wasn't very large so they couldn't determine certain traces. And that's my genetic building, we show my characteristics where I get them from. OK, I got you, I was expecting to see Irish, like I said my great grandfather came straight from Ireland. But I don't have pale skin, I don't have freckles, and I don't have light color hair. I'm actually quite the opposite. I have deep olive brown skin, dark brown hair that straight, and have extremely high cheekbones in very slanted eyes. The only characteristic they kind of got right, because they said I have blue eyes, is that I have pill green eyes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not enough

    • By Mina B,
    • Michigan,
    • Jan 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So I used 23andMe to get to the bottom line of my genetic makeup, and it is not at all what I expected.

    A girlfriend of mine told me she too used 23andMe and that she learned she was a certain percentage of very specific ethnicities such as 15% Scandinavian, 52.8% Irish, 7% English and so on. Now, I went into 23andMe knowing where I was born and who my parents are, but I wanted a deeper look, and my results were along the lines of 72% Balkan, 24% Southern European and whatever the remainder is, was "overall European."

    Firstly, for those who are not familiar with the Balkans, The Balkans got their name from the Turks during the Osman Empire meaning "a chain of mountains." This chain of mountains stretches from Albania all the way to Montenegro connecting Bulgaria, Bosnia, Macedonia, and Kosovo with minor connections to Croatia, Greece, Italy, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, and Turkey. So, telling me I am 72% Balkan really tells me nothing. And since I have narrated this portion, I think you can understand where I am going with "Southern Europe" and "Over All European."

    23andMe did nothing for me. It was a waste of $80 that they will never refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bogus DNA

    • By Mary W.,
    • White Lake, MI,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am a female who has had three babies and my DNA tested as a male. Something is wrong with their lab testing and request my money back. I think this is a total SCAM! I have sent many emails and called three times and got no real explanation for the mistake. I have never had a transplant of any kind and there is no male living in my home.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Booo

    • By Cherrokee,
    • Grand Rapids, MI,
    • Feb 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My results came back that I was 99.9% European but I know that’s a lie because I have my heritage traced back to have a significant amount of Native American in me. I’m still waiting for my mom's to come back after weeks and they conveniently made a mistake and have to redo it with no notice.

    I will not recommend this to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • What a joke

    • By Stefan D.,
    • Washington, D.C.,
    • Aug 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    What a joke. They mine you for more money as they give you vague and ridiculous results, which do not give you anything you did not know. It is bogus! The results do not give you anything one did not know! Do not waste your money, as they want you to pay more get more information from your sample afterward. The company only wants to get your DNA to mine it and to sell it somewhere else, buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful - will tell everyone I know

    Overall Experience:

    I did this for me and my son. Mine was extremely vague with results I could not even understand. Mind you, I have a masters degree in healthcare, work with many doctors and manage clinics, and they couldn't even understand the nonsense I was sent on me. SECOND, they said they couldn't process my son's sample TWICE! And then blamed the sample! Again, I am smart enough to help my son spit into a tube; this is NOT rocket science.

    Then, they were rude, hard to get in contact with, couldn't process my refund, etc.!!! They sent me a link to request a refund, but when you click on it, it would say page not found. In my eyes, they are nothing but SCAMMERS! Do not buy into this! You have been warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use!

    • By Jill B.,
    • Minnesota,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a kit from Target and sent a sample in to 23andMe. On 10/02/2018, I received an email stating they were not able to extract DNA from the sample. This was almost a month after I purchased the kit. They did offer to send another kit, but I decided to call to find out more information. First, there was no way to find a phone number or address on the website. I finally found a number and called. I asked for a corporate address, which they refused three times. After arguing for about a half hour, I finally got an address. I asked for a full refund, which they totally refused. They said they can send a gift card via a third-party. I asked how long that would take. They responded by stating that would be between me and the third-party. Totally unacceptable. I am writing the Minnesota AG, BBB and Target with an ultimate goal to simply get a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very disappointed with 23andMe!

    Overall Experience:

    I am disappointed with 23andMe. I have tested with Ancestry and Family Tree DNA prior to purchasing the 23and Me DNA Test - Health + Ancestry. I was happy with the results from Ancestry and Family Tree DNA, but I wanted to test with 23andMe for the Health reports.

    I purchased my kit on 11/24/17 and received the test kit on 11/29/17. The kit was received at their lab on 12/6/2017. I did not contact Customer Service even though two months had passed. I thought that they were overloaded at their lab because of the Black Friday sales of their kits and the holidays.

    On 2/18/18 I received an email stating "our laboratory attempted an analysis of your saliva sample but the concentration of DNA was insufficient to produce genotyping results." They sent a replacement kit on 2/20/2018. They received my saliva sample in their lab 03/01/2018. Unfortunately, I received an email on 4/2/2018 stating "They could not successfully analyze the second saliva sample for the same reason that produced the first analysis failure, the concentration of DNA in the saliva sample was insufficient." They would not send another kit and would refund my money.

    My frustration with them is that I had sent a saliva sample to Ancestry and they were able to extract my DNA with no problems. I mentioned this to them but they pretty much ignored any comments in regards to other labs that had no problem extracting my DNA. I also wasted my time in answering questions for their research. I originally never thought of the possibility that the test would fail. I was shocked.

    I know there are many people that are happy with their experience with 23andMe. I am one of the unlucky ones that have no DNA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Chere C.,
    • Oregon,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I did this and it has changed my DNA three times. I was 100% European, now I am not. I was Italian, now I am not. I am related to somebody that neither my sister, brother, cousin or niece is related too. It is a total waste of money. My family and I both wish we never did it. I mean it even said we were related than next thing we are not related. Stupid since we have the same parents. My opinion, it is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 63

Write a Review for 23andMe!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
23andMe