About 5 Second Fix

5 Second Fix is a liquid plastic welding compound that becomes solid when exposed to UV light, which the company claims will allow you to fix, fill, repair, and seal virtually anything in 5 seconds or less, including plastic, metal, wood, glass, and more.

Compared to other bonding agents, 5 Second Fix is claimed to allow you to position and reposition until you’re ready to make the bond permanent, which can help you avoid a sticky mess. On top of this, 5 Second Fix’s liquid plastic resin is claimed to dry clear, which can then be sanded and painted for an unnoticeable repair.

Sure, 5 Second Fix might seem like something extraordinary, but it this really the case? And will it provide a solid value for your money? Consider the following:

Does 5 Second Fix Actually “Weld” Anything?

In short, no.

Instead, the plastic resin contained in 5 Second Fix remains a liquid until exposed to UV light, at which point it quickly hardens, turns into a solid, and forms a strong bond between 2 materials. On top of this, plastic resins can be used to form simple 3D objects (such as a key hook), which is something that traditional bonding agents can’t accomplish.

As such, it might be better to think of 5 Second Fix as a bonding agent, similar to glue, but without the possible mess and with some added capabilities.

Will 5 Second Fix Hold 400 Pounds?

In the 5 Second Fix commercial, we see 5 Second Fix applied to a frayed steel cable, which is then used to pull a full size pickup truck into a trailer. But is this for real?

While we don’t have any reason to disbelieve the 400-pound claim, it should be noted that “As Seen on TV” manufacturers often carefully create these tests under very specific circumstances. As such, 5 Second Fix may not be able to withstand 400 pounds of force in all situations.

Other Liquid Plastic Resin Options

While the first liquid plastic resin pen to appear on the market was Bondic, the genre has recently exploded with many “As Seen on TV” manufacturers jumping on the bandwagon with their own versions, including Lazer Bond and BondTastic. In fact, if you take a look at each of these products, you’ll see that their designs are nearly identical to one another.

Compared to these other options though, 5 Second Fix is claimed to be sandable and paintable, which could certainly be a big advantage if you’re looking to achieve the best looking repairs (and who isn’t?).

With this said, this means that you have plenty of liquid plastic pens from which to choose. On top of this, many of these might be available at your local hardware or home improvement store, which could help you save money on S&H charges if you’re dissatisfied, not to mention making the return process as easy as hopping in your car.

Online Customer Reviews for 5 Second Fix

While there weren’t any online customer reviews available for 5 Second Fix at the time of our research, the product is manufactured by Ontel Products Corp, one of the bigger players within the “As Seen on TV” industry. As such, Ontel also makes popular ASOTV products such as Veggetti, Foot Angel, Miracle Copper Socks, and more.

Among more than 100 HighYa reader reviews for these products, they held an average rating of 3 stars. While some customers claimed to have had positive experiences, the most common complaints appeared to revolve around failure to work as advertised and poor quality, although this doesn’t mean you’ll experience the same with 5 Second Fix.

5 Second Fix Pricing & Refund Policy

Two 5 Second Fix pens and 2 carrying cases are priced at $19.99 plus free S&H.

5 Second Fix also comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. In order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 844-239-0488.

Does 5 Second Fix Belong in Your Toolbox?

Chopping to the point: Liquid plastic resin pens seem to be all the rage in DIY circles nowadays, and 5 Second Fix appears to be a new addition. However, this popularity means you have lots of options from which to choose, which almost certainly includes local options that are easier to buy—and return if you’re dissatisfied.

Compared to many of these other options though, 5 Second Fix appears to provide 2 unique advantages:

  1. The company claims it can be sanded and painted for the cleanest possible repairs, and
  2. Comes with free S&H.

As such, although we almost always recommend purchasing these types of products locally, 5 Second Fix appears to be a solid option if you’re only interested in buying online.

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

139 Consumer Reviews for 5 Second Fix

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 33 4 star: 5 3 star: 4 2 star: 7 1 star:  90
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 139
Sort reviews by:

  • Don't waste your money

    My wife bought me this thinking it would be better than the cheaper instant glue. I found it difficult to get the glue out of the applicator and then there was too much where I needed it. I was sticking plastic to plastic show shouldn't have been that difficult followed the instructions, and simply it didn't work. So back to the Poundland instant glue, which worked a treat.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    5 Second Fix is amazing - it actually worked extremely well!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a magnifying glass from my grandmother that the kids broke. The glass itself was fine, but the plastic outer ring was broken into 5 pieces. I'd tried everything; tape, glue, epoxy agents. Trying to hold the five pieces together tightly so that glue or epoxy could hold had proved an impossible task.

    I had very low expectations because I bought the 5 Second Fix product in the $5 bin at Target. Wow, it blew me away with how well it worked in this specific situation! My grandmother's magnifying glass looks like it had never been broken, and it works great! Then I fixed my doorbell and a couple of other things that had proven impervious to glue or epoxy.

    I am amazed. I will definitely purchase another one as soon as mine runs out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great item!

    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This stuff is awesome. I love this product, and I have fixed and made some really awesome products in which I sell at markets. Cheers to whoever came up with this idea as it has made these items possible for me to make.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    "Use Before" date

    • Hillsboro, OR,
    • Sep 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have to admit that my 5 Second Fix was almost nine months old, but it was still in the sealed plastic container that it arrived in. At the time it looked like a handy thing to have on hand, so I ordered one.

    I had no use for it until today when I tried to repair a broken plastic exterior service access to my RV refrigerator. I opened the molded plastic container to gain access to the "Fixer" and found that evidently, it had dried out during the nine months it sat on my shelf. The videos show the resin coming out nice and thick, but after squeezing mine with both hands, I rubbed the fuzzy tip with my finger and felt only a VERY slight touch of anything other than the brush.

    I purchased mine online from Phonebibi. The manufacturer should provide a "Use Before" date if the product dries out like that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    5 Second Fix works OK

    I had reasonably good results with this product. It works OK on some materials, not so much on others. As noted, when joining dark materials where the UV won't reach the product, it doesn't cure well.

    I think people also have to realize how it works, by creating a plastic material which bonds to the two pieces being joined. As such, it probably does not work well in a very thin coat, so it should NOT be used like super glue. Try to create a slight gap that will be filled with the product, and when cured it will bond to both sides. In other words, DON'T press or clamp the parts together too tightly when curing. Maybe this will help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Save your money!

    First, you're lucky if you can get any of the product out, because there is hardly any. Second, it doesn't work at all. I bought two kits, and neither one worked. It is one big rip off. I did everything exactly like it said to do, and it did not work. Save your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Works excellent, love it

    • Ithaca, NY,
    • Aug 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've used this to fix many things that would be very difficult or impossible with Crazy Glue or Epoxy.

    I recently fixed several broken plastic pieces on my joystick controller that were very hard to reach but were a piece of cake with this product. I also glued/welded two pieces of metal together on a broken light bulb for my car and again, and it's holding very nicely so far. I also glued the plastic lip on a hot/cold mug that broke off. The piece keeps the lid down securely, making it water tight. Crazy Glue and other super strong glue didn't hold, but because 5 Second Fix allows you to get the correct position and press it together before using the light to activate it, you can get a much better and stronger bond with it.

    I don't know why anyone has any problems with this product, so far it's fixed and held everything I've used it on, and nothing has broken free. I think the instructions say something about getting a better seal if you don't activate the UV light in bright room light. I make sure to shade the part I'm gluing so more of the UV light hits it and I get a great bond.

    It actually makes fixing things fun. I just ordered more online.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Works excellent, love it

    • Ithaca, NY,
    • Aug 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've used this to fix many things that would be very difficult or impossible with crazy glue or epoxy.

    I recently fixed several broken plastic pieces on my joystick controller that were very hard to reach but were a piece of cake with this product.

    I also glued/welded two pieces of metal together on a broken light bulb for my car and again, it's holding very nicely so far.

    I also glued the plastic lip on a hot/cold mug that broke off. The piece keeps the lid down securely making it watertight. Crazy glue and other super strong glue didn't hold, but because 5 Second Fix allows you to get the correct position and press it together before using the light to activate it, you can get a much better and stronger bond with it.

    I don't know why anyone has any problems with this product, so far it's fixed and held everything I've used it on and nothing has broken free.

    I think the instructions say something about getting a better seal if you don't activate the UV light in bright room light. I make sure to shade the part I'm gluing soo more of the UV light hits it and I get a great bond.

    It actually makes fixing things fun. I just ordered more online.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work at all

    • California,
    • Aug 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Tried to glue back the reading glass as advertised (rubber), metal, even on any kind of plastic, and it doesn't work at all. Even after holding the UV light more than 10 minutes and still came off easily.

    It is not expensive but a waste of money. I can't even call any tech support or customer service to complain about it. This will keep me skeptical from now on the buying of anything as seen on TV.

    False advertising to consumers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Yes it works, but with limitation

    • Berkshire, England,
    • Jul 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yes, this works and works well. HOWEVER, where the UV light doesn't reach, it doesn't set! You need to layer it on the outside of the join and then set it.

    It's great for filling visible holes but is no good for blind joins.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    5 Second Fix

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't know why this product has gotten bad reviews but in my experience using the product works great. I've used it on many household objects, including fixing a seven-inch long, vertical blinds that the tab snapped on and fell down, not being able to lock it back into place. I used the 5 Second Fix to reattach the tap back onto the blind and reinstalled the blind back into the holder and it held beautifully.

    I would recommend this product to anyone. I'm giving four out of five stars only because I wish there was more of the plastic resin or at least a refill that came with the pen. If that was the case, definitely five stars!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 139

Write a Review for 5 Second Fix!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review