5 Second Fix Reviews

5 Second Fix

Overall Rating

2.2

151 Customer Reviews

Summary

5 Second Fix is a liquid plastic welding compound that allegedly becomes solid when exposed to UV light, which the company claims will allow you to fix, fill, repair, and seal virtually anything in 5 seconds or less. How are customers rating this product?

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 151 Reviews
5 Star:25% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:5% 1 Star:63%
29% Recommend This Product
Start your review of 5 Second Fix:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Sep 24, 2020

Scam!

By J. D., Terre Haute, IN, Verified Reviewer

All I see are one-star and five-star reviews on this site. That tells you somebody is lying and it ain't the one-star reviewers. Anybody that gives 5 Second Fix more than a couple of stars is an obvious corporate shill trying to scam you. This product is a bad joke, Elmer's school glue would be better no matter what you were trying to glue. 5 Second Fix does not work at all, and the pen is pure junk. The toxic "glue" chemical leaks right out of the package and stinks so bad that you'll probably get cancer just from being breathing it. Don't waste your money on this trash, you'll be glad you didn't.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Doesn't work

It's trash

It's toxic

Poor design

The smell of it will make you sick

Posted on Oct 25, 2019

Ureka!

By George S., Blue Ridge, GA, Verified Reviewer

As a Luthier (stringed instrument building/repair), I, and my fellows, are always on the lookout for SOMETHING that will perform "Drop-Fills", and repairs to dings in finishes. Well, this is it! After a moment of carelessness (less than a moment?) in the Buff-Out process with my 14" Stationary Buffer, I went too far over the edge of a fingerboard, which yanked the instrument (a PRS, no less!) out of my left hand, and sending the tip of the guitar's headstock to my un-rubber matted concrete shop floor. Having tried to do similar (customer caused) repairs in the past, with various mediums, including "SOLAREZ" (another UV curing product), I have had limited success, particularly when attempting to "build up" a chipped out corner area. Well, I FOLLOWED INSTRUCTIONS, and was completely satisfied, and impressed with the stunning result. Yes, it sanded beautifully - #320, #400 W/D, #600 W/D, #1000 W/D, and buffed out fabulously with rough, and finish grades of Menzerna buffing compound (again using the infamous 14" Buffer)! WOW is all I can say! I have more (5) replacement cartridges on the way from AliExpress for .99 cents each, free shipping, but will have to wait up to 2 months for their arrival! I dread running out before then, but will have to "bite the bullet" and buy locally ($$$), because I don't want to be without this stuff in my shop. Thanks, Happy Camper George!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 27, 2019

Worst product

By Rosemary S., Coraopolis, PA, Verified Reviewer

I bought this product because I watched the commercial and really believed that it would work. As soon as I opened product I could tell the glue did not flow correctly. I followed directions. The light was even sporadic. I saved the light and the packaging because I had hoped to find out if anyone else had this problem. This taught me a lesson not to buy things from TV ads. It's all from China and who knows how long it has been in a warehouse. Now I have to find another glue to try.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 31, 2018

Verimark 5 Second glue

By Anel M., Mokopane, Limpopo, South Africa, Verified Reviewer

Great product. Fixes everything I've tried. Especially glass and plastic and metals.

I am on my 4th tube already. Love it!

I just want to know if you can get refills because the light lasts longer than the glue.

Suggestion: see-through plastic tube for the glue, if the product is not light sensitive, would help.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 9, 2018

Great glue, works as advertised

By Ken A., Connecticut, Verified Reviewer

I've used this product and I have not had a single issue with it. I've seen the complaints on here and frankly, they're all due to user idiocracy. A Frisbee is made of a waxy plastic and nothing at all could possibly bond it, nothing, so the fact that this didn't work on a Frisbee means squat to me. I've had great success with it using it on metal sunglasses. I got another year out of my glasses, not forever, but a year of near everyday use is not shabby. It also works as a third hand if you need say a light spring held into position, it works especially good for that. I'd recommend it to smarter friends, and will help my slower non-handy friends with it. This stuff works, and I'm picky.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 12, 2018

Works for me so far

By Stewart G., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I got this at a discount at Walmart, and I have been surprisingly impressed. I have stuck a number of items - a phone hook that the 'sticky pad' had let drop off, a cracked Phone case, iPhone charger cable repaired, all of them with no problems and are still working fine after weeks. I found this site while looking at where to get another tube. It has not run out yet, but I want to make sure I have another ready.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on May 22, 2018

Terrible

By Stacy H., Buffalo, NY, Verified Reviewer

This glue is terrible. The commercial makes it look like magic and it holds anything, but it wouldn't even hold together a light plastic. It's the worst glue ever. I would like my money back.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on May 8, 2018

Complete waste of time

By Gaetan Schurrer, Western Australia, Verified Reviewer

The packaging is about the worse I have ever encountered. The dispenser leaks won't supply the liquid at all, then when unscrewed spills out its contents, wasting most of it.

Then the 5 Second claim is an utter lie - it takes about 5 MINUTES to harden even the smallest drop of this thing.

And then finally, does it hold? Short answer - NO. Don't waste your time or money on this trash.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 13, 2018

5 Second Fix

By Jim Minich, Delton, MI, Verified Reviewer

I bought 5 Second Fix at Menards. I thought I would try it and see how well it works. It was packaged in a single tube kit.

I tried it on a frisbee, and it didn’t even last one throw before it broke loose.

I also tried it on a pair of sunglasses where the arm had broken. I glued it once, and it came loose right away. I realized that the surface was very smooth so I roughed it up and tried it again. I followed the instructions and made thin layers and cured them before adding layers. I wore the sunglasses one time, and they broke again…now they’re in the trash.

I don’t think that 5 Second Fix is good for most common repairs because it does not adhere to the surface well.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 10, 2018

Fake customer service line

By Lindsey Scott, Colorado Springs, CO, Verified Reviewer

I don’t understand who makes this product or who they’re affiliated with. I ordered it off of Amazon and it took two months to come, and when it came, it was filled in its bag with the welding liquid, so I couldn’t even open the package. On the instruction guide it says don’t return the product to the store, but instead call customer service line 844-239-0488. I called this number and the representative had no idea what product I was talking about and states their customer service has never serviced such a product before. Yet this number is found in multiple places for this product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 14, 2018

Waste of money

By Martina Turnbull, Sydney, Australia, Verified Reviewer

I purchased 5 Second Fix. I could not wait to repair a handle on a plastic container. I have now tried three times, and every time I go to use the handle, it breaks off.

Another useless product. When will I learn?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 8, 2018

Awesome product!

By John J Jellison, Maine, Verified Reviewer

With the vibration and frigid temperatures up north riding snowmobiles, the power cord on my navigator kept falling out. I went right around it with 5 Second Fix and have not had a single problem with it all winter. I just ordered 4 more packages for my workshop!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 26, 2018

Original 5 Second Fix

By Kevin Cunliffe, New Zealand, Verified Reviewer

This glue is rubbish. I tried it on two different plastic items. Yes, the glue hardens under the UV, but it bonds to nothing and simply peels off. Don't waste your money!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 4, 2018

Feeling scammed

By Lloyd Collins, Bentonville, AR, Verified Reviewer

I ordered and received the product. There was only one drop of liquid in the tube. The light works fine, but what for? I couldn't verify claims because actual product was not included. I went to order additional product, but the price was prohibitive. I will never buy from this company again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 7, 2017

Don't waste your money

By John Reynolds, Scotland, Verified Reviewer

My wife bought me this thinking it would be better than the cheaper instant glue. I found it difficult to get the glue out of the applicator and then there was too much where I needed it. I was sticking plastic to plastic show shouldn't have been that difficult followed the instructions, and simply it didn't work. So back to the Poundland instant glue, which worked a treat.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 14, 2017

5 Second Fix is amazing - it actually worked extremely well!

By CJ Rhoads, Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

I had a magnifying glass from my grandmother that the kids broke. The glass itself was fine, but the plastic outer ring was broken into 5 pieces. I'd tried everything; tape, glue, epoxy agents. Trying to hold the five pieces together tightly so that glue or epoxy could hold had proved an impossible task.

I had very low expectations because I bought the 5 Second Fix product in the $5 bin at Target. Wow, it blew me away with how well it worked in this specific situation! My grandmother's magnifying glass looks like it had never been broken, and it works great! Then I fixed my doorbell and a couple of other things that had proven impervious to glue or epoxy.

I am amazed. I will definitely purchase another one as soon as mine runs out.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 20, 2017

Great item!

By Lisa, Victoria, Australia, Verified Reviewer

This stuff is awesome. I love this product, and I have fixed and made some really awesome products in which I sell at markets. Cheers to whoever came up with this idea as it has made these items possible for me to make.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 13, 2017

"Use Before" date

By Norm Yoder, Hillsboro, OR, Verified Reviewer

I have to admit that my 5 Second Fix was almost nine months old, but it was still in the sealed plastic container that it arrived in. At the time it looked like a handy thing to have on hand, so I ordered one.

I had no use for it until today when I tried to repair a broken plastic exterior service access to my RV refrigerator. I opened the molded plastic container to gain access to the "Fixer" and found that evidently, it had dried out during the nine months it sat on my shelf. The videos show the resin coming out nice and thick, but after squeezing mine with both hands, I rubbed the fuzzy tip with my finger and felt only a VERY slight touch of anything other than the brush.

I purchased mine online from Phonebibi. The manufacturer should provide a "Use Before" date if the product dries out like that.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 31, 2017

5 Second Fix works OK

By B. Carl Erickson, Eagan, MN, Verified Reviewer

I had reasonably good results with this product. It works OK on some materials, not so much on others. As noted, when joining dark materials where the UV won't reach the product, it doesn't cure well.

I think people also have to realize how it works, by creating a plastic material which bonds to the two pieces being joined. As such, it probably does not work well in a very thin coat, so it should NOT be used like super glue. Try to create a slight gap that will be filled with the product, and when cured it will bond to both sides. In other words, DON'T press or clamp the parts together too tightly when curing. Maybe this will help.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 22, 2017

Save your money!

By Jayne Wowkowych, New York, Verified Reviewer

First, you're lucky if you can get any of the product out, because there is hardly any. Second, it doesn't work at all. I bought two kits, and neither one worked. It is one big rip off. I did everything exactly like it said to do, and it did not work. Save your money!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 20, 2017

Works excellent, love it

By Rob, Ithaca, NY, Verified Reviewer

I've used this to fix many things that would be very difficult or impossible with Crazy Glue or Epoxy.

I recently fixed several broken plastic pieces on my joystick controller that were very hard to reach but were a piece of cake with this product. I also glued/welded two pieces of metal together on a broken light bulb for my car and again, and it's holding very nicely so far. I also glued the plastic lip on a hot/cold mug that broke off. The piece keeps the lid down securely, making it water tight. Crazy Glue and other super strong glue didn't hold, but because 5 Second Fix allows you to get the correct position and press it together before using the light to activate it, you can get a much better and stronger bond with it.

I don't know why anyone has any problems with this product, so far it's fixed and held everything I've used it on, and nothing has broken free. I think the instructions say something about getting a better seal if you don't activate the UV light in bright room light. I make sure to shade the part I'm gluing so more of the UV light hits it and I get a great bond.

It actually makes fixing things fun. I just ordered more online.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 6, 2017

Works excellent, love it

By Rob Smith, Ithaca, NY, Verified Reviewer

I've used this to fix many things that would be very difficult or impossible with crazy glue or epoxy.

I recently fixed several broken plastic pieces on my joystick controller that were very hard to reach but were a piece of cake with this product.

I also glued/welded two pieces of metal together on a broken light bulb for my car and again, it's holding very nicely so far.

I also glued the plastic lip on a hot/cold mug that broke off. The piece keeps the lid down securely making it watertight. Crazy glue and other super strong glue didn't hold, but because 5 Second Fix allows you to get the correct position and press it together before using the light to activate it, you can get a much better and stronger bond with it.

I don't know why anyone has any problems with this product, so far it's fixed and held everything I've used it on and nothing has broken free.

I think the instructions say something about getting a better seal if you don't activate the UV light in bright room light. I make sure to shade the part I'm gluing soo more of the UV light hits it and I get a great bond.

It actually makes fixing things fun. I just ordered more online.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 1, 2017

Doesn't work at all

By Tony Giang, California, Verified Reviewer

Tried to glue back the reading glass as advertised (rubber), metal, even on any kind of plastic, and it doesn't work at all. Even after holding the UV light more than 10 minutes and still came off easily.

It is not expensive but a waste of money. I can't even call any tech support or customer service to complain about it. This will keep me skeptical from now on the buying of anything as seen on TV.

False advertising to consumers.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 7, 2017

Yes it works, but with limitation

By Gordon Manning, Berkshire, England, Verified Reviewer

Yes, this works and works well. HOWEVER, where the UV light doesn't reach, it doesn't set! You need to layer it on the outside of the join and then set it.

It's great for filling visible holes but is no good for blind joins.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 22, 2017

5 Second Fix

By Darrell, Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

I don't know why this product has gotten bad reviews but in my experience using the product works great. I've used it on many household objects, including fixing a seven-inch long, vertical blinds that the tab snapped on and fell down, not being able to lock it back into place. I used the 5 Second Fix to reattach the tap back onto the blind and reinstalled the blind back into the holder and it held beautifully.

I would recommend this product to anyone. I'm giving four out of five stars only because I wish there was more of the plastic resin or at least a refill that came with the pen. If that was the case, definitely five stars!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 14, 2017

Does 5 Second Fix work?

By Pat Mistak, Indiana, Verified Reviewer

I am a crafter that makes and repairs jewelry. Before, I tried lots of things to repair posts on earrings with no luck. This product worked fantastically! It actually surprised me. I didn't expect it to work, but it did! The post I was repairing was very wobbly when the customer gave it to me. I was able to return it to her totally stable.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on May 24, 2017

Excellent product

By Bernie Babb, Stow, Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I have used this product on many products, and it has worked perfectly. I even used it on a high-pressure hose with a hole, and it sealed in five seconds. No more leaks.

I would recommend it to all my friends. I was very surprised it did not work for some people.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 151

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.