5 Second Fix Reviews

5 Second Fix

Overall Rating

2.2

151 Customer Reviews

Summary

5 Second Fix is a liquid plastic welding compound that allegedly becomes solid when exposed to UV light, which the company claims will allow you to fix, fill, repair, and seal virtually anything in 5 seconds or less. How are customers rating this product?

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 151 Reviews
5 Star:25% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:5% 1 Star:63%
29% Recommend This Product
Start your review of 5 Second Fix:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Sep 3, 2015

Bad customer service

By Roy Applegate , Dallas Tx.

I had ordered 5 Second Fix online using a PayPal prepaid debit card. Received an email saying my order will ship only later that day. Another email stated they can't take gift cards, which mine isn't. Called the following day, after 38 recordings saying they will be right with me. Tried to explain my situation, gave another prepaid card, she came back with the same answer. Whatever bank they are using it rejects prepaid cards. They may be doing a booming business but I bet they are missing more than they know. I don't care if they come out with one second fix, it is to much trouble dealing with them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 78 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 16, 2015

Website is a trap

By Charles , Hayward CA

The website is balky, making you enter info several times, and it does not acknowledge order placement of each item. Once the order is placed, then only do you get to see what you have "ordered" and you cannot edit the order. You wind with multiple items when you wanted one. For my $19.95 order, I wound up with an order of $94.00! I called customer "service" and was told I had to call back in 24-48 hours to cancel or amend the order. Want to bet it is shipped by then?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 74 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 18, 2015

No Delivery

By Harold Miller , Ft Lauderdale, FL

I know I ordered the 5 Second Fix eight weeks ago and I haven't received anything yet. Are they aiding and abiding in a scam?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 83 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 18, 2015

Do not order

By Christh , St Augustine, FL

Very disappointed for I ordered this the middle of August. I didn't receive a call, email or anything saying it was on back order. I have emailed them multiple times with the confirmation email I received. I never get a response. I thought maybe I was tricked and scammed but apparently this is how they do business. Do not order, no one will contact you back and hold time is way too long.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 90 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 22, 2015

Bad experience

By Thomas S Cressey , Kennebunk ME

I ordered this product on August 28th. It is now September 19th and I have not received it. Called customer service and the number is not in service. Cannot talk to a human.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 84 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 24, 2015

NO

By Susi ,

The only thing they did not try to sell me was the kitchen sink. Was on the phone for 27 minutes to place this order. Many different products were offered including vacations. Do not call, it is a scam of the first order.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 79 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 29, 2015

Tried to order by phone

By Don Jamison , Sacramento CA

I attempted to order by phone. I was asked about 5 times did I want this or that. I had to say no every time, and finally gave up. Calling my Visa and making sure they would cancell any charges from this company. I think it is some kind of scam, I may be wrong, but it sure looks like it. Do not order by phone.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 57 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 29, 2015

Scam

By Scott , Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

My sister bought so I gave it a try. Don't waste your money. It's a joke. I wouldn't even give it one star.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 61 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 5, 2015

Hope the product isn't a lie like the website is

By Peggy Bellard , Natchitoches, LA

WOW! I go through the process of ordering the two pack for $19.99 free shipping, as shown as the final amount above. However, after clicking on "Process Order", the credit card charge is now $20.99. They charge $1.00 as a "website fee". What a joke!

Like I said, I hope the product works like they advertise and won't be a lie like their website charging application is a lie! I'll come back and review the product when I get it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 57 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 8, 2015

Do NOT buy

By Cynthia , California

It's a scam! I called and they charged my credit card $82.00 for items I didn't order. Stay away. I called my credit card company and reported the charges as fraud.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 77 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 8, 2015

Web Service Fee?

By Mark Kieffer , Plymouth, MN

Besides having to reject a half dozen add-on offers before they'd place the order, there's a $1.00 "Web Service Fee" added to the order when you place it. No warning anywhere about the fee. I emailed them and told them them to take it off or cancel the order. I wish I'd read the reviews here before placing my order.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 78 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 18, 2015

Aweful, zero stars!

By Ryan , California

I FINALLY received this product in the mail after months of waiting and back and forth. The second I opened the box, a disgusting chemical smell poured out giving me the sensation that my noise hairs were burning up. The warning of cancer and carcinogens on the sheet were also disturbing. Using the product itself was useless, none of the repairs they showed on the video are even reasonable, putting a canoe together is utter stupidity.

I have been using the product Bondic for the last year and thought that the 5 Second Fix was a cheaper solution, but this is garbage. If you need a tool like this, use BONDIC and not this cheap knock off. They are at least plastic and do not promote ridiculous uses that would never work! I highly recommend to stay away from 5 Second Fix, it looks and smells extremely toxic with a complete lack of customer service.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 93 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 24, 2015

Deceit and Lies

By Richard Toman, Brandon, Vermont, Verified Reviewer

I ordered online 2 for 1 with no shipping. My credit card info was taken and then a lot of upsells. I ordered an upsell and instead of $38 as I expected, I got hit with an $82 charge with $1 web fee and I was charged for shipping and handling. I could not reach anyone by phone and no reply to my email. Since the charge had not yet posted on my credit card account, I closed the account and opened a new one keeping the ridiculous scam from taking way too much money for what is about a $10 cost for materials found at any hardware store as epoxy resin requiring the light that is about $7 online. Lifetime supply total about $15. I canceled in writing but no response. They do not take PayPal because PayPal will refund the charges and it is not that easy with a credit card.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 76 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 27, 2015

The worst customer service and product. It's a scam, stay away!

By John , California

Don't bother, it doesn't work! When I received my statement, I saw that they charged me $98.99 without permission when I just ordered the $19.99 for 2 deal. Total scam. If you order this after reading all these review, which I didn't have the luck of finding until it was too late, you deserve what you get. Take all this advice and star far away.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 71 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 2, 2015

Terrible

By Todd , Lebanon, PA

The product DOES NOT work! And the customer service was terrible as well. It specifically says to not return the product to the store where purchased. Evidently the customer service rep does not know this.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 50 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 3, 2015

Just doesn't work

By Xalia , Portland, OR

It took months to get, forgot about it until it finally came in the mail. Seemed easy to use and when something I glued fell apart after a few days of not even being used I assumed it was because I didn't use enough. I did a small gem project and it didn't even last a few hours. Sucks, don't be scammed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 49 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 8, 2015

100% scam.

By Deanna , California

I ordered the two for one back in July. After no response, I called and customer service said it was on back order. After a couple of weeks I finally received an e-mail telling me that the product was on back order and that it should be shipped on 9/21/2015.

On 9/28/15 I received another e-mail stating, “We attempted to process your order today, and we were unable to obtain authorization.” They gave me a website to go to, which I did several times. After another week, I called and she verified that everything was correct on my part and she would put the order in for shipping.

It is now 11/1/2015 and I am still waiting. I called to place another order thinking that my first order just died. I asked the representative if he could check on my previous order and he said he doesn't have that software, and that I would have to call customer service directly. So I changed gears and asked if I may place a new order and if they have the actual product to send out. He said he didn't know, all he knew was that it was 3-6 week wait time for delivery.

I then responded and I quote myself, “Is their really a product or do you just charge customers and screw them with no product?” He just laughed and said I need to call customer service. Do not buy this.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 59 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 19, 2015

Don't believe everything on TV.

By JJ , East Coast, United States

I was so positive that this was the answer to ALL my gluing needs. However, I got the stuff, and it only dries to a soft rubbery texture. That's all I got, out of the box.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 41 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 19, 2015

Online ordering untrustworthy

By Robin , Gaithersburg MD

This review is about the ordering process only. I ordered the $19.99 5 Second Fix "As Seen on TV" online. After choosing the least expensive of the options ($19.99), I had to click "No" to repeated attempts to get me to upgrade the product. After doing so, I submitted my order only to find that on the receipt I've been charged $40.99! Have sent the company an email requesting cancellation, but buyers beware! This was clearly an attempt to "upsell" me, regardless of whether I wanted to be.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 45 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 30, 2015

Doesn't work

By Brian , Phoenix, AZ

I tried this 5 Second Fix to repair a leak in a hose. I applied it, used the UV light to set it then tuned the water on. Leak is almost as bad as before.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 1, 2015

Warning: Do not buy - very disappointed.

By Wyatt Earp , Miramar, Fl

First, let me state that I do not expect anything from the "as seen on TV" department to work like it does in the commercials. I was looking for this product to be about 50% true. Bottom line is that this does not "bond" anything. I have tried plastic to plastic, rubber to plastic, painted and unpainted metal to metal and with not to much effort, I was able to break the bond pretty easily meaning there is nothing permanent or even temporary with it's bond.

As stated by other reviews. My order initially stated that it was on back order and I had to wait. Then when I got the shipping notification, I saw that there was an error with it and had to call and get it corrected. This meant to cancel the previous order and put in for a second order. No problem except now the second order is on back order. I just chuckled.

I will also confirm that the up selling while trying to place the order online is also accurate. Be careful if you do indeed want to try this product just for fun.

The only thing that I can see this being used on is a plastic to plastic bond of light material. Nothing heavy duty or any kind of weight bearing. And with all the cautions stated on the paperwork, I wouldn't use this on kids toys either.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 44 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 3, 2015

Big fat scam!

By Stephanie Ann Eberhart, Middleburg, PA, Verified Reviewer

It does hold together until you pull on it then it comes apart again. Total waste of money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 19, 2015

A Money grabbing scam

By Dan , Missouri

I have been waiting for over a month now for the product I ordered on November 5th. I have not heard so much as a "howdy" from this online venture. I have yet to see anybody, including a number of my friends in my own town, even get a sample of the product. So far, this company takes your money, and then "Back Orders" the product promising you a filled order in the unforeseeable future. It is my opinion, this is a scam and I would not recommend you to fork out the money just to get it swallowed up. FYI, their "Customer Service" line has been disconnected with no forwarding information. Scam!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 42 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 19, 2015

A Scam

By Craig A. Olson , Hokah, MN

It's a scam. I ordered this over 3 months ago and have not seen a thing.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 34 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 23, 2015

5 Second Fix - Causes Cancer?

By Amy, Newfoundland, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I purchased this item for my fifteen year old son and inside the info, the paper states a warning that this product can cause cancer! What the heck?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 32 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 27, 2015

Junk

By Larry Becko , Tucson, AZ

It simply does not work as claimed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 26 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 1, 2016

Product doesn't work

By Allen Burnham , Kingman, AZ

I have tried this product on plastic, cloth and metal with no success. It (as far as I'm concerned ) is a total waste of money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 151

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.