Start your review of Affirm:
  • 51 Customer Reviews
  • 10% Recommend This Company
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 9% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 86%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Extremely dishonest!

    • By Rozain C.,
    • Maryland,
    • Jan 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On September 23, 2018 I booked a ticket to Tulsa, Oklahoma and then found that the trip should be put on hold. When trying to pay I was directed to Affirm and signed an agreement with them. The next day (September 24th) I called them and the Affirm rep, after a 10-minute call (according to my Sprint bill), said I did not have to pay because they will not pay Priceline. I had NO agreement with Priceline. Affirm later charged me with the account. I asked them for a copy of the call recorded on September 24th. They sent me an edited version of the call that was 4.06 minutes. They are dishonest as heck. If you get caught, collect your evidence and email them, so that you have proof.

    I disputed the debt. Now I cannot access any Affirm documents to even get the order number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Watch out!

    • By Wayne M.,
    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Affirm approved me for a second loan/card. I made the purchase online, went to the store the next day to pick it up, at which point the MERCHANT told me the card was declined. I purchased two scopes, one of which is for an air rifle I bought through PYRAMYD AIR, who sells air guns and scopes...who is partnered with Affirm, who financed it.

    AFTER arguing with the most product illiterate people on the planet, and getting nowhere, I finally gave up and paid cash at the register. I then logged into my account later that day to see the loan still processing. I called to find out why, I was told that until the merchant reverses the charge, they will not close the card/loan. Now keep in mind, Affirm DECLINED THE CHARGE. Now they refuse to close the account unless they get the money back that they never paid from the retailer, on a charge THEY declined, of which I had to pay cash for, BECAUSE they felt MY purchase violates their "moral" policy, of the same item that is sold by one of their other "contracted" merchants, PYRAMYD AIR. Oh yea, Affirm even had the disgusting nerve to ask me where is the loan money then, and how are they supposed to get it back. Are these idiots for REAL?!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very disappointed

    I have been a customer for over just a year, I have always paid on time or ahead, and always more than the minimum payment. I have paid off over 7 loans. When I started, I had a credit line of $1800.00, now as I pay as agreed they have reduced my credit line to just $150.00 over my current balance. When you contact them you can't get an answer. I always thought paying as agreed was what a lender wanted and rewarded you with higher credit lines, instead, my good payment record has resulted in reduced credit. And I have paid all my other creditors on time during this time...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Misleading interest!

    • By Roz L.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Affirm charges you interest on day one! They say you won't get charged if you pay early, but it is a total LIE! This company is doing BUSINESS ILLEGALLY and MISLEADING customers.

    I wrote them an email but never heard from them. Finally, I went to their Facebook account and then I was told to contact their number. I called the number and was told that INTEREST ACCRUES on DAY ONE! I TOLD the staff that this is MISLEADING, otherwise, I would have just used my credit card because credit cards won't charge me daily interest. I was off to pay the full loan on my first due date but now was charged $101. The staff was not helpful at all and just kept saying I agreed to it!

    DON'T waste your time on this company! I don't know how PEOPLE can SLEEP with their LIE stealing from PEOPLE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Charged for three loans

    • By Henry Q.,
    • Virginia,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They charged me for three loans that the vendor never received and after almost 60 days have not solved the problem. The customer service is terrible. I will never use their service and recommend that no one else does.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst website and customer service

    • By David S.,
    • Vinemont, AL,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We changed phone numbers before the first payment was due. Every month since, we have to struggle with customer service that does nothing except pretend to be helpful whilst waiting to tell you the laws repeatedly, even though you just need to make a payment. Despite repeatedly updating information, nothing changes. You explain this to them over and over and over and they simply repeat the same things to you but won't accept a payment. May as well outsource to India because these people are about the same minus the accent. Useless people and useless pay online as well as pay on the phone. Find another company or buy elsewhere where they use a different payment group. This is every month since we made the purchase in July 2018, and this is December 2018.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Convenient service, few downsides

    • By Jake M.,
    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had two loans with Affirm and both have been exactly as described! Very easy to make payments - or even set up AutoPay, so it will take care of everything for you! Very low hassle, very quick, and between the app and the website it all is incredibly user-friendly and helps me get last-minute items for work that I would otherwise probably pass up. It's a nice service to have - as long as you can pay it off on time.

    The only real downside is the large interest rate, but it's not unreasonable. On a purchase of over $200, the interest rate (which may as well be called a convenience fee) is well under $10 for most people.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Chemika L.,
    • USA,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am being held responsible for a debit that I did not authorize and merchandise I did not receive. I reached out to the company when I got the initial email and notified them that I did not request credit with this company every time I received an email. Now I am being told that I am responsible for the debit. How is the consumer supposed to protect themselves from this company?! This is NOT, I repeat, this is NOT my account!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Affirm - devious or inept

    • By Steve B.,
    • California,
    • Sep 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used Affirm to pay for a vacation through Expedia. I clicked the "submit" button and nothing seemed to happen. I waited. After a while I called Expedia to find out if my trip was processed. It had not, and they recommended that I try again in the morning. I did, and it worked fine. I went on my vacation, and all went well. When I came back, I paid the Affirm loan quickly and on time. After I made my final payment, I was told by Affirm that I still owed money. I assumed that Expedia accidentally double booked me. I called them and after a couple of weeks of back and forth they refunded me part of the trip and gave me credit for the rest - very professional and quick.

    Meanwhile, my the other loan with Affirm was past due. I paid it off quickly once I realized I owed them money - but they still reported it to the credit bureau that I was delinquent.

    I have been waiting six months for them to resolve this and after all that time waiting for them to just take the late payment off the loan that I didn't know I had until three months after - that there was nothing they could do.

    Who runs their business like that? Unless, of course, they knowingly gave me two loans when I asked for one? I can't tell.

    Regardless I have found working with them to be incredibly frustrating and believe them to be downright unethical.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Love it!

    • By Nikki L.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't know what's up with all the negative reviews. I think Affirm is great, especially when you can't drop money for the things you want or need. Some of y'all are talking about them wanting y'alls license info. I don't remember it asking for mine. But if y'all didn't know, they do have an app where you can use a pin you chose to login in with instead of using the different pin they send you everytime you go to log in because that's frustrating. If y'all don't know about the virtual card, y'all can spend it on any website, just be careful about eBay, if the buyer does PayPal. I made that mistake after Affirm told me it might be declined.

    And now I have money from my Affirm loan. I'm waiting to go back into my Affirm spending amount so I can order my truck part off Amazon instead.

    By the way, they do let you pick your payment plan and by that I mean, they give you the option to pay off in 3, 6, or 12 months. But keep in mind, the longer you choose to pay on it, the more you pay in interest. But anyway, I have 6 active loans out and 3 past loans through them. So far I have had no problem with them.

    The only thing I don't like is that I have to contact them by email instead of over the phone. Oh yeah, I don't know about the credit score needed. Mine has gone a ways down from all my credit cards. Since I'm making my payments on time with Affirm, they've bumped up my loan amount. I've been using Affirm for a year and it doesn't show on my credit report.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • They charged me 8 times.

    I was on Cheapair trying to order my plane tickets, and I wanted to use Affirm. I used them for other services and everything went well. This time I did the same thing as I did with the other tickets. When I got to the sign loan agreement and clicked ok, it routed me to a Google page, and I checked my bank account and the $600 for the down payment was taken out. So I waited to see if I would receive s confirmation email from Cheapair.com or Affirm. Nope. So I called Cheapair and I wasn’t in their system for the tickets and also I talked to Affirm and they told me I was approved but the refund would take 7-10 days but I haven’t received anything yet. It’s been past the allotted time they said I’d receive the money.

    I will never ever use these people. They will overcharge you and not want to pay you back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 51

Write a Review for Affirm!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Affirm