Read 45 Affirm Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  38
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 45
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Convenient service, few downsides

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had two loans with Affirm and both have been exactly as described! Very easy to make payments - or even set up AutoPay, so it will take care of everything for you! Very low hassle, very quick, and between the app and the website it all is incredibly user-friendly and helps me get last-minute items for work that I would otherwise probably pass up. It's a nice service to have - as long as you can pay it off on time.

    The only real downside is the large interest rate, but it's not unreasonable. On a purchase of over $200, the interest rate (which may as well be called a convenience fee) is well under $10 for most people.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • USA,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am being held responsible for a debit that I did not authorize and merchandise I did not receive. I reached out to the company when I got the initial email and notified them that I did not request credit with this company every time I received an email. Now I am being told that I am responsible for the debit. How is the consumer supposed to protect themselves from this company?! This is NOT, I repeat, this is NOT my account!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Affirm - devious or inept

    • California,
    • Sep 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used Affirm to pay for a vacation through Expedia. I clicked the "submit" button and nothing seemed to happen. I waited. After a while I called Expedia to find out if my trip was processed. It had not, and they recommended that I try again in the morning. I did, and it worked fine. I went on my vacation, and all went well. When I came back, I paid the Affirm loan quickly and on time. After I made my final payment, I was told by Affirm that I still owed money. I assumed that Expedia accidentally double booked me. I called them and after a couple of weeks of back and forth they refunded me part of the trip and gave me credit for the rest - very professional and quick.

    Meanwhile, my the other loan with Affirm was past due. I paid it off quickly once I realized I owed them money - but they still reported it to the credit bureau that I was delinquent.

    I have been waiting six months for them to resolve this and after all that time waiting for them to just take the late payment off the loan that I didn't know I had until three months after - that there was nothing they could do.

    Who runs their business like that? Unless, of course, they knowingly gave me two loans when I asked for one? I can't tell.

    Regardless I have found working with them to be incredibly frustrating and believe them to be downright unethical.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • Louisiana,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't know what's up with all the negative reviews. I think Affirm is great, especially when you can't drop money for the things you want or need. Some of y'all are talking about them wanting y'alls license info. I don't remember it asking for mine. But if y'all didn't know, they do have an app where you can use a pin you chose to login in with instead of using the different pin they send you everytime you go to log in because that's frustrating. If y'all don't know about the virtual card, y'all can spend it on any website, just be careful about eBay, if the buyer does PayPal. I made that mistake after Affirm told me it might be declined.

    And now I have money from my Affirm loan. I'm waiting to go back into my Affirm spending amount so I can order my truck part off Amazon instead.

    By the way, they do let you pick your payment plan and by that I mean, they give you the option to pay off in 3, 6, or 12 months. But keep in mind, the longer you choose to pay on it, the more you pay in interest. But anyway, I have 6 active loans out and 3 past loans through them. So far I have had no problem with them.

    The only thing I don't like is that I have to contact them by email instead of over the phone. Oh yeah, I don't know about the credit score needed. Mine has gone a ways down from all my credit cards. Since I'm making my payments on time with Affirm, they've bumped up my loan amount. I've been using Affirm for a year and it doesn't show on my credit report.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    They charged me 8 times.

    I was on Cheapair trying to order my plane tickets, and I wanted to use Affirm. I used them for other services and everything went well. This time I did the same thing as I did with the other tickets. When I got to the sign loan agreement and clicked ok, it routed me to a Google page, and I checked my bank account and the $600 for the down payment was taken out. So I waited to see if I would receive s confirmation email from Cheapair.com or Affirm. Nope. So I called Cheapair and I wasn’t in their system for the tickets and also I talked to Affirm and they told me I was approved but the refund would take 7-10 days but I haven’t received anything yet. It’s been past the allotted time they said I’d receive the money.

    I will never ever use these people. They will overcharge you and not want to pay you back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Ohio,
    • Aug 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a scam. Why would I provide a copy of my driver's license to verify and update my phone number? My number isn't listed on my license and considering they ask you the same verification questions over and over and even call you and ask the same thing AGAIN why would my license be needed? The process of updating anything is terrible, and the representatives just use templates to respond to everything. I would not recommend them to anyone, not even an enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a loan with Motorola with Affirm. My number changed and they stopped taking payments and would not talk to me on the phone, would not give me a payment address at all, even after I paid $150, 1/2 of my loan off, they reported me to the collection agency.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Identity verification fail

    • New York, NY,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a consumer with Affirm since 2015. I currently have an open account with them, however, they cannot verify my identity, seems strange yet true. I was told to do the license thing, apparently, this is to data farm you and sell your information because soon thereafter I received scam-like calls and texts. The item was under $300 and I was not approved. The customer service SUCKS, they cannot help you, all they say is "I'm sorry" and "I will pass this information to this department and it will take 3 to 10 business days." Such a SCAM. Avoid Affirm at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    I got data farmed for nothing.

    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to buy a sewing machine for my wife and heard about Affirm. I had to give just a little info so they could do a "soft" credit history. They make it sound so simple that it's easy to get hooked. They evaluated the info for a few minutes and then I had to give them more information and confirm all that. Then they asked me to send them pictures of my face, both the front and back of my driver's license and a picture of me holding my license to verify my identity for security purposes. A few minutes later I got a welcoming email telling me "we're not a fan of fine print." I should have walked away then. Instead, I read the parts about how to use my account and make my payments and assumed I was approved. They seemed so positive and upbeat that it was hard not to think that.

    Instead, they wanted more info and verification. After that, I was directed that it was time to go make my purchase, so I shopped around their suggested stores that they directed me to. I found the best price at certain big box retailer site that is not affiliated with Affirm. They said not a problem because they would issue me a prepaid Mastercard number to use for check out. Then they wanted me to enter the total amount of the purchase which was only $174 - fifty bucks less than their suggested store wanted for exactly the same item. I suddenly got a message saying oh sorry, no you're not approved. We can't help you. You've got to pay for it yourself.

    They got me to jump through all kinds of hoops and give them my personal information, and I got nothing. I really should have known better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Sketchy that they ask for your banking user ID and password

    • Kentucky,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was really excited at the prospect of financing our family vacation and was applying through the Affirm site off of the Groupon app. It was odd that they wanted a pic of my face and a pic of my license, but I thought that was fairly reasonable to verify my identity online. Then it asked for my banking "User ID" and "Password." That is where I stopped. If I had been approved and they wanted my banking account info for making payments that would be one thing, but it is extremely sketchy to ask for your login information. I have never been asked that by a company. I am not doing business with them unless there is some other way for them to verify me. I don't know at this point whether I would refer someone or not. If they have an alternative method of verification, I might.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Fraud

    • United States of America,
    • May 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Somebody obtained my information from my AT&T account (AT&T is assuming someone hacked the information, I believe it was sold internally). This individual(s) did a lot of damage that I have had to deal with personally between myself and AT&T, but they also got the last 4 of my social, my phone number, and my email address from my account.

    They then proceeded to open an account with "Affirm" under my identity, and opened two loans. They did not request any further information to protect me, other than the basic address, phone number, last 4 social and birthdate. The individual had paid off my cell phone plan ($50 shy of owning my cellphone) upgraded it to the new iPhone X, using my phone number. Because they had done this, opening an Affirm account with my phone number was possible. They took out two loans under my identity, costing over $7,000 in airline tickets with Delta and Southwest.

    I contacted Affirm the day it happened, because I saw a welcome email and I had never heard of affirm before. The Affirm customer service representative informed me what the company does, that the fraudster opened an account using my information and took out the loans, but luckily they had not been approved and they had only attempted but were not successful.

    The next morning, I logged onto the account (your sign-on is SO safe, it's just your simple phone number and a verification code...yipee) to see what the website was like. I saw that the loans had went through. Devastated, I called back Affirm customer service, telling them about what happened. They could not do anything to help me, other than tell me the fraud department would contact me within 3-5 days. I asked her if she could shut down the account, as I was afraid this individual would continue to open more loans, and she said she had no authority to do so. I asked if she could shut down the cards they provided so no debt accumulated, or if she could see what the individuals purchased, and she again said she had no authority to do so nor could she see what had been purchased other than that it was from Southwest and Delta. All she could do was request fraud to call me in 3-5 days.

    It has been over a week and I have heard nothing back from Affirm. I will continue to call until I get this resolved. I had never heard of Affirm until this issue, but I could not believe a website like this exists. It offers no protection against fraud and is as simple as having basic information on someone (obtaining last 4 of social is not that difficult if you can hack or are close to an individual). Disgusting company and poor customer service. It was extremely irritating that I had called customer service and was told the loans had been denied, and the next day the loans were approved. If a company is going to be able to provide loans and money, it should be more difficult and offer protection to citizens against possible fraud. The customer service representatives had no power to help me and the fraud department either has no sense of urgency, or is dealing with too much fraud and can't get to me yet. Either way, poor company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 45

Write a Review for Affirm!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review