Read 48 Affirm Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  41
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 48
Sort reviews by:

  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Misleading interest!

    • By Roz L.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Affirm charges you interest on day one! They say you won't get charged if you pay early, but it is a total LIE! This company is doing BUSINESS ILLEGALLY and MISLEADING customers.

    I wrote them an email but never heard from them. Finally, I went to their Facebook account and then I was told to contact their number. I called the number and was told that INTEREST ACCRUES on DAY ONE! I TOLD the staff that this is MISLEADING, otherwise, I would have just used my credit card because credit cards won't charge me daily interest. I was off to pay the full loan on my first due date but now was charged $101. The staff was not helpful at all and just kept saying I agreed to it!

    DON'T waste your time on this company! I don't know how PEOPLE can SLEEP with their LIE stealing from PEOPLE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Charged for three loans

    • By Henry Q.,
    • Virginia,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They charged me for three loans that the vendor never received and after almost 60 days have not solved the problem. The customer service is terrible. I will never use their service and recommend that no one else does.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Worst website and customer service

    • By David S.,
    • Vinemont, AL,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We changed phone numbers before the first payment was due. Every month since, we have to struggle with customer service that does nothing except pretend to be helpful whilst waiting to tell you the laws repeatedly, even though you just need to make a payment. Despite repeatedly updating information, nothing changes. You explain this to them over and over and over and they simply repeat the same things to you but won't accept a payment. May as well outsource to India because these people are about the same minus the accent. Useless people and useless pay online as well as pay on the phone. Find another company or buy elsewhere where they use a different payment group. This is every month since we made the purchase in July 2018, and this is December 2018.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Convenient service, few downsides

    • By Jake M.,
    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had two loans with Affirm and both have been exactly as described! Very easy to make payments - or even set up AutoPay, so it will take care of everything for you! Very low hassle, very quick, and between the app and the website it all is incredibly user-friendly and helps me get last-minute items for work that I would otherwise probably pass up. It's a nice service to have - as long as you can pay it off on time.

    The only real downside is the large interest rate, but it's not unreasonable. On a purchase of over $200, the interest rate (which may as well be called a convenience fee) is well under $10 for most people.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • By Chemika L.,
    • USA,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am being held responsible for a debit that I did not authorize and merchandise I did not receive. I reached out to the company when I got the initial email and notified them that I did not request credit with this company every time I received an email. Now I am being told that I am responsible for the debit. How is the consumer supposed to protect themselves from this company?! This is NOT, I repeat, this is NOT my account!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Affirm - devious or inept

    • By Steve B.,
    • California,
    • Sep 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used Affirm to pay for a vacation through Expedia. I clicked the "submit" button and nothing seemed to happen. I waited. After a while I called Expedia to find out if my trip was processed. It had not, and they recommended that I try again in the morning. I did, and it worked fine. I went on my vacation, and all went well. When I came back, I paid the Affirm loan quickly and on time. After I made my final payment, I was told by Affirm that I still owed money. I assumed that Expedia accidentally double booked me. I called them and after a couple of weeks of back and forth they refunded me part of the trip and gave me credit for the rest - very professional and quick.

    Meanwhile, my the other loan with Affirm was past due. I paid it off quickly once I realized I owed them money - but they still reported it to the credit bureau that I was delinquent.

    I have been waiting six months for them to resolve this and after all that time waiting for them to just take the late payment off the loan that I didn't know I had until three months after - that there was nothing they could do.

    Who runs their business like that? Unless, of course, they knowingly gave me two loans when I asked for one? I can't tell.

    Regardless I have found working with them to be incredibly frustrating and believe them to be downright unethical.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • By Nikki L.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't know what's up with all the negative reviews. I think Affirm is great, especially when you can't drop money for the things you want or need. Some of y'all are talking about them wanting y'alls license info. I don't remember it asking for mine. But if y'all didn't know, they do have an app where you can use a pin you chose to login in with instead of using the different pin they send you everytime you go to log in because that's frustrating. If y'all don't know about the virtual card, y'all can spend it on any website, just be careful about eBay, if the buyer does PayPal. I made that mistake after Affirm told me it might be declined.

    And now I have money from my Affirm loan. I'm waiting to go back into my Affirm spending amount so I can order my truck part off Amazon instead.

    By the way, they do let you pick your payment plan and by that I mean, they give you the option to pay off in 3, 6, or 12 months. But keep in mind, the longer you choose to pay on it, the more you pay in interest. But anyway, I have 6 active loans out and 3 past loans through them. So far I have had no problem with them.

    The only thing I don't like is that I have to contact them by email instead of over the phone. Oh yeah, I don't know about the credit score needed. Mine has gone a ways down from all my credit cards. Since I'm making my payments on time with Affirm, they've bumped up my loan amount. I've been using Affirm for a year and it doesn't show on my credit report.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    They charged me 8 times.

    I was on Cheapair trying to order my plane tickets, and I wanted to use Affirm. I used them for other services and everything went well. This time I did the same thing as I did with the other tickets. When I got to the sign loan agreement and clicked ok, it routed me to a Google page, and I checked my bank account and the $600 for the down payment was taken out. So I waited to see if I would receive s confirmation email from Cheapair.com or Affirm. Nope. So I called Cheapair and I wasn’t in their system for the tickets and also I talked to Affirm and they told me I was approved but the refund would take 7-10 days but I haven’t received anything yet. It’s been past the allotted time they said I’d receive the money.

    I will never ever use these people. They will overcharge you and not want to pay you back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • By Jackiee D.,
    • Ohio,
    • Aug 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a scam. Why would I provide a copy of my driver's license to verify and update my phone number? My number isn't listed on my license and considering they ask you the same verification questions over and over and even call you and ask the same thing AGAIN why would my license be needed? The process of updating anything is terrible, and the representatives just use templates to respond to everything. I would not recommend them to anyone, not even an enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • By Josephina A.,
    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a loan with Motorola with Affirm. My number changed and they stopped taking payments and would not talk to me on the phone, would not give me a payment address at all, even after I paid $150, 1/2 of my loan off, they reported me to the collection agency.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Identity verification fail

    • By Octavia J.,
    • New York, NY,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a consumer with Affirm since 2015. I currently have an open account with them, however, they cannot verify my identity, seems strange yet true. I was told to do the license thing, apparently, this is to data farm you and sell your information because soon thereafter I received scam-like calls and texts. The item was under $300 and I was not approved. The customer service SUCKS, they cannot help you, all they say is "I'm sorry" and "I will pass this information to this department and it will take 3 to 10 business days." Such a SCAM. Avoid Affirm at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 48

Write a Review for Affirm!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review