What is Air by crazybaby?

Like many other wireless Wi-Fi headphones, Air by crazybaby promises to deliver a secure fit in a smaller, portable package that’s water resistant, is rechargeable on the go, and works with any Bluetooth-enabled device.

Unlike much of the competition, however, crazybaby tells us that Air also provides single-button control, a more stable connection, and an EQ customizer via their iOS and Android apps.

Crazybaby puts the greatest emphasis on their carbon nanotube speaker membrane, though, which they claim delivers true wireless stereo that allows you to “hear every detail of the music.”

If you’ve been paying attention, you probably noticed many high-profile wireless earbuds entering the market lately. But how can you choose the right option for your needs? Should Air by crazybaby make it on your shortlist?

You’ve got questions; here, we’ll help provide some insight by discussing what we learned during our research.

How Does Air by crazybaby Work? What’s Up With Their Carbon Nanotubes?

The Tech Specs

Each Air earbud is 1.01” (25.6mm) long, 0.47” (12mm) wide, 0.67” (17mm) high, and weighs 4.5g. The charging capsule is 5.22” (132.5mm) long and 1.18” (30mm) thick.

A single charge on your Air earbuds will provide up to 3 hours of listening time or 4 hours of talk time. Using the capsule, however, will increase your listening time to 15+ hours and talk time up to 20 hours.

When the time comes, we’re told it will take your earbuds two hours to fully recharge.

While Air earbuds can’t be used directly in water, they’re IPX5 water resistant, which should provide more than enough protection from sweat and the natural accumulation of dust and grime.

Connection, Fit, & Operation

Air earbuds feature Bluetooth 4.2 connectivity that helps provide a consistently reliable connection to any compatible device from up to 10 meters away.

According to crazybaby, they analyzed hundreds of ears during development to ensure Air fit a wide variety of profiles. You’ll also find three, medical-grade Sport Sleeves that are ultra-light, skin-friendly, and help customize Air’s fitment, without adding pressure to your conch or ear canal.

Once connected and in place, we’re told you’ll receive a voice prompt, “Your headset is connected.” Alternately, once disconnected you’ll be prompted with, “Your headset is disconnected.”

This, combined with Air’s single-button control, allows you to answer/hang up calls, play/stop music, skip to the previous or next track, and even use voice assistants like Siri or Amazon Dot’s Alexa.

Sound Quality

As mentioned earlier, it seems that crazybaby’s biggest emphasis for the Air is on audio quality.

To accomplish this, we’re told the company’s “electroacoustic legend,” Dr. Yu, partnered with Tsinghua University and Foxconn Associate Labs to develop a proprietary carbon nanotube diaphragm that allows the speaker driver to remain compact and durable.

This delivers “ultra-fast responses for elegant, sophisticated sound,” including “dynamic highs and reverberating lows.”

Additionally, each of these carbon nanotube diaphragms is made individually, versus mass-produced, to ensure strict quality standards.

This, along with Air’s CSR decoding chip and CVC 8th Noise Isolation Technology (noise cancellation), means that whether you’re listening to music, taking a call, or using voice prompts, your audio quality will be “among the best of the best.”

Crazybaby Air's internal componentsThe internal components that make up crazybaby’s Air earbuds. Image credit: crazybaby

Finally, we’re told that Air’s iOS and Android apps allow you to customize your EQ even further.

How much will you pay for all this technology and wireless convenience?

How Much Do crazybaby Air Wireless Headphones Cost?

Crazybaby’s Air earbuds are currently only available for preorder via their Indiegogo campaign (more about this next), with an estimated delivery date of January 2017. Perks range between $109 and $198.

Each order includes:

  • Air Wireless Headphones
  • XS/S/M/L Silicone Ear Tips
  • S/M/L Sport Sleeves
  • Charging Capsule
  • USC-c to USB Charge Cable

The company just released three new colors at the time of our research (Lava Orange, Volt Green, and Space Gray), along with the standard White/Blue or Black/Red.

All Air orders come with free worldwide delivery, along with a 1-year global warranty against defects in workmanship and materials. According to the fine print:

“Refunds are processed on a case-by-case basis; at some point, we will need to lock refunds in order to go into production and shipment. We will not be able to refund orders once they've shipped.”

To request a refund or process a warranty claim, you’ll need to send an email to service@crazybaby.com.

Are There Any Early Reviews for crazybaby Air?

At the time of our research, crazybaby had nine days remaining in their Indiegogo campaign for Air, although they had already raised nearly $1.7 million based on an original goal of just $50K.

Because they won’t make their way to consumers until January 2017, though, we didn’t encounter any in-depth, hands-on reviews.

However, Forbes’ Ben Sin had a chance to try on a pair of prototype Airs when visiting crazybaby’s Shenzhen, China office, originally to review their Mars speaker (more about this in a moment).

While he didn’t spend a lot of time with the Airs, he noted that they felt comfortable in the ear, delivered good sound quality, felt sturdy and well-made, and provided instantaneous pairing thanks to the CSR chip.

From a company perspective, crazybaby was founded in 2014 by Allen Zhang, who’s only in his early 30s. The company is based out of Salt Lake City, UT, although, despite his young age, Allen has been working in Shenzhen for more than 12 years, originally for Chinese electronics company TCL.

Since its founding, crazybaby has successfully brought one product to market, with another close on its heels. Let’s talk more about this next.

Are There Other Products From Crazybaby?

The first product released under the crazybaby brand was Mars, a unique levitating speaker that promises to deliver “nearly loss-free sound,” along with a sleek design.

On Amazon, the Mars speaker had 130+ customer reviews and an average rating of 3.3 stars. Most compliments seemed to reference high-quality audio and craftsmanship, as well as attractive design.

On the other hand, common complaints related to high price, limited functionality (no AirPlay or WiFi connectivity, no streaming ability, can’t connect via aux in, etc.), so-so audio quality (especially regarding bass), inadequate volume, and questionable value compared to other Bluetooth speakers.

Crazybaby’s second product, Luna, is a wireless speaker that uses proprietary technology to improve transmission distance and sound quality. Additionally, its dedicated computing system and MESHNET technology enable up to 32 Lunas to connect with one another, along with multiple users allowed.

Luna’s crowdfunding campaign recently ended and was in a trial production run.

Now, let’s return to crazybaby’s Air earbuds and find out how they stack up against the competition.

Crazybaby Air vs. Other Wireless Headphones

The HighYa team has reviewed many popular wireless earbud options, including Kanoa, Rowkin Mini, Samsung Gear IconX, and Protek Wireless. Other popular models include the Earin, Apple AirPods, and Bragi.

How does each of these compare to Air by crazybaby? Let’s take a quick look:

Earbuds Price Listen / Talk Time (hrs) Recharge Time (hrs) Water Resistant / Proof? Fitness Tracking? Compatibility
Air by crazybaby $109 3-4 2 Resistant N Bluetooth
Kanoa $179 4-6 1.5 Proof Y Bluetooth
Rowkin Mini $59.99 - $69.99 6 1.5 Resistant N Bluetooth
Samsung Gear IconX $199 1.5-3.5 1.5 Resistant Y Android
Protek $119 3-6 1 Resistant N Bluetooth
Earin $249 3 1 hr 15 min Resistant No Bluetooth
Bragi $299 6 2 Resistant N Bluetooth
Apple AirPods $199 5 N/A N/A No Bluetooth

When it comes down to it, which of these options might serve you best? Is Air by crazybaby a contender? Let’s bring it all together.

Who’s the Ideal Customer for Air by crazybaby?

Like any other product, no single wireless earbud option will satisfy every consumer’s needs or match their personal preferences. In other words, a lot of unique factors come into play when choosing the “best” option.

For example:

  • Is price your number one factor? If so, Rowkin Mini is the clear winner, followed by crazybaby’s Air.
  • Run and recharge time? Rowkin, Bragi, and Protek (which also features a CSR chipset) win out in this regard.
  • Fitness tracking? Your options are limited to Kanoa and IconX.
  • Only interested in products that are currently available? You’ll have to rule out Air and Kanoa.

Regarding this last point, when discussing yet-to-be-released electronics, we often talk about the potential risks involved with backing a crowdfunding campaign. In this instance, though, crazybaby has already released one successful product, with another (Luna) on its way shortly.

While this certainly doesn’t remove the element of risk, we think this speaks volumes about what you might reasonably expect with their Air earbuds.

Just keep in mind that your ability to obtain a refund could be limited—and completely goes away once Air has shipped—so be sure to carefully consider your purchase before placing an order.

Did your Air by crazybaby earbuds arrive on time? Did they deliver superb audio quality? What about the company’s other claims? Tell the world by writing your review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 83 Air by crazybaby Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 6 1 star:  68
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 83
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Excited to receive my headphones

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Feb 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a product done through Indiegogo crowdfunding and through this site they have been making frequent updates to where they are in the production of the headphones.

    There have been delays, but, they have happened because they are fine tuning and improving the product. I am happy to wait and get these headphones done right.

    They are also very responsive to their comments section on the Indiegogo site.

    I will update this comment and review when I receive the headphones.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Great Quality Earbuds

    Was an early backer of Air by Crazybaby on Indiegogo. Took 7 months to get these but worth the wait. Great fit, great sound, and great quality. Love the charging tube, requires 2+ charges after the battery is depleted. Hopefully these will be readily available in the US soon.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Love these earbuds

    • Draper, UT,
    • Aug 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the sound and noise canceling features, the sound just seems to flow from within your mind. The design looks nice and feels comfortable; much better looking than the Apple earbuds. They work great for traveling and working out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Better than AirPods

    They are he greatest things I've ever tested. Definitely 50,000/10 beautiful high-quality nanotube technology. Great IPX66 waterproof technology. Much better than the crappy dental floss looking AirPods. Also, they're super high quality and with multi-uses, I use them before bed at night. Beautiful technology. Best feature is that it vibrates when it charges.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Real promise and good buy

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm glad I saw these. I haven't had wireless ear pods before. I have a serious audio system only in my car, and I'm impressed with the air. The clarity fits their description. The battery isn't that great, but they are so small! How could they be expected to last all day? The company kept me informed with emails when they needed to delay shipment of this new product.

    Sometimes the right ear bud drops signal. Turning off my WiFi greatly improved this situation for some reason.

    I think future runs of this product will iron out some kinks and result in an even better product. Great job so far!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Very good once you know the tricks

    • Prescott, AZ,
    • Sep 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yes, I waited ten months for these things and wasn't too happy about that. They turned out to be a great purchase. It's living up to all the hype but that being said, I do understand the negative reviews about earbuds cutting out or not working at all. The big trick is to make sure they're being charged properly. That probably takes care of 50 percent of the complaints about earbuds not working. I don't remember if the instructions said to remove the plastic film from the earbuds contacts, but that's a given. While you have the tube open, drop the earbuds in and MAKE SURE the red light on the earbuds start blinking. If not, drop it in again until it does. No blinking light, no charge. You may have to reseat one of the earbuds multiple times before it charges.

    I bet you that's the #1 cause of these things not working or not wanting to turn on. Once they're charged, they're fantastic! Once in a blue moon, the right one will drop out momentarily when you turn your head, but for me, that hasn't been a problem. If there's a problem pairing them, take them out of your ear and make sure they're both turned off, it may take several tries. Then turn them on, left side first and they should pair. Once I figured these things out, they work great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Good earphones - awful support

    After many months of patient waiting, the Air earphones arrived (I had funded two sets).

    They look good, they sound good and last well on a single charge.

    So why three stars? One set drops signal on the right-hand bud, the other is fantastic. So one would assume that you could email support at Crazybaby and get a response, however, it's been five days now and nothing. I messaged Crazybaby (as opposed to Crazybaby Audio) who thought it highly amusing that I've gotten no response.

    The lack of concern from Crazybaby Audio seems to strongly reflect their casual attitude taken with their backers as they got later and later on their due delivery date. More clarity would have made backing the Air so much easier, and sadly if they don't improve their support, they won't be in a great position to compete with companies that really do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Right ear bud constantly drops for first 15 minutes

    • Singapore,
    • Aug 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my set last week. The earbuds fit nicely, but after one to two hours of usage, the ear felt a little sore.

    The sound quality is more towards bass. The sound quality sounds like pushing a normal in-ear headphone into your ear, which makes it sound more bass.

    Pairing the earbuds is easy, but it requires a lot of luck for the sound to come out perfectly on both side. The right earbud constantly drops for first 15 minutes after that the connection is quite stable with one or two drops per hour. On bad days, the left side doesn't play sound even if you paired the earbuds with the phone. You will need to put everything back to the charging tube and repair everything again.

    I have not tested the battery to the extreme, but it could last for my two-hour trips.

    This is my first truly wireless Bluetooth set. I felt that the Bluetooth performance and sound pales when comparing to my previous Bluetooth headsets, Jaybird X1 and X2. Hopefully, it can last.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I seem to have had a better experience than most

    • Surrey, United Kingdom,
    • Sep 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my Air three weeks ago, and my experience has been mixed, but improving. When they arrived, I was impressed by the packaging; very Apple-esque! I charged them up, put the medium buds on (I always use the medium buds) and off I went.

    First impressions were a very good fit, great mids and highs, but where's the bass?! I pushed them in as far as I could but was disappointed with that aspect of the sound. But the mids and highs compared well to my Bose wireless earphones, which was good.

    Then I wore them out and about, and the connection issues started. It seemed that whenever I turned my head, the left the right earphone would cut out briefly, but then fade back in. The fade in was a good touch, made it feel like it meant to do it (LOL).

    I've been using them on and off for about three weeks now, and I'm much happier. I've switched up to the large buds (which I don't usually need to do) and pushed them in tight, and the bass is full and the whole sound actually does compare well to my Bose pair. My Air cost me £80, and my Bose cost around £150, and the sound is comparable. The fit of the air is snug and assured, they don't feel like they'll drop out.

    The connection issues have calmed down a lot, but that may be due to how I use them. You can't have too much distance between the earphones and your phone. Usually not a problem, but if you put your phone down and walk to the other side of the room, they won't like it, which is disappointing.

    But what's most disappointing is the battery life. I don't think I've managed to get more than 1.5 to 2 hours out of them before they die. Compared to my Bose, which give me around 6 hours. This is very disappointing. Yes you pop them back into their carry case and they recharge, and maybe I just need to get used to this, but I would expect 4-6 hours. However, that may simply not be possible with this form factor.

    Overall, compared to my initial thoughts, I'm very happy with my Air by crazybaby earphones, the sound is great, connection problems can be managed, the battery is poor but that may be expected, and they're by far the best headphones I've ever had for £80! No doubt!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Not happy so far

    • Orlando, Florida,
    • Jul 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Looks good, feels good. The sound is decent. Not digging the tube. Instructions are horrible. The right ear is already dropping out. A full charge maybe lasted an hour. To be continued. I don't expect to get much help with customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Audio lag and distance issue

    I too was a backer, and at the time only the Apple earbuds were an option for me, but I didn't like the way they looked. These looked perfect, so I bought two!

    It is August 1st, and I just received one of the two that I ordered. These are white. They were charged when I received them, and I had no difficulty pairing them, and the sound seemed fine. That's the good part of my review.

    The cons are that there is a significant audio lag when watching YouTube. I thought maybe it was the video, so I plugged in my Apple wired earbuds, and everything synced up, then back to the crazybaby one, and the lag was back. I walked away from my phone, about eight feet, and the connection was dropped. Not good. I was expecting the connection to work for a much longer distance. I am disappointed.

    I've only had them a few hours, so I haven't gotten any other comments about charging them, etc., but if I had known about the audio lag, I would not have bought them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 83

Write a Review for Air by crazybaby!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review