What is Air by crazybaby?

Like many other wireless Wi-Fi headphones, Air by crazybaby promises to deliver a secure fit in a smaller, portable package that’s water resistant, is rechargeable on the go, and works with any Bluetooth-enabled device.

Unlike much of the competition, however, crazybaby tells us that Air also provides single-button control, a more stable connection, and an EQ customizer via their iOS and Android apps.

Crazybaby puts the greatest emphasis on their carbon nanotube speaker membrane, though, which they claim delivers true wireless stereo that allows you to “hear every detail of the music.”

If you’ve been paying attention, you probably noticed many high-profile wireless earbuds entering the market lately. But how can you choose the right option for your needs? Should Air by crazybaby make it on your shortlist?

You’ve got questions; here, we’ll help provide some insight by discussing what we learned during our research.

How Does Air by crazybaby Work? What’s Up With Their Carbon Nanotubes?

The Tech Specs

Each Air earbud is 1.01” (25.6mm) long, 0.47” (12mm) wide, 0.67” (17mm) high, and weighs 4.5g. The charging capsule is 5.22” (132.5mm) long and 1.18” (30mm) thick.

A single charge on your Air earbuds will provide up to 3 hours of listening time or 4 hours of talk time. Using the capsule, however, will increase your listening time to 15+ hours and talk time up to 20 hours.

When the time comes, we’re told it will take your earbuds two hours to fully recharge.

While Air earbuds can’t be used directly in water, they’re IPX5 water resistant, which should provide more than enough protection from sweat and the natural accumulation of dust and grime.

Connection, Fit, & Operation

Air earbuds feature Bluetooth 4.2 connectivity that helps provide a consistently reliable connection to any compatible device from up to 10 meters away.

According to crazybaby, they analyzed hundreds of ears during development to ensure Air fit a wide variety of profiles. You’ll also find three, medical-grade Sport Sleeves that are ultra-light, skin-friendly, and help customize Air’s fitment, without adding pressure to your conch or ear canal.

Once connected and in place, we’re told you’ll receive a voice prompt, “Your headset is connected.” Alternately, once disconnected you’ll be prompted with, “Your headset is disconnected.”

This, combined with Air’s single-button control, allows you to answer/hang up calls, play/stop music, skip to the previous or next track, and even use voice assistants like Siri or Amazon Dot’s Alexa.

Sound Quality

As mentioned earlier, it seems that crazybaby’s biggest emphasis for the Air is on audio quality.

To accomplish this, we’re told the company’s “electroacoustic legend,” Dr. Yu, partnered with Tsinghua University and Foxconn Associate Labs to develop a proprietary carbon nanotube diaphragm that allows the speaker driver to remain compact and durable.

This delivers “ultra-fast responses for elegant, sophisticated sound,” including “dynamic highs and reverberating lows.”

Additionally, each of these carbon nanotube diaphragms is made individually, versus mass-produced, to ensure strict quality standards.

This, along with Air’s CSR decoding chip and CVC 8th Noise Isolation Technology (noise cancellation), means that whether you’re listening to music, taking a call, or using voice prompts, your audio quality will be “among the best of the best.”

Crazybaby Air's internal componentsThe internal components that make up crazybaby’s Air earbuds. Image credit: crazybaby

Finally, we’re told that Air’s iOS and Android apps allow you to customize your EQ even further.

How much will you pay for all this technology and wireless convenience?

How Much Do crazybaby Air Wireless Headphones Cost?

Crazybaby’s Air earbuds are currently only available for preorder via their Indiegogo campaign (more about this next), with an estimated delivery date of January 2017. Perks range between $109 and $198.

Each order includes:

  • Air Wireless Headphones
  • XS/S/M/L Silicone Ear Tips
  • S/M/L Sport Sleeves
  • Charging Capsule
  • USC-c to USB Charge Cable

The company just released three new colors at the time of our research (Lava Orange, Volt Green, and Space Gray), along with the standard White/Blue or Black/Red.

All Air orders come with free worldwide delivery, along with a 1-year global warranty against defects in workmanship and materials. According to the fine print:

“Refunds are processed on a case-by-case basis; at some point, we will need to lock refunds in order to go into production and shipment. We will not be able to refund orders once they've shipped.”

To request a refund or process a warranty claim, you’ll need to send an email to service@crazybaby.com.

Are There Any Early Reviews for crazybaby Air?

At the time of our research, crazybaby had nine days remaining in their Indiegogo campaign for Air, although they had already raised nearly $1.7 million based on an original goal of just $50K.

Because they won’t make their way to consumers until January 2017, though, we didn’t encounter any in-depth, hands-on reviews.

However, Forbes’ Ben Sin had a chance to try on a pair of prototype Airs when visiting crazybaby’s Shenzhen, China office, originally to review their Mars speaker (more about this in a moment).

While he didn’t spend a lot of time with the Airs, he noted that they felt comfortable in the ear, delivered good sound quality, felt sturdy and well-made, and provided instantaneous pairing thanks to the CSR chip.

From a company perspective, crazybaby was founded in 2014 by Allen Zhang, who’s only in his early 30s. The company is based out of Salt Lake City, UT, although, despite his young age, Allen has been working in Shenzhen for more than 12 years, originally for Chinese electronics company TCL.

Since its founding, crazybaby has successfully brought one product to market, with another close on its heels. Let’s talk more about this next.

Are There Other Products From Crazybaby?

The first product released under the crazybaby brand was Mars, a unique levitating speaker that promises to deliver “nearly loss-free sound,” along with a sleek design.

On Amazon, the Mars speaker had 130+ customer reviews and an average rating of 3.3 stars. Most compliments seemed to reference high-quality audio and craftsmanship, as well as attractive design.

On the other hand, common complaints related to high price, limited functionality (no AirPlay or WiFi connectivity, no streaming ability, can’t connect via aux in, etc.), so-so audio quality (especially regarding bass), inadequate volume, and questionable value compared to other Bluetooth speakers.

Crazybaby’s second product, Luna, is a wireless speaker that uses proprietary technology to improve transmission distance and sound quality. Additionally, its dedicated computing system and MESHNET technology enable up to 32 Lunas to connect with one another, along with multiple users allowed.

Luna’s crowdfunding campaign recently ended and was in a trial production run.

Now, let’s return to crazybaby’s Air earbuds and find out how they stack up against the competition.

Crazybaby Air vs. Other Wireless Headphones

The HighYa team has reviewed many popular wireless earbud options, including Kanoa, Rowkin Mini, Samsung Gear IconX, and Protek Wireless. Other popular models include the Earin, Apple AirPods, and Bragi.

How does each of these compare to Air by crazybaby? Let’s take a quick look:

Earbuds Price Listen / Talk Time (hrs) Recharge Time (hrs) Water Resistant / Proof? Fitness Tracking? Compatibility
Air by crazybaby $109 3-4 2 Resistant N Bluetooth
Kanoa $179 4-6 1.5 Proof Y Bluetooth
Rowkin Mini $59.99 - $69.99 6 1.5 Resistant N Bluetooth
Samsung Gear IconX $199 1.5-3.5 1.5 Resistant Y Android
Protek $119 3-6 1 Resistant N Bluetooth
Earin $249 3 1 hr 15 min Resistant No Bluetooth
Bragi $299 6 2 Resistant N Bluetooth
Apple AirPods $199 5 N/A N/A No Bluetooth

When it comes down to it, which of these options might serve you best? Is Air by crazybaby a contender? Let’s bring it all together.

Who’s the Ideal Customer for Air by crazybaby?

Like any other product, no single wireless earbud option will satisfy every consumer’s needs or match their personal preferences. In other words, a lot of unique factors come into play when choosing the “best” option.

For example:

  • Is price your number one factor? If so, Rowkin Mini is the clear winner, followed by crazybaby’s Air.
  • Run and recharge time? Rowkin, Bragi, and Protek (which also features a CSR chipset) win out in this regard.
  • Fitness tracking? Your options are limited to Kanoa and IconX.
  • Only interested in products that are currently available? You’ll have to rule out Air and Kanoa.

Regarding this last point, when discussing yet-to-be-released electronics, we often talk about the potential risks involved with backing a crowdfunding campaign. In this instance, though, crazybaby has already released one successful product, with another (Luna) on its way shortly.

While this certainly doesn’t remove the element of risk, we think this speaks volumes about what you might reasonably expect with their Air earbuds.

Just keep in mind that your ability to obtain a refund could be limited—and completely goes away once Air has shipped—so be sure to carefully consider your purchase before placing an order.

Did your Air by crazybaby earbuds arrive on time? Did they deliver superb audio quality? What about the company’s other claims? Tell the world by writing your review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

61 Consumer Reviews for Air by crazybaby

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 3 1 star:  50
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 61
Sort reviews by:

  • Waste of money

    • York, United Kingdom,
    • Oct 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They kind of work okay indoors and the sound quality is good when they do. As soon as you go outside, the Bluetooth connection to the left bud is irregular, and the connection between the two buds is erratic, to say the least. The charging cradle is a good idea, and if the basic product worked, it would be good value. As is it is no value! Oh, and if you do buy one and have issues, their customer service is non-existent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy it.

    Too many issues to use in daily life. The connection between the left and the right bud is very unstable, and it drops out every time I turn my head. And latency is very bad; they have about a 0.5-1 second sound delay.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worse ear buds

    • Singapore,
    • Oct 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The sound was good but keep on disconnecting and not charging properly. Worse, there is no customer service. I tried to email and got no reply. Why was this earbud released in the market with this kind of performance?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Rubbish product and non existent customer service

    • United Kingdom,
    • Oct 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got my headphones a month or so ago. Straight away right earbud kept disconnecting. I contacted them and got told to reset the headphones. A day later it got worse and I got told to hold my phone closer to my left ear.

    Then the charging station stopped charging correctly, and I got no reply. Then both kept disconnecting, and I got no reply and again another five times now a month or so on. And the right headphone has packed up completely. Guess what? No reply.

    By far the worst connection ever and I’ve had cheap wireless headphones which are much better. Really poor, which is a shame because they sound great when they work if you put your in your device literally on the left headphone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worthless, pointless, useless

    • East Riding of Yorkshire, England,
    • Oct 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have held back on commenting on these hopeless earphones. The company appeared to have taken on too much and after a nine-month delay rushed out this heap of crap. They seem so fundamentally flawed with no customer support (other than an eventual patronizing explanation of how Bluetooth is not perfect) that I really doubt the provenance of ANY reviews that suggest anything above poor performance. Dropout, poor charge (though I give up on them after less than 15 minutes each time whenever I try them out), and yadda-yadda. They are nice looking, but that only rubs in how garbage they are at what they're intended for. It took nearly $3M. Avoid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I seem to have had a better experience than most

    • Surrey, United Kingdom,
    • Sep 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my Air three weeks ago, and my experience has been mixed, but improving. When they arrived, I was impressed by the packaging; very Apple-esque! I charged them up, put the medium buds on (I always use the medium buds) and off I went.

    First impressions were a very good fit, great mids and highs, but where's the bass?! I pushed them in as far as I could but was disappointed with that aspect of the sound. But the mids and highs compared well to my Bose wireless earphones, which was good.

    Then I wore them out and about, and the connection issues started. It seemed that whenever I turned my head, the left the right earphone would cut out briefly, but then fade back in. The fade in was a good touch, made it feel like it meant to do it (LOL).

    I've been using them on and off for about three weeks now, and I'm much happier. I've switched up to the large buds (which I don't usually need to do) and pushed them in tight, and the bass is full and the whole sound actually does compare well to my Bose pair. My Air cost me £80, and my Bose cost around £150, and the sound is comparable. The fit of the air is snug and assured, they don't feel like they'll drop out.

    The connection issues have calmed down a lot, but that may be due to how I use them. You can't have too much distance between the earphones and your phone. Usually not a problem, but if you put your phone down and walk to the other side of the room, they won't like it, which is disappointing.

    But what's most disappointing is the battery life. I don't think I've managed to get more than 1.5 to 2 hours out of them before they die. Compared to my Bose, which give me around 6 hours. This is very disappointing. Yes you pop them back into their carry case and they recharge, and maybe I just need to get used to this, but I would expect 4-6 hours. However, that may simply not be possible with this form factor.

    Overall, compared to my initial thoughts, I'm very happy with my Air by crazybaby earphones, the sound is great, connection problems can be managed, the battery is poor but that may be expected, and they're by far the best headphones I've ever had for £80! No doubt!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worthless product

    I received my Air headphones in July. They immediately suffered from constant dropouts. In one 4-minute song, I counted 9! This made the product unusable. I contacted their support, and they said they would get back to me in 36 hours. Two months went by and I still heard nothing, so I reached out to them again. Their response illustrates how much of a sham product this is better than I ever could.

    Enjoy:

    We understand that you concern is “dropping out and connection” and we would be glad to assist for the same.

    In practice, all Bluetooth device (even mono headset) will in some conditions give slight connection problems. Ordinarily in our day to day equipments we don’t noticed as it is not streaming music in our ears. However, the sound may cutout temporarily if the connections is lost for longer than the earbud’s buffer can compensate for. We have seen that the earbuds will work better with some phone models than others, depending on how well that music player’s antenna was designed.

    For an optimal listening experience, please reduce the object in between your left earbud and music player. As bluetooth signals do not cross through the body. It is also important to minimize interfering objects between the bud themselves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy these headphones

    Pros: Look good. Seem well made. Tube case/recharging pod looks cool and works well. Sound quality is good.

    Cons: They cut out ALL THE TIME. Whether you are just walking along or even just moving your head, both headphones intermittently cut out. No matter how many times you re-connect them. I'm using these with an iPhone 6s.

    Their customer service is TERRIBLE. They've twice replied to my email explaining my problem and requesting a full refund with the same copy-and-paste reply asking me to detail my issue, so I've replied repeating the problems I have, and I've had no reply to that email for ten days. I've sent another new email this morning stating I'm going to get IndieGoGo involved if they don't reply within 48 hours. This has put me off buying anything substantial through crowdfunding in the future.

    You should be able to give zero stars as this product doesn't even deserve one. Don't buy these headphones!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Um, no.

    I bought them off the IndieGoGo campaign. I cannot get the Air to connect with my Galaxy S8+. I've tried to connect several times. I've read some of the other reviewers, "tips," and have had no luck. I didn't have any problems connecting to my Apple products (iTouch and iPad), but I've had zero luck with my actual phone.

    Customer service is non-existent. I've called and emailed several times. I've yet to receive any help other. I did receive an automated reply, that's it.

    I will say, once connected with Apple products, they sounded - decent. Not great. Not bad, just decent. I would rate the sound a 6.8 out of 10. Far better options available on the market. I did have constant disconnection issues when I turned my head.

    Not happy. Pass on these.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from this hoax product

    I got these wireless headphones thinking they'll "raise the bar." All performance promises are completely overrated. Low sound quality, cuts out as many times as regular wireless buds, battery life pathetic, Customer Service unacceptable, and besides the design being stylish and lightweight, this is a waste of money. Crazybaby owes a huge apology to all early backers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Do not live up to the promises or the hype

    • Italy,
    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'll get straight to the point.

    In my opinion, the sound quality is MUCH better than average. That's compared to any of the eight different Bluetooth pairs/brands I own. The Air by crazybaby are also better than most wired earbuds, not full-size headphones (that wouldn't be a fair comparison), but better than earbuds. That's all if, if, IF you can get BOTH left and right Airs to actually produce music!

    I am using them as I sit here writing this and the RIGHT earbud continually cuts out. I'm just sitting at a desk, not moving my head or my body around and the RIGHT earbud just won't continually produce sound! That REALLY RUINS the sound experience. The LEFT bud stays connected reasonably well but NOT as well as the "hyped up" copy of the IndieGoGo campaign would make you believe.

    I don't have really ANY other major issues with them. The charging cradle open/close is a lot ODD and not a very high-quality feeling, but I might get used to that. If ONLY the RIGHT earbud would stay connected, I'd be tempted to be happy.

    The OTHER ISSUE is that I paid for TWO sets of these and I've only received ONE and have not received any response from "customer service." I paid by PayPal, and I'm going to attempt to get them to credit back the charge. I suggest that if EVERYONE who is dissatisfied with the Air by crazybaby would do the same, the company MIGHT take notice.

    My more than two cents.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 61

Write a Review for Air by crazybaby!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review