About Air Dragon

Because Air Dragon simply plugs into your car’s 12V outlet and fills your tires wherever you go, the manufacturer calls it “the easiest and fastest way to fill your tires.”

With its “powerful” micro-compressor, ergonomic handle, easy-to-read gauge, and long, flexible pressure hose, the company promises that Air Dragon will help anyone take away their fear and guesswork from inflating tires. Simply keep Air Dragon in your glove compartment or trunk and pull it out whenever needed, without having to rely on roadside service.

It’s easy to see how a device like Air Dragon could come in handy, whether you’re just looking to top tires off with a little air, or need to buy some time until you can safely make it to a repair shop. But can you expect Air Dragon to work as quickly and easily as the manufacturer makes it seem? Even if you can, is Air Dragon your best option? We’ll explore all of these factors in this review.

How Does Air Dragon Work?

While the precise details are far outside the scope of this review, traditional air compressors essentially work using a piston to draw air into a chamber, which is then routed into a holding tank. The more that’s added to this tank, the greater the pressure. Then, once the air pressure gets high enough, it can be used to inflate tires, power different tools, and even power cars.

We’re not shown exactly how Air Dragon works, but instead of a holding tank, it appears Air Dragon draws in outside air and routes it directly through a flexible hose, into your car’s tires.

Now, Air Dragon’s manufacturer makes this “micro compressor” seem unique, but is it?

Are There Other Products Like Air Dragon?

We could tell you, but finding out the answer to this question is as easy as typing “handheld tire inflator” into any search engine (hint: there are a lot). Of course, not all of these will be designed exactly like Air Dragon, but from a functionality perspective, they’re essentially identical.

Perhaps the biggest differences between Air Dragon and the competition are price (which we’ll talk more about in a second) and power. What’s this mean for you?

The majority of these handheld tire inflators are powered by interchangeable battery packs that can also be used to power other cordless tools, like drills. In a lot of instances, these batteries provide about 19 volts of power, which translates into about 200 PSI.

On the other hand, Air Dragon’s 12V battery is attached to a cord that plugs into the cigarette adapter in your dashboard. While the manufacturer doesn’t tell us how long this cord is or how much pressure Air Dragon will generate, we found some similar options from third-party manufacturers with 11-12 foot cords that claimed to fill tires to 30 PSI in about 90 seconds.

How Much Does Air Dragon Cost?

One Air Dragon handheld compressor is priced at $39.99 plus $9.99 S&H. You can purchase a second at checkout for an additional $19.99 S&H.

Each Air Dragon includes a home adapter kit that can help you inflate anything around the house, including balls, pool floats, bicycle tires, strollers, and more.

Air Dragon comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H. If you purchased the BOGO offer, this means you’ll immediately lose $30, plus whatever it’ll cost to ship them back to the manufacturer.

To request a refund, Telebrands’ customer service department can be reached at 855-668-1655. What do we know about Telebrands?

What Kind of Reputation Does Air Dragon Have with Customers?

The HighYa team specializes in reviewing many ASOTV products as soon as they’re launched, so there weren’t any online customer reviews for Air Dragon at the time of our research.

However, Telebrands is the top dog in the As Seen on TV industry, having launched hundreds of products during its 30 years in business, including recent options like Pocket Hose Ultra, TouCan Can Opener, Mighty Blaster, and many others.

Overall, these products (and most As Seen on TV products in general, including those from other manufacturers) tend come with 2-star or lower average ratings here on HighYa. Why? Common complaints center around failure to work as advertised, poor quality, and difficult customer service experiences.

From a company perspective, Telebrands was recently in hot water with the NJ Attorney General’s office for allegedly violating the Consumer Fraud Act. The company ended up settling for a $550K fine and admitted no wrongdoing.

Telebrands also had a C- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 955 closed complaints (as of 5/12/16), most of which referenced the same concerns above.

Does all of this have any bearing on what you’ll experience with Air Dragon? We’re not saying this is the case—only that it’s worth considering.

Will Air Dragon Help You Say “Goodbye” to Roadside Assistance?

Like we mentioned at the beginning of this review, it’s not difficult to foresee dozens of instances where Air Dragon would be useful—stranded on the side of the road with your little ones, as but one example. Whether or not it’ll help you avoid calling roadside assistance, though, depends on a variety of other factors.

Is your tire punctured so severely that it’ll no longer hold air? If so, that means it will need to be changed, rendering Air Dragon obsolete. Then, do you have the necessary tools to accomplish this? Do you know how to change a tire safely? Even so, are you in a safe enough area where you can change your tire without risking injury (e.g. not the narrow shoulder of a busy freeway)?

Taking these factors into consideration, there seems to be a fairly narrow set of car-related circumstances ideally suited to Air Dragon; namely, if your tire is running a little low from normal use. Outside of this, it seems like Air Dragon might only be useful as a replacement for a manual air pump to inflate things like bike tires, balls, and so forth.

However, if you’ve had your eye on one of these handheld tire inflators for a while but balked at the price, even with Air Dragon’s fairly steep S&H, you’ll still come in $30+ less than much of the competition. And if you spring for the BOGO offer, you could get two Air Dragons for less than one of the other guys—just keep in mind that you’ll lose a ton in S&H if you process a refund.

What’d you think about Air Dragon? Did it perform well, or was the commercial just full of hot air? Give us your insight by writing a review below!

More on “As Seen on TV” and Infomercial Products:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

41 Consumer Reviews for Air Dragon

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  37
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 41
Sort reviews by:

  • Should be in politics

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Feb 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Looks good, well promoted, does not pump air. I tried to call Air Dragon for assistance, and after several attempts, got a heavily accented female. The person who could tell me if I was using it correctly was not in the office, and since I did not buy it from them, they could not help me more. I bought it from Pulse TV, so I called them, and they quickly understood, as if they had heard the story before, and promptly volunteered to send me another. They did not want me to ship the first one back. This tells me it really has no value because it is not worth return postage.

    The second Air Dragon, too, does not pump air. It would be great for a political office because it looks good, sounds good, but cannot hold air.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    What a joke. Do not buy this product.

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Dec 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Takes way to long to air a tire. Parts are too hard to use in a timely manner. It has not enough power to air a tire. Setting the PSI does not work; it jumps back and forth to different settings. It looks good but is a cheap piece a junk. Run away from this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    The batteries don't charge!

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Dec 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It worked the first time, but then the batteries won't CHARGE. I would like new batteries.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Air Dragon

    • The Villages, FL,
    • Dec 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is junk. It does not inflate a tire on a car at all. Save your money. It might do a basketball or a bike tire, but for a car, it's junk. The unit gets so hot while unsuccessfully trying to blow up a tire that you can barely touch it. I would recommend this product to NOBODY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    This is a cheap knock off of the Air Hawk

    • Menomonee Falls, WI,
    • Dec 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is hard to use. Parts don't fit well. Cables have to be disconnected after each use. Plugs come loose. I will give them bad feedback on Facebook! The zipper arrived UNSTITCHED. I am ashamed to give this as a gift. I would like a REFUND.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Zero star rating, absolutely pathetic item

    I wanted to give no stars! This is the worst item and scam I've ever bought.

    I purchased the deluxe model. The item does not match the instructions. The battery charge pack doesn't have a light on the indicator to show the charge full or empty. The item case does not close when the battery pack inside and plugged into the cable connector. The charge adaptor cable does not fit the unit properly, so with no indicator light, there is no way of knowing if the unit is charging or not.

    I left the unit for weeks charging, still no light. When I tried to use it, by both the battery and via the car plug, the safety switch does not work, I can't turn the unit off as there is no on/off switch, and it just starts automatically with a lot of noise. I didn't hear on the TV advertisements that after a short time the unit stops, then auto starts again. When I attached it to the tire, the machine could hardly keep going, as if running out of power. I tried another tire and when I tightened the nozzle, a very large squeal was occurring, so I immediately removed it. I tried a very flat bike tire and it did nothing.

    This unit is unsafe as it can't be switched off, is very unclear on whether the unit is operating correctly, and cannot be trusted for the correct inflating pressure. I would definitely not recommend this product. I want a refund, especially after ordering in July, then having to wait weeks as item out of stock, then finally receiving a very disappointing product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work

    I bought the Air Dragon, tried to fill a flat volleyball, and it made noise but nothing seemed to happen. I would set the PSI and squeeze the trigger, and it would go to zero. I kept trying, but it did not seem like any air was coming out. I exchanged it for another unit and tried to fill a football, and still nothing happened. It made noise, and the PSI kept going to zero when I pulled the trigger, but I kept trying and it did not inflate the ball. It will have to be returned.

    Very disappointing, but I am glad I did not put it in my trunk hoping it would work in an emergency.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 13 people found this review helpful

    It works well.

    • Ottawa, IL,
    • Nov 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It works if you read and follow the instructions. I used it on my work truck tire. The pressure was 15 pounds and I filled it to 35 pounds in about 10 minutes. I used it on my van tires, the pressure was 30 pounds in all four tires, and I filled them to 35 pounds in about 10 minutes for all four tires. The automatic shut off worked well; it shut off at the 35 pounds.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Poor to terrible service

    • Gretna, LA,
    • Oct 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called several times to talk to a rep and was told it is an 8 - 22-minute wait. On hold up to one hour, no answer. I finally got a rep and told her the Air hose didn't work. After some discussion, I was told that a new product was being shipped.

    I got a box from Air Dragon with a new airgun, but no hose. So now I have two guns but still can't put air in my tire. I started trying to talk to service again. Four calls at different times and over one and a half hour waits with no answer. They advertise 100% satisfaction, but right now I am at 0% and counting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 18, 2017

      Dave S

      This is a rip-off. I bought this for my wife's car, I figured it would be good in an emergency on the road. When the low tire pressure reading lit up on the dash several weeks later, it was a good time to find out if it was as good as advertised. The LED, to set the desired inflation didn't work properly and the unit shut down several times in the process. When it did start, it ran for about three minutes then shut down. The low tire pressure sensor was still lit.

      I'm glad I found out about this piece of crap before my wife got stuck with it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Pathetic

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Oct 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very pathetic item. It won't even maintain pressure unless you sit it on the ground and don't put a hand near it. The pressure just bounces up and down. It does NOT inflate a car tire and gets super hot fast.

    Useless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Garbage

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Absolute waste of money and time. I bought this dud from eBay seller and am really quite disgusted. This product's tire pressure gauge was reading over 20 PSI over the actual pressure. Nasty little piece of garbage. I would never recommend this product to anybody else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 41

Write a Review for Air Dragon!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review