About Air Dragon

Because Air Dragon simply plugs into your car’s 12V outlet and fills your tires wherever you go, the manufacturer calls it “the easiest and fastest way to fill your tires.”

With its “powerful” micro-compressor, ergonomic handle, easy-to-read gauge, and long, flexible pressure hose, the company promises that Air Dragon will help anyone take away their fear and guesswork from inflating tires. Simply keep Air Dragon in your glove compartment or trunk and pull it out whenever needed, without having to rely on roadside service.

It’s easy to see how a device like Air Dragon could come in handy, whether you’re just looking to top tires off with a little air, or need to buy some time until you can safely make it to a repair shop. But can you expect Air Dragon to work as quickly and easily as the manufacturer makes it seem? Even if you can, is Air Dragon your best option? We’ll explore all of these factors in this review.

How Does Air Dragon Work?

While the precise details are far outside the scope of this review, traditional air compressors essentially work using a piston to draw air into a chamber, which is then routed into a holding tank. The more that’s added to this tank, the greater the pressure. Then, once the air pressure gets high enough, it can be used to inflate tires, power different tools, and even power cars.

We’re not shown exactly how Air Dragon works, but instead of a holding tank, it appears Air Dragon draws in outside air and routes it directly through a flexible hose, into your car’s tires.

Now, Air Dragon’s manufacturer makes this “micro compressor” seem unique, but is it?

Are There Other Products Like Air Dragon?

We could tell you, but finding out the answer to this question is as easy as typing “handheld tire inflator” into any search engine (hint: there are a lot). Of course, not all of these will be designed exactly like Air Dragon, but from a functionality perspective, they’re essentially identical.

Perhaps the biggest differences between Air Dragon and the competition are price (which we’ll talk more about in a second) and power. What’s this mean for you?

The majority of these handheld tire inflators are powered by interchangeable battery packs that can also be used to power other cordless tools, like drills. In a lot of instances, these batteries provide about 19 volts of power, which translates into about 200 PSI.

On the other hand, Air Dragon’s 12V battery is attached to a cord that plugs into the cigarette adapter in your dashboard. While the manufacturer doesn’t tell us how long this cord is or how much pressure Air Dragon will generate, we found some similar options from third-party manufacturers with 11-12 foot cords that claimed to fill tires to 30 PSI in about 90 seconds.

How Much Does Air Dragon Cost?

One Air Dragon handheld compressor is priced at $39.99 plus $9.99 S&H. You can purchase a second at checkout for an additional $19.99 S&H.

Each Air Dragon includes a home adapter kit that can help you inflate anything around the house, including balls, pool floats, bicycle tires, strollers, and more.

Air Dragon comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H. If you purchased the BOGO offer, this means you’ll immediately lose $30, plus whatever it’ll cost to ship them back to the manufacturer.

To request a refund, Telebrands’ customer service department can be reached at 855-668-1655. What do we know about Telebrands?

What Kind of Reputation Does Air Dragon Have with Customers?

The HighYa team specializes in reviewing many ASOTV products as soon as they’re launched, so there weren’t any online customer reviews for Air Dragon at the time of our research.

However, Telebrands is the top dog in the As Seen on TV industry, having launched hundreds of products during its 30 years in business, including recent options like Pocket Hose Ultra, TouCan Can Opener, Mighty Blaster, and many others.

Overall, these products (and most As Seen on TV products in general, including those from other manufacturers) tend come with 2-star or lower average ratings here on HighYa. Why? Common complaints center around failure to work as advertised, poor quality, and difficult customer service experiences.

From a company perspective, Telebrands was recently in hot water with the NJ Attorney General’s office for allegedly violating the Consumer Fraud Act. The company ended up settling for a $550K fine and admitted no wrongdoing.

Telebrands also had a C- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 955 closed complaints (as of 5/12/16), most of which referenced the same concerns above.

Does all of this have any bearing on what you’ll experience with Air Dragon? We’re not saying this is the case—only that it’s worth considering.

Will Air Dragon Help You Say “Goodbye” to Roadside Assistance?

Like we mentioned at the beginning of this review, it’s not difficult to foresee dozens of instances where Air Dragon would be useful—stranded on the side of the road with your little ones, as but one example. Whether or not it’ll help you avoid calling roadside assistance, though, depends on a variety of other factors.

Is your tire punctured so severely that it’ll no longer hold air? If so, that means it will need to be changed, rendering Air Dragon obsolete. Then, do you have the necessary tools to accomplish this? Do you know how to change a tire safely? Even so, are you in a safe enough area where you can change your tire without risking injury (e.g. not the narrow shoulder of a busy freeway)?

Taking these factors into consideration, there seems to be a fairly narrow set of car-related circumstances ideally suited to Air Dragon; namely, if your tire is running a little low from normal use. Outside of this, it seems like Air Dragon might only be useful as a replacement for a manual air pump to inflate things like bike tires, balls, and so forth.

However, if you’ve had your eye on one of these handheld tire inflators for a while but balked at the price, even with Air Dragon’s fairly steep S&H, you’ll still come in $30+ less than much of the competition. And if you spring for the BOGO offer, you could get two Air Dragons for less than one of the other guys—just keep in mind that you’ll lose a ton in S&H if you process a refund.

What’d you think about Air Dragon? Did it perform well, or was the commercial just full of hot air? Give us your insight by writing a review below!

More on “As Seen on TV” and Infomercial Products:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

53 Consumer Reviews for Air Dragon

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  48
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 53
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Piece of junk!

    • Rockland, MA,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Looks great, used it once when I got it. I tried it a year later, it wouldn't work in a cigarette lighter. I charged the battery pack 24 hours and that wouldn't make it work. A piece of crap, waste of $50. The $11 one from Family Dollar you can't break.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Air Dragon is a fraud!

    • Simi Valley, CA,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Having seen the Air Dragon advertised on television for a number of months, it appeared to me to be a piece of convenient equipment I could use to inflate my auto and motorcycle tires from time to time, when they ran low on air from normal use or from not using the vehicle often enough. I put in my order and got the Air Dragon in a poorly packaged cardboard box that appeared to be made from old cardboard boxes. Once into the box, another box of poor quality contained the Air Dragon.

    I looked at the instruction sheet but could not figure out how to inflate my tires. At some point, I realized that the second part of the portable battery operated drill-sized gadget had not been shipped with my air dragon.

    I called the phone number supplied by my credit card account review and obtained the telephone number and called and explained what had happened. The associate kept asking me to further examine the box and the storage compartment of the Air Dragon under the handle or grip. I looked thoroughly and could find nothing. The associate told me that it was very unusual for the hose not to come with the machine. He then told me that he would send me a whole new Air Dragon as individual parts apparently are not available for the Air Dragon.

    Six days later, I got a new Air Dragon from a delivery truck. The packing material was completely different than the first one, but still of poor quality. The Air Dragon had in the cord storage compartment, the necessary little hose. I plugged the Air Dragon in and initially it did not work. I tried a second accessory outlet in my car, and finally, after running the engine a few minutes, the Air Dragon compressor came on. I followed the instructions but at first had difficulty making the digital read-out screen work. Finally, I got it to function and I dialed in the recommended tire pressures for my car. After about 90 seconds or so, the Air Dragon shut off. There was no additional message with the status of the job which had been performed. I turned on the car's tire pressure monitoring system and sure enough, the exact amount of air required for my car was reached by the Air Dragon.

    As I screwed the air hose onto the other tire stems, the hose began to have difficulty both screwing on and screwing off. I put the Air Dragon aside and then a few weeks later I needed to add a few pounds of air to my car tires. Again, screwing the hose on and taking it off began to become a difficult ordeal. Once on, the Air Dragon did its job, although the unit became, "too hot." By the time I reached the 4th tire, the hose would not screw onto the valve stem. I assumed that the threads on the unit female section had gone bad. I tried to look inside with a magnifier and a flashlight, but I couldn't really see anything wrong.

    Final story - the Air Dragon just doesn't work and is made with materials that are so cheap it is no surprise that the Air Dragon doesn't hold up. It is not a product of Mercantile quality and therefore it is part of a fraudulent TV hoax designed just to get the customer to part with his or her money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Smoking pump

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Jul 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought Air Dragon for seven months to carry in my car, just in case I would need it. Well yesterday was the day I needed it. My tire was low but not to low. In my head I was like yeah I finally get to use it. Well big mistake. I plugged it into the lighter outlet and started putting air in the tire, then the dragon started smoking, turned off, and then I unplugged it. It doesn't work now even if it did, I would never use it again. That's 35 dollars down the drain.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Weak air hose - no product support

    • Anoka, MN,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two of them. After the fourth time inflating a tire, the air hose ruptured. I have tried to contact Air Dragon to see about a replacement hose, and after several months, I have not gotten a response.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Absolute junk!

    • Buffalo, NY,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't waste your money people, not worth even $1.99. It stopped working while I was using it the fourth time inflating my grandkids kick balls. They will not replace it. It has a 30-day warranty and it took almost 30 days to get it after I ordered it. It's a piece of junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    This product is CRAP!

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Apr 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't waste your money. This thing is nothing but a toy! It takes over 15 minutes to pump a normal auto tire up to 30 psi, and continually cuts out during air delivery. After several uses the red plastic "nose" brakes into two pieces rendering the thing as useless.

    It is ok for soccer balls or similar, but not for auto tires!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Review of my experience with Air Dragon

    I used the Air Dragon on two different occasions, and it worked fine. However, when I needed to use it again for the third time, it didn't work, nothing! Right now, it's useless. I'll let you know what happens after I contact the company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Air Dragon

    • Taree, Australia,
    • Feb 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got sucked in by the TV ad and bought an Air Dragon. What a waste of money. It is clumsy and difficult to set, and the gauge appears to be cheap junk. Now I got to work out how to return it without costing the earth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    The thing died right off the bat

    • Seeley Lake, MT,
    • Feb 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife got me one of these for Xmas and used it once for the first time just today and the thing quit and smoke started to roll out of it! What a piece of JUNK. I thought it might be something minor so I took it apart to look at, and the piston rod (plastic) broke off the piston for the little compressor, locked it up, and that was the end of it. I would not buy one of these ever again. Plastic does NOT HOLD UP. Can't anybody understand that? Oh yea, an engineer probably designed it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 21, 2018

      Paul Boellner

      I purchased the Air Dragon and used it once. I just tried it again and it does not work. I believe the compressor is bad. I want my money back.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy! Do not waste your money!

    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Feb 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Being a pretty savvy bloke regarding cars, I am acutely embarrassed that I was sucked in by the TVC and glossy spiel about this worthless piece of junk.

    It's so gutless, it couldn't pull the skin off a rice custard. After fiddling for 10 minutes after charging to close the battery compartment and thread the Schraeder valve fitting onto my wife's car's valve stem, it took FORTY minutes to inflate the tire from 10 PSI to 35 PSI, including a 15-minute auto shutoff because it was overheating.

    Oh well, I thought, at least I'll use it on our pool toys.

    Uh-uh. After waiting a noisy 15 minutes for Air Dragon to put a bum puff of air into our inflatable toucan, I threw it away and in 10 breathes had our little friend good to go.

    I can only hope that Consumer Affairs departments of Government are on the case and forcing them to take this off the market because it's not fit for the advertised purpose of inflating ANYTHING.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Very unhappy with product, company, and service!

    • Rimrock, AZ,
    • Feb 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered an Air Dragon a few months ago. I tried it out and found it not to be as handy as I thought and should have returned right away. I pulled it out again after a few months, and the Air Dragon will not work at all. I called and was told sorry, it was over thirty days and would I like to buy another one. Are they kidding?

    Do not bother with this piece of junk. It also tells me volumes about the manufacturer TeleBrands. I would never recommend or buy any product they put out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 53

Write a Review for Air Dragon!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review