About Air Hawk Compressor

The handheld, cordless Air Hawk Compressor promises to pull in the outside air, compress it, and route into whatever you need—whether car and bike tires, toys, sports equipment, air mattresses, and more.

According to the company, Air Hawk is fast, convenient, and easy to use, and is able to inflate any tire “in just seconds,” while its compact design allows it to be stored in just about any cabinet, car, or a drawer.

We’re also told that Air Hawk comes equipped with 3 different nozzles, a digital LED display, a built-in light, and an auto-stop feature that will shut down when once the correct tire pressure is reached, as well as a rechargeable battery.

Sure, a device like the Air Hawk Compressor might help you avoid bulky compressors and messy canned air, but will it deliver a solid value? Can you expect it to be there for you in the event of an emergency? Will it last?

You want to know as much as possible about Air Hawk Compressor before handing over your money, and we aim to deliver. So, let’s start with compressor basics.

How Do Air Compressors Work?

Whether you’re talking about small handheld devices like Air Hawk, or giant machines that have to be pulled behind a truck, air compressors can be useful in just about every aspect of life.

In order to do their job, most air compressors use a reciprocating piston to create a temporary vacuum, which pushes open a valve to allow a small amount of air into a holding tank.

From there, the more strokes the piston performs, the more air enters the tank, where it’s stored under pressure. When this pressure is released, the energy it contains can be used to power tools, air up your tires, and much more.

Given what we just learned, does Air Hawk mean the definition of an air compressor?

Taking a look at the picture below, it appears that Air Hawk doesn’t feature any kind of holding tank. Instead, it seems like it’s simply pulling the outside air straight through and forcing it into whatever’s needed.

Given this, we think a more appropriate name would be ‘Air Hawk Tire Inflator’ than Air Hawk Compressor. Let’s continue this thought in the next section.

Does the Air Hawk Compressor Have Any Competition?

Using what we just learned, if you search online for “handheld air compressor” or “handheld tire inflator,” you’ll find several options that are meaningfully similar to Air Hawk, including the Airman Rechargeable Inflator (which also features an LED gauge), the Craftsman Cordless Inflator Compressor Digital Pump, and many others.

And if you slightly change your search term to “portable tire inflator,” you’ll find dozens more options that might be slightly larger than handheld devices like Air Hawk Compressor, but could foreseeably meet your needs just as well.

In fact, except for the color scheme, the Air Hawk Compressor appears to be essentially identical to another ASOTV product named the Airman Handheld Airgun Compressor—although it’s priced much higher at $80.

Speaking of price, you’ll find that many of the handheld options fall between $40 and $70, while the slightly larger portable models come in lower at between $30 and $50. Comparatively, what will you pay for the Air Hawk Compressor?

How Much Does the Air Hawk Compressor Cost?

The Air Hawk Compressor is priced at 2 payments of $29.95 plus $14.95 S&H, in addition to a $1 web service fee.

For this price, you’ll receive one Air Hawk unit, a rechargeable battery, AC charger, and 3 nozzles. However, all orders are automatically upgraded to the Deluxe model, which comes with a carrying case, car charger, and built-in LED light.

All Air Hawk orders come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H. To request one, OnTel’s customer service department can be reached at 844-570-9860.

For Canada orders, according to www.buyairhawk.ca, Air Hawk Compressor is priced at 2 payments of $39.95 plus $9.95 for shipping & handling.

What Can We Learn From Air Hawk Compressor Reviews?

In order to make sure you have the information you need, when you need it, we tend to review products as soon as they hit the market, which means they often don’t have any customer feedback yet.

However, we’ve reviewed dozens of other OnTel products over the years, including Big Vision Eyewear, Veggetti, Foot Angel, and many others. What’s everyone saying?

HighYa readers seem to rate these products an average of 2.5 stars. While many claimed to have had positive experiences, the most common complaints referenced lower quality than expected, that they didn’t perform as advertised, and inflated S&H charges.

Does this mean you’ll encounter the same after placing your order for the Air Hawk Compressor? Without testing it ourselves, we can’t be sure. But given the reputation for ASOTV products in general (not just those from OnTel), we think you should have a full understanding of the situation before placing an order.

Who Might the Air Hawk Compressor Work Best For?

As we explained above, in order for something to be considered an air compressor, it must 1) compress air and 2) store the air and use it to create energy. However, Air Hawk appears to do neither of these.

Instead, it seems to simply route air from one location (the outside) to another location (the inside of a tire or ball, for example). As such, Air Hawk seems to fall into the tire inflator category that it does the air compressor one.

Given this, if you’re looking for something to power tools, clear debris, or quickly seat tires (such as on a mountain bike), you’d probably be better served by a more traditional compressor.

On the other hand, if you simply need something that can quickly and easily inflate tires, then Air Hawk seems like it might fit the bill.

Just remember that we’re not told about the type of battery it contains, so we can’t know how long it’ll hold a charge. As such, if you’re thinking about keeping one in your glove compartment for emergencies, be sure to test the battery and recharge often.

Finally, it’s worth noting that you’ll be putting at least $15 in non-refundable S&H charges (plus whatever it’ll cost to ship back if you’re dissatisfied) on the line by giving the Air Hawk Compressor a try.

What’d you think about the Air Hawk Compressor? Tells us your thoughts by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

54 Consumer Reviews for Air Hawk Compressor

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 4 3 star: 4 2 star: 3 1 star:  35
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 54
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Florida,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have only used it plugged in to the cigarette lighter because I heard it works better than the battery.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Jul 12, 2018

    Great product!

    I have two car tires that chronically leak air. After going to dozens of gas stations whose air compressors are broken, I finally broke down and bought this at Walgreens. Best 60 bucks I've ever spent. I have used it dozens of times on all four tires, and it has performed perfectly. Yes, it is fine if you screw it on the valve stem and leave it hanging from the top.

    I always follow the rules about never pumping air for more than 15 minutes at a time, or it will overheat. 15 minutes of pumping will get you a very long way though it isn't quite enough to completely fill a dead flat car tire. I have noticed it doesn't have a tip for the smaller bicycle valve stems however.

    (read moreread less...)

  • So far so very good

    • Gwynedd, Wales, United Kingdom,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received and tried out my Air Hawk max for the first time. I was a bit worried as subsequent to ordering had seen a number of negative reviews. But you need not have worried as mine performed exactly as per instructions. I charged the battery for the advised three hours, ignoring the green light that appeared after one hour. The setup procedure went exactly as stated and the ample 50 cm flexible air hose had a quick snap on adaptor for easy connection to the tire valve. Pull the trigger and it burst into life with negligible noise and automatically stopped at the required pressure. I did this for all 4 Jaguar tires from about 32 psi to 36 with no effort or loss of power and no noticeable heat. Everything stored neatly away in the case.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Piece of junk

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jun 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a flat offroad. I had never used it before this so it's brand new. I put it on the tire and about halfway through pumping it made a whirring noise and stopped pumping. I tried customer service, no luck. I tried to email, no answer. The warranty is only 30 days so I figured I'd take it apart and find the problem. WELL, the large master gear is stripped and it is mostly made of plastic except for a motor mount, etc. I would never recommend this to anyone; NO customer service, NO warranty, NO parts, etc., etc.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money!

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It took over three months for this misrepresented piece of trash to arrive, and when it did, pieces fell off as the temperature increased. Send me your money instead, at least I’ll say thanks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Seems to do what it's supposed to

    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the Air Hawk Pro a couple of months ago and I haven't had any issues with it at all. It does a decent job on tires and inflatable toys. I used it recently to inflate a completely flat car tire and it inflated to the proper operating pressure in around two minutes. The device did get hot, but I was still able to comfortably remove the unit from the tire valve. No complaints on this product as yet.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Replacement or upgrade parts are NOT available!

    • Louisiana,
    • May 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased an Air Hawk Pro from HSN which has a short, hose - less than 6" long. Unless the valve stem is at the bottom of the tire, the unit has to be held, which defeats the purpose of being able to press the button and let the tire fill.

    When I saw the Air Hawk Max, which includes a 20" hose, I thought it would be simple to purchase a 20" hose to use with my Air Hawk Pro. I'd already spent money on the unit - why would the manufacturer not sell me an additional hose for $10-$20?

    I contacted the Customer Service department by email explaining the situation. Here's the response I received:

    "Dear Air Hawk Customer,

    We are committed to providing the best products and friendliest customer service.

    We apologize for the inconvenience. The Air Hawk Max is offered in retail stores

    only. We do not have replacement hoses for sale. Thank you for your business.

    Best regards,

    Air Hawk Customer Care Team"

    What a joke! Friendly customer service?! Customers need GOOD customer service. If they're committed to providing good customer service, they should sell not only the longer hose but also replacement hoses! What kind of company doesn't sell a replacement part for their products? The only ones I know are those that don't stand behind their products.

    I WOULD NOT buy this product again knowing what I now know.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great

    • Aston, PA,
    • May 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I use my Air Hawk all the time. It's great for keeping up the tire pressure on all of my vehicles. The Air Hawk does get warm after continuous use so keep that in mind during use. Overall, I am very happy with this product. I would recommend this to my friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    If I could give this a zero I would

    I purchased my Air Hawk Pro mainly because for my lawn tractor, about a year ago. I hadn't needed it until a few weeks ago while going out of town (kept in the car for emergency). I had a hard time getting it to start and when it did start, I know it wasn't pumping any air into the tire. Ok, I needed it today and now it won't even work. I tried using a battery and then a 12V dc Adapter and it still didn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Overheats

    Really good to top off tire pressure monthly. As far as inflating a flat tire, no way. It constantly overheats the battery and doesn't hold up. You'll be better off with a $5.00 can of fix a flat. I am very disappointed in the Air Hawk. I would not recommend it to anyone. Not at this price. Maybe $10-$15, tops.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Perfect for me

    I got the Air Hawk for my birthday in March of 2017. I checked the air in my tires every two weeks and when necessary, filled them. Beats going to the gas stations and waiting in line, not to mention paying for AIR! It worked beautifully until yesterday. The battery is charged, I loaded it and hit the trigger. It started but then quit. I tried the corded battery, but nothing. I guess I burned it out. Because of the convenience, I will buy another. If you don't expect it to be a professional compressor, it's perfect for small needs, and it fit mine perfectly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Love the Air Hawk

    • South Carolina,
    • Mar 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recommended this to all my friends.The Air Hawk works great; no more messy cords, no heavy air compressor to drag. The Air Hawk compressor is amazing, you just set your tire pressure to go, and the Air Hawk stops when it reaches the set amount air that you need. Thanks, this product is a lifesaver.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 54

Write a Review for Air Hawk Compressor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review