Air Hawk Compressor Reviews

Air Hawk Compressor

Overall Rating

2.0

85 Customer Reviews

Summary

Air Hawk is a portable compressor that inflates air into your tires, mattresses, sporting goods, and toys. Learn what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.0 Stars out of 85 Reviews
5 Star:15% 4 Star:7% 3 Star:8% 2 Star:5% 1 Star:63%
26% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Air Hawk Compressor:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Nov 15, 2020

For light duty only

By Simon C., Alberta, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Battery doesn't last. Heats up fairly quickly. Good for light duties like balls or things that need very small air volume. Don't depend on it for road emergency or you will regret it.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Handy

Easy to use

Looks nice

Battery does not last

Heats up fairly quickly

Posted on Oct 24, 2020

What a difference a year makes?!

By Kevin W., Berkeley, CA, Verified Reviewer

I've owned an Air Hawk Portable Compressor for 2 years and advised my friend to purchase one. He then referred me to customer reviews for the product. I was shocked! Could hardly believe the comments re the price and customer service?! A complete opposite of my experience. I love this little gizmo! It's great! Dubbed it as one of my best investments. Realized benefits far outweigh the reasonable cost. I give the Air Hawk Portable Compressor 5 stars and a big thumb's up!

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Works as described and expected

Fantastic time saver

Easy to use after short learning curve

Unfortunately, learned via experience, consistent forced air creates a hot surface, but better and safer experiences afterwards

Discovered, in the worst way, only about 15 minutes of air before auto shut-off

Posted on Aug 17, 2020

Paul U

By Paul D., Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

In my first review I extolled the virtues of the Air Hawk. Well, since purchasing it on December 28th of last year and using it sparingly the thing gave up the ghost. I used it to inflate a flat tire on a couple of occasions and now it's dead. The battery charger light is green telling me the battery is fully charged but the machine is dead. I now see what the other reviewers have been reporting is correct.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It died after a few uses. I've only had it seven and a half months.

Posted on Mar 23, 2020

Good for me

By Paul U., Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I purchased the unit at the local Canadian Tire store. I've used in on my Sebring convertible's slowly leaking tire. The main reason for the purchase was for use on my '51 Lincoln Cosmopolitan. The car has a six-volt system so won't run the inflators that are plugged into the cigarette lighter/power plug. So, this portable unit is perfect to have in the old car just in case. I've mentioned this to several colleagues in the collector-car field. So far the unit has performed perfectly. No complaints.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Jan 23, 2020

Air Hawk is not customer friendly

By Fred Z., Woking, England, Verified Reviewer

After only being used 4 times it stopped producing air, the motor would run but no air came out.

I stripped it down and found that the Piston had broken off of the crankshaft. I cannot seem to be able to find a source to buy spares from Air Hawk.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 8, 2020

It will not compress!

By James L., British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

While trying to inflate my car tire, it just stopped compressing! Prior to this problem, I loved my Air Hawk! I let it rest as per instructions, but it would not compress, but the light works and the device just sort of whines! Everywhere I looked, there is no troubleshooting help, and when I called Air Hawk direct, and left a message, no one contacted me as to what I should do! Terrible customer service and I am not happy!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 8, 2019

Not good quality

By Jack H., Agoura Hills, CA, Verified Reviewer

When I used the Air Hawk for the third time it would not turn off unless I removed the battery from the pump! It is still usable, but not convenient! Also, it is not useful for a flat tire as it heats up and the hose comes out of the pump. It is reasonable for topping off a tire that is only low by a few lbs/sq in!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 6, 2019

Air Hawk battery is way too small and tube too short

By Russell S., Birmingham, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Fully charging the battery (even when new) is not enough to inflate 4 tires when upping the pressure for a heavily laden car (e.g. vacation time). The battery is woefully inadequate.

The compressed air tube is very short and could do with being 8 inches longer to reach the tire inflation point.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 16, 2019

Works for me

By Daniel R., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I bought the product at a CVS drug store on a whim. I had seen it advertised but did not know much about it. I tried one before, or a similar product I should say, but it was slow. I was pleasantly surprised by this product, but I had to remember how I broke it down after each use. It was especially good with bike tires - so much easier than my bulky electric compressor. I would not recommend a bike pump either. I liked it so much, I purchased one for my nephew.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 29, 2019

Very poor from start to finish

By David A., Augusta, GA, Verified Reviewer

After several weeks I finally received the unit. It was missing the battery pack as well as the A/C adapter. I tried many emails back and forth with the company which included pics as they requested. Obviously I was dealing with people who were uncooperative and had problems communicating in English. I finally contacted Visa and got the charges reversed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 15, 2019

Not happy

By Ann C., Mount Dora, FL, Verified Reviewer

I bought the Air Hawk specifically for my Golf Cart and Riding Lawn Mower. I bought it from HSN a year ago. I have used it three times and have had a problem each time. The battery is low already. I hate this thing. It's not even easy to screw on to the tire. Waste of good money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 14, 2019

Hot

By Sue O., Missouri, Verified Reviewer

I just bought it today and tried it on two tires. First one was fine but air hose and tire spin it got hot. Second tire was fine. Did not make the noise on second. Will take more time to try it when needed. Also assembly felt like it was getting hot too.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 1, 2019

Beware - rogue dealers

By Robert E., Isle of Man, Verified Reviewer

This inflator bears no similarity to the advertised item. I connected my new inflator, attempted to put air into one tire, it overheated and then stopped working. No redress from the company, so tried to claim through PayPal. Rogue traders informed PayPal that I had significantly altered the device, so PayPal decided in seller's favor! Do not trust these people! Device does not mirror the easy inflation shown in their videos, quality of the unit is questionable and customer service is suspect. I know I have been scammed!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 29, 2019

Still waiting on delivery

By Wayne B., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

Over 8 weeks and no product. Chinese email replies with bogus shipping numbers. Please redo your shipping number, it has shipped. Tired or waiting. Calling bank to report a scam. Ordered off of ad on Facebook.

Here is the email they sent the reply from:

发件人: Wayne Bennett

发送时间: 2019年7月11日 6:58

收件人: kai kai

主题: Re: 回复: 回复: Air Hawk purchase

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 17, 2019

Not what advertised

By Andy B., Crawfordsville, IN, Verified Reviewer

I didn’t get the battery and charger. After several e-mail exchanges with Chun Chun, I was told to just go to a store and buy a 12-volt battery. Oh yeah, I was also offered a $6.00 refund. Try to buy a 12-volt battery for $6.00. LOL.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on May 8, 2019

Problem

By Lori S., Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Hi, my Air Hawk, it stopped. I don’t want help and you just stopped and I don’t know why. It's on, everything put it in the tires, it just started and then it just stopped. I don’t know what happened so please help, or something I don’t know...help!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 12, 2019

Car charger of the Air Hawk burned out

By Deborah J., Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

I love my Air Hawk, it does what it was supposed to do until the car charger part burnt out. Now all I'm left with is the house charge part which that's not going to be any good if I'm out and about and need air because I won't be at home to recharge the second battery. The car charger thing that you stick in the little doohickey burnt out. I'm not happy.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 11, 2019

A must have inflator!

By Steve B., Brookhaven, PA, Verified Reviewer

Without a doubt one of the best gifts I ever received, to inflate car tires mainly but anything that needs inflating this Air Hawk Pro is the answer.

Keep in mind it's a handheld air delivery system, it doesn't store air, so it's really not a compressor, it's not for commercial use but if common sense is used this unit will last and last.

I have two right now, for some reason the battery wouldn't take a charge, I called the company and explained the situation.

They said don't take any charges with that battery, they not only sent me a new battery but a brand new entire replacement, and told me to keep the first one on them.

Customer service, in my opinion, is top shelf.

It's a product that is more than worth the cost, especially on a cold windy day when your car tire needs air, that's priceless.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 12, 2018

Air Hawk tire inflater

By Bob W., Bloomfield Hills, MI, Verified Reviewer

This is a terrible product. The battery was fully charged, and then dead in 36 hours. The cigarette lighter power option doesn't work at all. I tried it in two sockets. Dead. Nothing. The switch was on, not locked. Also, about 90% of the reviews online are terrible. Don't recommend this to anyone. I told the manager at Bed Bath & Beyond that they shouldn't order any more.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 12, 2018

Works good

By Dennis M., White Oak, PA, Verified Reviewer

I've used this product over six times for a slow leak I had in one tire on my car. It worked great and I was able to put 42 lbs in the tire the day I took it to the shop for repairs, and it shut off once it hit 42 lbs. It took about 12 minutes but what people don't realize is that it is operated by a small battery. It isn't meant to fill your tire as fast as a real air compressor (DUH?). It is great for an emergency, and it does the job.

Customer service sucks though.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 4, 2018

One year and done!

By Web B., Woodhaven, MI, Verified Reviewer

I have had my Air Hawk for just about one year. In that time period, I haven't had to use it all that often. I went to use it the other day for filling up an automobile tire that was low; it didn't work right and stopped filling the tire after just an increase of five pounds of air pressure. I would not have purchased it if I knew it would quit working so soon.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 28, 2018

Deceptive advertising. Worst product ever.

By Samuel C., Florida, Verified Reviewer

The commercial showing a tire inflating in seconds is a complete sham.

It takes about 10 minutes to inflate a tire, and it dangerously heats up to the point that it can burn you.

Useless, expensive, ineffective scam. Not worth $10.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 2, 2018

No support for parts

By Henry M., Texas, Verified Reviewer

Calling 1-844-570-9860 tells you to call back during work hours, regardless of day or hours called. www.AirHawkParts.com does not list parts. The rubber grommet over the threaded connector came loose and lost. I tried calling alternate numbers and was placed on hold until dropped. I will never buy another Air Hawk product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 23, 2018

Don't waste your money

By Jonathan P., Hudson Falls, NY, Verified Reviewer

It doesn't work good at all. It doesn't hold a charge and the gauge isn't accurate at all. I wish I didn't buy it. I've used it five times and have had nothing but problems every time I try to use it. I wish I could return it, but I can't. I didn't use it until a few months after I bought it, so it has been too long now.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 23, 2018

Not worth the money

By Clifton I., Bloxom, VA, Verified Reviewer

I purchased the Air Hawk in June 2018 on HSN and used it a few times. I tried to use it again and it would start and stop. When I called the company, they said that they only guarantee it for 90 days, so I paid for something that doesn't work. And it is not worth the price. The company wanted to sell me another for $50.00, no thanks.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 15, 2018

Can't tell you how good it is or isn't

By Art L., Freeport, IL, Verified Reviewer

I carried it in the car for emergency use, but when I needed it, the hose would not connect to the pump. Whatever is under the red tightening device isn't in there. I refuse to call customer service because of the bad reports about them. I'll just make it another trophy on the shelf. I still have a hand tire pump that has worked for 50 years.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 9, 2018

Love this product

By Pam J., Saint Cloud, FL, Verified Reviewer

I initially purchased the Air Hawk for my husband for Father's Day. He loved it so much he had me purchase them for my son and brothers for Christmas presents.

They are great for airing up low tires on a car or pool floats. My brother uses his on his Mule when 4 wheeling. The size and portability are awesome.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 85

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.