• 18 Customer Reviews
  • 17% Recommend This Company
1.6 out of 5
5 star: 11% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 16% 1 star: 72%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • They care more about their bottom line

    • By Yvonne L.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    A client of Desert Hope in Las Vegas, Nevada. They care more about their bottom line than their clients. Clients entrust their well being in life and death situations and all AAC cares about is money. So sad.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still sober

    Overall Experience:

    I was at the greenhouse facility in Arlington, Texas. I was there in early 2016. My experience was a positive one. I was treated like a real person. The BHT's were great, and the staff (doctors and therapists) was awesome. They did everything for me. I had housekeeping for my room and laundry. The food was excellent. All I had to do was focus on getting better and cleaning myself up.

    As with anything you want, you have to work for it. Recovery is a "me" situation. I could take care of what I needed to do while I was there. I was away from home (being from Minnesota), so no family could come and visit. I knew that when I went, and I was okay with that.

    I went through detox inpatient and IOP. It was covered by my insurance and what was not covered was taken care of by scholarship. My out of pocket cost was nothing. They followed up with me after I came home, for the first 12 months. Looking back now, I made the right choice and would tell people to go.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Happy customer

    • By Wendy Foy,
    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Mar 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My experience with American Addiction Centers was as good as it gets. I owe everything to my Higher Power, AAC, and their staff! My stay at Desert Hope was a life-changing experience, and I will have 5 years in April 2018.

    We don't live in a perfect world, so don't expect anything in this life to be perfect. Just consider what your life was like when it became so unmanageable and what risks were you willing to take.

    Don't get discouraged by a few negative reviews. The fact that only 21 people out of the tens of thousands of people that AAC has served is a statement in itself. In my opinion, that should be an "A" with the Better Business Bureau. It's a shame that a few disgruntled people could potentially persuade hundreds of people with their negative comments.

    Lives are being saved and improved at American Addiction Centers all across the USA. Don't miss out on an opportunity of a lifetime. The main focus is on RECOVERY. The founder and many of the staff are recovering addicts who want to give back, so they know firsthand the struggles and feelings of the suffering addict. They bring HOPE to all who have a desire and are willing to take the first step. There is no other place that I would have FAITH in to send a friend or family member

    Learn to LOVE yourself again. If you need help just call. They check your insurance in my case and had me on a plane that night. The window of opportunity is small when someone hits rock bottom and/or admits they have a problem. Don't waste another minute.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Committed Fraud, Supplied Fictious Documents, and Committed Negligence, Fraud, and Broke their Fiduciary Responisbility!

    • By Matt,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Apr 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They lied to me assuring they processed the necessary paper work and received permission from my probation officer to leave the state, to be told they are to that week after arriving and crossing state lines. They assured my mother that their legal department will and has done everything legally necessary for me to leave my state. They also provided a letter to my mom and my self claiming to have sent it to my probation officer, but my officer assured me she never received a letter from American Addiction Center. I showed the PO what I was provided with by American Addictions Center, they statute in Florida state requiring probation officer to accept and terminate probation if I were to complete program (though my issues are not drug related).

    I only made first contact with probation officers after my arrival at the facility and I was making this situation a major issue with every employee I was supervised by. A week later my clinician and I spoke over the phone and I found that she received no letter, voicemail, email or any other form on correspondences.

    At that time, I learned was violated due to American Addiction Center's misrepresentation, negligence, and attempt to deny and cover up attempt to intentionally cover up all wrong doing. They have destroyed my life as a result of their fraudulent statements, acts, documents, they provided or said , which appears was all done just to assure me everything was legal to enter their treatment facility. If someone would've just admitted the mistake, I could've handled it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst of the worst!

    • By Jeff S,
    • FL,
    • Jan 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    American Addiction is the worst of the worst. Since they have taken over many prior centers, those centers became horrible. E.G. Singer Island. I went to many including Texas. I HIGHLY do not recommend any American Addiction facilities. They are corporately owned, do not have enough staff, all they care about is the money period.

    If there is any other facility USE IT. Don't use ANY American Addiction, you don't get what you need. Ambrosia and FL House are MUCH better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Misleading new facility with poor administration

    • By Michelle,
    • New Brunswick, NJ,
    • Dec 12, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I went to Sunrise House and my insurance covered me for about 2 weeks. The day my insurance was cut off, they told me. They gave me no preparation. I was devastated. My counselor was amazing, but the counselors were overworked and stressed - you could just tell. There was never enough time to meet with my counselor who had to squeeze me in once a week because they were understaffed. The counselors really do care about the patients but I think AAC is all about money. They even told me they have equine and music therapy there but they don't. Some people get special privileges and are allowed to stay a full 30 days. It's all about who you know, not about how sick you are and how much help you need. They need to start being honest with patients.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do no send your child to the academy.

    • By Raelynn,
    • West Palm Beach, FL,
    • Nov 27, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you are considering sending your child to this facility please go check it out in person for yourself. NONE of what they tell you on the phone is true. The literally "sell" you on their facility and it is a sham.

    The kids there know how to work their system and get their certificate of completion. Their therapists are a joke. The staff lies continually and when they are confronted about their falsification and double talk they push off onto other staff.

    The techs provide the kids with contraband items and then kids are penalized. Set the kids up for failure.

    Do your own investigations. This company is profit driven not patient driven. They are a sham.

     

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dessert hope is bad

    • By Bob,
    • Las Vegas,
    • Oct 4, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Just got back and my therapist was an idiot and he called my girlfriend to make me stay and he now is in charge of IOP. He just cared about the money, well that's all they care about. Said they would help me with therapy, ha what a joke. The BHT'S would do treatment and would put a movie on and they are not or should not be running a class, because they really don't know. I'm very surprised that they don't have lawsuit because when I was there I notice the sex, drugs and abuse they have. There also I saw a young woman get her behind grabbed and she wanted her parents and they did not let her call them. All they did was ship the guy to Florida. This place is nasty inside and out. If I was the owner I would show up with not saying anything, but then again he is all about the money because that's what my therapist made me think.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Didn't work for me

    • By CJ,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Aug 8, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I stayed only a short time, due to the neglect, violating my civil rights not allowing me to call my family, or 911, they had all my credit cards so I couldn't go any where, wounded up in ER a few days later just like a lot of other people while I was there. The only good thing I can say is that BHT's knew I was being neglected and told me they wish they could do some thing but really fear loosing their jobs or worse.

    I went for help but did not have a chance, I will tell all when I can. I stress that you should please do your home work before going into this facility or any for that matter. I had Trauma and actually a lot of it and this place added to it. That's the the truth.

    If you want a spa and just to relax and have the money do that, or really want sobriety, look somewhere else. Run from this place because all they want is your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off - do not use.

    • By Joanne,
    • Ohio,
    • Jun 30, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Please do not use their facilities. They do not provide services they list. The California facility was basically a sober living house. Everything about this place is shameful. Do not send your loved ones here.

     

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The Greenhouse, Grand Prarie, TX

    • By Anonymous,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Jun 26, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was recently a client at The Greenhouse in Texas. Like many others, I arrived late in the evening (nearing midnight) and was greeted with a breathalyzer test and more forms than I signed to buy my house. The staff member who went through the forms with me seemed more interested in getting done with me than explaining what I was signing. In fact, I had no clue what I was signing. I still don't. Numerous efforts to get copies of these forms have failed.

    Day 1 began with 6:30am blood draw. (A little early to be waking someone who is on drugs or alcohol if you ask me.) I received no orientation or tour of the facility so I had absolutely no idea where I had to go for groups, classes, meals, or to use the restroom. Fortunately, there were some very nice clients that gave me the tour later in the day.

    Almost immediately the BHTs (Behavioral Health Therapists) were at my butt about going to groups, staying away from members of the opposite sex, where I could sit, and more. Okay, I thought, there are rules. But it kind of screws you up when you're expected to follow a set of rules that you are unaware of.

    Meals are not too bad if you LOVE chicken and fish. It seemed like those were the only options for lunch and dinner for over a month. There were a couple of occasions where we could have lamb, a burger, or something other than chicken and fish. They do offer hot sauces if you like them.

    Some of the BHTs were quite good and really do care about your progress. Others seemed to get off on having a bit of authority, and took full advantage of it. The case managers appeared to be completely overloaded and were occasionally impossible to see. The therapists seemed to be the same. Seeing the doctor was almost impossible even if you filled out a medical request form. I filled out a request form to see a doctor and never did get to see one before I left. The only doctor visit I had was on about the 3rd or 4th day, and it was somewhat brief.

    The classes were okay, some better than others. Some of them were pretty much a waste of time for most everyone there. Group Therapy was somewhat of a unpleasant session, but it did prove helpful at times. It seemed like that was the only time your complaints were heard.

    They also claim to have a massage therapist and acupuncturist available. Nope. Didn't get to see one the entire length of my stay.

    The gym is not state of the art, but adequate for most people's use. A couple treadmills, exercise bikes and maybe a dozen weight machines. There were also some free weights, mostly dumb bells and a couple straight bars for curls. I wouldn't complain about it, but I certainly wouldn't rave about it either.

    Some tips for you if you go: they will take your money, credit cards, cell phone, and any device that connects to Wi-Fi. They will not return them to you despite what the salespeople tell you. Your iPod Touch, they take it. They will offer to sell you a cheap MP3 player for $30-40. Of course you have to sign up for computer time to load music onto it. If you want to use the computer, you had better be an early riser so you can get signed up. The sign-up sheet is only available during breakfast and lunch, but it seemed to fill up by 8am at the latest. The phone sign-ups work the same. There are only a couple of times per day where the phones are turned on, and it seemed like they turned them on whenever they felt like it. One day they would be turned on at the right time, the next it could be 15 minutes late. That's not a whole lot of time, but when you only get 30-minute blocks of phone time, that is a lot.

    There were rumors of staff sleeping with clients and clients sleeping with other clients. While I never personally saw it, I have little doubt in my mind these encounters happened quite often.

    I'm sure other places have similar problems, and this one is not unique in that respect. I would encourage anyone thinking about going to an AAC facility to read as many reviews as possible and not make a snap decision because you or your loved one is suffering. There are plenty of good things that The Greenhouse offers, but just be sure you get what you were promised on the initial phone calls. My family fell for the pretty pictures and marketing on their website. I don't blame them. I probably would have, too. This is just a fact of life with any product or service.

    If I were asked if I would go back, I would probably have to say no. The main reason is there were many people there who had been there multiple times. This tells me there is something fundamentally wrong with their program. I understand they can't hold your hand when you get back to the real world, but something is missing or just not right, and it shows with the number of return clients.

    If you love your friend or family member enough to send them to an inpatient facility, do them the favor of learning as much as you can about where you send them, no matter where you send them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They are a big scam, don't get involved with them.

    • By Nancy Record,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Jun 8, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We took our grandson to this rehabilitation center in San Diego. They gave him a drug that caused him to have some kind of seizure. They took him to the hospital and he never went back to the center. They are still billing us $2,000.00 for a few hours.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Desert Hope: Scamming society because of growing drug addiction issues.

    • By Marjorie J. Hampton,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jun 8, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I would like to give warning to anyone thinking about entering themselves or a loved one into the Desert Hope rehabilitation facility in Las Vegas, NV to do your homework. There is plentiful information available for anyone that will take the time to look. My situation did not allow me to do so before entering my teenage grandson into this rehabilitation facility.

    I started the process of entering my grandson into the DH facility in April of 2014 and have been given the run around for about seven months. The process starts with a court order to get my grandson into a facility that would help him with his drug addiction. Drug addictions usually come with legal problems. I called the (855) number to speak with an A.A.C. intake specialist that told me that DH offered the most intensive inpatient drug treatment program available. She also stated he would be seen by a Master Degreed, (30) plus year experience, therapist at least (2) times a week. She could sense my desperation to get this child help and reeled me in. The cost for the (30) day inpatient stay was $26,500.00. Being a grandmother and a senior citizen on a fixed income this could be a disastrous decision if this was not a viable institution. I have since read that the intake specialists get a commission on the amount they can get you to pay for entry into the facility.

    Upon completion of his (30) day stay my grandson relapsed and was incarcerated. He explained the lack of therapy and responsiveness to his problems within this facility. He stated while still an inpatient at Desert Hope he “would rather go to jail than spend any more time here.”

    My grandson gave me written permission to order his medical records from Desert Hope to see what had gone wrong. It didn’t take long to discover that he was basically housed with little “intensive” treatment that was contracted. He saw a therapist only (3) out of the (8) to be scheduled with his care. Possibly not because my family member did not need the therapy but because lack of staff or caring. After all I did pay cash and it was not accounted for at the end of the care. In the third session his therapist stated he was in need and very important that he see the staff psychiatrist. She walked him down the hall to do this only to find that the patient would be put on a waiting list. This visit did not occur during his stay in the DH facility.

    There were (2) urine tests run on the patient while he was in the care of the DH facility. Both tests came back positive for drugs and or alcohol. The behavior took place with a female patient of DH, of which are supposedly segregated from the male patients. The patient stated that drugs were readily available at this facility. There were pages of medical records that documented patient being in his room. They were inundated with groups meetings during the day with repetitive to little or no substance. When the patient would miss a meeting there was little or no effort to hold patients accountable. The comment submitted in records was absent due to reason(s) UNKNOWN. This is unacceptable due to the fact that this is an inpatient facility and I was paying to have this family member treated. Basically this patient spent most of his time being housed and very little intensive treatment was administered. Therefore his immediate relapse was foreseeable.

    I spent months trying to get to the executive responsible for the organizational control of this facility. The office personnel are very inept at answering questions when you can get ahold of anyone. I finally, after numerous attempts got to speak to the interim C.E.O. of DH. I addressed some of the incidents that were involved with my family members stay. He stated that he had only been there three months and could not address issues during my grandsons stay. The turnover rate for staff and executives appears to be an issue with this facility, considering DH has only been in operation since 1/13. There seems to be issues with under-staffing, rules and regulations not being consistently followed and basic organizational control at that time. This is not conducive to a facility that was paid to be an intensive healing and teaching environment.

    I received a call on 12/1/14 from a Corporate Executive at A.A.C. in Tennessee offering a (30) day free stay at the Singer Island rehabilitation center as an offer to rectify the situation. This was one of their facilities located in Florida. This out of state facility was refused for legal reasons. A repeat stay was offered up at The Desert Hope facility of which my grandson and I would not be any part of this offer. The facility could not get it right the first time why would anyone subject themselves to a second round of trauma. The only solution here is to refund the $26,500 cash I paid minus the local rate for room and board for a (30) days. My grandson needs future care by a person or facility that can provide at least a drug free environment with real intensive therapy.

    I was also declined a breakdown of how the $26,500.00 was applied to my grandson’s care while at the facility. I was told by corporate that American Addiction Centers only do that for insurance companies and Medicaid patients. I was told for his care all my money paid was bundled. This would be illegal if this were an insurance company that paid for this care. I believe this practice is to their benefit so they can short change the patient on his care and not be held accountable.

    Again, please be warned that if you have any intentions of entering this facility at least do some checking and by all means do not pay by cash. You will be saving yourself a lot of heartache and financial ruin.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam, do not go, even if you leave on the first day they charge you for the total treatment.

    • By Linda Hodges,
    • El Centro, CA,
    • May 28, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Murrieta, CA American Addiction Centers

    This is not a detox facility, it is a complete scam. My husband went there for Ambien addiction, is was suppose to be a seven day detox. He was put in a house with other heavy drug abusers with no doctor on site. The first day he was there his blood pressure went up from stress of this house. They took away his blood pressure medication and not doctor showed up to help although they were called three times by the staff (of one lady with no medical training). There was no food in the house, so much for the promised chef to give balanced nutritious meals. He is 69 years old and has had four back surgeries. They took away his toothbrush and had to climb up and down a flight of stairs in order to brush his teeth.

    He was promised medical supervised detox for Ambien and there was no medical staff there. It was not a detox center but a two story house in a residential area.

    When he asked to leave the first day and family was ready to pick him up, they would not allow him to leave or to use the phone. I had to threaten to call police to find out where he was so I could get him medical attention. The family was not given a location to pick him up, he had to wait hours to have a driver take him to a drop off location in the middle of the night so his brother could pick him up and take him for medical treatment because of his high blood pressure.

    He did not stay one night but my credit card was charged for the entire month of treatment. I am having to fight the credit card company now to get our money back. The charge was $15,500.00 for the six hours he was held there after requesting to leave. We were told before signing up for the detox that he could leave at any time, he was self admitted, but they did everything they could to hold him against his will. I consider what they did kidnapping. Please, do not use this facility, go to an emergency room and they will find a bed for your loved one in a real detox center where you will be treated with dignity. This place should be investigated and closed before someone dies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Forterus

    • By Doesn't matter,
    • Tennessee,
    • May 28, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was desperate to get my son immediate help when I came across American Addiction Centers. I had never heard of them and they still do not show up when looking for good rehabs. They got my son in immediately, problem is that they are no good. The patients just go to group therapy everyday (only if the want to). It should not be a choice, but it is. The therapist/counselors must not have training and the patient doesn't see them often and it is not really a therapy session. They are supposed to go on an outing at least once a week which does not happen. But, the worst is that this place is all about the money. There are drugs available and being used there regularly. My son smoked pot the last night there. Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not call or you will never hear the end

    • By Mary,
    • Indiana,
    • Dec 17, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    If you tell them, no thanks, they will keep calling and get pushier and pushier. I got two gorillas named Ken and Adam calling me and they would not take a polite "no thank you" for an answer. If they call again, I am referring them to my attorney.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Just not right

    • By Joe,
    • Alphretta, GA,
    • May 8, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    For my nephew. A lot of back tracking during conversations. Often they try to placate you like you are a child. The webpage says twelve step but if you ask they say they are not and will not explain. They refuse to put their promises of sobriety, job placement and quoted price on paper. They get upset if you can't give $$$ right away. Next time I want to be treated like that I'll go to a used car lot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This place is a JOKE

    • By Detry,
    • Las Vegas,
    • Apr 26, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    This place is a Bad Joke! Do not waste a penny talking to these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-18 of 18

Write a Review for American Addiction Centers!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Addiction Centers