• 521 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 94%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Raw deal!

    • By David H.,
    • Augusta, GA,
    • Sep 25, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    We've been with AHS for several years, no major customer service issues until 6/14/2020. Placed a service call for a washer repair. Technician placed an order for needed parts. AHS stated the parts were on backorder. We were offered a cash-out option, of which the customer service reps all gave a different rendition of how it works. We declined the cash-out option as it makes no sense to purchase a new washer but not get the full amount for the replacement. I've called weekly since July for a different update each time. The technician called in August to schedule a visit as the parts arrived; however, the parts were defective so they canceled the visit. I have called AHS for updates and each time I'm told the claim has been expedited to the purchase department with no ETA. Please remember, we have been without a working washer since June. We called today, 9/19, and got nowhere with the customer service agent. We asked to speak with a supervisor, we asked to cancel our contract as we are wasting our money making monthly payments with no results, no service, and frustration.

    Pros and Cons:

    • In prior years, they were very responsive
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst ever!

    • By Gary S.,
    • Henderson, NV,
    • Sep 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    Broken frig on 7/12/20. Three contractors contacted. The second walked off the job after failing to repair by replacing the main power board, TWICE!

    Sub-par contractors if you can get one. AHS representatives are useless. No follow up. Forget talking to a supervisor or manager! No email address so you are stuck with the service request number and could be on the phone for hours with no resolution.

    A word to the wise, self insure!

    Pros and Cons:

    • They're on the other side of the country
    • Toll free number
    • 24/7
    • Problem resolution
    • Long wait times on hold
    • No email contact

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worse service ever

    • By Tony B.,
    • Surprise, AZ,
    • Sep 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    The worst customer service ever. Over two weeks and no AC. I have been lied to numerous times. They sent a technician and he gave a diagnosis. They requested a second opinion, same diagnosis, and they still haven’t fixed it. Was bever able to talk to a manager. Find another warranty company before using them. Would give them a zero if I could.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Lied to
    • Can’t get a supervisor or manager
    • Emails are sent back

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete waste of time and money! SCAM!

    • By Nathan H.,
    • Wallis, TX,
    • Sep 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    I've been with AHS for several years. During those first years, nothing really big broke. They are barely acceptable for small minor things like an ice machine, dishwasher, microwave, etc. But if you have a big ticket item such as water heater or A/C replacement, you're pretty much on your own!

    I have had to replace both a 16-year-old water heater and 20-year-old A/C units this year. Both times, AHS sent out people that I would hardly call "professional" and both times their people were ridiculously over-priced requiring me to call around and find more reasonably priced "professionals". But when you go this route, and use someone you would rather do the work, you must use their "cash out option". This is where it gets real crazy. After you have paid AHS their service fee for their unprofessional tech to show up and give you some ridiculous repair bill, if you disagree, you then have use your own time and effort to find someone else that you trust more in your home and is better priced. Forget trying to get AHS to send another party out. After you end up doing the extra work and time and find someone to do the same work cheaper, do you think AHS care or wants to help? NOPE. They want to only pay a few cents on the dollar for the replacement.

    Example, the people AHS sent for my A/C units said that 2 units were bad and after they speak to AHS, they would return with an estimate to replace. Later that afternoon another guy returned and said he had spoken with AHS and they would cover $4,000 to replace the units and then preceded to quote me a replacement cost of over $18,000 that's with the $4,000 he said AHS was paying. I tried explaining that I felt that was too much and that I needed to speak with AHS and possibly get a second opinion. This guy wasn't taking "no" for an answer and kept trying to get me to sign his form! I kept explaining that I wasn't signing anything that day. I almost had to throw him out of the house!

    I immediately called AHS but the person you speak to can never tell you anything you need, they always say they will put a note in your file. I explained that I needed to have my A/C units repaired quickly because it's over 100deg here in this south TX heat and it was imperative that I speak with someone concerning the coverage to replace my A/C units. The lady said, "yes, someone will contact you shortly". Several more days went by, I had 3 other contractors estimates by this time and still haven't heard from anyone from AHS! I called multiple times and got the same message about "someone will contact me". I had to do something. I have a disabled girlfriend and her 2 kids living with me. So, I got someone to replace the units to the tune of $17,500.

    Again, for weeks after I called AHS trying to speak with someone, still nothing. I did get 2 letters stating what they were not going to cover but still no one would answer my call. Finally, about 3 weeks after the A/C install, a lady from the "cash out department" calls and says she'll only pay me $200! Then tries telling me that the people AHS sent out said I only needed 1 part for 1 unit. I said no, those people said I needed 2 complete units and that AHS would cover $4,000 of it! (I actually have it ALL in writing from the guy). She laughed and said well, that I would just have to call those people and discuss it with them! Which I did but they kept saying that extra money was a "discount" and kept sidetracking the real issue that they lied to try to get the work.

    Again, I have it all in writing! I'm planning to go see an attorney over this ordeal to see if it's worth fighting. But as it stands, American Home Shield is a joke! Not worth the money they charge and aren't willing to lift a finger to help you in any way. I'm done! Please take my advice and stay away from this company.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Being able to request service online
    • Not adequately paying for covered items
    • The hours long wait times to speak to someone
    • The lack of responsiveness when needed

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scammers

    • By Allen M.,
    • Waukesha, WI,
    • Sep 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    All they do is cash your payment and then point fingers at the contractors. Nothing is covered and your home is never repaired.

    Do not fall for this company's line. This is a fraudulent company.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Fraud
    • Theft
    • Lies

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Liars!

    • By Kahlen A.,
    • Sep 5, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    They tell you that you only have to pay the deductible once per appliance, but they lied. It only applies if the same thing breaks within 60 days of the first repair. LIARS. They hide it in the fine print but the salesperson selling the policy outright lies about it. I was told once I pay for a specific appliance the first time they come out, I never had to pay again.

    They tell you that if something breaks in your home, they will fix it and if they can't fix it, they'll replace it. I had one issue in a year. My ice machine in my refrigerator stopped dispensing ice. They fixed it, however, the "if it breaks again, we fix it for free" is a lie. They tell you when you call to fix again that there is another fee of $100 (that I had to pay the first time, despite the warranty), and that they covered a repeat fail is only 60 days no matter the size and scope of the repair. I just paid over $750 for this warranty and all I got was a small repair on my ice maker. I know it's an insurance policy, but it is worthless. Even if you get a repair on something big like a hot water heater, then in 3 months it stops working, they won't replace it as they say.

    I'm canceling and telling everyone I know NOT TO fall for American Home Shield's scam!

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • They tell you that you only have to pay the deductible once per appliance, but they lied

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I would give zero stars if I could

    • By Adam W.,
    • Ventura, CA,
    • Sep 5, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I would give zero stars if I could. They don't cover what is in your contract, then when you try to speak to a Supervisor they ALWAYS say they are not available but tell you a Supervisor will call you back, but that never happens. Then they try to double charge you on service calls you already paid for and they let you know this by email that you cannot respond back to because it's one of the no-reply emails so you are forced to call them at their overseas call center and wait on hold for 2 hours, on average. And then when you get through they will not answer your question outright and then they hang up on you. When you ask them for their legal representative's point of contact so you can have your attorney contact them they outright deny that to you.

    I will never ever ever use this fraudulent company again. Oh, and did I mention their website has no other number you can call but their overseas call center? And they conveniently have a no class action lawsuit clause in your contract, only small claims court, which they give you no information when requested so you can give it to your attorney to make case for small claims court. Do yourself a favor and look at all the scams they have pulled on people on YouTube.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Customer service call center
    • Outright disrespect
    • Overseas call center that does not care
    • No supervisor engagement
    • Call center does not listen to what you are telling them

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible customer service!

    • By Jai S.,
    • Maryland,
    • Sep 5, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    This company was a waste of my money. The minute I went to make a claim, they looked for every reason not to cover it in full. When I asked to "cash-out", meaning get the funds to get my own service technician, then they wanted me to do that upfront. Then they stalled for over a month to even acknowledge proof of my receipt. Anything not to pay! Then they claimed it would take another 14-21 days to get a check to me. They want to ensure they get their price or more in fees before they cover...so they purposefully stall. WAIT TIMES on a call are anywhere from 1-2 HOURS! And then they stall and lie from there. Had 3 reps all on the same day who told me three different things! Canceled my warranty immediately thereafter.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Poor representatives who lack knowledge
    • Stalling tactics
    • Untrustworthy

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst company ever!

    • By Edgar O.,
    • California,
    • Sep 5, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Any company is better than AHS. They buy their reviews and hide all the bad ones to fool you. They do everything in their power to not cover anything. And they price gouge you on any little thing they can.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Scammers

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beyond terrible

    • By Matt T.,
    • Columbus, OH,
    • Aug 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    On a $1600 AC repair they are covering $407, after hours of my life wasted on the phone and two months later. It’s not a warranty, it’s a company that just collects money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam company

    • By Kris P.,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Aug 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    They sent out a repairman after waiting 2 weeks with no air. The guy says you need a new air conditioner, won’t say what’s wrong or give a quote, called AHS and he called his boss then came and said, oh it’s the coil...then left. They finally answer, tell me they will get back to me, never do. I call back after a number of days, they say the repair will cost me $2400 they will pay $900. I said the guy said it has to be replaced, we will call you back...two weeks, still no call. I call them, they say you will have to talk to the cash-out department to get paid for repairs but we can’t get them on the phone, you call them at 833-839-7892. No answer...ever. This place is a legitimate scam. Do not give them your money.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Scam

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Electrical wiring

    • By Brenda S.,
    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Aug 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    The electrical company they referred me to will absolutely not return any of my calls. My service request has been opened for 6 weeks and they refuse to transfer my service request to another electrical company. Customer service I think is somewhere in China since they hardly speak English.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Calls not returned
    • One hour wait
    • Hardly any American reps

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Comfort until you need them

    • By Pete H.,
    • Godley, TX,
    • Aug 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    Had them for years and felt protected until I needed them. When I finally did I paid their service fee, they sent a tech out who said I needed a new part and that they would call me back. They never did and AHS closed my case without reason. Multiple calls and emails have gone unanswered. I issued a stop payment on their automatic payments and now they are trying to collect additional money long after I sent them a cancellation email. Maybe it’s possible to get them on the phone if you hold for over an hour but I don’t have time for that. Save $60 a month for repairs and you will be better off than giving it to AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst ever

    • By William R.,
    • Clinton, MD,
    • Aug 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I put an order in on Father's Day, my oven and electricity are still not working. It was their customer service. Snd still not fixed. They won't answer my calls or call me back.

    Pros and Cons:

    • One company was good, the other was bad
    • First company called and said AHS wanted to do a short cut
    • Customer service is very bad

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A/C nightmare

    • By Donna L.,
    • Billerica, MA,
    • Aug 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    As I was new to this company this has and will be my only experience with AHS. On July 18th I called to request service for my A/C units. They could not find anyone to come out to take a look so they authorized me to get my own contractor. I found someone to come out on July 20th. Tried to call to get authorization but the hold time was better than 50 minutes and recording said to try again later. I can't believe they expect contractors to hold for that long. After more than 9 calls and them deducting my $100.00 service fee (NO services were provided), I decided to cancel and after 12 calls to do this and try and get my money back I finally got the policy canceled. I still can't seem to get my $100.00 back which I would think is against the law since they DID NOT provide a service. Also, for each call made it was between 30 and 60 minutes on hold.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Customer Service is saying they would call back and never did
    • Hold time and being lied to by Customer Service
    • Not able to get my Service Fee back when no service was provided

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • "That's a personal problem."

    • By Gerald B.,
    • San Tan Valley, AZ,
    • Aug 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    On July 24, 2020 my washing machine stopped working and a tech was sent out on Tuesday the 28Th (4 days so far). I called for a week to see if any update on my work order had come about. On August 3rd they finally updated my record and that someone would contact me. Did not happen.

    I called today, August 11th, and the representative was clueless about what was going on with my account. I had to instruct him to read the notes. He then told me that it would be another 10 to 15 days before I would receive an email on the next step. So now we are looking at August 21-26. I then asked, "Then what?" He said it is to be resolved in another 7 days after I receive the email from resolution. Me: "Perfect, so who do I send my cleaning bill too for reimbursement as well as mileage and gas? I live 17 miles from the nearest laundry mat." Representative: "That's a personal problem."

    I have had numerous issues with this company and I can only say don't use them, they are the absolute worse. Non-U.S. representatives. You will never get a manager to call back! They could give a darn about your issues. They hope you get to the point where you go out and replace the item yourself as I had to do with a hot water heater in the middle of winter, and you're stuck with the bill.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Resolution
    • Non-U.S. representative
    • Time it takes to get anything done

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Mila M.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Aug 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    I have paid this company over $700 in monthly fees. When something needed to be repaired, I paid the $100 fee and they immediately increased my monthly bill. Now my A/C needs work and I have been waiting over 10 days for the service. They marked as "complete" and no one answers the phone (which they reroute the calls to the Philippines) with less than 1-hour wait. Disgusting. I want to cancel my service, as it is a rip-off, but I can't even get someone to talk to me on the phone. However, if you want to purchase new service, they are always there in less than 5 minutes. Last time I called, I explained the situation and the sales representative told me, "You have to calm down and just wait an hour to talk to someone every time you call." Unbelievable.

    Pros and Cons:

    • They were quick to sell you their product
    • Hour long wait times to answer the phone
    • Poor choice of contractors
    • Poor customer service

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I ordered a service to fix a broken GE Telescopic Range hood

    • By Tom P.,
    • Lorton, VA,
    • Aug 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a service call on July 21, 2020. A technician came two days later and he left saying he needed parts. Another tech came two days later and this time a GE technician and he ordered 5 parts. One is back-ordered until August 27, 2020. Ever since, I have been calling this company and the waitlist is one hour. No one is following up with our service.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Bad service

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No one answers the phone...ever!

    • By Lori K.,
    • Peachtree Corners, GA,
    • Aug 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    I've had two situations this summer where I needed AHS services. Each time when I tried to call to review my coverage or request and expedited service, I've waited literally hours on the phone, each time giving up. This morning, I waited 40 minutes only to be dropped and had to start the process all over. Do not work with this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I feel like I have been scammed!

    • By Jamie B.,
    • Fairfield, CA,
    • Aug 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    I have spent over 6 hours on the phone over the last 5 days trying to get my hot water heater repaired. Now AHS will not pay for the full repair because they are saying that required parts are not covered. The required parts that are not covered are things like vent, drain pan, drip valve, water flex line, and other standard parts that are essential to the replacement. The contract reads "WATER HEATERS COVERED: All components and parts, including tankless water heaters and circulating pumps." Now AHS wants to pay only 1/3 of the total costs to replace the water heater. They have promised to call me back 5 times and have failed to do so each time. This has been a terrible experience. I have been a long time customer.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Not paying for replacement of my water heater
    • Not being able to speak to someone in charge
    • Unbelievably long wait times

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Treatment for air con water leakage

    • By Dong Jun Y.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Aug 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    I am a customer of American Home Shield for more than two years. I am so surprised of their treatments of their customer.

    Please take the time to read my story for fixing a water leakage with American Home Shield. And if possible, please let people know my story.

    There was a water leak from the air conditioner on July 10, 2020, and I requested service on the same day and paid $120 as a deductible. And American Home Shield assigned a local air con service company (Consolidated Mechanical Cont. INC). A technician from the local company visited my home on July 14th. He just went up the roof where the air conditioner is placed and came down. He said "I can’t find water leakage from air con" even though water was flowed out on the ceiling of a room due to water leakage. He said, "I will not charge for service, so you call American Home Shield again." He left even though we asked for proper service.

    Five days passed after the first water leakage. So we complained to American Home Shield over th weekend and the next Monday (July 17th). After the complaint, American Home Shield assigned the same company (Consolidated Mechanical Cont. INC) again on July 18th, even though we complained about the company because of poor service. So we contacted Consolidated Mechanical INC on July 18, they said, "the technician can’t access the air conditioner, so they can’t do service, it is out of their policy." We had to call American Home Shield again and explain what happened with the local service company. And I really was surprised by their poor local service network pools. How can they have only one company for servicing air con issues in the whole Phoenix area!

    After the water leakage, 1.5 weeks passed, and on July 17th, American Home Shield said "they can’t do anything because the technician can’t access the air con." I argued and complained strongly about their customer service mindset. Finally, American Home Shield assigned another company (AIR COMMAND LLC) for a second estimation, and a technician from Air Command LLC came to my home on July 21st. He just got rid of the water off the pan (water plate) and said "there are 3 missing parts in my air conditioner, and the cost is $1108 and those are not covered because of the missing part." I am an Electrical Engineer. I can’t trust that the "air con has operated for 15 years without 3 parts".

    Two weeks passed after the water leakage. So I hired a technician from a local air con service company on July 22nd. The technician, who I hired, said "Air con isn't missing 3 parts, and 3 things are required for stopping water leak: 1) deep clean for coil, 2) replace float AC switch, and 3) flush water drain, and the cost for that is $707." So I and my son contacted American Home Shield over the weekend and on Monday several times.

    Two weeks passed, and the leaking water wet the roof, insulator, and ceiling continuously. My son called American Home Shield, explaining the whole situation several times, and he desperately gave up the conversation with American Home Shield because they insisted consistently that without missing a part payment ($1080), they don’t do service for water leakage.

    Finally, I called American Home Shield on July 24th. I asked a representative of the company "What was missed?" After an argument, she said parts aren't missed, but parts aren't covered by my policy. So I asked "What part is not covered?", and she said "water pan is half size." I said "Actually, it does not matter, half size or full size. My house has two air con units and the leaking air con unit is small. Water leakage is not due to the pan size but dust coil, broken float AC switch, and blocked water drain." After a long conversation, she agreed on the reason for water leakage, and she proposed that she will apply a cash-out option for treating the water leakage, and the approval will take one or two days. Too long of a time has passed since the water leakage (moving to 3 weeks). I thought that she understood and agreed on the reason for the water leakage, so the cash-out will be approved soon due to urgency. I made an appointment with the technician, who was hired and estimated the cost ($707) on Thursday (July 27th).

    Three weeks have passed since the water leakage! I called to American Home Shield on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday to check the status for the cash-out. And they responded that the cash-out process is pending still. In the meantime, the technician came to my house and fixed the water leakage easily and completely on Thursday (July 27th). And I kept calling American Home Shield until today. And American Home Shield finally responded to me that they can’t cover my payment for the water leakage due to the missed 3 parts.

    I decided on two things: 1) canceling the service contract with American Home Shield immediately, and 2) announcing my story to people.

    Why is it so difficult and complicated to fix just a water leakage?

    Why did I have to pay the service charge even though I have been a customer of American Home Shield for more than two years?

    Please help me by transferring my story about American Home Shield. Please imagine what has happened to me during these more than 3 weeks. It was really stressful for me due to continuous water leakage in my home, to have to call to American Home Shield every day, to have to explain the same thing to representatives every time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Should be shut down for no service when called!

    • By Rosalie D.,
    • La Verne, CA,
    • Aug 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    American Home Shield does not respond to your service call in a timely manner (12 business days is too long to wait on an emergency).

    The Policyholder is not a top priority with American Home Shield. THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOU AND YOUR SERVICE CALL.

    American Home Shield hires incapable phone representatives and technicians.

    BEWARE: DO NOT BUY AMERICAN HOME SHIELD.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Technicians
    • Response time for a service call
    • Incapable phone representatives and technicians

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I am 10,000,000,000.00% sure I am NOT the only one

    • By Amy W.,
    • Fairfax, VA,
    • Aug 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    I am so disappointed at AHS. I so far know 15 contracts that will cancel with AHS as I write this review. I am 10,000,000,000.00% sure I am NOT the only one that agrees with the poor, bad, frustrating AHS. They tell you they will follow up with you and they never do. A company shows its values when the customer service is right. Why am I paying for a service when I end up buying the new appliance?

    From 2019, Family A had a washer and dryer that needed to be repaired and they waited 2 months. Nothing was fixed. In the end, AHS did nothing and Family A ended up buying a new washer and dryer. Very disappointing!

    From 2018 Family B had a dishwasher broken. AHS said they do not have the part and replaced with a broken part. Family B ended up buying a new dishwasher, because after 3 months, nothing was fixed.

    The list can go on, AHS as of today has not improved their services. I can understand why people are starting to leave this company. I hope no more customers end up with this bad service.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • The phone service is 2 hours wait
    • Customer service has no idea where to transfer my call
    • Makes the customer wait for any replacement
    • Cannot find the right replacement
    • Poor customer service overall
    • Does not listen to what customers need
    • Cannot help to make customers happy

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AHS - not worth it!

    • By GM V.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Aug 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    It is actually ZERO stars!

    Our air conditioning stopped cooling on 7/16. I called American Home Shield the same day and they assigned Air Dynasty whom did not come out to inspect the system until 7/22. All this while we were having close to 100 degree temperatures.

    Air Dynasty finally came out and right away visually looked at the evaporator and then proceeded and looked at the condenser. Within a couple of minutes they concluded that the condenser was dead and needed to be replaced.

    They then aggressively tried for the next 30 minutes to get me to upgrade and replace the entire system. I insisted that we let the process take its course and see what American Home Shield comes back with, while the whole time they were warning me of significant out of pocket expenses. When they realized that I wasn't budging they then tried to give me free 2-year service maintenance for in return a 5-star review. I simply declined and told them that I would gladly give them a review once the work is completed. Before they left they tried again to get me to change my mind on the review but to no avail. Beware of this tactic and beware of the 5-star reviews that they do have because they bought them and did not earn them.

    A couple of hours later I was contacted by American Home Shield and I found out that we would have to pay $1800 out of pocket to have the condenser replaced. American Home Shield per Air Dynasty claimed that we would need to change the pad, add refrigerant at $60/pound when R410A retails $5/pound, change the line set, insulation, and then American Home Shield in collusion with the vendor utilized their "outs" with contract sections G1F and G4B to add another $1000 to the bill for bogus electrical and general modification claims.

    I demanded and was granted a second opinion with no service cost. Within a day J-Tech Mechanical were out here and Kenny the tech proceeded to fix the issue within 10-15 minutes. It was a burned wire between the start cap and the pump.

    So not only did Air Dynasty misdiagnose the issue but it was clearly evident from the whole experience that their sole purpose was not to repair the issue but to replace or upgrade to the homeowner's expense.

    Air Dynasty are simply CROOKS and I urge you to avoid them at all cost!

    The disturbing part even more so is that American Home Shield despite my feedback and the numerous online negative reviews continue to use Air Dynasty and utilize both the vendor and contract to get you to pay for the whole job out of pocket.

    So if you think (and it is an illusion) that your only out of pocket expense for your AC will be the refrigerant, you will be sorely surprised, and I urge you to carefully read sections E1 (AIR CONDITIONING INCLUDING DUCTWORK) and especially G (LIMITATIONS AND EXCLUSIONS) which American Home Shield utilize for everything and anything because of its broad language to avoid paying.

    So I ask myself...why do I have American Home Shield when just the premiums themselves would allow me to replace my AC every 6-8 years?

    Just do yourself a favor and take the premiums, put them on the side and use them on the inevitable rainy day because American Home Shield will NOT.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Deceptive practices and false assurances of coverage
    • Contract allows minimal coverage
    • Vendor selection needs reform, reviews and customer feedback ignored
    • There is no scrutiny of vendor claims and gladly pass-through costs to customer

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Slow response

    • By Salvadore J.,
    • Fremont, CA,
    • Jul 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    On a request for service, they immediately charge the $100.00 service fee. I cancelled the service request prior to the appointment date. Contacted AHS about the cancellation. Two weeks later, the service had not been returned. Called in and the phone rep stated the refund was not in process. The phone rep stated they would initiate the refund. Two weeks later, still no refund.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Service fee refund not automatically returned
    • Long waits for customer service on phone
    • Too many automated options before I can get to a real person

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Air conditioner nightmare!

    • By Rita E.,
    • Hutchinson, KS,
    • Jul 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I placed an order for my air conditioning unit on June 16, 2020, it wasn't cooling. It is now July 28, 2020 and it still hasn't been fixed. The first repairman they sent me to wouldn't even return my calls. The next repair shop was prompt but after recharging the unit it still didn't cool, and I paid dearly out of pocket for the gas. AHS only pays the first $10 per lb of gas. After many phone calls and waiting for unreasonable amounts of time on the phone I still am without an air conditioner. It seems the repair shops have just as difficult a time as the consumer does trying to deal with AHS.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Service is horrible
    • Calls taken by foreigners which are hard to understand
    • Wait time on the phone is ridiculous
    • I have been told they are slow to pay out to service providers

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unethical, incompetent, unprofessional, deceptive trade practicing company that should not be aloud to conduct business in Texas

    • By Paula M.,
    • Lubbock, TX,
    • Jul 29, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    Worst customer service, unreputable contractors that cannot be trusted, nothing gets done within a month's time after at least two dozen calls to people incapable of comprehending English. It is not worth the money and stress.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Unprofessional, from customer service to contractors
    • Representatives from Philippines and Caribbean incapable of speaking and comprehending English
    • Contractors not trustworthy and trying to make money on side

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 521

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield