About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

313 Consumer Reviews for American Home Shield

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 8 1 star:  291
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 313
Sort reviews by:

  • Updated review

    Update

    • Roseville, CA,
    • Mar 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    March 18, 2019: AHS contacted me and was willing to refund the service call. Because of their willingness to work with me and understand my side of the story, I have made this a 2-star review. I still do not like how they are not upfront, nor willing to work before hand with their customers to give them the best experience possible. I do not call them often, only when big problems arise, and it is a learning experience for everything. Do not expect them to diagnose problems, you need to be an educated consumer before calling them for service, and then only call them when you know what the problem for certain that it is covered by warranty. To do that, you must call and talk to a customer representative. That can take over an hour sometimes, so be prepared to spend the morning on the phone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Mar 16, 2019

    Deceptive coverage policy and charges

    You can't talk about American Home Shield without the word "fraud" coming up. In my latest go around with them, my torsion spring broke on my garage door. I have additional coverage for garage door openers. Thinking that since the spring was required for the garage door opener to operate that it would be covered, I called them to schedule a repair. They contacted service technicians and within 2 days they came out. The service tech called for authorization and was denied because the spring was part of the "door" and not the opener. Now being stuck with a non-operational door, I had to get it serviced. The technician told me how much the repair would be, and I paid the full amount. I later receive a charge for my trade service call from AHS, even though they denied coverage. When calling them to complain, they said that since I used them to contact a technician, I still owed them the fee. So this company will charge you even though they deny claims. FRAUD. FRAUD. FRAUD!

    (read moreread less...)

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company

    • Illinois,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm very very disappointed and disgusted in the way I have been tested by this company. I have been a member for 3 years and this year is when I needed them the most. My family and I were severely let down. The sump pump went out and the house was training on lots of water, none of there vendors could get out to help us. We got outside clearance and that's when all hell broke loose. The company got authorization to do the work and American Home Shield scammed us. We never got reimbursement and they just still making us jump through hoops. Plus they are still trying to make us pay for work they didn't do, by making us pay the fee for coming out, but they never came out to do any work. Don't trust this company. Stay clear of this company. I regret ever using this company, I actually lost lots of money instead of saving with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    American Home Shield is the biggest scam going.

    • Scottsdake,
    • Mar 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My heating system went out. I spent 28 days trying to get help from American Home Shield. You can only reach call center people who say they will expedite help. The scam is that they put you off and say they will call you back. They contract with poorly rated heating companies that diagnose what American Home Shield directs them to; they will never replace a unit!

    They will only put a bandaid on the fix and want the homeowner to invest thousands of dollars into a 29-year-old unit. I believe there are a lot of unhappy homeowners that paid insurance premiums faithfully and are not being taken care of. This could be a Class Action Lawsuit!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • American Home Shield will rob you blind

    • California,
    • Mar 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield will rob you blind, they will never cover you, and you will be calling directly to Philippines call center and getting nowhere. Absolutely the worst consumer experience that I have ever had in my life. The vendors that they use for repairs are second rate, at best. I have had two different vendors out to repair a leaking pipe, and both times they did just enough for the repair to only last a few months. When I called AHS to request a follow-up, I was told that their work was only guaranteed for 60 days and I would need to submit a new claim and pay a THIRD deductible. The way AHS treats its customers is criminal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Unaccountable and shady business practices

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    To start, the website is extremely frustrating because there will be a "send feedback" link that takes you to a page that only provides their service call number. The same number that disconnects calls and places you on 30-60 holds. There is no way to actively provide feedback for other consumers to see. I have called AHS several times this year to remove an incorrect fee from my account, this "fee" was initially a discount they provided me when I renewed my contract and then months later it turned up as a fee on my account. Awesome, thanks AHS. This fee prevents me from scheduling any service calls whether it be online or on the phone. During my phone conversations to have the fee removed, the calls have been dropped at least half a dozen times with NO CALLBACK. This is after spending hours on the phone. They have now told me on 3 separate occasions that the fee is being removed, but guess what, it is still there.

    It disgusts me that a company such as AHS who appears to have top remarks on all the warranty company review sites, but there are hardly any negative reviews to be found. They do not provide good or even sub-par service, and they make it impossible for anyone to escalate issues to someone who might actually be able to help or support. This company needs to be put on the radar for poor business practice and poor customer service. I will not be renewing my contract with AHS this coming year.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Waste of time/money, stay away

    • Austin, TX,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Issues with refrigerator, told me that refrigerator would be replaced on contractor's recommendation, contractor had to be called out 3 times for recurring repairs and then gave up and refused to go out again saying refrigerator cannot be repaired. AHS then wanted a second contractor opinion instead of getting refrigerator replaced. This was over 2 months with multiple days of food going bad. I ultimately gave up, wasting time with them and had to spend money to replace the refrigerator. Will not renew and will stay away in the future.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Billing issue

    • Shelby, NC,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I requested a service call back in January of this year for rental property. No hot water. The vendor called and said they were backed up and it would be a week. I called AHS and they had another plumbing company contact me. They were also backed up and could take a week. I called AHS again and had them cancel this service call as well. About two days later the technician calls and says I’m on the way. I told the technician we had someone else repair the water heater and AHS should have canceled. Okay, no problem. A week later I start getting an email from AHS wanting a service fee that never happened and they canceled. AHS rep verifies they (plumber) never came to service the call and told me the matter was resolved. I’ve had this same conversation with 4 more reps after continuing to get an email asking me to pay the same service fee that never happened. I’ve spent so much time on the phone trying to get this corrected and then again this week I now receive a bill in the mail. Not sure why they cannot get this fixed but it has gone from a reminder to harassment at this point. I have two houses under their program. I’m going to cancel at this point. This is about the worst customer service and lack of communication in one company that I’ve ever seen. They can’t get one mistake corrected. I believe that the technician lied and said he made the visit. He is not with the company any longer (Rapp’s Heating and air) and Rapp could not confirm the diagnosis. Why? Because they didn’t make the service call I keep getting charged for...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do not use this warranty service

    • Huntsville, TX,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It has now cost me $200 to have a plumbing issue fixed and they are telling me that they can't do anything further. This is a horrible service. They do not replace a broken fixture with what you originally had, they use a cheaper version. We had the control valve on the bathtub break, they replaced my $250 brushed nickel fixtures with $98 shiny plastic fixtures. When you turn the tub faucet on, the shower head leaks. They replaced the valve and it still leaks and they are telling us that we will now have to purchase another tub spout because it is a poor design. They chose the fixture, not me so why should I have to buy anything. Furthermore, I have a hole in my sheetrock that I have to pay to repair. This is not the first time that this home warranty has cost me money, but it will be the last.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your time or money

    • California,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My heater went out in the middle of a snowstorm on a Sunday. I scheduled an appointment online, but was told that Thursday would be the soonest someone could come out. Being that I have three kids, this was not acceptable. I paid out of pocket to have the heater fixed and canceled the appointment immediately. I was told online that a refund would be credited within two business days. I didn't even get charged until the day of the appointment. I waited two business days without a refund before reaching out to the company. I was on hold for 15 minutes before I decided to just try chat online. I was told that there was a system error with my charge and that I would receive a check in the mail within 10 business days. Not only should I have had never been charged, but now I have to wait another two weeks for my money. In addition, had I never reached out, I may have never been reimbursed at all. This is not professional and lacks customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive reviews, poor customer service

    • Huntsville, AL,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On February 13th, I attempted to cancel my agreement with American Home Shield because on February 11th, 2019, I sold the property for which I had the agreement. When I initially set up the account by phone with a rep, I intended to sell the property ASAP so asked her if I could cancel the contract or update account information anytime. She assured me that I could.

    I sold the property on 2/11/19 - without ever needing any services from AHS. On 2/13/19 I visited the webpage hoping to see an option to cancel the agreement. No luck. I called several numbers without speaking to someone. Finally, somebody told me to call 1-800-858-1922 to cancel. I did, and waited more than 30 minutes with no one answering, so I hung up. I called a different number and a message indicated that my wait time was more than 1 hour. I hung up. I tried a couple of other numbers and got no place. I again searched the webpage and saw an opportunity to chat.

    The chat person said that my request was being sent to the "Retention Department" and that in a day or two someone would contact me to cancel my agreement. I heard nothing from the Retention Department or otherwise for more than a week. Of course, I didn’t wish to be "retained" because I had sold the property.

    On 2/13 I also sent a complaint letter to AHS, requesting that someone call me to cancel my agreement. No response.

    On 2/21 I wrote some complaints and negative reviews online – including at Consumer Affairs. On 2/23 I received an email from a rep at AHS who had received my Consumer Affairs review. She informed me that my payment information had been removed on 2/13 and that she had submitted a request to cancel the agreement, dated to 2/11 (the date I sold my property). I am supposed to receive a confirmation by mail in 7-10 business days. She was helpful.

    However, on 2/24 I went to Consumer Affairs site and could not find my review, or any other negative review, for AHS! All reviews are positive!

    It appears to me that AHS pays Consumer Affairs to portray AHS favorably, when if truth be told, that may not be factual. Consumers rely on honest reviews by other consumers, as I did, to aid them in their decision regarding products or services. The name "Consumer Affairs" engenders trust, but instead of trustworthy information, there is a falsehood. Deceptive practices, such as hiding/deleting negative reviews, make for bitter consumers.

    I understand that AHS wants to do damage control, but deceiving potential consumers by removing negative comments is a poor way to do so. A better way would be to improve customer service as well as the fulfillment of contracts in an efficient and timely manner, so that more consumers are satisfied with AMS and are willing to leave positive comments.

    I cannot recommend this company due to deceptive practices, poor customer service, and the poor reviews by other consumers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Active leak not repaired - terrible contractor

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Feb 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had an active leak coming thru my ceiling from inside upstairs plumbing since January 10th. The plumber they sent said he fixed it by replacing and reseating the upstairs toilet wax ring. Within a week the same leak started again. AHS sent the same plumber back on a recall. He verified that it was still leaking but could not find the cause. He wanted to open up the ceiling to see the pipes better (I have no problem with that) but needed AHS permission to do so.

    After a week of none returned calls to the plumber, I tried to contact AHS. Spent three calls and over two hours on hold to get the rudest, almost non-English speaking rep who said the work order was closed and the vendor said no "mechanical" problem found. I could get a second opinion but would need to pay a second service call fee. It's THE SAME unrepaired leak! I still have a leak coming thru the ceiling, and they are (AHS) supposed to call me back. I asked to speak to a supervisor but they wouldn't put me through. By the way, how do you replace a wax ring to a toilet and not even disturb the caulk seal around the toilet base? The vendor is a liar and AHS is a joke! I have been with them since 2010 and they have now gone down the tubes. Looking for a new company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 313

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review