American Home Shield Reviews

American Home Shield

Overall Rating

1.1

554 Customer Reviews

Summary

American Home Shield is a home warranty company that provides protection plans intended to cover repairs or replacement of primary systems and appliances within your home. Learn how customers are rating this company.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.1 Stars out of 554 Reviews
5 Star:1% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:3% 1 Star:94%
3% Recommend This Company
Start your review of American Home Shield:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 7, 2021

Only used 1 star because 0 is not available!

By James S., Austin, TX, Verified Reviewer

I have American Home Shield and have been on hold or am being transferred now for 47 minutes. I spoke to someone and told them I wanted to cancel my services. They transferred me to someone else and I told them as well. My service better be canceled and no further money removed from my account or I will sue their company! I am tired of their crap. I have been hung up on twice now! I am trying to do live chat but they are using the COVID excuse to tell me they are experiencing a larger call volume. Someone, please explain to me how the call volume would be higher due to COVID! Did all the appliances get COVID and are dead? They lied to me about the cost of the repair. I asked the repairman how much after speaking to AHS and the price was double! I asked him to go back to AHS and I spoke to them as well and they changed the pricing!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

They hire only the worst repair people to work on your appliances

They lie and are blatant about it

History of hanging up on customers instead of dealing with them, I called twice to cancel my services and was hung up on both times

Posted on Jan 7, 2021

Worst service experience ever!

By Sandy S., Dublin, OH, Verified Reviewer

I have a broken dishwasher for which I have been waiting for more than 2 months for repair. So far I have called them over 25 times and each time they say the same thing - we are trying to connect with the service provider! There is never a call back from the company to update on the status or by when they will fix the issue. The customer service just follows the script and tries to end the call with an excuse, never trying to actually fix the problem. Terrible experience! Worst service company ever!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Poor service

Late service

No customer focus

Always trying to make excuses to not pay

No escalation mechanism

Posted on Jan 5, 2021

Terrible, awful, and no good

By Melissa W., Owasso, OK, Verified Reviewer

Not worth the money and it's a huge hassle to use. If you need to call and speak to a representative they ignore your questions and comments and read off a script. I had a technician assigned to fix my washing machine, he took three days to call me, made an appointment, and didn't show up in the 4-hour window, or call, or text me.

I left to run errands and then he called and wanted to come, two hours after the window. I wasn't home and told him so. He told me he is too busy to let his customers know when he would be there. I told him I am busy too and to cancel the request. I then had to call AHS to do this. The repairman was very rude and I will not allow him in my house.

I called AHS. The young lady I spoke to said I had to cancel with the contractor. I said I tried to and he said I had to call AHS. She said she would call him, then she said she couldn't get through and the voicemail was full so I would have to call him. I said if you can't get through how can I? I told her to escalate the call to a manager, I then sat on hold for 45 minutes before the line dropped.

I called back, the next person said she would cancel it and I'd see the money back in 5-7 business days. I haven't seen it. I asked her to file a complaint and have someone contact me, of course, I haven't heard anything.

I asked the representative multiple times if I would hear something back from my complaint. She wouldn't answer me and kept saying "I understand you have a problem with your washing machine." It didn't matter what I asked her, that is what she replied.

Now, I guess I have to either eat the $100 or call them back and descend again into the pit and abyss of hell of calling AHS.

So, my advice is to run, run, run, do not give these people any money. You might as well have a bonfire in your backyard and toss it on there.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer service

Value

Response time

Posted on Jan 1, 2021

Worst company ever!

By Angie S., South Carolina, Verified Reviewer

Had a gas leak. Spent hours on hold and they never found a contractor. Reps are hard to understand. After paying $75 I had to find my own contractor. He spent hours on hold to get the repair approved. Once approved I sent in the invoices for reimbursement and still cannot get paid. Spent an hour and 1/2 on hold today following up and my call was dropped two times. The rep gave me the runaround and would not send me to the department to check on my email for payment. Disgusted! Out $925.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Wait times

Customer service not speaking clear English

Posted on Dec 29, 2020

Customer service a thing of the past with AHS

By Beverly J., Brookings, OR, Verified Reviewer

I called for service on 12/8, the contractor assigned said he'd be out but didn't show. Then he said "next week," but no show. After that no return calls from him.

I called AHS for another contractor and 2 and 1/2 weeks with NO heat. I got nowhere. The agent, Arielle, in the Caribbean, was hard to understand and had only 1 script. She tried to tell me a contractor from over 54 miles one way away was going to take my call and would be available 5 days from now. I told her they would pay more in gas than my service call would pay them. She said they agreed so we will wait and see. In the meantime, I have no heat and am 70 years old. I said how about we try a local contractor and she said she had no way of knowing who the contractors were because it comes from a que and I had no other alternatives. I asked for a supervisor, she said Ahiell, was not in and there were no other managers or supervisors. I asked for the next level up contact and she said she had none. I asked for the corp phone number and she said I should look it up because she didn't have any contact numbers. She said my only option after an hour with her was to hang up and call back for a different agent. I told her I thought she was incompetent and I was not happy with the hang-up option but I took it anyway. His boss had still not become available and she had nothing else to offer me. Over an hour wasted.

I hung up and recalled and got Jean in the Philippines, who said she was in the escalations department. She said she would try to help but really only dispatch makes assignments of contractors and after they do that, she makes the call to the contractor. After waiting on hold for over 20 minutes she said she wasn't able to get any one of the two contractors to come out before next week but would keep trying through dispatch and encouraged me to stay with Lamb Air 54 miles away and 5 more waiting days. I reiterated that I am 70, at risk for Covid, and Oregon is much colder than her home country. She promised to call me back in an hour and I gave her the names of 4 companies within my local area to try. I also told her about my experience with Arielle and asked her for a phone number to the CEO, or any corporate number, and she said they are not able to give that information out but she'll make sure to follow up with me for service. We hung up with an agreement that she would call me with an update by 1:30 pm my time, Wednesday. One hour and 13 more minutes of my time spent on this call.

In the meantime, I tried a number from the web that said it was AHS CEO, it turned out to be another service line. I spoke with April, also in the Philippines. She was understandable and more helpful than the previous two. She said the 5-day wait for service was outside the contract guidelines and she would call dispatch to see if she could help. She took the 4 local names and phone numbers from me to give to dispatch. She also called Lamb Air and confirmed they had me on schedule for next Monday. She also promised to call me back with (hopefully) a better option than waiting with no heat for 5 more days.

I will keep this update going and let you know how it ends. I am so disappointed in AHS. I've been a customer for over 10 years.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Used to be one call and done

Used to have quality contractors

In the past it was easy to get ahold of someone when you needed to

The red tape

Can't get ahold of anyone who can actually do something

Hard to understand the people who take the service problems

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 23, 2020

Waiting 30 days for a part!

By Donna L., Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

After spending $100 on a service call they gave me a video diagnosis of my dishwasher. Like a virtual diagnosis, who knew! I have called several times and I keep getting pushed around by them saying it's not their fault, it is the actual contractor that does all the ordering of parts and the vendor tells me otherwise. On hold for 56 minutes this time and no one knows anything. The call center is in the Philippines and yes it is hard to understand them. Asked to be called back by a supervisor 4 days ago and still no call. Unacceptable that I have been waiting for a part for a month. Do not use this company. Totally unprofessional and a total scam. Like talking to a brick wall.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Great reviews online

A total scam

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 20, 2020

I am supposed to get a replacement but...

By Cathy D., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

I am supposed to get a replacement for my cooktop which I have been without for a month and a half. AHS has provided about 65% of the cost of a comparable replacement and used a no-longer-made cooktop to set their value. I have been transferred to another department and have been on hold for more than 2 hours trying to talk with someone and no one ever comes on the line. Extraordinarily frustrating.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer Service is impossible to reach

Employees stating that they will do something and they're not doing it

Not at all timely in their work

They use companies for repairs that are affiliated with AHS

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 9, 2020

Refuse to replace or pay for a defective covered part

By Michael M., Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

Do not purchase any kind of product or service from AHS - they are fraudulent!

I am one of their victims. I filed a service request for our home gas furnace, which is covered under the American Home Shield plan we purchased. The first company they assigned to my issue was useless - they did come out to the house but then never established a diagnosis or informed AHS of anything, so a second company was assigned. I liked the technician from the second company - he established the problem and they eventually submitted the diagnosis to AHS (did take a week or more to do that). AHS determined that they would replace the part and not the whole furnace. Fine, but when the contractor went to order the part, they found it was not available and not only was it not available, there was no definite timeline for its availability - could be six weeks, could be a year, could be never. The contractor cannot do anything without AHS approval, so I call AHS and request that they either replace the part or pay me the amount that they would pay for the part and I would proceed on my own to repair the furnace. No - they will not do either. Instead, they tell me I need to wait for the part. But since there is no timeline for the part's availability, there is no deadline for this wait. I could wait for years, and AHS would just tell me to keep waiting. Meanwhile, we have no heat, and it's now December (has been over a month since I filed the initial service request). AHS is not interested in actually fixing problems for its scam victims - excuse me, customers - they just want you to keep paying that monthly fee and they will basically just make you wait for any service until you go away.

Do not purchase any kind of product or service from AHS - they are fraudulent!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

They do answer the phone - they just don't provide any actual resolution

They charge for a service but do NOT provide the service - it's a fraud

Their contractors are not knowledgeable and are not trustworthy

They are a scam

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 25, 2020

Horrible customer service

By Marie B., Arkansas, Verified Reviewer

I filed a claim on an AC and couldn’t get service out for 3 days and with a time frame from 4:00 to 9:00 pm. Are you kidding me? I just canceled my 2 warranties with them. Has been a waste of money over the last decade. I could have purchased a new unit for what I’ve been paying $70 per month to cover each home. Never can speak to a human without staying on the line for 30 minutes or more and that annoying phone music wants you to hang up. I’m sure that’s why they have chosen that annoying music. Charged me a cancellation fee of $59 and $16 on these two cancellations. The second charge, they called it an administrative charge. WOW.

So happy to be done with these folks. There are plenty of other options out there.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer service

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 21, 2020

Really negative 20 stars

By Eyana W., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

This company is a scam! I have been paying $40 a month thinking I had coverage for the water heater. The water heater stops working, I put in a service request and paid 100 bucks. They send out a plumber who tells me my 7-year-old tankless water heater is not up to code and it needs " modifications". AHS contract says the water heater and all components are covered, however, limitations to coverage include modifications. How convenient.

I called for a second opinion only to be told I would have to pay another 100 bucks. I try to get my own estimate and send it to them, they say you need pre-approval, girl puts me on hold for a few minutes, comes back and says it is not approved, for no reason, and if I wanted a second opinion I need to pay again.

I ask to speak to a Supervisor, she says they are all on calls right now and someone will call me back in 24 hours (ok, then who did you just speak to that denied my request for a second opinion?).

24 hours later still no call from the Supervisor, called back, spoke to the same girl who sounded startled that I called back, claimed a Supervisor would be with me shortly, then proceeded to leave me on hold indefinitely.

Now I want to cancel the policy, I call back and get transferred to 5 different people in the Philippines!

I finally talk to the cancellation team, save me the upsell, I just want to cancel. She tries to tell me it's better if I let my policy expire because they will have to charge me a cancellation fee. My policy doesn't expire for another 8 months at 40 bucks a month. After repeatedly asking this woman to stop talking and just cancel it, she tells me the cancellation fee is $32.50.

How on earth was it better for me to wait until my policy expired to avoid paying $32.50?

I am out of pocket 300 bucks total and still with a broken water heater.

Don't do it!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer service

Policy contract

Contractors

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 20, 2020

Poor service AHS

By Suzanne M., Laguna Niguel, CA, Verified Reviewer

I am a real estate broker. I usually give AHS as a closing gift for my clients. My husband and I bought a house and purchased a plan for a year.

We needed to use it for plumbing and electrical issues. The plumbers did not do quality work and needed to be called a few times to fix a toilet. Called a third time (and having to pay the $125 fee) only for them to say they can’t fix because they would need to pull the toilet.

Our toilets to this day still run sporadically. AHS was called with our dissatisfaction but did not do anything except said I’m sorry.

I will never buy or recommend AHS to any of my clients!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

AHS sounds like a great program

But it falls short of professional contractors

Is not worth the $595 and $125 per call

Poor contractors

Poor communication

Not customer centric

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 19, 2020

Seven-year mistake

By Michael G., Brownsville, TX, Verified Reviewer

In the seven years I’ve been with American Home Shield, you would think I would have learned my lesson. After calling them on past issues, and paying $75 service fees, I ultimately paid contractors to come out as if I didn’t have insurance. AHS refuses to negotiate for you, if you have an AC failure (like us) plan on AT LEAST two weeks of misery until the contractor they select decides that they have no other jobs and then they will get to you.

When our water main broke two years ago, AHS felt it was acceptable for us to be without any running water for over a week because the plumber they use was too busy for us.

Don’t make the same mistake we’ve made. Years of paying and when you need them, they will add misery to your already miserable situation and you will gladly pay for service outside of your contract.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The manner in which they advertise

They will never negotiate an behalf of their clients for reasonable service timeframes

They charge a service fee, then give you unrealistic and unacceptable time frames for your issue to be addressed

You pay AHS, but they act as if it is the contractor that pays them for service

Again, the contractor says you are out two weeks without an AC and AHS is absolutely ok with that

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 17, 2020

No contact

By Priscilla R., Randolph, ME, Verified Reviewer

I have had a bad experience with AHS. I put a service request in on 11/07/2020. Did not hear anything until I called today, 11/12/2020. Was told that no contractor could be found in my area. I live in Maine, not Siberia! They finally sent the name of a service center with area code 207 (Maine) but had the state as Indiana! Very disappointed with AHS. Should not have to call and try to find someone who can help!

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

No contact

Not knowledgeable

No support

Posted on Nov 15, 2020

Should be a negative star rating

By Gary K., Goodlettsville, TN, Verified Reviewer

AHS has the absolute worst customer service and contractors. In June of 2020, it took the service company 3 technicians, 5 trips, and 3 weeks to "repair" my A/C, to "complete" the job, they installed used parts. Now my heat pump needs service, so far 3 technicians, 3 trips, and still not working. Mailed 2 letters to corporate office.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Lack of concern

Charged multiple times for same service call

Contradicting information from service reps

Incompetence

Posted on Nov 12, 2020

Idiots

By Daniel V., Novelty, OH, Verified Reviewer

Purchased a home. The thermostat failed. A pin was broken on the connector. They claimed physical damage. Would not pay. Next, the water heater is leaking. They still have yet to replace it. Then our fridge is failing. Waited 5 to 6 weeks and decided to replace it ourselves. The part needed is obsolete. They are dragging their feet to give me funds toward the replacement.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer service

Cannot get to anybody but the first level people

Try not to pay even when the contract states they are obligated

Posted on Nov 10, 2020

Company is a scam

By Donald S., El Dorado Hills, CA, Verified Reviewer

This company routinely looks for ways to deny coverage. Despite clear contract language, it refuses to honor its promises. Its customer service is terrible. Difficult to get through, difficult to understand, and frequently calls are dropped with no follow-up. I changed to this company because of its so-called positive reputation and Heather had nothing but poor experience with it.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Refusal to honor contract

Poor customer service

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 10, 2020

Horrible customer service

By Lisa F., Okanogan, WA, Verified Reviewer

I have been paying into them for like 8 months, go to use them for a bathroom sink that is plugged and after 4 days with not one contractor or them calling me, I canceled them. Then after about 7 calls to them, 13 business days, and 2 reports with BBB, I got my $100.00 refund back. I had one gal who was very nice that put me through to the cancellation department and called me back when she said she would.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Contractors must not work in rural areas

Paying for product and nothing to show for it

Huge lack of customer service and integrity

Posted on Nov 4, 2020

Horrible

By Eric D., Reisterstown, MD, Verified Reviewer

I have been trying to get our washing machine repaired since August 2020. Sears told us parts are not available and we cannot get AHS to replace the item. Hold times are over 30 minutes and they do not have any North American support.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Cannot get North American support

Incredibly long hold times

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 3, 2020

If I could I’d give it no stars

By Deb C., California, Verified Reviewer

The worst home warranty company ever. Awful vendors, terrible customer service, and charges fees for cancellation. Way too expensive for what you get. High service call fees, high yearly charges. The people they send don’t show up.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

1 great vendor in 2 years, Elite Appliance

The vendors they try to send

Customer service

Costs

Posted on Oct 29, 2020

I would give them a zero if I could

By Jacquelyn A., Santee, CA, Verified Reviewer

I have had American Home Shield for the past 12 to 17 years and I have spent $11,000 in premiums. They have only replaced two major components in my home - a heater, which I had to pay $990 for upgrading and code violations, and my hot water heater, which cost me $795 for upgrading and code violations. What did they do with my $11,000 I’ve been paying them all the years? I think I’m going to cancel my contract as soon as it comes due and save the money and just pay for it out-of-pocket, they’re not worth it, they’re slow as a snail at approving anything I would like without hot water for five days. They have no one you can contact in the US for an honest answer. What a piece of crap this company is. I don’t know how they’re staying in business really, don’t buy insurance, don’t buy a warranty from them. My hot water heater was 30 years old and the heater was probably 20 years old when it was replaced.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Slow response

No major companies will work for because they are cheap

They don’t care about the clients

Posted on Oct 27, 2020

Worst customer service I’ve ever experienced

By Kathy F., Portland, OR, Verified Reviewer

I’ve now been without heat and air conditioning for 2 months and it’s supposed to get below freezing tonight. The issue has been diagnosed but the contracted service provider is now unreachable, won’t return my calls, and AHS won’t approve an alternate provider. I’ve called AHS seven times now with absolutely no resolution in sight. I’ve never been treated so disrespectfully.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 22, 2020

Horrible service, I paid out of pocket for the technician and for repair and for cancellation.

By Sophia W., Kentucky, Verified Reviewer

Please read the reviews about AHS carefully. They entice you by offering a month or two for free then once they have you in their grips they offer selected services where they say you have a minimum fee once you place a work order with them, keep in mind that the Technician they send may not be top quality just whoever they can get to provide service. At least this was my experience and I ended up having to purchase a whole new HVAC the last time I signed in with them.

This time I placed two work orders, one for an outside pipe and the other for a bedroom fan. I was told that they do. It covered piping so after I placed the work order and paid the fee and the Technician showed up, I also had to pay separately out of pocket to fix the pipe so honestly, it was wasted money, I could have just contacted the Technician directly and saved myself the fee altogether. The second work order for the fan never got resolved because of the Technician. Had it on backorder for a month and a half and there was no response to AHS from the Technician when I called, so once again wasted payment for the work order, and keep in mind this is separate from the monthly fee, you pay outside of the work order.

It was utterly a money pit with AHS happily taking my money and providing poor service. You are better off saving for a few months then paying for your appliance or service out of pocket. Don’t forget there is also a cancellation fee. So whatever your monthly fee is, you will be expected to pay that plus the cancellation fee, so they double charge you to cancel your subscription with them. What nonsense.

Buyer beware and learn from my mistake, do not get an American Home Shield service plan, it is not worth it. You will be left holding the bag like I was. I tried to give them a second chance but I just can’t continue to accept poor service and payout of pocket anyway since they are literally doing nothing but taking money from me. Don’t get it. Do your research.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Did not refund my money after I paid and submitted a work order and when I followed up I was told that they did not cover that service

Had to pay out of pocket after paying service fee

Had to pay cancellation fee and monthly fee

Posted on Oct 14, 2020

Home Shield

By Scott A., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Please review your contract and policies that American Home Shield has in place in handling disputes with services rendered and when canceling your annual policy.

We had an issue with no AC during the summer at it took over 1 week to resolve. The HVAC company failed to respond in the 48 hours required by AHS. When calling to ask for assistance, they were happy to provide another contractor but that could have resulted in another 48-hour response delay so I stayed with the original contractor. AHS was not able to appropriate an emergency HVAC visit unless the house was under 105 degrees Fahrenheit in the house. Thankfully, I have a healthy family and the house temp was never above 96 degrees.

When canceling the policy, I was told there was an administrative fee egual to 1 month of my monthly contract, which I was not aware of. That is on me and is a welcome reminder to read the contract before signing.

Take home message, please review your contract and policies that American Home Shield has in place in handling disputes with services rendered and when canceling your annual policy.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The current policies in place for problem resolution serve the company 1st and the consumer last

Posted on Oct 10, 2020

Do not use them!

By Zheng Z., Tempe, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Worst customer service ever! No one answer phone calls, and hang-up phone calls. If I want a service, I have to wait for a month to be scheduled. I tried to cancel three times, they either hang up my call, or agreed to cancel but never really canceled it! Do not use them!

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Its name

Once signed, they don't cancel your contract

Bad customer service

Posted on Oct 7, 2020

Beware! Ultimate rip-off company.

By Handmaiden C., Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

Our 30-year-old dryer needed repair/replacement. AHS would not approve the purchase of a replacement dryer and we could not find the needed parts, so they sent us a check for $10. Yes, ten dollars! Then they closed out the incident report as if this would be satisfactory to anyone anywhere at any time! Well, smoke was spewing from the top of my head! This company is dangerously inept, unreliable, crooked, lying, stealing, and no good. I immediately canceled my membership as this is the second time these thieves got ahold of my hard-earned money. Save a little each month for surprise repairs and you're way better off than having a rip-off warranty from American Home Shield!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Lack of customer care and service

Customer service outsourced outside USA

Lack of integrity, respect, and workmanship

Posted on Oct 6, 2020

Used to be better

By Yolanda D., Indianapolis, IN, Verified Reviewer

I have used them before and am about to cancel. I will never use them again. I ordered service on 8/11/20 and have been waiting since then for a part for my dryer. I have called every week until finally I was told I would just be paid out for the dryer. My issue is that for the last 3 weeks every agent has told me my case would be escalated and they or a manager would call me back. It NEVER happens. So I have to call back and the agent goes through the same process every time. They call Sears, I wait on hold for 30-40 minutes, they come back and say it's being escalated and I will get a call in 24-48 hours, and no one calls. So I have to call again. I'm pretty sick of it. I just wish this could be resolved! Oh yeah, not to mention I was never told of the $65.00 cancellation charge when I signed up either. I was very clear in asking because if I'm in a contract or have an ETF, I want to know. So I asked, no, there's nothing. Of course, now there is. I really used to like these guys and would recommend to everyone. Never again!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Pricing

The warranty covered just about everything

Never hid anything, they fixed everything I asked for with no extra fees

There is no way to comment about their service on their website

Ineffectual problem solving

You can't get past an agent to speak to anyone higher

Posted on Oct 3, 2020

Would rate zero if possible

By Mitchell F., Deltona, FL, Verified Reviewer

I was with them for over 15 years with multiple homes. Over the past 4 years service has declined to the point where you have to wait over a week to get most anything fixed. First they won't answer the phone, I waited on hold for 2.5 hours in the middle of a Monday last month before giving up. Then they don't just order a repair, first you wait 24 to 72 hours, not including weekends, for a tech to schedule an appointment. Then they come out and evaluate the problem even if you've told them exactly down to the part what is wrong. Then the tech returns to the office to submit for approval, then they reschedule for possible repairs if they have the parts. If you live ion a rural area, good luck, they will just tell you "sorry, we don't have anyone in your area, can you call someone to come out and sent us an estimate for approval?" That's not how it used to be.

Then the contract clearly states cancel any time. Right, as long as you don't mind them sending you to collections for the balance of your contract, which is not at all what the contract says. As soon as you try to end the contract though is when you find out where all the telephone folks work, they call every 2 hours to get you to keep them.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Website easy

Over 3 hour hold times

Over 4 days for repairs

Don't honor contract

Showing 1-27 of 554

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.