• 485 Customer Reviews
  • 3% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 93%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • American Home Shield account management of data

    • By Markley L.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a customer of AHS for 20 years for two separate residences. In the last 5 years the level of knowledge, feedback, and service as declined greatly. For two years I have attempted to simply change personal data on my account to every six months discover it is set back to data of 3 years before. After calls into the support line, I am transferred than disconnected and start again. With this company, you need to be your own advocate and question everything and you will get what you need, but be warned.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Price
    • Vendors once managed will perform
    • Declining customer service
    • Commitments made are often disregarding
    • Vendors need to be managed as AHS does not keep accountability

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service

    • By Saeed N.,
    • Allen, TX,
    • Jul 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    They just try to charge you money, and every year they increase the premium. If you call them to cancel they put you on hold forever. I moved from my house and called them to cancel my policy, twice, each time they kept me on hold for more than 40 minutes, then somebody from other country answers the call and after explaining the issue, he/she referred to the manager and put me on hold again, and suddenly the call discontinued. They never called me back, even my phone number is on file. Finally, I called my credit card company to block the payment and report it as a fraudulent charge. It is the worst ever, they outsource their customer service to nowhere places.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Some contractors are on time for service, some not
    • Worst phone consumer service ever
    • Very pricey with premium

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Super responsive when they're trying to sell you the contract. When you need service, not so much.

    • By Jorge A.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    On 06/21/20, I filed a claim for service. The water heater was leaking and a local plumber told him the water regulator was bad causing high water pressure into the house which caused the problem.

    On 6/22/20 AHS had a plumber come out and looked at my water heater and the water regulator. Said he needed authorization. Later that day I received a call from AHS’ Authorizations and was told that high water pressure was not a covered item. I told the rep that the reason I had high water pressure into the house was because the water regulator was not working and that my contract specifically stated that the water regulator was a covered item. He told me that he would speak to his supervisor. The rep came back on the line and told me he would have to call the vendor (plumber) for clarification. He told me that he would call me back either later that day or the next.

    On 06/23/20, I received an email letting me know that my work order had been completed and to call back if I continued experiencing problems. I called AHS and spoke to "Katie" who told me that the item was not covered. I asked her whether they had received additional information from the vendor. She claimed that I had an out-of-pocket cost of $480 due to the item not being covered. I told her that the rep was supposed to call the vendor for additional information and call me back. She then said that they had not heard back from the vendor and they were still waiting to hear back. I asked her for her last name or an employee number. She said she could not provide me with her last name and didn’t have an employee number.

    On 06/24/20, I called AHS and spoke to Jessica. She told me that the item was not covered and I had an out-of-pocket cost of $480. I told her to read the notes as I was waiting for a return call from AHS as they were waiting for clarification from the vendor. She said she would call me back.

    On 06/25/20, I called AHS again. The wait time has always been about 40 minutes and up to 1-hour plus. During my wait time, I accessed my account online and communicated with one of your representatives via Live Chat. Your rep, Joyce H., told me that high water pressure was not a covered item and that my claim was closed. I asked her whether they had heard back from the vendor for clarification. She told me that claim notes indicated that the claim was closed and that if I chose, I could have a second opinion, otherwise they would stand by the original vendor’s diagnosis and it was an uncovered loss. While communicating with Joyce via Live Chat, your representative Francis answered the call. She provided me with her employee number 8027066. I told her the situation and she told me that they had not heard back from the vendor and that she would call them while I waited on the phone. I continued communicating with Joyce telling her that Francis was assisting me by calling the vendor and not just telling me that the claim was denied. I told Joyce she had been no help and gave her a negative rating. I then ended the Live Chat. Francis returned and told me she had read the notes and that she thought it was a covered item but that she would have to speak to the vendor for clarification. She told me she had already left a message for the vendor and that she would call me back.

    On 06/26/20, I called AHS yet again. I waited for 40 minutes for someone to answer. Ivan answered and provided me with his employee number 3320376. I explained to him what was going on. He apologized and said he would investigate further. He placed me on hold…20 minutes later, the line disconnected.

    I called again and waited 20 minutes. Ben answered and I asked for his employee number. He said he was not allowed to provide me with that information. I asked for a supervisor and he asked me to explain what was going on. I told him what I had been going through and that the leak continued causing additional damage. He read the notes and told me he would try to get a supervisor. He returned and said that the supervisors were on managerial calls and couldn’t take my call; however, he would connect me to the Escalation Department. He transferred me and I spoke to an individual who identified herself as Ash. She told me that the Authorization’s department was closed and that she would call me back on Monday. She said her employee number was A. Bernard.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Polite
    • Non-responsive
    • Don't do what they say they're going to do
    • Insincere

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A/C installation

    • By Kandis M.,
    • Mountain Home, AR,
    • Jun 25, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a customer for 17 years. Today, I am not a happy customer. I called to voice my concerns and since then my phone number has been blocked by them. I had an A/C replaced that now impedes the walkway to my front door. I was told tough cookies. To fix this I will now have to move my porch and sidewalk. If I were home when this thing arrived it would have never made it off the truck. This monstrosity will most certainly devalue my property. If I move it, I will be left with holes on the exterior walls of my home. It is a disaster and if anyone wants I will send pictures. You can judge for yourself. I can't stop crying over this.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Poor customer service

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away

    • By Kyle H.,
    • Birmingham, AL,
    • Jun 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    Worst service experience I have ever experienced in my life. AC was out for multiple days while we had a newborn while we got the runaround from the contractor. Guy showed up hours late after we would call and he would say, "I'll be there in 30 mins". Finally shows up and says he needs authorization to order a part. Says he will back in the afternoon. No sign or word from him, I call and he said he needed authorization and that takes 24 hours and that he would call the local store to see if they had the part. I then called AHS a couple of hours later, they had not even heard from the guy. I beg him to tell me the truth if he was going to fix it today or not, he couldn't even be straight with me. AHS never apologized or tried to make it right with just an "I know it's frustrating". Enjoy the American home warranty scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible company

    • By Susan B.,
    • Grand Rapids, MI,
    • Jun 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    We bought our home in the fall of 2019, sellers offered the American Home Shield warranty. Our water heater died immediately. AHS sent out a repairman and we were told by him and AHS that we needed to pay almost $900 out of pocket for repairs "not covered." We later found these repairs were not necessary/not done AND the installation was done incorrectly. We sued the repair company in Small Claims Court and won. In February 2020, our furnace went out. AHS sent out a company who wanted to charge over $1000 in "uncovered repairs," AND said they were too busy to install and advised us to take the "cash out." The cash out for a new furnace is only $800. We had to find our own company and pay the rest out of pocket. Now, our central AC and wall unit AC went out. They sent the exact same person out. He said no problem, he would be back to fix both. Five days later, we hadn't heard from him or AHS. Online, AHS account says "repairs complete." What? I called AHS, waiting 56 to speak to someone, only to be told the repairman said the wall unit malfunctioned due to pest damage (not true) and the central AC failed due to "improper installation." Again, not true and NOT what he said to us at all when in our home. So we are out another $150 for service calls and have to replace it on our own. This is a terrible company. They have an excuse for everything, and horrible communication and customer service. The repair people they sent out are shady and mediocre.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Lack of coverage
    • Poor communication and customer service
    • Mediocre repair companies

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst experience possible

    • By David M.,
    • Parker, TX,
    • Jun 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    I pay $1,400 per year for a multiservice agreement covering everything including our pool.

    In the last year I've had four service calls:

    1) Pool Equipment: Part not covered by contract, I had to pay $300 install it.

    2) A/C not cooling: Contractor they sent out said I had a coil leaking and needed to be replaced. AHS called and said my part of the bill would be $1,600 because they only covered a small amount on coolant.

    I had another company come out and they fixed a small leak outside and the total bill was $326 and of course AHS isn't going to reimburse me.

    3) Water leak near water heater: Don't know what to say about this. It's been over 3 weeks and we still have that portion of the water turned off and the contractor can't tell me when they'll have the part. A part for a water leak?

    4) Pool Heater not working: The first company that came out said my heat exchanger is out and it needs to be replaced ($3,500). AHS declined the claim saying it was due to chemical damage and that's not covered.

    I had a 5-star company come out and they said the heat exchanger was fine, needs a new board. I called AHS and they sent a different company out for a second opinion and they said the same thing my company did, a new board is needed. AHS declined it and I'm still waiting to find out why.

    This company is a scam! They will look for ways not to pay and the contractors they send will usually try to say what ever it is needs to be replaced so they can make more money.

    Stay away!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Two years ago they repaired a refrigerator and it was a good experience
    • Mostly low-end contractors
    • Expensive
    • Looks for ways not to pay

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very poor service

    • By Peter K.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 5, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    We have had AHS warranty for around a year and we had two requests for repair in the last 7-8 months and both services were miserable. The company has a very poor trained representative and also company picked unprofessional vendors to give service to clients and based on our experience the most vendors without experience since the company picks cheap vendors.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • No knowledge about what they do!
    • Being rude
    • Long wait

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst experience ever

    • By Diane O.,
    • Battle Ground, WA,
    • May 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    I have been going through American Home Shield to get my heat pump fixed. It has now been three weeks. First they ordered the wrong compressor and now it's been over a week and still nothing has been ordered and we are told the parts are still probably three more weeks out and that's when they get around to ordering the. Asked for a cash-in offer to replace myself. The offer given wouldn't even come close to getting the parts. Have been trying to get ahold of the parts department and have been told someone would call me back the same day. Going on day three contacting them. Have been on hold for 40 minutes only to be disconnected. Now on hold again.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Poor customer service

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I do not recommend. I regret doing business with them!

    • By Rey B.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • May 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I couldn't give ZERO stars after being with them 1 month short of 3 years. In my opinion, their so-called "coverage" for Freon is a joke. They will only pay for $10.00 per lb., while their service company charges me $70.00 per lb. so I would have been out of pocket at $60.00 per pound for a 10lb system. What kind of simpleton would agree to this! A 10lb tank of Freon costs $120.00 in my area so what is the rest of the charge for? I think robbery so I got another AC guy to recharge my system at a reasonable price.

    Anyway, I canceled my contract and was HAPPY to pay their $35.00 "cancellation" fee, just to not give them one more penny of my hard-earned money and I will help my family and friends on social network by letting them know about my regretful experience. Good riddance!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad service, and a fraud. They take your money, but don’t pay for repairs. Terminix is part of their company.

    • By Abbey G.,
    • California,
    • May 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have paid for years for the warranty, I spent two months trying to get someone to come out. I was told service was covered, then I would get a call and told coverage was not covered. This went back and forth 11 times. This is a scam and fraudulent. Don’t give them your good-earned money. Use Sears or some other company. Be warned. Be safe.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Plumbing problem but no contracted plumbers in my city

    • By David H.,
    • Texas,
    • May 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    On 05/03/20 Sunday morning, I discovered water coming up from under my wood floors. In fact, a lot of water. I knew I had an active leak.

    I called American Home Shield (I have been with them over four years), I knew I had the option that covered plumbing.

    I spoke with a woman who had a heavy accent. She told me that the listed approved plumber was not available in the city I live in. The closest plumber was over 90 miles away and they did not work on weekends. I asked if there were any other plumbers we could use. She said that was the only plumber on the list. I said, "for the whole state of Texas you guys only have one plumber?"

    I asked why "American Home Shield" would contract with someone who did not take calls on weekends. She told me "they need the weekends to rest". I saw red but maintained my composure.

    I told her it was an emergency and I needed someone to come out this day and could not wait for a call sometime on Monday to set an appointment.

    She told me if I did so I was responsible for the repairs. I really think this company has forgotten about the customer and is setting the customer up for failure with the way they do business. It seems pretty shady to sell protection to someone and they have no contractors where you live that can provide a service if you need it.

    I will be calling today to cancel American Home Shield and would recommend anyone reading this to contact them and see if they have service people in the area you live in so you don't have the same situation as I.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful customer service

    • By Susan T.,
    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • May 5, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had AHS for several years. Over the last few years the customer service has declined significantly. The representatives are polite but they are not invested in providing a service (let alone good service) to the customer. In fact, I am still waiting on a return call from AHS regarding a service issue. At this time, it has been 3 weeks since they agreed to call me back and I am still waiting.

    For the most part most of the companies that are sent by AHS to provide the service repair are professional and competent. I would not recommend them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fraudulent company

    • By Benjamin T.,
    • Florida,
    • May 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is trying to charge me a monthly fee for something I never signed up for in the first place. I have heard of them but never ever liked them at all so how do they think they can charge me for a service I never even signed up for?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM!

    • By Karen K.,
    • Arizona,
    • Apr 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Although I've had negative experiences with this outfit in the past (they've tried to negotiate out of a payment that was part of the contract in a previous encounter), I secured a contract for my house based on the recommendation from my RE Brokerage (CB Real Estate). What a joke!

    I submitted a claim on my $550 annual premium after 10 months, was told I'd get a call from the subtractor, NOT! No answer at the AC company when I tried to call. Been on hold for 28.44 MINUTES, so far, with AHS, no reply. Call just disconnected. SCAM, do not buy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Air conditioning repair

    • By Reshaye S.,
    • Texas,
    • Apr 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I been with AHS for 15 years and rarely use them and when I do, the majority of the time it is an issue. My air conditioner was not cooling and they replaced the compressor in September 2019, here it is April 2020 with the same issue and they replaced the compressor again. The first time I had to pay $300 for freon plus the $75 service fee. The second time $240 for freon plus $75 service fee. The contractor recommended a new AC Unit but American Home Shield likes to keep patching instead of replacing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield is TERRIBLE

    • By Nancy Y.,
    • Florida,
    • Apr 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    American Home Shield is the WORST home warranty I have used. I am a realtor and I will NEVER recommend them to anyone. They charge you, then they find a way not to do the work and say it is not covered but they charge you anyway. Service providers do not like working for them because they do not pay them very well. I guess that is why the work is not done. I think they pay the service providers to say they cannot fix it because they do not want to spend the time to fix it. They just want to move on to paying customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Resolved

    • By Jeff B.,
    • Mechanicsburg, PA,
    • Apr 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Update to the review: AHS reviewed the case and has reimbursed me for the service call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Mar 30, 2020

    Flat out fraud

    Cracked toilet - went online to file a claim. They have you check boxes to get to the problem, and verify that it would be a covered claim. There was even a check box specifically for "cracked toilet". They charge $75 upfront for the service call.

    Guy came out, took a photo, called back to American Home Shield, came back in and said not covered. Told me they won't cover it until it's leaking, and advised that I have it repaired right away because it's about to fail and will cause water damage. And AHS does not cover water damage to your property. AHS calls me, tells me the plumber said it doesn't need fixing (lie, he told me it's urgent to get fixed), and said they do not cover cracked toilets anyway. Even though there's a check box for cracked toilets.

    If I was trying to concoct a tale of fraud, I couldn't do a better job than what actually played out with the fraudulent, immoral, and fake home warranty known as American Home Shield.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Terrible coverage, high deductibles, and questionable contractors

    • By Brian T.,
    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Apr 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Got a warranty with the home we purchased in March 2019. Just after moving in, we had both toilets start to leak. Made an online claim and had to pay $75x2 deductible. Plumber said the work was done, but one still leaked. Online again, and we had to pay another $75. Plumber came and said he fixed it, but after he left it still leaked. Called AHS and they sent the plumber back out for "free" (sans $225), new plumber came out from the same company and said the previous plumber had been let go because it turns out he was not a certified plumber. New plumber said the toilet was no longer fixable, but AHS would not cover a replacement. New one would be $450 installed.

    Sump pump was failing. AHS covered the sump pump, but not the backflow valve ($80).

    Toilet leaked again, replacement was not covered and while the plumber was there he pointed out that the 1/4 turn shutoff valve was not working. Said he couldn't fix it because AHS would not cover that because the call was for the toilet and not the 1/4 turn valve. I could call, pay another $75 and they would come back out to fix the valve.

    Turned the AC/heat pump on in the summer, but no cold air. Paid $75 for a tech, tech came out and found a leak. Repaired the leak and handed me a bill for $360 because AHS did not cover the refrigerant that the leak caused.

    Well pump had no pressure. Paid $75 for a tech to come out and tell me that while AHS covered the pump, they did not cover the pressure tank or the water conditioning system that were also completely shot. $2600 out of pocket.

    Kitchen sink leaked, paid $75 for a tech, new plumbing company came out fixed it and left and it still leaked. Called AHS, plumber came back for "free" (aka $75) and told me that the basket strainer was stripped, but AHS didn't cover that and it would cost me $125 for one to be installed. Went out and bought one for $8 and put it in myself.

    Two appliances failed - not covered because the policy did not include appliances. $3200 to replace them.

    Useless warranty. They say you are covered but they don't completely cover you and the contractors are sub-par.

    Would never, ever recommend them.

    They have, however, been relentless trying to get me to renew.

    Never - Ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY

    • By Garry P.,
    • Augusta, GA,
    • Mar 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After paying this company for years and finally using them for a service, I now realize that they are a bunch of scam artists. I opened a claim for my hot water heater and they sent out a plumber to assess. The plumber said that the damage to my heater was due to high water pressure, which voided service through AHS. I ultimately had to pay more than $500 out of pocket to fix my water heater and to install a PRV. However, for about three months after that, I’ve had so little water pressure in my house that I couldn’t have to faucets running at the same time. I finally called AHS again when I start my sprinkler system for the first time since they installed this PRV and realized that there wasn’t enough water pressure to make one sprinkler head work.

    It took over three hours until I got a customer representative to help me, after two substandard customer reps hung up in my face, and one customer rep putting me on hold for about 30 mins. To make things worse, these reps went into my AHS account and changed my phone number, address, and email so that when I attempted to call through the AHS automated service, the service was unable to find my contract when I used my phone number and zip code for authentication. I had to go into my account twice and fix my personal information before the automated service could associate my personal information with my contract because these no good reps were deliberately changing it so I couldn’t use the telephonic service.

    It turned out that I already had a PRV on my system (at the main water valve) and my original water pressure was correct at 80 psi. When I asked AHS if they’d reimburse me for this screw-up, they said NO, and that I’d have to contact the plumbing service myself. When I began telling another rep how this was unfair and that I wanted to talk to her supervisor, she also hung up on me (third time). I closed my account with these scumbags and is now giving Choice Warranty a try. BEWARE OF AMERICAN HOME SHIELD!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service

    • By Jeannette H.,
    • Bedford, VA,
    • Mar 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After 5 years of the monthly payment being increased, I never had a claim, I looked around for another company and found one. I contacted AHS to cancel my policy. I received the cancellation notice and was assured that I would not be billed any further. I was billed the next month. I contacted the company by phone and was told that it was a mistake and they would take care of it and call me back. Surprise, no call and no refund. I don't know what would have happened had I needed them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • American Home Shield is a rip off

    • By Samuel H.,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Mar 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My boiler stopped working. They authorized J.A. Heating, South Hills, PA to come out. They came out and analyzed the problem wrong. They were to install a safety switch and call back. They never did. American Home Shield was supposed to authorize S&S Climate Systems, told me they would authorize payment. Nothing was entered into the record, they refused to pay. Customer service even hung up on the repairman from S&S Climate Systems. American Home Shield reps were disrespectful, lied, and refused to pay the repairman for S&S Climate. I have canceled the warranty for everything in my home. American Home Shield is not a reputable warranty company. Don't do business with American Home Shield, they will rip you off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Refused to allow service provider to correctly fix issue

    • By Janine K.,
    • Elk Grove, CA,
    • Mar 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The plumbing in my whole house drained slow; plus the toilets repeatedly were stoppage. AHS sent out a Budget Rooter plumber service who refused to do what was needed to fix the problem because they stated AHS would not pay them. The plumber came out 4 times and never truly fixed my issue. So I had to hire an outside plumber to come to fix the issue. Home Warranties limit what can actually be fixed so I believe they are a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst experience ever

    • By Susan K.,
    • Menifee, CA,
    • Feb 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We purchased a home warranty from American Home Shield and had several disappointing experiences. Most of the technicians barely spoke English and had a heavy accent. One guy was here to repair our A/C and didn’t even bring a ladder to get up on the roof!

    When we tried to cancel our warranty, we were bumped from 1 representative to another trying to sell us different coverage. Finally we were told that it would cost us $39 to cancel!

    It’s a racket and NOT worth the money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Washing Machine Repair

    • By Percy B.,
    • Oxford, AL,
    • Feb 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We have been trying for the last eight weeks to get our washing machine repaired. The first time it took over a week to get a serviceman. Then it took two weeks to get parts and another week to get the serviceman back. It worked for a week and then had the same problem. It took another week to get a serviceman. Then it took five days for them to send the wrong part. The serviceman asked them to overnight the correct part but they didn't. Four days later we call and were told it was under review, at that point the washer wouldn't work at all so we thought they were considering replacing the washer. Two days later (today) we call and what they were reviewing was sending the part. My conclusion is American Home Shield is not going to replace your washer. We are going to buy a new washer. We can't wait any longer to have a washing machine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Billing department not very good

    • By Joan E.,
    • Orange, CA,
    • Feb 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Joined December 2019, got the Pick 10 plan. A couple of weeks later I added electrical for a one-time payment of $24, they took out the payment of $24 four times, I wanted my credit back for $72! Account was overdrawn due to them taking out more money...they use part of the money for another payment and we’re gonna keep the money for all the payments and I want my $42.01 back. It’s taken three weeks now to get them to do it, to fill out the form. They lost my billing information, it’s ridiculous, so they had to put that back in and they’ve already billed me before now. They say it’s gonna be another seven days because they filled out another form so don’t plan on me staying with this company long.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Three service fee charges for 1 service call

    • By Billy C.,
    • Bowman, SC,
    • Feb 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My credit card has been charged 3 times for one service call on January 30th. The charges were at about 4:30 PM and 8:30 PM on January 30th. Another charge of $75.00 at about 10:30 PM on February 1st. Three charges for 1 service call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 485

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
American Home Shield