About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 353 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 10 1 star:  329
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 353
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service and company does not uphold policy!

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Upon submitting a claim for our AC repair and paying $125 for service, we were linked with a horrible AC repair company who did not submit diagnostic paperwork to American Home Shield within 48 hours as per their policy. When calling to follow up we were hung up on 3 times, customer service representatives do not keep adequate notes in the account and do not return calls that they set up! Every time we called it was like we were starting all over again. The representatives have no answers, refuse to escalate call to supervisor and refused to assign another vendor to our case while insisting on waiting for the vendor to return their call (we called the vendor too and the voicemail was full)...Meanwhile, we have a three-week-old baby and heat advisories in Florida and it’s been over a week since we started the process. We still do not have a resolution, however, fought to get a $125 refund (still "processing"). Our AC is covered under our policy and we still do not have a repair or replacement or even just next steps from AHS. Seems like AHS is good for other services and appliances but not AC! Customer service is outsourced and the contractors AHS works with are not reputable or professional. Would not recommend at all - we have paid for a policy as consumers and the company is not fulfilling their portion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing experience; feeling robbed...twice.

    • Texas,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am still dealing with a plumbing issue from March. The contractor just made a 4th visit and the shower is still not working. Yet to be seen if they will actually fix my shower or if I will need to have it done on my own. AHS does a poor job of managing the contractors that they send out.

    AC went out and AHS offered me $400 towards a new $9000 unit or to pay $1700 out of pocket. Contractor's sales team was rude and disrespectful. AHS seems to be concerned with premiums and not service. When I moved to cancel contract they sent me a bill for cancellation.

    At no point in the process was any emphasis placed on solving my two very major repairs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not waste money, time, or patience. AHS scam.

    • Arizona,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, it's actually been a very long time since I've been treated so badly by so many people at one company. I'm physically shaking and ILL while writing this. I've had AHS for 4 plus years. Paying every month and not needing them until yesterday. It was, and is, 115 degrees in the Arizona desert heat. I called because my HVAC capacitor went out. After 7 calls and being hung up on repeatedly, they told me to find my own HVAC company to make the repair and to call back with their diagnosis. After many calls to companies who refused to work with AHS, I finally found one, 24 hours later. Please keep in mind all without any Air Conditioning in 115 degrees. The HVAC tech came. We had to call 14 times. Not kidding. 14 times. Talking to rude people who would refuse to authorize a $200 repair. Sasha was a name I recieved of one rep...So 14 calls and this poor technician who was simply telling AHS what was broken was also being spoken to so rudely and being accused of being told what to say by me and I didn't say anything except my property address. Even though I pay every month for 4 years they refused to authorize a capacitor repair on my 14-year-old air conditioner.

    The repair was $200, the tech spent 4 hours talking to them and being hung up on. The capacitor took 5 minutes to replace. He was so incredible and AHS employees should truly feel ashamed at how disgraceful they treat people who need help. I paid $100 yesterday for a service call but they had ME find a company since oddly they couldn't or wouldn't telling me I'd be reimbursed. As long as the company was licensed insured...I could not believe how I was talked to or how the technician from the AC company who didn't even work for American Home Shield.

    Shame on American Home Shield and their belittling representatives who just yell degrade and hang up repeatedly...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    WOW! Third-world call centers.

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    WOW, if you call to renew your contract, you get a US-based person, but if you call with an issue, you get some third-world non-English speaking person with horrible customer service skill. Amazon Home is cheaper and has US-based call centers. I will not be renewing my AHS, if anything, I will use Amazon.

    BTW their contractors also (with the exception of Sears ) do not respond. I do not want to make a bunch of phone calls just to get service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Avoid this company at all cost!

    • Redding, CA,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed my first service call in April 2019. They sent out a company called Service 1. They have been back three times and I still have no A/C. I will end my relationship with AHS as soon as I get my A/C fixed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Customer service non existent

    • Peoria, AZ,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    May 22nd our KA fridge alarms went off. Contacted KA, was told control board is dying. Called AHS on May 24th, they emailed me at least 3 or 4 contractors until one could come out the 25th. I am still without a fridge and have been on the phone almost daily with the 30-60 minute hold phone calls. AHS even closed the work order until I called and finally someone listened and put the work order back to open on my account. On two other calls 2 different supposedly supervisors said they would call back within an hour which never happened. The contractor says they closed the order AHS says they sent parts (keep in mind they told me this happened twice before with different dates same part?). I am guessing I will not get my fridge fixed by AHS or this contractor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Directly lied to...

    • Mobile, AL,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Willow S. Fri, 06/14/19 11:42:23 am America/Chicago

    Hello. How may I help you?

    Are you still there?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:43:53 am

    hi yes

    I would like to cancel my insurance contract

    Willow S. 11:44:18 am

    Hi! I'm happy to assist! One moment please while I access your account.

    May I ask the reason you would like to cancel your warranty?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:46:09 am

    We are cancelling because we weren't impressed with the services we received... also, the salesman who originally sold me the policy said that i could choose my own contractor but would have to be reimbursed. When the time came... I wasn't allowed to use a company of my choosing.

    Willow S. 11:47:53 am

    I apologize that were misinformed. The only time AHS will authorize an outside technician is when there are no AHS Network Contractors available to accept a given service request. I can offer a trade service fee coupon which can be redeemed on your next service request if you would like to retain the warranty?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:49:21 am

    Also.. my wife and 5 year old son were hot for two weeks while waiting for the issue to be resolved. As for the above... it's not what i was originally told.. I was lied to. I would never have purchased the warrant had i known the truth. I would like to cancel.

    warranty*

    Willow S. 11:50:30 am

    I understand, one moment while I process you request.

    There is an Administration Fee of $53.82 due to process the cancellation. Would you like to use payment method we have on file for this transaction?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:52:50 am

    Your going to charge me a fee to cancel?? After hearing about my horrible experience with YOUR company!?!

    You need to get this fee waived before I post my experiences to all major social media, google reviews, BBB Etc...

    Willow S. 11:55:25 am

    The administration fee cannot be waived. If you are unwilling to pay the fee I can submit your request rather than process it now to our retentions team. They will reach out to you to discuss your cancellation within 3-5 business days and to process your cancellation request.

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:56:00 am

    Process it now.. Charge the fee.

    I hope all of the bad publicity is worth $53 to AHS

    Willow S. 11:56:50 am

    Your request has been processed and your warranty is now cancelled.

    Is there anything else I can assist you with at this time?

    Michael Joseph Turlington 11:57:00 am

    No

    Worst. Company. Ever.

    You rated our customer service as bad

    11:57:19 am

    Willow S. 11:57:55 am

    Thank you for contacting AHS via chat! Have a great day! You may close the chat session at your convince.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service for AC

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was with AHS since June 2007 and in May of 2016 my AC stopped cooling the house. I finally get a chance to see if AHS will honor all they say they will about if they can’t fix something they will replace it.

    Long story short, my AC unit needed to be replaced and I was told they will only cover but I had to pay the contractor $1500 to repair the AC instead of replacing.

    I was furious. I told AHE to pay me the cost to replace the unit my self. They cut me a check for $297 after I provided a receipt that I had paid for a brand new AC unit out of pocket. So after being with them for 9 years and all I got was $297 towards AC replacement was a total rip off.

    Stay away from this company. They do not value long term customers or any customer from other reviews I read.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Pool blues

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like everyone else that has posted, WORST COMPANY EVER! I have been a customer for 4 years and they continue to decline to the point I will not renew with them but look elsewhere. Still waiting to have my pool plumbing repaired after 9 days and AHS sits on their butts making up excuses. The fake apologies both on the phone and what they post on this site are a joke. You call and if you are fortunate enough to understand the person you are speaking with, they tell you there are no notes in your file from the previous 3 phone calls. They then tell you, "I am placing notes in your file now, I understand how frustrating this must be." Lie! Call back and still no notes in your file and still waiting. Save your money and time, SHOP ANOTHER COMPANY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service

    • Creola, AL,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On May 3, 2019, A/C was blowing out hot air. Called for a service request.

    A service contractor was assigned and I was told they would contact in 24 hours. The next day I called the service contractor to see when they would be coming to check A/C. They told me it would be at least 5 to 6 days before they could come. I called AHS back and they said they would get someone else.

    On May 5 I called AHS and they told me to get an outside contractor to come and fix the problem. They told me when he got there to call them so they could talk to him about what was wrong.

    When he got there and found capacitor bad we called AHS to tell them. I gave the lady at AHS my information and told her the contractor would tell her the problem and charges. She told me that since they had told me to get an outside contractor that all I had to do was send in a receipt from the contractor to them.

    I stayed on the phone with her for 20 minutes telling her that they told me earlier they would need to talk to him. She kept saying no, just send a receipt in and gave me an email address.

    I sent in receipt like I was told to. I got an e-mail saying they received the invoices. A week later I get a letter in the mail saying AHS would not reimburse me because we did not call in.

    I called AHS and gave them the date and time I called in and they said they saw where I had called in and would listen to the recording and get back to me.

    Well, I have called for 4 weeks and still all they will say is someone is looking into it.

    I called today and am canceling my contract with them. They have got enough of my money.

    Product or Service Mentioned: American Home Shield Customer Care.

    Reason of review: Poor customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Refrigerator

    This is the worst company to do business with. I have made a claim about my refrigerator that stopped working on May 8, 2019. Today is June 6th and the issue has not been resolved. The technician who came to fix the refrigerator uploaded pictures of the condition of the refrigerator informing American Home Shield that the appliance is infested with mold; yet, American Home Shield refused to replace the refrigerator. I spoke to them this morning and they stated that they have ordered parts to fix the refrigerator, but refused to discuss how they will address the mold issue. This is a company that is collecting $100 monthly from my account. This is a total ripoff. Stay away from them. Why pay for service if you have to wait more than a month for repair. It would have been easier for me to buy a new refrigerator than to deal with the frustration that this company has caused me over the past month. Please do not buy any service contract from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 353

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review