About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

181 Consumer Reviews for American Home Shield

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 6 2 star: 3 1 star:  166
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 181
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Ineffective home warranty

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We've had American Home Shield as our home warranty provider since we moved into our home in 2015. In that time we've filed a few claims, and only one has been handled in a timely manner. We were without a stove/oven for six weeks while they tried and failed multiple times to fix our unit. Our AC recently stopped working, and they sent us to a third party vendor, Eagle Heating and Air. That vendor missed three scheduled appointments with us. I then called another vendor to come out as it was 87 degrees in our home and unbearable. That vendor came out the very next day and fixed our unit. I asked American Home Shield for a reimbursement and was denied. This company is simply a scam. I pay $70/month for this warranty and rarely get timely service. Do not use American Home Shield.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Water heater...water pressure

    • Woodbridge, VA,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield said they would not replace my water heater because of the water pressure. I had another plumber beside the United Air Temp come out. They sent out two guys one to say it was not working the other to say they will not pay for it. DO NOT use either company! 10-year-old water heater.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    AC problems!

    • Suffolk, VA,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have been paying AHS almost $50 per month for several years. I had a problem with the central air conditioning system last year during the hottest part of the summer. It took about a week before anyone came to fix it. Fortunately, it was a minor problem and could be resolved.

    Our AC system broke down again three weeks ago. After waiting about a week, AHS sent contractor, who said they had fixed the problem. WRONG! We are still sitting in a hot house waiting for the same company to return to try once again.

    My confidence in the competence of the people AHS contracts with is not very high.

    If we did not have a contract with AHS, this problem would have been taken care of by now! As it is we are still hot and waiting!!

    Will keep y'all posted.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    AHS is a scam

    • Mesa, AZ,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst company! Never get into a contract with them! Beware, they raise prices and renew contracts automatically with no warning and then will not refund the money they took. Trying to get a hold of a person to talk to takes 20 minutes just for them to tell you there is nothing they can do. Even the lady I spoke to on the phone replied "yes" when I accused this company of being a scam. They do not do anything that they claim they will. They state they will help replace AC...not true, they just continue to make you pay the fee associated with getting it serviced and replace part after part even when the specialists say it's an old system that needs to be replaced. Do not give this company a penny; you won't regret it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    THE WORST!

    • Florida,
    • Jul 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been with American Homeshield for several months. When my oven broke, they sent a repair person that literally never opened my oven to inspect. He walked in, and walked out! He said the oven was too old to repair and didn't want to attempt to fix.

    After many phone calls to Homeshield to complain, a Ms. Patterson (Supervisor) called me and apologized for the poor service call and assured me I would be receiving a $100 refund for the service call. It has been almost 2 1/2 months and no refund, and Ms. Patterson has NEVER answered the "direct line" she gave me to reach her! What a joke.

    Do not use this company. I have just canceled my contract (I hope) and I am telling everyone I know to STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Just the worst!

    • Smyrna, GA,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The AC went down on Monday and I went online the same day and made the service request. By Thursday and many calls later I finally received a return call from the service company with a service date on Saturday between 11-4 and on Saturday I received a call at 2 pm letting me know the repairman was on the way over. The repairman never showed up and when I called the company to follow up they were closed for the day. Made many calls to AHS with no resolve, it will be Monday before I can get anyone on the phone, if even then and that will be one week without ac in the south- miserable! I called AHS four different times on Saturday, and clearly, their call center is in Mexico, their English is so broken you can't even understand what they are saying. After years with AHS, I will not renew my contact at expiration; I am done.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Very satisfied customer

    • Alabama,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with AHS has been a good one. This is the second time that I have had to call them. The contractor they sent out to fix my garage door was Magic City Door. Their technician, Willey, was very polite, professional and knowledgeable. He had my garage door opener repaired and working in no time. Thanks AHS and Magic City Doors!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    • Cape Coral, FL,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our AC quit cooling the end of June. I called AHS on Saturday morning. Their company called on Monday and came on Wednesday. They said we had a bad leak and needed a new unit but AHS does everything they can to fix instead of replace. They ordered a new compressor and said it would take 3-4 weeks for it to come in and for them to install it. I'm in Florida with 100° temps!

    I called AHS and asked if another company could come and their reply was yes, but I'd have longer delays. I asked what we're suppose to do for 3-4 weeks and was told they would reimburse us $125 so we could go to a hotel for the night or buy a portable air conditioner. I said great, what about the other 3-4 weeks? No answer. The portable AC cost $400 and cools one room.

    Two weeks later we have an appointment to get the compressor installed, but we have to pay $800 for the freon! AHS pays $10 a pound for freon. The company charges $90 a pound. Keep in mind we also paid $100 for the service call and pay $59 a month for AHS. The compressor was replaced two years ago and cost us $1200 without a home warranty. So what good is AHS? We've been told by several companies the AC needs replaced. It's 12 years old. AHS couldn't even give me an estimate on how much they'd pay to replace it because they REFUSE TO REPLACE.

    Not a good company and they will never get my referral.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    AVOID

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been left in a home with rusty water coming out of my pipes for almost a week. They sent out a sketchy contractor that showed up hours late and quickly came and left. He ignored my text and call for follow up service. Now I realize he just showed up to get the service fee. When I called to complain, I got told my claim for a new water heater was denied (this is probably why the contractor did not follow up with me.) The rudest customer service ever and I got yelled at. I had to call to find this out because the service provider they gave me will not return my calls. A supervisor would not come to the phone to speak with me. I will gladly pay more money to go with another company. I am looking around now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Think twice before signing up

    • Oak Park, MI,
    • Jul 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have had a home warranty with American Home Shield since 2006. At first, we were satisfied with their service. However, over the last couple of years, the annual fee and fee per service have consistently increased. At the same time, the quality of service has consistently decreased. It appears they are contracting out to the lowest bidder and these third parties couldn't care less about our business and make no attempts at customer service. The quality of the work is poor, and communication is downright rude.

    After numerous frustrating experiences, I called American Home Shield on April 19, 2018, and requested they cancel our contract. After speaking with a completely unhelpful customer service representative, I was told our contract was canceled. I requested a confirmation number and at that exact moment, the phone connection was lost. As it turns out, our services were never canceled, and American Home Shield continued to bill my credit card monthly in both May and June. When I called American Home Shield, they had no record of my having canceled.

    In searching online, it appears that we are not the only ones with difficulty terminating our American Home Shield contract. I suggest that before signing up with this company, you do your due diligence in researching the quality of their customer service and the difficulties involved in canceling your contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    American Home Warranty: review rating poor!

    • Georgia,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    American Home Shield review rating: Poor.

    Likely to recommend: No.

    Problem: Refrigerator stopped cooling, and we submitted AHS service request June 6th.

    Refrigerator not repaired or replaced per AHS agreement as of June 30th.

    Background:

    - Technicians (Amtec) not able to arrive to the house for five days. The first technician did not speak English and handed me the phone for their office stating that a specialist would have to come to the house. The second Amtec technician arrived the next week and said he could not repair. With no repair, we were charged the technician fee, and it indicated that the service request was complete, which it was not.

    - AHS customer facing web portal was inaccurately reporting the problem complete when it was not. There were four times when the portal was not working, and there was no information available about service request.

    - Made 13 calls into AHS to resolve the problem and at one point was on hold waiting 90 minutes. Service request representatives 5 out of 6 times did not return calls when they said they would. Service representatives also cited that computers did not work and they could not help me. Representative are trained to provide empathy and 'they understand' but are not empowered to resolve programs, and further do not understand their own AHS policies. "I will talk to my manager" was a standard response of reps. Managers did not support reps and did not talk to me directly or call back to help with a remedy. Customer resolution, systems, and process evasive and restrictive to resolving the problem.

    Summary: AHS did not provide services as agreed and expected. No reasonable effort has been made to deliver service. This has resulted in my poor review of their company. Diligent efforts on our part to work with AHS to resolve this situation has resulted in no direct involvement of management and increased burden on our family. AHS home warranty has cost us more money to organize getting the repair done without AHS, cost of taking two days off work to make appliance available to AHS technicians. Additionally, the cost we are paying for the repair. We have not received any reasonable consideration from AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 181

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review