About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Read 433 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 12 1 star:  407
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 433
Sort reviews by:

  • Do not use this company!

    • Carlsbad, CA,
    • Nov 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After 3 years of continuous service, we put in 2 service calls in the past week, and both were declined service.

    First, our furnace was turning on in the middle of the night and sounded like an explosion was going off. The rudest service technician came out and apparently smartphones diagnose HVAC issues as that is all he showed up and used in his 5 minutes in my home. Took some pictures, said it works, and said he couldn’t do anything and left before I could even ask any additional questions. It took them longer to process my payment than actually listen to the problem and look for a solution. When I called to complain, they said they would look into the matter and call me back. It’s been a week and no response.

    Then I just had them look at my garage door opener. There was a capacitor that had some charring and they immediately deemed it to be a power surge so they could not cover it. Although they cover the entire electrical system and the appliances connected to it, nothing is really covered.

    This company is a bunch of crooks and I can’t believe I have wasted thousands on them. I hope this helps at least one person to not use them so they do not have to go through what I am experiencing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • AHS did not keep their word

    • Alabama,
    • Nov 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In January 2019, I reported that my dryer was drying but was loud. I have had 6 visits and 2 technicians from Stephen Appliance come to my home. One technician came 4 times, the other 2 times. Many parts were replaced but after the last visit on 5/13/19 Marcus had the audacity to tell me it was a VENT problem and I would need to get a professional to come and clean it out...REALLY! What about the part "if we cannot fix it...we will replace it." The problem I have with this is the dryer was drying even though it was loud...but now I have to run it double time to dry the same amount of clothes from before. AHS even called and stood with Stephens Appliance. The amount I paid for a year was MORE than the cost of a new dryer...Do your research before going with AHS or Stephens Appliance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Bad

    • Virginia,
    • Nov 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    One star is too much for this company. I used their service for 5 years. After submitting my first claim for a leaking water heater over 8 days ago, still nothing has happened. I now have flooring damage and mold that AHS will not admit responsibility for. This will be my last year with this "service". If you are looking around for a company like this, I advise to look elsewhere. Don't put yourself through more of a headache by having to deal with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Just...don't

    Worst customer service EVER. This company is set up to profit, which means, they do not pay out, and will look for every excuse not to. Within two years, they "replaced" my evaporator coil twice, and when it broke the third time, again only offered replacement of the part, not to replace the 12-year-old unit. Instead, I opted for the cash out of $690, but ha, ya, umm...of course they every excuse not to pay this. Did I mention that every time they replaced the coil, I had to pay $600 out of pocket for freon, in addition to the $125 service call? Wicked scammers, this company. You are so much better off paying for repairs out of pocket. Save the premiums and bank them to cover repairs the right way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam

    • Florida,
    • Oct 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Zero stars. Water heater went out. Set up appointment. The plumber showed up the next day. Diagnosis: water heater shot, needs replacement. AHS leaves me a message saying it will be $465 in additional out of pocket cost due to additional plumbing ($100), expansion tank ($285), relief valve ($75). Asked for a cash-out but that really doesn't exist - you must provide a receipt for completed work and they will send a check ($432). I can have one installed by my own contractor for $750. I can buy one and install myself for $400. No matter how you work it, I will be out roughly $600 after my $120 deductible. The AHS contractor greatly marks up parts and labor to screw you as he knows you have no recourse. The expansion tank can be bought for $30 and the relief valve for $15. The contractor nails you for a hefty $350 profit for his inflated prices on all the extras. What a racket. Don't bother with these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Customer service issues

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Oct 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the third time I’ve used AHS, most of my experience has been good. My major issue is with customer service. Once your order is set up, the calls seem to only go to an overseas customer service center. My issue with this is though they understand English, they often don’t understand the context of your words. I purchased my home last year and have a room that has an old gas wall heater. Without it working the room is unusable in winter. I called, had a nice young man come out and turn it on but was unable to identify if it should have a thermostat on the wall or some other on-off switch. He left stating he’d do some research and get back to me. Instead I get a call from AHS saying they can’t fix it and that it’s missing a thermostat and they don’t do replacement of equipment. Not what tech advised, I’d like a second opinion. Here’s where the problems begin.

    First they schedule the second opinion with the same company...I call them, of course they advise they don’t do a second opinion on their own work. Call AHS again, get out of country customer service...first person says the second opinion should have never been scheduled, attempts to cancel the order altogether. After speaking to several people to get this corrected, they schedule with another company. That company never called, never answered my calls, and had no voicemail. I wait expecting that maybe they’re busy as we’re entering heating season in Michigan. After 6 days I call, get someone out of the country again. I explain the contact issues with the company. He calls, has the same problem, then returns to tell me he will email them and for me to wait for a call. Of course at this point that is unacceptable. I ask for a supervisor. After being put on hold twice he tells me there are no supervisors and I must wait for the tech to respond by email. At this point, I call back multiple times until I finally get someone in the US. She apologized and acknowledged this was unreasonable. She scheduled my appointment and even called the company to ensure availability. I believe her name was Brandy. We will see how this next visit goes.

    Bottom line it shouldn’t take nearly 10 calls to get properly assisted. I realize at this point for business reasons companies will use out of country customer service but they should not be the ones that take calls when someone has a problem. They are typically very polite but are nearly never able to solve problems.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam company, not worth it

    • Louisiana,
    • Oct 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not cover alot of things it promises...Scam company, shoty workers, very bad customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The scam of American Home Shield

    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • Oct 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After discovering a water leak that was causing our kitchen tile to loosen and crack, we contacted American Home Shield and was informed that $75 fee must be paid before anything else could be started, once that was done a local plumber was dispatched in a few days. Once in my home, they found the leak and because I had tried to find it myself it was not covered because it was considered excessive force since cutting into drywall. Protecting your home and or property from further damage was considered excessive and they even tried to play me against the plumber standing right next to me. I then got the actual bill from the plumber which was $650. I had to this point never called American Home Shield for any claims, when I called to cancel my account they had to arrogance to try and charge me $46 fee to fire them, which was adamantly refused. With all of the years I paid my monthly premium, I could have paid for the plumber and even gotten material to lay a new floor. The customer service representative even tried to keep as a customer offering coupons and two months at a discounted premium after all of this was explained. I would love to score them with negative numbers if that was possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    AHS

    • California,
    • Oct 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everything you ask the company will lie that it's not covered, from the washer to dryer, they will say not used correctly, etc. This company is total fraud, scam. Phone is answered in the Philippines and they stonewall service, and if in the US they just rude.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Repair time is too long.

    • Rolling Fork, MS,
    • Oct 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called for an oven and a dryer repair. States will take 2 weeks to get the oven part. Looked at washer for a leak. I needed to run a load of clothes to look for a leak. Ran part of load time then left soaking wet clothes in washer. Will take two weeks to get parts. The repair time is ridiculous. I can't bake or wash for two weeks. In the meantime, I have to go to the washateria and pay to wash. Two weeks of that and I will have bought the part and paid someone for one-day service. Looking for another company. They take your money readily and take their time doing their part.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • Colorado,
    • Oct 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a 1893 Victorian, and with the house being that old, I thought this insurance would be a good idea to minimize future costs. Boy, was I wrong. I've been a customer since 2013.

    In my account, I can only see the last two years, but during that time I can see that I have had no requests for service that resulted in anyone actually visiting my home. In those two years, I've paid $1200 in monthly fees, and received no service.

    Fast forward to today, and I have now been without hot water for eight days, with no installation of a new tank scheduled. The plumber blames AHS and AHS blames the plumber. Nighttime temps are now dipping below freezing and we can't even wash our hands. Half a dozen calls (almost every day) to AHS and multiple texts to the plumber have resulted in nothing.

    Evidently, with AHS not even the squeaky wheel gets the grease!

    Long story short, I don't think it likely that you will ever come out ahead with this "insurance." And if by chance, you ever do have to use it, be ready for a ridiculously long wait for repairs. So long that you'd rather have never had AHS and could just call a plumber and get the issue resolved in a timely manner.

    At the end of the day, it would have cost me the same or less to not have AHS, and I'd be taking a warm shower right now...

    I strongly advise against this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 433

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review