About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

234 Consumer Reviews for American Home Shield

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 5 1 star:  215
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 234
Sort reviews by:

  • Never cover any services

    This company is a complete scam. They make up false facts about your appliances in order to NEVER pay for any services. They told me my 5 ton AC unit was a window unit and they didn't cover window units. You wait 55 minutes on hold to speak to someone. PLEASE do not get involved in this scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Buyer beware!

    • Olympia, WA,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was with American Home Shield for approximately 10 years and finally dumped them after I relocated and bought a residence in another state. In trying to get me to stay with them, the rep actually had the nerve to tell me that they hadn't had any customer complaints in a year. He must have thought I was pretty gullible to believe a statement like that.

    I had a few bad experiences with them during those years, but probably the worst was the time my hot water heater was dying/leaking and flooding the unit beneath me (I was in an upstairs condo).

    American Home Shield sent two different sketchy plumbing companies out to my residence on two different occasions to look at it, and neither one of them saw the danger right in front of them.

    I knew something was wrong with the hot water heater by the hissing noise it was making, and finally contacted my own plumber who came out, took one look at it and stated that someone had capped off a vent valve and the entire unit could have exploded at any moment, probably taking out a wall in my kitchen with it and causing extreme damage, even bodily harm if someone had been near it at the time. It was a dangerous situation and he quickly, and I mean THAT SAME DAY, replaced it with a new hot water heater.

    If you're considering purchasing a policy, I would recommend that you also factor in not only the cost of the annual premium, but also the deductible fee they charge you to send someone out, plus the wages you may lose from taking time off work to wait for the contractor at your home, who may require multiple visits, and then the situation still may not be resolved.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not very good service

    • Roanoke, VA,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had several contracts with AHS in two different states. All in all, not a good service. They are brokers for services. You contact them, they go to their pool of contractors whom they instead tag with the requested service. I am sure those contractors do not get the full dollar for the service as they get for someone who contacts them directly, so you go to the bottom of the list and hope to at some point get your service. You call AHS back and good luck getting someone to help you. Once they have assigned your job, they feel they have done their job.

    Their contracts are like HBO, once you sign up, it is almost impossible to get out of, except AHS does not offer you three months free. I just called them to not renew my contract, and instead of just doing it, they want me to call again the day my contract expires. So, I just waited 20 minutes (not bad for them) trying to talk to someone, and I have to do it again in a few weeks. I used to think Service America was not great, but after trying AHS (at least in Florida), I went back to Service America.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Never ending nightmare

    • Alabama,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It has been a nightmare from the word go. I called for service twice for my AC and TWICE they referred me to a company that doesn't service my area. On the third attempt, they told me they don't have an AC repair company in my area. They referred me to their "outside authorization department," which means I pay for the repairs and get reimbursed. This sounded like a great plan...

    That was three days ago and I'm still waiting on them to email me the instructions for how to do it. I've called them back numerous times and asked for a supervisor. I've been hung up on and I've been told a supervisor would call me in "24-48" business hours...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Really awful

    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with American Home Shield the past eight months with my HVAC unit has been an incredible nightmare. I bought this house 18 months ago and have been living in it for about a year. I started having major problems with my HVAC unit this winter (2018). It began to make a horrible noise in the middle of the night when it was going into defrost mode. In order to prevent it from just crashing, I called American Home Shield, and they sent a service guy out. The service guy barely looked at the unit and then told me that if the unit was still working, there was nothing he could do. He left and I paid my $100 co-pay.

    Fast forward to the summer of 2018. At the end of June, both units shut down and I had no air conditioning in the whole house. Note, I have two units one for the upstairs and one for the downstairs. Once more I called American Home Shield to have them check it out. I requested a different company come out since the other company was so awful. They told me that the upstairs unit had leaked out freon and the downstairs unit had frozen up due to overworking to cool the whole upstairs. I paid $300 in freon costs plus my $100 co-pay. In both cases, the service guys that have seen my downstairs unit has announced that it is completely worn out and the coils are shot and it would not last much longer.

    Fast forward to September 2018. My downstairs unit completely dies and is not cooling. I once again call American Home Shield. They send a repair guy out again from the company that came out in June. This time they send a different serviceman than the one that came in June, and the serviceman goes outside and declares that the unit is not working because there is dog urine on it. This is the first I've heard of dog urine on my HVAC unit. I tell him that the dogs cannot fit behind the unit and the house to pee on it, however, he says that that is what the problem is and he tells this to American Home Shield. Bingo! Ancient 10-year-old system, in which the coil has been failing for months now is now declared broken, and it's broken from reasons other than normal wear and tear, and so the warranty WILL NOT cover the repair or replacement!

    FYI, no other serviceman that has come out and seen this unit has said anything about dog urine, including the guys that came out in January 2018 and June 2018. But conveniently, the minute the unit actually fails and is no longer working at all, that is what the problem is said to be. And isn't it just amazing that the warranty simply doesn't cover that problem? I have wasted so much money with American Home Shield. Paying the $100 co-pays for the service people to come out, paying my monthly dues, this company really is truly terrible. I advise anybody that is reading this comment to stay away from them. They also use selected companies who only work for them so you are not getting a fair opinion of your problem. They seem coached as to what to say and do. I have wasted so much money with this company. Very sad and upset. I still do not have cooling in my downstairs, and it has now been close to two weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They always try to not make good on the contract

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My above-the-range microwave broke. They could not get the part so said they will replace it. I called the appliance department, gave all info from the book of the old unit. They told me to go online and look to see if it is ok. I said yes, it looks fine as long as it fits in space. The one they sent is huge, I would have to take out two cabinets for it to fit. I sent it back and now they hit me with a $63.50 restocking fee, plus my $100.00 deductible. So as I senior citizen, I'm out $163.50 and no microwave yet. It has been three weeks. When you call you're on hold for 40 minutes every time. The company is a ripoff. I have been a customer for two years and they won't give me a microwave. Very bad company from the reviews I read. I am ready to cancel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    What happened to customer satisfaction?

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their customer service sucks! If you have a question regarding your account figure it out on your own, customer service is no help. When I say no help, I mean no help. I don't know if the people that work in billing are incompetent or don't understand English. We left the conversation with no results, and we were on the phone for two hours. I was very disappointed so I just hung up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam, beware

    • Michigan,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a scam. They will not cover anything and allow your home to be destroyed. We had a claim on a dishwasher that was shooting water everywhere, and we had to rush it out of our home. Some lady screamed at us "A2, A2," mentally disabled I'm sure, but claimed to be a manager. (Terrible customer service). We canceled. Then we received another bill, long after cancellation. We had to cancel again, and they threatened an administrative cancellation fee. What the heck? This company does not care about hard-working customers and will scam and screw you as much as they can. Please beware, this company will scam you and will take money out of your account illegally. Just avoid! There are far better companies that do care about their customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Refuse to install a new furnace and AC

    • Dexter, MI,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a house in December 2017 and it came with an AHS warranty. My furnace went out while I was out of state working. When I got home, the house was 47°. I scheduled an appointment online, which took about 72 hours as I got home on a Friday night. No heat, but I went and bought a couple of radiant heaters.

    The company came out and said a valve was stuck but that I needed a new furnace as it would not last forever being over 30 years old. It went out again while I was away working and they sent a different company. I told them what the other company found and they jammed a rubber tube in the valve and said it was fixed. My AC has not worked all summer, but I was away working. They sent a company out to fix it today. He said it needs to be replaced but that unless it is cracked in the relay, they won’t replace it. He ordered a new control board.

    Bottom line: I am concerned that while I am away working this winter for two months, the furnace will go out and my pipes will freeze. Are they going to pay for the damages to my home? I doubt it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    They are the devil I know

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    80% of the time I needed them, they found an exclusion. There is a clearly an "agreement" with the contractors that they will be underpaid from the claims, and make money on the exclusions, like asking for $700 for a charge of refrigerant gas, or $275 for a water expansion tank. I'm done with them. Perhaps other warranty service companies are just the same, but AHS is the devil I know.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Lord help them

    • Texas,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's not AHS as much as it is the contractors they send. Why don't they use local people? The people you get either don't know what they are doing or just don't care to do the job.

    I get angry every time I think about the time it took them to do the job of fixing what was wrong with my AC...three different contractors or employees at three five different times were sent out.

    The first one looked and said what was wrong and they would be back in 7-10 days, mind you the temp is in triple digits. SIX days later they return, two guys, and put in a new unit outside and do something with pipes inside. It took them a good long time, especially with the inside.

    They say they are finished and I was told by AHS and them that I would owe $880 for uncovered repairs. Gives me a receipt, he will be back in three weeks to attach some pipes.

    Well, I notice water coming from under the wall outside as well as under my floor in the entryway. This has ruined the floor in my closet and entryway.

    The guy comes out, walks on the damaged area. I try to show him the damage and he says much of nothing. He says the pipe needs armor steel, of course, he does not have any on his truck and he can't get it locally. Please, he could have gotten it at Home Depot, Lowe's, or any hardware store. He leaves no care or concern.

    He returns seven days later around 8:30, he was scheduled between 1-5. He had foam covering of some kind. He put it on the pipes in about 15 minutes. It looks like he covered two pipes with one piece of foam and a tape job a 10-year-old could have done better.

    I get a call from the reception about the job done. I tell her it was awful. She said to take pictures and send them. I did, but I haven't heard anything. We'll see, because I feel like I need to be paid the damage done to my floor, because of complete negligence and carelessness. I will talk to a lawyer about it.

    Just the worst service ever. Sunrise Home Services, sounds like a funeral parlor and it fits because the job they do/don't do will leave you ready to die. Lord help them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 234

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review