About American Home Shield

By HighYa Staff

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 337 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 9 1 star:  314
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 337
Sort reviews by:

  • Dishwasher nightmare runaround

    • Ventura, CA,
    • May 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company used to work well a few years ago. No more! I cannot tell you why they haven’t taken care of our dishwasher repair or replacement. It has been a mystery how this company contracts with ONE appliance company that gets terrible reviews to service a large population in Los Angeles and Ventura County. Hooo boy! They figured out how to get us on hold 3 times and sent 3 work orders that have been comical and yet a waste of money and time.

    And they don’t care! Better Business Bureau has so many complaints against them, their file is bursting.

    We get to buy our new dishwasher now. Without these chuckleheads!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bunch of BS!

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • May 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, I've paid $50 per month for almost a year. Now, it's time to see if I've been scammed...TRUTH...I've been screwed royally!

    After paying over $600 in premiums, I called in an order. The service was provided by Sears. No problem there. However, the repairs weren't effective in fixing the problem. So, I called AHS. They tell me that since I moved, the repair that I ALREADY PAID FOR isn't covered. And, since I moved, my policy is cancelled. Oh, and it COSTS $49.99 TO CANCEL A POLICY!

    Total crap! Stay away, far far away from this unscrupulous company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    F quality service

    • Crowley, TX,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Four techs. Refrigerator out for 90 days and just try to get a supervisor or to get them to answer an email, you talk to a grunt and no one else. The techs couldn't fix a compressor on a refrigerator. They did more damage than could be repaired and no one would talk to me. I was on hold 36 minutes without an answer, 1 hour and 6 minutes the second time, no answer, several emails, no answer. Do yourself a favor, go somewhere else. These people don't care about you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    AHS did not honor their contract

    • La Verne, CA,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a leaking pipe develop under my tub. AHS sent out a tech who stated that the problem was due to excessive force by someone trying to remove the drain. AHS's contract state that they cover problems due to improper installation or repair. However, they refused to cover fixing my leaking pipe. They stated that they did not feel it was due to improper repair or installation. What else could it be? An act of God? The only reason I believe that someone would try to remove the drain is to fix it or replace it. Bottom line is that AHS is not honoring their contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Substandard service, refused refund

    • Birmingham, AL,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a home warranty through American Home Shield (AHS). On March 31st I arranged a service visit for a clogged floor drain, a covered service under the contract, through AHS. They arranged for a contractor, to come to fix the clog. The company technician properly diagnosed that the drain was clogged and attempted to clear the clog through the floor drain. He could not clear it and left. We later received a notification from AHS that the contractor said we needed cleanouts installed to clear the clog and installation of such was not covered. We, in fact, already have two cleanouts installed, one inside and one out, but the contractor did not take the time to find and use them. Since AHS said we were not covered and we needed working drains we got another company to clear them. We requested a refund of our service call fee, $75, and AHS refused (2 and ½ hours of phone wait time) even though we believe the work performed was clearly negligent since the contractor did not take the time to find the clean outs, and mistakenly told AHS that we did not have the required clean outs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Poor service

    • Comanche, TX,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The company seems to take great delight in giving customers the runaround. A simple problem of unstopping sewer line. The contractor sent was unable to repair. Didn't have a proper tool.

    It has now been a week since he came and I have had nothing but conflicting statements from 5 different inept employees who do nothing but talk in circles, put you on hold, and then eventually accidentally disconnect you.

    Still no resolution. I will cancel the remaining 6 months of this worthless warranty contract and should the need arise, hire my own professional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    False security for homeowners

    • Virginia,
    • May 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This warranty company is, like all of them, targeted at new home buyers. Often a one-year policy comes with a home purchase. This is meant to give a sense of security, that if a major repair or system or appliance failure occurs, you are covered. The policy is repair rather than replace. The first company they send is usually not top notch, or they send less experienced staff. Every repairman visit costs $75.00 in addition to your monthly fee. With few exceptions, every repair took 3 to 5 repair people visiting my home. If you are willing to sit on hold for hours and hours for several days and take several days off of work while they send the cheapest tech...this is your desired company. Eventually, they may send a tech trained to fix your brand. If you complain long enough, call a ton of times and take many days off...you may get a new appliance for your worn out one. Read the fine print. They don't cover lots of things and don't practice consistent ethical business. I do not know if some regions are better than others. I am in a DC suburb.

    Horrible customer relations. It seems like the company depends on you not needing them; they make their money in the one year home sale contracts. They are understaffed, poorly trained. Contact from them, or contacting them other than an understaffed customer service number, is impossible, deliberately. They change emails so you can't recontact them. They will not give a name other than a first name. One repair can take 5 calls, 5 hours on hold, 5 days off, a no show and some parts that never arrived delaying things further. I did get some repairs, a new microwave (only because the idiot repairman didn't diagnose the repair, a $10 latch)...and a new hot water heater that leaked and rusted. The money, time and aggravation were not worth it. Save the cost of the policy every month, use it as a repair/replace fund. Find your own reputable repair people and place to buy appliances. This is a racket. Steer clear.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Peachtree Corners, GA,
    • May 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a contract that covers "improper installation" but they say my water heater was properly installed but the VENT was not and that DAMAGED the heater (it was not checked) so they refuse to honor the contract.

    So,

    1. The tech refused to check the water heater because was improperly installed - vent downward and on a pedestal without a pre-filter.

    2. AHS called and said the heater was damaged, how did they know?

    3. AHS said the "improper installation" only covered the water heater and not the vent.

    4. AHS refused to honor the contract after three years' coverage.

    Isn't it a classic scam? Why don't you have -1 stars?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Hot water heater

    • Texas,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have three homes covered with them and every time we have a claim, they find some way to not cover the claim. Excuse after excuse, though nothing is in black and white. Rules depend on who you get on the other end of the line. Had a hot water heater flood my house and cause major damage. First they denied the claim saying because it was removed it was no longer covered, then it was unable to diagnose, then it was because it was not in the main dwelling. Excuse after excuse. The final straw is when they told me it was not installed correctly. DO NOT RECOMMEND.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    What a joke of a company

    • Oklahoma,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I inherited my coverage through the purchase of a house. I have never been so dissatisfied with a company without ever using their services. I called to find out about a garage door issue just to find out our plan didn't cover it according to the person I had to talk to. I requested literature showing what was and wasn't covered only to find that what I had called about was covered. After the lady told me my garage door issue wasn't covered I requested an A/C service, only to spend over 45 minutes on hold. I decided to try calling back a few weeks later only to be told I needed to pay the $100 service fee so they could send someone out. After everything I had read about their "contractors" work I told them I would like to make sure the work is done properly before I pay for anything, to which they responded they cannot send anyone to my house until the service fee is paid. I then informed them I would not be renewing my coverage with them and that there are companies in my area that run specials on A/C tune-ups for $75.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Covered $450 out of $3600 repair bill!

    • Savannah, GA,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After many years of coverage, thinking that I was covered from any major "catastrophic" events, it finally happened. Two A/C units failed at the same time, with each one needing a new evaporator coil.

    After the tech diagnosed the problem, a few days later I got a call from AHS telling me that only the coil itself was covered, the first $10 of refrigerant was covered. However, the remaining $85/pound of refrigerant was not, as well as all of the other necessary parts to complete the repair. Each unit requires nine pounds of refrigerant.

    The total for the parts NOT covered was $1770 for one unit. For the other unit, it was $1325 (not covered). The actual covered amount was $234 for the first one and $214 for the second. When I asked for them to send me a confirmation in writing, that "they would request that but they couldn't actually do it." To date, I have not received the information. I also requested a copy of the specific contract language that was cited and used to deny my claim. Again, I was refused and have not received that either.

    In my opinion, this company is a rip-off. They will do anything to delay and to not pay for repairs! In my view, it is fraud, plain and simple. Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 337

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review