About American Home Shield

By HighYa Staff

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 325 American Home Shield Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 8 1 star:  303
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 325
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great service, reasonable price

    • Ringgold, GA,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    I have been with AHS for four years. The first year was a "freebie" when I bought my home, but I decided to keep up the warranty after 2 HVAC calls during that initial year. The parts alone made the service fees worth it. I have since had multiple repairs on a washer and a plumbing issue.

    I have read reviews stating they don't use reputable contractors, but I have not had that problem in my area (north GA/SE TN). The contractors have all been very prompt, professional, explain the repairs to me and have not had to be recalled for the same repair. However, if you are looking for replacement appliances, that is not what this service is geared towards.

    Their place is to repair if at all possible, replacement is only after a prescribed set of breakdowns for the same problem. I was very, very uneasy about taking out a home warranty after reading horror stories online, but AHS has been easy to contact, responds quickly and has been a definite money saver for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great service

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    After researching several home warranty companies, I chose American Home Shield. We have been with for over four years and I have decided the monthly rate is the best money I spend. They have always exceeded my expectations in service and use of qualified, experienced service venders. In fact, I have had several, separate plumbing problems and they sent the same national vender and the same service person. I have told several people of the quality I have experienced and they in turn have signed with American Home Shield.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 14, 2017

      Jay Taylor

      You forgot to add to your review, “Written by an AHS employee.”

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Amazing, saves us tons of money

    • Colorado,
    • Apr 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have had this whole home warranty for almost one year. We have used it for ceiling fans, faucets, and a furnace. They always fix or replace what needs it. It has saved us THOUSANDS of dollars.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Exceptional service

    I called American Home Shield to request a plumber, and everything went well and they sent out Home Source Corp. from Melvindale, Michigan, and the plumbers were very professional, knowledgeable and friendly. They did an excellent job with the repairs and explained everything in detail. Matt Martin was one of the plumbers that came to my house, and he was totally awesome! I love it when I have service technicians come to my house that are friendly and approachable, and the plumber that was with him was also very approachable and friendly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Three calls for repairs in 3 months, quick and efficient online request and immediate reply.

    • Indiana,
    • Jan 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used American Home Shield in the past, and I have had to be very direct and write a BBB complaint that they have been responsive and fair.

    You MUST read your contract and ensure the appliance is NOT working (making noise, rust, looking bad), because if it is working and you will pay your fee for nothing.

    I have had a $3000 refrigerator replaced because after the 3rd try they could not get it to stop freezing up the drinking water.

    I had a power vent that failed, and the cost of the vent was $300 for the part my cost $125 deductible, and it was fixed in one working day by a professional company.

    I have another (different house) refrigerator freezing my drinking water, and they came out and are waiting for a new door and will replace it. $125 bucks for $400 service call and parts.

    Now I have my Jenn Air Oven on the frits. I just got online, put in my service request, got a test, and they I will get a call in the morning and schedule a service call. Last time the company came out the same day they called.

    Read your service contract like any you have, terms and conditions you accepted, and you should be aware exactly what is covered and how it should be reported and presented to the service provider to get it covered.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Very satisfied customer

    • Alabama,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with AHS has been a good one. This is the second time that I have had to call them. The contractor they sent out to fix my garage door was Magic City Door. Their technician, Willey, was very polite, professional and knowledgeable. He had my garage door opener repaired and working in no time. Thanks AHS and Magic City Doors!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Several friends have signed up

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Aug 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not being handy, I researched home warranty companies through Consumer Reports and found American Home Shield. Most of the negative reviews I read about them, seemed to come from the people who either didn't want to follow the rules or wanted to rush the process.

    I moved into my first house and signed up with them. All calls to AHS ended in satisfaction. Our next home, as an incentive, the seller offered a one-year home warranty with a different co. It was awful, these people wiggled out of all repairs! We resigned with AHS and since have used electrician service when 1/2 the light switches and outlets in the house stopped working. Plumber when a pipe burst inside wall. Call for garbage disposal and another for kitchen faucet and sprayer. Both were replaced with BRAND NEW, TOP QUALITY BRANDS.

    These are my true experiences. Several friends have signed up because of our positive experiences with AHS.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 16, 2018

      Jeff B.

      "Didn't want to follow the rules or wanted to rush the process?" Really? Seven days to get a service person to arrive, and then three incompetent contractors sent who had no clue how to fix my AC unit is rushing the process? They use an offshore call center to save money staffed by people who don't know that Chicago is in Illinois. This company is a scam!

    • Oct 12, 2018

      David C.

      Aaron,

      I’m sure that your imaginary friends will be very grateful to you for convincing them to sign up with this dreadful company. Almost all of the reviews point to the same issues over and over again (shoddy contractors, terrible customer service, etc.). But you know the truth, all of these reviewers are wrong, they didn’t “follow the rules” or “wanted to rush the process.” You’re a moron who cannot write a sentence using proper English!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 7 people found this review helpful

    A good deal, but understand your contract

    • Vestavia Hills, AL,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    AHS gets some sketchy reviews. They do have some less than clear policies, specifically with Freon, which I think is unethical but 100% disclosed in the contract. They do what they say. The problem most of these reviewers have is the customer didn't either read the contract, or didn't understand it. That is not AHS' fault.

    AHS is a business; they are in business to make money. That is how this works. As a customer, we are taking a gamble that our premium is less than a broken item that IS COVERED. That is the key. Everything isn't covered. AHS is obligated to fix it, not replace it. They are going to do their best to do just that. However, if they can't it is getting replaced.

    I have had the service for about 6 years and we have had our oven totally replaced with the same higher end model we had - GE Profile, not some off brand - that alone exceeded nearly two years of premiums. We have had our hot water heater repaired twice and then replaced entirely. We have had a water pressure regulator fixed. We have had a shower valve fixed, we have had our microwave fixed, we have had a garage door opener replaced. We have had our dishwasher repaired. And we were given about $900 in lieu of a repair on our AC because we opted to upgrade it, not fix it.

    You must read the contract. AHS is not responsible for some things, such as required building code changes or modifications, but that is disclosed. AHS isn't responsible for outside water line issues - but that too is disclosed. If you have a question just bypass the automated phone system and ask a person. They can be fairly rude, but what can you except for a $10 an hour employee? Seriously.

    All in all, I would and have recommended them to people. If you read and understand the contract, you will better understand the service and can better decide if it is a gamble you want to take.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 12, 2018

      David C.

      Yeah John, I agree. Everyone is WRONG! You’re the only one who knows the truth. None of AHS’ customers (except for you of course) read their contract or understood it. I love AHS. My toilet was clogged, there was too much poop in the pipe. My house exploded due to the over-abundance of crap. And they like totally replaced my house with a totally like premium band of the house (because they are in the business to make money). No company that wants to make money, and no company that wants to make money ever provide good customer service. Then they like totally couldn’t make money or something. Wait, I think maybe it’s you and me who are clueless. Yeah, that sounds about right.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    You're not allowed to pick

    • Texas,
    • Jul 28, 2015

    Overall if you own a home that's old, get this insurance.

    The good: Got my washing machine fixed, dish washer fixed, heater, air conditioner, some plumbing.

    The bad: When you call you don't get to pick which company comes out. It might take the company three weeks to come out. You can call Home Shield back but they will make you stay on the phone and have you confront the company not them If the company is bad you still have to pay them even if they didn't show and you have to pay the next company that comes out.

    They have some really bad companies and even if you had a bad experience and asked Home Shield not to call them they still pick them. If you state you don't want them you still have to pay and do another work, order and that same company will be picked. The companies excuse is its who ever is available and first on he list.

    The ugly: Water leaks flooding your floor is none emergency. No heat in 0 to 30 degree weather with a new baby is a none emergency.

    Took one company a month and a half to restore our heat in the middle of winter and Home Shield was part of that problem.

    So why three stars? Over all saved money. Customer service always there, though sometimes very hard to get through. Company would be fantastic if they listened more to customers. (Sorry for any typos, written from cell phone)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Broken appliance since September 14.

    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Jan 20, 2016

    I called for service around September 11. The repair guy came out and rigged the washing machine up to run. After he left it didn't work. Called them back (American Home Shield and Sure Tech) and they told me he can come back Wednesday, and I told them I was going to Las Vegas then Chicago followed up by San Diego and would not be back till October 2nd. When I got back I called the company back, the guy came out to my house, from Sure Tech I believe, or not. He was a loaded as a wolf, so after he ran a diagnostic test, Home Shield tells me it takes 5 weeks for the parts and they offered me some buying options for $500 and $44. So here it is October and my washer is still not fixed. Sure Tech called me the Monday before Christmas and told me that they would be there between 11 and 3 Wednesday before Christmas Eve. I explained to them that I had a house full of guests, about 11 people. They never showed up and they never called. I've been calling American Home Shield to no avail. I just spoke to the supervisor tonight, January 5th, and they just turn it over to somebody to find out why it doesn't work. This month it will be four months since I first called. I don't know what's up with you guys, you started out pretty well but now I feel like somebody's fumbling the ball.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Impossible to deal with!

    The fact that the people you FINALLY get to talk to after more than 30 minutes on hold are usually polite, courteous and try to be helpful, the FACTS are that fewer and less reliable resources as services are available to us subscribers!

    But most aggravating, I wish their help would contact YOU quickly with follow-up concerns! AND not have to endure multiple 1/2 an hour or more times on hold!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 325

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review